Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Northwest Nazarene University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    NNU is a great place for students who want a smaller campus with fellow students and professors who care and want to invest in their life and students who want to truly find and prepare for their purpose/calling in life. NNU is a place where students are prepared to be global Christians through academic excellence, social responsiveness and creative engagement. NNU has 60 areas in the following schools: Art, Humanities and Social Services, Business, Education, Social Work & Counseling, Health & Science, and Theology & Christian Ministries. It is a Nazarene school, but 45% of the students are from different denominations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Beginning on move in day, decide to be friendly and reach out to others. Communicate honestly with your roommate. As you are walking down the sidewalks to class, make eye contact and smile! Sit in different places in the cafeteria. Look for people that need to be included and include them. Get involved on campus - there are lots of clubs and organizations to choose from. Don't forget to go to class, study, keep a calendar of when things are due, and get your needed exercise and sleep. If you don't want to gain the freshman 15, don't eat after 7pm, walk the stairs instead of taking the elevator, and eat your fruit and vegetables.

    Am enjoying being here

    NNU encourages academic rigor and spiritual vitality. I love being challenged academically, and I love the opportunities to learn more about God and serving others. Relationships are what makes life so fulfilling. I enjoyed getting to know a few of the the international students who came to NNU, along with the many other life-long friends I made this past year. I enjoyed serving on my freshman dorm council which planned and organized events for wings, the whole dorm, and our dorm with the other dorms. I also liked serving the admissions department by being a hostess to prospective students who visited the campus - I got to show them around, answer questions, and have them stay in my room. NNU is NCAA Division II, and I had lots of fun going to basketball, volleyball, soccer, baseball games, and track meets. The weekends were fun - it seemed like there was always an event, game, or a concert to attend with friends.

    Am learning a lot

    Of course I learned in the classrooms, but I also learned a lot about myself and about others in the dorm, cafeteria, and at campus activities. I had to learn how to properly juggle my study time, relationships, job, cleaning and laundry, and personal time (including sleep). Personally, I learned that my agenda book was one of my greatest assets, helping me stay on top of all of the papers, projects, tests, meetings, and fun activities. I found the importance of communicating clearly my expectations and my encouragement to my roommate. Setting the alarm clock across the room was another thing that I learned helped me to get up on time and get to class. I learned that my professors really care about me and that I can ask them for help with academics and with life questions. I learned how much I appreciate all my parents did for me and have sacrificed for me and that they have helped me, in so many ways, become a responsible, honest, and fun young woman.

  • 10/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Student who want an education, Who want to play sports but also learn, Students who want to graduate with a degree and have a well rounded education, Students who want to further themselves in graduate school, drama or music students as well!

    Tips for prospective students

    I should say, if you come to campus, get involved. Don't lock yourself in your room. Go to events, go to sports games, be involved in the student activities. The more you get involved and explore all the different parts of campus and people will start to recognize you and support you in what you do for being here and involved.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes NNU is a little pricey, but the financial aid works well with each student to address each of their needs as well as giving students many ways of applying for jobs in the area, even on campus at times. Being more expensive is definitely worth the price though. The environment feels safe and the dorms are well built with heaters in each room and Internet ports in every room as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    Here at NNU, the dorms are set up so we can really connect with the people and grow as a student body. There are plenty of fun events that bring us together and we have fun. I love the way the student government is set up and the campus is friendly. You can sit with anyone at any meal and not feel excluded.

    Am learning a lot

    This University has an excellent student to teacher ratio. There are many classes that have 30 or less and when it comes down to my specific major, the class sizes are even smaller. This is helpful when needing help or if I have questions on the material. I can call most of my professors at anytime and schedule an appointment if I need to and all the faculty and staff are very friendly.

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is well lite at night. There is when security needed. I feel very safe on campus even when I am there at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs and activites for students to join and be a part of campus life.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for a Christ centered education. Working Adults as well as traditional students.

    Bang for the buck

    The program that I am in is for working adults. I am able to work full time and still attend classes.

    What to do for fun

    There are many options for fun both on and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent. Many choices are available accommodation a wide range of dietary needs.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and yet achievable. The professors are available to help with problems and will work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early. The staff is very willing to help with questions and concerns. They take their job seriously and will be very helpful.

    In three sentences

    This University has an excellent reputation for providing a quality education. The facility members are caring and very well trained in their fields. The quality of the education I am receiving will be used to help further my career as well as provide me with spiritual well being.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had any troubles, and I haven't heard of anyone else having much trouble either. Lock your cars, and don't leave anything laying about in plain sight, and you'll be fine.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a Christian who is interested in improving his walk with the lord, while at the same time having fun and learning a lot, come here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The brick house. 50 cent coffee drinks every Thursday. It's very good.

    Bang for the buck

    It's very spendy, but I think it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of interesting things to do around campus, from participating in the concert band, to playing video games with friends, to playing humans vs. zombies with the whole campus. You won't be bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is really good, with a lot of options. However, it does get kind of boring after awhile.

    Dorm Life

    Again, don't come here if you just want to party, but dorm life is very fun. We have plenty of parties, the students here are all nice, and you can have a good time in between studying.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers work you very hard, and you learn a lot. But the teachers are so good at getting the subject through to you that you hardly notice how much you are learning, because its comes across very easily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come here if you want to come to a party school, but if you want a great school with great academics then come. get your work done though, and apply for scholarships, because it isn't cheap.

    In three sentences

    Northwest Nazarene University has great teachers, great spiritual atmosphere and great fellow students. The campus is very nice as well. I would advise it to anybody.

  • 02/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Absolutely every student. Especially Christians.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try everything but not too much. As a Freshman it's easy to get overwhelmed. Calm down and find a good set of friends. It's okay to not hang out with your wing, roommate, or your friends from the first week of school. Attend classes and do all your homework. Go to bed at midnight. Fred Meyer's Peanut Butter with Honey makes for a great late night snack. Learn your schedule and all of the schedules. Never miss chapel.

    Bang for the buck

    NNU is very expensive but it is worth every penny. You'll see that every penny of your tuition, room & board serves the school well. Everything here is so very nice and, compared to other schools, big. The dorm rooms are of adequate size and the dining cafeteria is usually worth the cost. Even if you are having a hard time affording college there are many scholarships, over 100, that will help you get money. All of these scholarships are only for people attending our university. Check it out.

    Am enjoying being here

    This school is just amazing and the campus is so beautiful. Although I'm from out-of-state I enjoy living here and would even move here. The weather can be a bit out of sorts but for the most part the weather is lovely. The community at this school is the most loving community I've ever met. Since Northwest Nazarene University is such a small school you'll get to know a lot of people and generally everyone is friends. NNU also has tons of opportunities for you to get involved and to have fun.

    Am learning a lot

    Every teacher has great things to offer and you never feel as if a class is pointless because every teacher offers great things for you. I never walk out of a classroom and think that I didn't learn anything because my teachers are always amazing. If you think you're struggling with anything then you can easily get help by asking the teacher. Teachers are always willing to help you out here.

  • 04/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you thrive in a busy and crowded environment NNU is not for you. NNU is so laid back and easy going but very intellectual. Also drinking and that sort of thing is not allowed so if that is what you are looking for NNU is not the number one choice. However, if you are looking for a family atmosphere that will be fun and energizing as well st spiritually and intellectually challenging NNU is wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit campus! Everyone who steps on campus, eats in the Dex, goes to a community chapel, or stays in one of the dorms can feel the family atmosphere radiating throughout campus and you will love it! Come meet a few of the profs and find out that you will be getting something here, that is just not possible in a lecture class of 200 people.

    Bang for the buck

    NNU, like any privet institution, is expensive. It is so deeply worth it however. There are so many opportunities here at NNU and there are so many social events that the money really pays off.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus community is so uplifting at NNU, not only do the profs actually care about the students but the entire campus is really connected, everyone knows everyone else and most people are friendly. I don't feel like I have missed out on anything by going to a Christian college, if anything I have had more social and academic opportunities because of the small setting and I love it!

    Am learning a lot

    I love the intellectual and inquisitive atmosphere on campus. Not only are classrooms highly challenging but there are forums and discussions after hours about issues happening on campus and around the world. I am also learning so much about myself and my relationship with God. There are so many extra learning experiences on campus, even as a freshman I have had internship opportunities that I would never have gotten anywhere else.

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    NNU is a good school for people wanting to grow into strong Christian adults. Even if you are not a Christian, it is a good school to help shape your morals and values to be a strong respectable person in the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships like crazy ahead of time. If you come to NNU strong with money it will make it easier to stay in the future. It will be easier to take out loans, just because you don't have that much money out already (so you won't keep piling up the loans). Also realize that this is a time when you are going to figure out who you are. Maybe write out your values, because you are going to be tested and have to come up with solutions on your own. NNU is a great environment for that, though. NNU really helps to shape you.

    Bang for the buck

    NNU is very expensive. The financial aid officers will work with you to try and help you with loans and scholarships, but it still is very hard to come up with the money. NNU is a great school and I love going there, but sometimes I wonder if it is really worth all the money. But if you can make it work and get scholarships, then it is completely worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying it quite a bit. I love the community at NNU. People are very accepting of each other. There isn't the normal drama or fights like at other schools. People are willing to help you if you are having trouble. People have so much fun with out the raging parties too. It is just a good environment.

    Am learning a lot

    I am definitely learning a lot. NNU is a liberal arts schools so we are required to take a variety of classes. Sometimes it is annoying to take a variety of classes that I may not enjoy, but I learn so much. And the information really is helpful, even if I don't see it now. Not only am I learning a lot on the academic side, but on the spiritual side as well. Going to chapel, bible studies, and just hanging out with Christian friends really helps me grow in my walk with God.

  • 06/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The school is a pretty expensive school but all money invested in education is well worth it.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will only know if I'll enjoy my time there by actually attending.

    Will learn a lot

    I was planning on attending NNU to try a new state and learn from different people. On the day of graduation from my high school I realized that I'm scared to attend the school. I dont know anyone or if I will like it there.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety is awesome. they have numbers you can call and are very big on making sure the campus is kept safe.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is really good if you are looking for smaller classroom settings where you are able to be more one on one with the teacher.

    What to do for fun

    i work almost full time and am going to school full time so i don't have a lot of extra time. i like to cook at bake for fun though. i know that the school offers many different activities for the students though.

    Food and Dining

    they have some very healthy food choices as well as some foods that seem to be just boxed. i wish it was more home made kind of foods.

    Dorm Life

    i am not too sure about this category because i have never lived in the dorms, and never will live in the dorms. as far as i know it is a great experience.

    Academic Rigor

    i think that this school and the teachers at it can be challenging, but they have free tutors that you are allowed to use. the classes tend to require a lot of outside time, but it helps you understand the concepts you may be learning in class more.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are not a nazarene, still apply and you just may find that you like it. i am not a nazarene and the faculty have all been so kind and helpful.

    In three sentences

    this school is excellent in that the teachers i have had all know there stuff extremely well. the classes are not too big so you are able to interact with the teacher more. the campus is small so it doesn't take long to go from class to class.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. The campus police is great.

    Clubs and Activities

    Have something for everyone and many opportunities for students to create new ones

    Great for these types of students

    Christian students who want to apply Christ to the academics and life after college

    What to do for fun

    Sporting events, activites put on by student government and specifc doorms

    Food and Dining

    The dex is very clean, there is always a lot of variety and the food is good

    Dorm Life

    Quite fun, always clean and always something fun to do

    Academic Rigor

    The classes specific to degrees are quite challenging and take a lot of study time outside of class. The professors have high expectations of all of their students and are pretty tough when it comes to grading,

    Tips for prospective students

    Save money for books, many of them are made specifically for NNU Just go to chapel, it ends up being quite interesting and fun Do not be afraid to reach out and open up to fellow students, everyone is so kind!

    In three sentences

    Absolutely incredible school! The teachers care about each student individually and the class room sizes make it easy to learn and interact. There is a strong sense of community as students care about students and there are always new activites to be involved in.

  • 05/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to integrate their faith into every part of their education. If you're looking to be in a community of Christian members while getting your education, this is the place for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go check out campus so you can really see what it is like! I never visited campus before I attended and I wish I had. You can see what day to day life is like and get a feel for what you might be getting into.

    Bang for the buck

    NNU is considerable expansive and while the atmosphere is worth so much, I wonder every once in awhile if there is another college that would be offer the same thing at a much lower price. However, I am still attending NNU so it obviously has more than I am willing to give up just yet.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at NNU. We have such a community that is bubbling!

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot since being here, just finished my first year. The classes I have taken thus far have expanded my thinking and made me question things around me to become more inquisitive while encouraging self-directed learning. The lessons taught here are the ones that will continue to stay with me even if just through the life lesson taught through it.

  • 07/19/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Haven't started yet but I know plenty of people who have attended NNU and it seems like an extremely well rounded community in faith, education and fun.

    Will enjoy being here

    I have got my schedule leading up to the first days of class, and well it looks pretty great. Community fair, Root Beer Fest, Excursions, and outside of that i have heard there are tons of activities to get involved in i.e. clubs, intramural sports, and various organizations.

    Will learn a lot

    I will be a first year college student, fresh out of high school. I am excited for what NNU has to offer! I have heard NOTHING but great things about each program on campus.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for students who are Christians. You will have the Christian perspective in all of your classes and will learn more about the history of Christianity. Also, there is chapel three times a week.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is best to not date during your freshman year. You'll be busy enough learning the college game. Take advantage of the weekends for doing homework and catching up on sleep.

    Bang for the buck

    It isn't as expensive as the bigger schools. This university gives large scholarships to students who deserve them and need them.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a smaller school so it has a close community, that's one of the biggest perks of attending. Also, the teachers genuinely care about each of their students.

    Am learning a lot

    It is a liberal arts school which means you learn a little of everything and learn more than you need to know within your field. It is a good school to attend if you want to learn more about Christianity.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it's completely safe.

    Greek Life

    i'm not sure what that is...

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many ways to be involved on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    all types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    you'll have fun learning them as you go throughout your time here.

    Bang for the buck

    it is really expensive, but so far, it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    there's plenty of places to go, if you have a car, or if you have friends that do.

    Food and Dining

    it's pretty good, all i could ask for is a bit more variety.

    Dorm Life

    it's pretty good, although the freshman guys' dorm isn't nearly as new or awesome as the freshman girls'.

    Academic Rigor

    it's a very good, and very challenging school. it makes you work, and it is a great thing.

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know your professors fast, and get used to always checking out whether you have homework or not, usually the profs. will tell you, but don't count on it.

    In three sentences

    overall nnu is a pretty great school. it has many very good departments. the theology department is a fair amount on the liberal side, so that may be a positive or negative depending on your own stance.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    when you arrive here and are overwhelmed. take a deep breathe because college isn't as scary as everyone makes it out to be. if you just buckle down and do your work, you can still make friends and have fun while maintaining a strong academia.

    In three sentences

    northwest nazarene university has the ability to transform and further a young persons knowledge and place in the world to a more mature standing. the university provides a safe environment for students to prosper into intellectual men and women.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    chapel everyday is required

    Bang for the buck

    college is willing to put the student first and make every semester count

    What to do for fun

    sports

    Food and Dining

    not needing food services

    Dorm Life

    not using dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The strenghts of NNU are in abundance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Checkout the staff and programs before you look at the price.

    In three sentences

    NNU is a accommodating place to learn. The atmosphere is what I need. The staff is willing to help at any given moment.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is located in a safe part of Nampa and campus security does nightly rounds at 10pm, 1am, and 5am of the entire campus.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    NNU has several different clubs and activities from Hope House, to Cru productions (drama club), ASL club, Outdoors club, Free Hugs club, Social Work club, there are literally dozens of various things for students to get involved in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the most famous traditions is the bare buns run that occurs after the first decent snowfall of the year where the freshmen boys and some girls run around the entire campus in their underclothes. For some freshmen it is almost like a right of passage. As far as locations on campus there is the Living Room in the Office of Spiritual Formation or the prayer chapel.

    Bang for the buck

    You get as much out of NNU as you put into it, so the experience is really up to you. This university has some of the best programs in the pacific northwest in various fields and the quality of education is reflective of that.

    What to do for fun

    In Nampa you can go to The Reel for a $1 midnight movie on weekends or if you're hungry Blazin Burger may be the place to go for a $1 shake after 8pm. In Boise there is Idaho Skate World where you can ice skate on weekend for a relatively decent fee. Then there are the various campus sponsored events like week back, fresheree, TWIRP (the woman is required to pay, black tie, Mr. NNU, Homecoming, and so much more!

    Food and Dining

    For food there is only one place to go and that is the Dex. Located at the student center the Dex serves all kinds of foods. The workers are friendly and fun and the food while not gourmet is decent and generally tasty.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a lot of fun and community gets better every year. As freshman you live in Ford/Culver, sophomores Dooley/Sutherland, junior-Corlett, and seniors in the Holly/Olson apartments. Overall dorm life is what you make it, the university opens the door, but you're the one who has to step through it.

    Academic Rigor

    Well the general education courses are typically easier, but then again they are general education courses. The difficulty of classes is dependent upon the class and the level of the class. Upper division classes are difficult, and for some majors this is more true than it is for others, but with the right amount of effort you can succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a liberal arts university which means you are expected to get a well rounded education in every subject from philosophy to math so be sure to plan you schedule accordingly. Do not be afraid to talk to your professors. Some of them may appear frightening, but honestly they all care about the students and are generally understanding.

    In three sentences

    The professors are amazing and truly do care about the students. The community goes beyond student expectations.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent! They have helped me out multiple times with locking items in buildings to strolling around campus!

    Greek Life

    Limited opportunities

    Clubs and Activities

    Hope House, Free Hugs, Life Groups, IJM, Invisible Children, Angels, Prep Program, Intramurals (just about them all!),

    Great for these types of students

    Love of life and people, academically an achiever, small tight-knit community, followers of Jesus Christ, honesty and genuineness about life

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dorm vs. Wild, Numerous clubs on campus, TWIRP, Black Tie, Humans vs. Zombies, Tagged, Campus Golf, Fresheree, Mr. NNU!

    Bang for the buck

    Great Financial Aid Packages!

    What to do for fun

    Go to the Flying M, movies, hiking, downtown Boise, Messenger pizza, dorm activities, game nights, pick up games... you make it happen if it isn't and if it would be fun!

    Food and Dining

    Excellent! Great staff and great food!

    Dorm Life

    Wonderful! Phenomenal staff and planning teams for events! People are in each other's rooms, hanging out, watching movies, playing games, and eating!

    Academic Rigor

    You will be challenged, and you will find those classes most challenging most enjoyable. It is a blessing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Pursue numerous options, compare financial aid packages, and know the strengths/weaknesses academically of different institutions.

    In three sentences

    Northwest Nazarene University is a place to belong and love as part of a community thriving to serve our Lord, transform culture, and be engaged in life together! People matter to each other and care about one another, and will strive to excel academically. You will find that God draws you to Himself as you experience the love of a community that accepts, challenges, encourages and walks with our God!

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It has private roads only available inside the campus with patrol through the night

    Greek Life

    None to speak of

    Clubs and Activities

    Many for you to choose from

    Great for these types of students

    You will love it if you are looking for a small personal college that is big enough to not know everyone by name but small enough to see faces you recognize.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Your parents can rent the alumni house for cheap when they come to visit which means they are near by and can also eat in the Dex. It has helped a lot the first year when you are missing your family.

    Bang for the buck

    Weekend movie night in town.

    What to do for fun

    It is a small campus and a small town but we have christian concerts, jam sessions, sports and even the movies to see in town.

    Food and Dining

    With all the choices like burger, pizza, burritos and salad too many to list but always good.

    Dorm Life

    The late night chats, study sessions, movie nights and all around fun with either, ice cream trips coffee we always enjoy each others company.

    Academic Rigor

    I find my classes to challenging and rewarding all at the same time. Its incredible how much I have learned and thought I already knew.

    Tips for prospective students

    With small class room sizes you can always talk to the professors. The food is always tasty so be careful with the freshmen 15. Remember when help is needed they have free tutoring.

    In three sentences

    This has been an amazing first year of college. It's been incredible to find friends that I will have for life, professors that I can lean on A college life I only dreamed of.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Choir, service clubs, you name it!!

    Great for these types of students

    Intelligent students who wan to be challenged, go to a Christian college that has a very service-oriented student body and make lasting memories.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Clock tower, Ford Hall, Chapel, College Church, Brandt Auditorium: All great places. Senior Slick and plays, etc., lots of fun!

    Bang for the buck

    Expesnsive but I think the 1:1 insruction is worth it!

    What to do for fun

    LOTS to do in the Nampa/Boise area from hiking and skiing to movies and concerts. Also lots happening on the NNU campus.

    Food and Dining

    Not as good as homecooked but definitely not bad!

    Dorm Life

    Both a lot of fun and hard to forge new living relationships.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging course, but preofessors are helpful!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study but also to make lifelong friendships and have fun!

    In three sentences

    NNU has great, caring professors. Classes are very challenging. The campus atmosphere is wonderful.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Easy to understand, hardly needed, but always there.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many to choose from and I haven't even heard about all of them yet!

    Great for these types of students

    Students that love to get involved and want encouragement daily.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't been going here for very long and I don't know what it looks like on other campuses, but we have a College Bucket List every semester. It's a list of five activities to look forward to during the semester, and it usually involves the participation of more than half the student body. Events include campus golf, and alien vs. human wars.

    What to do for fun

    There are a number of activities on weekends to keep students busy, whether involved with clubs or just pitching in for a day. You don't have to commit yourself to anything, but it's there when you need it.

    Food and Dining

    Students complain about the school's food all the time, but I hear a lot of students eat out and eat together to encourage healthy eating habits.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived on-campus, but I've heard a lot of great things about it. I am considering to live on-campus next year.

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard and requires a lot from you.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first semester is the hardest, no matter what. Just remember to breathe and take one day a week for yourself where you don't do anything for classes. It helps you rejuvenate your brain cells and relax or have fun for a few hours.

    In three sentences

    It's a community of students, professors, and church members. It's a place to have safe fun. It's a place of free expression and spiritual encouragement.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe while on campus

    Greek Life

    Alpha Epsilon Delta

    Clubs and Activities

    http://www.nnu.edu/campus-life/student-involvement/clubs/club-directory/ . Here 's the link to NNU's website that shows all the clubs. I don't want to type that much

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are serious enough they want an education and not party and wacked enough you carry on with goofball activities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since I haven't started I don't know

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is around $24K (2012) this includes tution, room & meals. With that said, you can get thousands knock off if you have a high gpa and act score

    What to do for fun

    There are several games like Zombies vs Cowboys, bonfires, watching movies in a pool. They really think outside the box when it comes to coming up with fun things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Where you aren't doing fine dinning there are several choices, from the grill area to main dishes, pizza and so on.

    Dorm Life

    Since I don'tl ive in the dorms this comes from others to me. Dorm life is a balance of crazy fun and private down time. The one thing everyone seems to like is they don't have to worry about drugs & booze being in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    You are expected to keep your GPA up. With that said, there are all sorts of study groups,, tutors, and mentors that will help you with what ever you need to improve your grades

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are here to get an education and not to party. You want a small, tight knit, family style university. Kooky on campus games like Zombies vs Cowboys are something you like.

    In three sentences

    Variety of degrees Family type campus Staff really works to help you suceed

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great. Students have key cards to access buildings they need to get to. Dorms are only accessable to students who live there. Campus security is visible all the time.

    Greek Life

    only dorms

    Clubs and Activities

    too many to list.

    Great for these types of students

    traditional and nontraditional students have a place here

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chapel is a nice break during the week. Recharge, connect, have some fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though the price is higher than public schools, the value surpasses the cost! A must be place to learn.

    What to do for fun

    The campus always has activities going on for all interest. And if you have an idea, they are always open to something new.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great and a huge variety all the time!

    Dorm Life

    from what I observe. good experience. I am a nontraditional student (mom with two kids at home) but my classmates are having good experiences.

    Academic Rigor

    Extremely challenging courses. Instructors are leaders in their fields.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be fulled by the size, NNU is a huge college experience wrapped up in a small package. Don't let the fact that NNU is a private Christian school scare you away. There is a purpose in you coming here, it is an amazing place to be. Quality education in a personal, caring atmosphere!

    In three sentences

    Small class size means greater learning. Instructors are very knowledgable and approachable. Small campus makes for greater personal experience.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Northwest Nazarene University has their own campus safety that are fully trained to take care of any issue that you need. They are especially helpful if you lock yourself out of your upper class apartments provided by the University.

    Greek Life

    Northwest Nazarene University does not offer any sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Northwest Nazarene University offers a wide variety of campus clubs and activities. If you have a hobby there is probably a club for you. If not the university always allows a student to make their own new club only requiring a professor to be the sponsor in order to get funding.

    Great for these types of students

    Northwest Nazarene University is great for students that are dedicated t their studies and for students are seeking a Christian Education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a freshman even that happens every year called the bare buns run. As you can tell from the name it does involve running around almost completely naked. The bare buns run happens with the first snowfall that sticks. The bare buns run is where all the freshman guys run around the freshman girls dorm and around the backside of the sophomore girls dorm and back inside while doing so all other students throw the nastiest concoctions they can come up with.

    Bang for the buck

    Northwest Nazarene University is very expensive compared to a state school but the level of education you receive is unparalleled. If you don't mind paying over $30,000 a year at the price of a world class education this is the place for you.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for in Boise, Idaho just a 20 minute drive from Northwest Nazarene University. Around campus there is usually always a campus sponsored event happening. If none of that suits you, you can go to a movie or go out for dinner.

    Food and Dining

    Northwest Nazarene University has one dining facility catered by Sudexo. This dining facility has a sandwich line, a grill line, an exhibition station, pizza line, and a main line. The sandwich and grill line stay the same serving hamburgers to various kinds of sandwiches. The exhibition changes every single lunch and dinner and sometimes features things that students suggest online. The main line is more traditional dinners like meatloaf, ham, turkey, ect. You can almost always find something you want to eat and the sandwich and grill lines help to fill the gap.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Northwest Nazarene University are not the best and are priced kind of high but with requiring all students to live on campus unless you are a non-traditional student Dorm Life facilitates friendship and comradery.

    Academic Rigor

    Northwest Nazarene University can be very challenging and tends to be more rigorous than a state school. Again if you want a place that will force to learn and grow this is the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are passionate about your studies and want a place that will force you to grown and learn this is the school for you. NNU is very rigorous and if you are not interested in being serious about your studies this is not the University for you.

    In three sentences

    NNU is a place to learn, grow and develope into the person you want to be become. If you are searching for a university that pushes for academic excellence, Christ-like character, and facilitates personal growth this is the place for you. NNU is a private Christian university that is known for its Nursing, Teaching, Engineering, and Christian Studies degrees.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A very safe place to be

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities on campus but the dorms are separated by genders.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and outreach groups that can help shape our community and the surrounding Nampa area.

    Great for these types of students

    -Christian -Anyone who is wanting to be part of a family

    Bang for the buck

    The college is expensive but overall, it is worth it. I feel so privleged to go to school here because it is a very safe and loving place.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on on campus and when in doubt, there are always people looking to do something fun but safe.

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of options for eating. Sometimes the meals are repetitive but overall the food is usually fresh.

    Dorm Life

    As a freshman not knowing anyone when I came to NNU, I was very nervous but dorm life is the best. It is an incredible opportunity to meet a lot of amazing girls.

    Academic Rigor

    I am always pushed to do my best and I am challenged in my studies. In the end though my professors help me and care. It is very rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would strongly recommend NNU for college. There are many caring people and teachers.

    In three sentences

    Northwest Nazarene University is a place where everyone fits in and feels welcome. We are all a community and there is always support here. School is a challenge but very rewarding!

  • 04/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is amazing. The security guards are very alert and aware of all that goes around on campus. They make sure to provide us with a safe and fun experience.

    What to do for fun

    NNU is always hosting free and fun events. I have gotten to know so many people and it has been great. Whether just hanging in the dorms watching movies or rollerskating at the Rollerdrome you can expect that every weekend will be exciting and full of adventures.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is okay. First semester I did not mind it too much but only having 2.5 weeks left, I am getting a little sick of the food. I wish there were more choices and the quality was a little better and healthier.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life. At this point in the school year, I feel like my wing is one big family. It's awesome to see how much you all grow and change throughout the year; it has been nothing short of an amazing first year.

    Academic Rigor

    As I stated above, this school is one where you want to do well. Your professors care about you making it so you care about your education. I strive to do my very best in every subject and it definitely pays off.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell students that if they are looking for a school where you are a person and not just a number this is the school for you. The educators here are very invested into their students and want to see them succeed. Not only do you get to recieve an excellent education, but also memories and relationships that will last the whole rest of your life.

    In three sentences

    I came expecting very little of this school and it changed my life. I love my field that I will be going into; the professors are very invested in their students. The community is incredible and I could not have chosen a better school to attend.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Our Student Government(SGA) is really good at holding really fun school wide events. It really dependes on the week.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay just remember to put salt and pepper on ever thing because the food is a little bland. The cooks a really nice and willing to help anyone if you have a food allergy and need to eat something else.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at NNU is great, I stay in (Ford) which is for Freshman Girls and its great. We have all bonded and the rooms are also really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    That most professors don't tell you what they expect of you. As they should't considering your in college.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for me would be if your not sure what to do about your college choices. To pray about it a God will send you in the right direction as he did for me.

    In three sentences

    NNU is a wonderful place where you can worship, go to school, and also create life long relationships. If I had to rate NNU I would give them a solid ten because it is just a all around good community.

  • 10/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety at NNU is a big deal! They give their number to every student on campus and are always on call for anything. They even give rides home if you are out to walk late at night!

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at NNU.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for departments that NNU doesn't even offer thats how many we have! Our clubs take state trips and trips across the map! Our clubs are sponsored by the school and run by students and professors!

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to cultivate their spirituality and social life, basically anyone and everyone! NNU obviously has a very rigorous academic program, but it also has a very active spiritual community, being a religious college and all. But if you are not religious this is still the place for you! Come be an athlete we are a D2 university!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NNU has big events that happen yearly such as, Rootbeerfest, TWIRP (The woman is required to pay) Black Tie and talent competitions such as MR. NNU and Fresheree. NNU also has two very famous statues, Howard the Elk and Berta the Polar Bear.

    Bang for the buck

    NNU may be a bit pricey, but it all pays off in the long, and short run. NNU is a very safe campus which ads a sense of comfort to parents far away. NNU has the closest community you can find, with professors that invite classes to their homes and even out to coffee.

    What to do for fun

    NNU and Nampa have so much fun things to do on the weekends and during the week. On campus you can find bi-weekly all campus events put on by the student government and dorm events put on by RA's. Around town in Nampa there is a dollar movie theatre and dollar milkshake place called Blazen Burgers. There is also a family fun center place called Wahooz that is cheap and very fun!

    Food and Dining

    Our cafeteria was just remodeled and refurnished and is beautiful! We have gorgeous dark wood tables and chairs of all sizes for big crowds or lunch dates! We also just got tv's that display all menus of what are being served. In our cafeteria we have a deli, grill, daily soup, exhibition station and main dish. This year we have a complete yogurt bar in the mornings and an all day gluten-free station.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at NNU is so much fun that sometimes it is hard to get any sleep at night! RA's and RD's are very involved in resident's lives and make it a point to create meaningful relationships. There is always something to do in the dorms and with other dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    NNU has a 100% post graduation job rate, which means having a degree from NNU gets you places! It is always said that it is easier to get into NNU than it is to stay there. The professors challenge you and push you to academic places you have never even thought about.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come take a campus tour! We have student ambassadors that will meet you and take you around and introduce you to some awesome people! We love having prospective students on campus to stay the night and indulge you into our community at NNU.

    In three sentences

    Northwest Nazarene University is by far the best university in the entire world. I have been to a few other colleges and universities besides NNU and have never had a desire to attend anywhere else. The community at NNU is unlike anywhere else because of the close ties to the city and the small amount of people on campus.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe! and near a hospital too

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Brickhouse coffee treats and family style entertainment with swings inside the house

    Bang for the buck

    Worth the cost of a private institution!

    What to do for fun

    Get involved with student activities or other places nearby.

    Food and Dining

    breakfast and weekends are not the best, but they have a sandwich bar, a grill, vegetarian options, and very kind staff members

    Dorm Life

    Our wing is like a family.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors help you stay at a fast pace.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make tons of friends and introduce yourself to everyone. Get involved and go to Timeout.

    In three sentences

    NNU has good food options and is within walking distance of a few churches. There are many caring professors and upperclassmen. NNU has a loving close-knit community.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Just living here is fun. There is always something fun and interesting going on to go do.

    Food and Dining

    Dex food is its own category of food... Totally edible and sometimes really good, but hit and miss most of the time. However, there are a lot of options.

    Dorm Life

    HUGE dorms in Ford. It's awesome.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for lots of scholarships because it is pretty expensive.

    In three sentences

    Incredible community. Incredible academics. Best place on earth.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nampa doesn't offer too much but there are always things to do outdoors.

    Tips for prospective students

    You become part of a family at NNU. It's a school that cares about each other as a human and not just a student.

    In three sentences

    This school is postive for me in my future as I learn and grow in my education. My instructors are great influence in bettering myself and my education. I have felt comfortable in the classroom settings with smaller sizes and familiar instructors.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I hear the campus used to get shot up by gang bangers occasionally but they rerouted the roads around campus and gated/fenced everything off and it is now completely free of threat.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Funding is pretty decent for such a small school and there is generally almost something to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Middle(to Upper)-class, White, Christian Students, who are seeking more the prestige of the degree (generally if your parents went to school here) and less the quality of education and are not worried about the cost associated with it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As far as I know, nobody knows the origin nor the significance of some of the modern art sculptures around campus. The brick-house is one of the coolest hangouts and has a new event every week.

    Bang for the buck

    Terrible, extremely expensive but not much more of an education then you could receive anywhere else. Not a wide range of class options and many of the courses are condensed into 1 or 2 semesters.

    What to do for fun

    There are alot of clubs that put together projects and trips to do from time to time and a multitude of on campus events throughout the year, nothing special or unique though.

    Food and Dining

    It is probably close to par for the course by way of large volume production food, however the coffee shop is superb.

    Dorm Life

    The entire campus becomes a ghost town on the weekends and most of the dorms are very old.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very intensive and you are expected to pick up on a lot of material in a small amount of time. Grading is very focused on actual knowledge and comparison to other students, at least in the engineering department.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare for all of the costs associated with going to school and not just getting there.

    In three sentences

    This school is excellent if you are planning to pursue a degree in nursing or education but is average in all other programs. It is a good school if you already believe in the Nazarene doctirine and have an idea of where you stand on issues. It is also very nice if you live in the area as you will have something to do on the weekends.

  • 04/05/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Conservative Christian Small Town kids

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus wide Zombies vs. Humans war. Fresheree - freshmen talent showcase. The Brick House - coffee shop.

    What to do for fun

    Very close to Boise, so you have unlimited options. Nampa itself is a small town, with a fun old downtown area with bookstores, pizza, old movie houses, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Good food. They have a made to order grill. Selections for gluten free available.

    Dorm Life

    There are very few dorms, broken down by grade level and gender. There are no co-ed dorms, that's for sure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus so you can get a feel for it.

    In three sentences

    Super friendly campus with great people and a fun, yet serious, atmosphere. This is a small school with a family feel to it.