Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northwest University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to socialize the people here are very friendly!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school so the cost is higher

    Am enjoying being here

    The community is wonderful and very loving!

    Am learning a lot

    The curriculum is amazing! The profs are amazing as well they challenge your studies!

  • 08/17/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Northwest costs a LOT because they're a private school, but with any luck, there will be some scholarships to help me out.

    Will enjoy being here

    This is pretty much my dream school, I'm sure I'll have a blast.

    Will learn a lot

    Their list of classes is astounding! I could learn everything from Biblical Hebrew and Greek to Modern Communications Techniques!

  • 08/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian students who want to learn from great professors with a Christian perspective

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for lots of scholarships and start talking with financial aid and the program you want to apply to early

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty pricy and because I'm not a traditional student I am struggling to stay

    Am learning a lot

    Its only the second day of classes and I am so excited for the next one, I'm learning so much!

  • 11/16/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you love God with all your heart and you want to be surrounded by other students that do too, then this is a great place to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved with the church you are a member of because in your application you will be asked about how you worked for God.

    Bang for the buck

    Make sure that the classes you take are the ones you truly want to be a part of.

    Will enjoy being here

    The food is amazing!! The campus is not too small and not too big.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    real safe! there is a security guard on campus 24/7!

    Great for these types of students

    want to develope a better aspect of the world from the christian perspective.

    Bang for the buck

    it is a private school so it is a bit spendy, but it is very much so worth the money investment!

    What to do for fun

    usually there is a sport event to watch, or you can hang with friends. there are many places you can walk to from campus, stores and a lake!

    Food and Dining

    the food it really tastey, there is a variety of food options and great tasting desserts! :)

    Dorm Life

    you get a really close bond with your roommate if you choose to have one. also, in the dorm life you are knitted tightly together with the people you associate with on your floor.

    Tips for prospective students

    be able to enjoy the life of a christian university, and a willing heart to expan your knowledge on christ and the world view of life.

    In three sentences

    i really enjoy being at nu because the atmosphere is light and everyone seems to connect with you on a personal level. i like how each student i have met has a strong personal relationship with jesus and they are trying there best to invest in nu and bring their talents to this university. i am blessed to be accepted by nu and be given opportunities to help me in my future career.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sometimes a little too safe. We have 24 hour security and surveillance and each building is coded as well as each hall and room. If a code leaks out to a non resident or opposite sex the codes are reset.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons. and if it's not here, you can start any club you'd like...within reason of course, and the student government is always willing to help jump start your club with funds if needed.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students. Being at NU I have discovered an amount good in people that I have never seen before. The students and faculty here make it a point to make each and every one feel welcome here on campus and we smile genuinely, not forcefully.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Screaming Eagles week: the most intense fun you will ever have.

    What to do for fun

    Jump in the lake, hike, run the trails, walk down to get frozen yogurt, disc golf and volleyball on campus!

    Food and Dining

    Not going to lie...food gets old after a while and they are not always vegetarian conscientious. I would say this is the worst part about NU. Don't get me wrong there are some days when the food is really good...just not always.

    Dorm Life

    Their is a strong sense of community here and each floor is like a family. The RA's are constantly coming up with activities to bring their halls closer together to bond and build that homey relationship.

    Academic Rigor

    I have attended four other colleges besides NU and this is by far the most challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself and make it a point to get to know your fellow classmates. Study diligently and organize your time efficiently, because there is always something going on.

    In three sentences

    After struggling for some time to get settled in to a college and call it home, I have finally found that at NU; the school is small, but large at it's core. Their mission is simple: to carry the call in ministry through education and their academic program is both invigorating and challenging. I have been here one year and the experience has been phenomenal; between the educational experience and the strong sense of community, one cannot go wrong at a place like this.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities on campus on weekends and weekdays for students who would like to participate. We have an improv drama team that holds shows every week. Also, we have a worship night every monday for all students. Many other small group activities are available.

    Great for these types of students

    There are a number of opportunities for student musicians who hope to be involved in ministry. Northwest takes music ministry very seriously and we have a recording studio on campus for our traveling ministries. Also, the school of Nursing is highly regarded as one of the best schools in this area.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Twice a year we have a campus-wide event known as Roomies. During the fall, guys ask a girl on a date with their roommate. During the spring, girls ask guys for their roommates. This provides a fun opportunity for girls and guys to get to know each other without the pressures of a serious date. Have fun and hang out for a couple hours on a weekend. Also, every spring we have a formal event known as Evening. The venue for the event changes every year, which gives students a chance to dress up and spend time with friends for an evening near the end of the school year.

    What to do for fun

    Kirkland is very close to Seattle, which offers numerous opportunities for activities. However, students can go to a movie, go bowling, spend time at Lake Washington, shop at Bellevue Square Mall, or go swing dancing after only a short drive. When the weather is nice, there are many opportunities to have fun down at the Lake and there are several outdoor markets close by.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is probably not the best when compared to all other schools, but it continues to improve and the staff are very willing to make any changes that they can. There are a number of options for every meal, and the cooks are more than willing to work with individuals who have specific dietary needs.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms on campus is the best choice for the first couple of years as a student, which is required anyway. It provides a strong community and allows students to develop strong relationships. I have had the tremendous opportunity to build many lifelong friendships while living in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are difficult and time consuming regardless of major. However, some majors are certainly more academically based and will require a higher degree of academic focus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who are interested in Northwest University should start the application process early in order to start applying for scholarships because the cost of tuition is quite high. They should also take their education seriously, but they should not be afraid to be involved in as many ways as possible on campus.

    In three sentences

    Northwest University is a prime choice for Christian students who seek to grow in their faith while receiving a quality education. The Northwest University community gives students a safe place to express themselves and their passions. Students are encouraged to succeed not only in their classes but in every aspect of their lives.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Northwest is a great school for students who want to better themselves not only academically but also as a person.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage prospective students to come for a tour. It will show them around the campus and they will be able to meet some of the students and faculty.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though it is expensive to attend Northwest University, I feel that it is worth the cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love it here at Northwest University, I could not imagine being anywhere else.

  • 04/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian students who want to be in a great Christ-filled environment and still go to a fun school that has great academics.

    Bang for the buck

    The ticket price is very expensive, but they give you a lot of aid. Between financial aid and scholarships, my room and board and tuition will only be about 9,000 a year (without the help of loans or work study), where it would have been 32,000 before.

    What to do for fun

    I was at Northwest during screaming Eagle week, which is like their homecoming. They had a lot of activities, and the night I was there, we played dodge ball until 2 in the morning! They were very friendly and had me join in, which was fun. Kirkland is also very close, so you can walk, bike or drive to a lot of places.

    Food and Dining

    The food there was really great! A lot better than a school that I went to that had a lot more kids. There was a lot of variety there too.

    Dorm Life

    There is only one dorm at Northwest, but the feel of community and friendship resonates.

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing professors really integrate faith into their curriculum. The technology they have is pretty advanced, and local hospitals take Northwest kids over UW kids (and UW is like third in the nation). The music professors stayed a half an hour after my audition and talked to me. No one at any other school did that. They were very personable and friendly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for lots of scholarships, and definitely visit!

    In three sentences

    The staff and professors are very willing to work with you, and my admissions counselors knew me and were very excited to meet me when I visited. The music and nursing professors impressed me greatly, and the campus is beautiful! I like that it's near Seattle, but in a smaller community.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Northwest University is not a big school and it is located in a safe area.

    Greek Life

    Northwest University is not a large school so there is little to no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am part of a ambassadors team that contacts potential students.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who want to learn more about the bible.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual tradition is a trip to Israel every other year.

    Bang for the buck

    So far, entering into my junior year I realize I am learning more than I originally expected. I am very satisfied with my choice of school.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I play volleyball, ping-pong and use the school's library.

    Food and Dining

    The school frequently goes on outings and buys the students free lunches.

    Dorm Life

    I would not know because I am a off campus student.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a liberal arts school so the academics are well rounded.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should consider the four year degree over the two year degree to experience all the school offers.

    In three sentences

    Northwest University Salem Campus will expand the way a person thinks. The professors are personally engaging and involved in the students lives. I would not transfer to any other school.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Kirkland is the one of the safest towns in Washington State according to the stats.

    Greek Life

    Many many valuable and productive fellowships and clubs around the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many fun clubs and activities to be involved including sports, bible studying, student government, science society, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be used by God

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Screaming Eagles Week where everyone dresses up crazy and do many fun activities.

    Bang for the buck

    It is about the cost to live in the city.

    What to do for fun

    going to Seattle downtown (itself includes a lot of fun), Waterfront, going out to eat, school activities and many more..

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a fairly good food overall. There are also many places around to eat that are cheep.

    Dorm Life

    Funnest place to live if you like loudness and craziness..

    Academic Rigor

    Not so much of rigor is at school but rather the professors encourage students to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come if you have a passion to do great things for God and God will show you the plans and ways to use you in a way that God would be glorified.

    In three sentences

    Northwest University is one of the best place to be educated in a christian perspective. The school teaches students how to live their lives in a way that God would be glorified. Students then reach into the world to reflect the love of Jesus to those who are in need with the tool that they have learned.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's very safe and easy for security to monitor because it's a small population

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports, campus ministry groups, music groups

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are Christian or prefer a religious school and like a conservative, safe, fun environment

    Bang for the buck

    It's very pricey but there's great opportunities for developing close relationships and you get to know the professors and staff.

    What to do for fun

    College is located on the Eastside across the lake from Seattle. There are many things to do. The location is perfect!

    Food and Dining

    Good cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    Seems to be safe, clean and nice!

    Academic Rigor

    Very good!

    In three sentences

    Even though I will begin in a month I've been impressed with the college so far.

  • 09/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is incredibly safe. We have 24-hour security who are always looking out for the students, and very friendly.

    Greek Life

    None, but the dorms act as sororities and fraternities. The bond amongst the different floors are like brother and sisterhoods.

    Clubs and Activities

    If there isn't a club already in existence that doesn't meet your fancy, you're more than welcome to start one! Northwest urges their students to be leaders and connect with their peers.

    Great for these types of students

    *Spiritual *Community Oriented *Friendly *Accepting of others *Diverse *Goal Oriented

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Screaming Eagles! The most anticipated event of the school year. Two-words: Cray Cray.

    Bang for the buck

    The experience here at Northwest University has been life changing, not just for me, but for many of my peers as well. There is always something new to see, hear, and explore.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do in the area. Seattle is just a hop, skip, and a jump away. Don't have a car-no problem! The bus is right out front of campus and the 255 will take you straight to downtown, where you can explore the famous Pike Place market, Seattle Ferris Wheel, or search all of the amazing antique and thrift shops. If you want to stay in town, the waterfront in Kirkland is just a 5 mintue drive, or 20 minute walk and it is absolutely beautiful. One can jump in the lake, rent paddle boards, kayaks, and canoes, or just sit and enjoy all of the beautiful scenery.

    Food and Dining

    It's Cafe food....some days are great! Others...not so much. There are many options, however, and they are striving to improve the quality and service. They just designated a gluten free area for those gluten-intolerant.

    Dorm Life

    A wonderful experience here at Northwest. The dorms become your family away from home. Each floor has their very own sense of community and pizaaz. There is always someone to talk to, hang out with, eat with, study with, and just be there for you when you're missing home, or facing challenges.

    Academic Rigor

    We have a state of the art nursing and Pre-Med program here at Northwest, which is both exciting and challenging. The professors here expect the best from their students and strive to challenge their abilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Make friends, which is not difficult to do at all; everyone is very welcoming and kind. Study hard, because the class sizes are small, so it is inevitable you will be called on to participate in class on the regular.

    In three sentences

    Northwest is an amazing place; it is based off of Christian Values and strives to serve their students, community, and most importantly God. The staff and professors are absolutely incredible; they are generous, helpful, knowledgeable, and overall brilliant. It is a school to call home.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafe gets real old, real fast.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorms and usually pretty silent.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are as challenging as they want them to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you're getting into to.

    In three sentences

    Northwest has a strong Christian base. Classes are small and intimate. Great atmosphere, but a little controlling.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a closed campus and in a neighborhood with security on duty every night. It's safer than UW or SPU.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 200 clubs I believe. And they have small life groups which is pretty legit.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians, Atheists, or anyone who is confused about religion. It's a good place to start or finish. They have a good psychology and music program (I heard) so if you are in these fields, check it out.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    THEY PRAY BEFORE EACH LECTURE! I loved the open honest atmosphere!

    Bang for the buck

    What's that? Is it expensive? Yes, it's a private college. :(

    What to do for fun

    They have a bunch of events throughout the year but I have not atteneded any yet.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome cafe and cafeteria. I ate at the Caf when I was there and the variety of food is exteremly big.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a bit old but according to our short tour of them, they look like a fun place for young adults to be in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come with an empty pocket because NU is located in a rich city (Kirkland). Make sure to come to the events BEFORE THE YEAR STARTS, so that you can meet other students before you start your life at the school. Don't be shy, the staff is great!

    In three sentences

    The professors are smart, very kind, and really do care about each student. The atmosphere is awesome - it's a christian college and it's great. It's a private school but the choices for classes is large, I'm excited to get started here!

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The location of this campus is in a very secure-feeling environment. Theft is virtually non-existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs change each semester and are student-lead.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small campuses where one can easily know the majority of students who attend the university. It is incredibly Christ-centered and is perfect for those seeking to further their relationship with God while enhancing their education. It's perfect for students who like have personal interaction with their professors--classes are smaller and professors are open for discussion and after-class meetings with students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The gotcha competition is fun. It's a game where students try to find a fellow game-player, then shooting them with a water gun when their victim least expects it.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is STEEP here, especially since it is a private university. However, the quality of education is phenomenal.

    What to do for fun

    The waterfront is a great area to hang out and do homework, and it is very easy to get to downtown Seattle from campus.

    Food and Dining

    I make my own meals, but the food is good quality and is all-you-can-eat.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in the dorms, but have heard that dorm life is fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The majority of classes have a challenging work load, but offer incredible information.

    Tips for prospective students

    KEEP UP ON YOUR HOMEWORK! It piles up as the semester progresses--especially the Theology and Bible classes--so do what you can in the beginning of the semester, when the workload is still light.

    In three sentences

    Northwest is a great university for building relationships with other students while still getting one-on-one time with your professors. The classes are thought-provoking but also enriching. It is a wonderful university to enhance your education while growing spiritually.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is amazing, they really keep an eye on things that happen around campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life, however each floor has a brother and sister floor.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have drama clubs and just about every kind of club for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for all kinds of students. Especially out-going people because everyone is very inclusive.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pricey. However, the education is well worth it and the community is spectacular.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many fun things to do. You can walk into Kirkland and go into any of the shops, you can go down to the lake which is very close. Also, there are always fun things happening on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The Caf usually has good food, it is pretty much the same each week, but it is definitely not bad. It's a great place to socialize as well.

    Dorm Life

    Your dorm floor becomes like your family. They are so open and willing to invite new people in. It is unlike anything you will ever experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are fairly difficult, but if you work hard, you will reap the benefits. The teachers want to help you succeed, if you come to them with questions, they will almost always go out of their way to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind and allow yourself to make friends, if you are open, people will want to be friends with you. The school is wonderful and the community is amazing.

    In three sentences

    A great place to build friendships, and grow spiritually. The professors work on their relationships with students and work to help their students succeed. The campus is beautiful, welcoming and easy to get around.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always walking or driving around the campus and it is definitely a safe environment. The University sits on several acres of land and sometimes you have to walk from one end to the other at any given time for classes or sports events.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything to do with ministries and/or leadership activities is a great place to be a part of. Examples: Chapel, Lighthouse, bible studies

    What to do for fun

    I can travel into Seattle and watch a live soccer championship game, which was really fun. I can walk down to the local star bucks with my friends and enjoy their company as we drink their delicious drinks together. I can go home on the weekends and watch movies with my family.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining room at my school is pretty good. They do have variety and it tastes reasonable. Sometimes you can't even tell that you are at a school rather than a restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm is located on the first floor and that works best for me living on campus. The rooms are good size to share with room mates. The boys dorm is right next to the dining hall and that is perfect.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is all about the academics. If you are book smart then you will fit here perfect. If you are seeking more of a spiritual path, this isn't the proper school for that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you can receive your complete degree here before applying to get in. Make sure that you have your finances in order to cover each semester as the fiancial aid department is very limited and the price to attend is high.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Northwest University a secular school. The professors are well educated with theology books. I would prefer that the bible be used more often than what it is.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and other groups on campus that do things like rock climbing, dancing, and other activities. There is a Frisbee golf course and sand volley ball also on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The Caf (on campus) has the best cafeteria food I have ever tasted or heard of. There are tons of options and everyone from the healthy eaters to those who don't care can be satisfied.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fantastic! Definitely one of the best parts about the school is the close community and campus life. The dorms are pretty typical, but it is the people that make the experience incredible.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard, but in a good way. You have to really work to get good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend getting involved in different clubs/ministries on campus to get to know people and also be challenged to grow in other areas outside of the classroom.

    In three sentences

    Northwest University is a great university for students who are not only looking for a great education, but also a positive environment. It is a small school with a beautiful campus. The Professors are personable and care about the success of the students.

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of things to get involved in hear. So much so that you have to pick and choose so being bored is not usually an issue. Plus Kirkland is a beautiful little town with lots to do there as well.

    Food and Dining

    The caf gets old fast but that's just college life.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is not near as bad as I suspected. It is fun getting to know so many people and I really like having the support system.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult but the teachers truly care about their students and are very helpful if you get stuck or can't figure something out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to scholarships for the expenses.

    In three sentences

    Northwest University is very welcoming. The staff really care about their students and I truly feel like they are preparing me for the future.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    PREACHING THE GOSPEL

    Tips for prospective students

    GOOD CARE

    In three sentences

    GOOD ACADEMIC SCHOOL IT IS A GOOD SPIRITUAL SCHOOL NO SEGREGATION AT AT THE COLLEGE