Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northwestern College - Iowa Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    High academic standards. Want to be on a lively, vibrant campus. Want professors/faculty involved in life outside the classroom. Desire a strong sense of community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and utilize your admissions counselor to the fullest. They're extremely helpful and can connect you with a wide range of individuals actively eager to help you in your college search and accomplishing all that needs to be done to prepare for college.

    Bang for the buck

    Northwestern is EXPENSIVE; however, do not be turned away by the high price tag. Financial aid is extremely accessible, and most students receive a substantial amount. As far as classes go, you definitely receive what you pay for. They are challenging, yet intriguing and thought provoking. The only drawback is the cafeteria food. But then again, what institution of higher learning actually has decent food?

    Am enjoying being here

    There is ALWAYS something going on and so much to be involved in. The very first weekend following Freshmen Orientation is full with events for the notorious CLASH of the CLASSES in which each class competes for braggin' rights. (In 2010-11, the freshman class dominated for the first time in school history.) It doesn't stop there, high profile entertainers - think Hawk Nelson, Tim Halperin, David Dunn and the like - are brought in on a regular basis to provide concerts FREE of charge. Concerts aren't the only outlet offered. An annual dance crew competition called NBDC (Northwestern's Best Dance Crew) brings in a professional crew from the real ABDC (America's Best Dance Crew) to act as judges for crews NW students put together. Shortly after NBDC, it's time for NCDC Extreme; the American Idol-esque competition that pits talented Northwestern vocalists against, rival and neighboring school, Dordt College. The prize? $500. Northwestern College sophomore, Nicole Northquest, walked away with the cash at this year's competition. If dances are your thing, don't worry, Ndub (the well-known and beloved nickname for Northwestern) has plenty of them. Impromptu dance parties occur nearly every night...ya' just gotta listen for the location and go! Organized dances are also held at Homecoming and Winter Formal. These events are well attended and an absolute blast to be a part of! Events quiet down for the fall semester following NCDC, but be ready to jump right back in the swing of things following Christmas Break for RUSH, a student led and produced dance production held annually. Everyone who auditions is cast, and experience levels range from beginner to Broadway performer. The Student Activities Council (SAC), headed by Lori Couch, does an excellent job in coming up with and promoting exciting events. It's rare for a student not to attend an event held by the SAC. Most of these are free of charge, but a few require a small fee; generally nothing more than $3. Many students find themselves way overbooked and having to scale back plans in order to complete their responsibilities. Events planned by the SAC are not the only social outlets available to students. A plethora of activities are scheduled within your wing and dorm. These events are also usually well attended. Campus ministries also offers numerous bible studies, outreach opportunities and other ways to give back to the community weekly.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors have a deep desire to see your grow in and out of the classrooms. They know you by name, and if they don't; they're working on you. They want you to feel open and welcome to dropping by their office, their house or even calling their personal cell phone. These aren't just professors; they become friends, mentors and individuals you highly respect. Classes are engaging, with very little down time; so class time moves quickly.

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Good for students from around the area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get scholarships

  • 12/30/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Apply to Northwestern if: -You like people. -You want to learn more than bullet-points on PowerPoints can teach -You want life experiences to change you into a mature INDIVIDUAL in FOUR years. -If you like to have fun -You want to stay up late talking about life, watching movies, and cramming for tests at the local bakery at 3am. -You see the world in it's present state and want to change it for the better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to keep in mind what you truly NEED a college to be, and forget the frilly stuff. Yes, Northwestern is in the middle of no where Yes, Northwestern has far less than 5,000 students Yes, Northwestern isn't near any huge metropolitan center or mall or Target... but it, literally, has everything else you could need. -OUTSTANDING Community -EXCELLENT Academics -and more life-changing and FUN adventures that will create memories and friendships that will last a lifetime. -The best 4 years of intermediate life... then you become a real person:)

    Bang for the buck

    Private Institutions = EXPENSIVE... However, they are extremely generous with financial aid. I became friends with the employees of the Fin. Aid department because they would work with me PERSONALLY to help my in my financial situations. I am thankful that they saw me, as a person, with a difficult financial situation, rather than just a student ID number with a debt. Bottom Line: I would pay that ridiculously expensive tuition ANYTIME just to be at that school.

    Did enjoy being here

    COMMUNITY! There is no place on Earth like this college. There is not a day that goes by that I don't reminisce of days at Northwestern. There was not a single thing I would change. I was genuinely loved and accepted by my peers, I was encouraged in my dreams, and supported through the trials and tribulations of life. The community at Northwestern is hard to explain, but is the type that everyone essentially needs in life.

    Did learn a lot

    I was a student at Northwestern for my Freshman and Sophomore years... and I would say that those two years were the best and most challenging years of my life. My professors were interesting, lively, deeply caring, and extremely intelligent and knowledgeable. In those two years, I learned more about our world, mankind, and MYSELF than I could have in any other atmosphere. Little NWC is the place to be.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Students who want to be known as a person, not just another face or number -Students who enjoy being pushed academically -Students who want to live in an amazing community of people -Students who like going deeper in relationships -Students who thrive in smaller class settings -Students who would find comfort in a Christian environment

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit! Stay overnight! Visits are great and campus tours are helpful, but staying overnight in a dorm gives you a real feel for what college life is like. Talk to students. Ask lots of questions. The admissions office can help with most questions, but current students can give answers from their own perspective.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is expensive, but it's worth it! The professors are smart and passionate about their subject areas. The staff is helpful and friendly. The student body is tight-knit and welcoming. Plus, there is a lot of financial aid, and workstudy jobs are available to anyone on campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here!!! From the moment I stepped on to campus when I was visiting that first time in high school, I felt that like place could be somewhere that felt like home. Now in my third year, this place DOES feel like home. My friends have become like family to me. People care about each other. My professors want to know me as a person, not just another face in the classroom. There are always activities going on around campus during the weekends. There might be concerts or a dance or a game night. There are events like Bingo night where you dress-up as an old person, speed dating which is just a funny way to get to know some other people, NBDC (Northwestern's Best Dance Crew) which is groups of students who choreograph dances and compete for the top spot, and so much more! The dorms also do activities like having bonfires or inviting speakers to come. Within the dorm, individual wings plan events to help build community among those living together. The campus also has a strong Christian feel to it. There is chapel on most days of the week as well as a student-led praise and worship service on Sunday nights. There are Discipleship Groups in each dorm that are like Bible studies with those you live with. Professors bring God into the classroom, too. People feel free to talk about God and are respected for different beliefs they may hold. The word community is thrown around a lot here, (some may say too much) but it describes the environment so well! I know I am where God wants me to be right now in my life.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at this school really push me to learn all that I can. They want me to succeed. They are willing to help whenever I ask. It is a liberal arts school, so I'm learning many different subject areas. I have definitely enjoyed taking some of the classes outside of my major! As you take more upper-level classes within your major, classes get smaller and there is more discussion. I have even been in classes with just 2 or 3 students and the professor. Besides learning a lot in my classes, I learn from the students around me. Everyone comes from different backgrounds. I can't count how many deep discussions I've had - discussions that cause me to think and reevaluate what I believe and why. When you see something from another person's viewpoint, it can change the way you think about the world around you.

  • 11/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to a college where you feel comfortable. It doesn't matter if the people are crazy there, what matters most is: do you feel comfortable here to be yourself!

    Am enjoying being here

    I have made a ton of friends the first week here! And everyday I am still making friends.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn something everyday. I learn a different exciting thing about God and my faith. Also the professors are truely amazing and make learning fun!

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's very safe here, you don't ever have to worry!

    Greek Life

    There are no frats or sororities here, but the people in your dorm are much better than either of those could be!

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to chose from!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone really, as long as you're willing to learn new things!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tulip festival here in town every year that is pretty fun! They also love windmills, it's very dutch!

    Bang for the buck

    The professors are so helpful here, the library is great, and the tutoring is fantastic! There is always someone to help you1

    What to do for fun

    There may not seem like a lot to do here but there is. The blue bunny factory and Perkins are in Sioux City which is only and hour away and the doughnut shop here in town is fantastic. You can also stop by the Rec. center in Sioux City while your there or maybe a movie! There is a movie theater here in town as well!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and there is so much to chose from!

    Dorm Life

    You will know everyone on your wing and possibly your floor! And everyone is very helpful and friendly!

    Academic Rigor

    The work is hard but it pays off, do well and you will go far!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be ready to grow in your faith and love for Christ and your fellow humans!

    In three sentences

    Northwestern is a great place to meet new people and make new friends. They are very community oriented and love helping new students become acquainted with each other and the people already here.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    your going to have to be very creative.

    Food and Dining

    poor.

    Dorm Life

    awesome. i loved the guys i lived with.

    Academic Rigor

    it's not easy, but it's not impossible by any means.

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready for the small town environment and weather

    In three sentences

    it's a great place for some people, but it's just not the place for me.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Northwestern College is an amazing place to grow in your faith as well as build confidence and knowledge for the future.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Wild West Shootout where you go around and try to shoot people with squirt guns, RUSH which is a dance recital that anyone can be involved in - there are around 7 dances that you can audition for every year, NC/DC is an American Idol type competition with Dordt College which is just 5 minutes away, and NBDC which stands for Northwesterns Best Dance Crew - it's modeled after the popular tv show. Those are just a few of the traditions and annual activities!

    Bang for the buck

    Northwestern has a really good financial aid program, so even though tuition may seem really expensive in reality hardly anyone actually pays that much. I have two thirds of my school paid for with scholarships from the school!

    Food and Dining

    They just built a new cafeteria here, the food can get a bit repetitive, but it tastes good! There is also a cafe where you can order sandwiches, wraps, pasta, coffee, etc.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is one of the best parts about Northwestern. All of the dorms are fairly nice, and there are traditions and activities for each of them! Each wing has a discipleship group that meets once a week, the floors mix all years of students so you can meet all sorts of people, and each wing is matched up with a brother and sister wing. It's just a ton of fun!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are not easy, Northwestern prides itself on having very strong academics! But there is a great tutoring system and the professors all want the students to succeed. They are always willing to help students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule an overnight visit, you get to experience first hand dorm life, and visit a class if you can.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern is perfect for people who are looking for a close community! The classes are small, professors are great, and the dorm life is a ton of fun! It's a college whose goal is to integrate spiritual and academic learning.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus feels as safe as being in my own home. It is a small town where everyone knows each other, and hardly any crime every occurs. I am never afraid to walk across campus at night alone no matter if it is 10 pm or 3:30 in the morning, this campus is always safe. I also never have to lock my doors because since you know pretty much everyone, you know if their is someone who shouldn't be on campus rather easily.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and activities to get involved and there is something for everyone. There are three choirs, a band, and orchestra, and you can always attend their concerts for free. We also have musical and talent competitions with our rival school a couple times a year for a couple weeks at a time. Their are clubs for academics, video games, club sports, and various activities that go on outside of the buildings.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for students that want to have a connection with their professors and have professors that actually care about their lives. Students who want to feel like they belong, and feel like their is always someone to talk to. We pride ourselves on our sense of community. Also this is a great school for students who want to have a Christian based education, although we are Christian that does not take away from our academics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wild west shoot out is a fun game that goes on, on campus. It is a week long battle of water gun fighting. We also have NCDC, a singing competition between our rival school.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the real bang for the buck is how much your professors take interest in your life and academics, helping you succeed both in class and in life. They always care and take time to meet and help students out.

    What to do for fun

    Since we are close to the ice cream capitol of the world people like to go get ice cream at Blue Bunny factory. We also have a lot of special competitions that go on regularly, like a wild west shoot out (water gun fight for a week) playing out versions of gulf with a tennis ball all over campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food on some days can be really great in the cafeteria, the macaroni and cheese is one of my favorites, or made to order chicken alfredo is a crowd favorite as well. If the food in the caf doesn't sound that great you can always go to the hub and eat as well, with a lot of different options ranging from burgers to customized salads.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life will almost make you feel like your at home. Your room is a good size, bigger than a lot of other dorm rooms at other colleges. The people you live with become like family, you always have someone to hang out! It is quiet when it needs to be quiet but fun the rest of the time. Their are designated rooms for studying and working on the computer as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are hard, plain and simple.You will have to work hard to get good grades, you will have to study, and you will almost always have homework. With that being said because the academics are so hard their are tutor centers for students to go to, and also one on one tutoring sessions. If you need more help than that your professors are always willing to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can handle a small town, if you can't this may not be the place for you, but if your not sure, try it out on one of the preview days! Realize that you will have to work your butt off her to maintain a decent GPA, and know that it is worth it in the end. Almost all of Northwestern graduates are placed in a job or internship within six months of graduation. You are also coming to a real Christian school, Jesus is our main focus in everything we do.

    In three sentences

    This is the best school in the world! The sense of community and belonging here is incredible, and nothing I have experienced any where else. The professors are amazing and are required to be the best of the best. I am so glad this is the school I go to.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hardly any crime on campus. Sidewalks are clear most of the time. Maintenance people do a great job of keeping things safe and working.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians, but don't have to be Christian, also students who like small town and small community.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok. There are a lot of options to choose from. There are options for vegetarians and people with food allergies. The space is pretty clean when you go to eat. There are TV's that you can watch different sports on.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life. I love how I can keep my door open and people can come and talk or just say hi. You get to know the people on your wing and usually become friends with them. The resident director is very nice and helpful. You can go and talk with them about anything. Same with the resident assistant.

    Academic Rigor

    The homework is hard but worth it in the end. Professors expect you to do your best. They also make you work hard and think and they challenge you to help you learn. Professors do not like to take class time to slack off; they want you to learn and get your money's worth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the professors. Should also go to different activities to get to know other students. Work hard and try and get sleep.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Northwestern College 5 stars. The community is great and people are very friendly. Even the professors are friendly.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When we say Ha, its Iowa. We mean it. This town is about 90% safe. Believe me.

    Greek Life

    Yeeeeeah. We don't have that so don't get too excited for that life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of things to get involved with. Find what fits you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    H* radio Steggy Keggy (no beer.. I mean it is a christian school so) Coly Christmas West coffee house Gunnis competitions

    Bang for the buck

    This school is super expensive but its worth the small class sizes, guaranteed classes and graduation time. It is also worth the one on one help that is offered on a day to day bases.

    What to do for fun

    Make your own fun? There isn't much if you don't own a car.

    Dorm Life

    I'm from a city so dorm life kills me. Not a big fan.

    Academic Rigor

    I think NWC is filled with intelligent professors who truly know what they are teaching 90% of the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Honestly, visit the school before you say yes, unless if its a God-willing thing. If you are just signing for a sport or something and if you are from a big town, honestly go to NWC and check it out. You will not get the full experience of NWC in your visit, but it will be enough for you to say this is it or I need to get out of here.

    In three sentences

    Extremely small if you are from a big town/city. Small classes which gives you the chance to actually do well. Small enough campus to gain personal and close relationships.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each dorm has their own unique traditions that they do for the student body.

    What to do for fun

    Relax on the green, play ultimate Frisbee, gennis (golf with a tennis ball), hang out in the dorms or apartments, or get together with some friends and play some games in the student center.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but can get old after a while.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is so friendly and inviting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get opinions from multiple students about their college experience here, not just one because then it will give you more information about what goes on here.

    In three sentences

    This college has a great and friendly community life. Each professor takes the time to get to know their students. Students like to get everyone involved in lots of activities.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Various activities to get involved in!

    Great for these types of students

    ANYONE. Northwestern is Christian college, but I am not a true Christian. I haven't attended church as much as I would of liked to or read the Bible, but it really is eye opening, and getting to know God.

    What to do for fun

    MAKE YOUR OWN FUN. It's Orange City, there isn't a lot to do here. If you get involved in a lot of stuff around campus, you will enjoy your time!

    Food and Dining

    Usually there is a variety of food to pick from. It isn't always the best.. Try to at least try something new every week or you will be stuck eating a sandwhich everyday like me!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! Everyone gets to one another and no one is left out. D-groups are common here! Tuesday nights you get together and discuss the Bible or other things you are willing to talk about. The only thing that stinks is there isn't much to do on the weekends!

    Academic Rigor

    Academics can be very hard. Northwestern's goal is to challenge you in every direction and stretch you to do you best. Yes, a lot of time studying is required, but it will pay off in the long run. Also, in every class you take, you will have to write a paper! Practice those writing skills! :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out the dorm questionnaire VERY accurately, so you get a good roommate the first time around. Go to chapel and pay attention. It is very eye opening and isn't always about the Bible! It's life messages!

    In three sentences

    Northwestern College is a very diverse campus, even though it is small. It is open to anybody. No one is felt left out, you become one.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian Outgoing Smart

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cardboard/Duct tape battle Coly Christmas (Dorm Event) Steggy Keggy (Dorm Event) Haunted Hospers (Dorm Event) Giant Slip-n-Slide (Clash of the Classes Event)

    What to do for fun

    Late night doughnut runs Several campus activities Trips to closest city for shopping and restaurants Bowling Sporting Events

    Tips for prospective students

    Study a lot! Keep good your grades up Time management is important

    In three sentences

    Northwestern College is a great place to become stronger and closer in your faith with God. It is also a great community for creating life long relationships with faculty and students. It is an amazing place to receive a well-rounded education and integrating it with faith.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Willing to work hard and make friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Too many to count.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of Activities! There are singing competitions and a campus lip-sinking competition. Movies and fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    You'll feel super accepted here!

    In three sentences

    Northwestern has great community. The professors are very interested in their students. The college pushes students to achieve success.