Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northwestern Michigan College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    NMC is great for just about everyone. Being a two-year school, it's a good stepping stone for anyone who wants to get a good start in their college career without breaking the bank. If you're looking to major in anything sports related, this might not be the place for you. The extent of the NMC PE classes are limited to soccer and basketball class and they don't offer anything like sports science or sports medicine. However, if you're looking to go into nursing, culinary or maritime professions, NMC is the place to be. Their programs in these fields are accredited and outstanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Many of my friends went off to four year universities right away. I was chastised for staying close to home at the easy college. I can say with confidence that this college is by no means easy. I always received good grades in high school and I have had to work extremely hard to do the same at NMC. So, my advice is don't assume that this school is a pushover. It's just like any other school with a well rounded variance of professors and classes. If anything, I like it better than the bigger schools because the class sizes are small, making positive relationships with your professors much easier to attain.

  • 03/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus.

    What to do for fun

    No matter what season there are always plenty of things to do in Traverse City

    Food and Dining

    Great food and drink, also Traverse has a lot of restaurants

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but know others that do enjoy it.

    In three sentences

    Smaller classes with great teachers. Lot's of opportunities with difference classes. Supportive staff.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang at the campus or go have a good time in town

    Tips for prospective students

    Its cheaper here and easy access compared to other colleges

    In three sentences

    Easy, small town know everybody, and great learning experience

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    NMC has a very high saftey rating which means a lot to my parents.

    Bang for the buck

    I will save money by attending a community college my first 2 years and its close to home.

    Academic Rigor

    Right now it's easy to complete my class via the internet during my high school seminar class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have time with your high school schedule to take a few on line classes, then don't wait, get your future started. Once I get my basic classes done I can transfer to a university if I need and it saves money going to a community college first.

    In three sentences

    I am a high school student that is duel enrolled at NMC. I love all the help we received at NMC when my Mom and I went for orientation. Its great to be able to do my class through the Internet while in high school and next fall as a high school senior I plan on taking at least 2 classes at NMC.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Inter-mural sports.

    Food and Dining

    A lot of processed food, but the food is all prepared by students in the culinary program here. It's pricey but very delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Really cramped dorms and really small bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    You will usually get a pretty awesome teachers here. Math teachers, not so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're not really into group discussions, I wouldn't recommend going to this college. You have a lot of those here.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern Michigan College is a great, small-town school. The teachers really know how to get involved with the students and get to know them as an individual. If you're looking for a personal feel with your education, I would recommend Northwestern Michigan College!

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    NMC is a great college for the money and one will get what they need to succeed from going here.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria was good although pricey at times.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorm, but i heard that they were a fun living environment and the one dorm I was able to go in was spacious and my friend did like it a lot.

    Academic Rigor

    Each course and professor will be different and some will be harder and take more of your time than others. The professors do a good job at letting you know how the course will be at the beginning of the semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of everything NMC has to offer and perform in your classes to the best of your ability, the teachers will notice and it will give them an incentive to help you when you are struggling. And of course have fun!

    In three sentences

    NMC is great for any student, it gives students great opportunities to excel for a fraction of the price that it would cost at a large university. Class environment is personable and each student will get one on one time with the teacher which improves their chances of class room success.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Disc golf is pretty big around campus. Also, for being such a small school, NMC has quite a few student groups. I highly recommend NMC Magazine and Phi Theta Kappa.

    Dorm Life

    I can't really comment on the dorm life at NMC because I lived off campus. However, I have friends that live on campus and they love it!

    Academic Rigor

    Again, as long as you make a genuine effort and take your work seriously, it is likely that your instructor will be understanding and will work hard to make sure that you do well in his or her class.

    Tips for prospective students

    For most classes, if you work hard and make a genuine effort, you will do well; however, if you are obviously not serious about your work and are disrespectful to your instructors, your grades will suffer. Also, the student groups are varied, so check them out and I guarantee that you will find something that interests you!

    In three sentences

    The instructors here are great; they will help you and be very flexible. Classes are small, so you will not be forgotten in a sea of fellow students. Campus is clean and has a park-like atmosphere-it is extremely safe.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security all over the campus and it is a very safe area. There is nothing to worry about in Traverse

    Greek Life

    Not really much Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a decent amount of diversity as far as clubs go, but nothing too out of the norm.

    Great for these types of students

    students who like a slower pace of life and a smaller community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is not really any odd traditions.

    What to do for fun

    When it's snowing (which it does often) you can skii, snow shoe, and have a blast making snow angels. When it's summer time it gets very hot and the school is very close to the tiny downtown of Traverse City, so there is a lot of life, especially when the Cherry fest goes on and when Michael Moore hosts the Film Festival! It is also nestled between two bays where you can conveniently walk to go swimming. Or you can drive to Sleeping Bear Dunes, which was voted most beautiful place in America on Good Morning America.

    Food and Dining

    Not too much diversity in the category of food and a lot of it is kind of the typical cafeteria type, but the staff are very friendly and very passionate for what they do.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't too much going on in the dorms and it is kind of small. There is a bright future that lies ahead with the newer director, but while i was involved it was not exactly exciting.

    Academic Rigor

    They definately challenge you, especially because their grading system rounds you slightly lower, so you have to work extra hard to obtain the 4.0

    Tips for prospective students

    If you love nature and are looking for a school that offers a diverse array of courses, this school might fit your needs.

    In three sentences

    It is filled with great professors and is located in a very natural, earthy location. It is great if you like to get out and enjoy the nature that surrounds this school. Biggest downfall is it is not too big of a school and it is a slower paced area.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The location alone allows for students to easily walk to downtown Traverse City, the many local beaches and the local activities that occur throughout the year.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a wonderful place to raise your GPA for potential transfers and others colleges. The classes are smaller, therefore allowing more teacher to student time. Use this to your advantage to raise a GPA.

    In three sentences

    There is wonderful support from teachers, as well as growing branches of academic programs that allow the student to focus on specific areas of study. The school is flexible with scheduling and has a challenging curriculum that places the classes at a higher academic level than university classes. Northwestern Michigan College is a wonderful place to kick-start a college career.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe area and great campus security.

    Clubs and Activities

    Varies.

    Great for these types of students

    Those searching for themselves and what they want to pursue in life and career-wise. Also, those going back to school/untraditional students and anyone looking to save money while in school.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable and a offers a great education.

    What to do for fun

    NMC offers a lot of student activities so you can enjoy whatever you decide to take part in. If you can't find a club, start one.

    Food and Dining

    Same, ate at and brought my food from home. The coffee is decent.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know, lived at home.

    Academic Rigor

    As with every class, the amount of rigor depends on the coursework and instructor. NMC does have excellent professors and don't be afraid to challenge yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to build relationships with others in your classes because it is such an important part of the college experience. Though everyone is coming from a different place, it is to your advantage to meet the people you're around and will make your time at NMC much more enjoyale.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern College is a great school. It is a place where people of all ages and walks of life can come together in the class room and share the common goal of a higher education and brighter future. It is set in beautiful, engaging Traverse City, MI and encourages student involvement both academically and recreationally.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    NMC is a great college with a pretty affordable cost. I find that i have gotten a lot from there and it hasn't cost as much as a large university would.

    What to do for fun

    The college is located right in Traverse city, so there is lots to do for fun. During the summer there is the bay and numerous lakes nearby. We also have bowling alleys, and other things of that nature. There is the Grand Traverse Mall for shopping, and there are numerous things for college students to do, one being a Casino nearby.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten at the cafeteria there, but the college is located close to a number of restaurants and fast foods places.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't stayed in the dorms at all, I have always lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I find the classes to be challenging for me, even my main classes are a challenge because the instructors know the subject well.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only thing i would have to say is, when you are going to register for classes, or if your trying to get everything for financial aid done, do it as early as you can.

    In three sentences

    The professors i have in my program are very knowledgable and helpful and i find the advisers to be as well. They have a lot of courses and programs for a community college so it is a good place to start and then transfer later on. They make things relatively easy for you to sign up and get classes.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Feel very safe here. The community is a clean nice area and I don't fear for my safety.

    Food and Dining

    Never ate there

    Dorm Life

    Lived off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Took two summer courses. Just finished. Never take summer courses if you have a life. 15 weeks of work crammed into 8. Doable if you dont have a job or family.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up early, dont wait till the last minute. Use all the resources available to you.

    In three sentences

    Small college, very easy to get around. Small classes make it easy to connect with professors.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never seen or heard of anything bad happening at NMC, neither have my parents and they both attended the college.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not involved in any currently.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not aware of anything.

    Bang for the buck

    College is expensive.... However, NMC is quite a bit cheaper than a lot of places.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs, organizations and other things available! There is something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    NMC has a great little cafeteria! They serve delicious and (mostly) healthy foods :)

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, I haven't even been in them. I am of no help in this area, sorry.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't too challenging if you study and pay attention in class. School has always been fairly easy for me, and so far throughout my career at NMC the classes aren't too much harder than high school. The classes do get harder once you get past the entry level classes though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to your classmates, it may be intimidating but you just don't know how much you may have in common with another person. Everyone at NMC is very friendly!

    In three sentences

    NMC is a great college to get started at, it more inexpensive than other colleges and universities. The college is small, and there are lots of options for one-on-one time with professors for more individual learning. It is a great place to get started and to get you ready to for a university.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't heard of any incidents that might have occurred. There are always security cars patrolling the area and campus securities phone number is posted everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    The life center is a very welcoming place, you can finish riddles and receive NMC money for other larger prizes, every where you turn people are starting new clubs for nearly everything.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to buckle down and are serious about getting an education. Where the professor and other students will get to know your name and a little about each other.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the Health and Science building on the second floor this is a cozy little room off the end of the building with a beautiful view because of its all around windows. It is so quiet and warm it is truly my favorite place to go and study.

    Bang for the buck

    I am extremely accident, yet nervous to move from a small time town to a large college town, but I do think NMC help to prepare me by having professors that challenge their students to strive for greatness.

    What to do for fun

    I play wally-ball at my gym and spend time with family and friends.

    Food and Dining

    The area if clean and has a couple varieties to choose from, good food a bit expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I have no experience of the dorm life I lived off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Like all colleges it depends on the professor and type of class, from each class that I have taken I have learned something and for the most part was challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to know exactly what program you want to get into then research the classes that will transfer to another college to help you finish the program of choice, you don't want to waste time taking classes that won't transfer.

    In three sentences

    It's a great starter college for students that don't have them means to go away to a larger college or university. It saved me money and hopefully time.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus surveillance cameras and emergency phones are everywhere. Uniformed security officers are often seen on patrol in vehicles and on foot. No major and very very few minor crimes ever happen on this campus!

    Greek Life

    Major geekathon here. Live action role-playing, gaming, D&D, etc. Lots of web design, computer science and other math/ science people here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wide variety of clubs to join. Many of them take annual trips outside the country. Nearby gym and swimming pool.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for student who plan to be Engineering transfers, Nursing, Maritime, Culinary, Education, Computer Science, and Automotive/ Engineering technology.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the annual NMC BBQ, held on campus every spring, the specialty is buffalo burgers from the local buffalo farm! Very tasty! They have the largest herd east of the Mississippi River here in Traverse City just south of town.

    Bang for the buck

    Super cheap to attend and excellent academically. You cant beat NMC for a community college.

    What to do for fun

    There is a discgolf course on campus. A wide variety of student groups including partner dancing, gaming, mini-Baja car race, underwater archaeology and too many mnore to list. Near by dance club and bowling alley. Bar and music scene downtown, about two miles from campus. Awesome beaches in the summer!! This is an amazing place to live in the summer time. The population of Traverse City grows immensely for a month ever summer. Many festivals and events happen here.

    Food and Dining

    Very good cafeteria here lots of new and interesting choices from different parts of the world every week. They have your good ole standards like burgers, chicken fingers, and pizza. Several cafe type gourmet coffee and snack bars on campus. About ten different restaurant are within a ten minute walk from the center of campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is one large three story dorm building and several student apartment buildings on campus. You can easily walk anywhere on campus from either of these.

    Academic Rigor

    The math and science department, where I take most of my current classes, is fast paced and demanding. This is excellent preparation for transferring to a University, most of the classes to take after you transfer will seem easy compared to NMC. I am able to complete 17-21 credits per semester here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on starting out at NMC transferring to another school, plan very early (now) and talk to the school where you will be finishing your degree. Many four-year colleges have vastly different transfer policies and course equivalencies. This will help you avoid wasting time and money on classes that wont transfer or are useless for your degree.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern Michigan College is an excellent community college. They have excellent Maritime, Nursing, Culinary, and Engineering Technology programs. Small class sizes and top notch professors make this one of the best two-year colleges.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    always converse with class mates and do the things you find fun and hey it might even help with your calss work.

    Food and Dining

    nice to have great options while i am on campus so i don't have to leave and find another spot to park.

    Dorm Life

    i haven't had dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    always busy it seems like how my classes have me out in the community and working with people in my field of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you plan your time for studying carefully.and try not to stress out and make your learning fun.

    In three sentences

    love my online classes. i have two children and work full time nice to get work done on my schedule and feel i have accomplished something.love that my daughter sees me finishing school and knows it is important.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Theres very little to do in TC during the school year. Summers are awesome though

    Dorm Life

    I live at home

    Academic Rigor

    There are reasonable expectations but you should be prepared to meet them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class. Don't be stupid.

    In three sentences

    This is an impressive school, and not just for a community college. I've been told it is comparable to the difficulty of a university and comes at a much cheaper cost. I feel like NMC has prepared me for whats to come.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around.

    Greek Life

    NONE!!!!!!!!

    Great for these types of students

    The school is not for social butterflies, more so for focused students, or students who want the college experience but family can not afford university tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do for fun, mostly everyone goes into town on the weekends or go to the local mall and hang out.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe' has great food!!!!!!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a good size, however there's only two dorms, roughly about 200-250 beds. By the end of the first semester everyone knows each other.....pretty cool I think.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not hard, you just have to be focused.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not expect university atmosphere, if your a minority (race) do not let that become a focal point, and finally do not hesitate to learn your way around the city.

    In three sentences

    The school environment is good for learning, however, there is very little activities due to the fact their isn't an athletic department. The weather is typical for Michigan, very, very cold winters. The teachers are down to earth, easy to talk to, ask questions.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Student Life at NMC is awesome. There are so many different student groups, and if there's not one to your liking, you can make one!

    Food and Dining

    Their food is good, somewhat expensive though.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but i hear they are not too bad.

    Academic Rigor

    NMC offers a wide variety of classes to help you choose what you truly want to do for your college career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask teachers for help, many of them are more than willing to help you understand the teaching material better. Be sure to check your student email everyday! Teachers love to use moodle and send emails to remind you of upcoming assignments, also it is a a great way to communicate with them.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern Michigan College is very involved with its students and helping them succeed in their academic plans. They offer many opportunities for growth, exploration, and preparation for the real world. Helping you get what you need and supporting you throughout your school career is their top priority.

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Low crime rates on campus and in the city. Great place to live and learn.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many available, including international Honors society

    Great for these types of students

    Maritime, culinary, water studies institute, aviation, renewable energies, engineering, international, environmental, active, science, arts, computer tech

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Maritime, culinary, water studies institute, aviation, renewable energies, engineering, international internships all available through NMC.

    Bang for the buck

    Many of the course and credits from NMC transfer to most, if not all, other Michigan colleges. NMC is working on contracts and programs with MI schools, as well as international programs and opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    Boating, swimming, disc golf, hiking, biking, eating, movies, shopping, photography

    Food and Dining

    hear it is great but have no experience with it.

    Dorm Life

    hear its great but have no experience with it.

    Academic Rigor

    Many challenging courses available and if you want to make the more challenging, complete an honors course or sign an honors contract!

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak with the advisers, visit the campus, talk to the students about the city, the college and the available opportunities.

    In three sentences

    NMC is a great college with many opportunities for all students. The instructors are interested in their students' success. NMC is also affordable and located in the beautiful city on the bay, Traverse City.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go out with friends.

    Dorm Life

    I can survive.

  • 04/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    I am not aware of Greek life at NMC.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was not involved in any clubs on campus, so I can't really say too much, but I know NMC did seem to have a good amount of activities if you wanted to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who plan to transfer to four-year universities or who are interested in pursuing nursing in Traverse City.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None, that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Coming to NMC has definitely saved me a ton of money, and I would highly recommend coming here for your first two years.

    What to do for fun

    Traverse city is right on Lake Michigan so there's always the beach right near by. There is a disk golf course running throughout the campus. As far as the general Traverse City area there are bowling allies, a mall, local bars and great restaurants. Downtown Traverse City is also beautiful and offers some great coffee and music places.

    Food and Dining

    Most of the time I didn't eat on campus, but when I did the food was great, yet maybe a little overpriced. For being a small community college there were always plenty of options as well as Starbucks coffee in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I have never been in the dorms here, as I lived off-campus

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors I have had at NMC have been really great. The smaller class sizes allow you to ask questions and get help from your professors almost whenever you need to. If you apply yourself and ask questions you should have no problems. Most of my classes are also in the Health Science building at NMC which is a beautiful facility with some great resources.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work, and make use of the resources available to you through the college and you will do well. Register for classes as early as possible, and make sure you are taking classes that will transfer to the next university.

    In three sentences

    Great community college with smaller class sizes, and excellent professors who truly want to see you succeed. Beautiful, and safe campus located near the peninsula in Traverse City Michigan. NMC is a great option for those who plan to transfer to four-year universities as it well recognized as a community college.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I haven't tried the food hear, I wasn't aware there was even a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live in the dorms so i'm not sure what they're like

    Tips for prospective students

    Try not to let them shove you through the lines at registration, ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Its a little on the small side. They need more parking space. I feel like they just pushed me through during registration without really taking the time I needed to know what I was doing.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is always available and there are phones set up around campus in case a student needs help. The offices are easy to find and the guards are usually very friendly and helpful.

    Great for these types of students

    There is literally something for everyone on campus. Spots to hangout, spots to study, there is an area for football, they have a baseball diamond and a Frisbee golf course.

    What to do for fun

    There is a park nearby and there is also the mall. There are planned events in the dorms and around campus. There is a museum and a theater on campus as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food tastes alright but it is expensive. Planning meals ahead of time will save money and end of semester hassle.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms can get a bit crazy with all those kids living there, but they have areas to study and watch TV and to just hang out. The janitors are really nice and are timely about fixing any problems within the rooms or any messes in the hallways. The Staff in the dorms are also very nice and helpful and there is always someone there if you have any questions.

    Academic Rigor

    The homework load can be tough, but the teachers are helpful and understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a college adviser first and take a tour of the school. Also double check that they offer your major and that the classes you need will transfer to other colleges.

    In three sentences

    They have an amazing staff. The cafeteria food is a bit expensive. The advisers are extremely helpful!

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a good deal for the money if you get the right professors. Especially if you're moving to Traverse City from a place like Flint like I did to go to school there.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the beach during the warm months of the year and enjoy all that there is in Traverse City. During the winter, the college keeps throwing events out there for students to take advantage of-- especially if you live in the dorms. If you're a sports person, TC has its own semi-pro football team and rugby squads.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you use ratemyprofessor.com and you'll find the best teacher's NMC has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Generally good school. Small personal classes with a number of exceptional professors. I love the area and the professors I've had here.

  • 12/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe!

    Greek Life

    Joining Phi Theta Kappa myself!

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty!

    Great for these types of students

    Interactive students who like one-on-one attention.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Join a club!

    Food and Dining

    Food seems delicious and you can find it everywhere.

    Dorm Life

    I do not have a dorm and I have never been in them.

    Academic Rigor

    Stay focused and you should do great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask for help or take some extra time in the library to work on something. Classes are very helpful and so are the staff. Good luck!

    In three sentences

    The college does its best to accommodate to many majors and has grown very much over the years. The many clubs, programs/majors, assistance/guidance in career choices, and helpful professors rank this community college high on my list. They are so helpful in helping get where I want to be and the classes are very helpful in the decision process of where I want to go with my career.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I've heard the food is pretty good. They have a kitchen that makes a variety of stuff. You choose your food and tell the cooks what you want on it. Then they'll make it for you. No buffet anymore.

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived in dorms, but i've seen them before. They aren't elaborate by any means, but they are right in the heart of campus and offer a short walk to any building. There are only a couple buildings of dorms, so obviously variety is sparse.

    Academic Rigor

    The staff at NMC is most concerned with the students' learning. This means that they will move slower if need be to ensure that each student understands the material. They are open to meeting outside of the classroom, too. However, this means that the classes normally do not cover as much material as those from a major university.

    Tips for prospective students

    The staff members at NMC are very knowledgeable and willing to help. If you prove that you are a good student, they will go out of their way to help. Use this to your advantage. They can get you internships and help with your future schedule.

    In three sentences

    NMC has a very personable staff with small class sizes, much like most community colleges. NMC, however, is probably one of the most multidisciplinary community colleges in the country; providing a wide variety of subjects at low cost. You feel like you are getting a big university education from an all star staff without paying the big university tuition.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plenty of things around campus and town to do for NMC students including almost any sport and club you could think of. Intramural sports are a big hit at NMC.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome food and reasonable prices and hours!

    Dorm Life

    I have heard great reviews from students in the dorms and am friends with an R.A. who is a great guy!

    Academic Rigor

    Fantastic college with gifted professors and great learning communities like the Math Center in Les Biederman Building. School work is difficult but prepares students for what is to come.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard in all of your classes and take them seriously, it will pay off in dollar signs in your future!

    In three sentences

    Northwestern Michigan College is one of the most prestigious community colleges in the nation, and for that matter, should consider becoming a four-year university. I duel-enrolled last year and am a full time student this year, and I absolutely love the professors and the atmosphere around campus. Unbelievably gifted professors who are willing to sacrifice their time to aid students in any way they can.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    utilize the resources around you, people are there to help you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I always eat breakfast and launch with friends, and my girlfriend

    What to do for fun

    disk gulf, hang with friends, and be active in NMC's activities they put on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do you work on time, I know it seems like the work load is not bad, but it will pile up if you allow it to, Don't be that guy/girl to wait until the last minute to do an essay, or turn an assignment in.But most of all, have fun!

    In three sentences

    My time at Northwestern Michigan College has been very memorable. The Instructors are amazing, and the teach in such a way that it makes it easy to learn!! I definitely suggest this school for future students.

  • 03/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    LOTS! The towns location is prime for multiple events. So close to the water makes going to the beach for only a couple hours easy. Very arts town focused on local thriving

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat often on campus. Many small cafes around campus provide convenient snacks

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but they seam nice

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are very supportive and work hard with you to give the most for the money. Encourage your best

    In three sentences

    The community not only that attends the college but the whole town is friendly and helpful. The classes are small making one on one help with the instructor is easily available. With an exceptional amount of hands on experience NMC provides a fantastic educational experience.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is okay I guess. They make different things in the cafeteria which is good sometimes but if you grab something on the shelf from the grind you may want to check it. They let food sit out on the shelf for a few days and it gets kind of bad.

    Dorm Life

    It's like your in prison. Sometimes they do fun things like every once in a while they have movie nights in the basement or for the Superbowl this year they did a snow bowl for the students there but the security is so tight its ridiculous.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are great they offer so much here and accept credits from other colleges. The main reason I came was because they had a culinary program that would accept my credits from another college. The teachers and advisers are supportive and helpful here.

  • 06/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do in Traverse. The dorms sometimes has special events you can go to, which were a lot of fun last year. They also put on bowling nights, so you can bowl for free at Lucky Jack's. If you go with a group of people, it is a lot of fun. There is also the mall and many stores.

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually really good there, but it can get old fast. It is also very expensive, and your money will go fast so pace how many times you go to the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be tough, because it can be like reliving high school all over again. There can be drama, and fights. But if you keep your distance from all of that, it's not so bad. I enjoyed the dorms because there are so many interesting people you meet.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be challenging, but professors are helpful. The college offers tutoring if you are struggling in a subject, and the tutors are amazing. It is so helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you advocate for yourself, and ask lots of questions if you are unsure. Everyone at NMC is so helpful and nice. Don't be shy, and you can make some amazing friends.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school, with a wide range of students. There are so many amazing people, and great instructors that work there. It is a great place to live.

  • 08/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety isn't normally an issue, however, there was a stabbing last semester in the dorm. They really did a lot to avoid any repeats.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is very low. FAFSA covered it for me when I went to NMC full-time.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot going on in Traverse City. The skate park and civic center are right across the street, and beaches are right down the road.

    Food and Dining

    There are multiple options for food. I'm vegetarian, and they had stuff there for me.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are much better than I had expected at a community college. They were challenging, but not impossible. It was just right for really learning the subject matter.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to knock out your generals without paying too much, definitely go to NMC. It really is worth it.

    In three sentences

    NMC is very inexpensive, and it's University Center allows students to take four year degrees without having to leave Traverse City. The library, reading and writing center, and the math center are all very helpful, and the people are very friendly, as well. NMC provides an excellent environment to learn, and that's what college is all about.

  • 10/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Traverse City and the surrounding areas have so much to offer students and visiting family. The local beaches, fabulous restaurants, wineries, hiking, skiing hills, camping, boat rentals, and ice cream shops that was named top 10 on Good morning America.

    Food and Dining

    In addition to the cafeteria this college has a culinary institute with a student run restaurant that is always looking for hungry customers.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are smaller but on campus amenities makes up for it. There are plenty of on campus jobs, jobs withing walking distance as well as a transportation service that can assist.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers at NMC can and have taught at large Universities, traveled the world, and even worked for NASA. They choose to be at this college because of the surrounding area and because they love to teach. Every teacher I have had has been great and cares about my education.

    Tips for prospective students

    NMC is great for students who hasn't quite decided on a major field of study. This can be the jumping off point, two years working on prerequisites and then continuing on to a larger school is ideal.

    In three sentences

    NMC is located in a beautiful area and has a great campus. The teachers are wonderful and could work anywhere but choose to be here in Traverse City. The campus is perfect for students who need the prerequisites whiles they choose their major.