Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northwestern Oklahoma State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/07/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes Students serious about schoolwork Students wanting a cheap party school

    Tips for prospective students

    Not a lot to do in the town of Alva, OK. Most of the town closes in the afternoon. Be ready to do homework, play video games, or work out. Good football team, however; they have been suspended from the playoffs for the 2009-2010 season and will continue to be on probation. Teachers are good in the majority of classes. Faculty and staff listen to student reviews and make changes as deemed necessary. Police are also cracking down on the drug issues there.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap school with good sports teams and great town support and team spirit! Very nice wellness center. Dorms could stand to be remodeled and throughly cleaned.

    Did enjoy being here

    Nothing around to do really.

    Did learn a lot

    Classes were good and students learned a lot in majority of classes. It's up to you to show up and give an effort. Teachers make you work for the grade but will help you if you are struggling.

  • 04/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a good education that is affordable. Students who enjoy atlethic events. Students who like to get to know other students and gain a lot of friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Northwestern is a great place to be.

    Bang for the buck

    Northwestern is a good college and very affordable. There is no reason for students to have so many college loans when they graduate especially when there are places to attend college that is less expensive that large, major universities.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy Alva. The town is small, but the atmosphere on campus and around town is very supportive of the college students. I stay busy between classes, cheer, intramural sports, the wellness center, sorority, athletic events, and homework.

    Am learning a lot

    If a student wants to learn at Northwestern, the opportunities are here. The teachers (for the most part) are more than willing and always ready to help when needed. People always want to say that small schools do not teach as much, but I know I am learning more than some of the people I graduated from high school with who are at larger universities with graduate assistants as their teachers.

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who like a small town and small classroom environment. The campus is small and the people on and off campus are very friendly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take a campus tour. The campus tour is what made my decision much more clear about going to NWOSU.

    Bang for the buck

    NWOSU is great for a person like myself, not very financially sound but wants to go to a four year college.

    Am enjoying being here

    The town of Alva is very proud to be a college town. Everyone is very nice. The students and staff are very nice as well.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn something new every time I go to class.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have wonderful campus police, and there are cameras in all the common areas, including the parking lots. If you feel unsafe walking somewhere at night, you can call campus security to provide an escort.

    Greek Life

    We have Alpha Sigma Alpha and Delta Zeta as sororities. The fraternity kind of died out last year, and I'm not sure if they revived it or not this year. They don't do as much as they should. There's a fine art's society called Phi Delta that is great, and does a ton of things for the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I stated in the What to do for fun section, the clubs and organizations host tons of events and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who grew up in a small town. Students who like to have 1-1 conversations with professors.

    Bang for the buck

    NWOSU is very affordable, and the classes are great (for the most part). This year, the school was approved to transfer over to a division 2 school.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and organizations host events often. REAL sponsors a haunted house every year, around Halloween, in the basement of Vinson Hall. Get involved in campus life, you will only get out of the campus what you put in. Intramural sports are a great way to meet people who share common interests.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not one to brag about, this year. Last year, it was fairly good, but one of the best cooks graduated, so now it is lacking. There is a sandwich shop and grill located in the student center. The food is fantastic, but the lines are long.

    Dorm Life

    There is a love/hate relationship with the students at NWOSU. Most students complain about how things seem to break all the time, but the cost of the dorms is one of the cheapest in the US. There's almost always some sort of dorm event going on, so the benefits outweigh the downfalls of the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This truly depends on your major. The science classes are top-notch, and extremely difficult. Other courses don't cover as much material, or have more lenient teachers. They aren't bad courses, they just don't compare to the science classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking into participating in school organizations for scholarships, keep in mind that there is a scholarship cap. Students at Northwestern are only allowed to obtain $2,000 in participation scholarship. This does not include academic scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern Oklahoma State University is a smaller campus, but smaller campuses have many perks to them. The teachers are always willing to help in and out of class, and are all very knowledgeable of the topics they teach. NWOSU is affordable, and you definitely get more than you pay for.

  • 10/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a place thats not too big and not too little, this is a great place. You have a lot of different things to do.

    Am enjoying being here

    Mostly everyone is nice and friendly.

  • 09/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that need fewer distractions. Students that are on a tight budget. Students interested in athletics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with student activities. Get to know your classmates and your professors. Become familiar with the hours of the businesses in the community, because they do tend to close early.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm not used to the small town thing, growing up and living in Southern California most of my life. But everyone is really friendly and if you get involved (which there are plenty of opportunities to do) then you'll have a great time.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are all very accessible and really want you to do well.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe!!!

    Great for these types of students

    relaxed

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap school with great opportunities

    What to do for fun

    Go to the games. The school is very student oriented.

    Food and Dining

    Good cafe and fast food. Especially for in the middle of nowhere.

    Dorm Life

    Laid back, best advice is to get involved

    Academic Rigor

    With easy access to the teachers, it makes it easy to learn the subjects

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be from the city and expect free time. We get plenty of sleep!!

    In three sentences

    Its laid back and fairly environmental friendly. Teachers are helpful and things are easy. Slow town and easy to be successful.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    In comparison to the college I received my first degree from? You definitely get a great education at a fraction of the price.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria can be a little slow at times and the lines do get long, but the food is good. Not a lot of really good restaurants to eat at off campus though.

    Dorm Life

    I actually live off campus and haven't had the opportunity to view them.

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing department grades on a different scale than most, so it is definitely tougher. But I feel that it prepares you for what is coming after school better.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are so many different types of clubs, activities, and volunteer opportunities available through NWOSU. Get involved!!

    In three sentences

    NWOSU is easily accessible. With different locations and a recently updated IVR system, there are so many classes available. The Nursing department is filled with amazing teachers. They really and truly care about you and are willing to help you out with your studies.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are great! And can even golf cart you to class if you have a broken leg!

    Greek Life

    Theres two Sororities and one Fraternity, they seem to have fun, but their presence here isn't super loud, if you know what I mean.

    Bang for the buck

    Some of the Best Affordability in the nation!

    What to do for fun

    Play a sport, watch movies in the movie rooms in your dorms, go to sporting events, participate in a club or activity and do everything with them, theres always fun stuff going on, you just have to look!

    Food and Dining

    so far, I haven't gotten sick from the food. Eat the salads and fruit! They have it every lunch and dinner, and fruit all day :)

    Dorm Life

    Sometimes it kinda sucks that you have to be on a meal plan if you live in the dorms, and the smallest amount is 10.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers care! One of my Professors even gave me a book to borrow since he recommended it. The book was author signed and very valuable, but he trusted and cared for me enough to let me borrow it!

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is really flexible and will work with you, I would definitely keep it as an option.

    In three sentences

    Coming to a smaller town from a larger town I just have to say this... Dont expect to have lots of stuff in town to do. Be a good student, study hard, and play hard with your friends. Also go to club meetings or try out for a sports team!

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have an excellent campus security force. Always is a officer stationed on campus. Along with many student workers.

    Greek Life

    Phi-Delta Music Society (it is a Greek society for both male and females that are enrolled in a music ensemble) Alpha Sigma Alpha (Sorority) Delta Zeta (Sorority) Kappa Sigma (Fraternity)

    Clubs and Activities

    There is all sorts of different clubs. Psychology Psychics Spanish

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for Vocal Major Students Theater Students Piano Majors Education Majors This campus is a very well rounded campus

    What to do for fun

    The is a movie theater and a park. There is always different events going in the town. Also it has a lot of different places that you may get a job. There is always something to do it seems.

    Food and Dining

    The student Center has two different places to eat. One is a burger and chicken strip place. The other is a sub station. The cafeteria is not to bad but it definitely is not the best. Its better than most high schools.

    Dorm Life

    Get to know your Dorm Parents/Head RA. They will be your best friends and your worst enemy if you don't live by the rules given. The rules are simple. Keep your room clean pretty much.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the class. Most teachers will work with you and pass you if you show that you are trying and am committed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to try and find a on campus job it will help a lot. Get involved with different organizations and different events happening on campus.

    In three sentences

    It is a very small and well designed campus. Amazing staff and different people. Don't come here for instrumental Music, vocal yes, instrumental no.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    NWOSU is a very safe campus. It is small enough that safety isn't a big concern.

    Greek Life

    There really isn't much in the way of Greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    NWOSU offers some good campus activities and clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    NWOSU is a perfect fit for students who aren't interested in attending a college and paying for a name alone. It's a great college for those who want to get a solid education at a reasonable price.

    Bang for the buck

    Your dollar will be well spent at NWOSU. It is very cost effective.

    What to do for fun

    The town is small, but the college provides some great activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is what you would expect for a college cafeteria. There is also a smaller dining option on campus, which has good food and is usually busy.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are older, but I love the fact that they are set up in suites. That means that you only share a bathroom with 3 other people, instead of the entire floor!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here know their stuff, but they are very helpful and are there to ensure that students receive a high level of education.

    Tips for prospective students

    NWOSU should be on prospective students' lists for several reasons. The professors are knowledgeable and helpful. In addition, the campus environment is welcoming and very close.

    In three sentences

    NWOSU has been a wonderful college to attend, and I have had the best freshman experience EVER. Both the town and the campus are supportive and proud of the students who attend. Give NWOSU a chance-Ride, Rangers, Ride!

  • 02/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Alva is a small town but the school is always hosting events like free movie nights. There is a bowling ally and a movie theater.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and make new friends and always go to class

    In three sentences

    I myself enjoy attending nwosu very much. I enjoy the students and teachers,the class sizes are small and allow for more one on one with teachers. Also at nwosu it is very easy to become involved with the school activities

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    NWOSU is fantastic on the pricing per credit hour and dormitory prices

    What to do for fun

    Oklahoma is some what boring, however there are many activities on and off campus to get involved with. It is easy to make friends and they can always keep you entertained.

    Food and Dining

    Food is food. I'm easy to please so I think the food is great.

    Dorm Life

    NWOSU takes care of their students and the prices are reasonable.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are perfect. Not too difficult however it is challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    NWOSU is located in Alva but offers remote/satellite locations in Woodward, Enid, and Ponca City. If you do not mind learning through iTV, these locations are an extreme help.

    In three sentences

    NWOSU is amazing! They have wonderful programs, affordable tuition, and outstanding faculty. I have been nothing but pleased with this school.