Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Northwestern State University of Louisiana Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 1 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    NSU is great for any type of student! I think I have already explained how diverse the university and campus are. Students from every part of the United States and from every kind of background can find a comfortable, good home at NSU. The only problem they might have is the weather...but that is Louisiana's fault, not the University's.

    Tips for prospective students

    The main thing I would say is keep your mind and options open!! There are so many activities, clubs, events, and departments at NSU that first year students should keep their minds and options open.

    Bang for the buck

    Although NSU has gone up on the tuition, because of the economic problems, it is still a reasonable price. The books are, of course, a little expensive, but I have had teachers tell us if the book was too expensive, they would make notes and hand them out (and I've had teachers actually do that). The only problem I have with costs at NSU is the dorm costs. I lived in the dorms my freshman year and paid close to $4000 per semester! This covered my dorm room (a bed room/bathroom/living area/small kitchen area) and meal plan for a semester. It was nice that everything was paid for all at once, so I didn't have to worry about bills each month, but it was just a lot of money!! I did enjoy living in the dorms and meeting people, but I am living off campus for next semester.

    Am enjoying being here

    NSU is full of people and fun. Everywhere you look something is going on and people are eager for you to join. Since I have already chosen a major, it's really fun to do things with my fellow students in my department, but I have a lot of friends outside my academic department, too. During my freshman year, I did not join a sorority, but becoming friends with girls in sororities and seeing how much fun they have, I have decided to rush in the upcoming fall. So much is going on at NSU that people cannot help but get involved, have fun, and show off the spirit of NSU!!

    Am learning a lot

    I am a journalism major and have already learned a lot in my freshman year. The journalism department, along with the other departments at NSU, believes the best way to teach is through the classroom AND practice. My department has four or five different ways for the students to practice what they are being taught in the classroom. It has really helped me to understand my studies and get to know the other students in the department.

  • 01/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Small town, likes to relax, but dut do work when needed. Great for students who want to learn and enjoy their college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get your housing and other forms in when necessary. This will help you to enjoy your time at NSU that much more!

    Bang for the buck

    The housing and meal plans are definitely worth it based on what you pay. I live in an apartment style dorm and only pay low-end dorm prices.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the time I spend at NSU. It's nice to be able to go to class for a few hours, then be able to enjoy time with friends doing things like going to the recreation center, amd participating in many different organizations. The city is also very historic, and there is much to do.

    Am learning a lot

    I am definitely learning a lot at Northwestern State. The teachers are good, and if you are willing to put in a little effort, you can succeed.

  • 08/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for any type of student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Northwestern is a great school they have quality teachers, but you should work hard on getting scholarships and do your best so you can get grants, and tops.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition, housing, and books is to much especially the housing and books. The apartment rooms are small and you pay 2097.00 for them per semester. The books are really high, and most cases you have to buy them brand new because NSU make a new edition every year.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its a small town, but the students are from everywhere and they are friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    I have some teachers who love to teach, and I love to learn.

  • 11/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that work hard, willing to spend a few hours on homework, and are dedicated

    Tips for prospective students

    Always show respect for the teachers! They'll love you and be easy on you

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely secure. Northwestern has its own campus police. Their office holds an easily visible place on the campus. Along with campus police the city sheriff's and police departments are no more than a mile or so away (if not less).

    Greek Life

    Fraternities and sororities are extremely prevalent on campus. They're fun, inviting, and administration runs a tight ship when it comes to hazing.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several athletic, leadership, and talent clubs and activities that are accessible to the entire student body. Many of which provide you with many scholarship opportunities, and things of that sort.

    Bang for the buck

    Attending Northwestern is not overly expensive. Each term is $4,000. So, if you're good as far as academics are concerned you'll receive several scholarships, much of the money you will not even use. Therefore, you may get cash back in your pocket.

    What to do for fun

    Extracurricular activities like sports, clubs, and fraternities/sororities are always fun. But, if you're seeking off campus activities there's a local bowling alley, movie theater, several shopping centers, and spas; some of which give NSU students discounts on their purchases.

    Food and Dining

    There are several eateries on campus. There's Iberville, which is like a buffet; it's really good. Also, closer to the center of campus in the student union you can grab a bite to eat. There is a wide variety of food. Also off campus there are several restaurants that accept student ID cards which will provide for discounted purchases.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are comfortable and clean. However, there's a limited number of dorms so if you'd like one you have to register several months ahead. Otherwise, you'll end up having to live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    If you study and manage your business correctly you'll be successful. If you get off track academically you could possibly be placed on academic probation, which may jeopardise your reception of certain scholarships.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like any university, you'll want to get involved, and NSU has a wide range of activities. Be one of the first of the group to apply for classes, if you wait you will be stuck with courses at a time of day you may not prefer.

    In three sentences

    It has a beautiful campus, it's fairly sized, and in a small town. They have the fourth largest nursing program in the Untied States. Another plus is that Northwestern is not very expensive.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police work around the clock to make sure the area is safe for everyone. If there's ever a time you may need them, they get to the scene in a few seconds. Since they're stationed in the heart of campus, it doesn't take them long to get where they need to be.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a great way to meet new people and widen your group of friends. There's a house for everyone that really fits your personality.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everyone can find an organization that interests them and keeps them involved. There's such a vast variety of different clubs and sports you can join.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone can find their niche at NSU. There's truly a place for every student where they feel like they can fit in and thrive to the best of their abilities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Something fun we do is a scavenger hunt around Halloween. It's called Chasing Isabella, named after our campus ghost Isabella.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great school for the affordable price.

    What to do for fun

    Natchitoches is a small town but there's always festivals going on downtown and cute restaurants to eat at.

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually pretty good for being a cafeteria. There's also places on campus, Vic's and The Grill, that you can eat at that have a wide variety of selections.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. It's quiet when you need to study and energetic when you want to have fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The course load is enough to keep you busy but not excessive to break your back. The teachers are all really helpful and willing to work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great place to study and get your degree. You can have the traditional college experience while still maintaining your grades and having a good time.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern State University is diverse in student body and organizations. There truly is something for everyone here. You can really branch out and grow to the person you're meant to be.

  • 11/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All. Young or old. There is a degree for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register and get all forms (especially financial aid) in early. This helps to ensure a uneventful start to your semester. I was late getting registered and my forms in this semester and did not receive my books for two weeks after the start of the semester.

    Bang for the buck

    While, there was a tuition increase, it is still more than reasonable for the quality of education you receive from NSU.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a strictly online student. Although, I have enjoyed any time I have come on campus for awards ceremonies, clubs and graduation.

    Am learning a lot

    I graduated in May with my Bachelor's. The amount of information I learned in such a short time was amazing. Now I am working on my graduate degree.

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Really, the Scholars' College is for the weird and the intelligent. We tend to come from the group of high schoolers that never really melded into the common scene. This doesn't mean we're limited to the 'rejects'. We have a diverse student body that includes athletes, musicians, thespians, artists, chemists, and anything else you can think of. It never hurts to try us out.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Scholars' program isn't for everyone but NSU might be. So, if you try out the program and it's too much for you to handle or it's just not what you're looking for, try regular NSU. Those of you who do want a challenge and are determined, the professors and upperclassmen are here to help you. There's Scholars' study groups and tutoring and never be afraid to ask your professor.

    Bang for the buck

    Again, concentrating on the Scholars' program, it truly is a bang for your buck. If you're looking for a school that won't send you and your parents to bankruptcy and still want to have a five-star education, the Scholar's program is perfect. All of the Scholars' professors have doctorates in their specified subjects. The classes are advanced and never fail to challenge you.

    Am enjoying being here

    NSU is wonderful and the Scholar's program is equally amazing if not more so. It's almost too good to be true. Your fellow Scholars' become family and your professors are the matriarchs. You feel well taken care of and there's never a time you should ever feel alone. We have manage to have endless fun without it conflicting with our educational performance. And trust me, we do have our fun.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm learning more than I could ever imagine I would, especially with my budget. With the Scholars' program here, it really is amazing I found such a gem in a crumbling education system. The Scholars' programs is the honors program of Louisiana. There's nothing like it anywhere else. You pay the regular NSU tuition and receive an education that, I find, is more extensive and challenging than any other program in Louisiana.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe. campus security is constantly patrolling and there is a small police station on campus.

    Greek Life

    greek life here is amazing. i am a member of alpha omicron pi. we have an amazing chapter filled with lovely ladies. the other sororities and fraternities are great too and there are many activities we put on together.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a plethora of activities every week and more clubs than i can name. almost every department has a club. there is the biology department's beta beta beta. the art department, theatre, communications and vetinarian program also have clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    northwestern is a great college for students who prefer the country, or just a quiet setting. of course, one can always find things to do to stay busy but the area has a more relaxed feel to it. it is also the leading school in louisiana for nursing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i love the zombie walk. during the zombie walk, the art department does special effects makeup for volunteers to look like zombies, we then storm the campus and attack other students. it's a lot of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    there is always something to do on campus and a plethora of organizations one can join.

    What to do for fun

    there are plays, music recitals, and student activities board programs every week as well as the antique district of natchitoches. the antique district of natchitoches is reffered to as front street and is beautiful. it boasts many great, and budget friendly, restraunts and coffee shops as well as clothing stores.

    Food and Dining

    there are several places on campus to eat using your meal plan. for only $6 you can eat at the cafeteria and have as much as you want.

    Dorm Life

    there are two options for on campus living. one can live in university place, which is more like a traditional dorm, or university columns, which is set up like apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    how hard the classes are genuinely depend on what classes you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    northwestern offers many different scholarships, you should make sure you apply to every scholarship possible and do not wait to the last minute.

    In three sentences

    northwestern is a wonderful campus with professors who are willing to cater to the students. although it is a smaller campus, this allows the professors to actually interact with all of the students. no one is lost in the back of a classroom.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You will quickly make friends, so hanging out with them is always an option. Besides that there are multiple organizations on campus always holding student events. You can also join Greek life, which Northwestern has many different Greek organizations to choose from. If you wish to leave campus there is front street which has a nice small town feel to it, great for dates :). Northwestern is also only an hour away from either, Alexandria or Shreveport.

    Food and Dining

    There are multiple places to eat on campus, such as Vic's, which is a small cafeteria. There is also the Grill, which contains burgers and chicken strips. There is also Iberville, which is the largest cafeteria, which allows you to eat as much as you like.

    Dorm Life

    As a Resident Advisor, i can assure you that Northwestern has some of the best dorms in the state. There are four different buildings to choose from, and the rooms are large compared to other dorms. Housing is also very cooperative.

    Academic Rigor

    I attend the Scholars honors program, so if you are looking for a challenging academic program, this is the one for you. It contains some of the greatest professors around, and with its small class setting you will not have to worry about being just another face.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to create your own fun, since Northwestern is in a small college town. Join an organization, they will help you get involved, meets some new people, and stave off the boredom mentioned above. Do not forget to study, college life is awesome and extremely free, but do not forget that your going to college for an education.

    In three sentences

    A good school with a wide range of majors. Northwestern has a large, beautiful campus that is well looked after. Has a very active student body that will always be planning events for students.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is great at Northwestern. We have three dining areas (The Grill, Iberville, and VIC's) and one grocery shopping center call the C-store. I think the food is a bit over-priced but at the end of the day, what else is there to dine

    Dorm Life

    I like the dorm life. At Northwestern we have what are called residential halls. Each room has its own kitchen/kitchenette and bathroom. Depending on how many people you want to live with determines the price you will pay. You can live with up to three other roommates or you can stay by yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not that rigorous to be a student at Northwestern; it can be nerve-racking sometimes. However the freedom to make your own decisions is what make Northwestern in general so fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you want to major in ahead of time so that you do not waste any time while you are in school. The main priority in college is your education; work first and then have your fun. Your GPA will be at his highest with strong determination and focus.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern State University is a well-rounded college. The curriculum is very good and it makes for a great college financially. They excel in the Nursing, Engineering and Music departments.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. Security is as well.

    Greek Life

    Greek life at NSU is stereotypical (in my opinion). Very much paying for your friends. If your into sister/brotherhood and you have the money and time for it then it is a great experience. All of the organizations are very involved on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is no excuse not to be involved at NSU. There is something for everyone. There are organizations for everything you can imagine. Including volunteering, leadership, activity planning, greek life, music organizations, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    NSU is great for the student that enjoys a close, small town feel. Very comfortable environment, and enjoyable people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual traditions are abundant at NSU. For example, Isabella the campus ghost who is featured in many events throughout Halloween time.

    Bang for the buck

    I love being on my own in general and NSU is a great fit for students who are just starting out. Most everyone in the city and campus is very friendly and helpful. It is also in a location relative to most places in Louisiana, so your not too far from home depending on where you're from.

    What to do for fun

    Natchitoches is a small town, but there is usually a lot going on at Northwestern. There is a bar always open (if your into that), plenty of religious organizations, and greek life is everywhere.

    Food and Dining

    The food options are limited. The main cafeteria has a few options, but they get old after a while. The other two eating locations on campus are wonderful, but they are not on your meal plan. So you either have to pay, or use your declining balance.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. Maintenance is always willing to help solve problems. Very good learning experience, but way overpriced.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors I've had so far are a mixture. Some of them are extremely difficult, and others are ridiculously easy. It just depends on your previous education and your study skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    The housing, although a great learning experience, is extremely overpriced. As well as the meal plans. I would suggest living off campus. Cuts down your cost by the thousands.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern has been such a wonderful experience. Although it is somewhat unorganized, everyone is very friendly and helpful. Great for those who love a small town feel.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a campus cop riding around with one if the office to notify the other of everything. There are also many signs all over campus with the security number for any reason.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a type of school that is for any and all types of students. There is a army base that is near by that brings in many ages and many different cultures of students to our campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is not as expensive as some of the other colleges that I have toured, but it seems to give you so much more. If you are someone who enjoys being active in the school, they give you every option possible. f you are someone who enjoys history, the city of Natchitoches gives you so much of that with the Cane River Heritage or the Fort St. Jean Baptiste historic site, or even if you are somebody that just enjoys the peace but beautiful nature you can get the at the Natchitoches river walk.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is constantly giving every type of student options to do what they would enjoy. The school sends out mass e-mails for bathe-a-dog day, sports game days and times, holiday activities for every holiday, theatrical shows, and many more. There are also several things off campus to engage in such as the yearly Natchitoches Festival of lights in December or the Natchitoches Meat Pie Festival, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places for students to eat on and off campus in Natchitoches. I love the areas and the food options that is available for you. You have about three areas on campus that you could eat at that does not limit what you can order to eat. If you would like to go off campus to dine, there are many places you can choose from between the amazing locals shops to the regular food places you get anywhere.

    Dorm Life

    I personally have not gotten to experience the dorm life because I am an untraditional student. However, I did have a great friend you lived in the dorms and loved it. He said everyone should have that experience because it will get you out of your shell and teach you not to be shy and hold yourself back from anything.

    Academic Rigor

    Northwestern tests you with your first year and first couple of weeks of your classes to see where you stand o help figure out what is required to push you to where you need to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be a stranger. Teachers love to communicate with their students not only to benefit their teaching abilities but to help make sure you are on the path you need to be on for what you want to do in life. I do encourage you to look around at other schools though, don't just settle because you will be there for a few years. You want the best college for you but also a great environment/location of the college, which Northwestern can provide.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern is a school that my family has been attending for many years. My grandma, two of my aunts, my dad, my mom, and myself have attended this college (I am still attending and should graduate in2016). My family has spoken very highly of this school and I agree with them completely because they are always ready to help you get to where you need to be to succeed.

  • 05/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who do not want a large college but want the large college education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    Great price

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    not many

    Clubs and Activities

    not many

    Great for these types of students

    very sheltered students not having a lot of experience with the outside world.

    What to do for fun

    the nearest thing to do is in shreveport which is a 45 minute drive away and the only thing fun is the boardwalk.

    Food and Dining

    i do not eat on campus

    Dorm Life

    i do not live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    some of the classes needed is not pertaining to most of the degree plans.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay on top of your homework, do not wait until the last minute to study.

    In three sentences

    i would give nsu a 3 out of 5 stars.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hangout with friends. i do a lot of the activities associated with the school.

    Food and Dining

    it could have been better

    Dorm Life

    It isnt that good for the amount of money you pay.

    Academic Rigor

    It is hard but what college isnt. you just have to work hard and apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    You can get caught up in the hype, so dont let that affect your grades and things. stay on task and organized. DO NOT MISS CLASS

    In three sentences

    It is a great school. they always have something for students to do that is fun and educational. I encourge you to go there.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sorry, online student, but I loved the convience of it so that being said I could do whatever I wanted to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Once again, all my class were on line so I have no comments about the food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    All my classes were online so I did not experience the dorm life at Northwestern.

    Academic Rigor

    Each class that I have taken has been very engaging and requires your attention. Studying and doing all assignments will prepare you for every test and exam you will have.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest that prospective students plan ahead and take class that will prepare them for classes that will be required at Northwestern. I also suggest that prospective students don't hesitate and call the staff to help them with any problems or questions they may have.

    In three sentences

    I am a completely online student and in my opinion Northwestern is a great school. The only problem I have is little complications when I first transferred to Northwestern and had to do all the registering. However, staff at Northwestern were available and glad to help with any problems I had. Also, all of my classes this semester were very exciting and I learned so much in each class.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt very safe at NSU.

    Greek Life

    It is overrated.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for education, nursing, and theater majors.

    What to do for fun

    There is honestly not much to do for fun at all.

    Food and Dining

    It was good and there are a ton of options.

    Dorm Life

    I lived on campus, and I loved it. I was close to my classes, but it was really expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    I could rate it as a 3. Some classes are hard; some are easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Jump in to activities, just as long as your grades stay your number one priority.

    In three sentences

    NSU is a very good school. You will learn, and the professors care. However, the town has nearly NOTHING to offer.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Violence is not common at NSULA, but the police here should be more attentive when it comes to security. Break ins have occurred habitually, and no one has been caught yet.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very active here! It ranges from Music frat/sororities to African American frat/sororities, to art frats as well!

    Clubs and Activities

    Fraternities, Sororities, Organizations. If you think it, we'll have it!

    Great for these types of students

    Music, Band, Science.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I usually stay in my room, or I hang out with friends. Or, I hang around the Creative and Performing Arts building.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, sometimes I wonder where my money is going.

    What to do for fun

    NSULA has around 100 organizations for you to join. Try checking out the music program.

    Food and Dining

    ...nothing to talk about.

    Dorm Life

    It's okay, but compared to other dorms in other areas, I'll take it.

    Academic Rigor

    They want you to work hard. Why would it be easy to obtain a degree?

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of your game. It gets harder the further along you go, but don't give up. Of course, some people do not fit college life, and that's okay.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern State University is a great start for students who want to be in a medium sized college environment. Northwestern State University is all about the Creative and Performing Arts program, including its science program. Northwestern State University's campus is not too big or too small! It's just right!

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like small town atmosphere, this campus is for you.

    What to do for fun

    I play intramural sports and fencing. I also take cello lessons. I do hang out with friends and we have game nights on weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome! We have a buffet style dining and we have many choices to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice. Go on the website to see more of what housing has to offer. www.NSULA.edu

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor really depends on you and your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early for housing to get better choices. Attend Freshman Connection to get the full taste of what the University has to offer.

    In three sentences

    The school is very affordable and in a small town. You have opportunities to meet new friends and people are very friendly and helpful. The community is beautiful and they have a lot of events happening throughout the year.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have had a few incidents of vandalism but the campus police are all over anything that happens. I've never witnessed any bad incidents and I feel safer on that campus than larger campuses.

    Greek Life

    Our campus has three councils of greek organizations: the NPHC, IFC, and the music fraternities and sororities (sinfonias). The sororities and fraternities are involved around campus and getting into one would be worth while.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many intramural and club sports. Crew is a club sport on our campus and it is the oldest club sport. We've been around since 1988. There are a large number of clubs and organizations that people can join.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a campus ghost, Isabella, who resides in the oldest building on campus. She lived in the mansion that became the original NSU building and she died there. It burnt down and she migrates to buildings according to their age if they are torn down. The students hold a vigil to move her.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is on the affordable end, if college can even be deemed as affordable. I'm definitely spending less here than other institutions. Financial aid is a slow process but the potential is there to receive a lot of money.

    What to do for fun

    There are parties off campus, the campus is dry. There are festivals. I'm a varsity rower so I have to plan to go out and have fun because I don't have a lot of time.

    Food and Dining

    There are only 3 dining locations but the food is good. I think we need more variety. Sushi anyone?

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very convenient and clean. I don't have many complaints about the living situation. Freshman can live anywhere on campus. University Place and Columns are better than the older, more traditional dorm which is used for overflow.

    Academic Rigor

    I gave it a 4 out of 5 because I'm in the Scholars' College which is a vigorous, liberal arts college. I'm also a joint psych major through NSU so I have extra graduation requirements

    Tips for prospective students

    Join something! Getting involved will help you meet people. Try NSU Demon Crew, the rowing team, I did! Don't go home every weekend or you'll never get the full experience. Apply for housing early, overflow in Varnado is awful.

    In three sentences

    It's a beautiful campus in a small town. The degree programs are very detailed and you can find what you're looking for. The people are friendly and welcoming.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The on campus police are always happy to escort you home if you don't feel safe walking.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone. If you can't find a club for you, then you can always create one.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a ghost named Isabella in our women's gym on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It's worth the money you are paying.

    What to do for fun

    There is always some kind of sports game going on. If that is not your thing, there are plenty of plays and music events to attend to.

    Food and Dining

    Most of the time the food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    It really depends on your room mates and neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some classes more difficult than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into the finiancial aid programs. There is a club or group for everyone here.

    In three sentences

    There are so many nice people and so much to do on campus.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police are always patrolling campus and there if you need them

    Greek Life

    There are many different greek organizations on campus like Phi Mu, Sigma Sigma Sigma, Alpha Omicron Pi are some ifc/pfc sororities. Some of the ifc/pfc fraternities are Kappa Sigma, Sigma Nu, and Phi Mu Alpha. The also have some NPHC organizations also known as the divine 9 but NSU only has 8 which are Alpha Phi Alpha, Alpha Kappa Alpha, Kappa Alpha Psi, Omega Psi Phi, Delta Sigma Theta, Phi Beta Sigma, Zeta Phi Beta, and Sigma Gamma Rho. The one we do not have is called Iota Phi Theta.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities that you can find here on campus. There is the Student government association, Student Activities Board, Helping Hands, African American Caucus, Up Til Dawn, Dodge ball team, and etc.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for any type of student bu I would say tat a theater major would benefit extremely from NSU because of there outstanding program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition i found unusual is when we make a touchdown during a game the JROTC people fire a cannon.

    Bang for the buck

    It is affordable in my opinion.

    What to do for fun

    You can go swimming, fishing, join clubs, and sororities/fraternities. The town of Natchitoches also has a shooting range, bingo hall, bowling alley and movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    I love that there are three different places to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    It is fun to me but I mostly enjoy having my own room and bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    It has great academic standards and overall great professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the tutors, the writing center, and the library. Use the amenities when you can because you paid for them so use them. Do not just eat in the cafeteria there are two other places on campus to eat as well.

    In three sentences

    NSU is located in a great town. Natchitoches has many things for students to do to have fun. NSU has great programs.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is gated, and after 10 p.m. you have to have a sticker to enter onto the campus.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is pretty active. They are always doing something on campus.

    What to do for fun

    The frats and sorieties usually throw a lot of activities on campus, and the night life in natchitoches is not horrible. There are 2 clubs that usually everybody goes to.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is cafeteria food, there is nothing spectacular about it. But it is not horrible and there is generally a huge variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    You have apartment style dorms and then regular dorms. The regular dorms are almost like the apartment style ones just without the stove. If you stay in the 2 bedroom regular dorms, you will get your own bathroom, which is pretty cool.

    Academic Rigor

    I wouldn't say the curriculum is easy but it is also not impossible or difficult. Since there are less students and it is not a big community, teachers are more available for one on one time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not a fan of a party town or a big community, this is the perfect place for you. You will get to know everbody, and everybody will get to know you. Plan on seeing the same people when you go into Walmart or out.

    In three sentences

    Very small community, so teachers are able to help out students more. If you are an athlete, this would be the perfect school to attend. Everybody knows you.

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Shop.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions; don't expect to get everything you need from one advisor.

    In three sentences

    Great advising. Easy to follow online instruction. Military friendly.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As far as campus safety is concerned, we have security on patrol everyday here! There is not a day where I don't personally see a campus police officer on patrol duty whether it is morning, noon or night!

    Great for these types of students

    The types of students that should consider attending Northwestern State University are the well-rounded student that is about taking pride and honor in their field of study. The challenges here really push students to do their best and achieve greatness while doing so. Hard work and a dedicated spirit with lead to success if the student so choose to take that route to success here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tradition between a rival school that allows the football game to take home a life size Indian statue and it states that overall which ever school wins the game has bragging rights over the losing team until the next semester because both school are of Indian culture and background!

    What to do for fun

    I personally work out in out fitness center as well as attend concerts put on by the student musicians. There are also on campus activities i part take in to better my social status

    Food and Dining

    There are a variety of foods offered here on campus starting from ethnic all the way down to international served dishes here. The most important is that most of the food is health for the body because there are dietry meal plans offered to students, faculty and staff.

    Dorm Life

    I never stayed on campus but from my colleges prospectives, they seem to enjoy dorm life! The dorms are very spacious and well situated as well as guarded by security personnel.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses here are very rigorous because the challenges are not on every day encounters of life! There are many times where I was asked to go above and beyond as a student to get the desired grade I aimed for in what ever course I was in!

    Tips for prospective students

    A good tip of mine would be to work hard and prioritize yourself with what is important for you as a student!

    In three sentences

    I would rate NSU 8 out of 10 because it is a very well organize college! The staff are really nice and more then helpful when students are in need of any kind of student advisory. Most of all the classes are very challenging and makes the students work hard for their desired student work goal with many school related obstacles designed to challenge the student body!

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Northwestern (while it has its issues) is one of the safest campuses I have seen. We have a purple alert system which texts students warnings of issues coming there way from weather to a dangerous situation. We can also expect to be safe and informed.

    Greek Life

    We have a very active Greek life here on campus. There an organization for every type of student.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a multitude of clubs on campus from a fencing club to a quittage (as a joke kind of) club. My point is if NSU does not have a club and you want to create one all you have to do is ask.

    Great for these types of students

    Northwestern is great for the type of student that likes the college expireence, but does not want to end up in a class with hundreds of people in it. If you like to know your teachers, and learn (in more of a) one on one environment Northwestern is the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a clubhouse outside of University Place One (the dorm) that students can go to hang out and eat ice cream. They can play video games and watch T.V. on the big screen.

    Bang for the buck

    Northwestern Costs about $12,000 a year, and this is for up to 21 hours a semester. It costs even less if you are not living on campus, and certain students (band choir, sports, or other skills) can even get out of state fees waived.

    What to do for fun

    There are a multitude of things to do for fun. You can go Greek or you can hang out with friends. You can join a club or an organization.

    Food and Dining

    There are three restaurants on campus that students can eat, and a cafeteria that students can eat at as a part of their meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life itself is not that bad. As always there are people you should be wary of, but all in all it is not bad.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in both regular and Scholars classes at Northwestern State University, and while Scholars classes are sometimes more difficult the regular classes are challenging as well. All in all I have seen schools that are to difficult for anyone, and schools that are so easy you get no real education. Northwestern Strikes a balance so that you learn without drowning in knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips I have for students are as follows: 1. Don't let your friends affect your academics. Friends are nice, but you also have to balance your school work at the same time. 2. If you know you are going to come to Northwestern turn you application in early if you can. This makes things easier on you and the school. It can also help you get the room placement you want.

    In three sentences

    I am a student at Northwesten State University, and I am also in Scholars College there. The school is amazing. Many people believe that going to a large school is the way to go. This is just not true every teacher that I have has a Doctorate in there field. They are educated, but at the same time understanding if you are having issues. Northwestern is the way to go.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    More than enough campus police officers looking to give out parking tickets. Will not help with stolen items- even if proof is on camera.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal Arts

    What to do for fun

    Go greek!

    Food and Dining

    Great location for on campus residents. Friendly service. Not the healthiest items on menu.

    Dorm Life

    Run down and poor management. Always internet connection or fire alarm issues.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part, easier than high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus. Utilize your resources: (Ex. free scantrons, tutors, campus shuttle)

    In three sentences

    Not the highest level of education-for the most part, it is easier than my high school. The general area and location of school can bring overall rating from 3 to a 2. Plenty of extra-curricular activities and clubs to join.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Sigma Sigma Sigma

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always around and they are willing to drive you across campus at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs and even the sorority's or fraternities

    Great for these types of students

    Willing to work hard and study hard. Who want an education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Isabella legend.

    Bang for the buck

    Natchitoches is a historic town so there is always something to do. Movie theater, bowling, skate rink, the Cane River and Sibley Lake are all within close range.

    What to do for fun

    There are always party's or even movie nights through campus housing or SAB. The student Union is fun to hang out at too.

    Food and Dining

    Iberville, Vic's, and the Grill are all great to eat at and have plenty of options. The only thing that could be changed is if Vic' stayed open later for dinner.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great and the campus housing is always on- call to help.

    Academic Rigor

    There are plenty of choices of classes to take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your teachers about any problems you have, because they will find a way to help you or someone who will. Do not be afraid to ask for help. As long as you do your work you will be okay.

    In three sentences

    I love Northwestern. The teachers are always willing to help and speak with you. The school also has plenty of options.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    NSU is great for anyone. All types of people could be happy here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Around Halloween, there is an event called Chasing Isabell. Isabell is the campus ghost. Every year, a group gets together to try to find and see her.

    Food and Dining

    There are 3 choices for food on campus. You can go to Iberville (the campus cafeteria), The Grill (like a restaurant), or Vic's (a deli). Iberville has the most to choose from and the food is outstanding. It just gets a little boring because they make the same things all the time but cycle the recipes out after a few weeks. The Grill doesn't have a lot to choose from, but if you have a craving for something like McDonald's, then it's perfect. It's just a little expensive. Vic's has a little bit of everything. It has pizza, fresh baked cookies, coffee, cappacinos, anything you can imagine almost. But it is very, very expensive. I stick with Iberville simply because it's right beside the dorms and the payment for it is automatically put into your tuition, so you don't have to worry about it.

    Dorm Life

    Residential life is ok. In the actual dorms on campus, you stay isolated to just you and your roommate(s). In the apartment type area, it has a more community feel. Everyone knows everybody.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors challenge you and test you to push your limits on a regular basis.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in contact with your advisor. He/she is very important during your first semester, in fact you can't even schedule your classes for the fall or spring semesters until you have met with them and discussed your classes. Plan your classes early. 8 o'clock classes are hard, but they leave you done by noon and with time to go to work and still be able to get work done for class.

    In three sentences

    NSU is an amazing school. The professors live up to and exceed the standards everyone places them at. I couldn't be more happy here.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Northwestern is a very safe place. We have campus police patrolling the campus all hours of the day. Also if you have an emergency it does not take long for them to get to you because they are located on campus. At night time you must have a Northwestern parking sticker just to get on campus if its after 10:00pm.

    Greek Life

    I personally am not in a sorority, but I know many people that are. We have multiple sororities and fraternities that you can be apart of. Greek life is very big at Northwestern, and the students that are involved get to do a lot of things such as participating in the homecoming parade, lip sync, and formals.

    Clubs and Activities

    I would have to say my favorite club on campus is the theater club. They put on performances for almost every holiday. The students are very good at performing, and I really enjoy going to watch them. If theater is not your thing though, Northwestern has a wide rage of other clubs and activities you can be apart of.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People actually say there is a ghost on campus who died when the college was first founded. Around Halloween, they put of signs that say find Isabella and hang fake ghost around on campus. Also, every semester someone always puts washing powder in one of the fountains and it makes a ton of soap bubbles.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on at Northwestern. Whether you want to watch a play, go to a sports even, or see the city of lights at Christmas time. There is never a day that something is not scheduled.

    Food and Dining

    Iberville is the cafeteria here at Northwestern. I can honestly say I really do enjoy the food. It taste good, and there is a large variety of choices.

    Dorm Life

    I enjoy living on campus because it does not take long to get to all of your classes. Plus, most of your friends live close to you if they also live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is not bad. You are actually able to go online and see where other students have rated teachers so you know what teachers you should take. Also, most of the professors are very understanding and they will work with you if you miss something or need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always put your grades first. I do not recommend going out and partying because it will cause you to miss class, and put you at risk of failing.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern State University is a great college to attend. The campus is beautiful and Natchitoches really is a college town. If you're looking for a college to attend, choosing NSU is a good choice.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The student messenger is always sending out information on different activities that are going on. Every week it seems like it's something different.

    Food and Dining

    I live off campus

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The online courses I've taken so far have an ease of teaching yourself, yet still enforce learning what you are being taught. There is just a great balance among the program.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern has an amazing online program that is super flexible for any time of student. The online program allows for students in other states to complete the degree programs without setting an out of state tuition. The student messenger helps keep everyone super informed on what's going on on campus.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always have a guard on Campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Always have games going on. Also, if you do well you can become a tutor and get paid for it.

    Bang for the buck

    Great price unless you are paying out-of-state tuition which is pricey.

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study Study Study! Make sure you strive in class and get good grades because it is very competitive to get into clinical for Nursing.

    In three sentences

    I am currently attending the NSU Shreveport Campus. This campus has great Professors and an excellant Education/Tutoring Program. It also is a smaller campus which allows the teacher/student relationship to be more personable.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Natchitoches being such a small town many don't think that here is much to do. In ways, they are right, but in others they are wrong. We have front street, which is a brick paved road with many shops and dining experiences with great food. As well as a beautiful view of the river. Christmas is always an amazing time of year in Natchitoches, being known as The City of Lights.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. The cafe always has something that anyone would enjoy. I love everything that I have ever tried at the grill and Vics.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really nice and kept up. They give you three options of dorms and they are all very nice and homey.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics is very hands on. With Northwestern being such a small college with classes with up to only 60 students, you really feel that closeness with the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that no matter what college that you look at, you are choosing it because that is where you truly want to be. Don't let anyone choose where you attend. Also always keep a tight budget, money disappears quick.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is very welcoming, as well as the people. The staff is so inviting and helpful with anything that you may need or want to know. This campus makes you feel like you are at home and everyone is family.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our policemen are always looking out for us students. I feel very safe at NSU.

    Greek Life

    We have lots of fraternities and sororities for everyone interested.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of the NSU Demon Dazzler Danceline and the acclaimed Theatre Department.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student will love their experience at NSU!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have great school spirit at NSU. Fork 'em Demons!

    Bang for the buck

    I agree that I am getting a quality education for a great deal.

    What to do for fun

    Natchitoches is such a fun little town that is quaint and lovely. The square offers a number of Cajun restaurants and opportunities to have fun with friends.

    Food and Dining

    I love the convenience of the cafeteria, and the food is wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    I have made a number of friends on campus and in the dorms at NSU.

    Academic Rigor

    I am challenged in my academics and the arts, but also encouraged to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early! You do not want to miss out on getting in to the greatest school on the planet!

    In three sentences

    Northwestern State University of Louisiana is like my second home. I love that this school and the people here were placed in my life so that I may be able to accomplish my dream and fulfill numerous opportunities that are offered there. I am proud to be a demon at NSU.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    From what I understand, Greek life seems to be very healthy on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The annual Festival of Lights in Natchitoches is known around the country and is a lot of fun.

    What to do for fun

    It is located in a fairly small town, so there isn't much to do unless you drive to Shreveport, Alexandria, or another city nearby.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't had the chance to dine on campus, but Natchitoches has plenty to offer.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms I toured were extremely nice, especially when compared to the dorms at LSU and other state schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in touch with the admissions department. They are so kind and helpful!

    In three sentences

    Northwestern has a BEAUTIFUL campus! I recently toured and found the student community to be close-knit and positive. It seems to be a great school for anyone interested in a smaller university with a community feel.

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Protection against harm is very important on the campus. Police men and women as well as Residence assistants are always there to make sure that we are never in harm's way.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is no doubt that on this campus there is something for each person.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I can truly think of,

    Bang for the buck

    Truly a place worth striving to get into.

    What to do for fun

    Swimming when the weather permits. Outdoor activities like baseball as well as intramural sports in our WRAC.Plus so much more that the sororities,fraternities,and groups come up with.

    Food and Dining

    There is a choice for everyone and healthy alternatives are of the school's utmost importance.

    Dorm Life

    Always kept clean and contains students that assist each other in every day endeavors.

    Academic Rigor

    The scores of this school are astonishing,the students truly strive for the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to ask for help,whether it be for tutoring or finding a group club to get into,there's something for everyone.

    In three sentences

    A school of much help and guidance. A faculty and staff that truly cares. A student body that makes sure that the school is well taken care of.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    College really is what you make out of it! I find it very interesting and fun being a student at NSU. Representing your school is a great and exciting feeling! However, there are a few things I truly dislike about NSU and that is some of the teachers they have. I'm pretty sure there are plenty more other schools that has this problem, but I feel like I'm extremely more dedicated and focused when my teacher is there to help/assist at anytime and will push you to do your best! Some teachers at NSU could careless about their students. Other than this, I love being an NSU Demon!

    What to do for fun

    Attend all of the functions our school host and attend all of the great, fun, and outgoing activities as well! Get involved in whatever you can ! Go to the parties, meetings, games, and meet new people!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of your business and responsibilities! Get to class on time! (even if your teacher is one of those who could care less) Go to CLASS!! YOUR PAYING FOR SCHOOL!!

    In three sentences

    Northwestern State University Of Louisiana is a beautiful site and everything is extremely convenient. I truly enjoy being a NSU Demon. I would rate Northwestern State University of Louisiana a 8.5 on a 10 point scale!

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    dot think that partying wont effect you academically because it most like will. never put off studying.

    In three sentences

    Its a really pretty place. you'll have fun if you know people or fi you're a friendly person. the classes are as hard as you make them.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Northwestern has a security station on campus with our own campus police. A sticker is required for all student that attend and has a car. No one will be allowed to enter the campus without the proper credentials.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life on our campus is a big thing. Our greeks host parties, pageants of all kinds, and educational events. One of our major events that the greeks host is the black history programs. Northwestern is full of Greek life of all kinds.

    Clubs and Activities

    Northwestern has a different club for all types. I am currently in a club called Helping Hands. Helping Hands is a non profit organization that provides help through out the community. We provide helping hands on different events for example for the elderly, and kids. We raise money for different organizations that is in need for different funding. Our hands are held out to help other without looking for anything in return.

    Great for these types of students

    Northwestern is great for any type of students. All type of students are excepted and no one is rejected. There are many different types of social groups for all kinds.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not any unusual location on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    You can not put a price on the education that a person will receives at Northwestern State University. With all the hands on experience and helpful tools that a student will receive.

    What to do for fun

    On Northwestern campus there are many organizations that host many events for holidays, special events, on campus or just because. There is always something to do no matter what season, year, or holiday. Northwestern is a very joyful, fun, and educational campus to attend college.

    Food and Dining

    Northwestern offer many different varieties of food selections. There is a cafeteria with a sandwich line, hot food line, pizza line, and food of the day line. There are also on campus places where student can ave breakfast, lunch and, dinner out side of the cafeteria. Every student is offered a meal plan of different options for meals.

    Dorm Life

    Northwestern state has dorms that are different from any other university. Northwestern dorm are made to make a person feel comfortable and as if they are at home. The dorms are apartment style dorm full kitchen, bathroom, living room, and bedroom. Privacy is a must and University Columns offer this requirement.

    Academic Rigor

    Northwestern Academic Rigor is straight forward. What is expected is in the handbook and when a person enters a classroom the expectations are clearly stated in the syllabus.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I could provide tips for prospective students it would be before picking a major to talk to different advisor in different departments so that they can explain different majors to make sure it best suites their expectations.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern State is a great University, and the reason I say this is because they provide hands on experience for students. It provides many opportunities for students after they graduate to help students find employment. Advisors and teachers are very helpful in every area.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    National Panhellenic Council- alpha sigma alpha, tri sigma, phi mu, and alpha omicron pi Interfraternity Council- theta chi, kappa sigma, sigma nu, kappa alpha order, phi kappa phi, and tau kappa epsilon National Pan-hellenic Council-Alpha Kappa Alpha, Alpha Phi Alpha, Delta Sigma Theta, Iota Pi Theta, Kappa Alpha Psi, Omega Psi Phi, Phi Beta Sigma, Sigma Gamma Rho, and Zeta Phi Beta.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshman connection- helps incoming freshman learn about the school, college life, schedule classes, take tours, live on campus for the weekend, meet and greet with clubs and organizations, and they play games in the teams they are assigned. it's held during the beginning of summer. Late May. Freshman run across field during first football game.

    What to do for fun

    Football games, parties, RA dorm activities, SAB weekly activities, Racquet ball in the gym.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe food is ok. I think the breakfast is best. The other places to eat in the Student union have the best food.

    Dorm Life

    The RA's are cool. they are nice and helpful. They also have fun things planned for those who live in their dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind that this school is in the middle of no where so you have to find your own fun. the student activities board always has something planned to do. The town and campus is pretty small so if you don't mind that then it's a pretty good school.

    In three sentences

    On a 1-10 scale, I'd give it a 7. The staff is helpful. It's a small campus.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the movies or bowling, otherwise you need to go out of town.

    Food and Dining

    Natchitoches has many options for food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Very strenuous work. Takes lots of hard work and dedication. But if you try hard, you will succeed. I study daily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go for it, just ask lots of questions, because no one will tell you anything unless you specifically ask.

    In three sentences

    Great school. Great Curriculum. Wonderful teachers

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plenty of outdoor activities and festivals, but if you're one that is used to big city life you will be bored and disappointed.

    Food and Dining

    I have always lived off campus. So again I cannot truly rate this.

    Dorm Life

    I can't truly rate this as I have never stayed in the dorms. So I put 3/5.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to register as early as possible, but I have found the staff is very helpful when problems arise and late registering is needed.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern is a beautiful, historic and clean campus that strives to improve every year. They provide many online classes and degrees for students that work or live in rural areas. For Students that need something to do outside school, the area has wonderful historic areas to visit and various festivals.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Most of the food is delicious and they provide healthy options as well as pizza and hamburgers and French fries.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are very nice, except for the overflow dorm. You can choose to have a shared or private room.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes and teachers are awesome! There are so many tutoring centers available for help too

    Tips for prospective students

    Please visit the campus! You will be engulfed in Southern charm and hospitality. If you like small, country towns with low tuition costs, this is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    It is great school. The city is beautiful and the whole town is extremely supportive of the school. The spirit of the school and compassionate workers make it very enjoyable.

  • 10/25/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    46 of 48

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I like this school becuase it is the one that has the closes thing to my major.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many clubs and organizations to participate in and plenty of on-campus events to stay involved.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of options for good food in different areas on campus. Very convenient and easy to grabs meals between class schedules.

    Dorm Life

    Many possible options in dorms. Made it easy to adjust to living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is a fair amount. It isn't difficult to keep up and understand as long as students stay on top of assignments,

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice, smaller campus. Faculty is very friendly and familiar with the students. It has a close-knit, comfortable community that makes it easier to adjust to college life and being away from home.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very secure on campus, the state of the art security makes crime very unlikely.

    What to do for fun

    There are too many to name! With so many organizations and activities on campus, fun is limitless.

    Food and Dining

    A routine schedule for what is served.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is amazing, meeting different people and learning new culture.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great! They all seem to adapt to different students,

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware that college is expensive and require a little adjusting.

    In three sentences

    It is spectacular!! I love every minute of my college life here!! Well, I wish the money was not an issue for me.