Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northwestern University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/03/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 out of 53 people found this review useful. 1 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    'Type A' students who like people and aren't shy fit in best here, but plenty of people that I've met here are happily aloof, or they're are average students. If you're great at sports, even better because we have talented teams, but most of the people I know don't play on any teams. Really, there are too many different types of people to generalize all of them; I think most people have found their niche at NU.

    Tips for prospective students

    Push yourself if you can, but do it for the right reasons. The people who enjoy their time the most here aren't the ones who just got straight A's to get into college - they did well because they enjoy doing well. Try to be well-rounded, but maybe concentrate your interests on whatever college you're interested in (for example, those going for the theater program should participate in high school productions if possible, those in engineering should get good grades in math, etc.) Don't limit yourself because you think you can't do it all!

    Bang for the buck

    It's an expensive school. My financial aid was great, but I imagine that the people who pay five times as much as I do still enjoy it here. It costs a lot to go here, but there are plenty of perks, like the shuttle services that go to Chicago, shopping centers in Evanston, and across the big campus (the Evanston campus is like almost mile long), the meal plans and fairly decent dining halls (there are six dining halls, but there are a lot of retail locations like Starbucks where you can use your meal plan), the nice dorm life (rooms can be small, but the buildings are nice and generally have a lot of social events)... A lot of people rationalize the price by saying that they're paying for the Northwestern name on their diplomas, but the school would probably be worth it even if it wasn't so prestigious.

    Am enjoying being here

    Northwestern offers so much to students that it seems like too much. There's plenty of different social scenes (Greek life is a big one, but you don't have to be in a frat or sorority to be social), plenty of arts and entertainment, hundreds of student groups, opportunities for work, research and internships, volunteer groups, easy transportation, great dorm life... The professors I've had were generally really accessible, too. Again, the problem with all the NU offers is that it's hard for someone to have a job, be in a sport, be in ten extracurriculars, double major, volunteer, do research *and* have a normal social life without getting three hours of sleep and having no time to eat or relax. A problem I've encountered is that the course listing is difficult for freshmen. Upperclassmen and declared majors get class registration priority, so freshmen and undeclared majors have slim pickings when it comes to classes. I haven't met anyone who got into all the classes they wanted to. I'm ambivalent about the quarter system - it's nice that you only have to take four classes at a time, but when you take a class you like, it's upsetting because it's over so quickly. It's also nice that you get to go back to school in September, but on the other hand, you have to stay around until June. It's really easy to get distracted with all of Nortwestern's small faults when you get used to all it has to offer.

    Am learning a lot

    If you can to learn, you will. The professors don't spoon-feed information - instead, they give you the tools to learn the subjects yourself. Also, just hanging out with people (students, and sometimes students hang out with professors) helps you learn; generally, the students here are smart, and so casual conversation topics sometimes teach just as much as a class lecture.

  • 12/02/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 out of 25 people found this review useful. 2 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Brilliant go-doers, people who take pride in their intellect, students looking for a mix between pre-professional and liberal arts, students who want to go into journalism or engineering. Students who have no idea what they want to do. Students who want to go places and do things. People interested in Ivy academics without Ivy social and psychological pressures. People interested in school spirit. People who want to make a difference in the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit! Evanston is wonderful and campus is beautiful at first glance and once you get to know the people. Build a resume TRUE TO YOURSELF. Contact a current student to get a feel for the real experience if you can't make it to campus. Talk to the financial aid crew here... they have some great packages!

    Bang for the buck

    I don't have another experience to compare this too. Northwestern comes with a hefty price tag but the resources, outlets, professors, activities, and student programs are innumerable and incredible. You can make every dollar count if you try.

    Am enjoying being here

    The kids here are talented, smart, intellectual people but no one is uptight. The student body knows how to party like rockstars and still debate political policies over brunch on a Sunday morning. The work is heavy but stimulating and interesting. Professors and TAs alike are incredibly helpful. The students are diverse in ideas and interests. People are NICE. and we're right near CHICAGO, an amazing city. But you'll have an awesome time even if you never leave campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I came to college to learn lessons beyond the liberal arts. I wanted skills for the preprofessional world alongside a strong liberal arts background. I'm getting that. I'm certainly not saying you won't have to push yourself, but any worthwhile experience requires you to put in the effort.

  • 12/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 out of 23 people found this review useful. 3 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who work hard is really my only criteria. There are all types of people at Northwestern--pretty much all personality types can attend here and fit in.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Buy a heavy parka. You won't care about the fact that it is bulky and unfashionable when it's -30 degrees and everybody else is wearing one. 2. Expect to work really hard. There are very few classes that do not require at least significant effort for you to get an A or a B. 3. Say goodbye to straight As. Once you come here, those are a thing of the past.

    Bang for the buck

    Okay, so Northwestern is ridiculously expensive. That said, once you get an education here, you'll eventually even out the difference. Really, though, NU isn't the best at giving out financial aid, especially for people who are middle-of-the-road when it comes to finances. Unless you are really rich, really poor, or an athlete, attending here WILL put strain on your bank account. (NU doesn't give out academic scholarships.)

    Am enjoying being here

    Northwestern has a really eclectic mix of students in attendance, so everyone can find a niche. Of course, the weather in Evanston is terrible--but what can you do?

    Am learning a lot

    Classes at NU require a lot of hard work, but it is completely worth it. You can get a lot out of most classes as long as you put in the time and the effort. Also, the professors WANT you to do well, and most of them will take the time to help you if you ask.

  • 10/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 15 people found this review useful. 4 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Intellectual, hard-working, driven, focused, social, curious

    Tips for prospective students

    I am the only person from my high school who got into this school, so I don't know advice to give, seeing that I am the only person I know well enough to compare. Load up on AP/IB classes if your school offers or requires them, don't slack off. Ever. Bad habits will form and transfer to college. Continue your extracurriculars, and build on your longer-running ones. Blah blah blah yadda yadda yadda (all the usual advice that everyone already knows about when applying to colleges). Northwestern is expensive! APPLY FOR SCHOLARSHIPS!!! That's one of my biggest regrets; not applying for enough money. Aim for the ones that are delivered to you personally, with no record that Northwestern can find out about (if Northwestern finds out you got a scholarship, they will deduct that amount from your financial aid)

    Bang for the buck

    Northwestern is definitely very expensive, and they're not extremely generous on their financial aid, either. While (most) professors here are great and the facilities amazing, they do overcharge on a lot of things, especially books (don't buy from Norris; everything's overpriced) and food (but what can you do?) But, the food's not TOO bad, and it's all-you-can-eat. What really matters, however, is the academics. Like I've said before, the professors here know their stuff. While they may not necessarily know how to teach well, you can always ask them questions and they can clarify. The facilities, especially the Technological Institute, are just amazing (once you figure out the maze-like layout)

    Am enjoying being here

    Definitely, but so far, I don't know about the weather. Being a Southerner, I am used to warmer weather, so this is going to be an eye-opening experience. The campus is pretty nice too, with a variety of architecture (from brutalist to Gothic cathedral) All superficial aspects aside, the people here are quite varied. There are many types of intellectuals, and they can all be found here. The problem is finding the people, but once again, if you're not afraid to talk, then you will have no problem testing the waters to find the perfect set of friends. Friends make any situation bearable.

    Am learning a lot

    There are so many things to do here that one of your biggest worries is finding the time and avoiding schedule conflicts. Of course, you can expect to learn a great deal from one of the best schools on campus. The classes aren't easy by any means, and the professors really know their stuff (many have to; they do research on their respective subjects). You can expect them to know the answer to your question, provided that they understand it. The work is rigorous. But college isn't all about the classes; you will learn quite a bit from your peers as well, who come from all different parts of the country and, indeed, the world. I have learned much just from my peers, international and domestic. As long as you're not afraid to talk and ask questions, then you will surely learn a lot here.

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 46 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 4 people found this inaccurate. 5 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    well rounded

    Tips for prospective students

    doing the ap subjects and core subjects

  • 07/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 6 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Open minded, outgoing, quirky, proactive, ambitious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Jump in as soon as you get here! Never sailed? Try out for sailing team. Never thought you'd go Greek? RUSH. The greatest thing about my school is how open-minded and diverse the students are. I know fraternity guys who love their letters, but also work on film sets on the weekend or have been backpacking through Europe with nothing but a Kodak. Even people who seem like college stereotypes (and trust me, I have yet to meet one) are some of the most interesting people you will ever know once you get to know them.

    Bang for the buck

    Northwestern is expensive, I will be honest. Paying for this school is a struggle for my family, but they are willing to make the sacrifices because they know how much I love my education. It makes me sad to say that financial aid has not been great so far, but our policies seem similar to those of other private universities, so I don't know that negative financial aid experiences are unique to Northwestern.

    Am enjoying being here

    The four stars are only because I didn't find my way until spring quarter. Before I became an RTVF major, I wasn't sure which classes would interest me and ended up taking a few that were wastes of time. However, this could happen at any college and reflects more on my experience than at the school. The people I have met are so interesting--one of my friends, G., is totally the next Perez Hilton (with more class), and another, A., is a brilliant engineer who is getting a business certificate for fun. As for me, I think film is pretty interesting as far as majors go. Who else gets to say I have a three hour lab, then spend those three hours on lighting and improv?

    Am learning a lot

    I learned more fall quarter--yes quarter (one of the few downsides of my school is that everyone is gone in mid-August!)--than I ever thought I would during my freshman year. Once I became a radio-television-film major (RTVF), I knew that Northwestern was where I was always meant to be, after a rough first 2 quarters. I press buttons, I make movies, I carry ridiculously large and expensive equipment on occasion, and I have never been happier. I would say that most Northwestern students with similarly pre-professional courses of study would agree that Northwestern not only teaches you what you need to know in the real world, but fosters an environment in which you feel that your education IS your future.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    You'll find what you're looking for.

    Great for these types of students

    Intelligent, passionate, well-rounded.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Student groups guard a giant rock for 24 hours to obtain the rights to paint it and to advertise for events.

    Bang for the buck

    You can make your schedule as economic as possible.

    What to do for fun

    Parties, downtown Chicago, spending time with friends on the lake, downtown Evanston. You'll find plenty to do. Don't worry.

    Food and Dining

    It's not home cooking, but there are great dining halls to choose, each with an extensive salad bar and many entrees to choose from. Each dining hall masters a certain course (dessert, sandwiches, etc.). Also, they're great for food allergies.

    Dorm Life

    Residential Colleges foster community. Residential houses are smaller, and residential halls are like a stereotypical college dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    If you want an easy schedule, you can cop-out and take a select type of class, but if you're at NU to study, you'll take classes that interest you, satisfy your innate curiosity, and challenge you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study what you love and what you're passionate about.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern is a great school, blending first class academics and Big 10 sports in a way that typically isn't seen among comparable universities. Students are bright and are typically highly motivated, passionate, and active in leadership roles. The campus boasts the beautiful shore of Lake Michigan and lush green lawns with many historic and stately buildings.

  • 03/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Northwestern is great for students who are willing to work hard and study most of the day away. Also, if you're a music student, you have a lot of practicing ahead of you! (Trust me, it all pays off!)

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say the best thing to remember is that everyone is coming from almost the same situation as you are and that everyone is adjusting. This is the first time most of us have ever been on our own and with that comes a whole list of new responsibilities. It is okay to be nervous about everything but it is also a very exciting process and one of the best times of your life. You can trust me when I say things will become easier as the year goes on. In order to overcome the nerves and overwhelming aspect of it, try to go into it with arms open and make the best of your new situation! The only way to overcome this new environment is to get out in it and see what it has in store for you.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say the price of attending Northwestern is a tad too high for what you receive. I understand that in order to get world-famous professors, the cost of tuition must go up. However, the dorms are not as great as I would have expected. Also, the food certainly is not fantastic by any means. It is a taste you have to get used to...I've labeled it disappointment. I definitely think the costs of tuition needs to be lowered but I know that attending a great university like Northwestern is certain to have a high price tag attached.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy my time here at Northwestern. Besides the studying that takes up a lot of my day, when you want to get out and do something it is pretty easy to find a good time! I frequently go to one of our really nice gyms on campus. The facilities are great and all of the machines are newer. I also frequently visit Chicago, mainly to see the Chicago Symphony Orchestra perform. It's certainly nice to be just a train ride away from the best orchestra in the United States! In general, everyone has been very nice here and the teachers are all supportive. I also love the nature around campus. It almost has a secret garden feel because there are so many trees and little paths. The lake fill has the most breathtaking view of the Chicago skyline and the lake itself is certainly not a bad thing! Everyone loves to go down to the lake when it's nice for a game of frisbee or just to lay out. I truly believe it would be hard for someone to dislike Northwestern. It is a great environment to learn and grow as a person.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a five-year double-degree in oboe performance and psychology at NU and I have learned a lot in regards to the music curriculum I am learning. However, because it is a structured system where there isn't always an equal focus on both degrees, I have not learned much in the psychology field just yet. I rate this four stars because the things I have learned have improved my oboe playing and knowledge of music immensely but the structure of my schedule wasn't what I was expecting in regards to mainly focusing on music.

  • 06/08/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, intellectually curious, vivacious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for outside scholarships--you'll need them, but don't let the cost scare you away from applying.

    Bang for the buck

    It's really, really expensive. And their meal plans aren't that great. But they do give really good aid, so don't be afraid to apply.

    Will enjoy being here

    Northwestern is beautiful and is next to one of the greatest cities in the world. The people are so friendly and enthusiastic and it's going to be a truly wonderful college experience.

    Will learn a lot

    Academics here are tough; don't expect to breeze through any of your classes. The professors are amazing because they allow you to learn things for yourself instead of just telling you information--not to mention their accreditations and distinguished reputations among other scholars.

  • 08/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe, but then again I'm a 6'3, 210 lb white male, so I'm not really qualified to speak on the safety of others.

    Greek Life

    Not super crazy but there are always some good and bad elements.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Smart, driven, maybe a bit pre-professional.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Painting the rock, primal scream before exams

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive and financial aid isn't too great compared to the Ivies, but the educational and research quality is there.

    What to do for fun

    Go to parties, go into downtown Evanston, join a club, play sports, head into Chicago, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, but gets boring after a while, as I'm sure happens at every school.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms' atmospheres vary greatly based on their size and location. I lived in Bobb, which is a larger dorm in the middle of the frat quads, and it could get pretty nasty with all the drinking. There was also not much community in my experience, outside of the people who rushed frats together. My friends who lived in smaller dorms on South campus seemed to have more of a cohesive dorm community, though some of them were bored with the lack of partying. Basically, there are dorms to fit all types of people, and if you're lucky you'll end up being placed in one that fits you well.

    Academic Rigor

    Northwestern is tough, at least with the classes I have taken, but if you study and go to class it should be manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first 3-4 weeks of every quarter, you may be tempted to slack off, but if you do, you're going to have an awful time the rest of the quarter, because there will be no break from tests from then on. It's better to spread the studying out than to have a crisis before every test. Also, go to office hours and talk to professors. Unless you're asking stuff that's directly in the textbook or asking thousands of questions, they will respond positively and they can help suggest ways to succeed in their classes. But that's all if you get in, which you'll do by getting good SATs/ACTs, writing a good essay, getting good grades in honors/AP classes, and having some kind of good extracurriculars.....the usual for this kind of school.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern is great academically and all of the professors I have had here have been engaged and interested in teaching. The social life on North campus is heavily frat-centered, despite what people may try to tell you, however, there are other ways to have a good social life like joining clubs, going to the gyms, and meeting people in classes. Evanston is a decent town and going into Chicago is great if you make the time to do it occasionally.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is generally a safe place with a vigilant student body and the campus saferide system which can pick you up by appointment. however, a recent string a robberies very close to campus have called into question the safety of students on and around campus.

    Greek Life

    greek life on campus is very popular on campus. as a member, i have met great people within the system and can see all its advantages as well as its flaws. nu greek life is great for a social person who wants a great network of people around them or good opportunities to participate in philanthropic work. the system, however, can be rather isolating if one does not make the conscious decision to branch out to other aspects of campus life.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a ton of opportunities for students to get involved in anything that piques their interests. from the happiness club to intramural sports, everyone can take part in nu campus life.

    Great for these types of students

    northwestern is great for an array of different people. the school can foster to people who are bookworms, artsy, sports fans, or just the general ambitious teenager who is looking for a worthwhile challenge in college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    painting the rock, the finals primal scream, and the flood of purple on campus on football game days are popular.

    Bang for the buck

    the school is challenging and the promise of a northwestern degree is an alluring prospect which can pay dividends upon graduation and entering the job market.

    What to do for fun

    going into the city can be a great opportunity if taken advantage of, but evanston offers many chances for recreation, too. joining clubs, sports teams, or the greek system are popular choices.

    Food and Dining

    sodexo food service has much to improve upon, but it is not very different from the expected fare at any college cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are segregated into opposite end of campus. there are north campus dorms and south campus dorms, not all of which provide students with all the amenities that a student would expect. nevertheless, some dorms are very nice and are in close proximity to different places around campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the body of work can be substantial, but it is very managable if given the right amount of time to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    prospective students should be prepared to be challenged academically and to heave to deal with a long and cold winter. also, avail yourself to the myriad ways to further your academic and cultural education at school and in chicago.

    In three sentences

    northwestern is a academically prestigious midwestern school with big 10 athletics as well as proximity to a world-class city. evanston is a nice college town that offers the amenities that any college student could ask for. the university gives students the tools and resources for a diverse study body to succeed.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are so many passionate people. Some love science and engineering or english and drama or then a combination of bassoon and economics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are so many traditions such as Dillo Day (a huge music festival), guarding the rock, Dance marathon, or painting a rock on the lakefill. You can also play hide and seek in the library, look through the University archives, or explore the steam tunnels.

    Bang for the buck

    Northwestern has an awesome financial aid department and will make sure you can afford going to school there. They are quick with your paperwork and reply in lightning speed to your emails. They offer many scholarships and grants, federal loans, work study, and their own NU loan.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many student organizations and groups on campus and if there isn't one you like you can make one. There always recitals and operas put on by the music school and plays by the drama department.

    Food and Dining

    The dining halls are nice and provide a lot of healthy options. It has also been ranked to be the most friendly to vegetarians and vegans.

    Dorm Life

    There are two types of on-campus living: Residential Halls and Residential Colleges. The halls are like normal dorms and the colleges have academic themes (for example performing arts or engineering) and social events where you earn points. The housing is very old and most of the buildings are outdated inside but a couple have been recently renovated.

    Academic Rigor

    Yes, classes are hard and the quarter system makes them even harder. The quarters are shorter than semesters so before you know it you have mid terms and then finals! There is a lot of studying, reading, and writing papers so be prepared.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many honors and advanced classes you can and get good grades. Take the SAT and SAT subject tests or ACT and make sure you fall at least in the average range. Also get involved with your school and participate in extra curriculars that you enjoy so you can talk about it in your application and show Northwestern what you can bring to the table.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern University is a top-tier university and is sometimes considered the ivy of the Midwest. It has a beautiful, lakeside campus and is just a train ride away from Chicago, providing endless opportunities and adventures. The university also

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are areas on campus where it's still kind of dark at night, but I do see a genuine effort by Northwestern to really try and improve campus safety. More emergency lights are being installed, and I think as long as students practice caution and common sense (don't walk alone at night), you'll be fine. The university offers resources (shuttles, SafeRide) to improve campus safety as well.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is huge here. If I'm not mistaken, around 30% of the student population is involved. However, it's not a divisive factor on campus at all. Students in Greek life do not separate themselves from other students, and vice versa. It's not like they control the campus either, so you won't be influenced by it if you choose to not go Greek.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for academically competitive people. Also great for people who are uncertain about what they want to do and just want to explore. Because of the quarter system, we get more chances to take extraneous classes that may not necessarily be for our intended major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's The Rock. Apparently it used to be a water fountain, but students have made it a tradition to paint The Rock for their organizations. It's essentially an advertisement, but it's a big must-do for students who come here.

    Bang for the buck

    IT'S SO EXPENSIVE TO COME HERE. Seriously. Granted, I love the school, I don't regret spending this money, but the tuition and fees really do stack up. Be prepared. Almost everything is over-priced here, particularly room and board.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities for everyone no matter what you're into. Downtown Evanston is literally across the street, so you won't be lacking in food and entertainment. However, the shops tend to close pretty early, even on weekends, so that's a common issue I've been hearing about since arriving on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Personally, I'm a picky eater. The flavors are generally acceptable, but the biggest problem I've had with dining hall food is that everything is so high in calories. It's almost impossible not to gain weight if you don't increase your work-out regimen.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on where you live. I've gotten mixed feelings from people here, but overall, there are definitely activities that the dorms offer for you to become more active on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Very competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    See the campus. It sometimes works for certain people, sometimes it doesn't. For the most part, though, people I've talked to love it.

    In three sentences

    Competitive but not suffocative atmosphere. Students are usually very involved on campus. Its quarter system (versus the typical bi-semester system) enables students the opportunity to take more classes.

  • 08/28/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Highly motivated individuals!

    Will enjoy being here

    Awesome campus & so close to downtown Chicago - just not sure about the winters.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    it varies by dining hall, but overall it's not bad.

    Dorm Life

    depends on where you live, but i'm in a residential college and i enjoy the community feel.

    In three sentences

    it's challenging work, one of the best educations you can receive, and full of pretty awesome people.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    It's a private school, so remember, don't expect wild things like at public schools. But for top 20 private universities, and compared to UChicago, it's a party school. Almost 36% of people here are in Greek life; Lodge is dead, so the top 3 frat positions are up. I didn't rush (I hate the idea of living with 50+ girls honestly), but a lot of my friends are in frats and sororities. It's a time commitment, and may or may not affect your grades.

    Great for these types of students

    straight-A, overachiever, can balance social life, academics, and clubs all at the same time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    THE ROCK. you must paint it! or the rocks by the lake.

    Bang for the buck

    Northwestern Meme: What if tuition is free, and T-SHIRTS cost $50 grand? it's expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There's Heavanston to meander around, a club for anything imaginable, the ocean (Lake Michigan), the lakefill, and the friends you'll make to pass endless amounts of time with. Find the tunnels, trek through Tech.

    Food and Dining

    Allison food is the BEST on campus, except breakfast. Sargeant is the only dining hall on North Campus that all undergraduates can go to (I've never seen sophomores in Elder's dining hall). There's a lot of options for Halal, Kosher, Vegan, and Vegetarian too!

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are overdue for a renovation (Jones, CRC, ISRC, SMQ, NMQ), but others are up to par with hotels like Allison, Slivka, Elder, Kemper, and Goodrich. The residential college system is helpful for some people (Willard is somewhat cult-ish, Chapinites love playing board games).

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard. Period. If you make it in here, just remember: everyone is either on your level or above. You, my lucky friend, are probably average for once in your life. It takes time getting used it. And the quarter system is stuffing 15/16 weeks of material into 10 weeks, 3 times a year. You learn to love it and hate it at the same time. Midterms come at you almost every week. (I'm pre-med, so maybe that's why)

    Tips for prospective students

    We Northwesterners LOVE prospies, as long as you aren't on one of the tour guides. Definitely sit in on a class, don't come during finals week, and jaywalk as much as you want on Sheridan so you'll fit in. Do an overnight stay, just make sure you end up at Allison Hall, Elder Hall, Slivka, or Bobb if you're feeling adventurous.

    In three sentences

    In all honesty, I love this school and Heavenston (what we college students endearingly refer to the town that has taken care of us by taking away The Keg, not taking away the Brothel Law, and where Taco Bell closes sadly before 1 am). The people here are genuine, friendly, and everyone has some oddity about them, which makes it all the more interesting!

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you choose to make use of the buses and SafeRide services, it's very safe. However, a lot of people make the decision to walk alone at night, and that's when things stop being safe.

    Greek Life

    It exists. You can be a part of it and it's great. However, if you aren't a part of it, you aren't missing anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING! We even have a happiness club!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy learning, students who have constantly pushed themselves, students who love a small city right next to a giant metropolitan area

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We paint a giant rock over and over, but you have to guard it first. Also, along the lakefill are these giant rocks which also get painted. Dillo Day is a concert that goes up at the end of May and lasts all day. Primal Scream happens the Sunday right before finals week when everyone goes outside and yells.

    Bang for the buck

    For me, the school really generous with financial aid. I have found this to be true across the student population.

    What to do for fun

    See a piece of theatre! At least one show, usually more, goes up every weekend. If it's warm enough (or even if it's not), come see the view of Chicago from the Lakefill. Evanston is also a really wonderful place to go eat, just about any kind of cuisine you could want.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of options, including vegan and vegetarian. Towards the end of the quarter, choices get repetitive, but it's overall pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community, although the rooms aren't very big. The dorms that have been renovated are obviously better than those that haven't been and some don't have overhead lights or air conditioning.

    Academic Rigor

    It is what you make of it, but there are definitely classes that challenge the mind and push students to their fullest potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, because in the end it will be worth all of your hard work.

    In three sentences

    It's both an academic and creative haven, a community for all people who want to learn. It's a little peace of paradise in Evanston, Illinois where everyone went through the same process to get in. It can be anything you make it, which for most people is amazing.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Chicago is just down the road!

    Tips for prospective students

    Doe everything you can to save up money or win scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern is in a great location, the academic standards are high, and the student body is diverse. The downside is that high-quality education comes with high tuition. It's an excellent school, if you can afford it.

  • 06/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    NU is great for liberals and wealthy students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a rock with a plaque that literally says that nothing happened there.

    Bang for the buck

    Northwestern is not very good about giving aid for middle class ($100,000) income families.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of a cappella shows, plays, talks, and parties going on every weekend. Chicago is not too far, going on the train. If you bring your car, take Lake Shore Drive because it's faster than the Edens Expressway.

    Food and Dining

    The food is, well college food. It definitely gets better the later and hungrier you go. Make sure that you inspect your plate and cutlery because sometimes they can be dirty. Football players/athletes normally go to Plex in the late afternoon. Allison and Sargent have the best food. However, especially if you live on South Campus, there are a good amount of food options in Downtown Evanston.

    Dorm Life

    The bathrooms are definitely not the cleanest, but hey, that is college. Open the bathroom handle with your elbow because plenty of people do not wash their hands at dear old NU. The dorms range in size. PARC, NMQ, SMQ and Shepard have small rooms. Rogers House is somewhat large, but there is no air-conditioning. Beware of incidents in the hallways of Bobb-McCullouh and Elder on the weekends. People tend to get rowdy there.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very difficult and will challenge you in many ways. It is not for the faint of heart. That being said, try your best everyday. Take the hardest classes in the fall and you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take AP classes, lots of them. The best ones to take are language because if you get credit, you don't have to take two years (6 classes) of a foreign language. Also, if you are on a pre-medicine path, start studying chemistry the summer before your freshman year. It will make it much easier. Also, don't take two distros at the same time (ex. two literature courses or two history classes) because you will go insane. Also, if you did not take calculus in high school, take the 212-213-214 calculus course sequence. It is much more manageable than the 220-224 series.

    In three sentences

    This is a very difficult school that will stress you out quite often, especially if you are an engineering or pre-medicine major. They are not very good at providing financial aid for middle-class students. However, there are many clubs and activities to involve yourself in.

  • 05/15/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 4 people found this review useful. 20 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students who want to learn journalism, theatre, go greek, love other people, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    check out the programs offered

    Bang for the buck

    free ride!

    Will enjoy being here

    who doesn't love chicago? and if you don't like big cities, evanston is an adorable suburb!

    Will learn a lot

    there' so many opportunities to learn here, the freshman seminars are looking AMAZING for this year

  • 05/17/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 21 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    I am so excited to learn in a college setting, and I think Northwestern is the best place to do just that! Pretty much anything is possible at this school, and I'm excited to attend because there is more than one type of student attending.

  • 09/25/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    Cant wait to go to NU. Go wildcats

  • 11/26/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    Northwestern is one of the few colleges that have a 6 year straight med program.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Want to learn, but still have some fun. You have to want to put in the effort

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn the stuff, don't expect professors to give you the grade

    Bang for the buck

    It is one of the most expensive schools out there...I feel like the professors could be a little better for the amount of money invested

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a great atmosphere but not a big school atmosphere but there are days when it comes closer to it

    Am learning a lot

    I have nothing to compare it to, but I would say I am learning quite a bit. It is a bit different from high school in the way you learn though

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 25 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Does anyone know of any certain things the admissions offices are looking for in an application to Medill or Communications?

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nightlife is only okay, not a huge party school but you can usually find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Decent, but overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    I loved my dorm but the building and furniture were very outdated (I got lucky and ended up in a place with great people and a fun environment).

    Academic Rigor

    Work hard, play harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved early on - try new things. It's easier to leave behind things you don't like than to jump in late. Try a little bit of everything, don't be afraid to look outside your major.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern offers a lot of opportunities in pretty much any area, academic or otherwise. The school and town are pretty expensive. Some great professors teach some great classes, which make it worth it.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is well lit. There have been some instances of robbery close by off-campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life plays a large role on campus, but it is still the minority. The great thing about Northwestern's Greek Community is that it is a lot more variable than the stereotypes of fraternities and sororities. There is a place for everyone who wants to join and no hazing!

    Clubs and Activities

    There really is something for everyone. Try to get involved and stick with it.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who want a challenging and rewarding education while also having great networking opportunities in the Chicago area. It is a school for nerds who still know how to have fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Rock is painted by student groups to advertise for upcoming events or clubs on campus. Deering Library, much older than the Main Library looks similar to Hogwarts from Harry Potter.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Evanston is full of great restaurants and has some fun bars. Chicago is only a 35-45 minute train ride away.

    Tips for prospective students

    GPA is not the only important thing. Try to gain experience in leadership experience, and write a creative essay.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern is a prestigious university with a wonderful reputation. The quarter system and curriculum are challenging, but there are several fun ways to relieve stress on campus. Located near chicago, Northwestern has a great location on the lake.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They offer all kinds of special occasion happenings all thru the year.

    Tips for prospective students

    You won't be disappointed!

    In three sentences

    Never met so many dedicated teachers. They strive to make the students the best that they can be...oops I think that is the Army's slogan.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty good. The Northwestern police are always on call, but I haven't heard of any major dangers just within my circle of friends. Just make sure to keep your wits about you whenever you're in parts of downtown Evanston or Chicago.

    Greek Life

    There are plenty of the fraternities and sororities here for any type of person. The great part is that rush starts during Winter session, which takes the pressure off for the first quarter that you're new to the school. Another aspect is that everyone at Northwestern is already academically orieted, so the Greek life pertains more to non-academic aspects of college life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's literally everything available to do both on and off campus. And if you can't find what you're looking for, just go and start your own club. It is very easy to do. In fact, it's heavily encouraged!

    Great for these types of students

    If you want a great jumping point for any future career but also like to have a great time, then this is for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my favorite places to study or just get some peace and quiet is on the concrete slabs near the Lake. Something about the water and the soft rush of wind is near-bliss.

    Bang for the buck

    Look, it is very expensive. That's a fact. But if you can get a decent financial aid package, then it is definitely worth attending.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of parties, and if you don't like downtown Evanston, then just take the L to get to downtown Chicago, where you will never run out of things to do regardless of your interests.

    Food and Dining

    Don't go to the Foster-Walker complex for food, but many of the other dining halls provide good food, regardless of what your food preferences are. Plus, there are plenty of shops and restaurants on and around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty good, but the important thing is what happens in them. And there's plenty to do there, especially in the larger rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes you have, the professors can either be amazing or sometimes nonexistent. However, most classes at least have some involvement with the professor, and the academic content itself is fantastic and rather challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is going to be an expensive education, but the support as well as the academics you will receive will be of near unrivaled quality.

    In three sentences

    If you like the weather, a fantastic campus and great place to stay. Brilliant academics with good professors, and lots of access to a very involved city. Of course it is college, so the nightlife is always great.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Painting the Rock: The large boulder near University Hall has been painted and re-painted hundreds of times. The Dance Marathon: A constant dance-fest in the spring that is the largest student-run philanthropy event in the nation. Dillo Day: A massive music festival that gets thrown during the spring.

    What to do for fun

    Evanston has a plethora of bars and restaurants, including a great icecream shop a block from campus. Most offer some form of wildcard advantage. On campus, Norris is a center of activity, and there's always the Frat Quad if you want a party.

    Food and Dining

    Evanston and the North Shore is the dining capital of Chicago. Name a genre of food: you can find it here. As for dining on campus, it's a little above average.

    Dorm Life

    There are good dorms and bad dorms, both in facilities and atmosphere. The Residential Colleges tend to be closer knit, but they are also small and more specialized, and lack a dining hall.

    Tips for prospective students

    Unless the idea of becoming an icicle appeals to you, you might want to bring a variety of heavy winter gear for when it gets quite cold. A bike is also handy for getting around campus.

    In three sentences

    Strong Academics, Near Chicago, Frigid winters.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is great for a self-motivated student who is willing to take control of his/her education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a rock on campus that students paint and guard. The ritual involves camping and cheering. It's awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    This is an expensive university--but it's worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Go see a play! Northwestern has one of the top theater programs in the nation, and the department produces over eighty performances each year. It's a cheap and quality source of fun.

    Food and Dining

    Northwestern is one of the top universities in the country for vegetarian eating. The cooking staff prepares global cuisine, and the deserts are excellent!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are clean, though small. However, the partying is mild, so students have the ability to focus on their work.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult, but the quality of the material covered is outstanding. A Northwestern education will prepare you for success by instilling a strong work ethic and global perspective in the students who take full advantage of the opportunities offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on academics, especially at the beginning. Parties can be fun, but also distracting, so set yourself up with a solid first semester to maximize your chances at success.

    In three sentences

    This is truly a place where students can create the education they desire. The number of opportunities offered in each of the departments is incredible. This allows every student to receive a unique and specialized college experience.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students with wide-ranging interests. Double Degree or Dual Major Students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Painting the Rock- as crazy as it sounds...

    Food and Dining

    There are SO many dining options just off campus in Evanston!

    Academic Rigor

    I felt as though Northwestern really wants to challenge its students to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern is a well-organized, flexible institution that will work with you to ensure that you can pursue your interests. The high-class faculty are expert instructors and are able to integrate practicality into the classroom through internships and similar programs in the students' chosen fields of study. The Evanston area is so near Chicago that one can experience both a small-town AND big-city feel without going very far.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is definitely booming on campus. The fraternities and sororities are quite diverse; anyone can join the greek community and feel welcomed!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is high, but you are paying for a quality education and the connections for jobs after graduation .

    What to do for fun

    Go to concerts and plays, visit Chicago, hang with friends on the beach, and just walk around the beautiful campus!

    Food and Dining

    It's dorm food, so it is not amazing but it is edible.

    Dorm Life

    The Residential College system is really great! Definitely check it out to see if it is a good fit for you.

    Academic Rigor

    You will definitely be academically challenged, but it is not impossible to succeed at Northwestern.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, get involved, and remember to have fun too!

    In three sentences

    Northwestern University is an awesome experience for any student. You will be challenged academically, but the professors are always willing to offer a helping hand. I would definitely suggest getting involved in the amazing student groups offered on campus as well.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of stuff on campus, in Evanston, in Chicago!

    Food and Dining

    Decent variety, not always excellent. Dining hall food.

    Dorm Life

    A lot of dorms are pretty old and not always the best facilities. That said, I lived in my dorm for two years and had a great time. People end up loving where they live.

    Academic Rigor

    Some programs are certainly harder than others, but in general NU is an academically challenging, rigorous university. Teachers will expect a lot from you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to trying new things and meeting new people. Say yes!

    In three sentences

    Northwestern is a great school. I think there are challenging aspects, particularly socially, but overall I love it. The academics, activities, people, location are great.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For the most part Evanston is pretty safe. People just get phones stolen a lot it seems.

    Greek Life

    It's not a major part of campus life if you don't want it to be. But if you do there are a bunch of organizations you can join.

    Clubs and Activities

    Way too many to list. You name it we've got it!

    Great for these types of students

    There's something for everybody but you have to be dedicated and passionate.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you guard the rock in the middle of campus for 24 hours you can paint it however you'd like.

    Bang for the buck

    Depends. It's a pretty penny but they do offer a lot of scholarships if you have demonstrated need.

    What to do for fun

    There are all types of sports you can play, clubs to join for all interests and attending sporting events is always a highlight.

    Food and Dining

    Could be better and needs more variety.

    Dorm Life

    You get what you get and it's just a room anyways.

    Academic Rigor

    Exams every three weeks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Northwestern provides a great education but the work is challenging. As long as you stay on top of your work you'll be fine. But don't worry it's not all work and no play.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern is very academically challenging. Northwestern has beautiful scenery. Overall, Northwestern provides a great experience for all types of students.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 36 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    4.5 campus security is always visible

    Greek Life

    Almost non existent, then again I'm a gear head, so I am not sure that is a fair assessment.

    Clubs and Activities

    They are adding more clubs as the student body has grown tremendously in my 3 years hear. I don't participate in much since I need employment. For my personal tastes, I would give it one and half stars. I think they should incorporate more activities (clubs) with the other colleges and universities in town.

    Great for these types of students

    Gear Heads

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has an automotive race team. We are The Racers HI_PRO students get to volunteer in the pits for professional race teams. Lima Land is our Race Track.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a lot of bang for your buck if you enroll in the School of Technologies. The Business College isn't a dud but not as big a bang as the Technology School.

    What to do for fun

    I help in the pit at NASCAR Races. They are now offering more sports teams.

    Food and Dining

    3 stars for the times I have eaten there. I did not purchase a meal plan, since I am a junior. The food service is being ran by a nice restaurant in Lima. The restaurant food is good quality, they carried over their standards.

    Dorm Life

    2 stars, from what I hear. The newer apartments are much nicer than my freshmen year. The university has purchased some area hotels.I chose to live off campus because they offer apartments and not dorms and you had to share with 5 people. The new apartments require less roommates. They just added a food service option this 2012 academic year, which is a real plus.

    Academic Rigor

    I gave it 3 stars because the technology side was easier for me. However, if you did not score high on the test Armed Services Vocational Battery you will find the technology classes a 5 star program. I scored high on the ASVAB test so my degree in Hi Performance Motor Sports was less challenging than I am finding the Business School. However, I had roommates who found the technology side to be extremely challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay close attention to time. They will quote you a shorter time for a college degree than a 2 year school, however that is usually for a certificate not an associates degree, the technology program is year around, and if you take in account the summer and winter breaks of other schools, it can actually be longer.

    In three sentences

    It is a school of choice for people who have technology skills and want to develop them and have their own business. They are the only University that I could find that had a school of technologies and a business college. They except the English, Business, Math, and Science classes that apply to your Associates Degree in a technology field toward your Bachelors Degree in the Business College.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    PREMEDS PREMEDS PREMEDS, and multitalented individuals

    What to do for fun

    GO TO CHICAGO! take advantage of the proximal el train and spend the night looking up at skyscrapers and soaking up the city-life!

    Food and Dining

    Overpriced, but decent. If you live on campus you must have an expensive meal plan, but overall there are a lot of good choices in the multiple dinning halls and on campus cafes.

    Dorm Life

    Northwestern has residential colleges which are awesome communities based on a central theme. There is a performing arts college, a science and engineering college, and you dont have to be in those specialties to be in one! They are great places to live and make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    No matter what your major, northwestern is competitive. Especially if your major is popular for premeds, regardless of if you are one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into the major you are interested in, and be SURE it is well supported at NU. Research is great! Get involved! If you are multi-talented, NU is the place for you! Most people in student groups aren't merely Bio majors for instance, they are most likely Bio majors who volunteer at an animal shelter and can play the saxophone in a jazz band.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern University is an overpriced institute. It caters to select majors and shuns others, if you are premed you are home here. Engineers have it best, and and well taken care of.

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is this place, where you stand in front of the X and face the short wall. When you talk you will hear yourself in a really weird way. Won't know until you try! :)

    What to do for fun

    GO OUT TO CHICAGO.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining options aren't that great.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm facilities are not the best, but I do think they can be very sociable.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not as bad as you might think

    Tips for prospective students

    Try out everything! Don't stay in your comfort zone, but explore new things. You will be surprised with the results.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern creates a very great environment to freely pursue what you want to do. As long as Northwestern offers a curriculum in the school, you will be able to manage your time at Northwestern to pursue what you really want to study.

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Lots of places to eat out

    Academic Rigor

    Called the ivy of the midwest

    In three sentences

    I've been to a summer camp here, the campus is gorgeous and the city atmosphere is very nice.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We're right by the el, so a lot of people go into Chicago to see plays, movies, or go shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is very good. There are a lot of different cafeterias and they all have a lot of options. There's even a ton of basic (but good) foods they serve all day everyday.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are amazing. They all have very different architecture and cultural styles and atmospheres. There are a lot of residentially colleges which give students a lot of opportunities to get involved in things they care about.

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard! The engineering school is difficult but manageable. If you got in, you can do it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Northwestern is HUGE on diversity. If you have anything you can play up, do it.

    In three sentences

    It's expensive, very dominated by greek life and definitely liberal. The engineering program is great, but avoid chemistry if you can. The dorms are very diverse and interesting.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get out while it's still warm--once winter hits the campus goes on lock down.

    Food and Dining

    MEH--not many good options compared to other schools.

    Dorm Life

    Hit or miss. Most dorms are outdated and need to be remodeled.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a group of friends that share your same interest and values. Many people are unhappy here because they find themselves in greek houses or friend groups that do not share their same values.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern is a challenging campus to live on, both academically and socially. As long as you come with an open mind, you will like it here. However, do not expect the quintessential college experience.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A lot of police around campus, yet there are still many reports of muggings.

    Greek Life

    Very exclusive and hierarchical. However, because of this system, your brothers and sisters really do become like family.

    Clubs and Activities

    People are very passionate about what they do. If you talk to any person in a student group, you're immediately inspired.

    Great for these types of students

    So long as you are okay with the humanities and liberal arts, you'll be fine with the workload. The liberal arts courses here are pretty amazing and not too challenging. However, if going into the hard sciences, be prepared for a lot of solitude.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many secret locations tucked in various nooks on campus. These are the true treasure of Northwestern. For instance, Deering Library, the Great Room and Shakespeare Garden are three of the best places on campus. Go explore, and you're sure to find something neat. The primal scream every finals weeks is also a great tradition. Everyone can let off some steam from finals.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aide offices are extremely helpful, but the aide itself is poor.

    What to do for fun

    Go into Chicago, and explore the great city that neighbors the campus. Also, plenty of beautiful scenic parks and beaches nearby are great escapes from campus.

    Food and Dining

    Many choices, but health isn't a main priority of the dining halls. There are some different options for meal plans, but all are overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    If you get lucky, there are a few amazing dorms on campus, but housing is on a lottery system.

    Academic Rigor

    The quarter system allows no time to relax and actually enjoy what you are learning. However, if you dislike a class, it'll be over in a shorter period of time versus the semester system. Everything is on a curve system so be prepared to be competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    The schoolwork is extremely challenging, and every day is competitive. With the quarter system, the workload never slows down. Make sure your prior experience adequately prepares you before coming here.

    In three sentences

    You are in a constant state of anxiety because of the strenuous workload. In addition, there is no sense of community. However, living so close to Chicago gives you the chance to explore such an amazing city.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 43 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The freshman Freeze is really helpful for incoming students so they can get settled before worrying about going greek.

    Great for these types of students

    Passionate, driven.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NU has a clock tower that glows purple after football victories!

    Bang for the buck

    They cover 100% need based aid which was vital for me.

    What to do for fun

    Of course, Chicago is a train ride away, but Evanston is lovely and has many options for food and fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is delicious. Last time I was on campus, I had amazing curry and ice cream for dessert! No complaints here.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are lovely and stable. A dining hall is never far away, and you're going to find amazing people in your suite or hallway.

    Academic Rigor

    The program I'm going for is ranked highly every year and offers a fantastic education and community.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern is a beautiful school with everything I've been looking for. Nationally recognized academics and a great student life aspect, NU is my dream school and I'm so happy to be attending in the fall.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    44 of 59

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Great opportunities for music students! Has one of the best music schools in the country :) Plus, the Midwest is excellent for the arts!

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe; there are a lot of safety programs such as safe ride.

    Greek Life

    Northwestern has extremely big greek life that is quite strongly supported by University itself. Even though academic is challenging, you can definitely join frat/sorority to spend excellent college life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Northwestern University has various academic and sports clubs that are extremely easy to get into. It is also one of the best way to meet other people.

    Great for these types of students

    Very hard working but also wants to have some fun.

    What to do for fun

    Party, social events, sports... etc.

    Food and Dining

    Northwestern University apparently is ranked as third in nation regarding dining hall foods. However, this is very doubtful; even though it provides various types of foods for students, it can get very old very quick.

    Dorm Life

    It really depends on what dorm you live in but generally, almost every dorm is very quite, clean and satisfying

    Academic Rigor

    Northwestern University's academic is definitely very challenging and time consuming. However, if you can manage your time well, the work load is definitely very reasonable and you can still have great college life experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to attend some of the classes to see if you like the classroom environments or not.

    In three sentences

    Overall, it is an excellent school that helps students to make life decision of their future career and also helps to develop enough skills to pursue their respective dreams. Even though school academics are sometimes very challenging, it is definitely manageable and you can still have an excellent college student experience while improving yourself as adult.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. We have SafeRide. Police at each dorm. Blue lights.

    Greek Life

    We have every org.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have TONS.

    Great for these types of students

    We have something for EVERYONE.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    DILLO DAY. You'll see when you get there.

    Bang for the buck

    NU is very prestigious and all the greats are aware of this.

    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends, go to the gym. NU is in downtown Evanston so there are plenty of things to do. There's a movie theatre and several restaurants. Plus, shuttles take you to downtown Chicago which is great.

    Food and Dining

    There are six dining halls and several cafes and stores. You won't be hungry.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are better than others. Get a single.

    Academic Rigor

    Very tough. It takes some getting used to, but it's possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely come. It's all that you make it and so much more.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern is GREAT!! TONS of RESOURCES and INSPIRING people!! Great financial aid as well.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    47 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus is a short trip away from Chicago and there is plenty to do around the school.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and located right by the lake. The students I met there were well informed and showed they loved attending nu. I definitely can see myself going there.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    48 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ambitious

    What to do for fun

    Explore Chicago, explore Evanston, paint the rock, hang out on Lake Michigan

    In three sentences

    I visited Northwestern recently and I absolutely loved it. The professors I met were challenging, campus life was exciting, and the campus itself was beautiful. It helps that they have two private beaches just for Northwestern students.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    49 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Looked like there was many different options, very clean

    Dorm Life

    Wasn't able to see a dorm while visiting

    Academic Rigor

    They have great statistics that prove they are a top of the line school.

    In three sentences

    The lakeside campus is absolutely gorgeous. The students are super friendly and intelligent. The location is awesome and convenient being that is right by Chicago!

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    50 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard.

    In three sentences

    It is excellent in its academic and research background. The faculty is impressive, smart, and friendly. The atmosphere is homey and inviting.

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Northwestern has taken steps to ensure student safety through things like the blue light phone system-- blue light phones set up within eyesight to contact the University Police in case of emergency, SafeRide-- a student driver system that gives rides to students within the city of Evanston from early evening to the early morning, even installing more lighting around high traffic areas on campus for students with classes and appointments on campus at night.

    What to do for fun

    Northwestern is right on the shore of Lake Michigan and a small drive from Chicago. Outdoor activities are a must, whether on the beach or in the city. Students at Northwestern can ride a free shuttle to downtown Chicago and visit the Art Institute, Millennium Park, Michigan Avenue, Navy Pier, or Shedd Aquarium.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining hall is pretty good and you have 5 dining halls to choose from. There are even places on campus open at night for a late night bite. But if you get tired of dining hall food Evanston is a great place to eat, from deep dish pizza, all-you-can-eat sushi, and Mediterranean classic to grilled cheese, burgers, ice-cream (and frozen yogurt), and tacos.

    Dorm Life

    There are many dorms on campus and they range from okay to awesome. Dorms like Allison and Elder are newer and popular with large rooms, and dorms like Hinman and Sargent are older but staples because of their dining halls.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load is pretty generous. The amount and complexity depends on your major. But some students enjoy their work whether it be reading, problems sets, creating something, filming and editing, or writing.

    In three sentences

    Northwestern is an amazing school from academics to location to Big Ten sports what more could a student want? It is a well rounded school for a well rounded student.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Chicago is only a 45 minute El ride away! Go explore.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have good study habits, classes here are hard!

    In three sentences

    I love the school and the education I am receiving.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I hang out with my friends and participate in on campus organizations.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus food options are hit or miss as well. There are also a lot of options off campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are great dorms on campus and there are not too good dorms on campus. You have to ask around to find what you are looking on based on size, cost, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    Northwestern has a very rigorous academic environment. One con is the quarter schedule that requires students to learn very quickly. The pro is that you get to learn more material and just don't go into much depth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research. Find out what you're interested in before you arrive so you can better navigate all that the university has to offer.

    In three sentences

    It is a small to medium sized university. There are a lot of opportunities to get involved. Your experience here at Northwestern is what you make of it.

  • 11/30/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    54 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    BEACH!

    Food and Dining

    Great college town, not far from Chicago there is always something new to try!

    Dorm Life

    I never experienced it but I've heard great things!

    Academic Rigor

    Extremely challenging and prestigious!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus before you apply!

    In three sentences

    LOVE the campus. It combines the prestige and atmosphere I've been looking for. I am from the Chicago suburbs and this is the ideal location.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Ivy league of extra-cirriculars

    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The rock! and the lake fill which has a beautiful view of lake Michigan and the city.

    Bang for the buck

    Its an awesome school. I'd say it's great because the school gave me a ton of financial aid. They are a 100% financial need guarantee school.

    What to do for fun

    Northwestern has so much to do. You can either spend your night at a show, concert or some student run event, or you can go into evanston or chiago and do a bunch more. There's bars and clubs and obviously the college parties. But what matters most is if you have a good group to have fun with.

    Food and Dining

    Food is way better than most colleges. The dinning halls vary, some are larger and have more variety while I think south campus food is better. Also if you don't feel like eating dinning hall food there are so many food places in evanston. and they deliver for those up in north campus.

    Dorm Life

    Depends specifically where you live. Most dorms with freshman are super friendly and fun. Some people will say North campus is where the parties are at and the engineers. While south is the theater kids and everyone doesn't talk. It's really not like that. I wanted bobb or somewhere north but i got stuck in SMQ, it's not that bad though. Our room is pretty big and we have downtown evanston and the el right at our fingertips.

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty tough. At times I think I could be going to some state school and just be chilling. Its more about learning to manage your time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like the school visit it. If you can see yourself there apply. Don't be so worried about grades and scores. It's just one aspect of the process. NU prides itself on diversity and the people here have so many interesting backgrounds.

    In three sentences

    Great school overall. Challenging yet super fun. Social life is awesome, very mature atmosphere and teachers are really willing to help.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe but still be aware/cautious.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports clubs, art clubs, academic clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Driven, hardworking, but also those who enjoy a fun, spirited environment.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Northwestern is very expensive, I personally have already practically got my money back with the great career opportunities that come with being a Northwestern student. Definitely expensive at first, but worth the long term investment.

    What to do for fun

    Northwestern is by the beach and a train ride from Downtown Chicago, so there is a lot of activities in that alone. There are also great local shops and restaurants to check out.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is good, and there are many restaurants surrounding campus.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms, but I've heard good things about them.

    Academic Rigor

    It's tough for sure, a lot of work but teachers always willing to help. Just don't behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you would like to attend Northwestern, make it very clear to them how interested you are, and how much you would truly like to be a Wildcat!

    In three sentences

    I am very fond of Northwestern University. The school constantly hold programs, meetings and workshops to excel the success of their students in the real world and the very knowledgeable teaches care for every individual student. They make themselves available whenever a student needs it, and help as much as they can.

  • 03/11/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    57 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Don't really know but I think it should be a 5-star..

    Tips for prospective students

    Work your hardest and try to have an amazing college application.

    In three sentences

    Everything about this school so far looks and sounds amazing. From the academics, music program, food, atmosphere, I can't wait to visit this school!

  • 03/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who are academically-driven and okay to not go to a party school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Primal Scream- the night before finals week, everyone goes outside and screams at the top of their lungs! Such a great de-stresser

    Bang for the buck

    A bit pricey, hence this review for a scholarship! :)

    What to do for fun

    Go into Evanston, workout, see plays... never a boring night.

    Food and Dining

    Food is amazing. International chefs come once a month and all food in made fresh!

    Dorm Life

    Res college life. That is all

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard but rewarding, and there is slight grade inflation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Write a personal essay! I've seen some essays from prospies, and often, they don't talk about why they fit into the NU community.

    In three sentences

    NU is an amazing, academically-challenging school.

  • 05/04/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    59 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    When I visited, I was told there are 6 dining halls and the one I ate lunch in had a lot of variety. The food was good and seemed relatively inexpensive.

    Dorm Life

    I was not able to see a dorm, but I have heard that everyone loves their dorms. However, I also heard that the dorms are small and aren't spectacular.

    Academic Rigor

    NU is rated by US News to be the #12 school in the country and its academics appeared to show that. The courses seemed challenging and varied and the quarter system allows you to explore all of your interests. It seems great!

    In three sentences

    Northwestern had everything I was looking for in a college: world-class academics, college pride, a large open campus, and great location near an awesome city. One of my problems in high school is that there aren't enough periods and not enough time to take all of the classes in which I am interested, so NU's quarter system seems perfect for me. I hope I am accepted and would love to be a Wildcat!