Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Northwood University-Michigan Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student who wants to go into business, this is the perfect school!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go in ready to slack. The upside to Northwood is that the class sizes are small so it's not a huge change from high school and that was nice. Another plus is that you first term you start classes that specific to YOUR major, no doing classes that are useless, you get right into it. All of the teachers at the school are ready to help the students and some even give out cell phone numbers so that you can reach them away from the office. They aren't there to see you you fail they truly want to see us all succeed. Also, most the teachers are not only teachers but business professionals who have worked in the field that they are teaching in.

  • 07/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work hard and be dedicated to your classes. Freshmen year can be a terrific year, but if you do not work hard and stay on top off your project then things will come crumbling down. A plus side, if you do slip up and get off your job, there is a terrific support system to help you back up.

  • 08/25/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For any Business Major like Management, finance, banking, accounting, they have good programs for sports and fashion to

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you either take classes at a Community college for your reading and math or have at least a 20 on your ACT because they would try to put you in classes that dont count as credit and you can always test out of classes to. also make sure you have plenty of scholorships

    Bang for the buck

    you will be getting your money worth

    Did enjoy being here

    The food was great, lots of acvtivities and lots of groups and clubs to join

    Did learn a lot

    This was a great experience

  • 06/23/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Open minded, willing to learn, and want the best for their life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the right thing and take your learning seriously. I saw how some students were simply trying to do the least and get out. Remember, knowledge is power, so get the most power you can. Be open minded about what you will be asked to do, they are only asking you so that they can help in your success.

    Bang for the buck

    I wish I could afford their Grad School program or that they had more scholarships available.

    Did enjoy being here

    I really enjoyed every aspect of it. Most instructors were very serious about helping you to attain the knowledge and were truly concerned with your progress. The admin staff are very helpful and friendly. I appreciate every one of them.

    Did learn a lot

    I applied myself and took everything seriously, so I got a lot out of it.

  • 12/02/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are willing to hunker down and study. The students here are very private even with their friends and it is hard to get to know anyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy/rent you books online because their prices are ridiculous.

    Bang for the buck

    The faculty are extremely nice and willing to work with you. The buildings are all kept clean and maintained. It was definitely nice that the dorms, cafeteria, and computer lab were all in the same building and you didn't have to go out in the snow.

    Did enjoy being here

    I was only here for a semester. I had issues with my roommates (the first one ditched me and the second one wouldn't talk to me) and it was very difficult to make friends.

    Did learn a lot

    The classes are amazing and the teachers know what they are talking about. When I had a question they would answer it and the class sizes are small so the teachers get to know you.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    you are in a nice small campus where you will never want to leave, except for the weekends.

    Bang for the buck

    i go big for mock trial and the automotive program.

    What to do for fun

    joining groups and interacting with other future business leaders.

    Food and Dining

    college food is never that great, but northwood does have its good days.

    Dorm Life

    it's fun with the people you meet.

    Academic Rigor

    it is handled well with the time you will have on your hands. there is no crazy schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    simply put, take a tour of northwood university and read the beginning of the book,when we are free, and you will want to transfer here or start here.

    In three sentences

    northwood is undeniably the best business school in the world. with the northwod idea, this school surpasses nearly all other mba programs out there, pushing students to gain a northwood mba quicker.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Joke! we have mall cops that don't do much but we like them that way.

    Greek Life

    Wouldn't know.

    Clubs and Activities

    Business clubs, Fraternities, Sororities, sports, other clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Business, smart, driven, slightly conservative.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Mid-caf is a small food stop its pretty nice.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expense here and it keeps going up but you can get your money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    Good question, there are sporting events some times and lots of clubs to join. Some weekends are dull tho.

    Food and Dining

    It's okay, once you get used to it. Just know you will have to visit the gym.

    Dorm Life

    You get sick all at the same time and news travels like wild fire but it's a really convenient location.

    Academic Rigor

    Northwood isn't too hard if you do what you have to, and as soon as it is assigned.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't look at just one college, look at a few. Make sure that you are happy with where you are and with your friends.

    In three sentences

    Like a private island in the middle of Midland, it's almost like a big high school. But you can honestly do anything with a few students and a teacher to back you up.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Fresh out of high school and working adults. For the fresh out of high school student, you can go full time at the campus and for the first time starting this summer you can go to the adult ed in the evening to cut down on how many years you have to attend.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not been to the actual campus as of yet.

    Bang for the buck

    I have been managing for years and still am suprized at what I learn in each and every class. This collage is well worth the tuition.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to go to collage for business management Northwood U. is the place to go. If possible take the in class classes rather than the online classes. You get more out of the class when you can interact face to face.

    In three sentences

    For an adult learning setting, this collage is great. The instructors are good at what they do. I am in my 7th and 8th classed and all of the instructors so far have tried to make the learning experience as enjoyable as possible.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Northwood has its own security force that is stationed in the middle of the dorms and is available 24/7 to help find lost items, or even walk you to your car in the middle of the night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Northwood has so many different clubs and activities to get involved in, it is hard to list them all. Be sure to check their website for a complete list!

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking dedicated students that want to get a quality education in the business world as well as have a lot of fun and grow a wide network.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Midland campus of Northwood is home to the annual auto show in the fall, which is completely student run and is the largest outdoor auto show in the United States. There is also an annual mud volleyball tournament that raises money for a charity of the Circle K's choosing. Northwood students and clubs hold an annual Christmas party for kids of Salvation Army families, as well as compete in the wheelchair basketball tournament in the Spring. The unusual tradition of Northwood would be the Rock that gets spray painted by every group on campus for every event. It changes at least once a week and is in the middle of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    While the tuition is higher than most schools, especially public schools, Northwood really does a fantastic job of making sure that you get the most out of your education, and everyone is willing to help along the way to make sure that every student succeeds.

    What to do for fun

    On the Midland Michigan campus, there are always things to do from sporting events, to volunteering, to fundraisers, mixers, greek week, mud volleyball, etc. The campus in Midland is close to the mall as well as many restaurants. There is also an organic market right across the street for those who have other dietary needs than the cafeteria might supply. The mall has stores like Target, JC Penny, Barnes and Noble with a Starbucks in it. There is a Meijer and a Walmart, as well as Pier 1, Michaels, Marshalls, Kohls, Best Buy, and a Bed Bath & Beyond. Downtown Midland is also very close, which always has something going on, especially in the spring and the Fall, including a Farmers Market by the River. The skate park is within 5 minutes, and the Midland nature trail runs through the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Northwood has three cafeterias on campus. The main cafeteria is connected to both the boys and the girls dorms and contains things such as a pasta bar, a salad bar, burgers, sandwiches, soups, and many other options. There is also a mid-cafe about halfway between the dorms and the gym/fitness building that has a grill as well as pre-prepared salads, fruit and vegetable cups, drinks, smoothies, coffee, and quick food bars and fruit to take as you are running to class. The last place is the Wold Den next to the gym and makes Starbucks drinks as well as having energy bars, fruits, smoothies, and other such things.

    Dorm Life

    Though I do not live in the dorms, a lot of my friends do. There are always activities to do and quiet places to study. The campus is a smaller size than most colleges, which makes it easier to get around from building to building in the winter months. There is a lot of freedom when living in the dorms, and they are a good size to decorate and put all of your things that you might need. If there are roommate problems, Northwood is very good at fixing them and moving people around if there is a need for it.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty do a really good job of keeping students engaged and involved in the classroom, which allows the students to grasp the material very well. The professors are chosen as experts in the fields that they are teaching, which makes them take their job very seriously. They teach their students to be what they would look for if they were going to hire us in the future. All of the professors are also on one-year contracts, and the students rate their experience in the classroom after each semester. If the students don't feel they learned enough from that teacher, Northwood will find a new one for that class material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in any club or group that may interest you. Networking is very important at Northwood, so be prepared to meet a ton of new people and have fun at every event. There is a lot of volunteer and charity groups that get organized throughout the year and are always fun to do. Also, don't be shy. Getting into arguments in classrooms and working with groups to study for tests is part of the experience and something that Northwood encourages to improve your knowledge.

    In three sentences

    Northwood Universtiy and their staff are intent on helping their students succeed. Tutoring, working in groups, and class discussions are always welcome and encouraged in any classroom. There is a club for every major that helps students network as well as meet future prospective employers.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe and all sidewalks are lit up at night along with emergency towers located closely. Campus security is on duty 24/7 and are very nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous organizations that take part on campus where almost every student is involved in at least more than one.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Northwood University International Auto Show is the largest outdoor auto show and is so much fun to be a part of. It is a great experience where automotive students are able to make connections. The Northwood University Style Show is also amazingly fun. For fashion students, they are able to design clothes and put together outfits and participating in directing an actual runway show.

    What to do for fun

    Midland is a very modern and beautiful town that has a mall and many restaraunts in the town. It is only 30 minutes from Mt. Pleasant, where there is a casino and many more college students. Located only a few miles from campus is the tridge where there is a park and a disc golf course.

    Food and Dining

    Northwood has a contract with Sodexho, and food is very overpriced and not worth it.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not that bad and are quiet during the late hours so it is easy to study in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major and if the classes are honors or not, the academic rigor differs. Majors that are tougher have tougher classes that will take a lot of studying for, but it is worth it. Honors classes are very enjoyable and consist of much more discussion, as oppose to non honors courses where there is more review as opposed to learning new things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with anything and as many things on campus as you can. There are many organizations and you will make amazing friends of all ages through the organizations.

    In three sentences

    Even though it is small and some students don't prefer it, I find it to be better than any other large college out there that I have visited and heard reviews from. The class sizes are small so students are able to get to know professors on a personal level and professors are very helpful with job searches. Since this college is strictly business, the college is very focused on networking which enables graduates to be set with their career shortly after graduating.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    On welcome weekend you are bombarded with tons of clubs. If you want to, you can find something that fits you. Theres humanitarian clubs, greek life, intramural sports, and tons of business related clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    Okay, this is an opinion coming from a girl who's best friend is going to a college which costs $55,000 per year. By comparison, Northwood is cheap (coming in at about $30,000). The professors are accessible and care about how well you are doing. Someone on campus is always willing to help you out if you need it. And coming out with a great business education and contacts in the world, that to me is worth it. (I also receive a hefty scholarship and grant and have Federal aid, they are good about scholarships etc.)

    What to do for fun

    Northwood is literally in the middle of the woods. You have to drive a few miles to get anywhere. Theres a mall, not very exciting but oh well. There is a movie theater, a lot of restaurants, bowling and mini golf. About twenty minutes away is CMU, they have clubs and parties. Which is good, since Northwood is small, parties tend to be pretty lame.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is alright. There are good days and really bad days. And they try to mix it up so you don't get bored. But there was a certain point where I was eating just a salad every day because everything else looked so gross. They almost always have pizza, the salad bar, and some sort of burger and fries. The other dining facilities tend to be really greasy, but its good when you need a change.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, not spectacular though. You live in a suite, four people share a bathroom. The rooms are relatively small. But the layout is nice. It's kind of weird to have guys in one building girls in the other, but it's connected and people roam the halls at all hours without any problems. Also, housing is pretty helpful if you have a roommate problem.

    Academic Rigor

    I have always been a high performing student. I could have gone to a much more challenging school. So with that in mind, for me, classes so far have been very easy. I made it through an entire year only writing 3 papers, while my best friend had to write about 3 papers a week at Bentley University. However, certain professors and certain honors level classes can be more difficult. I personally like to be challenged, so I don't get lazy. And I wish I had felt more of a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    My number one tip is to know what is most important to you about your school. It was important for me to have small class sizes, which means your professors learn your name. However, with only 2000 students, there is a very limited social life. So, you have to chose here.

    In three sentences

    Northwood is a small private business university that teaches students how to take their classroom learned skills into the real world. The university offers a lot of hands on learning and stresses the importance of getting experience. The professors get to know you and enjoy taking part in your success.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus feels really safe, they have camera just about everywhere inside and the security guards pay attention to any kind of shady activity. They also won't let you in without your id, licence plate and vehicle description (in some cases) after about 9 pm.

    Greek Life

    To my knowledge their are three sororities and three fraternities on campus. All six of them make sure to be involved in charitable activities and really get students involved in school spirit.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone. For the freshman they have emerging leaders, there's a music society, a TOMS shoes group, and a student alumni-network.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for foreign students (there's about 600 on campus right now). It's also really good for conservative people and Christians. Religious values are a part of Northwood's foundation, so they play a large role in the some of the classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a wolf statue in front of the gym. It's creepy, but really cool. Also they have a mud volleyball game every fall. And the first weekend of October, Northwood hosts a big outdoor auto show, with all kinds of car companies.

    Bang for the buck

    Price-wise, it's expensive, but the name is really well known in the business world and they definitely help you to find a job if you need the help.

    What to do for fun

    There's the mall, a cinema, the Tridge (it's a park) and sometimes it's fun to walk around.They also have a gym open to all students and a trail that you can run down (it's gorgeous in spring).

    Food and Dining

    The kitchen staff are so nice, and the food is really good. Sometimes it all starts to taste the same, but other than that it's great. The chef also asks for student input at a biweekly meeting and works to in-cooperate those ideas.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice, they're a good size, but the mattress aren't so great, so bring a mattress pad. However, Northwood gives you free cable to take advantage of that. It does get boring sometimes, but the mall and movies are about five minutes away.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes I didn't find too challenging, however studying is important, particularly for the harder classes like economics. There's tutoring available, so be sure to take advantage of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely be prepared to study. Also bring some business appropriate clothes, some teachers require you to wear them on occasion. Be prepared to network, so don't be shy when it comes to talking to people.

    In three sentences

    Northwood is a small campus, with beautiful trees and great classes. The teachers are so nice and so is everyone else on staff. The students organize great events and really make you feel at home.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great teachers and enviroment. Worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Right by a fabulous mall. Lots to keep you busy.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of local restaurants.

    Academic Rigor

    Keeps you on your toes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep this on your list of possible colleges. They are amazing. I have throughly loved my education here.

    In three sentences

    This college is amazing. They have teachers that are current and involved in the business world. Great college!

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are currently 3 sororities and 5 fraternities on campus

    What to do for fun

    There really isn't much to do for fun if you aren't creative, but shenanigans are common ways to stay entertained!

    Tips for prospective students

    Read the books.

    In three sentences

    Northwood is a friendly environment that is focused on helping you succeed in the business world. You meet many great connections and make many great friends. Also, the accelerated program is a blessing.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    The have many different dorms, but look into the suites that are offered there's enough for anyone that really likes the suite-style dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply ahead of time it will help with planning out tuition cost, fees, room & board and much more.

    In three sentences

    I am planning to attend Northwood as a second choice for college. It's located in a peaceful area and has great business opportunities.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great school, great instructors, great staff

    Food and Dining

    I did not attend the main campus. I am sure it is great though.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are well balanced, and if you study, you will do great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the most of working with groups. Prior to transferring to Northwood I did not enjoy group projects. This is something that is a big focus at Northwood. It actually was helpful, because in most careers you have to work in teams, with a wide variety of people.

    In three sentences

    I love attending Northwood University. The classes provide real-world applications. The things I have learned thus far, have already proven to be useful in my current position.

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is no place safer than midland, mi.

    Greek Life

    Im not apart of greek life but im sure it is fun for people that are into that.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of things to do if you get out and do them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive because it is a private school but you can get a lot of money for grades from high school.

    What to do for fun

    Play sports, go greek, go to parties, go to the Hach where there are basketball courts and workout areas.

    Food and Dining

    If I was just rating the cafe it would be a 1 but the midcafe is 3 so that is why I am giving it a 2 star.

    Dorm Life

    There are about 2000 people at the school and most of them play sports. living in the dorms is convenient but not the most fun thing to do.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what class you are taking but so far through my freshman and sophomore year its been pretty easy going. Except for intermediate accounting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends as a freshman and join some kind of team or get into greek life it will make your stay much better. Don't take 8am classes, they are always terrible to get up for.

    In three sentences

    Northwood is a very laid back school, its a private school that you can get anywhere in 5 minutes. One of the best business schools around and it dives right into what you want to study. Not the most exciting school if that's what you are looking for.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well I'm currently on the Track and Field team at Northwood. But other fun things is joining different organizations and getting involved with campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    The campus dining have its ups and downs. But the Mid Café and Wolf Den are the best spot to eat at on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I only was in the dorms for an semester, but when I was in there I had a really nice roommate and sweet mates. I still friends with them till this day.

    Academic Rigor

    You should push yourself beyond measure. You might face some challenges but you will over some all of them if you stay focus on what you need to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    You really need to have great time-management and choose your friends right. College is not like high school, it on another level then high school. the reason you need time-management because your school work will pile up.

    In three sentences

    I would say that Northwood is an excellent school to attend. If you strictly want to go into an business field Northwood is the right choice for you. Northwood is not like any other colleges either, as an freshman you go straight into your major class, instead of taking worthless class that you will never use.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Probably my fault though! Didn't have a plan!

    Food and Dining

    Excellent choices.

    Academic Rigor

    AWESOME ACADEMICS!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be certain of your major! (That's kind of general though...) Had I planned to be a business guru this would have been the perfect college!!!!!!!!! They are the best at what they do! However, I was unsure of my major or what I wanted to be when I grew, thus racking up tons of debt and an Associate's degree. Honestly, I didn't learn anything useful that I did not already know from work experience. So - point is - if you want to be a business major and you want to be hugely successful - GO TO NORTHWOOD! If you just want a business degree to back you up working at a local bank branch - go to Delta and do the 3-in-one program! Save some cash!

    In three sentences

    Very well educated instructors. Beautiful campus. Very expensive.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always sports activities and fraternity and sorority functions both in and around campus. Town has many venues to eat. There's also two major colleges within 30 minutes of it so it's easy to find things to do.

    Food and Dining

    There are always many options to choose from when it comes to meals. Breakfast is the best meal at the cafeteria. Not home-cooking though

    Dorm Life

    Always something going on. Don't have to go out in the cold to get food because the cafeteria is connected to the dorms. Also a very secure area to be in.

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely a challenging school. Focuses on teaching business techniques and practices to prepare you for the business world. Not impossible though if you put in the work

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy the experience. It's not the biggest school but there are many opportunities and activities for you both on and off campus to have fun. It all depends on what you make of it.

    In three sentences

    It's a small school with a unique family atmosphere. A Business only school that encourages free market techniques and the growth of the economy. If you're interested in business, it is a great place to be.