Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northwood University-Texas Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adult Degree Program

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare for an awesome experience!

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security on campus work very hard to make for sure that the campus is very safe. it is five star rating.

    Great for these types of students

    Northwood has an excellent degree program for traditional students and adult student program also.

    What to do for fun

    Laugh every chance you get to in class.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent .It is a five star rating.

    Academic Rigor

    .The school has an five star rating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and do all of your assignments in a timely manner.

    In three sentences

    Northwood University is an excellent school for business majors. The school offers a wide variety of business degrees including international business majors. They offer an excellent master's degree program for business majors.

  • 09/07/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is worth the money

    Will enjoy being here

    I dont believe that i would enjoy my time here because it is so far away.

    Will learn a lot

    I believe that i could learn alot of valueable information if i went to this school

  • 05/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who wants to be in the business world, but also like to have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will enjoy if you love a small and peaceful environment with professors that cares,

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive college, but I think it is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Living on campus is really fun and everyone is nice and friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    Learning environment is very relaxing because the classrooms are small so it is easy to interact withe the professors.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    it's college food.

    Dorm Life

    everything you need.

    Academic Rigor

    you'll be tested.

    Tips for prospective students

    open your mind to a higher level of reach.

    In three sentences

    wonderful college for business degree students that want a low key environment with a high level of leadership development opportunities. there are a wide range of activities to explore. great small campus setting.

  • 04/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus security guards on campus at all times. At night, people can not enter the school without speaking to the guards in the front of the campus.

    Greek Life

    There is two sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    For clubs there is DECA, SGA, and many more. Also, there is two sororities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking to manage/market/own a business, this is the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The locations that are most used at Northwood is in the Knights Lounge. There is many seats and people like to hang out there in-between classes.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus at Northwood looks like an summer camp. The campus is absolutely gorgeous.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I play softball.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten on campus because I live in a apartment.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms but from what I hear students really like them. Also, a new dorm was just built this year.

    Academic Rigor

    Northwood professors are absolutely amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Northwood does not have all the sports most colleges have.

    In three sentences

    Northwood has great professors who care about you as an individual. Northwood has small classes so the professors can help you one on one. Northwood is considered an 7 out of 10 in my book.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are sporting events to attended as well as events put on by different clubs. Its right in between dallas and fort worth and close to arlington, so there are many things to do.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms but friends say they really like the enviornment.

    In three sentences

    Northwood is a great place to be if you are serious about a career in marketing, management or accounting. There is so much networking that if you are serious about a profession, some one from this school possesses connections for you to get your foot in the door. Its a well kept secret and has a very scenic environment that is very serene.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Northwood NOW! feature sends alerts for all types of things! Bad weather, safety issues, you name it, they alert you and your parents with a text or email!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot... even volunteer programs!

    Great for these types of students

    Quiet, outgoing business majors! The school is small and the people are friendly!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The WHOLE SCHOOL.

    Bang for the buck

    I am paying literally $475 for a $30,000 education with all my grants and scholarships so far. The school is totally worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Soccer, baseball, golf, you name it!

    Food and Dining

    I've only eaten there twice, but the food was good, and the dining hall is cute!

    Dorm Life

    Cute dorms! Whether you want a big, co-ed dorm with small-ish rooms, Little cabin-esque dorms with big rooms, or a room all to yourself, they've got you covered!

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started classes yet, but from what I've heard the rigor is pretty high. They teach you what you need to know, and they do it well! You are getting taught not only by professors, but by people who have actually worked in the field!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you plan to major in business. You'll fall in love with the campus and staff. I am so excited to go here!

    In three sentences

    Northwood is a beautiful, small, hilly campus. They are a renown business school. It feels like a summer camp!

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    NU is located in Cedar Hill, TX which is about 15 miles south of Downtown Dallas. NU is within near distance to several cities that provide plenty of things to do. Cedar Hill has a fairly new outdoor shopping mall, several restaurants/fast food places, movie theater, and plenty of places to purchase any daily living necessities.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining are average. The staff that work in the cafe are very friendly.

    Dorm Life

    As previously stated, the campus is a quiet campus although a good percentage of students reside on campus. Most of the dorms are older.

    Academic Rigor

    Most professors try to incorporate fun yet challenging projects throughout the year. It is not impossible to receive a high GPA, however, you will have to work for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for every professor to know you by name personally as NU has a small student to teacher ratio. Most of the professors are passionate about their profession so be prepared for that as well.

    In three sentences

    Northwood is an excellent business university that helps its students prepare for a business career while opening up doors to other fields as well. Although it is a small and quiet campus, NU tries to provide its students with several activities throughout the academic year. To top it off, NU has an extraordinary collegiate baseball program.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is completely gated with security always on duty. Every building that residents stay at have id key codes before you get in the building, key codes for your hallway, and key code for your room. There are also ids that must be put on your car to say whether or not you can even come on this private campus.

    Greek Life

    Everyone loves fraternities and sororities and luckily we have many different ones! My personal sisterhood Zeta Phi is incredible! There is also KatyKi, BDZ, FTD and so many more! It's a great way to get involved in the community and show leadership! It also looks really good on your resume

    Clubs and Activities

    Northwood takes its clubs very seriously because we love to go to nationals! We are active members in CAB, DECA, SGA, different sororities and fraternities, and so much more! There are groups for different religions as well that may interest some people. There are plenty of different excel programs and credits through all of the groups on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that is in any sport! This school is an excellent way to proceed your sports while getting an incredible degree! Also for people that plan to own their own business, manage their own business, market fir a business, work with accounting, or even work overseas! There's even sport marketing! Anything business or entrepreneurial is this school's specialty!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We having crossing over where you go from being a squire to a knight. All of the graduates throughout all of the years attend, including everyone in the school! There's also Mr. University where the school gets together and dress up girls and boys for representation of the Northwood Knights. It's so much fun and very humorous! There are hundreds more so come on and get here so you can experience everything for yourself!

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a private school which makes it a bit expensive, but there are HUGE benefits! It's a gated community with available personnel whenever you need them! The campus is always kept in beautiful condition with hundreds of events throughout the year to attend on and off campus! It's truly an amazing experience going to this school!

    What to do for fun

    The amount of things to do is limitless! There are a huge variety of parties on campus where the whole student body gets together and plays in foam, bounce-houses, paint, different sport, and everything in between! It's very nature oriented on campus but you can go one mile down the street to the city where there is the ever so popular Uptown Village Shopping Mall and other amazing shopping and food places.

    Food and Dining

    The food is Sudexo food company and they are delicious! You have a completely open salad bar and are welcome to any food that you can get your hands on. If you are on a diet it is good for you that they have a portion control program and a selection of healthier foods. The tables you sit at are really gorgeous and classy looking as well!

    Dorm Life

    The people on campus are amazing and encouraging to each other! The buildings are repainted every year and very clean! The best part is that there are no clicks, you are all friends. There are many new buildings and some old, but all are very decent in quality!

    Academic Rigor

    The reason this school is so rigorous is because it reassures that you are getting the full potential for the amount of money that you are spending. It's not that you have a lot of work (in fact you barely have any work), it's that you have to read before class to prepare for lecture. If i can do it, you can do it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Join as many clubs as you can and talk personally with as many school officials as possible. You never know what the person you are talking to has up their sleeve. A lot of people at this school have connections to help you get a good job and scholarship. Being that this school is pricey you will definitely want scholarships!

    In three sentences

    In the most simple way, this school is perfect for students looking for SUCCESS! All of the teachers do not expect you to listen to a small lecture and do an overload of school work, but instead they spend time lecturing and relating to problems that we go through on a daily basis. They help us to understand how to shape our future to our full potential using problems all around the world in examples to show us an experienced perspective to consider.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Northwood is a gated campus guarded by security. The gates close every night in the late evening where a student has to provide student ID to get in or a visitor has to sign and give license plate number to enter the campus

    Greek Life

    Since Northwood is so small, the Greek life is not big at the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Northwood is an NAIA school, so the majority of students are athletes. There are a few clubs outside of athletics that students can be a part of and also earn scholarships from.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a stocked pond on campus where students are allowed to catch and release. There also is trails that go through the woods on campus where any student is allowed to walk for entertainment, or run for exercise.

    Bang for the buck

    Northwood gives plenty of money in scholarships per year. It is a private university so tuition, room and board is fairly steep, but it about evens out to a state school with the scholarships given.

    What to do for fun

    Northwood is about twenty minutes from downtown Dallas. There is plenty to do as a college student in Dallas and Northwood is also only about thirty minutes from downtown Fort Worth, another good college area since Texas Christian University is in Fort Worth.

    Food and Dining

    The food varies in the one dining hall. The majority of the time, the quality of food is not something I would choose over fast food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very large and each room has its own bathroom. Two can comfortably live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are not as challenging as they should be. Some professors make it too easy for grades to be made. All around good school, education and business preparation

    Tips for prospective students

    If a student is looking for a small school with good interaction with professors, Northwood is a good choice. The professors and staff enjoy seeing their students succeed.

    In three sentences

    Northwood has great teacher/student relations. The university wants to see students graduate and succeed in their future careers. It is a great small school.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe in the campus. There are security guards all the time on campus. As well, as that they patrol and check anything that are out of place or suspicious. There are also blue poles with telephone lines, that will dial emergency numbers, as well as a button that you can press that will sound off the entire school, in order to alarm others that there is trouble on campus. The security guards are also very friendly as well.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, Northwood University - Cedar Hill, does not provide a Greek Life for their students to enjoy.

    Clubs and Activities

    Northwood University is a great school, however, I believe that there is a lack of choices when it comes to clubs and activities. We have several sports team and business clubs that does well. However, I believe that Northwood University could create more clubs and activities for their students to enjoy.

    Great for these types of students

    Northwood University is great for business-minded students, who enjoys a small class-size and a more interactive class sessions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Northwood University - Cedar Hill Campus is located inside the forest, right next to the Cedar Hill State Park and Joe Pool Lake. The location is very unique. There are also several traditions that only Northwood University (Cedar Hill location) does. One of these is the Crossover ceremony, where you are knighted into Northwood University. This is unique because our school mascot is the Knights. Another unique tradition is the Haunted Forest, hosted on Halloween. This is unique only to Cedar Hill Northwood because our location is very unusual for a college.

    Bang for the buck

    Northwood University, as a private school, really helps their students to pay for their tuition. The tuition also is a very reasonable price compared to other colleges. Northwood University offers numerous networking opportunities, as well as several other opportunities that will enhance your chances when you graduate. All of this is of course on top of the well-taught academics and the professors that really care about you and your education. I believe that Northwood is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    There are several activities organized in the school that mostly residents take advantage of, although residents are fully welcome to participate as well. One of the more famous activities in the school are movie nights. There are also themed activities, usually to line up with the holidays. The events seem like a lot of fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food does offer much choices, however, I always look forward to eating at the dining hall. The food is really good and they always make sure to prepare a well-balanced meal, in order to keep their students healthy.

    Dorm Life

    I am currently a commuter, but the dorms looked really nice when I visited the campus before I started school.

    Academic Rigor

    Northwood University provides challenging academics. The reason for the four stars, is probably for the lack of extra activities on campus, due to its small size. Northwood University, however, does provide several opportunities for you to personally enhance your studies, which individually will increase your own academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest that if applying to this school, that you have a great interest in business, and love the idea of a small school, with a small-sized classroom. The location is very great and relaxing and Northwood University provides you with a lot of opportunities, that will enhance your skills and talents.

    In three sentences

    Northwood University is a great business school. The professors care a lot about their students. You also have great access to several networking events.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. Security works very hard to make sure that campus and students are very safe. 5 stars.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs/Sports

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus is very beautiful..surrounded by hills. Environment is serene.

    Bang for the buck

    Great Education for the buck

    What to do for fun

    The campus has lots of daily activities. Also mall is very close...short driving distance from campus.

    Food and Dining

    Because I live on campus I can tell u personally that the food in the dinning hall is really good and nutritious. As an athletic we need good meals before and after practice. There's different meals everyday. There's more than one dinning place to eat if u wish to have fastfood... Rating for food/dinning is 5 stars.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great at Northwood. All dorms rooms are nice and huge within walking distance. Everyone interacts with others dorm students. I currently live on campus and I would not have it any other way. There's plenty to do after classes and into the night on and off campus. All dorms are closely located to one another. The Cove are the newest among all the campus dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great Professors. (no student teacher) all professors holds a degree. Small classes which provides a great learning environment for each student. Easy to interact with professors and because of student/teacher ratio, students have the opportunity to learn more. The university gets you ready for the real world after graduation. Great business program and majors at Northwood University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend classes and complete homework.

    In three sentences

    Their objective is to help student exceed in school and provide an easy learning environment with great professors. This campus is beautiful and the area its in has everything you need within short driving distance. Northwood is a private Business University with plenty of activities to keep you busy while earning a great Business Degree/education.