Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Notre Dame de Namur University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/16/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are the type of person that likes or is looking for a simple, small, spacious, and surrounded by nature campus, then NDNU is the school to apply to. If you want one-on-one help and want to be noticed as a student, then you should consider NDNU.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest contacting the counselor and meeting with them so they can know who you are and what your goals are. I also suggest taking a tour. It's beautiful.

    Bang for the buck

    NDNU offers tons of scholarships. I actually mailed in my leadership and community service scholarship to the dean of student services department today. Hopefully they will consider my letter and resume that I submitted. They are also offering a good music scholarship, which i am also working on and soon will submit them to the dean of music.

    Will enjoy being here

    I like that NDNU is small because I will have that opportunity to know the professor and get help from them.

    Will learn a lot

    I enjoyed my stay in Belmont in July, and am looking forward to going to their holiday concert in December. The campus is small and the people are so welcoming, The counselor, Julie, is so humble and helpful. They offer an amazing tutoring program and the staff is unbelievably awesome! You can talk to them easily without feeling nervous.

  • 05/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes and those who come out of high school with good GPAs. We have men's lacrosse, basketball, soccer, cross country, track and field(just started), and golf. And women's tennis, softball, basketball, cross country, soccer, and track and field. And our school provides scholarships for good GPAs out of high school and there is now a special dormitory for honor students. Our school is also great for students interested in sciences and social sciences, such as biology, biochemistry, kinesiology, psychology, and sociology. And not to mention our most popular major Business Administration!

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT BUY YOUR BOOKS UNTIL YOU KNOW YOU WILL USE THEM. The biggest mistake I made, I'd say. I bought ALL of my books before college even started. I thought I was getting ahead of the game, but I ended up only using a few of them. There were classes where I didn't even USE the book because the professor never bothered to teach from it. There's was even a class where the professor GAVE us the book and classes where I would've gotten through the class without it. Wait until you are SURE you will use your books to buy them all.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes. Our school is very expensive. But based on the experience I have had so far I would say that its worth it. I have learned so much about the world and myself in one year of Notre Dame de Namur. The academic and campus experience is definitely worth the amount. And our school also provides a nice amount of financial aid. My tuition and fee was 41000. I ended up paying $8000 out of pocket.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being at NDNU, for me, is better than being home. I feel like the friends that I have made will be my friends for the rest of my life. But you won't have a good time by sitting in your dorm, keeping to yourself and being a hermit. You have to get out and meet people! Not everyone bites! And I love being involved! That's the best way to meet people here at NDNU. I jumped right into leadership on campus and I love it! And now I'm Diversity Education Coordinator! Its an amazing experience!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are truly amazing and they really care for the students. They actually know my name!! Which I found that at a lot of students' professors don't know their names at other schools. They are known by numbers. I've learned so much about the world through my classes in one year. For instance in my Advanced Conversation French class we not only learn the language of France but we have in-depth debates on problems in the world, in French. Its truly an amazing learning experience at NDNU.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good, safe spot.

    Clubs and Activities

    Hawaiian Club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small group settings and little towns.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Hawaiian Club is the best.

    Bang for the buck

    Unlike others who write a review here, I've finished my college experience and am trying to market my NDNU degree. No matter what the admissions or any other office on campus tries to tell you about how good a degree from NDNU will be for you, remember you are surrounded by some very prestigious universities in the area. It is very easy to be overlooked with a degree from NUNU as in my experience. My degree simply doesn't stand up to Stanford, Berkeley, USF, or even Santa Clara degrees that my competition holds. As they say in the Indiana Jones movies, choose wisely.....

    What to do for fun

    Meeting people and doing things in small groups. Good for communting out of Belmont to the City. There are not much going on for young people in Belmont.

    Food and Dining

    Good quality.

    Dorm Life

    Can't comment as I didn't live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I found that the rigor was better then the community college that I transfered from. The upper division courses where interesting and directly related to business in almost all classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since graduating with my bachelor's degree from NDNU in Business Administration, I've applied to over 150 jobs. I've had just one single reply! I had one interview where I had to explain where the college is located and about the school itself since the employer had never heard of it before. This is not what you want to hear from a perspective employer! If you attend NDNU, make sure you study in a major that has a direct opportunity for employment. Big money spent at NDNU for the chance on landing a $30k job does not work out to a good investiment.

    In three sentences

    NDNU is a friendly place to study, and a place to meet some nice people. What it is not, is a university that will open many doors for you upon graduation!

  • 03/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a small school with personable teachers, this is the place for you. Be your best here and you will get the best education.

    Bang for the buck

    depending on what you are here for, it's great and there are plenty of financial aid options for you to stay here at NDNU

    Am enjoying being here

    You come to NDNU and it's like being apart of a family. You become really close with your classmates and are involved with everything on campus. These are friends that can last forever and that really care for you.

    Am learning a lot

    There are great teachers here at NDNU who give you the one-on-one help that you need to get the most out of your education.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the campus is very small.

    What to do for fun

    my friends and i like to go to the city.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is on the job 24/7. There can be easily accessed by phone. This campus is very safe due to the size, and students look out for each other. However if a student doesn't feel safe they can call Campus Safety to escort them to their dorm or car. Resident Assistants are always on duty as well. The head of housing stays on campus. Housing and Campus Safety are always accessible

    What to do for fun

    We have many sports teams. Students are encouraged to go to sporting events and participate in on-campus activities. NDNU is located in Belmont, in the middle of San Jose and San Francisco. The main source of transportation is the Cal Train, which will take students from Belmont to San Jose or San Francisco for only $9, or across the Bay to Oakland and Hayward side. There are movie theaters, malls, and restaurants located close to the university. The Bay area is very diverse, and there is numerous activities a student can access because of NDNU's location.

    Food and Dining

    NDNU is catered by Bon Apetite, and all the food we get is organic. We receive food from local farms. All the food is fresh and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Because of the small community setting, students who live on campus get to know each other well, and develop close friendships. This benefits students in many ways of networking, study groups, etc. For a small campus there are numerous activities and many clubs. Student Leadership puts on many activities such as themed dances, resident hall activities, and volunteer service days such as NDNU's Call to Action Day.

    Academic Rigor

    NDNU not only wants you to just memorize material, but they want you to engage yourself and think about applying the knowledge and principles of the material. Each professor has their own way of engaging their students (Critical thinking essays, volunteer service, etc). NDNU's focus is on being the overall productive individual and providing for the community. The core Values of NDNU are : Goodness, Integrity, Justice, Service, Diversity, Community, Learning, and Excellence.

    Tips for prospective students

    Application Process: have test scores, recommendation letters, transcripts, and applications ready to be sent. Counselors are available to answer questions. Follow up with your application consistently. When you are finally accepted, know that college is all about time management and prioritizing, but it is also a growing experience. Embrace the hardships as well as the joys. Hard work pays off. You only have this time in your life once, so enjoy college, have fun, and work hard.

    In three sentences

    NDNU is a great school for those who like close-knit environments and love to make great personal connections with students, professors, and administrators. It is located in the resourceful Bay Area, and there are many resources available to students on campus, while professors and administration are available and flexible to help students at any time (average student-teacher ration = 12:1) - appointments aren't always necessary. This small university is very active in the community, and the student population is growing; more and more students are starting to flock to the less crowded, easy access, private universities such as Notre Dame de Namur.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is an incredibly safe environment; where students, faculty and staff are comfortable to pursue any of the many offerings of NDNU.

    Greek Life

    If you are looking for a university with a rich Greek life, NDNU is not the place. The university does not have any affiliation with the major social fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    The university is home to 45 active clubs and organizations; including six cultural clubs, five service clubs and a nice mixture of social and specialty clubs. In addition to the clubs, students are welcome to get involved in the Associated Students of NDNU, the Programming Board committee and any of the many community based projects happening from month to month.

    Great for these types of students

    Notre Dame de Namur University welcomes a broad range of students. The students whom seem to excel here and have the most enjoyment are the ones who are willing to take a chance, get involved and sometimes get their feet wet (we do have a few fountains on campus).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    VIVA, is the annual casino night and dance hosted my the student-led Programming Board. Each year there is a different popular theme and admission is free. There is a small fee to play the Vegas style poker, blackjack or craps tables but the prize is so worth the prizes given out at the end of the night. There is also a 12-hour Dance-A-Thon. The DAT is a philanthropic event also hosted my the Programming Board and usually in association with the Associated Students of NDNU where students, faculty and staff have the opportunity to fundraise for the selected charity by dancing the night away. How many campuses have a mansion that houses their financial aid and admissions? NDNU does! The mansion, as it is so fondly called, used to belong to the founder of the Bank of California.

    What to do for fun

    While Belmont is a small bedroom community, the campus is always hosting some event to get you involved. Plus the campus is located on the SF peninsula equal distance from San Francisco The City and San Jose.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Services Hall or The Cafe as it is known on campus provides a nice selection of comfort foods and new creations that always leave students wanting more. And should The Cafe be lacking exactly what you are craving, drop a suggestion and the staff will have that item usually by the next week.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms and Residence Life services are in their second full year of revitalization. Many of the facilities and furniture are top of the line and the Resident Assistants and Housing professional staff are always working hard to provide residents with a multitude of fun and exciting opportunities to get involved and relax.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the program you are interested in the rigor will vary. The physical sciences departments are known for their strong staff and academic caliber. While some programs are more rigorous than others all of the majors have a strong basis and will encourage critical thinking and personal exploration.

    Tips for prospective students

    To get the most out of your NDNU experience, get involved! Whether your interest is programming, student government, social justice or recreation, there is always something to fulfill your needs and desires at Notre Dame de Namur University.

    In three sentences

    Notre Dame de Namur University is a small (less than 2000 students), Catholic Liberal Arts institution nestled in the foothills surrounding the San Francisco Bay. NDNU is more than a school, with the small class size and professors who truly care it is a family. And if anyone asks it is the real Notre Dame. :)

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    We have an office dedicated to Student Life and Leadership (SLLO). This is the centralized hub for all student activities and clubs. The Director and Assistant Director of Student Life and Leadership, as well as the Student Activities Coordinator and Residence Life Director, can be found in this office. There are many clubs and organizations that students may take interest in. If you cannot find one that suits you, start your own! The SLLO has all the resources you need to get you started.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the Dining Hall could be better. Breakfast is the best part.

    Dorm Life

    The Residence Life at NDNU is great. The Resident Assistants host at least 30 programs a month to provide residents with something to do. There are great facilities for having movie nights, game nights, and even a small fitness center that is open to residents 24/7.

    Academic Rigor

    All professors challenge their students to do their best. If a professor thinks you're holding back, he or she will manage to get it out of you. The workload can be heavy at times, so time management skills are a plus. Speaking to your professors if you are having a hard time in class is a MUST, so if you're falling behind, let them know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply here! Yes, it is a small institution, however it is more like a family. Everyone is here to help you out in your success. Friendships made here will last a lifetime. There are many opportunities for getting involved with student leadership, as well as many student jobs on campus.

    In three sentences

    It is a great institution that is focused on helping the students. There are many programs that aid in the students' academic success. The faculty and staff are always have an open door for their students.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    cultural clubs

    Great for these types of students

    quiet

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Student activities

    Bang for the buck

    Too many expensive fees.

    What to do for fun

    participate in student activities

    Food and Dining

    average

    Academic Rigor

    not the best

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus before attending.

    In three sentences

    It's a small campus. It's intimate and ideal for personal relationships. There are trees and surrounding nature.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is amazing and wonderful! They have a wide variety of food available for you to eat and enjoy. Whether it is meat, grain, vegetables, or fruits, they have it.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter so I don't live in dorms, but I have heard from people that the dorms are very nice and as I said, NDNU is quiet so I'm guessing the dorms are peaceful.

    Academic Rigor

    I came from a high school where we were trained to be able to sustain a lot of work, so I find the school to be well-balanced and not at all hard, well for now maybe.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide or have to be a commuter to NDNU, hopefully you have a car to get here especially if you come from far distances in California.

    In three sentences

    I find the school to be a magnificent school. It is a small campus and due to its location, the school is very quiet and relaxing. The people are friendly and very proud to be part of the school.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety at this school so far has been nothing but a blessing. We were all given the public safety'sWe cell numbers at orientation; so whenever we are in need of them we just phone them. I feel very safe and secure with them here on campus.

    Greek Life

    We do not offer a Greek Life here at NDNU.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not began to attend any clubs yet, seeing as that they have just started. But i am definitely considering the Zumba club in the near future.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is amazing for students who like the smaller setting. It has a very homey feel to it; especially waking up to the church bells everyday ringing outside your window.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is my new home. I actually never want to really leave to go home anymore. Everyone here is my family. We treat eachother well and always have a great time. Whether we're in class, or out of class.

    What to do for fun

    We go hiking in Belmont, or on the trails around campus. At night we have movie nights in the second floor lounge with all of our friends. We enjoy watchinghorror films until were practically crying in each other's laps.

    Food and Dining

    The food is to die for. We have amazing chefs that are here full time.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. Our RA's are wonderful, and always asking if we need anything. They are also caring; for example if we go out to San Francisco for the evening, they will call and check up to see how and when we'll be back. It makes us feel like we're at home again.

    Academic Rigor

    When it comes down to the nitty gritty, classes are a challenge. However we have so many resources here at NDNU, that there is no reason to not pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is definitely not a school for people who want a large student body. There are only one hundred and ninety freshman this year, and I am friends with the majority of them. But for students who do not enjoy the smaller college lifestyle, then NDNU is not for them.

    In three sentences

    This place is my new home. Everyone knows who everyone is and where we are, all the time. The simplicity of the school is my favorite part.

  • 09/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to get involved with projects for community betterment will enjoy this school. Also, it is good for the arts such as music performance, dance and theater. There is a strong international community, here! Visual artists and writers find a happy home here, too. If you like to study business, this is also a way to advance your career through the evening program. Great for sports!

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy a parking pass--there is a lot of competition for parking and you don't want to be late to class while circling around the lots looking for an opening.

    Bang for the buck

    Sometimes it is better to be at a campus where you do not need a car and can walk everywhere easily. (The best deal is to be a slightly older, commuter student and live off campus.) Church is right there!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is a beautiful park-like setting in a major metropolitan area, but far enough away from Oakland, San Francisco and San Jose.

    Academic Rigor

    Wonderful faculty with top-notch credentials!

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek life at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs to join and be a part of.

    What to do for fun

    The location for this school is the best. Were only 30 minutes away from San Francisco and 30 minutes away from San Jose. Your close to everything and should have no trouble finding something fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    Some days its good, and others not so much.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the lower classmen dorms can be fun, at times. For those who want more privacy live in the suites.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes here are worth the money. Teachers challenge you and expect you to succeed in all your courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure all of your courses transfer from other community colleges and keep a positive outlook.

    In three sentences

    This school offers many great courses and programs. It involves students to take part in something bigger and encourages social justice and helping others. You will have many memories that you can look back on and be proud of.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe and I never feel worried that anything is going to happen to me.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life on Campus at NDNU, but I'm sure if someone were interested in starting a fraternity/sorority, many people would also be interested in joining.

    Clubs and Activities

    At the beginning of each semester there is a club fair where all of the clubs on campus have a table with their

    Great for these types of students

    NDNU is very diverse so I think it is a great school for all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ralston Mansion is a really cool place to explore on campus. Also, the campus has many cool little spots to hang out whenever you have some down time.

    Bang for the buck

    While this school is very expensive, I believe that with the courses provided and the availability of one-on-one time with professors, it is well worth the money. Housing, however, is not as

    What to do for fun

    For the 21+ crowd, there are many bars and clubs in the area to go to. Also, the school is a 10 minute walk to CalTrain, which can take you as far north as San Francisco and as far south as San Jose, which provide many opportunities for fun. CalTrain lets off right by AT&T park in San Francisco so Giants games are also a fun thing to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the Cafe is pretty good. They have many options for people with special food needs (i.e. gluten free options, vegan, etc.). Many of the vegetables and fruits available are organic and local. Also, the staff is extremely friendly and so good at what they do.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not too bad. I live in New Hall and it is alright, aside from the bugs and dirt. The floors are tile so they collect a lot of dust, and because I live on the first floor, I constantly have bugs in my room. A big issue I have with the on-campus housing is that it takes forever and a day to get maintenance over to fix any issues.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are here are small and each teacher is usually willing to spend time to work with you individually to make sure that you understand the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    In order to be successful at NDNU, you must be very persistent and make sure that your voice is heard and your needs are met.

    In three sentences

    I think that NDNU is an overall good school. The campus is very pretty, the professors are great, and the class sizes are fairly small. The students here have many resources available on campus to aid them in being successful.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Tips for prospective students

    Clear all of your expectatons.

    In three sentences

    The small size of the school is a blessing education-wise, but curse socially. The professors are excellent. Overall it's a good school.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    THIS IS PRESENT.. BUT, IT WOULD BE NICE IF WE WERE TREATED MORE FRIENDLY BY CAMPUS SAFETY!!!!

    Greek Life

    NONE...

    Clubs and Activities

    THERE ARE A LOT TO JOIN ... AND ACTIVITIES PLANNED BY THE CLUBS, NOT ENOUGH MUSIC EVENTS OR CLUB (DANCE) NIGHTS.

    Great for these types of students

    ECELECTIC STUDENTS COLLECT AT NDNU.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NDNU HAS A LOT OF TRADITION... AND IT IS REALLY NICE. DEER, BABIES AND THEIR FAMILIES COME DOWN RIGHT ON CAMPUS. MY FAMILY LOVES THAT, WHEN THEY COME TO NDNU TO VISIT ME.

    Bang for the buck

    WAY TOO OVERPRICED AS UNIVERSITIES GO. I AM A NON-RESIDENT STUDENT, SO ALL THE MORE EXPENSIVE. WITHOUT MAJOR SCHOLARSHIPS, NO WAY THIS IS AFFORDABKE FOR THE AVERAGE FAMILY. (MY MOTHER IS A SINGLE PARENT AND THIS IS A HUGE CHALLENGE.) NDNU NEEDS TO HAVE ALL KINDS OF PLANS FOR FINANCIAL AID, NOT JUST ONE--BUT PLAN A, B, C, ETC!!! IT NEEDS TO BE NOT ALL GPA BASED AND FINANCIAL BASED.!!

    What to do for fun

    NDNU IS A SMALL CAMPUS WITH A SMALL CAMPUS LIFE. SPENDING TIME GETTING TO KNOW FRIENDS AND MAKE FRIENDS IS HUGE. HAVE A BLAST! TAKE TRIPS TO THE CITY, ROAD TRIPS TO OTHER TOWNS, AND SEE THINGS!

    Food and Dining

    THE DINING HALL SPINS OUT OFTEN THE SAME THINGS OVER AND OVER, BUT THE CHOICES BASICALLY ARE ALRIGHT. IT ISN'T ALRIGHT WHEN THERE IS A SUNDAY MENU, ETC... SOME THINGS ARE GREAT, A FEW ARE GROSS!

    Dorm Life

    DEPENDS ON WHO YOU ROOM WITH AND WHICH FLOORS YOU ARE ON, WHICH DEPENDS ON THE ACTUAL BUILDINGS OR HALLS YOU ARE IN. AFTER FRESHMAN YEAR, YOU ARE MOVING ON UP, OR AT LEAST TRYING TO, IN DORM LIFE.

    Academic Rigor

    THE TEACHERS AND PROFESSORS ARE FOR THE MOST PART SUPPORTIVE--ASK FOR AND GET THE HELP YOU NEED--OR IT WILL BRING YOU MAJOR PROBLEMS LATER, BIG TIME.

    Tips for prospective students

    BE PREPARED FOR THE COLD WEATHER AND KEEP YOUR DORM WARM! DON'T FORGET TO HIT THE CITY ...! SF IS ONE OF THE BEST--YOU ARE SO CLOSE TO IT HERE--GET TO KNOW THE MODES OF TRANSPORT AND DO NOT LET THE BART CLOSE ON YOU, WHEN HALF YOUR FAMILY IS ON IT, AND YOU ARE NOT.

    In three sentences

    NDNU IS IN A BAY AREA TOWN THAT IS BEAUTIFUL. IT IS A NICE CAMPUS AND THERE IS HISTORY THERE. TO BE A STUDENT THERE IS TO KNOW NEARLY EVERYONE. IT IS A GREAT SCHOOL.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Here on campus there are so many activites and clubs to become involved in. There are clubs for every students specific interest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in high school doing community service activities and volunteering. The more hours you have done, the better it is when you are in college.

    In three sentences

    NDNU is an intimate community where all students come to know each other. Students come to know their professors who work with students in order for them to succeed. The university is centered around community service and always has opportunities for the students to give back to the community.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Notre dame de Namure is a fairly small community of student thus the likely hood of threats or safety issue is handled quite quikly and diligently. This college presses the aspect of community thus most of the students are aware of the events that take place.

    Greek Life

    none due to the Catholic institution Notre dame de Namur does not have Greek affiliations.

    Clubs and Activities

    are fairly limited due to such a small number of students attending.

    Great for these types of students

    Social who like the small community vs large robust campus, and independent students will get along fine with NDNU.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Notre dame de Namur is greatly engaged in the life and legacy of Sister Dorothy Stang or rathe known as the Martyr of the Amazon. Her advocacy of social justice and equality are the major bases of NDNU.

    Bang for the buck

    the small classes are ideal when perusing any type of education however because of this small students there is a lack of diversity in programs outside of liberal arts. the tuition is not ideal due to the lack of opportunity in other fields of study

    What to do for fun

    NDNU is fairly isolated form any large town but the wildlife is superb. the access to public transportation like Cal-Train makes it easy for college students to travel to other cities like the Bay.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe Bon Appetite company is superb in the cafe dinning, little am i unsatisfied with the meals provided. the chef are open to any suggestions and cater to any allergic or cultural issue a student may have.

    Dorm Life

    unfortunately the small campus limits the privacy of dorm rooms and the thin walls impede ones attempt to study. however the space is far more that any regular school. there is also many floor activities that all participate. each room is equip with sink mirrors, walk in closet, long twin sized bed that can be aggusted in hight, two desks and dressers

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    NDNU is a very secure safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    NDNU has several clubs and activities offered to students.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who wants a peaceful,small,studious enviroment for students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NDNU is built on the property of the founder of Bank of America with his original mansion still intact.

    Bang for the buck

    Though a bit pricey NDNU is a shcool to attend.

    What to do for fun

    NDNU at any given time always has some event going on. Any person who attends will not become bored easily.

    Food and Dining

    NDNU offers a very well and diverse food thanks to the contract they have with Bon Appeit.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at NDNU, although a small campus is still much as a person would imagine living in college. But if your a light sleeper do not worry for the quiet hours start at 10 a.m. and are enforced till 8 a.m.

    Academic Rigor

    NDNU offers challenging courses while at the same time maintaining a peaceful studious atmosphere.

    Tips for prospective students

    NDNU is a prime school for prospective students who want the college life but not the dread of attending a large campus.

    In three sentences

    Notre Dame De Namur University or NDNU is a perfect college for anyone looking to attend a small student to teacher ratio. NDNU is in a prime location with nothing more than just a few miles away. Though the price is not friendly for all it is a great school overall.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are available. Mostly for business students.

    Great for these types of students

    Like small settings.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive but you get a good education.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the movies around the area. Go to San Francisco for the day.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't great but you can always find something.

    Dorm Life

    It gets loud sometimes.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not too bad. Some classes are harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep studying and working hard even when times get tough!

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the small classes. The professors are very knowledgeable and teach in a way that you learn real world information. The advisers help students graduate on time.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    since this school is only a 30 minute drive from san francisco there is plenty to do. if you dont have a car there are plenty of stores in walking distance of the campus.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good. you have meal plans that include plenty of food. all food is cooked fresh and they always have different options. the cafeteria is also big enough and there is plenty of room.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is great. it is fun and you get to meet so many different people. since you all live close to each other you can hang out often. living with a roommate can be scary but it is not that bad. as long as you do what you need to follow each others needs, you can become great friends.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are not too hard, but there is still plenty of work. the most important thing is to do all the work and not procrastinate. as long as you do all the work and study for the tests you will do good.

    Tips for prospective students

    working hard is the key at this school. and if you have questions there are many people you can ask for help. its better to ask then to wonder.

    In three sentences

    this is a small campus but still big enough to explore. all the people are very friendly and its easy to make friends. the scenery around the school is also very nice with plenty of trees and even deer walking around.

  • 11/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    pretty safe,

    Greek Life

    unfortunately there is no greek life at the moment but maybe there will be soon :)

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some really cool clubs you just have to look for them.

    Great for these types of students

    hardworking students, and focused students but that want to have a bit of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    There is a lot of help from the school that you can get. They give out great scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    go to SF.

    Food and Dining

    its okay

    Dorm Life

    dont live on the dorms so idk

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty okay, not that hard or easy. You just have to be able to manage your time.

    Tips for prospective students

    focus on your work and make friends

    In three sentences

    Quiet school where you have to find something to do

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are events every once in awhile. There are also sports events and musicals you can go to

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good and the menu changes every day

    Dorm Life

    people can be loud and noisy but it isnt that bad. Very convenient when going to classes and stuff

    Academic Rigor

    Workload can be alittle much but it is manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Easy to follow and teachers are willing to help

    In three sentences

    Great people and teachers. It has good food that you can enjoy almost anytime. The small classes are great.

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The SF is literally just 20 min away, there is so much to do!

    Food and Dining

    This could use some work, I don't like the dining options at all.

    Academic Rigor

    I wouldn't say the classes are very hard or challenging at this school. Professors are down to earth and easy to talk to.

    In three sentences

    Perfect little campus in the heart of Belmont which offers small class sizes and an interactive community. It is perfect for the student who isn't interested in the big college scene, and is looking to gain education. I love this campus because it is located close to the bay, which offers perfect opportunities for day time and night time activities as well.