Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Nyack College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 17 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for Christian students looking to be ministers, pastors, Christian psychologists, business people, teachers, and Bible scholars.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must be a true Christian looking to grow spiritually. If not, this college is not for you. The rules of this school are pretty strict compared to other schools.

  • 05/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is looking to strengthen his/her relationship with God! The campus is small, but it is great for people who want a tightly-knit community!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends with your admissions counselor! Everyone in admissions is happy to talk to you about anything. However, you need to show them that you are interested by asking questions. Confirm that they received your application, pastoral recommendation, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Nyack is a lot cheaper than most schools. Make sure you ask a lot of questions about financial aid though! They cannot help you unless you ask!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Nyack so much! I transferred here from Messiah College. This school really fit my needs. It was just far away enough for me to be independent, but it was close enough for me to go home when I needed to go home!

    Am learning a lot

    I am not just learning a lot academically, but spiritually as well! Nyack has taught me how to be independent in my faith. I have learned how to think like an adult and apply my knowledge to my faith, and vice versa!

  • 02/06/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to serve the lord or those who just want to learn more about him.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will learn more about the lord Jesus christ and enjoy that because he's all I need to make it through the world we live in today.

    Will learn a lot

    I will learn alot about the college life and gain a sense of independency.

  • 06/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, Christian, Fun People!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are ready for a Christian enviorment. This is not a party school it is a place to grow and learn!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a pricey place - spend wisely!

    Am enjoying being here

    New York is an amazing place to be! So Much to do!

    Am learning a lot

    The Professors are more than Helpful! Engage Yourself

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Every weekend there is some type of fun going on! Our Student Activities Team is awesome! They try their best to fill the wants of the community. There are always flyers around telling of the fun to look forward to!

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright, very much like high school food. But its always a good social time in the cafe. The school is small, so everyone comes in to each around the same time! Its a fun time at dinner!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life depends on where you live and who you chose to have around you. Each dorm has fun monthly activities to be involved in! The buildings are a bit old and run down, but the community overrides that any day! We like to have good genuine fun together!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are not that rigorous. The nice thing is that teachers are so helpful and graceful merciful. They want you to do your best and they are very willing to listen and they are understanding!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come knowing that you will be walking! The campus is very beautiful, but it is a long campus. Also, as with any new college experience, come in knowing what you want. There is an awesome opportunity to grow in your faith with God, but there is also strong temptation to live a double sided life style; one foot in the world and one in your faith. The people are awesome! The college staff truly care about you and want what is best!

    In three sentences

    Nyack College is a place of opportunity. Nyack College is a small relational school who cares not only about your academics, but your Christian Spiritual life as well. Nyack College is beautifully diverse and is set on a lovely hillside along the Hudson River.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 security guard. No record of crimes on campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    What to do for fun

    Explore the town of Nyack. It is really a unique place. Take a walk downtown or catch a ride on the bus to the Palisades Center Mall if you're looking for fun off campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is not a huge variety of different food at the cafeteria, but overall the dining experience is good. There is always the sub sandwich station, pizza station, wstir fry station and salad bar for those students who don't always want to eat what is offered on the hot food line.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is excellent. Dorms are not coed, and there are rules in place which prohibit excessively disturbing behavior such as quiet hours, requiring all residents to not surpass a certain level of noise in their dorms so that the residents neighboring rooms can study or sleep.

    Academic Rigor

    I am most familiar with the School of Education, being that I am an education major. The courses I took were academically challenging, and prepared me to take and pass all three New York State Teachers' Certification Exams (NYSTEC) on my first attempts. The professors are strict on deadlines, but very understanding and eager to help you to succeed. For that I am very grateful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to leave your comfort level. Go out, meet people, and experience all that the college has in store for you.

    In three sentences

    Nyack College is a great school that seeks to be a welcoming and diverse campus. Although it is a small community, Nyack College offers much opportunity for students to grow in terms of their Christian faith, leadership skills, and in expasion of their personal and professional relationships with fellow students and professors. Nyack College the perfect choice for students who wish to be in a supportive and friendly environment while attempting to complete their degree programs.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    nyack is a great school, and i love the professors there. if you want to be in an environment where you can excel academically and spiritually, then nyack is the college for you.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I dunno Cliff from security guy is werido, guys!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nice view! I can see the tappan zee bridge everyday I woke up! Hey, Nyack rocks!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out, go and watch movies on Palisades Mall, and study to build the time machine!

    Food and Dining

    Food? Ew, it stinks! But hey, we can hang out and do something for fun!

    Dorm Life

    I don't mind stayin' in dorm but policy is terrible! Hey, i found that anyone who doesn't go to the meeting get pay $250.00 fines & Mike Cush doesn't allow RAs to give cellaphones!

    Academic Rigor

    Very good but Stephen Bennett and James Danaher are very bad! Hey, Stephen just teaches and never cares anyone! Danaher just curses like a crazy man! But guess what? Professor Linda Warren rocks, baby!

    Tips for prospective students

    Hey, guys! Get to know professors, classes, and majors in advance!

    In three sentences

    Hey, Nyack College rocks! I wish its institute should offer more courses on our majors during the summer and every school semester.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Shop! Espeically, if you are in the Manhattan Campus, you are in the heart of SoHo. If you are few hours early, shop; after class, shop!

    Food and Dining

    You get to cook your own omelet. That's already a plus!

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers expect high, but they are not afraid to help with your academic needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask! Don't be shy to ask for extra credits! Teachers in Nyack College wants you to pass!

    In three sentences

    If you are a Christian, loves going to church and loves school. Nyack is for you! Worship and praise in the elevators (usually Monday), teachers who actually care about your academic achievements, and students who would not mind helping to achieve.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's different clubs in the school, field trips, and services and meetings for net working and connections, and they have christian services at least two times a week.

    Food and Dining

    around the outside of the school there are plenty of places you can get food to eat. Some are priced high, some are reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    I do not life in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Very much strict, and demands from student the best they can give not just enough to get by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not wait to the last minute to get your papers done, they look like it may be simple, but it takes a lot of dedication and work. Try not to be absent, it would make you get off track.

    In three sentences

    Very demanding work load, and strictness of application advised. Cares about the students stress level and overall health. It is a Christian college so before each class begins a prayer is said and after class too.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    not one incident since I've been there.

    Great for these types of students

    Very Christian students and those who love contemporary music.

    Bang for the buck

    It's really not enough fun things to do on campus. They try...but it never really works out. Nyack has an awesome view of the hudson river and some cliff I don't know the name of.

    What to do for fun

    Nyack is 5 minutes away from the 3rd largest mall in america

    Food and Dining

    HORRIBLE! But it's cafe food what do you really expect?

    Dorm Life

    They at least have single dorms, no bugs and the bathrooms are clean.

    Academic Rigor

    It's tough but worth it

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study hard but go grocery shopping before you do it. Cafeteria food sucks. The teachers are great and are available to help, my only issue is that I have to pretty much sell a portion of my liver to afford to continue my education.

    In three sentences

    The classes are great. The food is horrible. It's expensive.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is a valued premium at Nyack College!

    Greek Life

    I am not fully informed about the fraternities, but I have participated in the literature club, called Men of Letters.

    Clubs and Activities

    Students Against Hunger, Nyack College Business Club, Student Government Association, Orchestral and various choral groups are available

    Great for these types of students

    This school features degrees in a plethora of fields of study!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We travel to the Nyack, N.Y. home and burial site of the school's founder, A.B.Simpson. It is a mandatory class for each student.

    Bang for the buck

    Great relationships for future growth and career investment are prime assets at Nyack College!

    What to do for fun

    Listening to the school's choirs and observing the cultural events on-campus are avenues of fun!!

    Food and Dining

    There are many eateries within the school's proximity.

    Academic Rigor

    Nyack College builds character and academic prowess.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend immediate and consistent interaction with course instructors, advisers, and students. Understanding your professors' teaching ways is vital to every scholastic pursuit and developing effective and efficient studying bonds with classmates yields tremendous self-growth. It is also important to lead your on-campus life as the caring and serving Christian you are when at your house of worship and on the harvest field!

    In three sentences

    Nyack College is a highly uplifting source for personal spiritual and academic growth. The administrators and, especially, the course instructors, inspire persistent self-inspection, academic proficiency, and Christian servant participation. I am truly blessed for making Nyack College my choice for higher educational advancement!

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nyack is a great city with little crime so I think that because of this it is a very safe campus. But, just in case there are call centers in the parking lots in case something happens late at night and you don't have a cell phone on you. Also, there is security circling the campus 24/7.

    Greek Life

    There are no Fraternities or Sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't many clubs on campus, but the ones that are offered are good. For example, there is an Athlete's in Action club open to all but especially geared towards Christian Athletes that meets every Sunday night. There is also intramural basketball and soccer which is very popular and usually gets fairly large crowds for the games.

    Great for these types of students

    Nyack is great for athletes as it is a NCAA Division II school. Also it is great for Christians because everything is Christ-centered.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a hub on campus that is a student center open most evenings and they usually offer fun activities like milkshake night or board game night. Also, a little known secret is what lies in the woods behind Nyack. There are a number of fire pits in the woods that my friends and I would go to for an evening of s'mores since lighting fires on campus is frowned upon to say the least. Also, there are witch tunnels back in the woods that student can explore that make great photo ops. I wouldn't advise exploring them at night though.

    Bang for the buck

    It's quite an expensive school but I found they offered quite a lot of scholarships. I'm not quite sure if it's worth the $31,000 a year tuition that they charged when I attended, but I can definitely think of worse places to go for that amount of money.

    What to do for fun

    When it was warm out I used to love walking into downtown and looking at the small shops or sitting at the ice cream shop or the Starbucks for a snack. NYC is the ideal place to go for fun. A train into the city is only about $16 so its not too bad for a day of fun. My favorite was to go to an improv club in Manhattan that was only $10 Friday nights. The Palisades mall is about 10 minutes away and has just about every store imaginable (except Wal-mart). There's bowling, ice skating, a movie theater, imax, and an obstacle course all in this one mall. One thing I can say about Nyack is the city was the ideal place for a college student to live.

    Food and Dining

    The food is incredibly bad. The cafeteria is too small, so students have to fight for seating. The caf hours are horrible because even when it is open, chances are they have already taken away the hot food and you're left with bagels or sandwiches. Finally, the overall quality of food is probably about the equivalent to hospital food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty bad. It's an old college so it's understandable that they are lacking, but all of the dorms are in need of some serious renovations. Simpson is the best of the women's dorms because it has AC, an elevator, and lounges on the first floor, fourth floor, and basement. Dunbar is the best men's dorm because it is roomier, newer, and has AC. It is, however, the farthest walk to the academic buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    For a small private school the academics aren't too shabby. It's definitely not up to par with a large state university, but I've taken classes at a community college over the Summer and Nyack's classes are definitely superior to those classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a car. It's a great city, but hard to get around. You need a car to get to the mall which is the second largest in the U.S. and only 10 minutes away. Also, you can take a train into NYC, but you have to get over the Tappan Zee to get to the train station, so either way you need a car. Also, take advantage of the Writing Center. Your peers gifted in writing will read and edit your papers for free.

    In three sentences

    Nyack College has a great Christian atmosphere. The location is perfect being a small college town that is only 40 minutes from NYC. But, the cafeteria food is the worst because they recycle the same ten, bland foods over and over.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian students will love this college!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This college is known for having students graduate with a degree and a husband or wife!

    What to do for fun

    Too much to list!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go there, I have regretted dropping out for 10 years!!!

    In three sentences

    Amazing school!!!

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nyack has a strip of bars and clubs to keep yourself entertained during the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious and plentiful.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not been to the classes yet but have heard can be challenging and intriguing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the chapel study and remain focus.

    In three sentences

    The campus maybe small but it has charm and beautiful views of the Hudson river. The class size is small allowing more personal attention with the professor. The school has plenty of internships for certain majors and degree programs.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe!

    What to do for fun

    Nyack has clubs, sports teams and a diversity of activities that will ensure each student has the opportunity to engage beyond their current academic curriculum.

    Food and Dining

    I am not a dorm student so I cannot rate the food.

    Dorm Life

    I am not a live-in student.

    Academic Rigor

    Nyack is dedicated in helping students achieve their goals. They believe in each students' ability to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a college that will not only challenge you academically, but help form you in character and integrity, Nyack is the place to go!

    In three sentences

    Nyack College is a great educational Institution that instills values into students that are essential in guaranteed succeed no matter your career or personal goal. I am proud to say that I will eventually have my Bachelor's degree in music from Nyack College! I will return for my Master's degree.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a huge mall near by with a movie theater and plenty of things to do on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    The second largest mall in America is located only 6 mins away and there are many opportunities for employment both on and off campus

    In three sentences

    Nyack College has an extremely welcoming environment. The staff is kind friendly and helpful. The students are dedicated spiritually and academically.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure you set time aside for studying. Get plenty of rest and follow the course catalog so that you can finish yor degree on time.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the flexibility of online classes. The professors are amazing. I have family who have attended and graduated from Nyack.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Nyack College is an amazing school. I just transferred there and everyone has been so helpful including the professors. It is incredible to attemd a school with people who share your faith.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Heard cafeteria is bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Planning for nursing.

    In three sentences

    Is Christ centered.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am a part of many ministry teams, choirs, and small groups.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is just like any other school. It's not as good as your mom's cooking.

    Dorm Life

    Great! You really feel like family!

    Academic Rigor

    School is hard everywhere you go, but Nyack and the staff do everything they can to make your classes exciting and enjoyable, and Christ centered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to be transformed.

    In three sentences

    Nyack has been a place where I have grown so much in my relationship with Christ. Everyone loves each other, and truly cares for and about you. You will experience the love of Christ in a unique and tangible way.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a dedicated security team who does their job day and night, keeping the campus a safe place to be and to learn.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a lot of clubs!! We have a club called LostandFound which promotes against human and sex trafficking. we have a horticulture club, promoting and teaching how to grow plants and learn how to use your green thumb. We have a club that goes into the city and helps homeless men and women by spending time with them and providing clothing and food to those who are in need.

    Great for these types of students

    I find this campus to be great for any student searching for an excellent education and wanting to reach deeper in their faith while being open to diverse cultures incorporated throughout.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have an awesome Student Development office which comes up with quirky events and activities frequently throughout the semester from midnight breakfast to an on campus Assassin game to our annual spring formal.

    Bang for the buck

    you receive a fair education at Nyack College. It requires a application on our part as students, but they do offer various places for tutoring and we have a excellent Writing Center to help student with those troublesome papers. We offer free counselling services and have an on-campus chiropractor for all of those aches and pains. for only $30,000 we are an excellent school for spiritual growth and development.

    What to do for fun

    there are so many different things to do around Nyack. Their are many sights to see within the village and being only a half an hour away from the city, you can go and see a Broadway play in a weekend's time. the perks of the college is how close it is to the Big Apple.

    Tips for prospective students

    Nyack is a place to grow into the person you are called to be. allow yourself time and patience as you study and go into the field you are called to.

    In three sentences

    Nyack College has very diverse intentions. They help you grow into not just your field but also who you are as a person. i have never found a place quite like this welcoming environment.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top Notch

    Great for these types of students

    All Types

    Bang for the buck

    Good Education at a Good Price

    What to do for fun

    Bands, Sports, Clubs There's always something to do at Nyack, You will never say I'm Bored

    Food and Dining

    Wide variety of food in the cafeteria, which offers, Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner

    Academic Rigor

    Sometimes homework can be overwhelming, but when you learn to pace yourself and focus on one subject at a time. it inevitable for a student to get good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school, the students are friendly and have a teamwork spirit. Nyack, has locations in Nyack and NYC. The atmosphere in Nyack is relaxing and very enjoyable

    In three sentences

    The Best Decision I have ever made, In deciding to return to school. The Teachers are very helpful and friendly, even with a big workload. I didn't think going back to school could be fun and challenging at the same time. Nyack is that way.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At the Manhattan campus there is always a security person at the front desk. The security person always checks for identification and makes students sign in.

    Clubs and Activities

    They Manhattan campus offers several clubs such as, (Men's club, Prayer club, Women's Ministry and More). Students GPA must meet some requirements, but it's productive for students.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student that wants to learn more about the Lord and wants to grow, this is a great college for them.

    Bang for the buck

    Nyack is not that expensive and the school offers many opportunity for scholarships. The people within the financial aid center will work with students to help them with books and tuition.

    Food and Dining

    Around the school, there are some good places to eat. Pizza restaurants, fast food chains, Starbucks and more. Some places are a bit expensive but for the most part, everything is affordable

    Dorm Life

    They Manhattan campus offers no room and board.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers expect excellence from student, but they will go the extra mile to help students.

    Tips for prospective students

    I believe the prospective students must be committed followers of Christ. They must look to grow their relationship with Lord. If their mind set is not on Christ, they will feel out of place within the college.

    In three sentences

    Nyack College is a place where you can find an encounter with God. The school offers students opportunities to grow mentally, physically and spiritually. Teachers care about your academics along with your personal life.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the school looks safe.haven't heard of any negative news about the school.

    Great for these types of students

    any student that want want to be surrounded by positive people. anyone who want to grow spiritually in Christ.

    Bang for the buck

    money worth, one of the cheap private school in New York City.

    What to do for fun

    many scenery, five minute away from the shopping mall

    Tips for prospective students

    if your determine to suceed, you can at nyack college. all you need to do is work hard and show interest in the area of study.

    In three sentences

    from what i have seen, nyack college is one of the best college so far. its a place one can grow academically and spiritually. not to mention the school is affordable.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Absolutely safe.

    Bang for the buck

    Everyone has a smile on there faces. But I think the best addition to this College is the castle-like doors. Located in Shaman Hall. And Bell Tower.

    What to do for fun

    To be honest you make your fun fun. I remember walking down the outside stairs looking over to the soccer field, and I saw three students tossing a Frisbee. Before I knew it, I was down there with them.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't gone in there for breakfast, lunch or dinner. But when i came to visit, the cafe. was amazing and the food was very tasty.

    Dorm Life

    I dont even live on the campus. But when I visit the Men's Dorm, it's almost as if I totally belong in one of those rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    There is nothing i could honestly say, it speaks for itself.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a wonderful School to attend, then look no further. This place has it all, Very upbeat, and 100% Diverse.

    In three sentences

    Nyack College is by far the best college I have ever visited. The environment, the vibe, and the whole facility is outstanding. Iwould rate this College 10 out of 10!

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    it could be better but fair so far.

    Great for these types of students

    open, active, and people who want to know more about yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    the experience you get is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    there are many things to do and have fun there.

    Food and Dining

    it is not bad but wished it had more food.

    Dorm Life

    it may not be the best but its communitive

    Academic Rigor

    Great programs

    Tips for prospective students

    keep an open mind but know you self too.

    In three sentences

    Great school to find who you are.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Downtown is a quint village, thought it is a little walk from school. The school has some clubs and weekend activities provided.

    Food and Dining

    The food follows a tasteless boring schedule each week. There are constant grumbles about the food

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is strict with fines provided for each misconduct. There is little to do within the dorms, but there is a floor event every few months or so. There is ample space for a two bedroom.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors expect college level papers and turned in assignments. The school is big on how to conduct a paper in an academic sense. There are points deducted for being late or missed classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know that this school is a Christian school. This means class, chapel, and activities will be centered around Christ.

    In three sentences

    A school that blends Christian theology with career objectives. Though it is a Christian school you will find diversity amongst teachers and student body.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i dont i commute

    Food and Dining

    you wont die

    Tips for prospective students

    apply and have a lot of money

    In three sentences

    teacher are friendly. students warm and understanding very diverse

  • 04/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You're safe here! There were some coyotes at the end of the winter semester, but they're gone now. Nothing happens on campus so 2 thumbs up for safety!

    Greek Life

    No fraternities or sororities so don't worry about this.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very limited, but starting your own club or activity group may not be o hard.

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for those of you who are really searching for God. This is a great place because you're surrounded by faith and people who will encourage you and want to help you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    lol they have this thing here called ring before spring. Yes, people come to Nyack in search of their soul mates.

    Bang for the buck

    Personally, I do not like this school and I will not be attending in the fall of 2014. It's too small and it is not enough to do on campus. Plus, freshmen have curfew (1 a.m)

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty to do, but you need money. Downtown Nyack is beautiful!! Gather up a couple friends and take the train to the city!!!

    Food and Dining

    The food for the first two weeks is amazing. Then after that you just dread it! There's no menu so you won't know whats for dinner until you get there. I'm saying it was amazing the first two weeks because I was not here spring semester 2013. You will get sick of the food very quickly. It's the same stuff all the time. The food on the weekend veeeerrrrryyyyyy bad. I don't go to the cafe on the weekends because it is so disappointing. Invest in a refrigerator!

    Dorm Life

    I'm a Simpson girl!!! Yes, Simpson is the place to be. There's a kitchen, air conditioning and an elevator. (Christie does not have the elevator or air conditioner I don't know about the kitchen) People usually keep to themselves. There's no community feeling though. The rooms are pretty cool. Depending on the room, it may be painted. Mine is yellow.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is not hard at all. It's the work load that might intimidate you. There are a few professors out there that are a bit difficult like every college, but hey if I could get through it, anyone can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Well, those of you coming from places that are far away from school good luck! Everyone leaves campus on the weekends and it's boring. My friends leave on the weekends and I'm here alone. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR FUN DO NOT COME TO NYACK! There's NO parties. However, the students on campus try to put fun activities together, but again it's what you make it. The people here are pretty clique-e. The school is small so everyone will know about your mistake if you do not surround yourself with the right people. (people also believe lies here as well) The only way you will enjoy Nyack is under two conditions; do not come in with expectation and really search for God. The people here will be more than happy to pray with you and help you grow in Christ.

    In three sentences

    Nyack is definitely what you make it. It can be tons of fun or it can be bring. The choice is yours!

  • 04/17/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Like every other campus.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent. Don't even bother. There are no parties either.

    Clubs and Activities

    The more humane ones? What does it matter, you're all doing the same thing either way.

    Great for these types of students

    Pious christians who want to learn other ways of enforcing their beliefs on people who could otherwise do without. And robots. This school is good for robots that can be programmed to do and believe anything without any real questions as to why.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They visit the burial site of the school's founder. It is mandatory for every student. That is ridiculous. Oh and prayer on the elevator, what?

    Bang for the buck

    I wouldn't pay to go here. Why would I tell you to?

    What to do for fun

    Nothing. Unless you are pious christian that enjoy learning about more ways to enforce your belief on unsuspecting victims who otherwise couldn't care? Then you would have fun. But if you are a decent human being, who protests the spread of religion, then don't waste your money.

    Food and Dining

    It's terrible, but hey, at least it isn't the blood of jesus.

    Dorm Life

    They have quiet hours. What the heck are quiet hours. Are you 5?

    Academic Rigor

    They only teach you christian things. And if it is non christian, (like psychology) it will always have a christian aspect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Conform. If you are atheist (like myself) everyone will expect you to conform to their belief.

    In three sentences

    I am not planning to attend, But I have been accepted. I applied before researching. Now I am researching, and this is what I have found.