Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Oakland City University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Dont mark off this school because you think it is too expensive.. That was the first thing I did. I got the chance to talk to some of the staff at the school and the first thing they do and continue to do is help find ways to save you money. They are great people who truly do care!

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Really safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Many ways to get involved here

    Food and Dining

    Could be better, but could be worse

    Dorm Life

    Usually quiet

    Academic Rigor

    Many major's

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are many activities to get involved with on campus, plus movies and bowling nearby.

    Dorm Life

    there are rules on visitation and hours.

    Academic Rigor

    the biology and chemistry programs are very tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved in all the activities on campus.

    In three sentences

    oakland city is a very religion based college. all the faculty and staff are very friendly and treat every student as family. it's more of home away from home, than a school.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a lot of safety on campus. Since it is a small town the cops could be there pretty quickly, but we also have campus security which is doing round periodically all night until about 1 am when they lock up every building on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is absolutely no Greek Life because it is a small Christian school.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have drama club, biology club, psychology club, the Theologians, Student Christian Association, Student Government Association, pep band, and we have all kinds of sports. The sports we have are soccer men and women, cross country men and women, basketball men and women, baseball, and softball. The clubs are all very active in the school and everyone attends all of the sport activities going on on-campus.

    Great for these types of students

    There are alot of things that every type of student would enjoy here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We always have Homecoming every year at the basketball game and all the alumni come to visit for that. Then we also have a big Fall Fest event every year which is normally pretty fun, it is during Halloween time. Then each spring we have Spring Fling Week and our only dance of the year which is called the Formal Tea. Everyone goes to the Formal Tea because it is so much fun!

    Bang for the buck

    I think that if you are really looking for a great christian school then Oakland City is the school for you. If you are not waiting to go to a private school and you don't like rules then i would tell you not to even apply here because it can be very strict, but i have seen stricter private schools. I think it is a great atmosphere and everyone knows everyone which is something i really like about it.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun in the town. We normally hang out at Denny's all the time because it is open all the time that is where all the college students go. Most of the time we hang out in each other's rooms but after visitation then we go to Denny's. There is also a Grandys and Subway in town too. We normally drive to Princeton or Evansville. Princeton is 15 miles away and it has a bunch of restaurants, a Walmart, and a movie theater. Evansville is 30 miles away and it has everything you need.

    Food and Dining

    The food is normally pretty good. There are some days when it can be bad but they always give 4 options of different types of food at lunch and dinner and they have cereal at every meal. The cafeteria is only open at certain times everyday for each meal and that includes breakfast too. They also have something called the Oaks downstairs where commuters can eat and they just have hamburgers, chicken sandwiches, fries, fruit, and more where anyone can eat. The Oaks is opened all afternoon and every night for about 3 hours after the dinning hall closes.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm is strict because it is a christian school but it is easy to adjust and live with it. There are visiting hours every night that boys and other visitors can come into your room and visit. The visitors have to sign in and out when they come and go. There are 2 girls dorms and 2 guys dorms on campus the dorms aren't coed. I liked the dorm life but it can be hard sometimes to live with people.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the classes can be challenging but that is what helps us to learn and become better students. There can be a lot of work, but for the most part the teachers will always be willing to help you with anything that you need and always have their office hours open for you. I have personally learned so much since i have been there.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell people looking into going here that it is a small type of environment and if they aren't looking for a big school then this would be a great school for them. I would also tell them that it is a great christian atmosphere and everyone knows everyone so it is like we are helping each other all the time. I would tell someone that you should go here if you are looking for a good degree in teaching, business, psychology, and anything in the ministry field.

    In three sentences

    Oakland City University is a great christian school with a very welcoming environment to everyone who attends. I love the school because it is rather small, but with being small it is easier to have great communication with your teachers and other students in your class. Oakland City University is placed in a small town, but I would probably rate it a 9 on a 10 scale because it is such a great school especially for the degree i am going for which is teaching.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Friendly enviroment.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Athletics

    Great for these types of students

    Spritiual based Hardworking Self motivated

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Its located in Southern Indiana. Its in the middle of no where.

    Bang for the buck

    Its really expensive due to the fact its a private school.

    What to do for fun

    Socialize Groups Clubs Sporting Games

    Food and Dining

    Can be better

    Dorm Life

    In any experience in life It is what you make of it

    Academic Rigor

    The work is challenging. The professors are ALWAYS willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time Management Studying is the KEY to success Build a relationship with your professors

    In three sentences

    Oakland City University is a growing private school. The school's mission statement is Enter to learn Go forth to serve. A place with spiritually strong indidviduals who all have the similar goals in life.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    pretty safe town.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many clubs!

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive, not worth 30,000.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do here but Evansville is only thirty minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Outside of burger night, not much to look forward to.

    In three sentences

    i wish their were more programs here, but it is a good christian school.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food and dining services is awesome. My favorite part about the food and dining services is the Treat Orders.

    Dorm Life

    I love how the dorms are sat up. I think is a cool thing that they are able to match up any student who is unable to find a roommate of his or her own roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    Its pretty cool

  • 04/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    When the weather is right to play Frisbee or ball outside on the Grassy Knoll, intramural, all the dorms do different things.

    Food and Dining

    It is school food not much has changed since high school

    Dorm Life

    There is plenty of dorm activities and a lot of friendly people.

    Academic Rigor

    Some basic level 100 class are very hard and some 200 but it really depends on your major and teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college first. Visiting here is what helped me cement my decision to come here, and for others it showed them that a small university is not for them. Also it is okay to be nervous when coming here. I was nervous at first but getting involved in activities and making friends with others in the dorm help out a lot.

    In three sentences

    One of the most friendliest colleges ever. You get to know the staff and teachers real easily. By the end of first semester you will basically know everyone, or almost everyone.