Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Oakland Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Taking a bunch of different classes your first year isn't bad, your testing out the waters. By your second year i think its best that you have a plan of what you want to do. If your paying for classes on your own knowing what you wan to do will help alot, so you don't waste money on classes you don't need.

    Tips for prospective students

    To all future students going to OCC is a good choice because you can save money while working or staying home. By taking different classes it wil help you find the right career choice.

  • 01/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Students just out of high school -Adults returning to college after many years -Adults trying to excel in their career -Adults who are changing their career -Parents going back to work

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great place to start off your college years. Go here first, get all your academic classes (like math, science, english etc.) done with, then transfer to a university or other college. You will save so much money.

    Bang for the buck

    You are getting a steal at this school. You can get three classes for under a grand, and they are very good classes that transfer. Only two of my classes didn't transfer because they weren't required at the school.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is great, and within a day you can learn where everything is. I just have two problems with the campus. 1. It does not have a very good visual arts facility. All it has is a few computer labs that have a few programs like Photoshop and Illustrator. 2. When you park in the eastern parking lot, you then have to go up a steep sidewalk to get to the buildings.

    Am learning a lot

    Almost all of my teachers have been great! They were helpful when I was having trouble, and most of their teaching methods were successful.

  • 01/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    OCC is a great school for any prospective student. Though it might not have as many programs as other colleges, it's a great starting point.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try out different classes to see what you may enjoy as a major. Also make sure to take advantage of all the academic support for students at school. Many of them are free.

    Bang for the buck

    OCC is an excellent choice for students, who want to save money and have a first rate education. You won't be disappointed if you choose this school. The people who work here are friendly and supportive. Also, there are many services available to help meet the students' needs.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm enjoying attending OCC. All my Proffessor's have and are very helpful and engaging. Since it's a community college the class sizes are much smaller, which gives the teachers more time to assist each of their students.

    Am learning a lot

    Oakland Community College is an excellent school. I learned quiet a bit in my first semester, with the help of my dedicated teachers.

  • 01/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students. Straight A student? Join the Honors club. Are you of a different nationality? There are staff members who will help you adjust to our way of learning and may even suggest you becoming a part of the different socials that are available for those of different ethnic groups. Do you not like school? Were you never really good at it? There are tutors that will meet with you on your time and walk with you threw any subject that you need help for...and they will motivate you to continue in doing the very best for yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Community Colleges are a great way to start your college career. One on One help from teachers and tutors will allow you to feel comfortable about moving on in life and other education. Keep your head up Kido. Oakland Community College will help assist you into the real world so start and end your year will an open mind. You made it this far...just how far will you push to make it?

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of tuition is simply amazing! I love that the credits are very inexpensive. You would think that for the kind of education and help that you get from Oakland Community College that tuition would be high, but it is quite the opposite.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campuses differ in sizes but they all share the same energized atmosphere. The faculty are helpful and the students are quite friendly. we are all there for similar reasons right? Making friends is easy when you make yourself friendly, and Oakland Community College makes it easy for new friendships with nice cafeterias/ lounge areas and an active student life program. I love it here.

    Am learning a lot

    Yes, a 15 week class may seem like a lot, but the faculty utilize the time given so that the students can understand the information given. As a freshmen, I took what I like to call refreshers courses and they were very helpful and now as I go on in my more advanced classes, I can go into class knowing that I have a good foundation, therefore, have an overall good feeling about the class.

  • 01/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school i great for transfer students or who just wants to get a two-year degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you didnt do well in high school, I suggest going here and taking pre-reqs, then transfer, since most colleges accept OCC credit. Also, dont wait, register early or you wont have any classes to take!

    Bang for the buck

    I think this is a great place to spend money for classes. You can take a class which is $54 per credit hour, compared to other universities that charge thousands for dollars. Defiantly worth your money!

    Am enjoying being here

    Although this school does have alot of activities, it isnt like a 4-year university where there is tons of things to do. You just pretty much go to class and go home.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning alot from OCC. I chose to go here my first year of college because I could take classes for a cheap price. Also, I didnt know what univerisity I wanted to go to, so that extra year gave me time to research.

  • 11/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Community colleges are great for students that are not sure what they want to do, they can try different classes until they figure out what it is, plus they wont be breaking the bank to do so. Also great for working students tons of different time and days for classes, nights and Saturday classes are offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to any Community College is a great way to save money. Where ever you go you will need to take general classes why not save your money and take them some where with smaller classes and that's also cheaper. your not going to be in a huge lecture hall and the professors really work with their students to make sure that they will be successful. Why try to make your scholarship dollars stretch to try to pay for a university when you can make every penny count towards tuition, books and more at a Community College. Great way to take different classes to figure out what you want. Make sure you look at ratemyprofessor.com too for more information on each prof when you sign up for classes.

    Bang for the buck

    .Best way to save money. Great classes, tons of different classes to choose from if you are not sure what you want to do.

    Am learning a lot

    All the professors are really helpful and they are always willing to help you out

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Though they are slow in they financial department you learn so much in the class room and I can genuinely say the professors do seem to are.

    Tips for prospective students

    I strongly believe you should start a year in advance if you are going to use financial services.

    In three sentences

    This school is terrible when it comes to financial need. No one here knows much able ways to attend on a financial need basis. They are very slow with processing financial applications.

  • 01/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for transfer students, first year of college students, going back to school students, and anyone who enjoys learning

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to take advantage of the counseling office. They are very helpful and will go the extra mile to try and help you reach your goals.

    Bang for the buck

    OCC is a great way to get a great education for a much lower price than any on the major universities! Many professors use the same curriculum that they use when the teach at the major universities.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere at OCC is very enjoyable. Almost all the staff is genuinely pleasant and willing to help.

    Am learning a lot

    There are some great professors here who are very knowledgeable about the subjects that they teach. They make learning fun. Many of them also teach at other universities and use the same curriculum. They enjoy challenging their students.

  • 09/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students fresh out of High School, who want to eventually transfer to a 4 year college/university. Take general classes (English, History, Math, Science, Economics) first, because it's cheap, and then transfer to your dream college to go into your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't set high standards. Expect to work, put time into it, and you'll succeed. Take advantage of the services like tutors and counselors; it's included with tuition! And don't let what other students say cloud your perspective; make your own opinions!

    Bang for the buck

    Since the teachers are hit or miss, you can get a lot for your money, or feel like you wasted it a bit. I've only had a couple teachers who really made the class worth it, but over-all I'd say I get what I pay for.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people here are great. The tutors, librarians, counselors, and staff are very helpful. They care about your success, and do so much to help you get there; I always feel comfortable going to them for help. I enjoy how the classes are set up and how the student center is set up; very easy-going and puts me at ease. There's lots of different campuses as well, so you can pick and choose.

    Am learning a lot

    There are a quite a few easy-A professors, and some who don't care much about you or the subject they're teaching; but then you find the few who truly care, and who teach you so much, that it makes up for everything else. What you get out of a class really depends on what you put into it, and what professor you have. While at OCC you learn a lot about who you are, a lot of common-sense life skills, and a lot about your community.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 10 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    many pollice officers on campus at all times

    Great for these types of students

    Ougoing, shy, hardworking or layed back

    Bang for the buck

    I love the fact that I can get financial aid because if it wasnt for it I wouldnt be able to attend college.

    What to do for fun

    There are open computer labs that you can jump on.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines on basically every 1st floor of every building. Not only is there junk food in the vending machines but healthy choices also which is very good. There are also microwaves strategically placed around the buildings and many tables.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this location.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are compatible with whatever class it is.

    Tips for prospective students

    You may want to keep a planner or a notebook to write down all of your due dates and tests. Bring a snack if you're going to be in class all day.

    In three sentences

    The college makes you feel relaxed eased, and right at home. You feel as if this is a place where you belong. The staff is very highly motivated to help students achieve success in whatever activites they are doing.

  • 10/16/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a lot cheaper than bigger colleges.

    Will enjoy being here

    It is close to my house so I can stay home.

    Will learn a lot

    it is good for taking basic classes.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    any student, there are many options and support for all walks of life.

    Tips for prospective students

    enroll for admittance and file fasfa early enough to avoid semester crowds

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition fees are the least expensive in the area.

    Will enjoy being here

    The atmosphere of the campus is peaceful and invokes the eagerness to learn

    Will learn a lot

    There are many traditional and non traditional programs of study to choose from.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Really safe

    Food and Dining

    Bring my food from home

    Dorm Life

    Sorry,I own my own place

    Academic Rigor

    For a great result you need to be prepared day by day. Is up to the student to keep up with the class. I found it interesting and challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Previous visit to a counselor. After that you might be ready for this new challenge.

    In three sentences

    Its a really good college where since I started had helped me to improve my english skills. The instructors are helpful and well prepared.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe you get mobilized warnings in case of an accident on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Great for full time, half time, old, young, continuing education, and many more students. Very diverse campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not really spend too much time on campus because I have a daughter. But I have heard of the sports and games. They also have plays on campus and art showings

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is fairly cheap at $60 per credit. If you get financial aid. It will cover all the expenses

    What to do for fun

    Go out to eat with my family on the weekend and events around the royal oak area.

    Food and Dining

    Little cafe's located on campus with small lunch area. It really depends on which campus you are attending though.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on what classes you are taking and what teachers you have. The programs can range from very rigorous to fairly easy so it really does depend on what you desire.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know exactly what degree program you want to get into because if you just start taking classes that you may not need, it will take your longer to finish.

    In three sentences

    Oakland is a good school to start off at especially if you do not want to spend a lot of money going to college.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police are almost always there when needed.

    Greek Life

    i could care less

    Clubs and Activities

    they have clubs and activities but i'm not active in them.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone that doesn't have much money, or wants the biggest bang for their buck.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    royal oak's surroundings are very nice during winter season with all the lights

    Bang for the buck

    definately one of the biggest bangs per buck for campus colleges in michigan

    Food and Dining

    good food at auburn hills and royal oaks (haven't been to the other campuses), only wish royal oak had a bigger selection an that the money machine worked when i needed it. but other than that its good.

    Academic Rigor

    very good teachers

    Tips for prospective students

    this is the best school for a first time college student, or anyone who can't afford a private school or university. the credits are cheap, teachers and staff are good. do not make the same mistake i did; attending a college like baker college(private college) will put you in debt, especially if you are undecided. if you have financial aid it will most likely cover all or most of your expenses.

    In three sentences

    they have very good staff, much better than my last school. i would like for royal oak campus to have a better selection of food. royal oak bathrooms almost always seem to be dirty.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    watch the athletic teams. most of them are top notch.

    Food and Dining

    the cafe area serves great food.

    Dorm Life

    this community college does not have dorm rooms.

    Tips for prospective students

    sign up for classes early because they fill up quick.

    In three sentences

    the college has exceptional staff. the multiplicity of campuses are very convenient. the classes are still small enough for you to have good one on one help from the staff, but big enough to feel like your not alone.

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    occ is perfect for non-traditional students returning to school, those that aren't sure if college is for them, individuals that just want to take 1 or 2 classes a semester, and students with disabilities.

    Bang for the buck

    it's very affordable and you can save a lot by starting out at occ and transferring to a 4-year university, but don't expect any additional bells and whistles. (sorry, no complimentary pet unicorns!)

    What to do for fun

    there's not many options. the student board hosts a few sparsely attended events every now and then, but because most students are only there one or two days a week and have other commitments, the campus life is basically nonexistent. most students are there to sit down, shut up, learn and leave, so it's not a school to go to if you want to be really involved on campus.

    Food and Dining

    the food is certainly decent, but it's nothing special and the prices are a bit high. also, it's very unfortunate that while there are several 6pm-9pm classes, the cafeteria closes at about 5 'til 6pm. hellooo vending machine!

    Dorm Life

    occ is a commuter school...i suppose you could sleep there if you wanted, but you'd probably be given 50 lashes with a wet noodle for trespassing and i doubt lecture halls are that comfy anyways :)

    Academic Rigor

    of course it depends upon the program, and it's not meant to be graduate level work, but i find most of the courses to be only slightly above the high school level in terms of material. the courses are good for easing into the college experience, especially if you want to transfer to a 4 year, or for refresher courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely be sure to take the initiative and be extra careful to keep on top & follow up with any occ employee you submit documents to. fa is especially infamous for losing things and trying to invoke teeny tiny, non-applicable details to make you just through hoops. overall the administration will not go out of their way to help you, so make sure you help yourself.

    In three sentences

    occ is great for some types of students and not so wonderful for others. the student body is diverse and friendly, but campus life is essentially nonexistent. occ is definitely not equivalent to a university experience, either academically or socially.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    occ is a great value and many people attend very good colleges in the state after graduating. so i'd say you really do get a bang for a buck!

    What to do for fun

    doesn't apply to me yet.

    Food and Dining

    doesn't apply to me yet.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    i haven't started so i can't comment on this yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    plan head, visit the occ website and talk to your counselors ahead of time so you are prepared!

    In three sentences

    it has been a relatively easy process to navigate occ. i was accepted within a few weeks and i have found it easy to communicate with the school. i hope that my experience continues to go well.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    every campus has available police officers. campuses are small, so there is not great risk.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a few, but i am not familiar

    Great for these types of students

    -focused students -people who want to save -not for people looking for social life and the traditional college experience

    Bang for the buck

    it is a good quality of education and the same you would get in a larger school the first two years.

    What to do for fun

    there is not really a social scene here. as i said before, here focus on your studies.

    Dorm Life

    commute school

    Academic Rigor

    most classes are fairly easy, but you still have to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    focus on your classes and development. explore everything occ offers.

    In three sentences

    classes were great, and teachers extremely kind and bright. however, some students had an indifferent attitude affecting the classes

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never had a problem at oakland community college. overall the police are around and there is a great number of security when needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    we do have honor societies but there are no clubs at oakland community college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    tutors are available at all times. the campus is open 6 days a week. the professors are available when you need them.

    Bang for the buck

    this school do not have to many distractions because the primary focus is education.

    What to do for fun

    there isn't much to do for fun at the campus. this is a community college so there is not much to do. the best thing about the oakland community college is that there are great study rooms and tutors on site at all times.

    Food and Dining

    the food is expensive and the menu does not change that often. i would recommend that the menu change sometimes but the staff and students eat at the diner because it is convenient.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm but there are a great amount of apartments around the area.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic part is great. you will learn something from every class. there is a great deal of classroom participation and less lectures. you will have hands on and experience with the fellow classmates.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would recommend to take advantage of the staff on campus free of charge. exchange phone numbers with your current classmates. gain a relationship with all your professors.

    In three sentences

    i think that oakland community college has the right idea but they need help with implementing the academic goal. oakland community college needs help in the math department. overall the staff and students at oakland community college are awesome.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 65

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    OCC offers a great education while being able to have relationships with each professor. Small class sizes offer students a better environment for learning by allowing more one on one time with the professor. OCC is one of the best colleges in Michigan.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus security around the Orchard Ridge campus. The Royal Oak campus is right in the heart of Downtown Royal Oak, along with it's own FREE parking structure. VERY safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Awesome for working students and student who travel around Oakland county, because of the many campuses, there is always one close to you.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is right if you live in Oakland county. As little at $60 a credit hour. Financial Aid is also available.

    What to do for fun

    There are many groups you can join, specifically at the Orchard Ridge campus. As well as a promising theatre program.

    Academic Rigor

    You can have very difficult, but very educational professors. OCC has professors that are on par with any 4 year school, but at more reasonable cost. The amount of work required varies between courses, however, you control how much you learn with the amount of time you put into studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead when scheduling classes at different locations. Follow your instincts when choosing a major, as well as using your brain when taking extra classes. Don't overwhelm yourself, it will end up hurting you in the end.

    In three sentences

    Very reasonably priced, however the service is unacceptable. Meet some amazing teachers and their help as stayed with me through the years. Many campuses to choose from, offer a variety of locations.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a policeman available.

    Great for these types of students

    OCC is great for any type of students. Especially those with certain disabilities such as deafness.

    Bang for the buck

    Hands down the most bang for your buck!!!

    What to do for fun

    My campus in Downtown Royal Oak is near many attractions. There are many restaurants, theaters, bars, clothing stores, coffee shops, book stores and antique shops all in the downtown area. There is even a bowling alley now! So much to do in that small area!

    Food and Dining

    The food offered could be improved. As well as the prices.

    Dorm Life

    I am not aware of the dorm life at OCC.

    Academic Rigor

    Oakland Community College will prepare students for the new global economy. It has many learning resources and the teachers are very intelligent, each with a unique teaching style.

    Tips for prospective students

    Oakland Community College is awesome for students who are in search for any specific area of study. OCC offers a wide range of studies to fit any one's preference.

    In three sentences

    Oakland Community College is the best undergraduate college experience. It has the best bang for your buck as well as great up-to-date teachers.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great.

    Clubs and Activities

    Available if one choose's.

    Great for these types of students

    That like a relaxed atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    I have saved money and earned the credits I need to transfer.

    What to do for fun

    The loune is a good place to study or relax between classes.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe provides a nice selection of refreshments.

    Academic Rigor

    I do feel I learned current knowledge that will help me excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be responsibile and talk to a counselor to choose classes that meet your career goals and not waste money.

    In three sentences

    I think Oakland Community College is a excellent school t o attend for those transferring or earning a degree.The staff is efficient and polite. The teachers are very updated in their knowledge set regarding the courses I have taken.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well, as stated before, there's the events in the student center, but also there are also local locations you can go for a good time; look on the internet to find museums, movie theaters, or a unique restaurant near whichever campus you happen to be at; its a great way to meet new people and experience something new (that's what college is about, right?)

    Food and Dining

    The food here is good! The Auburn Hills campus just added a Starbucks to the Student Center's Cafe just this March, on top of already having a Pizza Hut Express and other assorted sandwiches, salads, and treats; there is something here for every kind of taste.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus housing at OCC (it's a community college, after all), but they have plenty of events in the Student Center to interact with fellow students. As always, there is the possibility of becoming friends with one of your classmates when you start talking to them. I'm in my second year here, and I run into someone I know nearly every day I have class!

    Academic Rigor

    Being a prospective engineering major, the classes I mostly take are heavy in the math and sciences. OCC absolutely shines in this area, having great professors (most with doctorate or masters degrees) that are there to assist you in your educational journey. I can't think of a single professor that I do not like here. In terms of the rigor, it depends on the professor; some feel that the class should be taught at a university level, while others help you along a little more.

    Tips for prospective students

    For anyone planning to transfer to a 4-year university after your studies at OCC...make sure to plan your classes out before your first semester; talk to one of the counselors to make sure the classes that you want to take transfer beforehand in order to only take the classes you need and to get them done on time.

    In three sentences

    Oakland Community College is a good transition between high-school and a big-name university; you are close to home while taking classes, there are less distractions to derail you from your studies, but you are still given the same quality of education as a university. It's a great alternative for those not ready to leave home right after high school, or for those who cannot afford to go away from home.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs through OCC's student life program. Meet new friends and have a lot of fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food is not very good as of now, but they are currently rebuilding the student center and i hear they are putting a few restaurants in there.

    Dorm Life

    OCC does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Despite the bad rep OCC may still have to some people, the curriculum has gotten a lot better and the classes have become harder. OCC is definitely not just an easy way out. You will work for those high grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your credits will transfer before taking the class, and always use ratemyprofessor.com before registering.

    In three sentences

    Oakland Community College is a great place to start for someone looking to transfer later on, but doesn't have the money at the moment. Many classes can be taken at OCC to get prerequisites out of the way. Its a lot better than wasting money at a university when you can get the same great education at OCC.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always a few OCC police officers patrolling around. With such small campuses, there's no doubt that they catch almost everything going on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the Highland Lakes campus, Highland Hall used to be a TB hospital. Apparently the location was chosen because it was secluded, and those who were ill needed to be kept away from most people. My economics professor told us this during a lecture.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe OCC has the cheapest tuition in Michigan. If that's what you're looking for, this is an excellent school. The teaching is usually great. You certainly get a lot for your money here.

    What to do for fun

    Not much...considering this is a community college. I always ended up adventuring around the nearby towns, but not on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food options at OCC are pretty horrible. They offer some sandwiches, soup, snacks, coffee, etc. but it's nothing special.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at OCC!

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my courses were fairly easy. I definitely had to put some work into studying and completing assignments, but I rarely stressed about how I would finish everything in time. I'm sure higher-level classes require much more studying, but I never experienced that at OCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't skip class. Skipping class almost ensures that you will earn a worse grade than if you attended every day. Spend a lot of time in the library. The library is the perfect studying environment, and being there will motivate you to actually get some work done. Also, be on time for class. Being late for class is the worst.

    In three sentences

    Oakland Community College offers some great facilities, courses, and professors. Lower level courses here are very easy to succeed in, but a lot is learned still. This school offers many tools to help students succeed academically.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top Notch - the OCC police are part of the Oakland County Sheriff's department.

    Greek Life

    Honor Society for Community Colleges.

    Clubs and Activities

    Almost any interest is covered, from sports to academics.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Highland Lakes Campus has gorgeous, tree-lined paths and grounds with beautiful vistas.

    Bang for the buck

    Can't beat it ... about seventy dollars a credit.

    Academic Rigor

    OCC classes are challenging and insightful. Don't expect an easy ride. However, the help and comaraderie from your classmates is something to cherish.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the placement examinations offered to determine the right classes to take. See the counselors not only about what classes to take, but about any personal issues or circumstances might affect your ability to perform well academically.

    In three sentences

    OCC is a nurturing environment which provides both academic and personal support. OCC is an ideal alternative for a non-traditional getting back into the swing of things academicall. OCC is a great way to find out what you really enjoy and go for it.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the sporting events! There is a lot going on on-campus. Get involved!

    Food and Dining

    There are great snack options. The food court has good options, as well.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms so I don't really know.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the people attending are interested in getting good grades to achieve their degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask questions. There is no such thing as a dumb question. If you do not know, just ask. People are more than happy to answer or try to find the help you need.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are mostly open and truly interested in helping you achieve the grade you want. The class options and choices are great. The students are friendly and you can make friends in your classes easily.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you every have a problem campus safety will help out in tremendous ways.

    Greek Life

    I am not Greek or do I know much about Greek life. I an African American who lives for the community of better blacks.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you want to hangout go to the club or choose activities to do. If you study and party responsibly you can have great fun.

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for the type of student who loves fashion getting out to fashion shows.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At school there's extreme fashion and people with dreams. College shows what you can do with your life. People are looking for growth in school.

    Bang for the buck

    I guess keepung very good grades living on dorm and eating out with the aspect of self control can give you the bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    I think going to the museum is great fun for a person in college. The museum will help with you becoming a professional. Museums express great sucess with ambition and goals.

    Food and Dining

    In college studying and dining go hand and hand. If a group assignment meet out for lunch. I think eating out with work can complete better assignments.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived on campus in a dorm. Dorms are great for students because the student can study a lot better.

    Academic Rigor

    I do not know what rigor actually means but academic success is wanted. My g.p.a is below average but my grades are apart of progress. My academic challenges in improving is progressive in college.

    Tips for prospective students

    One important tip in being a prospective student is wanting to go to college. If I want to go to college the first step required is being a future student. I am a prospective student with great interest in being a graduate student.

    In three sentences

    I think Oakland County College is a school of higher learning. This college was very good in achieved goals with higher learning. Higher learning was accomplished and excellence was acquried from the whole staff.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the cafeteria or library, great place to meet people.

    Tips for prospective students

    tour the campus before your first day of classes. do a mock walk through of your daily schedule so you know the best way to get to your classes and where they are.

    In three sentences

    the campus is easily accessible. you never feel lost because all the buildings have a map of the campus and the buildings have their name on them.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The OCC campus police are frequently out securing the premises making sure all students and faculty are safe in the learning environment. Campus police are always checking the parking lots and all dark areas to make sure the campus grounds are safe. I feel safe on the OCC campus knowing the fact there is always someone around with my safety as their top priority.

    Greek Life

    The greek life is very lively varying from campus to campus. You can always find your favorite organizations around campus because of the various members wearing shirts and giving out information on how to become a member. Greek life entrance is never easy but the members of certain clubs make it so that you will be proud and worth giving yourself to a certain organization.

    Clubs and Activities

    The club activities are always noticeable and conveniently posted around campus so that you don't miss any of the exciting action going on at the school. OCC always offers various activities by weekly that may spark your interest, no two clubs are the same. Clubs are very fun to join around campus because the members are sociable and are very welcoming with warm spirits.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a math student they offer math tutoring for students in which if you are very good you can help others. As well as musical students the school offers various musical activities. Art students also can let their minds flow with the many different art work things they offer here on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I've never ventured to the highland lakes campus of OCC i believe that is an unusual location to put a school. The school is decorated every holiday. Every Halloween students dress up in costumes.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes here on campus are affordable compared to different colleges around Michigan. You will be to obtain vital information from all the classes that you take here at OCC. With classes being affordable the books are the most expensive things here on campus.

    What to do for fun

    They're many things to do on campus such as play basketball by gaining a gym membership. Students can attend the various activities going on around campus. Students can participate in the theater groups around campus to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ordinary. Nothing outside of a typical cafe. The large variety of snacks make it hard to narrow your choice down to one snack.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging. Teachers are always offering help to help students with these challenging course. The classes and work load are not that hectic but can be without proper planning and a dedication to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is here to help you. All information and upcoming events are located easily around campus for you to find without a hassle. The staff are friendly and help you so that your experience at OCC is easy and fun.

    In three sentences

    As a current student at Oakland Community College, this school really challenges its students as well as helps students strive at their best level. With all the resources accessible to the students to help succeed, OCC makes it easy and convenient to find and get all the information to do your best. I appreciate the sincerity of the teachers the most, they're always going the extra step to make sure and student isn't left behind.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always patrolling safety is never an issue!!

    Great for these types of students

    All!!!

    Bang for the buck

    If your looking for a place where your going to get your money worth and a challenge Oakland County Community College is the place for you. You will retain the information that is given to you because they go over it over and over again. They make sure once you make it out and your in field you wont be left out.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of extra activities and clubs for you to join.

    Food and Dining

    The food tends to be good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay on campus its a community college

    Academic Rigor

    Its great!!! 5

    Tips for prospective students

    Come there focus and ready to learn the material is there if you want it.

    In three sentences

    Oakland community college has been great to me. I have only been there 1 year but, the experience has been excepectional. I couldn't made a better choice.

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never once felt unsafe on any OCC campus. i always am seeing uniformed police around and i rarely hear of any crimes happening on campus. i give 148,000 % credit to this school for safety

    Clubs and Activities

    you can get involved in many different type of activities if you would like to

    Bang for the buck

    great prices at OCC, only $66 a credit hour

    What to do for fun

    there are many things around the campuses, the one in Royal Oak is in downtown area so there is always a lot to do!

    Food and Dining

    some campuses are better than others but i have never had trouble finding something tasty to eat

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you go talk to a counselor and they will help guide you on what classes to take, what major best fits you.

    In three sentences

    great school, the counselors are extremely helpful with anything you need. i always feel like my professors are there to help me learn and are willing to do anything to make that happen.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    35 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Oakland Community College has campus patrol and the sheriff department present on a daily basis.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of extra curricular activities available.

    Great for these types of students

    I would suggest Oakland Community College to anystudent that wants to further their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is three separate campuses through Oakland County, which makes it easy to find a campus nearby.

    Bang for the buck

    The price was inexspensive compared to major universities, and I was very pleased with the level of education that I received.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of student groups than one can get involved with. I participated in student life and we did activities such as: beach clean-ups, visited a homeless shelter, and mentored children.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria was nothing to brag about, but the culinary students would sell their bake goods. The bake goods were cheap and delicious.

    Academic Rigor

    I was extremely pleased with a humanities class I took. The professor had a PHD from Yale, and was extremely insightful. I will never forget him or materials from that class.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell prospective student not to be afraid to ask for additional help. The teachers are more than willing to meet with students and their were additional resources such as tutors that are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    The professors at Oakland Community College were very knowledgeable in the field. The instructors were more that willing to help students get a passing grade. Also, the campus was well kept-cleaned and maintained well.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police is always on campus. So it is always safe!

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    No one really joins the clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Free Tutoring and average size classes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Welcome week

    Bang for the buck

    Books are overpriced, but the tuition is perfect!

    What to do for fun

    Nothing really, OCC is not an social school

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeand vending machine is overpriced. Only good thing is the starbucks that they have on campus that is worth your money.

    Dorm Life

    Sadly there is no dorm life :(

    Academic Rigor

    There might be some distractions in the classes, but overall the academics are perfect here

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to all your class sessions it will help ypu out in the long run! Also, go to the free tutoring. Last but certainly not least go see your counselor to make sure you are on track for transferring and graduation!

    In three sentences

    Oakland Community College is a good school. There is free tutoring which is very helpful and rewarding. The professors are always there to help and the average classroom size is perfect.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have seen officers parked outside plenty of times to ensure the safety of the students on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who like classes with small amounts of students.

    Bang for the buck

    Oakland Community College gave me the chance to go to school and get good education without having to pay an extreme amount of money per credit hour.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very well set up and the food is not like high school cafeterias. There is quality food and reasonable pricing.

    Dorm Life

    Oakland Community College does not have dorms or resident halls for students to stay on campus. All students usually rent apartments, stay at home and commute from prospective residents.

    Academic Rigor

    The challenge at Oakland Community College comes from the courses you take. Just as it would be if you went to any other school. I believe that the classes at OCC are just as good as the classes from any university, just smaller classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you would like to attend Oakland Community College, I would suggest going to the Orchard Ridge campus in Farmington Hills. It is a really big campus and it gives you the feel of a university just because it is a nice campus.

    In three sentences

    I give Oakland Community College a 4. They have smaller classes which make me feel more comfortable to learn. I also got to pick and choose my own schedule which was great because I go to school around my time.

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security on duty during all school hours

    Bang for the buck

    You can get all of the same freshman classes you do in major universities for a quarter of the price.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of extracurricular activities to do including clubs and sports.

    Food and Dining

    There is some decent food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    You are expected to turn in homework on time and to work your hardest to earn the grades you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    OCC is like any other school when it comes to work. Work hard and get your homework turned in on time, oh, and don't forget to study.

    In three sentences

    Oakland Community College is a welcoming college with very fair tuition fees and great teaching. I've looked at many different community colleges and this on was by far the best in my opinion. On top of all of that, the campus is only 7 minutes from my house!

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get your finanical aid done before the due date because they do not answer the phone for any reason no matter what it is. The department is Financial Aid.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 65

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Overall Oakland Community College is a great school. IT gives you the opportunity to get further in my education.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always around campus you have the campus police and the police department down the street no worries.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a few

    Bang for the buck

    Nope just a small community school

    What to do for fun

    Nothing really but meet new people and go to the mall and other places around the school.

    Food and Dining

    the cafe is great just got remolded and it looks great.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    You got some teachers thats there just for the check and others there to help and earn there check.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work, there are many people there to help you out just do your work and attend every class because if you do not your grade will drop and you will have more problems.

    In three sentences

    The school i attend is Orchard Ridge, the campus is very nice it is kind of like an university. The teachers are nice and they love to help well at least some of them do. I love the open life there if you can attend the campus and see for yourself.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police EVERYWHERE!

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    great for students who have an undecided major or want to knock out general education courses out of the way.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap classes.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't really anything to do for fun. Drive there, go to class, go home.

    Food and Dining

    No food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are very rude.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect much. I didn't make any friends, not because im shy but because everyone is so closed off. Not a very community feeling place.

    In three sentences

    I think it's a good school if you have no idea what you plan on going into. It gives you a variety of things to learn about, but if you already know what you want to do i dont recommend it for you. Not a very community feel.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have never had a problem with safety. There are always police officers patrolling the campus

    Great for these types of students

    self-motivated students, those who want to transfer to a expensive private university can save time by attending college here. get pre-reqs out of the way. those looking for vocational training

    Bang for the buck

    Great price.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the students are commuter students but if you want to have fun, join some clubs like the phi theta kappa

    Food and Dining

    Not great

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Usually depends on the professor you have, some professors push you hard but others are very easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school before starting classes, get help if needed, (there is a great tutoring center), stay ahead of the game (be proactive when it comes to registration for classes)

    In three sentences

    flexible, cheap, interesting

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I often see police offers patrolling around.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to save money and take the exact same classes as other students in their first two years of college.

    Bang for the buck

    The #1 reason for attending OCC and then transferring to a 4-year institution is the price of classes.

    What to do for fun

    OCC does offer clubs/sports, although I haven't looked into these.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe area is fairly small (at the auburn hills campus at least), so many people head out to local restaurants/fast food areas fairly close to campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorming that I am aware of.

    Academic Rigor

    OCC has the common misconception of being an easy alternative to a 4-year university. This is simply not true. You can take hard classes if you choose to. You can take a blow-off class at a 4-year university, or you can take a challenging class at a 4-year university, the same rule applies for community colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    I strongly recommend going to a community college for your first year or two. If you make sure that all of the credits you take transfer, you will be saving thousands of dollars, and be taking the exact same classes as people at 4-year universities.

    In three sentences

    Oakland Community College is a great way to save money and transition into college. You can take classes that will transfer to a 4-year institution, and save thousands of dollars for your first two years of college. Also, many students go here to boost their grades before attending a 4-year school.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I do not know of the safety policy but when there is an emergency, you can sign up for there emergency app on line to let you know of any alerts.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not know of any clubs or activities at OCC

    Great for these types of students

    This school is just for people who may want to start off small and work there way up. Going to community college would be good on your pockets.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is none

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is very affordable, for those who have low in comes, your financial aid will surely cover the cost of school.

    What to do for fun

    There is nothing really to do, just join an elective to keep you active.

    Food and Dining

    There is not much of a dining area but there is food.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so of course there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the teachers are easy going and they are easy to pass, with dedication in finishing your homework, and passing your quizzes you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to research the schools before you attend. Set a private meeting with the counselors of the school to get a private tour, this is if you have already graduated high school, if not apply to different school tours.

    In three sentences

    Nice, encouraging, and relaxing

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is always around

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students

    Bang for the buck

    Its totally worth going to Oakland Community College first to get your 2 year degree and than transfer to a 4 year college.

    What to do for fun

    Student life is full of activities for students to get there hands on.

    Dorm Life

    Oakland Community College doesn't have dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think, just because it a Community College its going to be easy and you shouldn't take it seriously. Because you should. Community College is the opening door to a 4 year school and sometimes, much harder.

    In three sentences

    Oakland Community College is great for people who are not sure of what they want to do yet, but still want to go to college. The teachers here are amazing. Its a nice transistor from high school to college and into a University.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is excellent . At the farmington hills campus , there are mainly two police officers with cars guns , tasers, pepper spray , you name it , ready to get the job down. They are not your typical rent -a- cops that just sit around , they patrol every building , hallway , and parking lot , to make sure teachers , students , faculty, and anyone else who visits the campus is safe.

    Greek Life

    OCC has a greek life , but I have never par-taken in it.

    Clubs and Activities

    OCC has many clubs and activate but I haven't partaken in any at all.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for single mothers, anyone getting back in school , retraining from job , incentive package from boss if you took a buyout, Business , medical , culinary , english major , pre-legal

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This campus has a theatre where plays are hosted and seminars as well . For example last year Magic Johnson came and spoke , and the news came to cover the event.

    Bang for the buck

    Class have gone up but are mostly $70 a credit hour. Cheap Indeed ! I have saved a ton of money going here and have accumulated 84 credits , which allowed me to obtain my associates degree in business. I would recommend attending a community college before going to a university or other highly accredited institution because over 80% of the credits you take in the freshman and sophomore year of college are transferable from a community college. In simpler terms Why pay 5,000 for a new honda when you can get the same car at an auction for 500 ?.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun at OCC. For example at the Farmington Hills campus is HUGE ! Classes are divided in to Different Buildings going all the way up to the letter M this being the the main campus I have attended other than royal oak I have found that this campus has given me that college full I would have gotten from a university otherwise. In the basement of J building , the basement has totally been redesigned as a student enertainment center with lounge couches flat screen tv's , outlets for electronics , tables and desk to do homework and eat ,new lighting and tile , everything its wonderful and beautiful. This are is also centered near the Star bucks , and is perfect for

    Food and Dining

    Oakland Community has 5 locations , Southfield , Farmington Hills , Auburn Hills , Highland Lakes , and Royal Oak Respectively. The Auburn hills campus has a pizza hut on site , The Royal Oak and Farmington Hills Campuses have a star bucks affiliate inside, and Farmington Hills also has an onsite Papa Johns and a five star culinary department that serves excellent dishes . For example the department makes a great cuban rib eye sandwich ; You can get a great meal for under 10 bucks that is nutritious and delicious

    Dorm Life

    Community College so no dorms. No dorm life is the only downside of commuting to college.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending Upon Your Major and Instructor , courses can be rigorous or easy. For example I took Japanese and Accounting in one semseter , as well as Chinese , Accounting , and Biology in the fall of 2012 , so once again depending on your schedule class work can be easy or hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research professors on www.ratemyprofessor.com before attending a course . Make sure teachers have good reviews. If you work and go to school full time make sure to balance your schedule so you arent overstressed.

    In three sentences

    Excellent school overall. Best place to get an education in michigan post university or other highly accredited institution. Greatest place to learn meet and experience new people period.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i see campus police monitoring the parking lots

    Bang for the buck

    you defiantly save money by getting your gen eds here

    What to do for fun

    i generally hangout with my friends

    Food and Dining

    at a few of the campuses they have a cafeteria which is really good

    Dorm Life

    i live at home which is an amazing bonus because i'm saving so much money on room and board, plus mom does the laundry lol

    Tips for prospective students

    i would recommend going on to rate my professor before committing to a class. some classes can be as long as 4 hours so you want to make sure who ever you professor is, that they are going to be able to have your attention.

    In three sentences

    i feel as though Oakland Community College has really helped me get into a college/university mind set. they have great teachers and many different study facilities. the staff is very helpful as well.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is fair compared to MSU or Michigan or private schools.

    What to do for fun

    Not much.

    Food and Dining

    Dorm cafeteria is terrible.

    Dorm Life

    Food is awful, dorms are pretty old, they are building a new dorm hall which should be an upgrade though.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are difficult but there are plenty of resources to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would consider Oakland better than Central Michigan or Western unless you're looking for a party school, which OU is not.

    In three sentences

    Oakland University is an excellent choice, the campus is very nice, and the surrounding area is extremely safe and an overall nice community. The school itself is top notch, professors care about you and do everything they can to help. Tutoring opportunities are plentiful, as well as supplemental instruction.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    All of the campuses have cafeterias that sell your everyday grab n' go food, however, the Orchard Ridge campus offers great dining experiences with the food prepared by the students in the culinary arts program.

    Dorm Life

    No live on campus options at this college.

    Tips for prospective students

    TIp: Always register early to ensure u have the classes you desire.

    In three sentences

    OCC is a great community college. I have graduated last year and really don't want to leave. I wish they offered higher degree levels.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have public safety on every campus and patrolling the campus for your safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many diverse clubs and organization's.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students of all time they have certifications for jobs they have transfer programs and they have associate programs.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap and very great learning institution.

    What to do for fun

    Be apart of a club. Go outdoor and experience the opportunity that college provide to you.

    Food and Dining

    They have a great culinary arts program and they have great food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms so you live where you want.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of these professors also teach at Many of the surrounding big universities. My psych Professor taught U of M before coming here he says he teaches the same lecture the only difference is we pay less.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest around the first year after getting your Gen Ed's that you really focus on what you want to pursue.

    In three sentences

    Oakland Community College is a great starting school if you plan on transferring out they have many programs here. If you don't plan on transferring and just want to get an Associate degree this would be the place for you. Never have I seen a place so diverse in programs.

  • 09/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do for fun around OCC, i prefer to create study groups and focus on my schooling.

    In three sentences

    Oakland Community College is a great place to go! The academics there are amazing and the teachers are devoted to teaching the students and focusing on them! Also, Community College is an amazing way to save thousands of dollars when going to college!

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I enjoy reading. I swim. I roller skate. I play my guitar. I like hanging out with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    I eat at home

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    I enjoyed the 1st semester. some of the classes were hard, however some of the teachers were very helpful. Then there were other classes like chemistry that were difficult. However I passed all of my classes! I felt good about that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find out the rules regarding maintaining your GPA especially if you have a scholarship. The financial aid office will not tell you. Make sure you get a good counselor. You don't want to take unnecessary classes.

    In three sentences

    I like OCC however they fail to tell the students all they need to know. For instance my GPA fell and I learned that is not good the hard way. This is my 1st time ever attending college. At OCC you need to stay on top of your counselor and your finance It's a good school that you have to really watch everything especially if you are a 1st time student. I was not informed of a lot.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not a lot, but there's things every once and a while

    Food and Dining

    Occ, the orchard ridge campus has a culinary class there and the culinary students prepare tasty meals.

    Dorm Life

    Community college, no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Work very hard, no one ever said college was easy. Occ is one of the best community college. With good teachers. I don't really disliked the environment.

    In three sentences

    For most people, they may love this school but I did not. It is a very confusing place in my opinion. Being at this school you are very much alone and talked to as if you been there for years. Not a school for me.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always police officers on campus. I feel very safe while at school.

    Great for these types of students

    OCC is great for the undecided, academically challenged, returning adults, single parents, or anyone wanting to save money on their education.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is great! The financial aid sucks though.

    What to do for fun

    I honestly have no idea what there is to do for fun because there is little information given about clubs, activities, and events.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is decent. One of the campuses has pizza hut, which is nice.

    Dorm Life

    This is not applicable as OCC does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The student body at Oakland Community College strives to do their best. Everyone is there for the same reason. It's rare to find a slacker.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely suggest this school if you are looking to obtain an associate's degree before attending university, if you struggle with learning, or need a school that will work with you. Register for classes early, they fill up fast!

    In three sentences

    Choosing to attend Oakland Community College is probably the best decision I will make as a student. The staff are wonderful, there is a wide range of programs and courses, as well as a magnificent student body. This school motivates me to strive for my absolute best while pursing my education.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    We don't have many options when it comes to our food on campus, I personally do not eat on campus because of that.

    Dorm Life

    Currently I am not living on campus, but its cool from what I hear. I would have loved to stay on campus but I can not afford that.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is all about education and having all the students prepared. My teachers helps me when I need it, they really push you to go further in life.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    57 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Always have a Annual Student Appreciation Day.

    Food and Dining

    They do not have a huge selection for food. However, they have a Starbucks inside and great surrounding restaurants.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you ask question about your professor before taking a class.

    In three sentences

    The Royal Oak campus is a small campus so, it is easy to find classes. It is very diverse. They have great classes and professors to choose from.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't want to be in debt!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the small amount of money you spend here.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the OCC campuses have game room to take a break from studying!

    Food and Dining

    Most campuses include a café area where you can buy coffee and snacked goods.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in OCC's nursing program and I hear it is just as tough as the universities. As for prerequisite classes I hear that OCC's are easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should definitely see a counselor. There are many students that don't get into programs because they did not complete all of the necessary items in order to be qualified for program.

    In three sentences

    Oakland community college is not only a great starter college but a great college to earn a degree. Tuition prices are substantially lower then universities. Career counselors do an amazing job at preparing students for success.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    OCC-Royal Oak has a little cafeteria and vending machines. It is also in walking distance of many restaurants in Royal Oak.

    Dorm Life

    OCC-Royal Oak does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    OCC is not super rigorous, but higher credit classes are more difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll in your classes early because if you wait, it difficult to get into the class you want. The final week of registration can be crowded, so pack your patience. Sign up early, and you will be fine.

    In three sentences

    I started attending OCC-Royal Oak part time this fall. I loved my professor, who cared about her students and their success. It is a small local college with a helpful staff.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Oakland Community College has a great system set up now where they send out mass texts, phone calls, and emails if there is a emergency or the campus is closed. This is very helpful to everyone now that almost everyone has their phone on them. Another system is they have emergency phone booths outside the building if you are not to have your phone and need to report something. Not just this system but security guards are around campus at all times for our safety.

    Food and Dining

    I attend the Orchard Ridge campus and have been in the cafe, I don't feel the food is gross but not the best quality. Papa Johns pizza is served and Starbucks drinks made but they are not close to the quality of the real stores. They also serve specials, your basic fried foods, and sandwiches/wraps. When you order do expect to wait about 10 min. for your food, they seem to be very slow and may only have one actual cook in the back. If you plan to eat in the cafe don't expect quality.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus because it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I can't completely rate this category because I have only been at the college for my first semester going into my second. I do have to say that so far the academics have been great, and many people like the teaching styles of the staff. All of my classes I have had so far have been a success, and for the most part low stress. Which isn't common in most colleges.

    In three sentences

    Oakland Community College is a great school with top notch staff. Easy to find your way around the college and everyones open to helping. They have a variety of interesting majors to choose from, I would recommend attending.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    61 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    OCC took safety very seriously. Every student had a college email and anytime there was an incident, we'd receive an email advising caution. There are also emergency/security buttons around the campus, in addition to patrolling officers. Lastly, while I was a teacher's aid the program managers gave us training on how to protect our fellow students and help teachers in emergencies.

    Clubs and Activities

    I never had time for clubs but I always saw activist groups, bands, and saw theater performance fliers.

    Great for these types of students

    Students fresh out of high school, high school students that are getting a head-start on college courses, and adults that are changing your careers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Their secret, student-run cafe. Its hidden away near the cafeteria. So its not that well known, there for nice and quiet and attracts the pleasant crowd.

    Bang for the buck

    OCC is a community college so it is definitely not as expensive as your average university. As I said before, its a good place to start, then transfer from. They also have a very nice school store that had very good prices.

    What to do for fun

    There were theater and musical performances, as well as art shows. They also had a very nice student-run cafe that I visited a few times.

    Food and Dining

    I usually brought my own lunch or went right home after class. I did eat there once or twice and I was satisfied enough.

    Dorm Life

    OCC doesn't have a dorm. So no opinion.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you research your teachers before you enroll in classes and pick the best, you will have all the help you need and they will help you do your very best.

    Tips for prospective students

    After checking to verify OCC offers your program, go straight to the counselors office. All of them are great and will get you started and put you on the right track to success.

    In three sentences

    These colleges are easy first steps into the world. You get your feet wet in the life of a college student and the teachers help you toward your dreams. OCC is a great place to start your college education.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Very good for students who may not know what they want to do in college or even for students who already know what they want to do but may not have the funds to go to a university yet.

    In three sentences

    The school is very well organized. All of the professors that I have had have been very helpful and always offer help when needed. They have a very helpful tutoring system for students who need extra help or may not understand a particular area in their class subject.

  • 02/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is extremely safe! There are always police cars driving around on campus. The police officers are real police officers from different areas form around the campus that take shifts monitoring Oakland Community College. I have not seen or heard of any crimes since I have been there.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on this campus because you cannot live on campus. I believe there are a few clubs the school offers and I know there are always activities running.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not sure about the amount of clubs the school offers but there are always activities running. There are many speakers who attend the campus during the night, movies to watch, dinners, and golf outings.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any student who wants to earn a degree in any subject. This is an amazing starter school and is helps build the foundation students need when they leave high school and are no longer being babied or watched every step of the way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not seen any of these yet but it could be because its so cold outside or because I am not part of the club or group.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are actually pretty cheap per credit hour. Currently I am taking 13 credits which can add up. I like how the classes are cheaper but this doesn't mean the professors are any less qualified than those at other colleges or universities. I am currently trying to take as many credits as I can at Oakland Community College as I can before I transfer to Bowling Green State University and the tuition cost increases. Oakland Community College also offers free tutors to you advantage that are always available and online help or support if needed.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I enjoy meeting up with some friends in my classes and studying for the next exam. Near the Orchard Ridge campus there is a sub shop called Jersey Mike's that most students are usually at. The school will often times have different speakers or classes going on at night for people to attend. These classes are fun to go to and learn about different topics.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great at Oakland Community College. The students studying to be a chief will often times be working there for practice before they graduate. They are very helpful in assisting you find what interests you. I enjoy eating in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms on campus. This seems like a bummer but they have multiple campuses in all different areas that this makes it convenient for everyone. They don't need to have a dorm because it will still be close to them. This will also help them save money.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are tough but manageable. The professors are very understanding of things that may come up and they want you to pass their class. In my classes I always have homework or something I should be working on to be prepared for the next class. I like this because it keeps me on task and I continue to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few tips for prospective students would be to complete the work assigned on time, plan to get on campus ten minutes early because you will be walking far, enjoy learning, make friends and create study groups because they are a huge help, and remember to be respectful to the teacher and other classmates. These tips are easy to follow and it makes class and the work that goes with it a lot much more enjoyable for everyone.

    In three sentences

    Oakland Community College is a great school with helpful, educated professors and overall staff. Oakland Community College is set up to help students reach the full potential and succeed in life. This college has changed me as a student; I enjoy going to class, I want to learn, and doing the homework assigned doesn't feel like a chore anymore.

  • 02/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safetey is always patroling the school buildings and parking lot. At night I feel safe walking to and from my vehicle because I know public safety is always close by.

    Bang for the buck

    As a student that pays out of pocket this school is giving me all the tools I need to succeed in my change of career.

    What to do for fun

    OCC has a lot of fun on campus events, talents shows, open mic nights, karaoke nights, and different contests. You can also check out sports games.

    Food and Dining

    If I am on campus all day there are a lot of great choices of restaurants to choose from. They also have delicious healthy options!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers challenge you as a student and they always welcome questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are undecided about attending a college/university. OCC is a great beginners experience. If you are thinking about changing careers meet with a counselor, they are well prepared to answer all questions.

    In three sentences

    Is a great school for student's who are new to college and students who are changing careers. They have counselors and tutors that are willing to help you succeed and reach your goals. The professors make sure you understand your course work by encouraging students to ask questions.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe at the OCC campuses. There are always campus police driving around, plus the OCC campuses I've been to have been in good areas.

    Greek Life

    I have not looked into OCC's greek life and I'm not sure if they have one.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not joined or looked into any clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for every student. I would recommend taking the first two years of college at a community college since it is so much cheaper than a university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing I've noticed so far.

    Bang for the buck

    SOOOO GOOOOD! OCC is SO cheap, it's such a great option.

    What to do for fun

    There are programs at school which students can do for fun, but since OCC is a community college, there is not a lot to do other than that. I have not looked into what to do for fun around OCC. I know the campus in Royal Oak is around tons of bars and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    Food is average at OCC. There are coffee bars at every campus I've been to and usually a food bar as well. The food at OCC is not very great, but there are fast food options all over the place.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm option at OCC. It is solely a commuter school. You must live on your own if you attend OCC.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics do not seem tremendously hard at OCC, but I am not going to school full time so it's hard for me to say. I find the classes I do take at OCC to be easier than at a University. So far I think the academic rigor is average.

    Tips for prospective students

    OCC is the best because the prices are cheap and in my opinion, the classes are easier than they would be at a university. Being able to pay for classes as I go is a HUGE plus for me. The less student loans, the better.

    In three sentences

    Oakland Community College is awesome so far, the teachers are great, the classes are extremely educational, and the classroom sizes are small. I thoroughly enjoy OCC and find the classroom setting to enhance the learning experience. I have never had such great teachers who actually enjoy their jobs and care about the students.