Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Oakton Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you are doing + you should know which degree you are seeking from this college!

    Bang for the buck

    This college saved me a bunch of money+ the scholarship i am getting helps me a lot finacially.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes, because the facilities I am getting in this community is almost the same as in a 4 years of college.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are great and i do enjoy my time here! They have learning center where students can go and study with tutors.

  • 12/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you took a year off, not sure what you want to do, have a disability, have problems focusing on what you need to do, like small class numbers, and don't feel like commuting too far from home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a look at each campus to see which one you like.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth the money for the education, though I wish they'd put more money into the physics department's budget. They need new equipment!

    Am enjoying being here

    It's hard to socialize here because everyone has their own cliques from high school... Actually it feels like I'm still in high school sometimes, but for the most part people here are very agreeable and polite. Also, amazing burgers hahaha.

    Am learning a lot

    Though some of the general education courses can become tedious, some teacher profoundly want you to walk away with at least a new grain of knowledge by the end of their lecture. Courses like World Mythology and General Physics are great to take if you're curious on how the world works behind the scenes.

  • 04/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone. I have seen so many different types of people, culturally, socially, and age-wise. Anyone who isn't a snob about universities, because those tend to be the students who fail here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to take advantage of all of your resources! And don't expect it to be easy just because it's a two-year. Seek out the best teachers--ask someone who goes and who is interested in the same subjects as you, because there are some fantastic instructors (as well as some less than fantastic instructors). I think the professors really make the difference.

    Bang for the buck

    Needless to say, much cheaper than going to a university! Especially because Oakton is well recognized for being on par in many cases with university classes. You get the challenge, with a smaller class size, and for less than $2,000 a year--and there is plenty of financial aid available. I've literally made thousands of dollars in extra financial aid, because they send you the difference in a check.

    Am enjoying being here

    I think it's a great experience, if you're willing to go the distance. There are some students here who don't have any direction whatsoever, and sometimes it shows. However, there is no limit to the opportunities and support that you get here, if you decide to seek it out.

    Am learning a lot

    I am primarily a student in both the life sciences and art departments, and the experience here has been incomparable. Our science departments are really second to none, especially for a community college, mainly because Oakton has a fantastic nursing program. We have access to cadavers for our anatomy classes, which even some universities cannot boast! I have been an artist my entire life as well, but I have never learned so much about art before.

  • 02/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    for the most part, safety on campus is pretty good. there are security guards that patrol the hallways and when something happens, it doesn't get unnoticed by the student population.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs at oakton. some of them are about helping the community, others are about student interests or games. there's also student government, events and guests that come to talk at the school, and auditions for plays. as mentioned above, there are sports teams.

    Great for these types of students

    recent high school graduates, exchange students, those who are going back to school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the des plaines campus is in the middle of a forest preserve. i've also heard there's a water treatment center nearby, though i've never seen it.

    Bang for the buck

    tutition isn't as bad as it is at other colleges. it depends on the class you sign up for though. also, textbooks can be a little expensive, even if they are used.

    What to do for fun

    oakton has many clubs, kinda like high school. there are also a few sports teams. des plaines has a theater department, so there are plays happening every other month.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeterias at both campuses are fairly small. sometimes, it's hard to find a place to sit depending on time of day or if they're offering tutoring sessions in there.

    Academic Rigor

    you need to maintain a 2.0 gpa and keep it up, otherwise you automatically get placed on academic probation.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard-it is much harder than high school. i find myself studying a good eight to ten hours per week. take good notes, pay attention in class, and make sure all the work gets done on time. if you ever fall behind, it can be really difficult to get your grades back up.

    In three sentences

    it's a small college that has campuses in both des plaines and skokie. most students attend for nursing, business or go straight out of high school.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    great

    Dorm Life

    oakton does not have dorms.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    oakton community college does not have any unusual tradition

    Bang for the buck

    student that going to oakton community college are get a good education for what they paid for.

    What to do for fun

    student at oakton community college can do a lot at the college like go on the computer or talk to friend in the cafe before class.

    Food and Dining

    oakton community college has many good choices that you can choices to eat ate and it is a good prices to buy

    Dorm Life

    oakton community college do not have dorm that you can go to live

    Academic Rigor

    the class at oakton community college are challenge but if you study for the assignment that you will have during your class you will do fine. professor are always will to help you out

    Tips for prospective students

    student that are going to oakton community college should do well on there act testing. study well in school so that you do not struggle in college.

    In three sentences

    oakton community college is a good school for student that are just start college. because it as much good service for the student to use so they can have a success education.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    oakton community college has many clubs and activities for students to get involved in. for example, they have plays, job opportunities, and leadership meetings are fun to be in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i always used to meet a group of my friends in the cafeteria and we would all play a card game, called uno. we had a blast together making up our own rules. it was nice to have a fun break in between classes.

    Bang for the buck

    i am trying my hardest to save my money every time i receive my paycheck. i want to give everything i earn to the school that i plan on transferring, which is kendall college.

    What to do for fun

    i love baking desserts for fun, especially cakes. i am known for creating specialty cakes are a present for a special occasion. i can honestly say that baking is my passion.

    Food and Dining

    i think that oakton community college has a wide variety of food choices in the cafeteria. i love visiting new restaurants and trying new foods because it let's me have a little taste of the world. i plan on traveling across the globe to experience authentic food when i am older.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at oakton community college. it is not a hassle for me at all to commute there because i travel about 5 minutes from the des plaines location. i love that it is very convenient for me.

    Academic Rigor

    i love how in some of my classes, we have deep discussions on each topic. it makes students want to explore and makes us eager to learn about that situation because everything we learn will somehow help us in the future in the outside world.

    Tips for prospective students

    students who will be attending oakton community college should expect themselves to be contained with knowledge by some of the best professors known. they have the strong desire to teach students and to make sure they succeed in life.

    In three sentences

    i personally feel that oakton community college is a school full of unique people. as i pass by students like me, they carry things like instruments and artwork to show others what they are passionate about. that is what i love about college: we are are ready to take that leap to success.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards and officers patrolling the campus day and night.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who doesn't want to spend thousands going away. Try Oakton. You can pay less while living at home. Great start to get you ready for the 4-year Universities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a few. You have to wait till you attend.

    Bang for the buck

    No an expensive school. One class cost about $280 compared to your average university rate of $3,000.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of fun days plained. Ice Cream Socials, different guest speakers, and raffles.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. It is simply unlike attending a University.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at this school but they do provide hang out spots.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work in not bad. It is average college work. You have to be committed to doing it and make sure you keep up. If you don't understand something, please go to the Tutoring lab or ask your instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come into school with the mind set to work. Don't play around or miss a lot of days of class. These things can affect your overall chances of getting recommendation from staff.

    In three sentences

    This is a great Community College to attend. Close to home, inexpensive, and great staff who work with their students to help them succeed.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can't turn a corner or enter a hallway without running into a Public Safety Officer. That being said, they can't catch everyone who chooses to disregard the speed limit. If you're waiting for whether I feel safe when I'm at school? YES. And if you really desire further information, please feel free to visit the following OCC link: http://www.oakton.edu/about/officesanddepartments/public_safety/safety_emergency/crime_statistics/index.php.

    Greek Life

    The Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society summarizes Oakton's Greek life. Membership is fairly exclusive and must be earned with outstanding academic performance. That being said, once in, you're in forever, providing students with partnerships and friendships for life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Whether you're an astronomer, dancer, hippie, future lawyer, or something entirely different, Oakton has over 50 clubs to choose from. And if for some reason none of them seem to tickle your fancy, start your own!

    Great for these types of students

    ALL students!!! To be totally honest, I wouldn't attend just for an Associate's degree. Oakton's definitely better suited to attainment of general education classes for transfer to a university. Saves you lots money and you get to stay with mom and dad for a little bit longer! That being said, whatever type of student you are, no matter what kind of education you are looking for, you won't leave Oakton dissatisfied.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The circular outdoor dining area off the lake. What some might consider unusual, I call GORGEOUS. And if you bring something exceptionally tasty for lunch, you might make a few chipmunks friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Two grand a semester is significantly less that twenty. I'd say that's way more than just bang for your buck. If you know where you want to transfer after Oakton, even better! You'll end up only taking the exact classes your future university wants and save even MORE money for yourself.

    What to do for fun

    GET INVOLVED! Everywhere you look, you will find notices and pamphlets for clubs and organization meetings or upcoming events. So go to one! The worst that could happen is that you'll love it and end up coming back :)

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines around every corner and in every student lounge, along with a cafeteria equipped with amazing grilled chicken sandwiches, ten different Tazo teas, microwaves and more vending machines, and fresh coffee every morning.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here... Be ready to commute! The good news? Two words: BUS. PASS.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class and the instructor. If you're planning on doing the Honors Program (which I highly recommend), be prepared to challenge yourself to bypass your own expectations. In other words, you will produce phenomenal, fulfilling work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know where you're transferring after. If you don't know yet, do not take specialized classes because they most likely will prove unnecessary to your future university. The good news? There's PLENTY of gen eds to choose from!

    In three sentences

    AWESOME. AWESOME. And, oh yeah!, AWESOME.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there is the chess club, ptk, .

    Great for these types of students

    if don't know what you want to do , it is the place to be. If you know what you want, you finish in time without wasting money.if you like to explore, this is the place to be

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    the quality at Oakton is so high you forget it is very cheap

    What to do for fun

    class, believe me, can be fun. Outside of class, activities like tennis, basketball, soccer, etc

    Food and Dining

    it not great, but it is manageable

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    very challenging depending on your major.The physics department and mathematics department is the best because i am a science student.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't hold back.explore every activity

    In three sentences

    Best college to find yourself. It is diverse, welcoming and very cheap compared to the standard of teaching. great school

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The area where oakton is located at is a really safe neighborhood (des plaines)

    Greek Life

    Oakton does not have any sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    Oakton have an nearly endless list of clubs to join. From Astronomy club all the way to Gardening clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Student who are trying to save money. Students who are interested in smaller campus'. Students that enjoy diverse atmospheres.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have this hallway called student street and there are always clubs performing or giving food or holding bake sales along with many University representatives.

    Bang for the buck

    Oakton Community College is a really great idea if you are trying to save money. It's really smart to go to Oakton if you're planning on attending a four year college after because of all the money you'll save. One semester costs around $1,300. Great for finishing up your gen eds.

    What to do for fun

    Theres a forest right across the street. And there is always events going on in and outside of school

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has a lot of great food options. They have a Pizza Hut booth. Their burgers and cheese sticks are good too.

    Dorm Life

    Oakton does not have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    good

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow the general education course list they have online because the counselors suck.

    In three sentences

    Oakton gets you prepared for the real world. There is a lot of leniency within the school. Better than I expected

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    None

    Food and Dining

    Campus is separated into two, one at Golfmil and Skokie but one at skokie is really bad..

    Dorm Life

    I did not dorm so don't take my word for it

    Academic Rigor

    It is not that hard, just do your best

    Tips for prospective students

    Better keep yourself on your toes when it comes to transferring cause advisers are not always helpful.

    In three sentences

    Good college but once you are in, it is hard to get out.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I think the tuition is reasonable for a great community college. They also provide great financial aid for students who are in need.

    What to do for fun

    At Oakton, there really isn't much you can do for fun. Yes, they do have festivals during the fall and sometimes provides entertainment in the cafe.

    Food and Dining

    I think the food is horrible here. They provide mostly fattening foods and barely anything veggie for the vegetarians. Every time I walk through the cafe, I feel as if I am getting grease all over my body. Plus, the prices for food is outrageous.

    Dorm Life

    There are NO dorms. Oakton is a commuting college.

    Academic Rigor

    I gave this institution four stars because there are professors here that will treat you as if you are students at a university; which in my opinion, I believe this is very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always attend classes and study. Not all professors will be lenient towards their students. If you have a long day, bring a snack or lunch to refuel your energy; classes can get long and tiring.

    In three sentences

    Oakton Community College is very open to new students and always provides help when needed. They also have great faulty and professors. Not only did this school give me the opportunity to prepare myself for a university, but helped me learn more about myself as a person and student.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. we have security making sure everything is going good.

    Bang for the buck

    the school is very affordable and there is always many scholarships or financial aid available.

    What to do for fun

    What i like is that there is always something going on at Oakton. In the Cafeteria they sometimes have activities going on. there is always tables of vendors selling jewelry, clothes, purses, and other things. they all come on different days. sometimes there are stations that are giving away free things like a necklace with a rice in it with the name of your choice, free food like apples with your choice of toppings.

    Food and Dining

    Oakton has a good amount of variety of food. They have a deli station where you could make your own sub or pick from the ones on the menu. They have a pizza hut and the area where there is a daily special. they also have cheeseburgers, chicken tenders, grilled chicken sandwich and many more. they also have a salad station. there are many drinks to pick from. there is the soda machine or Naked drinks, Starbucks drinks, sobe, etc.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Oakton since its a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be difficult depends on the person. Classes are required to have a certain number of written papers. Professors mix it up and some assign presentations or all papers. The classes arent really hard because if you have any questions the professors are willing to help. There are many places you could get help such as the learning center.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that you look at the catalog online before the registration starts because main classes such as math, science, English, etc. fill up fast. Meeting with an advisor is very helpful because they will help you and tell you what classes you would need to take and what will transfer.

    In three sentences

    I loved going to Oakton Community College because it has such a good atmosphere. The students are diverse there are students all ethnicity and students of different age groups. The professors are very good at teaching and they are helpful and willing to meet with you if you have any questions.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe because campus police is always around

    Greek Life

    One that I know of: Phi Theta Kappa (academic frat)

    Clubs and Activities

    Offers clubs and activities within a wide range of major (school newspaper, health science, engineering club, education services, study abroad)

    Great for these types of students

    Students that don't know what they want to major in or want to save money

    Bang for the buck

    AMAZING tuition price. Saved a ton of money by going here

    What to do for fun

    Walk to the prairie reserve (because Oakton is situated on a flood plain) and have lunch there, attend the theatrical performances and sporting events

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay within the school but there are plenty of restaurants in downtown Des Plaines and the surrounding neighborhoods.

    Dorm Life

    Oakton doesn't offer any dorms but it's accessibility to apartments and condos makes it a great school to start off at.

    Academic Rigor

    Completing the work is necessary in order to do well and staying dedicated to the courses is a must.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick classes that interest you, especially if you aren't quite sure what you want to do. I started out as a biology major at a different university and decided to go into education. It's okay to change your mind and the courses at Oakton will really hone in on the details behind each major.

    In three sentences

    Oakton offers excellent programs and courses with top-notch professors who are dedicated to teaching. The professors range in ethnicity, age, and educational background, which provides students with the opportunity to bond with the professors. It is a great school to start, continue, or finish your degree at.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty much safe, although there were a couple things taken from cars.. lock your doors!

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was too busy to join any, but there certainly are a lot of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to save some money but who still want to be pushed in their studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The peninsula is a beautiful grassy area with trees that goes right up to the edge of Lake Oakton.

    Bang for the buck

    I certainly got more than I expected from this college, worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the cafeteria, go to the computer lounge, walk the peninsula.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, long lines.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Get into the Honors Program! The teachers are wonderful and the students are engaging and determined to learn everyday. Other classes seem to be designed for the classical slacker students, so get into Honors!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you think for yourself, the advisers are not so great so other than the basics, make sure you have your own plan. This is your education, not your advisers, so take control of it.

    In three sentences

    Oakton was a fantastic experience for me. It provided options and advantages I did not think were possible for a community college. I loved my time spent there.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Register early and don't buy your books until after the first day of class.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small and the teachers are great! The campus is beautiful. I love it!

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safest campus, was on the news!

    Clubs and Activities

    lo of clubs

    Great for these types of students

    outgoing and people looking to transfer

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the art museum is great!

    Bang for the buck

    very cheap

    What to do for fun

    chill at the cafe or lab, visit the lake by the parking lot, visit shows

    Food and Dining

    its great except its a little expensive. but they have a lot of options!

    Dorm Life

    no dorms, oops!

    Academic Rigor

    depends on the classes you take, but i think its the best community college

    Tips for prospective students

    transfer out soon, dont stay too long

    In three sentences

    boring environment good campus good teachers

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is brightly lit, well staffed with campus police officers patrolling the grounds everywhere.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is great for those students that are achieving academic success - they offer many scholarship opportunities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities to choose from including sports, theatre, and various school clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    OCC is great for nursing, international and transfer students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of students frequent the center nook during the summer, it offers a nice shady and quite place to study.

    Bang for the buck

    OCC is excellent if you want to save money. Many students come to Oakton from other 4 year colleges and universities to save on tuition. Note: Credit hours are less expensive if you live in-district.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities to choose from including sports, theatre, and various school clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at OCC is decent, however it is quite affordable for those students on a strict budget.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but the area it is located is very friendly and has many apartments to choose from.

    Academic Rigor

    OCC pursues excellence through learning experiences that challenge and engage the students. They work with students while keeping high standards that assure the student is ready for the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you speak to one of their friendly advisors. They can save you time and money.

    In three sentences

    Oakton Community College is a great place to start your future. They have great accreditation, flexible class schedules and top notch professors.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The musicals and plays are fun to watch at Oakton.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty decent. There are many choices for lunch all the way from pizza to wraps.

    Dorm Life

    Oakton does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe many of the classes are difficult and challenging. It is not like high school anymore. You actually have to work hard and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would strongly recommend using all the resources around you. They really are helpful and can assist you in being a better student.

    In three sentences

    Oakton has a lot of opportunity for being the best you can. There is numerous amounts of ways to get help, motivation, and great education. Oakton has made my experience enjoyable and helpful.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Good if you need to take general ed classes at cheaper price

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and other classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Great for education classes

    In three sentences

    Great for general education classes

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Can't beat it!

    What to do for fun

    I live off campus but there is always something going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Oakton hires students, and not always the brightest ones. If you get info from one person about financial aid or registration issues, follow up! Double check everything! This is your education. Take control from the start.

    In three sentences

    Get a fantastic head start. Oakton Community College is an inexpensive way to find your direction. You will leave with a solid foundation.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much on campus

    Food and Dining

    Basic cafeteria food

    Dorm Life

    No on campus living

    Academic Rigor

    Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to find good teachers and take a lot of general education intro classes.

    In three sentences

    Oakton is a good transitional school. Has great teachers. Easy classes.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Non-existant

    Great for these types of students

    Financially conscious Stay home Working Parents

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is expensive. No wide selection.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not impossible to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take it easy due to the fact that OCC is a Junior College. Make sure you are in control of your finances. Get to know people in your class.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are very friendly. Skokie campus faculty (teachers and stuff) very helpful. Have a vast selection of classes.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    involved, and there to protect!

    Clubs and Activities

    SGA, Intramural basketball, OCCurrence Newspaper

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't know they're career plans but want to get Gen Eds done at a fraction of the cost.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Skokie campus' second floor library, you can get a lot of studying done.

    Bang for the buck

    Best option for students not trying to get into debt!

    What to do for fun

    Intramural basketball, spanish club, and being part of the student government.

    Food and Dining

    EXPENSIVE!! But there are no other places near!

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are just like lecture classes at big universities, however some classes remain small and the teachers are active with students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get involved with oakton students/staff! Talk to your teachers, they are humans like everyone else and at Oakton they are way more down to earth!

    In three sentences

    Great community college with even better staff that are only after you best interest. The school is close and has two campuses and offers a lot to students willing to emerge themselves in the school.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria's food is surprising good.

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't apply; Oakton is a commuter school.

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great at the Des Plaines campus for Oakton. You'll always see a security guard that's out and about in his car roaming the school at all hours but on top of that you can see various staff and security inside the school ready to help you, if you are in any sort of trouble.

    Greek Life

    Only one I know of is The Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society. To gain membership in the club you will have to do fairly well in all your classes you take at Oakton but once you are in, you meet many people that become your friends or help you, with your education, career path or life in general.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a various amount of clubs at oakton.You have thing varying from community service, chess, student government, theater and many more on top of the various teams they have for sports you can join.

    Great for these types of students

    Oakton Community College is great for those students who have just graduated from high school or are trying to get back into school and don't know what they want to pursue into. It's also great for those students who just aren't ready to get away from home or spends load of money yet and want to take time with their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There really is no traditions that go along at Oakton other then some festivals that occur in the beginning of the year. The main go to spot on campus would be the cafeteria, computer lab or along side the lake beside Oakton's campus.

    Bang for the buck

    When it comes to the best bang for your buck, Oakton is the way to go. I have taken literally 10-14 credit hours for about less then 3,000 dollars when my friends that took the same courses spend thousands and thousands more. What's great too is that many of the courses I've taken at Oakton are taught the same way it's taught at some of my friends' universities, if not better! If you are looking to save some money, Oakton Community College is the way to go.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can do many things at Oakton like taking a walk across the lake right by the campus or joining a club or sport. Oakton has various sports, students can join and on top of that various different clubs that can match your needs. What's great about Oakton is that if you don't find a club you like, you can start one of your own and people would be glad to help.

    Food and Dining

    When it comes to the cafeteria and food, I have got to say for a community college the food is great. The food varies from pizza hut pizza, mozzarella sticks, all the way down to salads and cookies. The only downfall I have about the food at Oakton is the prices because for literally just 4-5 sticks of mozzarella sticks can cost you the same much as a full out meal at some fast food locations that are literally a 5 minute drive away from campus. The cafeteria outline though is great, it has two floors which consists the upstairs of a group of tables plus chairs and the downstairs consisting of the same but plus some couches.

    Dorm Life

    When it comes to the dorm life, Oakton does not have any dorms as it is a junior community college and many of the people that go here are commuters who live very close by. Though it does not have dorms, it is located in a very rural suburb so apartments and houses are very close by to rent or purchase. At times I have heard the school could even help you find an apartment of place to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    At Oakton they serious about their education system and to stay in the school you have to at least maintain a 2.0 gpa average or you would be put into academic probation When it comes to the professors though, it varies all throughout the college. Some of the professors really do want to teach you and have you grasp the content they are teaching but there are those couple teachers who pass students for just barely showing up to class and doing the bare minimum of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students would to be interactive with your students and professors because it can help a lot in the long run for jobs. Some of the professors you meet really try to help you further into your career if you keep a close relationship with them. On top of that, I'd recommend to join some clubs that interest you, it's probably one of the easiest ways of meeting someone new and what's great about it is that you'll have something fun to do.

    In three sentences

    Oakton is a college that is great for someone who is both undecided and looking to explore their options or just get their general education classes out of the way. You'll always be welcomed inside to a nice, quiet atmosphere but that doesn't mean it's hard to make friends at all. The best thing though is how so many professors are always willing to help you when you need it and show how they really enjoy working at Oakton.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Volleyball, math contest, photography contest, free food every month and plenty of others.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria could offer a little bit more healthy food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not have knowledge about it.

    Academic Rigor

    In order to be in top of your class you must be committed to your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those who really want to study, not only go to school.

    In three sentences

    Oakton has been truly wonderful experience for me. The campus is comfortable and full of artwork and plants. The affordability is a great plus.

  • 10/14/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Is there campus housing or other housing opportunities available in the area?

  • 10/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    you will never feel unsafe in that school

    Clubs and Activities

    many clubs art poetry computer games you name it and it might just be there

    Great for these types of students

    for all students no matter where you come from

    Bang for the buck

    indeed it is

    What to do for fun

    many thing just go to student life to help find something interesting to do on campus

    Food and Dining

    the food is ok

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    great academics

    Tips for prospective students

    keep going when things are not in your favor and never give up on things you want the most

    In three sentences

    oakton community college is a school of change and say change because of the programs they offer to help make sure you stay on the right track and they help me have a better understanding on what i want in a career and thank them for that