Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Oberlin College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/10/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 out of 37 people found this review useful. 2 people found it offensive. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're an intelligent, extremely liberal person who enjoys going out on the weekends and being surrounded by people who have the same ideologies as you, then you'll most likely love Oberlin.

    Bang for the buck

    Oberlin is a very expensive school, and even though I know I'm getting a great education while you're here, I don't think the school is using my $52,000 a year in a way that maximizes my college experience. The housing is only decent, the food is average to poor, and the amenities are only average. Personally, I feel as though my money is being wasted here.

    Am enjoying being here

    I was surprised by how much marijuana and alcohol use I've encountered at Oberlin; there isn't necessarily pressure to use, but there aren't really any available social alternatives on the weekend. Also, people all seem to have fairly similar interests and tastes, which is fine if you're looking for like-minded people, but can be frustrating if you're interested in finding people with a diverse range of interests and ideas.

    Am learning a lot

    All of my professors have been intelligent, articulate, and clearly enthusiastic about what they're teaching; they have all done a wonderful job of sharing their knowledge about the subject they're teaching.

  • 11/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 16 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are very politically minded, environmentally concerned, interested in community service, musicians (the conservatory is one of the best in the country), neuroscience majors, writers, hippies, and just about everyone who likes to smile at strangers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay overnight: you won't get a decent grasp on what the campus is like just hanging out for a few hours on a week day. Check out the Co-ops: Some people will tell you to avoid the Co-ops (especially Harkness) but its a great idea to go and see how they work and what they are all about. Talk to a lot of people: get as many perspectives on campus life as possible.

    Bang for the buck

    The school isn't cheap. If you're in need of financial aid, you'll have plenty of opportunity to find it, it's just a matter of looking. Otherwise, what you experience and learn here is totally worth the somewhat hefty price tag.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere on campus is amazing, especially if you are involved in the Co-op system. Living in a Co-op really sets you up with an incredible amount of connections to upperclassmen and people who are experienced with the campus. The campus itself is beautiful, and though Oberlin may seem like a small town in middle-of-nowhere-Ohio, the student body is really politically and socially active, making Oberlin a very exciting place to live.

    Am learning a lot

    The range of what you can learn here is vast. I'm currently kicking it with the true liberal arts experience taking cinema classes, photography, computer programming, Literature courses, and still being able to find incredible opportunities to volunteer. Classes are small, so its easy to develop relationships with your professors and take much more from a class than you might on another campus.

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 out of 20 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Oberlin is great for people who are hard workers, intelligent, creative, and out-of-the-box thinkers. The music program, which is what I'm attending, is excellent and I feel greatly motivated to practice and feel encouraged by my teachers and peers.

  • 07/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    You must be open minded, Oberlin is a very progressive school that does not tolerate ignorance, racism, sexism, and any other negative ism! Also Oberlin students work hard and have fun in different ways--through art, music, sports, etc. So apply to Oberlin if you want to learn for the sake of learning and live for the sake of creating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your essay is creative, Oberlin is a very difficult school to get into because they want unique people. Oberlin truly believes that its students can change the world because the students they select are not just in the top percentile in terms of academics but the students are already entrepreneurs, or go-getters in some way. I didn't have top SAT scores and I was in the top 25% of my class, so I had to stand out in other ways. You need to do the same!

    Bang for the buck

    Oberlin is really expensive, mainly because it has the world renown professors, performers coming in, and opportunities for the students. However if you have financial need, Oberlin will meet it 100% and that is something that they guarantee.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are so many wonderful opportunities, even as a freshman its easy to jump into some major things and make change! As a freshman I became a student senator and I joined a faculty committee that makes changes to the student policy! Also Oberlin paid for me and peers to go to Canada for a summit, and to other conferences that interested me around the midwest area. Oberlin the town is small, but there is a CHEAP movie theatre (like 4 dollars!), lots of great restaurants, and everything is walking distance.

    Am learning a lot

    Oberlin has top professors, who are actually engaging. I have been invited over to my professors' houses for picnics, dinners, documentary watching nights, etc! At first you might think its strange that your teachers genuinely want to get to know you and want you to excel, but its not just because they want to look good. Professors at Oberlin are eager for students to come to their office hours, and if you can't they work around your schedule. There is a variety of classes, there are even experimental classes taught by students (Pokemon, gender and sexuality in Disney films, and knitting are just a few of the hundred or so options). Also if your high school didn't teach you basic study skills, or things you need to know to be a successful college student, Oberlin's Student Academic Services, will get you up to speed, with free tutors, or mini classes on how to read/study in college.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety does their job very well at Oberlin. As far as safety goes, there is very little to worry about on campus. The general sentiments of the college strive for peaceful community living. This contributes greatly to the safe environment at Oberlin. The generous lighting at night on frequently traveled pathways ensures a general feeling of safety. Although there have been minor incidents of theft, this is easily avoided by locking your door and keeping an eye on your belongings. In each case, campus safety is very intentional about informing students and keeping everyone safe. As far as security goes, Oberlin is in very good hands.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is nonexistent in its traditional sense at Oberlin. However, the equivalent is found through Program Housing. These houses include Asia House, African Heritage House, Spanish House, French House, and other houses unique to a specific belief or culture. This community experience binds residents together through a similar background or conviction, and also serves as a great educational tool.

    Clubs and Activities

    From musical theater, dance, sports, musical ensembles, community service, non-violence activists, anti-fracking, and Jewish community groups, Oberlin is not short in clubs and activities in any area. There is a plethora of opportunities and groups to be involved in which cover an extremely broad range of interests. The themes of sustainability, progressive tendencies, and active movements towards a better future are reflected in the student run clubs and activities. Perhaps one of the most interesting student contributions are through the Experimental College. This group offers courses for Pass/No Pass credit for all students. The classes range from knitting to dancing to kickboxing, and provide a unique blend of experiences. If for some reason you find a certain area lacking in student clubs, then start one up!!

    Great for these types of students

    Oberlin is a great place for students looking to impact the future. One example of Oberlin's cutting edge tendencies is its participation in the Civil War as an underground railroad stop. In addition, Jerry of Ben and Jerry's was an Oberlin student, as well as the famous 20th century composer William Grant Still among many other famous musicians. Oberlin College is a great place for students interested in affecting their immediate environment positively, and contributing to the community. In addition, Oberlin Conservatory is widely considered one of the finest music institutions in the nation. With some of the best professors and coaches in the musical scene today, any serious musician ready for incredible challenges should strongly consider Oberlin.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Oberlin never ceases to surprise me with its truly unique characteristics and traditions. Oberlin is laced with unusual traditions from painting the 5 foot rocks in the campus square to the African Heritage House pledge recited at dinner each night. Oberlin College is a unique pocket of energy and development which results in very unique traditions which warm the environment and student life at Oberlin. If you are interested in understanding just how beautifully unique Oberlin is...schedule a visit!!

    Bang for the buck

    Let's be honest...the buck at Oberlin is HUGE! However, the education matches. The commitment to the student is extremely clear. My private teacher gives above and beyond the requirements for his students with additional lessons each semester, and a technique class for each freshman. In addition, the guest lecturers and artists giving concerts are educationally and financially worth an incredible price. Oberlin Conservatory has more Steinway pianos than anywhere in the world excluding the Steinway factory. This speaks to the type of equipment and resources with which the students work. The Conservatory Library never ceases to amaze me with the unreal amount of resources it provides. In addition to this, the orchestra tours and experiences are included in tuition. This year's tour to NYC in January is of no cost to the students participating. Oberlin provides a plethora of resources, highly renown faculty and guests, and will bend over backwards to provide what you need for your learning experience. Although Oberlin's tuition is extraordinarily high, this price reflects the incredible experiences and opportunities that await its students.

    What to do for fun

    Set in a lovely town, the Chinese, Lebanese, Mexican, American, and many other restaurants provide a lovely display of culture and delicious nights. In addition, the coveted Slow Train coffee shop always provides a cool hang out environment paired with delicious coffee and refreshments. The Oberlin Lanes bowling alley and the Apollo movie theater are both sources of inexpensive entertainment. The Oberlin College Art Museum is known as the second best college art museum in the nation next to Yale, and certainly lives up to its expectations. The incredible Conservatory always offers countless student, faculty, and guest artist performances. In addition, downtown Cleveland attractions are but 40 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Oberlin's general views on sustainability and healthy living is clearly reflected in the food and dining. The dining services at Oberlin have a wide variety of mostly locally and organically grown foods. There are also generous options for vegetarians and vegans. There is always fresh fruit and a very complete salad bar at every meal. Different dining halls offer different unique choices, including a global expedition, and the ring of fire both of which offer a build-your-own special entree each day. In addition, there is always access to pizza, a sandwich bar, and a grill which includes burgers, chicken, hot dogs, fries, etc. In addition, there is a lovely dining hall specifically offering comfort food which always provides a huge and dangerously delicious dessert assortment. Aside from the campus dining service, anybody may apply to be in a food cooperative, which in much less expensive and operates upon the collaborative help of all the members. This community food and cooking experience not only provides a great experience, it also serves as a great option for people with dietary restrictions or specific preferences.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, the housing at Oberlin is extremely expensive, and although there are some very nice dorms, there are also living spaces with very little to offer in terms of appeal. My dorm this year is quite old and quite dirty. However, it is not lacking in the least in terms of community and spirit. My dorm experience has been extremely enjoyable because of the work Oberlin puts towards providing community experiences within the dorm. Although it is not glamorous, it is certainly full of character. In addition, I have stepped into beautiful and very clean dorms on campus that would be just lovely to be a part of in every way. However, my honest assessment does have to reflect my lovely yet dirty, old, and expensive dorm experience. Oberlin students also have the option of living in a housing cooperative which is much less expensive and provides community living through the student run group, OSCA.

    Academic Rigor

    There is no question that Oberlin is teeming with rigorous academics. As a conservatory student, I have never worked harder or been more challenged in my life. From observations of the college classes and personal experience in the conservatory, it is clear that Oberlin's curriculum is holistically designed to coincide with other classes in order to provide a complete understanding in your field of study. In addition, the classes are formatted to support individual thinking and personal development.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the most impressive features of Oberlin is the professors' genuine commitment to education and the individual. Whether you are looking at the college or conservatory, my number one suggestion is to schedule private meetings with the professors in the departments of interest to you, and learn about the things Oberlin has to offer which are specific to your goals. As a conservatory student, I would highly impress upon any conservatory prospectives to observe and take trial lessons with the teachers in which you are interested. Be sure to meet with the someone from the admissions office and ask specific questions, as well as of course taking a tour, staying overnight in a dorm, and observing classes.

    In three sentences

    Located in a quaint secluded town, Oberlin College is a uniquely progressive Liberal Arts institution committed to equipping students with the tools and knowledge to affect their immediate environment positively. The affiliated Oberlin Conservatory provides extremely rigorous musical training under some of the most influential professors and guest lecturers, artists, and coaches in the current music scene. With a plethora of independent projects, student run classes, organizations, clubs, activities, and a wholehearted commitment to training and involvement, I could not recommend Oberlin more.

  • 08/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    1. Check out a co-op. 2. Stay overnight. 3. Do the interview. 4. Try to come with questions. (Don't just say tell me everything.) 5. Have fun! It's okay to actually engage in real conversations or go to events with students/other prospective students.

    Bang for the buck

    If you can't tell from my first two paragraphs, Oberlin is pretty much worth the high cost. Great people, great education, and great atmosphere. Still, I can't give it 5 stars since I agree with many other Obies that the College could be a bit wiser (or at least more transparent) about spending. There are definitely a few things that I'm sure my student loans paid for that I wish they hadn't (because then I probably wouldn't have any student loans out). There's also a lot that I'm sure I'd be sad without, so I think 4 stars is appropriate.

    Am enjoying being here

    By the end of my freshman year Oberlin became my home away from home. On top of enjoying fantastic professors, I've really come to love a lot of my peers. The friends I've made are all really fun, supportive, and (of course) intelligent. I can have conversations or go to events that I'd never have the chance to experience at home (despite being from a sizable city). Even the most annoying people on campus are often so well-meaning and articulate that debating with them isn't a total waste of time, but rather a good (albeit frustrating) learning experience.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm not going to exaggerate and say that every professor on campus is awesome. Just like any other academic institution, there are some gems and some very shiny pieces of glass. However, the best professors aren't just good, they're fantastic! They challenge you to no end. And even if you don't grasp all of the material from the start, you'll definitely develop a good foundation by the end. As for the the handful of lackluster professors, they may not be the best at explaining things, but they are just as willing to find you help or be understanding if you're struggling as the better professors are. Outside of class I'm learning a lot as well. Being a member of the co-ops (student run housing and dining), I've become a better cook, learned about consensus based decision making, and have even developed some business skills as an officer and member of the co-op Board of Directors.

  • 12/23/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you love the free-spirited liberal lifestyle, enjoy random things such as Albino squirrels, riding bikes, and you love music then this school is for you. They have 3 great dining halls. i loved the pizza and fries yummy. Oberlin caters to vegans and vegetarians also. The Sco and the library are pretty awesome hang out spots. Hopefully I will be at Oberlin Class of 2015!

    Will learn a lot

    I visited Oberlin on the Multicultural Visit Program, and from what I saw the professors were great!The classes were fun and engaging also. I attended a Japanese class, Biology class, Statistics, and an Arabic class. I had the honor of talking to a Biology professor. I felt comfortable with all their teaching skills and they made me feel included in the classes.

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who have always had a unique streak about them. Want to try completely crazy new things. Want to be surrounded by incredibly open-minded, extraordinary people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the Oberlin interview! The interview told me so much more than the website or pamphlets could have. Also, if and when you choose to prospie (visit the school and stay overnight), be vocal about what you are interested in doing or seeing. Don't just do whatever your host does. Sometimes hosts are lazy, but trust me, there are PLENTY of people at the school who will be super excited to adopt you and show you all Oberlin has to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    Everyone complains about how ridiculously overpriced Oberlin is. I would agree with that to a point, but financial aid is somewhat easy to come by. Scholarships abound throughout the school year from different student organizations, and the financial aid office is very open to helping its students with financial difficulty. Also, with less expensive living options like used books, co-ops, and the free store, you can cut down on the price of college a lot.

    Am enjoying being here

    Oberlin is such an amalgamation of different kinds of people that it's honestly nearly impossible for someone not to find the others they vibe with. I know Oberlin is known for having a particularly liberal or hipster image (whatever that means), but that's definitely not the majority of students. There's not a majority, if you ask me. If you think you won't vibe with the character of Oberlin, just find your people, and you totally will. Not only that, but Oberlin is all about meeting people you didn't even know existed or thought you would ever be friends with. It's amazing how nurturing Oberlin's community is for that.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors I have had the pleasure of learning from, working with, and hanging out with have been exceptional. The small size of Oberlin really fosters an awesome rapport between students and faculty. There are large, lecture-hall style courses, as well as very small discussion seminar courses. In both, professors are very easily approachable and always eager to not just help with questions, but talk about their work or anything else that you might think of during office hours!

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 7 people found this review useful. 9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    singers, science

    Bang for the buck

    oberlin has so much to offer and the support is there.

    What to do for fun

    sing! dance!

    Food and Dining

    very good vegetarian options for people like me.

    Dorm Life

    well

    Academic Rigor

    oberlin is currently at 60,000 per year

    Tips for prospective students

    do your fafsa asap and community service never hurts, get involved!

    In three sentences

    oberlin is a wonderful place not only for the quality of education, but the musical level. i am very lucky to attend such an institution and i plan to take advantage of what it has to offer. i am a voice performance major in the conservatory of must at oberlin.

  • 11/09/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 7 people found this review useful. 10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its just amazing there is no other way to put it

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Oberlin uses the blue light system that a lot of colleges use and requires swipe cards to gain access to any residential building. There is very little crime.

    Greek Life

    Oberlin doesn't have Greek Life, which is generally considered a positive thing among students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Even though Oberlin is a small school, there seems to be a club or activity for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Oberlin is great for liberal and/or open-minded students who care about the world around them.

    Bang for the buck

    Oberlin is very expensive, like most small, private colleges. But it's also a really good school. The answer to this question really depends on the individual's value of money as compared to other things though.

    Food and Dining

    It's absurdly expensive, but the co-ops provide a good alternative to traditional dorms. Many upper-classmen also live in village housing, which is an independent apartment or house.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the larger dorms with no themes or other special characteristics don't have much in the way of community, but there are a lot of program houses, theme halls (such sci-fi hall and classics hall) and co-ops which have good community.

    Academic Rigor

    Oberlin is a school that challenge its students academically while simultaneously engaging them. The professors are generally great and will work with you as needed. Students may stay up late studying and writing papers, but that's because they care about what they're doing.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety and Security does it's best to protect the students here at Oberlin. Students do have to do their best to make good choices for themselves as well though, and they try. Act responsibly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports aren't the best; but we try. The athletic department does it's best to offer a wide range of activities for student participation. Whether you like basketball, rugby, or martial arts, there's something out there for you here.

    Great for these types of students

    Unique. I cannot stress enough how diverse this school is. You will notice qualities in students that you have never been exposed to in your life. And outgoing; don't be afraid to put yourself out there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing that goes on here is unusual to an Obie. However nothing about an Obie is quite ordinary either. This college is so unique. From hipsters to jocks to genius. We have it all. Oh, and not many people where shoes..

    Bang for the buck

    College is expensive theses days, and Oberlin is no exception. Though here you are guaranteed to be challenged and pushed to higher limits. You also develop a network of contacts that you wouldn't be able to meet pretty much anywhere else. The schools has a remarkable academic reputation, sending a high rate of graduates on to earn PhD's and earn great accolades. Worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    There's actually a dance club open to Oberlin students, the Sco', that plays various genres of music during the week and throughout the weekend that is great for a group of friends. The school also hosts various socials where students can interact throughout the year. Also you can participate in various recreational activities on campus: bowling, basketball, swimming, and a lot more. There's always something to do on campus!

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good, and although it sometimes gets repetitive, they do a nice job at changing it up every now and then. And the school has a large population of vegans/vegetarians here. The school does really well at accommodating all of the students choices and desires here. The staff is actually great too, with many being students, the crew is very friendly and productive.

    Dorm Life

    There is like a bubble here, but it's not a bad thing. It's a pretty small school, but there is always something going on here. I live in a Program House here and it's great because there is such a strong sense of community among all of the students who live in the program housing dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I came from a public high school in the same county (Lorain). I pushed myself in high school, but here I realized you can never be too prepared. Especially being surrounded by so many talented and gifted students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Put yourself out there. Stretch your limits, don't be afraid to push yourself as far as you can go. And be yourself; every student has something unique about their personality that makes them stand out from everyone else.

    In three sentences

    What a life changing college experience. Here I feel challenged and exposed to so much diversity. I learn so much, from the classroom to the campus, I am enlightened everywhere I go here.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 5 people found this review useful. 13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Liberal, self-motivated, passionate

  • 07/15/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Though expensive, this school meets your demonstrated financial need 100%

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always patrolling and keeping us safe. Even take you back to your dorm late at night if need be.

    Greek Life

    None, and for the better

    Clubs and Activities

    Great, lots of different sports as well as arts activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is interested in progressive thinkers. People who want to change the world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't go under the archway until you graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely a great school. A little pricey and that is the main issue I have with Oberlin at the moment.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs as well as other student organizations to join and stay active with your peers. There are also various types of events on campus all the time for you to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food is excellent compared to other colleges. Only problem is that it becomes quite repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    Many of the dorms are coed. And contain coed showers and bathrooms. It may seem weird at first, but you'll get over it.

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared for a rigorous academic requirements. It will require a lot of preparation and therefore be careful not to fall behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to visit. This is very important as the atmosphere of the campus takes some time to get accustomed to. No doubt you would like to meet your classmates or the type of people you will be with for the next 4 years.

    In three sentences

    It is an excellent school for a liberal arts education. If you're looking for an engaging academic atmosphere as well as intelligent peers, this is a great pick. Also a great choice for a small school in a rural setting.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The town is safe, and it's a small knit community, so crime is virtually zero here.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent

    Clubs and Activities

    Any club that you want is here, and if for some reason it's not, it's the easiest thing in the world to start one here.

    Great for these types of students

    Enthusiastic, capable, intelligent, involved in a lot of different activities, fun loving and caring, to name a few things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The naked library run at finals, painting the rock on Tappan Square, the obsession with the albino squirrels, the Art Rental Program ($5 will get you a professional painting from the museum for the semester).

    Bang for the buck

    I only give this three stars because there's so much buck involved at Oberlin. There are lots of amazing opportunities that you won't find anywhere else, but the tuition is very high, and this rating shows just how many great things there are by even going this high

    What to do for fun

    Depends on the type of person you are: dancers can take dancing classes or go to the 'sco (the Oberlin club), those who like to party can choose from any number of them on any given night, those who love music can choose from 500 concerts a year. There's honestly far too much to do at Oberlin, time management becomes an issue. But you'll never be bored, I promise!

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy a calendar! Time management is absolutely crucial to survive in a difficult academic environment, but showing that you care will help professors and advisers help you in this process. A emphasis on caring about others around you will help greatly in your application process.

    In three sentences

    A fantastic culture of tolerance that works to promote ideas from all areas of the world. Every opportunity is available to any student; nothing is shut off, and this all comes from a school that manages to maintain a great class ratio. There is also a huge emphasis on environmental awareness and a lot of amazing buildings to visit.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    NON EXISTANT

    Great for these types of students

    If you ever felt like you didn't belong If you wonder about living ethically and sustainably If you like to cook If you like to learn If you like to listen to music made by friends If you like rain If you like hanging out more than clubbing

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with some of the most amazing people you'll ever meet.

    Food and Dining

    The co-op system is my favorite thing about Oberlin. But it won't work for everyone. Whether or not you are in a co-op, there are great vegetarian/vegan/soy free/dairy free/nut free options, and pretty good gluten free options as well.

    Dorm Life

    I have heard dorm life in some of the dorms is less than exciting, but my experiences with the freshman dorms and co-ops has been extremely positive. I feel as though I gained a family just by living where I did.

    Academic Rigor

    Although not as competitive as other schools, Oberlin is still a hard school! People seem carefree and everyone is involved in 10000 extracurriculars and clubs, so it's easy to forget that everyone is also studying their butts off when you're not around to watch them perform in their band or circus show.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't give up even though highschool is exhausting and at times boring. Grades are important, but it will all be worth it. Write an amazing essay and do things that you are genuinely interested it. There is nothing worse than doing things just to put them on a college application, Oberlin does not value cookie cutter students.

    In three sentences

    Oberlin College is the best decision I have ever made. The people are fantastic, the classes are fantastic, the vibe is fantastic. If you ever felt like you didn't fit in, Oberlin will prove that you do have a tribe and they are called Obies.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never felt threatened or in any sort of danger.

    Greek Life

    Doesn't exist.. which is a major turn off for me from this school .

    Clubs and Activities

    Music life is great, very interactive campus and student body.

    Great for these types of students

    Musicians! Definitely musicians, as a musician I was very pleased at this aspect of Oberlin.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing too unusual from what I saw besides the Oberlin Phoenix!!

    Bang for the buck

    Very much worth the tuition from what I've seen.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around, enjoy the nature! Much more besides this though.

    Food and Dining

    Fairly nice area around to eat stuff.

    Dorm Life

    Seems clean and nice.

    Academic Rigor

    They are serious here, and that should be expected when applying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely don't think anything less than greatness when you think of this small town in Ohio because it is much more.

    In three sentences

    After visiting this college as a musician I was more than amazed. WOW! What a great school this seems to be and I am extremely interested already, if you are a musician this school is spectacular.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe! Being in a small town, with a tight knit student body and good security, I have not yet felt unsafe.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek system.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Oberlin is a very liberal school, right? Well, after Obama won the election, much of the student body gathered in Tappan Square and held an impromptu dance party to celebrate.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an incredibly expensive school, but I have already learned so much, and made so much progress, that I would say it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Go to dances or concerts at the 'Sco, take a walk over to the Arboretum, go see the kittens at the Ginko Gallery, see a concert at the Conservatory

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best at Oberlin, but you can usually find something to eat at major dining halls like Stevie, which is buffet style. A-House, or African House, which is the most delicious food, in most people's opinions.

    Dorm Life

    As a freshman, living in a FYRE (Freshman Year Residential Experience) dorm has been a great choice. There is such a sense of community in these dorms - most of my closest friends are on my floor, which is very fun and convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very difficult at Oberlin, but the quality of the professors makes it both reasonable and worthwhile. My teachers have created interest in subjects I was not previously interested in, and greatly increased my knowledge of subjects I considered myself expert at. There is a constant stream of assignments and reading, but none are wastefully given.

    In three sentences

    Oberlin is work-hard, play-hard by definition. During the week, everyone dedicates to their studies, but during the weekend, there are tons of events, from dances to seminars to concerts, you can attend to wind down and have some fun. The academic rigor is a rewarding challenge, as the teachers are of great quality, but you do get to live a little as an Oberlin student.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I don't think there is any Greek Life at Oberlin.

    Great for these types of students

    Artists, the musically literate, and all matter of curious minds.

    What to do for fun

    Visit the College's Art Museum, watch for albino squirrels, wander around campus or ride a bike. There are some pretty nifty shops around Tappan Square. Oh, and concerts - lot's of 'em.

    Food and Dining

    Pumpkin pie ice cream and soy nuggets are really good.

    Tips for prospective students

    VISIT OBERLIN. You won't know how much you'll love it until you do.

    In three sentences

    A strong arts community. Very friendly atmosphere. Splendid womb chairs.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theatre up the street. Since the Conservative is on campus there are always musical events going on.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and all you can eat!

    Dorm Life

    Varies from dorm to dorm however, each dorm offers something unique in addition to strong community life. Can't go wrong with any dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Very demanding courses but the professors are available for assistance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind, get involved, and stay vigilant on your career path.

    In three sentences

    Accepting of everybody. Accepting of everything. Freedom to pursue any academic interest.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Some theft as you'd expect at any college, but no serious problems besides.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    For lively activity Oberlin can't be beat.

    Bang for the buck

    Well worth it, but this school will take a chunk out of your pocket.

    What to do for fun

    Anything you want; concerts, parties, five-and-dime stores, plays, open-mic nights.

    Food and Dining

    Vegan, Vegetarian, gluten-free, or a happy carnivore and cookie-mucher Oberlin has it and has it as healthy as you like.

    Dorm Life

    Very tight knit community, always something to do.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a top level school. The academics will be as good as any other elite school out there: Vanderbilt, Harvard, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    It has a remote setting, tough academics, and very open campus feel.

    In three sentences

    Accepting and calm with a very welcoming atmosphere. Oberlin is also very open and liberal, despite the country setting. The academics are Ivy League level.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's pretty safe considering that most of the town is the college. However, things do happen, it's not a bubble in which nothing bad happens.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Almost everything ever. There are entirely too many to list.

    Great for these types of students

    Hipsters, quirky, queer in any sense of the word, and the very liberal.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Oberlin has an arboretum that is really fun to hang out in and there's an organ pump once a month in the chapel and you get to lay on the stage and feel the vibrations. There are also Rocky Horror showings twice a year if anyone is into that.

    Bang for the buck

    It costs a lot but it's pretty worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There is a notoriously bad club in the basement of the student union and there are always a lot of parties. If that isn't your style, there's a movie theater, an observatory, numerous conservatory concerts, and usually some form of show whether it be Ocircus or a play/musical. It's really hard to be bored on campus.

    Food and Dining

    For how much Oberlin costs the food is terrible. It is mostly vegetarian and even the vegetarian options aren't particularly good. The food is edible at best but there are a lot of pretty good restaurants within walking distance of the school. There are also plenty of places, including a grocery store to get food if you don't want dining hall food.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are pretty nice. The bathrooms are decent and generally it isn't disgusting until the other residents mess it up.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not the most difficult school in the world but they push you hard and you will lean a ton.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're not from a place that gets a ton of rain/snow, be prepared. You will definitely need rain boots/snow boots and a good winter coat.

    In three sentences

    Oberlin is not nearly as diverse as it like to say it is. It is quite frankly full of posers who think they are everything that they are not. With that being said, despite the slightly terrible people, the academics are fantastic.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My favorite thing about security on this campus is their policy on safety while drinking. They will crack down on drinking if it is happening and poor decisions are being made, but if a student who has been drinking calls safety and security to alert them to a situation in which someone's health is a concern, they will not press the issue of drinking with that student or any others who were involved. The idea behind this is that it is better to have safe students than to let someone die of alcohol poisoning because students were too scared to fess up that they've been drinking.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know about 'clubs' per say, but the sci-fi themed hall is brilliant at acting like a huge fan club over almost anything nerdy.

    Great for these types of students

    Hippies, hipsters, preps, liberals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a statue on the second floor of the main science building. This statue is regularly dressed up by the students for different times of year.

    Bang for the buck

    While quite expensive, Oberlin is the best school around that's not the Ivy Leagues (which are even more expensive and don't offer financial aid). Oberlin is a well known school, so that when you tell people you got your degree from Oberlin, nine times out of ten they will be impressed.

    What to do for fun

    In a theme hall, there are almost always activities happening that (in most cases) anyone is welcome to join in on. If that doesn't suit your fancy though, walk out side with at least one friend and a Frisbee, and I guarantee at least two other people will join you. The entire campus is friendly and welcoming.

    Food and Dining

    The main dining hall, Stevenson, has food that is quite bland most of the time but occasionally scores a 10/5 with a dish, but it is the space (outside of co-ops) that has the most vegetarian/vegan options on campus, and second most vegetarian/vegan options in the country, not to mention the fact that it's all you can eat. Because of the bland flavor though, many students choose to eat at the other, smaller, cafeteria style dining hall in Dascomb, or in one of the many varied co-ops, which are always guaranteed palate pleasers, but require help with cooking or washing.

    Dorm Life

    There are three different varieties of dorms on campus: Traditional, themed, or co-op. Traditional housing is just like every other dorm in the american collegiate system. You can get a single, double, or quad with your choice of roommate(s), and you can live there for the semester or the academic year. The RA's may schedule events, but for the most part are just there to keep you safe. In themed living however, the RA's are much more likely (in fact, practically required) to schedule events based around the theme of the hall or house. In these halls, the students have a much closer bond with each other and their RA's. The last type of living, co-ops, are a completely different animal. In co-ops, the college doesn't provide you with anything except for the building, heating, plumbing, and electricity. The members of the co-op come up with everything else, including food. In this lifestyle, you are the most connected with your fellows because you all work together in order to live together.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at Oberlin are all very challenging in their own way as their primary purpose is to improve upon your existing skill level. If you ever find yourself falling short in a class, you may talk with the professor of the course and your academic adviser over the many options to help you succeed. Alternatively, if you feel ahead in a class (which rarely happens) you can talk to the professor of the next level class, and see if you can audit the course. by auditing that course, you may be applicable to move to the next level course for credit next semester. In short, Oberlin will always find the right place for you and make sure that you feel challenged while succeeding.

    Tips for prospective students

    In order to get accepted at Oberlin, you have to be top notch, or show them how much you want to be top notch. You also have to show them that you are well rounded, and passionate about your choice of school. The easiest way to do this is to make multiple visits to the college, and talk with the admissions people. Also, don't worry too much about the cash: Oberlin's need based grants are very well implemented so that you'll never be paying something outside of your price range.

    In three sentences

    A small liberal arts school with large political ambitions, Oberlin is a school that continually produces leaders on numerous subjects and topics. Many of the teachers have written books that are the standard for teaching their subject nationwide, and they keep good track of how their words fall on their students with most professors handing out hand-made surveys at the end of each semester to improve themselves. Speaking of improving themselves, that's exactly the goal that every Oberlin student has come for, and the vast majority of them find their way wonderfully.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's never been a major issue.

    Greek Life

    No greek life at Oberlin, but we like it that way.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of stuff to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    A nerdy passionate intellectual who wants to have an impact on the world and isn't afraid to dream. Also hipsters or anyone who's never fit in anywhere else.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Safer Sex Night is fantastic.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely. But it is true that Oberlin is a bit pricey.

    What to do for fun

    Have deep and nerdy conversations about anything and everything. If you like to debate touchy issues such as race, gender, or class, this is the school for you.

    Food and Dining

    Stevie's is great, but if you don't jive with it, food co-ops are the way to go.

    Dorm Life

    While at times Dorm Life may feel pretty impersonal, the atmosphere is calm and private ���¢�������� meaning, you can do whatever you want and no one's going to bother you too much about it.

    Academic Rigor

    It's set just right; hard enough that you need to put in some time and pay attention in class, but not so much that your social life is crushed. Besides, professors are always available and willing in case you find a class particularly tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come to this school with an open mind and an open heart you'll fall in love.

    In three sentences

    This college will open your mind and shift your paradigm. You will be exposed to world class art (Oberlin Conservatory and Creative Writing Department, etc.) You will be exposed to wonderfully diverse community that champions social justice.

  • 06/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    From my experience, I think that campus is pretty safe compared to where I live in my city. However, I do not think it is safe to travel at night by yourself, still take precaution.

    Clubs and Activities

    I Think that there are club and organizations that fit each student. As a first year, be willing to explore things that you did not in High School. We tend to change without noticing it. So get out and do various different things.

    What to do for fun

    Go to open mic nights, Oberlin has some really cool artists that are just amazing. Go bowling with a group of friends, it is fun just make sure you don't hit anyone with a bowling ball (I accidentally dropped a bowling ball). If you like to go out and party, go and have fun- drink responsibly. Go to different lectures, sometimes you can see if you like a professor before attending one of their classes. Go to Ginko's Art gallery and pet a few kittens. Go to Slow Train and eat a spinach, pepperoni, or turkey and herb croissant with a friend and do some homework. Keep your eyes open for events by clubs and organizations on campus like Drag Ball, Speed Dating, Fashion Shows, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining, again, depends on the person's needs and wants. At home, I was having a terrible time finding different foods to eat on my new diet- I stopped eating pork and beef-, however, I school I found it easier to eat. Also, I liked the fact that I was exposed to different foods that I have never tried before. Do not be afraid to eat different foods or pair foods together, if you are afraid you will only be eating hamburgers and french fries until you go home. I think Oberlin fails at making different ethnic foods, I do not think it is fair to make a traditional dish if another culture and make it horribly wrong. So if you come from a traditional (insert race/ethnic group), do not expect the food to be exactly like home.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life depends on the person and their needs.I lived in an all freshman dorm. So, I did not like my dorm living as much as others because there was no sense of community- there was a clique of people who liked each other, and they normally got away with a lot of horrible things. I did not like that students were getting horribly drunk on the weekend and leaving the bathroom messy, I'm sure if we had a community in that dorm those things would not have happened as often. Community is very important so that everyone can consider one another's needs.

    Academic Rigor

    To most people rigor means, how difficult is the work. For myself here at Oberlin, Rigor means is what I am learning challenging what I have always known to be true in life. I think my Oberlin Professors has helped me to view different aspects of society in a different light, which was very difficult for me to change. However, the more I learned the more I begin to question what I thought was true and what is actually true.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go talk to your professors during their office hours! Do you automatically join a clique the first year because everyone else is doing so. Find other people to talk to that are not freshman. Find a safe space on campus to vent about your problems. Please go to a school psychologist if you need someone to talk to about your problems, they can help you deal with anxiety about leaving home.

    In three sentences

    Oberlin College can fit the needs of every different students. The college has a thriving student body that is willing to make accommodations for each students, however, every students must be willing to commit to expressing themselves openly. The college is located in a cool little town that is another community for students to be active in.