Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Ocean County College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    going to OCC willl save you money in the long run.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security officers around campus...not too far away if you need one in a hurry.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Several different clubs and sports you can join. If they don't have something you want, create a new one.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to save money before they transfer to a different school, students who just need an Associate's degree, and those who want to stay close to home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The solar lounge is like geek heaven. But it can also be a cool place to meet up with friends, as long as you don't mind people playing video games in the background. Sometimes there's live guitar music too.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth it's money for a community college education.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, sport, or activity. You'll meet new people and make friends that share interests with you. Attend a show at the planetarium or a theater performance.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best. See my tips above.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like some classes are easy, but some are challenging enough. Depends on what you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early so you get the classes you want. The food's alright, but not the best. You should bring food from home or buy it off-campus.

    In three sentences

    If you're going for a general studies or liberal arts degree, this is the place for you. You can save money by going to this community college before going to a 4-year university. It's just like a regular college, minus the dorms.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is above and beyond. Security is always on the watch and because of this, OCC has been a safe campus for students to attend. They have a well-known recognition for being one of the safest schools in New Jersey.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities to really list, but they have a wide variety and support new ideas. They allow students to voice their opinion and ideas and encourage any new ideas for current clubs or new ones.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are hardworking, determined, and ambitious are what Ocean County College is made of. Students who fit this criteria should definitely consider attending this community college. OCC will assist any student with reaching their true potential.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I wouldn't say there are any unusual traditions, but people certainly do have a great time here on campus and use the most of their time wisely here. Many enjoy clubs and activities, while others enjoy the discounts they may use for them and their family.

    Bang for the buck

    I'd say any college is expensive but with that in mind, OCC definitely is a bang for your buck considering you certainly get what you pay for above and beyond.

    What to do for fun

    Ocean County College offers many clubs, and holds many events that can interest a wide spectrum of students. Not only do they hold events and have clubs, but they offer tickets at a discount price for movie theaters, as well as trips. They certainly make a student's experience here a memorable one.

    Food and Dining

    OCC's food is absolutely fantastic. They offer many different options with nutrition in mind. They are also reasonably priced as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life, there isn't one. Ocean County Community College is an off-campus college. However, they have convenient alternative locations to accommodate their students.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rating is off the charts. Every teacher takes the subjects taught at Ocean County College seriously. OCC surely knows what it takes to help their students to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and it will surely pay off. This college attempts to maximize your potential and truly wants to help you succeed. Put your trust in Ocean County College.

    In three sentences

    This is the best college by far that I have ever seen. I have very much enjoyed my time spent here. I couldn't imagine a better college to attend for myself.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    MANY

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    music in the cafe

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap

    What to do for fun

    walk around

    Food and Dining

    kitchens ok

    Dorm Life

    COMMUTE NO DORMS

    Academic Rigor

    Challeging, but helpful !

    Tips for prospective students

    Just do the work, and you'll do just fine!

    In three sentences

    It's very convenient and close to home. Ocean County College capmus is clean and comfortable. They offer a lot of opportunity.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus sits off of the main road. The buildings are all together with a nice walking area in the middle connecting them. There is always security in the park area and always around to help students.

    Great for these types of students

    Ocean County College is a great place for an adult with a family and a full time job to get started on a new career. The online courses are convenient and easy to use. The college offers excellent online chat and phone tech support for all online users.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is average with the cost of classes. Being able to rent books and search forums online for used books is such a big help for students. In today's economy, every penny counts!

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs and extracurricular activities to become a part of at the college. I love that there are so many chat groups to also be a part of. It's a great way to make new friends in a safe way, and also for students to find study buddies!

    Food and Dining

    The college offers a wide variety of things to choose from to eat. It's convenient and nice to have good choices rather than too much fast food.

    Dorm Life

    There are currently no dorms at Ocean County College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the free resources that are offered at the college before deciding on classes. There are counseling services offered to help make sure you are choosing the correct classes and getting what you need to get started.

    In three sentences

    OCC offers a lot of online courses and programs, which is exceptionally convenient for an adult wishing to return to college while working a full time job. There are many great resources throughout the college, from tutoring to online chat help with online classes. Ocean County College is conveniently located just outside of the business section of Toms River, which is helpful for someone that has to get home with dinner after a long day at work and evening of classes!

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is virtually no crime on campus. Security patrols the campus and I always feel safe and secure.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi-Theta-Kappa is the National Honor Society for two year colleges that truly opens students up to an array of oppurunities. It is a great portal for students to get involved in community service and scholarships!

    Great for these types of students

    OCC is a great choice for students who want to save tons of money and still get the same quality education!

    Bang for the buck

    Ocean County College is truly the ultimate bang for your buck. It is one of the most successful two-year colleges in the New Jersey. I'm saving over 50,000 dollars by choosing OCC; this is debt I won't have to dig myself out of when I'm out of school and in the real world.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in campus life! Join clubs and work with people in your classes and form study groups to help keep your academics a top priority.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home with mom and commute to school. This means no cost for room and board, which is a positive thing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in activities on campus! This really makes getting your education exciting and helps you stay on track in school and meeting the goals you need for the next step in life. It offers so many great opportunities and connections that make campus life more enjoyable and exposes you to new experiences!

    In three sentences

    Ocean County College is a great transitional step between high school and a four-year-college. This certified school has qualified professors that truly enlighten students and develop their passion for education. I have learned and grown intellectually, socially, and spiritually through my experience at OCC.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around to help you with any of your problems they also have call bells that go right to the security to help you find your car at night

    Food and Dining

    The food here is very reasonable for the pricing and you get a lot of food.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the help the school provides you because in the end you will only better yourself. Get involved with clubs or spots it will make going to school a better place.

    In three sentences

    The college is well kept and very clean. The staff is very helpful and you receive a lot of knowledge from the teachers. The school is very helpful with all the help it supports you if you are struggling with a class or a personal problem.

  • 02/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for pretty much any type of student. But it is especially great for students who do not want to go too far away, who would like to still live at home, who aren't quite sure what they want to major in yet, or students in a financial situation.

    Tips for prospective students

    I know people think that since it is a county college it is okay to slack; but its not! By slacking you will put your self way to behind in your classes. Yes, it is a county college; but yes, it is as difficult as any other school. I do recommend to anyone interested, on going to Ocean County College, to look into it more, and take advantage of the oppertunity!

    Bang for the buck

    Ocean County College is absolutely a 'bang for the buck'! One great program that they offer, that I am taking part in, is the NJ STARS Program. This program is allowing me to go to school for FREE! All I had to do was graduate in the top 15% of my class, have an 'A' GPA and than fill out FAFSA. It is great! They also offer other money efficient programs and are overall great expense wise.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here because the people are extremely nice. I have made many friends from all over the county. I also enjoy being here because the campus is like any other college campus; minus the dorm. It is a beautiful campus with lots of things/activities to do!

    Am learning a lot

    Going to Ocean County College is like going to any other school or university. My professors are wonderful! Most of them also teach at other universities. Currently in calculus, i am learning concepts that are crazy to think of but am getting it; much like other classes I have taken.

  • 04/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to go to campus, learn, and go home. OCC can be a place to hang out with friends, or it can be a place only for studies. That's a great thing about it, you already have your friends home with you so you don't need to stay around and make new ones, however, there are many students hanging around that are more than willing to talk and most of the students are very friendly.

    Tips for prospective students

    GO TO CLASS. OCC's attendance policy is very strict for some teachers. They have the ability to either drop you or fail you after you miss 10% of your classes. They can also drop your grade from an A you feel you deserve to maybe a B or C. Trust me it happens all the time.

    Bang for the buck

    OCC is available at a great price and they are always giving out scholarships and grants.

    Am enjoying being here

    I honestly enjoy OCC's campus, it's small, easy to navigate, and improving every day. The campus is smoke free so you don't have to deal with smoke walking to class. They are also making moves to make it greener than ever. There are solar powered trash compactors and security hubs. Speaking of security OCC is also very secure. It's not in a bad area so there aren't any problems really anyway, but if there were something to arise security is on campus 24/7 and the security hubs are plentiful.

    Am learning a lot

    People like to look down upon OCC students and faculty simply because of the stigma that accompanies going to a county college, however, I have found that most of the professors I've had are incredibly intelligent and helpful. It also helps that they are all real professors with at least a masters as opposed to the common teacher's assistant that may teach the majority of classes for a larger university's lectures.

  • 01/01/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any kind, this is the best college to start you off on a successful pathway.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take Grembowicz if you can! You will not be disappointed!

    Bang for the buck

    Financial Aid paid for everything, so I wasn't too concerned about the cost of school, so I wouldn't know.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs at this college which in turn also everyone to become involved with the community.

    Food and Dining

    The food was wonderful and also cooked very properly. The cafeteria was always very clean.

    Dorm Life

    None this is a Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    Compared to other colleges for me personally the classes i took were on a different level and not the same has Ocean County College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your own research regrading the classes that you will soon need. Always double check and always ask questions. Make sure to always have receipts from the stores because prices always change with no warning.

    In three sentences

    The college overall is wonderfully made and are now doing wonderful upgrades. The customer service is very poor and at times very rude. Many professors at this college are not personable.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i love it that jersey is on the coast. it gives you accessibility to the beaches.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    this school if regionally accredited. if you need to take online courses due to work or a crazy schedule, this is definitely for you.

    In three sentences

    ocean county is a great school. the staff there are so helpful when it comes to addressing my needs. i would recommend this school to everyone.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I don't hang out on campus. I take my classes and I go home.

    Food and Dining

    Never eaten in the cafeteria, but the vending machines have a good selection haha.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are not very difficult. Just make sure you pay attention, study, and turn in everything on time. If you do these three things you're guaranteed an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you register as early as possible, because classes will fill up quickly.

    In three sentences

    The campus is nice, small enough not to get lost, but big enough to not be cramped. The teachers are great and very helpful. They seem to be constantly updating and keeping pace with technology.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is complete campus safety at Ocean County College. Security staff is always roaming around to make sure everyone is abiding by the rules and feels safe at all times.

    Greek Life

    There aren't many greek life opporunities available here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are academic clubs, athletic clubs, charity clubs, health clubs, and hobby type clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    What's great for those types of students that enjoy clubs is to look on ocean cruiser and look up clubs and apply.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An amazing but unusually location on campus is the Planetarium. I love this building and all that it has to offer. However, I think that it is in a bad postion on campus. This could be quite a tourist spot if located in a better place.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very good for someone that can't afford to apply for student loans and or paying out of their pockets. This maybe one of the cheapest great quality colleges around.

    What to do for fun

    Engage in lots of activities and clubs. I have done bake sales and they are very fun and beneficial for various organizations and or charities. Attend the seminars and special guest speaker meetings. They are highly informative and interesting.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is good but bring your wallet. It can be expensive for a poor college student like myself. They don't take credit cards or debit cards either, so bring cash.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life here.

    Academic Rigor

    I would tell someone to study study study! There is no reason to attend school if you aren't going to put the work into it. Be successful and seek tutoring if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to prospective students is that they should meet with their academic counselors first before registering for classes. The counselors are very helpful. I would tell them to Please get involved in EOF and any clubs that they are interested in.

    In three sentences

    Ocean County College is an excellent start to prepare you for furthering your college goals. I would rate this college a 10 out of a possible 10 ratings scale. Professors really care about their students and their success rate.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is constant security around, and I've never witnessed any trouble here.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities vary and are geared toward people passionate about going into certain fields.

    Great for these types of students

    Transfers, Associates, or specific job training.

    Bang for the buck

    For a community school I feel they are a bit pricey, but it's relatively affordable. About $2,000 a semester.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved! Everyone I know involved are passionate in there club or sport, so you're likely to find others with similar interests and passions.

    Food and Dining

    They carry some commercial name brands, but they could definitely improve in options for people with certain dietary needs. Other than that the food is okay here.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college and there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the courses you choose and the professors you take, the courses can be relatively easy to rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really apply yourself and ask questions with counselors. They'll always put you in the right direction and help you obtain what you're looking for in courses, majors, and your goals.

    In three sentences

    This school is a great start to your college career. The professors are great and the knowledge you walk away with is of good quality. It is definitely worth the time before transferring.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is excellent because officers patrol the entire day and are even willing to walk you to your car at night if you feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    No sororities or fraternities exist on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    OCC has a wide range of available clubs to join. I am currently in C.H.A.O.S, History Club, Science Club, STARS Club, Rotaract Club, and Phi Theta Kappa.

    Great for these types of students

    Ocean County College is great for the students who are weary of traveling off to college and would like to stay close to home. OCC is also great for the STARS I students who wish to take advantage of their scholarship.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No traditions that I know of exist at OCC, but the various lounges on campus are the best hang out spots.

    Bang for the buck

    Course fees will put a huge dent in your wallet! Along with the price of cafeteria food and books. The bookstore will solely rip you off, so I strongly urge to buy your books online.

    What to do for fun

    OCC has an extremely clean campus, which is good to go on a nice walk around. Other fun activities can be offered by the campus clubs ran by students. I, myself, love the intramurals program held in the gym.

    Food and Dining

    The food is unpleasant and overpriced. Most of the food comes frozen and is just thrown into the fryer. The other bit of cooked food sits under heats lamps the whole day. My advice would be to bring your own food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Essays and exams make up the most part of your grade. Like many schools, plagiarism is not tolerated.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice is get to class a little early to avoid the possibility of not finding a parking space. Bring your own food because the cafeteria food is way over priced. Most importantly, join the clubs on campus because I made friends with the majority of students in clubs.

    In three sentences

    I have cherished my time at OCC greatly, due to the help of the students and staff. OCC has a clean campus with friendly, well-in-sighted professors. The classes are not too big and scheduling is a breeze.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe, security is present everywhere and they are really helpful!

    Clubs and Activities

    Many options!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who struggle to find funds for a larger university or for students who would like to make the transition into college a little smoother.

    Bang for the buck

    OCC is not very expensive which makes it a really great place for new college students to complete their introductory courses and prerequisites.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is loaded with numerous clubs, sports teams, and activities for the students to participate in. There are also lots of trips to sign up for!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has top rated chefs and they serve high quality food!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are currently being built.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending upon the class and the professor, the work involved can range from trivial to very demanding. Overall, however, it is not too hard to keep up with your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan your schedule and have an idea of what classes you need before you meet with your advisor!

    In three sentences

    OCC has a great staff of professors, however there administrators are not always as helpful as I would like. The campus is beautiful and they have a lot of sports, clubs, and activities to choose from. The college's two year plans really help their students prepare themselves to go on to a four year university!

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As a student that usually takes classes in the evenings I always feel safe while walking on campus. There is always an abundance of security driving and walking around campus plus there are plenty of cameras located through out the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Ocean County College is great for adult students returning back to school. With a range of times for classes and also a great amount of online classes being offered it's helpful for students with careers and families.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something fun to do if you are an Ocean County College student. The campus itself offers many sports to either participate in or just be sideline viewer to the games. Also the campus doesn't sit far from the Jersey Shore, so in between classes or after class a student can always head to the beach to catch some sun and do some reading at the same time.

    Food and Dining

    As a student with two part-time jobs I don't have much time to spend on campus to eat and mostly I bring snacks to munch on during class breaks.

    Dorm Life

    Community college with no dorm life but if a prospective new High School graduate has the opportunity to go away to a college and live the dorm life I would definitely recommend it.

    Academic Rigor

    For me personally the academics at OCC is on the perfect level. The classes so far have taught me to re-think things out and also to dig deeper in to my thinking. The classes have put a great emphasis on what needs to be learned toward my degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best thing to do before starting at the school is to do the research online for prospective classes before going up to the college. Another great thing for new students is to seek the assistance of both a financial counselor and academic counselor.

    In three sentences

    As an adult student returning to college I find the ease of registering online a very simple task. Also their abundance of online classes and online information is great. The friendliness of the college is very helpful and with more and more adult students it helps with easing back into the swing of being a student again.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Join Phi Theta Kappa, the NJ Stars Club, and the Association for Pre-Health Professions Club.

    What to do for fun

    You can join clubs and activities to meet new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn how to manage your time.

    In three sentences

    Ocean County College has excellent professors who are willing to take time out of their schedules to help their students. They also have a library equipped with many resources help their students with researching. Ocean County College has a very good writing center where students can go to for help with any of their papers.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The have security on bikes riding around campus at all hours of the day and there are call buttons in many places on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student!

    Bang for the buck

    It's great! I'm going with the STARS program!

    What to do for fun

    I joined the sailing team! Ocean County College is the only community college in the state of New Jersey that has one! I'm trying to get my school and work schedule to cooperate with practices. We go to competitions every weekend, sounds pretty exciting, doesn't it?

    Food and Dining

    Ocean County College has a cafeteria but the food isn't all that great! On the plus side OCC has a Starbucks on campus, life is great! Another nice aspect of attending OCC is that the College is located in Toms River, that being said I don't have to drive too far off campus to find tons of restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at Ocean County College! Hey, I'm not complaining, I just have to be sure to get along with my 'rents.

    Academic Rigor

    In my opinion the classes aren't overly challenging. I mean I worked my, for lack of a better word, butt of in high school. I was in Honors and AP classes my whole high school career. Taking challenging classes in high school prepared me for college classes. Right now my college classes seem like a review of everything I have learned. Even so, it is a great review and establishes a permanent base for the rest of the learning I plan to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students that are looking for a smooth transition into college should start at the community level. There is nothing wrong with that, sometimes I think it's even smarter to stay close to home at first. Beat college debt; with this economy who knows what predicament you might find yourself in down the road. If you are going to be a Freshman in the fall, like I was, apply early so you can get all the best professors and the schedule you want before classes fill up. All in all, while attending Ocean County College I can save myself money, have a job, become responsible, and learn to balance my time before going away.

    In three sentences

    I was worried about attending Ocean County College because I thought it would hold me back from my dream career longer. Turns out, attending a community college is a fantastic start! For the price you can't beat it!

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety of our students are very important. There is security everyday and are closely watching for any misconduct. I have felt safe since I started going to this college.

    Clubs and Activities

    I love the ballroom dance club! It's a great way to learn a new dance with no dance background necessary. They also have environmental clubs, debate club, cheerleading, dance, science, math clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    I love it when they come out with the new activities handout every month. I get excited because they are always in different colored paper every month and I get to check out the new upcoming trips they have. They are very interesting and exciting. It's a way to get involved and go places. Usually they provide the transportation and they discount your ticket to the event.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do at OCC. Let's see..study, study, study! There are also intramural activities in the gymnasium and special event outside or in our solar lounge. Our solar lounge is where they hold different events such as ethnic and culture celebrations and presentations, small productions, and musical gatherings. The people at OCC are very friendly and are all willing to make new friends.

    Food and Dining

    Ocean County College has its own dining facility with a new menu everyday. They also have made to order food so that it's fresh and hot when you get it. If you do not want to eat the food at OCC, there are plenty of restaurants surrounding our college.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at Ocean County College. We have no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what class and how you apply yourself, I would give a lot of the classes I've taken a 4 out of 5. They actually motivate you to do better since they are hard. The professors will also make it tough so that you do learn something and walk away from the class knowing that you learned from the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a good start for a college if you do not want to leave home yet or can't afford to go to a more expensive college or university. The education is still an education and I found that being there has helped me become more independent.

    In three sentences

    The facility is very friendly and nice, filled with dedicated, motivated students. The educators will push you to do your best in class and will help you to succeed. The campus is fairly safe, but has too many detour problems due to road work on one of the two entrance/exits.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are an enormous amount of clubs and activities to participate in at Ocean County College. On the first day of classes, clubs can be viewed at the tables set up outside of the student center. Even the sports teams are fun to be a part of, and if you do not want a high level of competitiveness, there are intramural sports teams to be a part of as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria at Ocean County College is pretty good, but somewhat expensive. It is however made fresh daily.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Ocean County College. Everyone who takes classes there must commute.

    Academic Rigor

    In my classes, the other students and myself are very attentive and ready to learn. The teachers enforce this by making their classes very interesting to even the unmotivated student.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Ocean County College, do not be late for class. You should study two hours for every hour of class you have. Make use of the syllabus whih each teacher will give to you as well as the online campus cruiser. Also, don't hesitate to ask your professor for help, or go to the writing center or the tutors for any extra help you may need.

    In three sentences

    Ocean County College is a great college to attend. The professors are all very knowledgeable and go out of their way to be helpful. The campus is very quaint and the atmosphere is very relaxed.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has never been an incident here at OCC. There are assistance boxes in the parking lots, and there are security all over. I have never felt unsafe at OCC, and I take night classes, so I'm always walking to my car in the darkness. If for any reason, you feel unsafe, pick up your phone, call security, and someone will walk you to your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    What don't they have? If you're looking for a certain club, and they don't have it... start it up on your own. The girls in student life are amazing! You will love stopping by to say hello!

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for any type of student. You can be very involved, or not involved at all. Nobody really judges here. I couldn't find a place to fit in, in high school, and I'm extremely happy.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition rates at OCC are affordable, and the campus is great. Every department is helpful, and the staff is great. There is many opportunities here, for everyone. I'm proud I attended OCC, I loved every minute.

    What to do for fun

    There are SO MANY clubs here at OCC. Many different types of clubs, so you can find somewhere to fit in. It's amazing how many different clubs there are from sports, to music, to volunteer work. Anything you're looking for, you will find. If you don't.. start a club on your own. Nothing is impossible. There are also many sports teams, a gym you have access to as a student, and a pool!

    Food and Dining

    The OCC cafeteria, isn't a favorite of mine. But they do offer a variety of items to hopefully satisfy your need. There are also vending machines all over campus, so you should be able to find something to keep you happy.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at OCC, we all live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professor's are amazing. Many of the professor's here have phenomenal credentials, and we should be honoured we're able to learn from them. If you're struggling, there are many opportunities to help you succeed. From the writing center, to the math tutoring lab. Many chances to do it right the first time!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't give up! College can be frustrating. There are so many great professors at this school that will help you excel to the best of your abilities. You need to remember there is never a stupid question. You should never be afraid to approach your professor, and ask how you can excel. There are many degree opportunities, and if you don't know what you want to do, stop by the career center, and they will help you out. I have never been denied an opportunity, and you won't be either.

    In three sentences

    Ocean County College is a beautiful school, with many opportunities. I'm glad I chose OCC, because it was life altering. If you choose to come here, you won't be disappointed.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not the best or worst food you can get at a college

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not that challenging, which is good if you work.

    In three sentences

    Ocean County College is a decent college. It will get you an Associates Degree for a minimal price. I would rate them as 5 out of 10

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards on duty and they are all very friendly and helpful

    Clubs and Activities

    dance club, PBL, student government, NJ STARS club, history club, spanish club, Viking News, etc. etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who need some more time to mature, have financial restrictions, or want to stay close to home

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs to get invalid in. There are also sports and inter murals to stay physically involved. There is also a gym and pool on campus that students are allowed to use.

    Food and Dining

    I have never been to the cafeteria on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are definitely harder than high school, but not so difficult to the point where they are overwhelming and/ or unbearable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into it with an open mind. OCC is so much more than just a community college. If you take full advantage of everything that they have to offer you will have a fulfilled college experience.

    In three sentences

    I love how I am able to stay at home and be able to get a college education in a comfortable environment. Everyone there is so helpful and friendly as well as understanding of the diverse student population and their needs. The diversity of students allows a great way to interact with people of all different age groups and situations.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is very good at OCC there are always security staff members roaming the campus and parking lots making sure nothing bad can happen.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Ice Hockey Club is a great time with amazing people involved, also Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society is one of the largest community college honor society's in the USA.

    Bang for the buck

    OCC is affortable it cost about 30% to 40% of what other in-state tutions cost.

    What to do for fun

    I normally go to one of the music practice rooms to have fun and play piano because, I only have a keyboard at home. There are a lot of clubs to join as well, I'm in the Ice Hockey Club we play once a week right in Toms River only 5 minutes away from campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not bad, they have a good variety of different foods on the menu. Its a little pricey but, nothing to outrageous and it's right on campus so its really convenient.

    Dorm Life

    There are no Dorms at OCC.

    Academic Rigor

    OCC is one of the best Community Colleges in the USA and the academic level there is at a high level to ensure their status of being a prestigious community college is not tarnished.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell future students how going to OCC is the best way to figure out what you want to go to school for. Also how much money they will save by attending OCC before moving on to another school.

    In three sentences

    OCC is a great place to start your college career and a great stepping stone before transferring to a four year institution. The staff and faculty are very helpful with what ever questions you may have. I really enjoyed my time there and believe OCC is responsible for helping me become a great student.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much you could do for fun on campus. There are many restaurants off campus though, less than 5 miles away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to plan enough time for studying.

    In three sentences

    Great starter school. If you're planning to transfer to a 4-year school, this is a great place to start. You can earn many transferrable credits at a fraction of the cost of major Universities.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small campus, safe community, trusted and involved security staff.

    Greek Life

    Non existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs to choose from, from Judo to Ceramics, there's something for everyone! Get involved with NJ Stars, even if you don't have the GPA to receive NJ stars scholarship money. There are so many great volunteer opportunities. Also, go to the student life office and check out all the trips they offer, as well as discounted ticket prices to shows, movies, and other activities. If you like to write, get involved with SeaScape! It's a literary magazine that publishes art, photography, and writing in a huge journal once a year. It's a ton of fun and a great way to get your name out there. Look in the college catalog or the clubs section on your ocean cruiser account and find something that interests you!

    Great for these types of students

    Unsure students. What better place to go than OCC if you are unsure about your future? It will give you the opportunity to get your core classes out of the way, for a fraction of the cost! Also, you'll have the necessary time to make up your mind about what career path you are interested in choosing. Involved students. With so many on campus opportunities, there is no time to feel bored.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Need a quiet place to study? There are several study rooms offered in the library, but they're frequently used. Instead, go the the bottom floor of the library and turn into the hallway near the bathrooms - there is an empty room that's rarely used. Dare your friends to recreate the 16 Going on Seventeen Scene from the sound of music at no other than THE MALL. Not the mall that you shop at! This mall is the heart of the OCC campus, an open circle surrounded by benches. Fun Fact! If you walk in the dead center of this mall, your voice echoes and sounds really cool =)

    Bang for the buck

    Great price for a quality education. Fantastic teachers, WORTH THE COST!

    What to do for fun

    Clubs! L

    Food and Dining

    - Food on campus is slightly over-priced, I rarely buy food from the cafeteria. But if you choose to, say hi to Kenny the cook =) - Nearby off campus places to eat: T.G.I. Fridays, Applebees, Olive Garden, Chilli's, Friendly's, Red Lobster, Cool Beans, Subway, McDonalds, Boston Market, and many more!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms =/

    Academic Rigor

    Very easy. If you have a 90 or above you have an A. Just do the homework and study for the tests and a 4.0 is easily attainable.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Join as many clubs as you can, don't wait until your sophomore year to make a name for yourself on campus. - If you have to take Western Civ, get Professor Trimble, he's the biggest sweetheart in the world!

    In three sentences

    Fantastic club opportunities Great low student to teacher ratio Nice location: right next to the Ocean County Mall and there are so many places to eat!

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I rarely see any security officers walking around the campus. However there are help boxes and the campus is small enough that your safety is at a real risk. I have noticed though that there always parking security in the parking lots especially at night which make me feel safe when I'm walking to my car.

    Greek Life

    This school does not have greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a plethora of clubs and such the problem is that they are not very well promoted so its hard to find them.

    Great for these types of students

    great for people going back to school because you can have a flexible schedule and also for those who don't have a lot of money for school because it is very inexpensive.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there really isnt anything special, cool spots. Its a community college. Most just go to class and then go home.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a great price for a good education. Most professors are awesome and it beats having to pay thousands for a state school

    What to do for fun

    Theres really nothing except hang out with the people you meet.

    Food and Dining

    Its basically high school food. Unhealthy and unappealing

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    its about the same as your average college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont treat community college as a joke. Its still college and its not like high school where you can just breeze by.

    In three sentences

    Its a great starter college. Nice faculty, staff, and students. Work hard and you'll be able to transfer to a state school on a scholarship

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a lot of security guards on campus, ive never seen a fight or anything like that here. Overall safe place to learn.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sailing, the newspaper, radio broadcasting, tv production, are all some activities you can join.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to save money this place is for you!

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers are good, the staff for financial aid, tuition, and registration offices are a different story. They aren't very nice or helpful. Lines are pretty bad during the beginning of the semester so try to get that stuff out of the way before it starts. The bookstore lines are horrendous during the fist week of the semester as well (over one hour wait).

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and after school activities to join if you want to do that. There is also a soccer field and tennis court. On warm days you can see students throwing around a frisbee and other like things.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is surprisingly good. Better then high school food thats for sure. Its a little expensive but worth it if you want a good meal.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms, nothing to say here.

    Academic Rigor

    Students like to call it hooper high because its easy to get in. But the classes are not like high school classes, they are college level. Many of the professors teach here part tme and have full time jobs at other four year colleges, so Id say its on par with any other school in the area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its better to register online, when you go in person the lines are always long and the staff looks like they are tired and just want to leave. The teachers are good for the most part, with a few bad apples. I like the fact that I dont have to pay for a dorm and I live 15 minutes away.

    In three sentences

    A good community college for students planning to transfer. Im saving a lot of money by going here for my first 2 years. Overall a good experience so far I suggest it to anyone wanting to further their education!

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is clean and pleasant, security is always nearby.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus, making the campus cleaner than others.

    Academic Rigor

    As any other school, the academic rigor depends on the classes you're enrolled in and the professor of the course. Classes aren't as structured as high school, so the professors need to work with people who master the subject at different speeds. For example, English 101 professors need to tend to students who may be at an honors level, while other students need some more 1 on 1 attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't complain about the school. Even universities have classes and professors you won't particularly like. At OCC you're getting a bang for your buck because it's the same education you'd get at any university for less money. Be ready to fight for help you need because the advisors aren't always welcoming. The website pretty much outlines everything you need to know, so it's not that difficult. Professors are really helpful, most will try their best to work with you. Go into the semester with an open mind and you'll have fun.

    In three sentences

    The school is convenient and cheap while still offering the college experience. Faculty is great and the campus is clean and welcoming. Only negative aspect is little help from advisors.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had a problem and you can see many guards throughout campus, however, because of parking issues students sometimes find damage to their cars.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are not really sure of their major, or feel quite ready to go to a four year school.

    Bang for the buck

    Advisors are often wrong and you can end up spending money on credits that do not transfer, and essentially mean nothing. Bookstore is very overpriced and book buy back is available but don't expect to get nearly what you paid. Cafeteria is way overpriced for the quality of food.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and get involved with campus activities

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is expensive and not worth the money.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    There are different types of advisors some will be heavy on the workload, some wont. The only standard between classes is the material that needs to be covered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really do your research. Not all the academic advisors/ staff know correct information and often give wrong information, for which there is no accountability for. Stay on top of the advisors. Be prepared to see a different person every time and double check any information they give you if you plan on transferring to another school. Try not to buy your books from the bookstore. Very overpriced.

    In three sentences

    Good school if you just want to get your general education credits out of the way. The school itself is very unorganized. Staff often gives out incorrect information.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    33 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Student Life is great. If you join a club or organization you will not regret it there is a lot to do if you want to be active.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who will be in college for more than 4 years and ant to cut their financial bill in half.

    Bang for the buck

    I was able to cut my tuition and college costs in half by attending OCC.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or organization.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms it is a community college

    Tips for prospective students

    Select your classes wisely and study hard but not too hard.

    In three sentences

    Ocean County College was a great experience! I learned so much being here and I grew as a student and as a person. OCC was a great start towards m college education.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always on patrol. Very safe.

    What to do for fun

    Many available sports, there's a gym and even a planetarium.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has great sushi and quiet for doing homework in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, sorry.

    Academic Rigor

    Great price in comparison. Linked with many other schools; such as Kean and NJIT.

    Tips for prospective students

    Easy to get to and enroll.

    In three sentences

    Great looking campus. Many classes to choose from. Great library.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    35 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many clubs and activities to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that aren't sure what they want to do.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different types of activities that Ocean County College has.

    Food and Dining

    The food that they sell is very good.

    Dorm Life

    Theres no dorms its a college you have to drive to everyday.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at this school are very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Teachers are very friendly and always want to help.

    In three sentences

    Ocean County College is a very great college to start off at. This college helped me find my major. Also its giving me the tools to move on to a four year school.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Never had the chance to stop and get food but have heard horrible stories about it.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    DEPENDING ON THE TEACHER the classes can be very fun and you learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Many teachers will not email or make extra time for students! Make sure to go to class! If you miss something it is most likely you will not have a chance to make it up, or get instructions.

    In three sentences

    I am actually very impressed in Ocean County College. Classrooms and campus are very beautiful and a great atmosphere. Although I seem to have a few problems with teacher the administration and guidance are amazing.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 39

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Ocean County College is a great transition from high school to college. If you are unsure about what you may want to major in, save your time and money by attending a county college. Best financial decision I could have made.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always visible walking around campus which gives the campus a sense of safety.

    Bang for the buck

    College is affordable being that it is a community college so nor meal plans or housing is required.

    What to do for fun

    Community around school allows for a lot of things to do off campus. On campus there are clubs to join so you can be a part of a group.

    Food and Dining

    Can not say I do not eat I campus I go home to eat all of my meals

    Dorm Life

    There or no dorms on campus it is a commuting college.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part most the professors I took were excellent. I recommend looking on rate my professor before choosing a class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to take placement tests when applying and ask advisors plenty of questions.

    In three sentences

    Good for commuting students who are looking to be able to take classes at their own convenience. Allows you to be able to work and go to school and not feel to overwhelmed. Also is an easy campus to figure out and the website is easy as well.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security are usually circling the campus, but they don't bug anyone. It's just good to know they're there. You could probably run a stop sign and they wouldn't care, they're looking for real problems and to be of service. Cops and fire trucks are near by and sometimes on campus. There are emergency boxes with lights all over the place, very close to each other. Building are all close to each other and to parking so, it's never a long walk either.

    Greek Life

    NONE. No campus living.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've heard very good things. Theatre, clubs, volunteer activities, charity events... Students from all social groups participate in them.

    Great for these types of students

    Students; looking for a faster degree to help with work and pay. who want/need to save money. who aren't sure what they want to do or where they want to go yet. with a family or other responsibilities. looking for a college transition period or who want to take it easy.(If you're going through a rough time in life OCC is easy to handle) who want to work while in college. (I'm a full time student also successfully working 30hrs/week and helping raise my brother)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No one really explores the campus. You go, do what you need to do, and leave. I like the Ocean County Library of Toms River. If you have time, need a book, or just want to hang it's great there. I believe they have a Dunkin' Donuts and there's a section where you can sit and listen to music. It's a cool atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm almost 100% positive that OCC is the cheapest college in NJ (or at least in southern NJ). Although it's cheap it is one of the more recognized county colleges with a good reputation. It looks better than the other county colleges around and offers more. Like I said, MOST professors are amazing. I've been impressed with them and I've been a Penn State student. Most colleges will transfer 90% of your courses from OCC. They trust it there. I check with Penn State (they have this online transfer tool) before taking courses because then I know which ones will and will not transfer. The ones that don't transfer directly usually at least transfer towards Gen. Eds., and minors.

    What to do for fun

    Since no one lives on campus there really isn't anything to do for fun unless you join an extracurricular or go to events. There is a lot to offer if you do one of those two. I've heard about theatre, charity events, beach clean ups, and different clubs.

    Food and Dining

    I hear it's not so good. Personally I wouldn't try it. At the off campus sites there are usually free cookies, coffee, snacks that are good.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. Commuting only. :p

    Academic Rigor

    You have to show up to EVERY class. There are a few professors who will let it slide, but most won't. Most professors are fun and discussion oriented. A lot of classes are enjoyable, the boring ones are usually boring because it's all common sense material, easy As.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going here is worth it, it's easy if you let it be and saves tons of money. You can always transfer later and while you're working towards a degree for a different school try getting an associate's degree or certificate in something else. Certain things always come in handy. For example, a business certificate can raise your pay working in sales or retail management through college. Don't take Psychology with Professor Leonard. She may have credentials, but she doesn't make any sense and, coming from a Psychology background in my family, I can tell you it is all mis-information. An easy grade, but not worth poisoning your mind. lol. Most professors are great. My investments prof. used to be stock broker. Look into classes off the main campus, sometimes they have more to offer when it comes to hands on classes. Use rate my professor when picking classes and if you have a busy life try scheduling all your classes for the week into one or two days. Get it all done in one shot. If you take one long class rather than two short ones for a course you'll probably finish in the same amount of time as the short classes because there's less moving around. Try to buy books from friends, most books are only available from the college bookstore and they can be expensive. OCC likes to rip you off that way. Look online at other sites and ask friends for cheap buys. That being said go to your first class and make sure you even need the books before buying them. If you're planning to transfer to a 4-years and if think you can learn from the particular professor take your harder classes at OCC (after checking they will transfer) and it'll be easier than taking them at a 4-year. Then 4-yr college will be a breeze and you'll have time to have a blast.

    In three sentences

    It gets a bad rap from most students, but it really isn't bad... This coming from a Penn State main transfer student. I think the bad rap is from students who are embarrassed to be attending county college, but no one should be. It's smart to go there... Save money and get good grades easy.