Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Oglethorpe University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/18/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 out of 17 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small but very active communities with one on one interaction between students, professors, and the area around the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the campus more than once if given the chance. The grounds are beautiful and the staff are friendly and accommodating. If you have questions, they will answer them!

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid is wonderful at this school. It's a private school and is therefore expensive, but they will do their utmost to help you attend.

  • 12/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Oglethorpe is a wonderful and nurturing environment for independent, evolving minds. I choose it because I wanted to be a big fish in a small pond who contributed to the livelihood of the school, and so far I have done just that. What's interesting about Oglethorpe is that we truly have diversity and people from every part of the spectrum. The typical Oglethorpe student is unique, interesting, and far from being a cookie cutter.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advice I can give to a prospective student is to get involved! Oglethorpe has many different kinds of activities and people to invest in, and the more you put in, the more you will receive! Also, be as organized as possible with your time management and study skills. In college you have to learn to prioritize as well as balance school with your other activities... There is almost always something going on, but it is never more important than your studies.

    Bang for the buck

    The education you receive from Oglethorpe is absolutely priceless due to the experience it provides and the opportunities it makes obtainable. The relationships you form with your peers, professors, and the faculty are invaluable, as are the opportunities for internships, studying abroad, and career networking. Oglethorpe is very well connected. As far as living on campus, it really is the most bang for your buck. It's located in the safe, residential area of Brookhaven, but is still just minutes from the bustling city. The upperclassmen dorms are really nice, and the freshman dorms are in my opinion much roomier than the dorms of friends I've visited at state schools. Living also includes an unlimited meal plan at a cafeteria that offers a variety of selections, isn't dreadful to eat at, and has a mission of being a sustainable food provider.

    Am enjoying being here

    I knew I was going to have a good time at Oglethorpe, but I didn't know that I was going to have such an amazing time that I'd be reluctant to leave for a month for Winter Break. I have made a life that I really enjoy here. I love my classes and have truly grown because of them, my professors are accessible and intriguing people, I have a great job on campus, I've gotten involved in extra curricular activities, and I've made connections and developed very close relationships with truly unique people who are intelligent, cultured, creative, and so much fun to be around. Also, Oglethorpe's campus is beautiful... the aesthetic quality of the stone architecture and many trees is visually breathtaking, especially in the autumn.

    Am learning a lot

    I have been at Oglethorpe for a semester, and it feels like my brain has already expanded so much! I am learning about things I'm truly interested in, an opportunity I didn't really have in high school. I have particularly learned more about the field of Communications, Art History, and Eastern Thought and its parallels to Western Science.

  • 07/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Oglethorpe is great for all students nerds, athletes, social-butterflies, shy and conservative students(I was pretty shy when I first moved in, and I opened up a lot during my freshman year). Also for those students who like a small student body and small classes(12-25 students)

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a freshman and you get Traer Hall. Don't be bummed out! There are a lot of rumors that get put on incoming freshman and the look of it definitely makes others turn away and immediately want to go to Dempsey. Trust me I was there! When I first saw Traer and saw that that is where I would be living for the year I hated it. But within a few weeks of living there I loved it. It is comfortable, it has an open courtyard so it is easy to learn your fellow peers names and get to know them, the courtyard is fun to practice to your sport or teach/learn others sports, its a great place to chat or do homework/ study outside. It is also the best dorm, from what I learned and experiences, to make friends fast and easy. They say it is the party dorm but it really isn't that bad as they make it sound. Yes there were parties. Some people have their own parties in their rooms but they really aren't that loud. If they are we have RA's, 2 on each floor, who will immediately tell them to turn it down or they will get in BIG trouble if they repeatedly disobey and cause noise distractions. You won't have to worry about being woken up at night due to loud music and such. I will admit you will hear occasionally yelling, loud music and screaming, but we had a lot of hyperactive people and people on the third floor yelling across the way or to those on the bottom floor instead of just going down to them. Also if you get Traer and put on the third floor like I was. You may want to effectively and efficiently pack. It is VERY tiring carrying luggage and other things up and down those steps because unlike Dempsey there is no elevator. However, I will say there will be a Moving-In crew, I was apart of it last year and most of the Summer/Fall athletes who get to move-in early will have the privilege of helping all freshman move in. So be a pal for your fellow peers and upperclassman and don't bring too many heavy things or objects that are hard to carry up those flights of stairs. Containers and bags work great. And even after hearing this you still want to pack crazy, not being empathic for those who have to carry you and the rest of your classes clothes, refrigerators, stereos, microwaves, printers, knick knack, and other things you may need during your year up stairs during the heat of the day, just don't forget you still have to take those things BACK and there is no moving out crew. So it will just be you/and or your parents/family/friend(s) carrying all your stuff down. So don't over pack! Also the #1 Tip I can give you is don't procrastinate. Do your homework and study early! You don't want to spend your whole weekend, day, and night working on an essay or doing homework that's due the next day. You want to get the most out of your years of school and you don't want to be stressed and or tired all the time or busy working on late work or work you waited until the night/day before to work on. I've been there and done it a few times, and each time I regretted it. I love going out and hanging with friends and sleeping, so spending my day/night doing things I already should have already done instead if doing something else or hanging with friends all day really wasn't worth is in the end. Time management is the key of having an easy fun university life

    Bang for the buck

    This is a very expensive school to go to and it is helpful if you already have your mind made up of what you want to pursue. Oglethorpe gives good contacts and networking especially for businesses, accounting, and psychology. So, if you're pursing any of these thing before the end of your 4 years there, you'll definitely be contact with many good businesses and employers and internships that you should be able to get started on your career as soon as you graduate.

    Am enjoying being here

    I definitely enjoy being at Oglethorpe. Freshman year is hands down one of the best years of my life. Even though I only live 2 1/2 hours away from my home, I had no family or friends nearby so I was very nervous about moving in. You are in a great location of Atlanta, not in the busiest area so you don't have to suffer through traffic but conveniently located to whenever you want to go out to eat at a restaurant or go shopping. Or if you need to go somewhere farther out and you don't want to use up gas, or just don't want to drive, the university is conveniently located near a Marta station. You could just park your car there or walk there is about a mile away.

    Am learning a lot

    Coming to a private University I was very nervous coming to a university with others who are intellectually gifted and hardworking as me or even more. I did struggle in a few things at the beginning but majority of the professors and staff there are very helpful and kind. If you can just work up the nerve to confront them and ask them your question or tell your issue, they'll be more than happy to help you out the best they can or refer you to someone who can assist you. Having such helpful people around the school definitely helped me learn a lot. The courses are challenging but they are passable and even if you move at a slower rate than others or having trouble in a certain topic there will always be someone around to help you or someone to ask.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - reserved - wiling to learn - dedicated - writing intensive

    Tips for prospective students

    Go there and sincerely put your all into your work, and you will become something big. I promise.

    Bang for the buck

    The food isn't the bang for the buck but the faculty and EVERYTHING else is awesome!

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The amps is very safe and the campus security officials are on duty 24 hrs and are very helpful when locked out your room or your car.

    Greek Life

    Big on Frats and Sororities. VERY BIG.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a annual quidditch game during their annual Harry Potter Week. There are time capsules and a giant group of bells that sound every 15 minutes. the tune is quite catchy.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe it is overpriced but it would be worth it if the food options were better.

    What to do for fun

    There are tonns of campus events, parties and fun activities. Atlanta will keep you entertained and so will the rock climbing in the gym. Also there are basketball, and tennis courts, soccer and baseball fields, and a giant rectangular shaped field the quad for whatever your heart wishes to play. Also greek life is a big hit on this campus.

    Food and Dining

    Ahh Dios Mio, the food really sucks. They are trying to improve it but it normally tastes disgusting.maybe it's because the food they serve is actually healthy food (and locally grown).

    Dorm Life

    Freshman Traer dorm sucks because the walls are very thin and it mimics a cheap motel. The other freshman dorm, Dempsey, is much better because the suites come with a living room area to share with your 3 other suitemates. You share a room with one other person. There are 4 ppl to a bathroom. However, upper class-men dorms are much better; they get individual rooms with a bathroom to share with 1 other person and a living room and kitchen to share with 3 others.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging. You will be occupied with work but not so much that you will be bogged down.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to pull a lot of all nighters. There are easy teachers but most of the Oglethorpe faculty demands dedication to work. Everything you need is within walking distance outside the campus but you might need a car to explore the wonderful city of Atlanta. Also there are beautiful trees on campus (oaks pines and other flowering trees) but beware of allergies. The campus has this gothic themed architecture to it that appeals to harry potter fans but may turn off the modern world- then again that's what the city is for. Honestly, the college couldn't be located anywhere better than where it is because the city life is amazing with all there is to offer but then you get the best of both worlds because the campus models a rural/suburban tone. By the way, you'll never be late to class with a Giant bell tower that rings every 15 minutes, surprisingly it doesn't get annoying.

    In three sentences

    Oglethorpe has a very caring body of professors that will sacrifice time to help anyone in need. The university is very expensive but its is expected from a private institution. The campus is very old, rooms are not as attractive as more modern campuses and the food available on campus is limited and not as good (food outside the campus is amazing) however, the education is valuable.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is relatively safe so our Campus Safety has not been a prime focus of the administration. We have very low incident rates, but we do not have the best campus safety department. I imagine that is going to change because the students have begun to push the administration to provide us with better campus safety officers even though we are incredibly safe.

    Greek Life

    Our Greek Life is growing and thriving. This year saw the addition of two new Greek organizations to our campus. While our Greeks are active and involved, Oglethorpe is a school where you can thrive even if you do not go Greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a variety of different kinds of clubs and activities on campus. The best part of our campus life is that if there is something that you are interested in that is not a current part of our campus life, Oglethorpe provides the resources for you to start it up. We have a constantly changing lineup of clubs and student groups based on student interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As we have been around for over 175 years, we have tons of unique traditions sprinkled throughout the school year. One of the best is Boar's Head, our winter holiday concert. We induct members into Omicron Delta Kappa (the leadership honorary society), have a winter concert, and then we have a huge bash that takes over the entire student center. It is usually a really fun night of activities that are filled with school spirit.

    Bang for the buck

    While it is a private institution, you really get what you pay for with Oglethorpe, which usually isn't that much. Oglethorpe is relatively inexpensive for a private university, and they offer wonderful scholarships and financial aid.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus has gotten much better of late. We have a new dining company that has done a really good job of listening to the students. They are constantly listening to what we say, and changing the menus based on our preferences. That being said, it is a cafeteria so it is not the same as having small home cooked meals every night.

    Dorm Life

    We have different dorms on campus that all have their own different community feels to them. You can immediately tell what the vibe of the dorm is, and are able to pick a dorm with a community that suites your living style.

    Academic Rigor

    Oglethorpe is academically challenging but it strives to make sure that all of the students are successful. All of the professors have office hours, we have an academic success center, and everyone on campus is generally willing to help each other out. Our professors are incredibly good at what they do, and they make sure that they make classes challenging, fun, and engaging. Classes may be tough, but you can tell how far you've come as a student.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in Oglethorpe, you should come sit in on a class, take a tour, and spend the night on campus. It will really give you a feel for what it is like to be an Oglethorpe student.

    In three sentences

    Oglethorpe is a small liberal arts school that creates an environment that encourages all of its students to excel. We provide our students with amazing opportunities in academics, internships, study abroad, and campus leadership roles. Graduates of Oglethorpe are uniquely prepared to take on the real world.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in an education at a small Liberal Arts college, but still want to be near and have the opportunities of a big city.

  • 10/20/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    at first tuition looks expensive, but they are very gracious with financial aid

    Will enjoy being here

    haven't been here yet but from what I've heard, it sounds like a very nice and peaceful place to learn. I will probably do a campus visit soon

    Will learn a lot

    haven't been here but I've heard some good things about this university

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    i don't really have any comments about it. i currently do not live on campus but if i had a chance i would totally do it.

    Tips for prospective students

    if t=you are deciding to go here you can't not try to half do anything. go ahead and do your work early, if you have questions then ask and always get your work looked at twice or even three times. try to live on campus and if you can't be open to making as many friends as possible because it gets lonely without friends.

    In three sentences

    wonderful school and faculty. i love it here and its a real challenge you can't sit back and half do anything here. this school makes you think about things in a new way.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Gated, fenced campus; gate attendant; located in upscale area near Atlanta. Walkable campus.

    Greek Life

    Several available on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports: gold champions; building men and womens' lacrosse programs; houses Shakespeare Theater.

    Great for these types of students

    Serious students willing to study and work hard for unique rewards. Students who like smaller academic populations.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gothic environment built as Oxford in England replica. Mascot is Stormy Petrel with unique story.

    Bang for the buck

    Having compared larger settings, this is the most welcoming, academically challenging opportunity I have found.

    What to do for fun

    Golf champions; nearby Atlanta attractions; sporting events; civic engagement opportunities; Greek life; Shakespeare Theater on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Building a new student life center which will house multiple speciality eateries. Food program is all you can eat included as room and board.

    Dorm Life

    Some new dorms, some older dorms. Freshman are housed with roommates; can move up to single rooms when student is upperclassman. Residence Assistants readily available on each floor of dorm. Freshman, Sophomores, and Juniors must live on campus unless they live close enough to campus to commute. Oder students are very helpful to newer students.

    Academic Rigor

    Small classes, 14-16 students, all taught by masters' level and above. 1000to 1200 students enrolled. Core curriculum spaced throughout 4 years to allow students to focus on areas of interest earlier in the college experience. Free tutoring. Mandatory study halls for athletic participants. Focus on academics first, athletics next. Mentors for new students. Have the ability to take courses at other local university settings such as Emory if the desired program is not available at OU, at no extra charge. Excellent library and study areas. Travel abroad studies in abundance with professors in attendance. Internships with major companies in and around Atlanta GA. Graduates from OU are more readily accepted at other major adacemic settings such as Harvard, law and medical schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep you GPA and SAT scores as high as you can to qualify for their generous scholarship program. Take tour. Sit in on a class. Campus is Gothic theme (like Hogwarts) with green spaces.

    In three sentences

    Most enthusiastic, motivating personnel with all faculty masters' degrees and above. Provides state of the art communication and visits to classrooms, athletic events, scholarship weekends with parents included. Individual attention evident in small population university environment. Civic engagement programs stressed with internships available as well as foreign reciprocal studies.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is plenty of fun things to do on campus and off campus. Most of the frats throw parties that are amazing and there are plays, art exhibits for those who enjoy that. If you love to shop like I do there is a mall right down the road. You can either catch the train or drive. There is also Atlantic Station not to far from there either that has alot of shopping malls, a movie theater, and a bowling alley. You will not be bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good when you hit them on the right days. The cooks are friendly and if you are respectable you can pretty much get what you like.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty amazing. Even though I do not stay on campus, when I was there it was fun. You meet alot of people and talk to people that you may not have thought you would have when you got there.

    Academic Rigor

    You are bound to come out of Oglethorpe knowing alot more then when you came in. You will learn about yourself and about others. It causes you to think outside of the box and it helps you understand the world more.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to succeed make sure you do not procrastinate. You do not want to far behind in nothing that you do especially with papers.

    In three sentences

    This school is unique because it helps you think more about the world then what you already know. I would give it a 9 out of 10 as far as its learning techniques.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Like I said, there is always something going on on campus for a club or organization here at OU. If not, there is Brookhaven right down the street, and if you won't have a car, there is the MARTA one mile down the street to take to any part of Atlanta. Concerts, raves, tours, you name it. World of Coke and the Georgia Aquarium are always a plus for someone who isn't from the Atlanta area.

    Food and Dining

    Food is basically cafeteria food. Our meal plan is unlimited unless you're a commuter, but the food isn't all that great. Our student center is currently being remodeled, so we're hoping the food will get better when there is a real kitchen and cafeteria for the staff to work in.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a very nice size for upcoming freshmen. It's also nice in the upperclassmen dorms. Unfortunately, OU ran out of space for some freshmen this year and have some pretty bad dorms that they don't usually use because they should have been torn down years ago. Laundry is free, which is a nice plus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, classes, and professors, your academic load and difficulty level will be different. The most important thing to do is go to class and do your assignments. If you can do that much you're set. Just remember that this is a liberal arts school, so the course load may be more than what you're used to. Also, falling asleep and texting a substantial amount during class is not a good idea. The teachers want you to pay attention, and it pays off for you in the end as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare yourself for reading and writing. Also, try not to be discouraged by constructive criticism. The professors really want you to do better and become an even better student than what you already are. Come into the school with an open mind. Remember that it is a small campus, so be the best you can be during your first couple of months. You don't want a bad reputation the first weekend here.

    In three sentences

    Oglethorpe is a great campus with great faculty and students. There is always something going on on campus and if one of those activities going on doesn't interest you there is always the city of Atlanta right outside of the gates. Everyone has a place here at Oglethorpe, no matter who you are or what you do.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school could spend more money on having more full time security guards. However, there are very few issues on campus, and I have never felt unsafe on school grounds.

    Greek Life

    Over half of the students on campus are in a fraternity or sorority. The brothers and sisters on campus take great pride in which fraternity or sorority they belong to, and over all, the greek atmosphere is a very positive one.

    Clubs and Activities

    From Environmentally Concerned Oglethorpe Students, to Anime Anonymous, to OUtlet, there are many clubs at Oglethorpe. However, if there isn't a club that suits your fancy, you can start one! Starting a club an easy thing to do, and it is a very rewarding experience.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love reading, learning, and interacting one on one with your professors, then Oglethorpe University should be your first choice in colleges. If you need help, you can go and talk to your professors directly. The faculty and staff here legitimately care about your education and they do everything they can to help you succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When students graduate, they get to ring the largest bell on the top of Lupton Hall.

    Bang for the buck

    When I chose to attend Oglethorpe University, I made a fantastic investment. Despite the expense of attending a private university, Oglethorpe offers an environment in which you will learn more about who you are, what you want to do with your life, and how to get where you want to go.

    What to do for fun

    You hang out with your friends at the school, and on occasion, attend parties hosted by fraternities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Although it could be better, the food at Oglethorpe is edible. The food gets worse as semesters draw to a close, but you can always have pizza, make your own sandwich, or eat cereal.

    Dorm Life

    I have had a lot of fun living in the dorms at Oglethorpe. The students here are crazy, and there is always something interesting going on. If you ever have a problem, the office of Campus Life is very understanding and are more than willing to help you if you need them.

    Academic Rigor

    Oglethorpe University's CORE program allows students to get into their major immediately. You are expected to do a decent amount of reading at Oglethorpe, but as long as you do the assigned reading and study, you will do fine in your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have some volunteer experience under your belt and let the school know what you have done for your community. When applying, keep the school's motto in mind. Make a life, make a living, make a difference.

    In three sentences

    Oglethorpe University is a fantastic school for those who do not want to be swept under the rug. Every Petrel is an important member of the Oglethorpe community, and the University makes sure that every student knows it. I love learning here.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is Gated and Guarded 24/7 by security. The location is virtually crime free.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very expensive, but it is significantly less expensive than most private schools like, Mercer and Emory. Graduates of Oglethorpe easily after graduation, sometimes even before graduation.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few parties held on campus, there are clubs and sports teams as well as a game room. Oglethorpe is also located in Atlanta, where there is a lot to do.

    Food and Dining

    I did not really get to fully experience the food and dining, but everything they did provide did taste good. I'm jsut not sure if the school catered it or if they paid someone to do it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are what I least liked about Oglethorpe. They are in need of a makeover.

    Academic Rigor

    You will definitely be challenged here. All the classes including the math classes assign some sort of paper.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider what you really want out of your college experience and how much you're willing to pay for it. Take a close look at the curriculum and decide if it agrees with the way you learn. Talk with some students and staff and, get their prospectives on the school.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school. The campus is Beautiful, and the location is very nice. Everyone (faculty and staff) really care about all of their students.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are very liberal.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research, ask questions.

    In three sentences

    You are among some of the best of the best. Be strong, be independent, be willful, and everything else will follow. Inspiration is around every corner.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone is given Campus Safety's phone number at the beginning of the year. They're always around. There are rarely any attacks on campus of any kind.

    Greek Life

    There are a a few sororities and fraternities on campus. In general, they get along and interact with each other. Greek Row is usually the place to be on a weekend night.

    Clubs and Activities

    The good news is that you can start up almost anything you want. The bad news is it's difficult to get students to leave their rooms and participate.

    Great for these types of students

    Philosophical, deep thinkers belong here. People who like to buck the status qua couldn't be more comfortable here. If you carry a book and a notepad with you everywhere you go, this should feel like home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Oglethorpe has Boar's Head in November or December, which culminates in a huge feast that all students participate in. We also have Oglethorpe Day, which is our Founder's Day. A special guest usually gives a lecture at the end. This year it was our own president discussing the role of university presidents in a liberal world.

    Bang for the buck

    The professors are top notch. People who complain about Oglethorpe are usually complaining about the administrative aspect, which can be frustrating. But these professors are world class. They know their stuff, and their prerogative isn't to get you to agree with them, it's to get you to think and open your mind.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of what you do for fun will be social. This year we don't have a student center, which is a damper on the fun part of OU.

    Food and Dining

    Not many nutritional or fresh options. Prepare to do a lot of your own grocery shopping, or else eating out a lot.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are pretty big, and all upperclassmen have their own bedroom. There are a few communal kitchens available on campus. The walls are very thin no matter where you live, but that goes for most schools. There is lots of storage space.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your preparation for college, your first semester will either be a reality check or a mini vacation. Don't worry though, if you feel like your high school didn't prepare you well, OU has tons of resources to help you get better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Brush up on those reading and writing skills. You'll be doing a lot of analyzing, and they look for students who are comfortable arguing their point in a respectful manner.

    In three sentences

    Oglethorpe University is a great school for students who have innovative ideas to put them into action. However, if you're looking for a party school, this isn't the place for you. Oglethorpe is the place for students who want to make a difference not just in their fields, but in their world.

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a closed gate, policy that is monitored by security, however there are minimal problems on and off campus, due to the neighborhood.

    Greek Life

    The campus is still working to develop there greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    Due to the local attractions, Oglethorpe University is great for artsy students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Study abroad program is one of the best experiences the campus offers and it is open to all majors.

    Bang for the buck

    This school offers a lot to be a liberal arts based campus. They are developing more programs on campus and replacing the student center.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is next to the village of brookhaven, so everything from movies to dining and dancing is available to you within a 5 minute walk.

    Food and Dining

    The campus is nested in the Brookhaven neighborhood, there are plety of local restaurants, cafes and pubs to suit even the most finicky palate!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics can be challenging, however professors make themselves fully available for extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a full tour of the campus and the surrounding areas to fully asess the brookhaven community.

    In three sentences

    Oglethorpe University is a beautiful campus. The school has an inviting, nurturing environment. The warm faculty enhances learning.experience.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They never skip a beat.

    Greek Life

    most students are involved in greek life. The Greek organizations are very versatile.

    Clubs and Activities

    A vast majority

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I am aware of except for respect the Oglekitty and the Oglebubble

    Bang for the buck

    Oglethorpe has a vast amount of financial aid opportunies

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty things fun to do at Oglethorpe. There is always some event happening, there are sports to watch, and there is the town plaza of brookhaven.

    Food and Dining

    Great food and a variety of options

    Dorm Life

    Sometimes at Traer things got a little noisy

    Academic Rigor

    Oglethorpe pushes for excellence and success

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say keep an open mind, at Oglethorpe there is no normal we are all weird in some cool way, and work very hard.

    In three sentences

    Oglethorpe is the meaning of diversity and family. At Oglethorpe I have com across many different individuals from all walks of life. Oglethorpe is also about excelling, they push you to branch out and be your best.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Oglethorpe University is home to the Crypt of Civilization, the oldest time capsule in history.

    Bang for the buck

    Oglethorpe is a well respected private school, yet the cost is not outrageous, especially with the financial aid they give.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on around campus, but if nothing looks appealing, just take a bus into Atlanta.

    Food and Dining

    OU's tuition includes your meal plan, so college dining is made easy.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are average, but the upperclassman dorms are fantastic.

    Academic Rigor

    Oglethorpe is a very competitive school that wants you to succeed, but not without a fight.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show your interest early and you may have your application fee and essays waived.

    In three sentences

    Oglethorpe University is small, but able to open doors for you. The staff genuinely cares and they want to help. The campus is gorgeous.

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is pretty great. There is a gate around the entire campus and only 2 entrances, one of which is closed after 9:30 PM. To enter through the other gate you must have ID or authorization to come onto campus after 9:30. Also, campus safety will escort you around campus if you ever feel uncomfortable/unsafe and will drop you off at Marta.

    Greek Life

    There are only a handful of Greek houses and all of them are very small. There's like no more than 30 people in each house, tops. They throw very few parties and aren't very lively or active on campus generally.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't very many clubs or activities and none i'm interested in so I don't know how good the ones we do have are.

    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for students who mostly want to focus on their studies and appreciate lots of individual help from the faculty. We have a pretty tight nit community. Also, our men's golf team has won the championship for several years in a row. The best thing here, besides the academics perhaps, is men's golf.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I suppose the most unique thing about the Oglethorpe campus is the general architecture. It's sometimes referred to as Hogwarts from the Harry Potter movies. We also have a bell tower.

    What to do for fun

    There aren't many activities on campus. There aren't many sororities and fraternities and the ones that are there are small. Parties are few and far in-between. Usually you hang out in small groups on campus. There are several very nice malls in Atlanta and tons of movie theaters.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good most of the time and occasionally quite delicious. Maybe it's just because i'm a breakfast person, but that seems to be the most reliable meal to find good food. After breakfast is over they serve pizza all day. So if all else fails, you can live on pizza. There are a ton of off-campus choices though, many of which are within walking distance, including a grocery store.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and roomy compared to many other colleges. You also get to know the people in your building, or at least on your floor, very well. It's one of the best ways to make friends. You can be as private or open in your hospitality as you like. Some dorms on campus are known for being more social than others. Just pick whichever set-up you're most comfortable with. There is generally plenty of housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very knowledgeable and grade fairly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for outside scholarships because this college is expensive.

    In three sentences

    Oglethorpe is very small and intimate. We have a gorgeous campus. The professors are amazing and give as much individual attention as you need.

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always something to do on campus - art exhibitions, theatrical performances, sports events, student organizations, community service opportunities and Greek life sponsored events.

    In three sentences

    Oglethorpe is the best! Class sizes range from 13 to 15 students per class so you get to know your professors and classmates easily. Dorm life is diverse, friendly and exciting. There's always plenty of on-campus parties on the weekends and and people hanging out in dorm common rooms or student union on week nights. I love that Oglethorpe is centrally located and close to downtown Atlanta but on a private, gated campus in Brookhaven. The athletic program is exceptional. I'm really glad that I decided to attend OU!

  • 09/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mediocre Campus Safety

    Clubs and Activities

    There are an unlimited amount of clubs on campus from academic, to entertainment, to leisure, to social.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for Athletes, Theater Majors, Scientists, or Accounting Majors.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive, almost $45,000 which is a lot for college education. This being said, I think that it should be less expensive or that the school should give more financial aid for those in need.

    What to do for fun

    Atlanta is your back yard. You have everything to do on your free time. From going to the park, to finding a great restaurant downtown, to going to an amazing concert, Atlanta offers incredible opportunities in your free time.

    Food and Dining

    The new student center is incredible. Although the way that the cafeteria is set up is a little off, they provide great food and a great atmosphere.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is pretty good. The way the dorms are set up create a very comfortable home.

    Academic Rigor

    It is academically challenging. It is not too rigorous, but it is challenging. OU has the perfect balance of academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure OU has your major or a potential major that you have. Once you decide on OU, don't get to set on transferring. Core credits at OU don't usually get accepted elsewhere.

    In three sentences

    OU is a great school that provides a concrete education to live better lives. In it liberal arts way of teaching, students will understand more about themselves as well as the environment around them. Overall OU provides a tremendous college experience within all areas.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Greek row. Sporting events.

    In three sentences

    Oglethorpe University is a beautiful school. It has a high standard of excellence and great community. Being a student-athlete here is extremely rewarding.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always patrolling and send text messages if there is a situation on campus. They do escorts and assist in car troubles if there happens to be any.

    What to do for fun

    Oglethorpe is always conducting some sort of event on campus so there is always something to do. In the down time when there are no events, the rec room has a wide variety of games and other entertainment to keep you occupied. If you want fun off of campus there is a mall minutes away that has shopping and movies.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good since the new campus center has been built. There are plenty of places to eat and a wide variety of food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus so I do not have much of an opinion on the dorm life. I have visited the dorms and I have seen better. The older dorms do look their age but the newer dorms are not so bad.

    Academic Rigor

    As with most colleges, the school work is rarely simple. A lot of studying is required for a decent grade and I do not recommend cramming (It never works!). There are plenty of resources for help if classes do get too difficult. Peer tutors and professors will help if you request it in an appropriate manor.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in coming to Oglethorpe University, I suggest studying far enough in advance for the math placement test since your graduation year can be greatly effected by your performance. If you are choosing to live on campus, apply for housing as soon as you can since the dorms do fill up quickly. If you can, you should tour Oglethorpe beforehand to choose which dorm you want to live in.

    In three sentences

    Stepping through the gates of Oglethorpe University transports you into a warm welcoming community. Everyone has the same goal of succeeding and with the personal help from professors it is difficult not to. Contrasting the academic life is the on campus events that can relieve any stress that a college student can build up during the term.

  • 03/11/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have been accepted with a scholarship. Still debating on whether or not to attend.

  • 06/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is awesome! From escorts to cleaning up lab spills and opening car doors, they're always on hand. They will keep tabs on you if you go out (by your request) and will call you if you have not returned by the time you said you would. They will take you to the train station, though there are some limits on how extensively they will ferry you around (no pick-up at Hartsfield-Jackson, people). They are very quick to come and open your door if you lock your keys in your car, though less prompt in lighting bonfires outside the Campus Center (we do have a fire pit there).

    Greek Life

    Not being into Greek life, I can't judge it, but the Director of Greek Affairs is really nice. There are a large number of fraternities and sororities available, and every student, even those who don't belong to one, has a decided opinion as to which are cool and which are not. Usually it has to do with which ones your friends (and occasionally foes) belong to.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a wide variety of clubs for such a small school, and many are top notch.

    Great for these types of students

    Nerds! We are all nerds at OU -- embrace it! Oglethorpe is a great place for premeds (our biology department is tops) and liberal arts students. The history department is quite strong, languages not quite so much. It is good for a language minor, though. The music department is really good. I hear that the English department is good too; at least there are lots of English majors and they seem happy!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The elephant buried somewhere on campus is our favorite legend and the Petrels of Fire race on Oglethorpe day our favorite event. Here is a link to descriptions of these many others of OUr beloved traditions! http://oglethorpe.edu/about_us/oglethorpe_glossary.asp One of my favorite locations is the woody stretch between the soccer fields and the Goslin/Robinson parking lot -- there you will find Dr. Donnelly's bluebird watching station and Dr. Schadler's worm stumps, for Gen Bio 102 animal behavior lab. I also love to read on the bench outside Lupton Belltower when the weather is balmy -- the bell rings overhead, with quite a different tone than when heard elsewhere on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    If you have a decent scholarship, Oglethorpe is well worth your money. I wouldn't go anywhere else!

    What to do for fun

    The Boar's Head Celebration and Party, at the end of the Fall semester, is a must! It is the best party on campus, and everyone -- faculty, staff, and students -- goes to it! There are a wide variety of other activities available throughout the year, from Greek parties to lectures and Museum receptions. Go to the plays and concerts -- they're well worth it.

    Food and Dining

    The food is quite good, and has a wide variety. I have never heard of anyone getting food poisoning -- a common matter at some other college cafeterias I'm familiar with. Their cookies are especially good -- if they haven't been over baked, which they sometimes are. Once the cookies were not out, and I asked for them. The staff brought me a pile of hot, fresh-out-of-the-oven ones! The cafeteria is very attractive. There is a Starbuck's also, which is widely patronized.

    Dorm Life

    As a commuter student, I do not know first-hand about dorm life. But from what my friends say and from what I've seen, I'd say it is fine but not amazing. The dorms are pretty decent except for Traer, which really needs to go. It's a byword on campus. I've heard stories about strange happenings in the dorms (a war dance around a bonfire with an actual boar's head at midnight in Traer is one of them -- and no, that is NOT our famous boar's head ceremony). The other dorms are nice though not palatial, and the staff, including student RA's and PAL's, are especially nice. Most of the staff that works with the students also live on campus, so they are available after hours.

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard here, but great. The professors are in general really good, though I only have first hand knowledge of the science and history departments. If they are a representative sample, though, and I think they are, Oglethorpe's professors are as good as those at any college in the nation. It is not easy to get A's in the classes I have taken. If you slack off, you will be penalized. You really have to keep up with your work, and you especially have to go to EVERY class period, unless you are literally too sick to stand. Skipping classes will be reflected in a lower grade. That said, it is quite possible to get a perfect 4.0 GPA if you are serious about your work. One thing a lot of students hate is the Core curriculum, but I really like being able to have a standard class all my friends, both from the sciences and the humanities, are taking with me. Don't grumble about it -- you will not regret taking these Core classes in later life. Just be careful about who you choose for freshman level Core -- the few mediocre professors are adjuncts hired to take up the slack of the inrush of freshmen, and whose only job here is to teach Core 101 and 102. Make sure you take a professor who teaches a number of classes in his discipline also, be it English, philosophy or another topic. I recommend Bill Brightman and Devon Belcher for 100 level Cores.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and don't party too much! Go to study hours and SI sessions. Get to know your professors, but, that said, remember that they ARE your professors -- don't get too chummy. Be friendly, but respectful of their positions and their time constraints. Get to know the staff, Campus Life, Res Life, Campus Safety, etc. This will save you lots of time and trouble if you need their help -- which I assure you you will, more often than you think! All other benefit aside, you'll also be friends with some of the nicest people in Atlanta! Some tips with regard to schoolwork, and Core classes in particular. Do the reading, even if you feel bored. I recommend buying the books ahead of time and reading them over vacation. Then, if you have other homework or a paper due, you can just skim what you have already read and you're good to go. Not doing the reading will put you in sticky situations, and often very embarrassing ones, in class. If the professor allows you to submit a draft of your paper before the final draft is due, submit and get his feedback, then follow it to finish the paper. It will sky-rocket your grade, and it actually makes writing the paper much faster. Submit any homework on time, do not ask for extensions. This is seen as being manipulative. Do not be the person that always has an emergency before a test; that is also obvious. Once, it's probably genuine, but if it happens with every test, or even half of them, your professor is going to get suspicious. Don't ask for makeups if the syllabus says they are not offered. If you have a question about homework or about general class-related problems, look in the syllabus for the answer before you email the professor. It's usually there. With regard to your fellow Petrels: be friendly to all the students -- smile at them and say Hey, even if they're not the people you would hang out with. You don't have to have lunch with them, but simple friendliness never hurt anyone. If someone takes advantage of it, you can easily repulse them by being busy with other things -- do not feel obliged to cater to their unreasonable expectations. People kinda expect you to hold the door for them if they are right behind you. The designers of the Campus Center must have had that in mind, because the main doors are double. If someone holds the outer one for you, you can immediately return the favor by holding the inner one for them! Don't cut people if they don't belonging to a fraternity or a sorority, or if they are otherwise uncool. Especially don't do it if you tried to be best buddies with them your first week of school -- it's just lame, guys! One last tip -- don't spend all your school issued coffee money the first week of the semester! Remember there are sixteen weeks to go, and once the money's gone -- well, Starbucks' is really good, but when the money is gone (if you are broke like most of us) you will be walking by that tempting door everyday, and no way to relieve the craving!

    In three sentences

    First off, Oglethorpe is simply beautiful -- the whole campus, from Lupton Keyhole to Turner Lynch Campus Center, is one of my favorite places. The professors are very good, and you really have to work hard -- which is good! I would not choose to change anything I have done with regard to Oglethorpe.

  • 06/16/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have not started classes yet, but i i just registered for classes on campus and was impressed by how welcoming everyone was and i didnt run in to any low points during the registration and tour.

  • 07/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You're in the out skirts of Atlanta. They are events ALL the time. I went to a food festival with my friends and had a blast. Atlanta has a lot to offer for college students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is the worst. I hate that they do not offer a meal plan. If they did, I wouldn't get one. It's never cooked and taste like food. We got new equipment but the food has gotten horrible.

    Dorm Life

    It's either a hit or miss. I LOVE the roommate they gave me freshmen year but hated the suite mate. My roommate is my best friend now thanks to Oglethorpe. The freshmen dorms are mediocre but the upper class men dorms are nice. I prefer suites instead of sharing a room with someone.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't the easiest here but it will help you in the long run. You make the best out of your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fall in love with the school before you commit to the school. Most students who attend Oglethorpe has the best school spirit because they LOVE Oglethorpe.

    In three sentences

    Oglethorpe has the best professors and student hands down.