Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ohio Christian University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students need help in college. Music and Religon majors. Getting closer with Christ.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not come if you dont like rules. This campus has strict rules. There is a curfew for everyone. Have to go to 35 chapels in each semester (2 chapels a week) Do get fridays off

    Bang for the buck

    This school really wants your money. The Financial Aid is really strict and won't let you sign up for classes for the next semester unless they have all your money. It's hard to get bigger schollarships but easy to get small $500-800 ones.

    Am enjoying being here

    Other than playing sports here, there are not alot of activites to do. The campus is in the middle of no where. But, the campus is around 20 min away from Columbus.

    Am learning a lot

    Teachers are great here. If you need help they will gladly meet with you after class or even an hour or two in their office. They don't want you to fail. There are also alot of study groups and a writing center for papers and essays

  • 10/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian students. Soccer players(girls). Students expecting to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to expecting rules you probably aren't going to like. Depending on where you went to school in high school this may or may not be difficult. For me, I have no problems with any of the rules.

    Bang for the buck

    I am not going to sit here and tell you this school is cheap, it isn't. But I can tell you that if you want this accreditation and these teachers, there will be no place else this inexpensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is so much to do on campus. You will never get bored. If you do there is always homework. ;)

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot of new things here. The teachers are phenomenal. They really do care about each of the students. When first looking at colleges, I was skeptical if what the students were saying about the teachers caring were true. But first week, I found they were right!

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there have been no major crimes reported on the campus in years.

    Clubs and Activities

    student government, rez life activities, drama team, ablaze singing group, choir, band, small groups, christian service opportunities, a round table business club, and athletics (basketball, soccer, softball, baseball, volleyball, and cross country).

    Great for these types of students

    many types of students fit on this campus. we have social butterflies, future pastors/youth pastors, missionaries, and business leaders and also psychology-minded students, athletes, future teachers, and many with leadership potential. everyone has a place on ohio christian's campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ohio christian loves to ease our minds during finals week. the midnight breakfast is an evening towards the end of the semester where the professors and staff get together and cook and serve to the students a midnight breakfast. also fnl, or friday night live, is a clean comedy skit night put on at the end of the semester as well.

    What to do for fun

    hang out! being such a small campus, there is always a group getting together to play games or go into town. in the fall of 2012, a new student center will be ready for students to use for games, homework, and other miscellaneous things.

    Food and Dining

    there are many options in our cafeteria to choose from -- pizza, a grill for wraps/quessadillas/burgers, a stir fry bar, and some hot-line options as well. soon, we will be getting a brand new cafeteria coming in spring of 2013 along with a brand new facility for student life.

    Dorm Life

    events are planned every other week or so so that the campus life can stay active. the small environment makes many close friendships possible.

    Academic Rigor

    some of the programs are tougher than others, but all-in-all, the class load isn't impossible. professors work hard to help you through the class and wish to encourage you through it.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be intimidated by the rules/regulations on campus. compared to some private christian universities, there is more freedom here on this campus. also, don't be intimidated by financial aid issues. college is possible. wherever god wants you, he'll get you there.

    In three sentences

    ohio christian university has a wonderful christian atmosphere that encourages and lifts up each student. the professor's christian values help to make the education process easier to cope with and they work well with you if extra help is needed. the community of friendships is wonderful and the small environment makes nobody left unnoticed.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great safety

    Greek Life

    not in my interest

    Great for these types of students

    working adults.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    no unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    great education for the money!

    What to do for fun

    shopping in nearby lancaster. hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    i live off campus.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    fast paced!

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you make time to study. be committed. don't give up!

    In three sentences

    i enjoy the aim program. the professors are great. life changing opportunities.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    i am a 4h advisor in my local community and i enjoy activities my children are involved in. my daughter is currently playing softball and my son just finished a wrestling season.

    Great for these types of students

    this is a great program for the non traditional student. i understand there are a lot of programs on campus that are wonderful and are a big hit for students that live on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    this program is extremely affordable. federal grants make this program so very affordable for all students wanting to gain a higher degree of learning.

    What to do for fun

    i spend time with my family and enjoy my children and their activities. i spend as much quality time as possible with family activities because i never know just how much time we will have. every day counts and each day involves family.

    Food and Dining

    i am a non traditional student with a family - i am sorry - i do not live on campus

    Dorm Life

    i am a non traditional student with a family - i am sorry - i do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    this is a wonderful program with small group learning that gives more attention to individual learning. the cohorts are a wonderful way to meet people with similar interests and goals. the professors give a fantastic individual caring touch that helps the student feel comfortable.

    Tips for prospective students

    this is a wonderful program. this really fits that non traditional student that can work and still attend classes in the evening and gain their degree. please look into this to verify it will suit your needs.

    In three sentences

    i am very happy with the psychology program through ohio christian university. i enjoy the classes and the coursework and look forward to completing the program. this is a wonderful program that fits the non traditional student like me.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    At home, great!

    Dorm Life

    Not in a dorm; doing school from home.

    Academic Rigor

    They are very strict with their lessons and grading scale. You must have three feedbacks or you wont get a good score on your discussions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are on top of your books. They sometimes come late.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed Ohio Christian University so far; I have only been going for about two months now. However I like the classes and the flexible online schedule.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt very safe. It is kind of out of town a little bit and it is not very big so it just kind of stays safe all the time. But there are a couple security guards if anything does go wrong.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of stuff to do when it is warm like sand volleyball and ulitmate frisbee. It isn't too far from colombus either so you can always go there to hang.

    Food and Dining

    I got to try the food while I was there and I was there the day before and after so I got to see what the food was really like. I really liked the food and they are in the process of building a bigger, nicer cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I am planning on going here this fall and I went for a visit day last month and got to stay in the dorms. The dorms aren't anything super fancy, but they are nice and do give you a nice place to stay while your are there.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are really nice and they have some excellent teachers there. I woud say some of the best teachers around. And the few departments they have are really good.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    students play sand volleyball, you can play ultimate frisbee, we make our own fun.

    Food and Dining

    food and dining has massively improved

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    The course work is demanding so don't procrastinate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard for what you want.

    In three sentences

    Has a great family environment. Professors are willing to help you as long as they know you want their help. Don't be afraid to speak your mind.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    Be computer ready and be ready to write alot of essays.

    In three sentences

    A good Christian atmosphere with caring instructors.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have an incredible security team that is there for us whenever we feel something is going wrong.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am apart of a bunch of clubs and im only a freshman! i give this a 5 star because you can not know anything about the club, be interested, and you will be able to get involved somehow.

    What to do for fun

    There are events like RIOT week and REVIVIAL week. RIOT week is the week you move in and all the halls/dorms go head to head in silly competitions, At the end of the week we use duck tape that we win due to the silly competitions and make a boat out of cardboard and duck tape. We pick a person to ride in the boat too. REVIVAL week gets you out of some classes, and basically it is a Jesus week.

    Food and Dining

    This is the best part to me, about living on campus. We have meal plans, and we can eat 19 meals a week, and then have 100$ for the coffee shop for each semester. It's like 2 coffees a week. We have a dining hall that is kind of cramped, but in December 2012, we will have a larger eating area which i am sure will be better and bigger and have even more tasty food! We also have a sub shop, like a mini-subway, that has good subs.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is on point, and it's difficult if you don't pay attention to what your prof's tell you. You need to follow each step in college, or you will fail. You need to study. Even if the lecture sounds easy, follow up with flashcards for terms and stuff. You need to be able to focus because the Prof's don't intend to slow down. Be ready to embrace a lot of classes and be ready to be a good student at OCU!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest applying for scholarships as early and as late as possible. I would also suggest not going out and getting a big amount of supplies until you meet with your professor because they may say a labtop is okay for class. Make sure you have Miscrosoft Office 2010 if you are planning on having your own labtop, which i recommend as well. If you are commuting, this won't matter to you, but if you are going to live on campus, you need to honest about how you live so they can pair you with a good person.

    In three sentences

    I would say OCU is a 9 out of 10 rating. The campus has wonderful communication so you won't get left behind if you miss a class, and you can always check what you need to do for class online. As much as the online classes prevent lateness and costly books, you can also falter without a labtop in your room.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Just hang out with friends and play games. Not a ton to do but there are a few theaters and even bowling alleys to go to. As well as FOOD!!!

    In three sentences

    OCU is a friendly environment. The classes are small and more personal. Overall a great place to be.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The school is non-profit. I think you get more than what you pay for.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great. The classes are challenging, but the advisors are there to help. You need the challenge to excel academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter your background, OCU is there with open arms. They want to see you succeed and reach your goals.

    In three sentences

    Ohio Christian University is a great inspirational school. I'm a stay-at-home mother of 2 young children. At times I feel overwhelmed, but OCU gives me the faith that I can do this.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have had very select few problems on campus.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports are very fun to be apart of at OCU.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones who love a smaller school atmosphere and want to be around other Christians.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They said you show up as a heel, they mend your sole, and you leave as a pair! They area also known as Circleville Bridal College!

    Bang for the buck

    I barely pay anything to attend Ohio Christian University. They are very helpful when it comes to getting tuition to a reasonable price, especially if you are involved in sports.

    What to do for fun

    Many on school activities such as attending sports games, sand volleyball, school dances, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Just got a new cafe sponsored and it is delicious!

    Dorm Life

    Do not live on campus, but hear people love it because you get involved in many on campus activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but extra help is always available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be a good student and always put God first and put your whole faith in him, and then everything will fall into place.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school with a great staff on campus. The professors are very helpful and are always available for further assistance. Also, Ohio Christian University helps all students strengthen their relationship with God.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am an online student so I cannot really comment on this.

    Clubs and Activities

    Online so not sure. However they did send an email about a chance to go on a mission trip with a group this summer.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are called into any ministry field. They do offer more than just ministry classes and I would recommend checking out what they have to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    I have visited the campus several times although I am an online student and it is very nice. I like the online program since I live in SC and pastor a church here and am able to take classes to work with my schedule as a busy pastor. You can gain much wisdom through the classes and take your time to really learn on the pace that you need to go.

    What to do for fun

    One of the times I visited their I went to a fair and they had a combine derby which was very interesting to me since I had never heard of this before.

    Food and Dining

    They have a nice cafeteria and the one time I have ate there the food was excellent and the price was low.

    Dorm Life

    I am an online student so I do not live in the dorms however I have visited the campus and they appear to be very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent program for ministry students which I am apart of and the curriculum goes well with the learning process highly recommend this school

    Tips for prospective students

    Contact Ohio Christian University and they will be glad to assist you. They do a great job of assessing which direction you want to go with attaining your degree.

    In three sentences

    Ohio Christian is the best christian college to attend. The staff is skilled in knowledge. They have an excellent online program for ministry that I have really enjoyed and in fact I am going for my Masters since I enjoyed the Bachelors program so much.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    -Study -Don't get behind -Stay on top of your schooling -Have fun

    In three sentences

    If you want to learn about Christianity, while getting education on academics then this is the place to be. It opens your eyes about how much your everyday life can relate to the bible. I wasn't really huge on religion, but this college is slowly changing that for the better.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent they take care if staff and students.

    Bang for the buck

    The school isn't as expensive as most college now a days

    Dorm Life

    I give it one star cause the school is excellelnt but I attend classes in Columbus not in Circleville.

    Academic Rigor

    Very educational I could change it if I wanted to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the work, it's that simple just to pass just follow the student guides and do the work.

    In three sentences

    Very inspiring place to grow and be nurtured. I can speak freely and not be judged and i'm not the only adult there. The professors give me what I need and want out of an education.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have wonderful food and many choices to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, I commute, but the dorms are nice and clean.

    Tips for prospective students

    One thing I would say is to definitely visit the campus first. Not only is the campus absolutely beautiful, but everyone there is heart warming and willing to help and answer questions. Also, Ohio Christian University, when given the correct information, does a great job in helping in financial aid.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love their admissions team. Not only are they understanding and experienced counselors, but they love the Lord and help me in so many ways! They are always there and they answer every crazy question thoroughly that i throw their way.