Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Ohio State University-Lima Campus Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/20/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students from small high schools not ready for big campuses or older unconventional students.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is significantly less that main campus. The financial aid adviser knows his stuff, is very helpful and accessible.

    Did enjoy being here

    I loved this campus. A total of six buildings made it easy to navigate. I meet a lot new people, and got the opportunity to grow close to home.

    Did learn a lot

    The instructors here are all amazing. They truly wanted each student to be successful. I learned proper study techniques and became better prepared for college.

  • 05/31/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The Lima campus is much cheaper than the Columbus campus, but you still have access to everything that is at the Columbus campus.

    Will enjoy being here

    I don't like big cities and the campus is small and will be easy to navigate around. Since I can have my car on campus I can go home whenever I want without having to worry about finding a ride. I can also easily get to a store when I need food, clothes, etc.

    Will learn a lot

    With a small campus I think it will be easy to contact my teachers and find my way to each building.

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you enjoy fast classes. (On quarter system currently and not on semesters) *Soon to change

    Tips for prospective students

    Relax and Study and always try something new and make friends!

    Bang for the buck

    It's Ohio State university for one-third the cost! and all the Education you expect!

    Am enjoying being here

    It's not as eventful as the main campus but It does try to keep something happening at least every quarter.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are all there to help and do so above and beyond the call of duty!

  • 08/06/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Did enjoy being here

    Awesome environment and you can make some good friends.

    Did learn a lot

    Professors are great and with smaller campus are more willing to talk and get to know students.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the security here is phenomenal, they are always willing to help you out if you ever need it. makes everyone feel very safe and welcome.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are over 30 different clubs and organizations to become involved in on campus here.

    Bang for the buck

    for the price of this regional campus, everything is just the same as the columbus campus.

    What to do for fun

    there is a shopping mall about fifteen minutes away with some great selections of different stores. the bowling alley and movie theater are also not too far away from campus.

    Food and Dining

    there are many great restaurants in lima to go with your friends. also, there are a few grocery stores if you prefer to cook yourself.

    Dorm Life

    apartments are beautiful and updated. roommates are great and there are always things to do in lima.

    Academic Rigor

    you have always got to work hard in order to play hard. the work is challenging but there are plenty of people on campus willing to help whenever you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    always strive for what you want in life. work hard but also enjoy your time here.

    In three sentences

    ohio state university-lima campus is a great start to anyone's college experience. the campus is small but everyone is so friendly and willing to help you out. the classes are average sized and the professors are wonderful.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the safety here at ohio state lima is great. they protect all students every step of the way

    Great for these types of students

    students from small high schools who are not ready for big campuses.

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is much more less than main campus. the financial aid adviser knows what's best and is very helpful.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    not a big deal at this location but they are present if needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    intramural sports

    Great for these types of students

    out-going people so you can meet more people to hang out with.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that i'm aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    it's working out well for me, especially since i'll have grad school after.

    What to do for fun

    played college basketball & intramural flag football.

    Food and Dining

    usually eat off campus.

    Dorm Life

    i commute.

    Academic Rigor

    biology major so my main classes are pretty tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    ask around for people in your major to help with similar classes & to know what to sign up for.

    In three sentences

    it is close to fast food restaurants & shopping. it has an open campus that is easily accessable. class sizes are a good student to professor ratio.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a top priority at Ohio State Lima. Our goal is to keep everyone safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I said earlier there are 40 clubs on campus and we are always looking for new ones.

    Great for these types of students

    Ohio State Lima is great for anyone. We are very welcoming and make sure that everyone is in a safe environment.

    Bang for the buck

    You can always find something to do at The Ohio State University at Lima.

    What to do for fun

    Ohio State Lima has 40 different clubs on campus. They also have a theatre program, band, pep band, and three choirs. Sports are also offered here at the Lima campus like volleyball, men's and women's basketball, and baseball. In the fall we have soccer and flag football going on around campus and coming this spring we are having ultimate frisbee.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria called Barons Bistro. They have pretty good food and the cooks are always nice.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms at Ohio State Lima. They do have a place called Long Meadow which is on campus property.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very good. They have a lot of activities on campus to keep you busy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose a school that feels like home. Choose your profession by what you love not by the income.

    In three sentences

    Ohio State Lima is a great opportunity for anyone to get a great start to build their future. They do offer a few four year programs like Biology, Psychology, and some Education fields. If you are going into a pre professional program like pre-med Ohio state Lima is a good place to start your bachelors. For example if you wanted to be a pediatrician I would go to Ohio State Lima and major in Biology, where I would get my bachelors degree and apply for Medical school. It is a smart decision on how to save a lot of money for a major that will take a lot of schooling.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a pretty small campus.

    Greek Life

    There is only one sorority on campus and no fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to choose from. You aren't usually bored because there's always something going on.

    Bang for the buck

    For what you pay, you can't expect a whole lot. You get what you pay for at Lima.

    What to do for fun

    There are many intramural sports on campus as well as many clubs to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't a lot to choose from in the cafeteria here. And most of it is unhealthy.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Ohio State University-Lima campus make the courses challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't buy your books until you start the class. You may not use them.

    In three sentences

    I give Ohio State at Lima three stars. Lima is a great place to get a little bit of your education done, and then move on. If you are looking for a larger campus, Lima is not the place to go.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is one sorority on campus, but I am male and never got interested.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything from a gamers guild to intramural sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone, really. Especially first year students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't noticed anything too unusual so far.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to school at the OSU Lima campus is inexpensive yet a very nice place to go to school.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a whole lot to do in Lima but poeple attending the Lima campus should definitely join a club or two to have some fun there.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria on campus that many students use, but I never tried it.

    Dorm Life

    I lived on my own while attending since the dorms were full before I had a chance to get into one.

    Academic Rigor

    I never had any trouble finding a place to study or a place to get some tutoring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs!

    In three sentences

    It is a good, clean, and small campus. Security is reliable. Professors do care about each student thriving and succeeding in classes.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who learn better in hands on classes and small class sizes. Especially if you want to learn and ask questions instead of just listening to lecture.

    Bang for the buck

    The regional campus is a heck of a lot cheaper than main. So, if you're undecided or need something relatively cheap but still get you're great education this is a good place to do that.

    Academic Rigor

    It's similar to high school. It is a bit more rigorous but it isn't anything too bad. There are a lot of opportunities associated with the academics. It isn't quite as basic as high school, and studying is still really essential. Overall it's pretty good.

    In three sentences

    The campus is really nice for students who like small classes instead of large-scale ones. The advisors and professors are really people friendly and helpful. Overall, it's fairly nice and a good start school if you plan on moving on to main.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I'm not sure if there are soroities or fraternities on this campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Student who like smaller classes, are a little nervous about their first year, and are ready to move on in life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Humans Vs. Zombies is done every semester

    What to do for fun

    At Longmeadow, there is a sand volleyball net and they frequently have activities. On campus, there is open gym and always something going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for hard-ish classes, this isn't high school anymore. Have fun and get involved.

    In three sentences

    The Lima campus is very nice. I like the smaller classes and the professors I have had so far. I look forward to the next four years here.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have yet to eat at the cafeteria. Although I have heard that the prices are fair and the price is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm for Ohio State Lima does not provide dorms for their students. I commute from home to school everyday.

    Academic Rigor

    The education being given is very prestigious for the school. It challenges my abilities and keeps me working hard. I don't feel overwhelmed but I do feel like I need to give it my best to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Ohio State University is a great school where I get the large campus feel but I can be independently helped by my professors. The teachers all are very qualified in their respected positions and are very good at teaching.

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Is excellent! You will constantly see cop cars surveying the campus. I've never felt unsafe while being on Lima's campus. If you have evening classes and are uncomfortable about walking to your car they offer a security guard to walk you there, insuring that you make it safely.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like a small, one-on-one atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    For anyone who is looking to start small and work their way up to a bigger university I'm sure you would be satisfied with this campus. A big plus is that you will be saving thousands of dollars by starting college on a local, state community college. Who doesn't like saving money?

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous groups and activities for students to participate in here at OSU Lima. In the basement of Galvin Hall there's a game room for students to relax and unwind by playing a game of ping-pong, pool, or watch some TV. A terrific place to go and catch up with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Over at Reed Hall the cafeteria is a great place to go grab a bite to eat, sit down and catch up on some homework between classes. There is a wide variety of food to choose from. They have a delicious salad bar, sandwiches, and a selection of foods made ready for each order. I'm sure you won't be disappointed in whatever you get.

    Dorm Life

    The Lima branch does not have dorms, however there are the Long Meadow apartments located a walking distance away from OSU. The facilities are very nice with lots of things to do at the apartment housing complex.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be receiving a Liberal Arts Education which will create an impressive resume to perspective future employers. The professors are all very knowledgeable about their jobs, and most of them seem to love what they're doing. They do not hesitate to answer questions to be sure that the students are getting the most of their time spent on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the campus to get an overall feel for the place. Ask many questions about class sizes, finances, student life, activities and so forth.

    In three sentences

    Is a small, close-knit, friendly campus for those seeking less expensive 2 to 4 year degrees. It is a Liberal Arts college so they will equip you with a well-rounded education. A great place to start for those looking to get The Ohio State University education accreditation's.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Individuals that want a higher learning at a fair price with some good people .

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Game room.

    Bang for the buck

    cheap, effective, and well known.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, go to the game room play some pool, or kick back and watch television .

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria, fair priced and delightful staff.

    Dorm Life

    Is a new like anything you've experienced .

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are very understanding. No stress if you attend the free tutoring sessions offered every day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and stay ahead in all of your classes. Get involved in clubs.

    In three sentences

    Best college experience I've ever had at a college. Great instructors, great people, small classes and very diverse. In the country fresh air , and fair courses.