Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Ohio State University-Mansfield Campus Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students wanting a transition before going to another school; great for students who live nearby and don't want to leave home.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is O.K.

    What to do for fun

    Be social! Plan things with friends, and make lots of friends of different types.

    Food and Dining

    There is almost NOWHERE to get good food. Get used to hitching rides to Chipotle.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life seems to be pretty absent. You meet people; you don't have tons of socialization.

    Academic Rigor

    Not a top-notch college, but definitely A college. Some classes are much more relaxed and easy; others are crazy hard, even for a good student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to transfer. Look into the courses you'll be taking (and check professor reviews) so you don't waste time or trash GPA.

    In three sentences

    OSU-M is convenient. It's not too residential. It's a nice transition before transferring.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students that aren't quite ready for the biggest college in the nation, but still want a great education that allows for one on one interaction between student and professor, as well as student and peer should definitely check out the ohio state university at mansfield. it is a small school that is dedicated to each and every individual student's education. they most definitely want what's best for you, your bank account, and your future here on mansfield's campus. i honestly enjoy every second of it!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    oh-io! this chant has almost become a superstition here on campus, if you hear someone yell o-h and you do not respond with i-o it almost seems like a curse will be laid upon you! this tradition makes people smile, laugh, and most importantly feel connected here on campus! it definitely brings us all together as a unit. we are a great team here on osu mansfield's regional campus.

    Bang for the buck

    i love the fact that tuition here at ohio state university, mansfield is nearly 1000 dollars per semester cheaper than it is at ohio state university, main campus. low prices may scare students, or even curious students parents' away because they feel like they are getting less of an education because the cost is lower. this is simply not true. i am only a freshman here on campus, but i have gained so much knowledge, and experience just spending three quarters on campus. if you aren't ready to make the larger leap to main campus, or if large schools just aren't for you i definitely recommend osu at mansfield, it is worth every penny!

    What to do for fun

    ohio state university at mansfield offers their students tons of extra curricular activities much like any other university would. i personally have attended a stand up comedy show, a magician, a foam dance party, and a black light dance. these events allow students to connect with so many people on campus, and to enjoy the time that they spend here. most usually events are free to students, which attracts more people because staff here at osu mansfield realizes, college is costly when you're a student. so, they try to provide you with as much free entertainment as they can!

    Food and Dining

    food and dining is so simple here at ohio state university at mansfield. because it is a regional campus there is no real meal plan because they do not have as many mouths to feed, and because their are so many surrounding places that are equally as inexpensive to eat. however, we do have buckid cards here at osu mansfield, these cards work a lot like a debit card and they can get you some pretty good discounts on some pretty good food around campus, and even at the on campus cafe!

    Dorm Life

    because i am attending ohio state university at mansfield, i commute from my hometown ashland, ohio. the drive puts a toll on my gas tank but at the same time it is a lot cheaper to live at home with my parents during my first year at college. even though i don't like in the dorms i have made a lot of friends here that do, and to just go to their dorm and hangout makes me feel so independent! i no longer feel like i have to sit at home all night, or abide by a certain curfew. my friends and i have a lot of fun watching movies, making dinner, and just sitting up having late night talks. i have met so many people here that reside on campus, so if i don't feel like going home i always feel like i am welcome here at the molyet village.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor at ohio state university at mansfield was in all honesty a lot more do-able than it seemed to be in high school. i think the academic stress may be a little higher simply because students are more likely to be working, as well as attending school when they are in college rather than high school, and let's face it. it is college, the work load is supposed to be heavier, and it is supposed to be challenging. although college is challenging, it is much more enjoyable because you are actually doing something that inspires you, and excites you. you are doing something you want to do for the rest of your life.

    Tips for prospective students

    if i had to advise other students on attending the mansfield branch of osu, i would recommend they complete their fafsa as soon as possible. that is the worst part of college. i would also tell students to take advantage of the close connections they are able to make with their professors here on the regional campus because they get less of an opportunity like that in columbus. by making close connections with well trained professors as soon as you can, it allows you easily accessible, long lasting references, and resources in the future for things like graduate school recommendations, or even help on an assignment you are assigned in the future.

    In three sentences

    the ohio state university at mansfield has provided me with the opportunity to ease into furthering my education after high school. i was scared to go to college because the change between high school and this was so drastic. osu at mansfield welcomed me with open arms giving me great advice, guidance, friendships and a perfect base to further my education at their main campus.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is campus security but there hasnt been any incidents in which this has been needed.

    Great for these types of students

    like small towns, quiet, where you know everyone, cheaper, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    much cheaper and affordable than main campus. and you get a better quality of learning because you can have one on one meetings and help with your professors, while getting an osu degree (no mansfield added on).

    What to do for fun

    theres a small local mall, movie theatre, bowling alley, and a lot of resturaunts. also, theres parties and campus activities, but it is a small town, so its not the most exciting.

    Food and Dining

    there is no meal plan here because you are fully equipped with a kitchen in your apartment.

    Dorm Life

    we live in apartment style living on campus and i like it a lot. you have more room.

    Academic Rigor

    you need to study. its a must to survive, but if you need help theres a math and writing lab and your professors are willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    study, try your best, and have some fun.

    In three sentences

    it is a very small town campus, which i really like. your professors actually help you and can teach. and you can make new friendships easier.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus, there are always security people around. They offer to drive you back to the apartments if you are too scared, and they are always watching out. I always felt safe.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of inter murals and groups to join. Off campus there is lots of shopping and parks and ski slopes. In the apartment complex there are basketball courts, and a volleyball court as well. There was always something to do, and plenty of people to meet.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria on campus had average food. I personally bought my own food and the grocery store and cooked for myself, just because I had the option. There is no meal plan at this campus, so the food/dining is irrelevant.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at this campus is much different than other campuses. You live in apartments rather than dorms. It was a great first year experience to live on my own with other people. The apartments have washer/dryer, a full kitchen, and separate bedrooms! The separate bedrooms came in handy and were great for studying, sleeping, and personal relaxation time. I loved the dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get behind in class. The professors aren't joking when they say you need to do extra studying, and more studying than you did in high school. However, if you are falling behind, don't be afraid to ask the professors for help. They are there to help and always are thrilled when you come to them.

    In three sentences

    The Ohio State University-Mansfield Campus is a great satellite campus and offers great education. The school definitely lived up to my standard and the professors all do their best to prepare us in what comes next. I would recommend anyone to this campus, as it was a successful first year for me.

  • 04/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is Campus Security here and they are moving towards having their own police similar to the Columbus campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Multicultural Campus Activities Skydiving Religious Gamers

    Great for these types of students

    Any!!

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, I would say that this school has given me opportunities that I do not think I could have gotten anywhere else. I would say that this campus at least deserves a look at before overlooking this great place. The cost is lower than the Columbus campus, but you still get the OSU pride of being a Buckeye!!

    What to do for fun

    Intermural sports are provided on-campus and give you an opportunity to meet people and form teams to play. Many organizations are around to get involved with the school.

    Food and Dining

    Here on this campus, there is a cafeteria but other than that, you have to go shopping for your own food. This has an advantage because you save money by not having to pay for a meal plan. Also, there is no limit to what you can eat because you go to the store and buy your food. There are many grocery stores around to buy food.

    Dorm Life

    Here at the Mansfield campus of The Ohio State University, you have the great opportunity to stay on-campus and live basically in an apartment. The housing is called a village and it is a great place to hang out and study with others. The dorms are more of apartments ranging from 2 people in an apartment to 6 people in one. They have full kitchens, full living areas, and if requested, you can have your own bedroom. These apartments are just like a normal apartment you would buy to live in and provide almost anything you need.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but the professors are more than willing to help anyone along the way. If you have a question, just ask and they will help. The classes are much smaller than Columbus so you can get the attention needed to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the campus to see the many great opportunities offered at this regional campus. Once you arrive on campus for school, get involved right away and you will never look back. The teachers are very helpful and there are many people on campus who will help your college experience be the best!

    In three sentences

    One of the best regional campuses in the state of Ohio. You get the Ohio State tradition and atmosphere in a smaller city! The opportunities to get involved are endless with the many organizations; from multicultural to campus activities board.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour security here on campus that enforces the rules here and provide resources and aid for the students staying on campus in the apartments. A very safe and friendly environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 30 plus student ran organizations. Students are able to start a club of there own with three other students and permission from an adviser.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are in favor of a small campus environment. The average class size here is 24 students and the total enrollment for undergrad students is approximately 1600 students.

    Bang for the buck

    Experience is well worth the money. Less expense than staying on a larger campus and housing is significantly cheaper. The smaller class size allows to you meet more people, engage more with your professor and establish a strong connection with the university and the people here. That in my opinion, is well worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    There are many student ran organizations here on campus that creates and promote events here for the students. The Campus Activities Board here is famous for providing students with an overflow of events (comedians, concerts, dance parties, etc). With Mansfield being a small city, this campus strives to provide students with activities to keep them entertain and engaged.

    Food and Dining

    Ohio State University at Mansfield currently does not have a meal plan but the cafeteria here serves both breakfast and lunch and the cybercafe is open until 8pm. All of the apartment rooms here on campus have a built in kitchen.

    Dorm Life

    I commute from my home which is about a 15 minute drive but being a University Ambassador here at my campus I often give tours to the students are part of tour is showing them the housing here. It is an apartment complex that was purchase by the campus years ago. It is within walking distance of the campus and it can hold 200 students.

    Academic Rigor

    Being a regional campus of the Ohio State University the academic standards are indeed high. However this being a smaller campus, you get the chance to interact with your professors on a more personal level. This is very important because it allows you to gain clarity on what the faculty here at Ohio State expects from you as a student

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest honor that I received was when I was asked by the Office of Student Life to give a speech to the freshman at the annual student convocation. On the day before classes, began I spoke to a crowd of roughly 350 students, and my main purpose of the speech was to urge the incoming students to become involved on campus. I also stressed the importance of not wasting the time they have here as students; my personal experience have reminded me that our time in college is a precious one and it is what you make of it. Use all of the resources available to you and find unique ways to make your experience memorable by getting involved.

    In three sentences

    As a student at The Ohio State University at Mansfield the first thing that stands out to me is how much I noticed how everyone knew each other and how we as students have access to so many different resources here. Just being able to see how this campus encourages students to become engage really personifies what this campus is really about and really played a valid role in what ultimately encourage me to get involved on campus. Ohio State Mansfield provides students with a the chance to experience a big ten quality academic experience on a small campus setting.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a safe place. The worst I've ever had to deal with is walking to my car after night classes and being afraid of the dark.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a bunch of clubs!

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for nontraditional students! Especially those, who like me, did not go to college right after high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well,I'm not real sure of any traditions, But the campus is a beautiful place to be on a fall day.

    Bang for the buck

    The best bang for the buck school out there! I get to feel like I'm at a real main campus four year university, but i also get a great price for an amazing education.

    What to do for fun

    There's so many clubs at this university that something is always planned. Join the psych club!

    Food and Dining

    Ok so let's be honest, the food isn't mom's homemade cooking, but the food isn't the worst I've ever had.

    Dorm Life

    I honestly can't say about dorm life. They have dorms on campus, but i live on my own. I've heard the dorms aren't that bad.

    Academic Rigor

    I give this school 5 stars! The teachers truly care about you and your goals in life. The teachers help you with so much here.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip i would give any new prospective student is to get involved in all the opportunities Ohio State Mansfield campus has. College is not just learning about your soon-to-be career, but also learning about yourself in general.

    In three sentences

    Ohio State Mansfield campus give a student the opportunity to go to a real 4 year university but with the comfort of staying close to home. It is definitely a 9 out of 10. i would give it a 10, but just like high school the food is horrible.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Much safer than Main Campus. The only time I've ever seen the security guards about was when somebody has locked their keys in their car.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and Cyber cafe are kind of expensive and its not usually worth it. I prefer to leave campus for food as its fairly close to a couple dozen restaurants and some grocery stores. Although,if you do that, when you return, it might be difficult finding a parking spot that isn't in BFE.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, so i know nothing about the dorms. I have been in them once before and they appear to be fairly new looking and nice.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. No one has ever gotten hurt due to the smallness of the campus and the campus security. There's a mile walk path from the housing apartments to the actual campus and on that path there are safety emergency buttons to call for help.

    Greek Life

    Not to sure on this topic. If it was Spanish I could go on for days.

    Clubs and Activities

    Spanish clubs, Buckeye ambassadors, RA's, intramural football, school basketball, soccer and baseball teams.

    Great for these types of students

    Math lab is where I spend most of my time. They help you with any types on math problems in whatever course of math you are in. They have a nice library as well to learn, read & get help with research for research papers. Another thing they have is a writing center to help edit & revise your research papers & such.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a welcome week where they uphold a festive foam party as well as other holiday events like a Halloween and Christmas party. We will often have comedians and special guests drop in for events, even Gordan Gee, the president of The Ohio State will sometimes even come to the regional campus and visit with us which is so cool.

    What to do for fun

    Well there's always basketball games going on down by the courts, football down by the field as well as soccer, volleyball games are played, socializing is always in order, and you always have the rec center where you can lift weights & much more in the gym.

    Food and Dining

    Food & dining is all on you. You cook & eat what you please. The apartment comes with an oven, microwave, fridge & stove. You just have to apply your cooking skills in order to feast.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is exciting because you can have up to 5 other roommates that you become close with & learn a little something about. The dorm life is not really a dorm, more of a small apartment which makes the living there a bit better. Laundry, dishwasher & balcony are all in one apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    Simple phrase; work hard, play hard. You achieve great studies it will open up doors to the Columbus campus which will lead you to all the football games, the good food places, and all the greater opportunities they hold at the main campus. But it all starts in the classroom. Uphold your priorities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to meet people, come with a good attitude because everyone there are great people ready to help you grow and succeed.

    In three sentences

    Out of 5 stars I rate this campus a 5. The campus is a small well oriented campus with excellent professors & an organized set-up to achieve & succeed. Even tho you aren't at the Columbus campus you still feel a apart of The Ohio State Buckeyes family. As well as being able to to transfer to Columbus after one year of stay if you maintain the right GPA.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    While on a college visit here, we ate in the cafeteria. The food was actually pretty good! Buuuut... really overpriced.

    In three sentences

    If you are within a good commuting distance, like Ashland, you have probably looked in to this OSU branch. I was on a college visit here just a few weeks ago, and it was really nice and seemed very homey. I plan on going here and eventually transferring to OSU- Main Campus.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are many close-by options for grocery shopping and eating out. There are very limited options for food on campus, and some days the food is better than others.

    Dorm Life

    I've heard that the dorms are nice, but there are disturbances once in a while.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors here are very serious about our coursework. Whether you're completing a major here or you're just using Mansfield as a stepping stone, you will get a quality education on our little campus! You will be more than prepared to go out and continue your studies if you choose to use OSU-M as a stepping stone.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you often need help with your academics, a small campus like OSU-M is perfect. The small size allows for easy access to faculty and on-campus help labs. Use the resources you have!

    In three sentences

    The instructors at OSU-Mansfield are phenomenal! You can get plenty of advising help when you need it. It's very easy to find academic help on campus.