Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Ohio State University-Newark Campus Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/24/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Newark campus is great for those students who prefer smaller class sizes and one-on-one attention from teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus and join a few activities so you can get the whole college experience. And participate in beat Michigan week.

    Bang for the buck

    Since Newark is a regional campus it is $3000 less than the main campus so you get the Ohio State University quality and perks with a cheaper tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at the school but I always feel as though I am not at the school nearly enough!

  • 10/20/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Quiet.... LOUD.... Obnoxious.... anyone that is anyone should go here... this place is amazing and i already fell in love with the campus upon being accepted... i plan to transfer to main in the spring of 2012

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the dean and ask for a private tutor from a good student and bad.... the good student highlights academic points of interest,..... the bad student highlights the awesome extracurriculars.... :)

    Bang for the buck

    6000 tuition and FREEE TUTORING as well as being paid to tutor if you excel in something.

    Will enjoy being here

    Fantastic resources within reach of simply walking or riding a bike... feels safe and fun to be here.

    Will learn a lot

    This is OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY... and the diploma will not say Newark campus but rather OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY and everyone graduates in the horse shoe and Dr. Gee is there to sign your diploma upon the time that you walk across the stage.

  • 11/13/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    Just wondering how hard is any of the Ohio State campuses to get into out of state?

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is the best. if you go to the security office in warner hall then you can get your parking pass for free and also your buckid. by filing out your parking pass info they can locate your car always and if its dark and your walking alone they will give you a ride to your car.

    Greek Life

    i'm pretty sure we don't have any greek life clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    karate, basketball,flag football and also many many more

    Great for these types of students

    small city camping,deer hunting students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    warner will be the best bulding you will be at. all the food is great and also they have the math labs and writers studio. the bookstore is also good for before school shopping.

    Bang for the buck

    newark campus is way cheaper than main campus in columbus.

    What to do for fun

    you could go to 21st and check out the great food and scenery. another fun thing is to just hang out with other campus students.

    Food and Dining

    food at newark campus is amazing. they can cook you a whole pizza in minutes! food is always hot and ready. we also have a bunch of coffee shops in warner hall and reese center. many vending machines are distrubuted throughout campus in every hall or center.

    Dorm Life

    i have many friends that live in dorms and off campus housing. they love it and your always on campus to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    small classrooms but you will still have the same amazing teachers and get the assistance you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    your best bet is to love hills and deer! make sure your major could be fulfilled at osu-newark for 4 years. try and use all of your grants and scholarships first.

    In three sentences

    osu-newark has one of the most beautifulest campuses. its a small campus but serves you for your needs. it's in a nice and peaceful location.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety is very good. They do hour routines of driving and patrolling the campus for anything disturbing. I can fairly say that they do their job.

    Greek Life

    At the Newark campus we do not have a Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have every sport except football. Our sprot is pertty good and always go to tourmament. there is always something for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    most traditions happen on the main campus.

    What to do for fun

    For fun we play basketball. every other week we have movies night those are good event to go too. We have a game in which there's pools table a t.v, and video games for any one whose bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food varies to what you want to eat. We have about 20 items on the menu, it's never going to be a day when you not going to like anything on the menu.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms depend on who you live. If you can't handle messy room and dirty room i think you should get an apartment. The good about living in the dorms you get to know a lot of people who will be eventually be one of your bestest friend.

    Academic Rigor

    our academic is very personal, because the professor will know you and can help you with anythings you have difficulties you may have. The one on one attention you will receive here will be unlike others the professor will give you all the tools you need to successful. Must student who start here will be more likely to have a higher GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    New student coming here will like because they don't know how college work. The speed of a small college is better a big school. the parties is very limited therefor the lack of focus will not affect them.

    In three sentences

    The Ohio's state university of Newark is a great school for first year student. The small classes and the small campus is very comforting for student who is not ready for a big school. The school is quiet and allow students to focus on school rather then parties.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 35 different clubs and organizations on campus, there is something or everyone. If you cannot find what you are looking for it easy to start a club of your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Excellent for non traditional students, class flexibility and knowledgeable advisers to make school work for you

    Bang for the buck

    All of the perks of main campus in a smaller setting.

    What to do for fun

    The campus hosts a variety of activities for students and their families throughout the year. Some include family movie night, where they show newly released movies for free, various theatre productions during the year, family fun day with bouncy houses for the kids and intramural sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and ask questions. We have student ambassadors who are more than willing to give you a tour and offer a student perspective.

    In three sentences

    The Ohio State University Newark Campus is an exceptional place to learn. The class sizes are small and the professors are knowledgeable and always willing to assist students when needed. There are also many computer labs and tutoring centers for students who need extra help.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Locals that like to save money and like a small campus

    What to do for fun

    Local campus for locals. If you want to have fun go to main

    Dorm Life

    NA, live off campus

    Tips for prospective students

    schedule meetings with adviser asap. try to get GEC's done in first two years

    In three sentences

    I would give the Newark Branch of OSU a reasonable 4-out of -5 stars just because I know it cant be a 5. One reason being that I have had over three different Advisers in the last 2 years and one of them never even set up a meeting. My program for my major is still in construction after over a year. but with that all said the profs are very good and seem to care about your success in their classroom

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The small campus size allows for the security office to keep an eye on everything that transpires throughout the day. Very safe campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want small class sizes and want to be able to ask questions directly to the professor and get attention and help if they need it. Students who are looking for an affordable, yet satisfying college experience.

    Bang for the buck

    OSU degree that is significantly more affordable than going to main campus.

    What to do for fun

    It is very close to town so you are not too far from anything.

    Food and Dining

    Affordable food in the student center. The staff is friendly and fast.

    Dorm Life

    Limited dorm capacity.

    Academic Rigor

    Unfortunately there are only four majors offered on the Newark campus. But one can start their desired major here and then transfer to main campus if they wished to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start looking for housing as soon as you can, they have limited dorms available and getting into one is difficult.

    In three sentences

    Small campus sizes gives you more connection with the professors. Staff is attentive and friendly. Great school.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great School

    Food and Dining

    good food

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Great School

    In three sentences

    I love the school. Great teachers. Wonderful classes offered.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Going to the Newark campus is ideal because it is cheaper than the Main campus and you will end up getting the same degree as you would there.

    What to do for fun

    With this campus being in a smaller town there isn't a ton of things to do. There is a mall, movie theater, and other smaller things to do. If you get bored Columbus is only about a 40 minute drive.

    Food and Dining

    The dining in Warner Center is great. There aren't a lot of options but the food is amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically this campus isn't extremely hard. Just make sure you attend class and take good notes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you just go to class and if you don't make it always try to get notes from a friend.

    In three sentences

    Ohio State University Newark-Campus is a smaller campus but just big enough. The campus is very beautiful and the class sizes are perfect. The professors are willing to work with students one on one which is a benefit over larger campuses.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movie nights, partys and get active in my groups around campus

    Food and Dining

    A little expensive but very good.

    Dorm Life

    I have a apartment. I don't know.

    Academic Rigor

    Study time is important.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, this is nothing like high school.

    In three sentences

    I love being a Buckeye. Proud very very proud to be apart of the Ohio State tradition. College life has been very amazing here at OSU Newark's Campus.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on this campus and there are always security guards watching out for the safety of the students

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot to do on campus but sometimes the times that they occur are late considering I am a commuter.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who wants to gain knowledge!!!

    Bang for the buck

    OSU Newark is fairly well priced.

    What to do for fun

    Check out the stuff going on campus (there's always something going on) & if not there is a mall only 15 min away.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe is pretty good, they have a salad bar, a grill, and other options.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but hear that they are nice :)

    Academic Rigor

    I am challenged in my classes enough that I am continuing to learn and gain understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your considering this school definitely come for a visit and meet with as many people as possible. I would advise NOT writing this school off just because it is a smaller campus.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful, safe, and exciting place to learn. I love being a student here and feel as though all the professors and staff truly want to help you succeed in you classes and your time at OSU Newark.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On site at all times

    Greek Life

    None, only at main campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There's lots and you can even make you own.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Reese Center / Student Center

    Bang for the buck

    For the price it's worth it here.

    What to do for fun

    Movie nights, and campus meetings and events

    Food and Dining

    Not too bad but vary expensive

    Dorm Life

    Not Enough on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    Great!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take college as a joke, when you are paying for school it's serious.

    In three sentences

    I would rate the Ohio State -Newark campus on a scale of 1-20 about a 10.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every thursday we have movie night in the auditorium.

    What to do for fun

    I live in the dorms, and since it is more on a personal level you make friends a lot more quicker, you can walk to class and get there in less than 10 minutes, and everything around campus is convenient.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're the type of student who don't like a huge classroom, and would want a more one on one with your professor and would also like to earn the same degree as if you went to The Ohio State University in Columbus, this is the place to go!

    In three sentences

    I love Ohio State University in Newark! I love how the classroom size is more on a personal level, and how campus is the right size to get to classes. The professors are very professional and amazing. So far i love my experience here!

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    like the main campus, the regional campus here offers a variety of clubs and other activities. There's sports teams, organized activities, plays, and even free movies shown in the auditorium.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great, and the blocks system is very convenient. I also love that there's little coffee shops around campus similar to a starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    Because the Newark campus is a regional campus, there aren't as many dorms available, so i have yet to experience dorm life. I've heard great things from others though!

    Academic Rigor

    There's absolutely more than you had in high school, but it's nothing unbearable. There's a lot of reading though!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're considering Ohio State, and fear you won't get into main campus, still apply! The regional campuses are just as great and you can transfer later on.

    In three sentences

    I love this campus , because it's smaller than the main campus. You get a more hands on experience, with all the same benefits as the main campus. it's definitely a great school for your first year!

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a nice liitle cafe in one of the buildings but that all I know.

    Dorm Life

    I have had a chance to see the dorms, but they will draw names from everyone who has paid their fee and that would be the order of the wait list.

    Academic Rigor

    Like what you would expect. If you plan to go to the columbus campus after a year you MUST have all 30 credit hours and at least a 2.0 on average but it is different from major to major. Also they will not curve anything for you like they would in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay your housing fee quick if you plan to attend. Housing allotments are like the lottery there. It's not first come first serve.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful campus. Nice facilities. Also very nice people.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is willing to walk you to your car or dorm if its late out and they also offer other services like jump starting your car which is very helpful. The dorms can also only be entered by students living there because of the key lock.

    Greek Life

    I do not know of any Greek life on Newark campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs and opportunities if you are willing to join them.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want a smaller area that is more personal.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an annual game of night tag offered before it gets to cold outside.

    Bang for the buck

    There does not seem to be much financial aid offered on campus but for the price the school is okay.

    What to do for fun

    There are many school sponsored events on campus and there are also organizations to be involved in.

    Food and Dining

    There is not much offered on campus due to the size. The menu rarely changes but the staff is always nice.

    Dorm Life

    Many in the dorms are not dedicated to school and are more focused on other things. You will be surrounded by people that may not have the same goals as you which can lead to complications if you do not have the self control.

    Academic Rigor

    Many teachers are willing to work with students and due to this have little tolerance to those that choose to not accept the opportunities. If you plan wisely there is enough time complete assignments and taking time out to study is very necessary to pass exams.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you attend this campus be sure to take advantage of everything offered here. Many of the students that failed did not know about the free tutoring offered and did not contact teachers for help. There are not many colleges that go out of their way to help you like this campus does.

    In three sentences

    This school provides a nice alternative to the larger campus. With the smaller campus the classes are also smaller which makes it easier to grow a relationship with teachers. Many teachers are willing to work with you to help make classes passable and there is also free tutoring offered.

  • 09/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make time for yourself. -get a planner, write down all your classes, class times, and where its held. -also write down the homework to be done for that class due tomorrow or next week Stay ahead of them. You wouldn't want to be that person who forgot the assignment and makes a excuse about it, would you? Be ahead of your classmates -your professors give you a syllabus for a reason. Those reason are for you to know what will be taught in class, the requirements that you need to know (on your own time), what will be due each week, and notifying you about midterms/finals. Learn when to say NO! -yes there will be parties during your college life and friends will try to tempt you to go, or bother you to have some fun, but you need to let them know. You have to study and you want to be successful. They have to understand that college is no joke. There will be plenty of other times to have fun, when your NOT busy.

    In three sentences

    Well to me, OSU Newark is a nice, shabby area were there are some people that quite nice and others you should ignore and stay away from. The learning atmosphere is great and the classes/professors are great as well. What I love is that you can come to your professors about any advice or help about certain materials taught in class. Plus the cafe is a 10.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have almost always felt safe. As a smaller campus, there's no places for easy crime.

    Great for these types of students

    All types

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have this weird obelisk thing that doubles as our bell tower.

    Bang for the buck

    Because it is a regional campus, tuition is less expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of on-campus activities. Lots of clubs, organizations, and groups you can join. Located close to a mall and other fun things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is like a normal school's. No fine dining here. Better try your luck at the nearby food places which are way better.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more difficult than others. The academic rigor depends on your aptitude, the instructors' ways of teaching, and class choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do everything early. Stay in touch with your academic advisor and professors.

    In three sentences

    Quality classes with professional instructors. The smaller campus allows for more one-on-one interaction with instructors. Great start-up campus!

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been times, as any busy college student can relate, where napping on campus has been a necessity. At OSU Newark, I have felt safe laying my head to rest anywhere from outside or in the library, or even in my car if I needed to. The security cart rolls around the perimeter every few hours and they are always on call in the office building.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have seen many fliers for clubs and activities around the school, but personally have not been able to sign up for any. I have friends who are a part of them, though, and enjoy the close atmosphere the smaller clubs tend to bring.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who would rather work towards their schooling than party all the time. It's small environment is good for those who are trying to make a transition from a small high school to a large college, and is great for those wanting to transfer to OSU main campus for larger degrees. The atmosphere at OSU Newark is very easy going, especially with the small size of the campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Personally I haven't seen any weird traditions going around the school, though I do believe they still occur. After all, it is a college, and it is an OSU branch college.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that getting an education should be the top priority on any outgoing high schooler's list, which may seem kind of expensive. At OSU Newark, the pricing is nearly half of what you would pay on the main campus, even if the education is the same. That saves a lot of money, especially if you find cheaper board rather than living on campus.

    What to do for fun

    The OSU Newark campus offers a lot of opportunities to meet and get to know other students their on the campus. While the city of Newark isn't much, the proximity to Columbus leaves all sorts of opportunities to take friends out to, as the Newark campus allows everyone to have a car on campus. There are also several sports teams to be joined, for both women and men, and clubs abound.

    Food and Dining

    Table of Contents, the schools main cafeteria, is home to a great grill, delicious salad bar, and amazing coffee shop. The food all tastes wonderful, and even if it is a little expensive, the pricing really isn't that much different than going to eat at, say, Burger King. The food itself, of course, has a restaurant quality taste, and much more than just burgers on the menu.

    Dorm Life

    I myself do not stay on the dorms, so I cannot give and accurate rating. From what I have heard, the dorms are good for getting to know other students, and the buildings themselves are very clean and well kept as well. If rooming on campus isn't available because of the lack of space, many affordable apartment buildings are available just across the street or only a few minutes down the road from the campus as well.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that OSU Newark lives up to the same standards that the Ohio State University has set. The classes often have matching material from the Columbus campus, and if a student wishes to succeed and excel, they must apply themselves to their studies. The school is still flexible enough to accommodate all sorts of schedules, and being able to talk on a more personal level with teachers is always a help as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    When coming to OSU Newark, don't really expect a big party school like the main campus is considered. Most of the students commute to and from school, or live in the apartments that are close by in Newark rather than on the actual campus. Still, a small environment like this is great for those students who are afraid they might get lost in some place bigger like the main campus, and it's the closest branch campus to the Columbus campus, therefore making it easier for students to travel between the two.

    In three sentences

    OSU Newark is a great school for students who still want the Ohio State education without all of the huge price tags attached to their degree. Even thought the school does not have many degrees that can be finished on campus, there are still plenty of classes available to help complete at least the first few semesters of an undergraduate degree. The small campus and class size is also nice for those who like to know their professors a little more personally, and the quality of the teaching still matches the information taught at the main campus.

  • 03/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus, there are many clubs and events you may join. Also, the city of Newark provides bowling, skating, and other activities that may be of interest to incoming students.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is much advice I could give prospective students on Ohio State University at Newark, but I will try and keep it simple. Make sure to stay on top of your work, and try your best not to miss class. If you do have to miss class, make sure you get notes from another student in the class. Although this college may feel like high school to you, you must keep up on your studies.

    In three sentences

    Ohio State University at the Newark Campus is a wonderful place to go to school if you are looking for a smaller college. The professors are able to have more one on one interaction with you, and help you with any questions you may have. The campus is very easy to maneuver, and everything is very simple to find on campus.