Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Ohio University-Southern Campus Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who love small schools will love OUSC. As I've mentioned multiple times, having small classes is wonderful. OUSC has a great Nursing program and the Education programs are amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to go to OUSC, be sure that you want to be in small classes. With the smaller classes, the professor can go from person to person and offer every one of them help if needed. This is a broken record, but always remember to study. Studying helps make your GPA higher and will benefit you in the long run. Only a few hours a night will not hurt anyone.

    Bang for the buck

    OUSC is definitely worth the tuition costs. Tuition is not outrageously expensive and the staff is wonderful. The instructors are very hands on and the classes are not huge. The good thing about small classes and great instructors, is that students can interact with the instructor and get assistance if needed.

    Am enjoying being here

    OUSC is a beautiful, welcoming place. I feel very comfortable when I am in class or sitting in Mains Rotunda. I can sit and read a book in the Rotunda while I am waiting for my class to start, which is pretty cool. I never thought that I could feel that much at home in a college.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot in all of my classes so far, but I would have to say that the classes that I've learned the most in were General Psychology 101 and Math 102. The instructors made sure that EVERY student understood a topic before they progressed into another topic. All of my instructors have been wonderful and I am very thankful that I had them as my instructors. Most of the instructors at OUSC have very unique styles of teaching that keep students focused on the lessons. Most of the students leave the school very enlightened and ready to step out into the real world.

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    who have a budget or time issues

    Bang for the buck

    Average Tuition is about $5,000

    What to do for fun

    The University Offers a number of Recreational Classes (REC). and there is a golf course located about 5 miles from it (30 minutes).

    Food and Dining

    Has An indoor cafe where they serve food throughout the day.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Very Thorough

    In three sentences

    Best school in the tristate area. If you want a school that is close to home and where the professors work with you 1 on 1 then this is the school for you. And it also gives you discounts at surrounding places of business such as the Elite Fitness Gym in Ironton and The Shake Shoppe.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Definitely recommend!

    Food and Dining

    At OU Southern there is a small paddock that has great food, although it is very small.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently enrolled in the Nursing program, and its excellent. The work is really hard,but will pay off in the end.

    In three sentences

    Ohio University is an amazing campus. It has small classes so therefore you get the help that you need.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Traditioal and non traditional as well.

    Bang for the buck

    A laid back atmosphere but you get what you pay for in your education.

    What to do for fun

    Exra curriular acivities.

    Food and Dining

    Theydont serve food.

    Dorm Life

    dont live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Feels like the techers really care about your advancement in their class.

    In three sentences

    I love it there. Its clean and a small school. Plenty of free parking with small classes.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Southern campus is a community college not a overly large university. in the local area, there are several areas for hunting, fishing, hiking and enjoying the out doors as well as other entertainment available in a short drive to Huntington WV

    Food and Dining

    The Paddock on campus has decent food with a small locally owned shake shop across the street. however within a 3 mile drive you do have a variety to choose from, from steak houses to fast food to specialty restaurants. there is a lot available in a short drive.

    Dorm Life

    this campus does not have a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and a lot of the professors are thorough with the classes they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you come in, have a good idea of what you want to do an be ready to start working towards your degree.

    In three sentences

    Ohio University Southern is a small campus in Ironton Ohio. The campus is very nicely laid out, with all buildings easy to find and very knowledgeable professors from both schooling and real life experience in the work force. My experience so far has been very satisfying.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is cams on the parking lots at all times there is also people willing to help you anytime if you need it. All you have to do ask.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is pretty laid back and easy flowing.

    What to do for fun

    I like to go to History or Art shows or group meetings, I like to help out when they need someone ( Bobcat bash was fun) .

    Food and Dining

    Their food is amazing they have a little place inside with some amazing food, or you can go right across the road to a small shake/ food place that is easy on the wallet .

    Dorm Life

    I was never in a dorm there so not really sure

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be on time and study this is very important.

    In three sentences

    I would have to say it is clean, nice and people are always willing to help you, even if they don't know the answer themselves.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seems small enough to have a safe environment for learning

    Great for these types of students

    Stay at home college students, or those on a fixed budget.

    Bang for the buck

    For my situation, this is the best option considering finances.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the school library and relax with a casual book

    Food and Dining

    Many local restaurants available

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research carefully. The many locations for Ohio University can seem confusing at first.

    In three sentences

    I think it looks like a new school with current or upgraded equipment. I think the faculty will be knowledgeable and want to educate. I feel that I will enjoy getting my education from Ohio University-Southern

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing can happen here

    Great for these types of students

    non traditional students or ones that are not quite ready to leave home

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    going to hoome coming big event

    Bang for the buck

    lots of money left over aftering tution money comes out

    What to do for fun

    games and trips

    Food and Dining

    Little eating area hot dogs sandwiches stuff

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    You can do it

    Tips for prospective students

    Go Here

    In three sentences

    The school is averge. The school is affordable. The school will teach me what iI need the get a job.

  • 09/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    worth every dime I have spent.

    What to do for fun

    I am a single mom but there is plenty to do and they offer a lot of extra curricular programs.

    Food and Dining

    the food they offer is great. good prices.

    Dorm Life

    No living on campus at this location.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just go in there they will walk you through it all you will not be disappointed.

    In three sentences

    I am 30 years old and they have made this opportunity very easy. To enroll was great, the classes are easy times are convenient and the teachers care. I am very happy I chose this school.