Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Ohio Valley University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/29/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is good for students who were not challenged in high school, like my son. I believe that if he does get behind they will recognize it before it gets to bad unlike his high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do a tour. The campus is very small and needs some updating to rooms but overall I think potential parents and students will be impressed.

    Bang for the buck

    The college runs about $20,000 per year including you housing and meal plans. With the colleges graduation rate and job placement rate I really recommend checking into this school.

    Will enjoy being here

    They have different activities that the kids can get involved with like whitewater rafting trips and other adventures. My son is a soccer player and looking forward to playing with Coach Lyons next year.

    Will learn a lot

    The professors seem to actually care wether students pass or fail. With a student teacher ratio of 1 to 20 I don't think you could go wrong choosing this college.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards on duty 24/7

    Clubs and Activities

    There are four social clubs (Delta, Kappa, Theta, and Sigma) to choose from.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    OVU is based on the religious values of the Church of Christ. The location of OVU is pretty.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of OVU is a great price compared to most the private colleges/universities in West Virginia.

    What to do for fun

    You can chill in the commons area where there are 3 flat screen tvs. One is hooked up to the cable, the other two are for either a DVD or game systems. You can go to the computer lab.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining is not that bad most the time. Sometimes the food just gets boring after having it every other week or everyday! The Dining hall needs to be bigger, but at one point it was big enough until more students started attending OVU.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Ohio Valley University is pretty fun. There is usually two to a room, unless you are willing to pay more to have a single room, or unless your a resident advisor you get a private room. Has to be a 2nd year college student or higher.

    Academic Rigor

    Ohio Valley University is academically great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ohio Valley University is a good choice if you want to attend a Christian University/College, it is one of the cheapest private university/college in West Virginia.

    In three sentences

    Ohio Valley University is a wonderful college. The student/faculty is great, you can't really find that anywhere else. The faculty truly care for the students and you can see God shining through them.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Almost nothing violent happens

    Clubs and Activities

    We have social clubs, student government, athletics, and other types of clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Christians, who want to learn more about God

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a tradition to have a huge party for incoming students

    What to do for fun

    Pray, have bible studies, sports

    Food and Dining

    They have more than enough food to eat. Its a buffet, and have variety of different kinds of food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't always as clean as it should be, but its good enough to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors take their job seriously. They are very considerate of students grades, and are willing to help them in any way possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be committed to academics. Be friendly. Show up to class.

    In three sentences

    The school size is 500-600 students. A lot of opportunities to spend with the teachers. Many opportunities to expand career ideas and interests.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    OVU is on a hill by itself, so the only real danger is getting snowed in in the winter.

    Greek Life

    At OVU, we have social clubs instead of the Greek system of sororities and fraternities. There are four social clubs Delta, Kappa, Sigma, and Theta. Every spring, we have a production called Expressions in which the social clubs put on an original skit and compete for the title of winner.

    What to do for fun

    OVU offers many student organized activities along with the institutional ones. There is always something going on, and most things are open to anyone making the experience more fun for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Aladdin food service does the cafeteria food. Sometimes the food is really good, and other times it's less than awesome. Consistency seems to be their shortcoming.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, meaning I do not live in the dorms, but I know that due to the raising number of students old dorms had to be renovated in order to accommodate the students. I heard the newly renovated dorms were really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Ohio Valley University is a great school with a wide range of academics for every kind of student. The teachers really care if you pass or fail the course, and the small class sizes allow for one on one attention. The classes range from beginner courses to adult education courses to graduate courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come take a tour of the campus, visitors are always welcome!

    In three sentences

    Ohio Valley University has the credibility and academics of a large school without the coldness often incorporated with such institutions. We have many sports teams and other extracurricular activities that make for a great college experience. The Christian atmosphere at OVU gives the school a homey feel even to those who don't share the same views.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't delt with the security much because I'm not there 24-7, but what I have seen is very good. There is always someone in the dorms and there is always someone around campus during the day in case anyone needs something.

    Greek Life

    Again, I don't have much time for things like this so I don't know a whole about them. I don know, however, that there is a Greek life and a lot of the students seem to be involved in it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and avtivities on campus; however, I attend full-time as well as work close to full-time so I don't have time for clubs and activities so I can't give much of an overview for them.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student that likes smaller class sizes so that they can have more one-on-one time with professors will like this university. Also, anyone who likes a homey feeling is perfect for this institution.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    OVU is a Christian College and therefor Chapel is held every day. Everyone is required to attend if they have classes within a certain time frame. It is very nice to hear the messages that speakers bring and it is also a good way to get to know everyone attending the college.

    Bang for the buck

    The tution at OVU isn't the cheapest but it isn't the most expensive either. For the price you pay, though, you get a fantastic education!

    What to do for fun

    Parkersburg is a small town; however, there are fun things to do around town like bowling, movies, sporting events, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Although I don't have a meal plan because I do live off campus, the food in the dining hall is great! I started college at another university and the food there wasn't so great so I wasn't expecting much at OVU either; but boy was I wrong! The kitchen usually has a couple different warm entrees as well as the regular bars - such as the hamburger bar and salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    I, personally, can't give much information on this topic because I live off campus at home - sorry!

    Academic Rigor

    Many students are usually afraid of college because during high school we hear horror stories - those stories don't apply at OVU. The courses are difficult enough to push the students to learn but they aren't so difficult that it becomes overwhelming. Not only that, but if a student is having problems the professors are more than willing to help in any way possible.

    In three sentences

    Although, there could be more organization when it comes to registration and move-in days Ohio Valley University is a very nice university. It may not have the best appearance, but weren't we always taught to not judge a book by its cover? Well that's exactly the situation for OVU because despite the looks the education one will receive is fantastic because the class sizes are smaller which allows for more one-on-one with professors and the professors actually care!

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on campus to protect students, small campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Social clubs, Division II Athletics sports, intramural sports clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students committed to their studies, religion, and faith to Christ.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Religious, Life of Christ school. Has a the religious environment and makes it feel as if everyone is a big family.

    Bang for the buck

    Small class sizes that you wouldn't get at a large University, so more one on one learning and experience you wouldn't receive and most other colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Many events in local area to attend. Sporting events, City Park, swimming pools if you are around for the summer.

    Food and Dining

    Avereage cafe of college campus.

    Dorm Life

    Was a commuter, never experienced dorm life at OVU

    Academic Rigor

    Good academics with professors willing to help students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Respect one another and professors, it will pay off.

    In three sentences

    Ohio Valley has a good all around atmosphere. Small class sizes so you have more one on one time with professors and able to get the learning experience you need. Many people who work or go to school who are willing to always find a way to help each other out.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have really good rules and regulations for the students to follow.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions of them. They might not be able to answer right off the bat, but they will get to you in a reasonable manner of time.

    In three sentences

    OVU has had my best interests from the beginning. They answer all of my question and there is nothing more that I would ask for. They made my admission process very simple for me.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school seems awesome! Ive visited it on a college tour and I was not disappointed at all. Not a bad choice..