Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ohlone Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are interested in learning American Sign Language, this is the place for you. There are a fair amount of deaf students at Ohlone, and they are always open to signing to one another. You will pick up ASL pretty fast.

    Tips for prospective students

    Beware: the Fremont Campus has a lot of stairs because its on a hill, so make sure you give yourself enough time before class. Running up those stairs can be dangerous and tiring.

    Bang for the buck

    Because Ohlone is a community college, it is more affordable for everyone to take classes here to further their education. Currently it is $26 per unit, plus $27 per semester for the miscellaneous fees.

    Am enjoying being here

    What I love about Ohlone is that everything is just accessible. From the Student Health Center to the cafeteria to the counseling center, everyone is very friendly, and I always feel welcome.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are very knowledgeable of the subjects they teach. One professor I must explicitly note is Dr. Paul Belasky, who taught GEOG-104. Just in that one semester, I learned so much about what was going on outside of my country, and now I have a better understanding of different cultures. I have learned to be very accepting of our differences.

  • 06/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for anyone, who would like to further their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to learn a whole lot of interesting things.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is worth every penny.

    Am enjoying being here

    Because I have learned a whole lot.

    Am learning a lot

    Ohlone College is a great community college.

  • 06/18/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're interested in learning about different cultures, this is the place to go based on it's high diversity of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your mind open to new ideas and cultures.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a really great school for higher learning.

    Did enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful. Lots of stairs to stay in shape! I've been at the Newark campus too which is much smaller and beautiful. If you ever have a chance to go to this building I would recommend to stop and look at the architecture as the building was designed to be Green, it's really amazing and really is the future for modern college design.

    Did learn a lot

    The teachers are really great. I can honestly say this school is where I was properly able to learn higher levels of math with a fair amount of ease. The engineering teachers are also great and really knowledgeable.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are looking to continue their education by getting an Associates degree and/or saving money and transferring to a four year.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I really like the new campus provided by Ohlone that is located in Newark, CA.

    What to do for fun

    I like to shop and go to the movies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all the advantages Ohlone provides. Such as free math and English tutoring provided on the main campus.

    In three sentences

    Ohlone college has a great education staff. I really love how big the school is and how easy it is to get around. I have learned a lot while going to this school and continue to learn.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The number of personal attacks are low, though theft and sometimes car theft are as high as they could be at any other community college. You can review this information on the Ohlone College Website (I believe).

    Greek Life

    We have no fraternities/sororities. It's a community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not involved in any clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are serious about being in college, and are willing to work hard, you will do very well here. If you are Deaf or Hard of Hearing, this is one of the best community colleges in Northern California for you. We have a large Deaf Population (at least 200-500 students), plenty of Deaf faculty, a lovely Deaf Studies Lab (where voice is not allowed; you have to sign!) and a great program in general. Also, for anyone who doesn't mind hills or stairs, this is a great school (we have A LOT of steps to climb).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I know that at least one (if not more) of the theater professors take a class to New York City for theater studies once a year. That is all I'm aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    So far, I have had a great experience, but I am a very serious student (I'm older, and I'm here to get my degree and better my career options). Budget cuts definitely 'cut' in some areas, but I can't recall any decent examples.

    What to do for fun

    We have dance classes, a great theater program (run for the students, by the students), music classes, lots of sports, and a beautiful campus to go walking/jogging/running on.

    Food and Dining

    The food is expensive, and I'm not fond of cafeteria food, but they have a decent selection (though, not necessarily the healthiest).

    Dorm Life

    We have no dorms. It's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't know exactly what 'academic rigor' means, but I know that the majority of my teachers, I like, and most classes are challenging, but well worth it. If you're interested in learning getting the most out of your education, you'll do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you think you'll function well at a smaller community college, this is the school for you. If you are Deaf, or are interested in pursuing Deaf Studies, this is definitely the school for you! Although budget cuts are taking their toll, we have a good choice of classes, programs, and good teachers and counselors. We have great ASL interpreters, an excellent Deaf Studies Lab, and positive Deaf Studies educators (most of whom are Deaf).

    In three sentences

    It's a good school; it's small, as are the classes, so it has a comfortable, personal feel all over. We have one of the best (if not THE best) Deaf Studies Divisions in Northern California, and an excellent theater program. All around, we have good classes and good teachers who actually want to teach.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Foods are quite expensive

    In three sentences

    Ohlone College is a good school, especially at the Newark Campus. It has good educational environment; the teachers are willing to help students at anytime.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There werent any gaurds or anything but the campus on its own is a pretty safe campus. All the people are great and no crimes happen there.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs you could join and become active with.

    Great for these types of students

    Its wonderful for students who dont full on know what they want to do or for students who may just want to transfer to a university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the very top of the campus there is an alumni house parking lot that is perfect for enjoying a sunny day outside, you get to see the whole view and its really peacful. It's a wonderful place to just stop and think about the day.

    Bang for the buck

    You most definitely get what you pay for and then some.

    What to do for fun

    They have many clubs and different sports that you can always get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    I never actually went to the cafe but they always had new posters up for it and were always doing new activites in there

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It was as fast paced and difficult as any other college youd go to. It all just depends on your class and teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should definitely get all your books and classes set up and paid for before the first day of school. Many students who didnt do things ahead of time easily fell behind in the class and the teachers couldnt enter in their grades.

    In three sentences

    This college was very clean and was kept up nicely. I enjoyed all the classes I took and the teachers were pretty good. I loved just walking around the campus before or after class just to see the view it gave you of the city below.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With on-campus police present, parking lots are patrolled, accidents are resolved quickly, and you always have a sense of safety.

    What to do for fun

    Enjoy the campus life with live performances under the stars at the Smith Center Amphitheatre, attend Ohlone's weekend flea market, or take part in the extracurricular classes like Hip-Hop dance.

    Food and Dining

    Ohlone cafes provide a good range of healthy foods for students and if students don't feel like eating on campus, there are multiple restaurants and coffee places along Mission Blvd.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not located on the campus. Lowered rent rates nearby the campuses are present and students can qualify for scholarships that help pay for student living.

    Academic Rigor

    Along with the diversity of students, professors are just the same. Any class can range from being extremely difficult to extremely simple. It all depends on your drive and how much you are willing to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always talk to a counselor before, during, and after your upcoming semester. Be aware of your Financial Aid and up coming deadlines for scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Both campuses in Fremont and Newark are beautiful, green supported, and provide a multitude of classes needed for a certificate, degree, or transfer. The campuses are advancing in technology and both campuses have great cafes. Along with that, Ohlone provides a diverse community of Ohlone students.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There's a huge variety of food! Probably because there's really diversity here.

    Dorm Life

    Well, I haven't experienced living in the dorm...

    Academic Rigor

    The hardest thing about the Academics would probably be getting to and fro from the classes and registering in the first place. The campus is big and classes get filled easily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do register early! You'll find it hard to get into classes since they get filled so easily! And don't be afraid to go around. The staff is nice!

    In three sentences

    It's a good school! It has a lot of great classes. Plus the campus is simply beautiful.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to work hard and transfer at a quick pace.

    What to do for fun

    Ohlone offers tons of student events, such as open mic, cultural events, and musical festivities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fantastic, only thing is its kind of far.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    has two campuses that offer any classes you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, and have fun. Don't stress out about the little things, just live the student life.

    In three sentences

    Fantastic school with a great environment, that you will absolutely feel like at home. also has tons of opportunities and virtually every course you will need for any major.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play sports, join a club, the campus is on a hill so you are able to go hiking. Also just go explor Fremont.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is decent, i normally just go across the street to subway or starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    the math department is good, and so is the english because there are labs to help you on campus like tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is great for everyone and it works with your schedule.

    In three sentences

    Ohlone is a place that helps someone grow and find more opportunities. The only thing that is not appealing about the school is the stairs. The school is divers so their is never a dull moment about it.

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ohlone College offers great science programs.

    Bang for the buck

    Community College tuition is going up, however, it is still a lot better than paying 300 dollars a unit for general education!

    What to do for fun

    Ohlone College has a ton of clubs and events. The speaker seminars are filled with a lot of interesting presenters. If you are mobile, there is the automall at Pacific Commons that has a ton of dining areas, as well as a very nice movie theater.

    Tips for prospective students

    In terms of transferring, do not rush, but do not take it so easy. Since you are at a community college, take advantage of the financial relief that you get to experience. Take electives and explore different types of classes that are not in your direct field of study, because you never know, you might like something even more. And since it is community college, some people get comfortable, a little too comfortable. Just make sure you stay productive and receive your AA's, certificates, and transfer admissions.

    In three sentences

    Some people dread the life of community college, especially at Ohlone Community College. I, for one, am very pleased with the experience and find that it is an amazing start of a college life. At such a tight school, you are able to build interpersonal relationships with professors, and make friends a lot easier, while still gaining the right type of education.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During holiday seasons, the staff organize a party which consisted of delicious food and variety of music entertainment.

    What to do for fun

    If you enjoy the outdoors and love to hike, this campus is perfect for you.

    Food and Dining

    You can't expect much on the food here. It's a little pricey and doesn't taste good. I recommend you pack your own food.

    Dorm Life

    I am not quite familiar with the dorm. For the fact that I live close by and it only takes me a few minutes to get to school.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors here are much more lenient. For the fact that you're an adult and its your choose if you want to priorities your academic or not. However, there are also some professors who cares about your future and helps you along the way.I recommend to not rely on that though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you read all the requirements for your class. Also, make sure that you know the grading policies because some teachers won't tell you your grade until the quarter ends.

    In three sentences

    If you enjoy nature and hiking, I recommend that you go to this school. It has a beautiful view if the bay on top of the hill. Students here basically just go to class and leave.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been no reported incidences of crime or shady activity during the few years that I've been at Ohlone. Since the campus is located in a nice neighborhood, there is unquestionable certainty that students will be safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many students join the Associated Students of Ohlone College (ASOC), which governs the student body.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus would be great for students who want to earn an Associate's or transfer to a four year college in a nice setting. Ohlone caters to the environmentally conscious, while appealing to health nuts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a man-made lake at the back of the dining hall. Also, the Mission Peak entrance is off the edge of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Ohlone College is a smoke-free college, that is also devoted to being environmentally friendly. You do get a nice exercise each time you go to class, because classes are at the top of the hill.

    What to do for fun

    Newpark Mall is located 10 minutes away from campus. You could watch a movie in the new Cinemark, which is conveniently close.

    Food and Dining

    Peet's Coffee is sold on campus, and they have a cutesy bookstore that has a small section devoted to snacks. The cafeteria on the Fremont campus is also quite quaint, but they sell reasonably priced food.

    Dorm Life

    Many international students live across the street in apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the subject that you take. For example, calculus required many hours of studying, whereas the biology of sexual reproduction course required bare minimum work in order to get an A

    Tips for prospective students

    Read the textbook. A lot of the finals that I've taken were completely based on the content within the textbook.

    In three sentences

    The professors here are really invested in seeing students succeed. Many of them encourage you to to do well, and they offer office hours to help you if you have additional questions. The location is also nice, situated in the rich part of Fremont.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ohlone College has its own trained police department. They are very helpful.

    Greek Life

    If you are invited, there is Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society you can join.

    Bang for the buck

    Community College tuition beats private schools or University tuition.

    What to do for fun

    The bay area is loaded with things to do. There are also several clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria on campus that is decent with reasonable prices. There are also a few places just off campus to eat and of course a Starbucks nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers expect you to be an adult and not told to do, so be prepared to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to walk up many stairs.

    In three sentences

    Ohlone College has good resources and computer labs. Instructors are usually good. This is a nice campus.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    When I look out to the city, the view is very beautiful. The people there are very friendly and helpful when I went there for orientation. The campus is confusing and has a lot of stairs.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police all over the student parking lot, but rarely do they show up on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Ohlone's cheap compared to other community colleges. The only thing that's negative about the school is that they force you to pay for the medical part/health center, which is closed most of the time and even when their open, they can't see you right away and the fastest that I've seen a doctor with an appointment was 2 weeks.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few special events that you can attend, such as making bath salts and costume contests.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is great; they always have different specials each day and the dinning room is also great (you can eat either indoors or outside, which is next to a pond).

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorms on campus, but there are apartments nearby that are fairly cheap ($300 a week I think).

    Academic Rigor

    There are a few classes where the teacher aren't passionate about the class that they're teaching but on the contrary the teachers who are passionate about their class are either: very helpful, or overwhelming with their work load. Speaking of which, some teachers do pile a lot of work onto students, thinking that the students are only taking their class during the semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't underestimate parking; come early before your class because parking is really hard to find. Also, be patient about getting your priority up for registration, it takes a while to get classes that you want, especially general ed. If you can't get into a certain class, sit in, usually seats would open after the first few days.

    In three sentences

    There are a few departments that could be improved, such as the Multimedia department. Aside from that, Ohlone offers a variety of classes that not many other schools offer, such as a Video Game design and development. There should be more student parking near the top of the hill and less staff parking (most of the time they're empty)

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Ohlone has a great environment. It is near Mission Peak so during your free time when you're not in class you can head on over there. They also have a dock hanging over a pond with a fountain in it, you're allowed to sit on the dock and have a snack there. Ohlone also has plenty of stairs which gives you a workout walking up and down the stairs to your classes.

    Food and Dining

    Ohlone has many selections for you to choose from. They even have coffee and they have varieties of food. The food is very diverse, there's the usual american burgers but they also serve Asian soups and Mexican entrees. They've also got plenty of snacks, desserts, and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    I don't have a dorm room in Ohlone so I don't know what dorm life is like here.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic standards at Ohlone are pretty high but in a good way. It really does teach you to do your best and the instructors are willing to help you. You actually learn something in Ohlone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Education at Ohlone is fairly easy. Of course, not all courses are easy but as long as you do your work, you will succeed. If you have any questions, the staff at Ohlone is more than willing to help you.

    In three sentences

    Ohlone community college has a really nice campus. The staff is really nice and helpful and the instructors are great! Ohlone also has a cafe that provides many selections for you to choose from whether it's for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    A great way to get ahead with your GE without the cost of the 4 year institution.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mission Peak has an entrance off of the campus. Excellent for a day hike.

    What to do for fun

    There are a host of plays and concerts that make there way to Ohlone.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is okay. There are a decent amount of places to eat at the bottom of the hill or a short drive away.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes offered are excellent and diverse. If you are willing to truly apply yourself, you will achieve success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to burn a lot of calories! Stairs, stairs and more stairs!

    In three sentences

    Easy to enroll. Beautiful campus. Easy to get to.

  • 09/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security patrols both campuses throughout the day and the crime rate is low.

    Clubs and Activities

    If there isn't a club you're interested in the campus allows you the option to create one.

    Great for these types of students

    Environmental Activists, Potential Physical Therapist, and anyone with a desire to expand and grow.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is known for it's environmental involvement and takes Earth Week to a whole new level with extra credit opportunities.

    Bang for the buck

    The price for courses is reasonable and financial aid is always an option.

    What to do for fun

    The school has events throughout the school year to engage students of all interests whether it be environmental, theatrical, or social.

    Food and Dining

    The food the cafeteria at both Ohlone locations provides students with healthy options and a favorable taste.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Ohlone is currently non-existent.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Ohlone are rigorous but challenge students to gain a deeper understanding of the courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Set up appointments with counselors to help guide you into a potential career or educational growth program. Take placement tests seriously to avoid unnecessary courses. Last, when you're struggling in a course get the help you need from on campus instructors, tutors, and study groups.

    In three sentences

    Ohlone Community College rates highest in energy efficient colleges. This college is superior for it's innovative methods of conserving energy. This school's courses and degree programs give the student the advantage to preparing for four year colleges.

  • 11/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs, events, shows, plays, galleries. The view is pretty nice at night since it's up on a hill. Across the street from school are nice delis, cafes and coffee shops like Mission Coffee and Starbucks. And Mission Burger. Their burgers are better than Five Guys and In-N-Out combined, I promise.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to an art gallery or Smith center production at least once.

    In three sentences

    Ohlone College is a standard community college. The population is small, serving mostly Fremont, Newark and Union City residents, with some Milpitas and Hayward students as well. It's quiet most of the time and the classes are generally high school classroom-sized.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I do occasionally see a campus police officer patrolling around in his vehicle, so it is quite nice to know people like him/her are going around looking for any signs of trouble that might befall the students. It makes me feel much safer to go to the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a great variety of clubs and activities that really give me a good college feeling.

    Great for these types of students

    I think that the Ohlone College community would benefit and be great for all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Ohlone College fountain is a very nice place to go and relax if one is stressed.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is affordable, and worth every penny spent here.

    What to do for fun

    There are wonderful clubs and sports on campus. I myself joined a few clubs, and while I do not play sports on campus, many of my friends do, and I have heard nothing but good things about the teams and the facilities. I have seen a few of them myself, and I am very impressed. Various sports like basketball, baseball, and soccer, with their well-equipped fields/courts and excellent coaches, create an environment that not only makes the world of competitive sport fun, but very enjoyable and homey.

    Food and Dining

    The on-campus cafeteria is a real time-saver for the students that wish to grab a snack in between classes. The variety of meals is great, as well as how the staff have provided the menus for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The environment is clean, and makes me feel welcome when I walk in to grab something to eat while I decide to do a bit of studying or relax before class.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus myself, but the living areas around the college are great. The homes nearby and quite nice, and in a well-developed, vibrant community, with plenty of shopping centers and eateries for those students that don't wish to spend all their study time sitting at a desk in their bedrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not so hard that I feel overwhelmed, but just right enough that I now have a greater sense of responsibility toward my schoolwork. The online classes help one greatly in developing a better sense of time management and responsibility, as many teachers, while not sticklers, will expect you to have regular activity in class via the internet. Just be prepared to actually do some schoolwork while surfing the web this time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If, for some of you, this is your first year/semester of college, be prepared that it is not what you will expect. Many of the teachers are fairly kind, understanding, and put just the right amount of academic pressure on us that we (the students) feel obligated to study and do well, but not become overwhelmed. The classes do offer their own challenges as they come, but all it takes is a bit of self-motivation, sense of responsibility, and willingness to advance your knowledge to succeed. Also, be prepared for a great diversity of students, classrooms, and classes alike; Ohlone College is a vibrant community that I am grateful to be attending as I prepare myself over these next two years for when I apply to a four-year university.

    In three sentences

    Ohlone College is a calm, clean, healthy environment with a great diversity of friendly students and teachers alike. A variety of sports and activities are available on campus, as well as a bookstore and cafeteria for the busy study student who might want to grab a snack or get some new supplies after class. Ohlone's tuition is very affordable to those who wish to get a degree, and has well-thought transfer plans for those looking to go further in their choice of major and/or career.

  • 02/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    they don't publicize much you have to find them

    Bang for the buck

    not really expensive

    What to do for fun

    hiking mission peak, going to coffee shops, the mall in newark, movie theater and shopping center in auto mall center.

    Food and Dining

    healthy foods mainly and food restaurants near by

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to do any labs on time. i hope you like stairs the whole school is little up the stairs.

    In three sentences

    The teacher care as long as you go to them. The school is getting rebuild and will take 5 years, good school helps you in many ways. The counselors help you, the classes are useful.

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus police department. They patrol regularly. There are also escorts you can have to your car if you do not feel safe going to your car alone.

    Greek Life

    There are no specific college fraternity houses or anything like that, but there are academic organizations to join,

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities to participate in. They hold club days twice a year so that no matter what semester you join the school in, you are still exposed to the club opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    I think this school is great for anyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a beautiful pond and woodsy area behind the campus, we get to see wild life wondering the hillside and there are hiking trails leading up the hillside.

    Bang for the buck

    There are so many services offered by the school, but the prices per unit and the fees we pay for things like the student health center, are really reasonable. I have no issue with paying their fees. The most expensive part of attending school is the cost of books, but I have had many professors who are willing to let us use older editions of books so that we can buy used books for much much cheaper, even if a new edition has been released.

    What to do for fun

    There are always things to do for fun. Student activities are held at lunch time several times a month. There are plenty of clubs to participate in and they all have special events to attend as well. The school has a very strong athletic department, so there are sports to watch. The school also has an active theater and dance program and special events are always held in out theater, whether it be a school event or a city event. The school also has a lot of special activities going on to help the community like blood drives, canned food drives, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is really good on the Fremont campus. They cook a lot of the food right there in front of you, and it is as you order it. They have been supportive of special dietary restrictions. The Newark campus has a very similar menu and the food is good quality, but they always seem to be out of things. It is frustrating to order something, only to be told that they can't make it because they are out of something. I wish the Newark campus was run like the Fremont campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available on the campus, but the school does have a scholarship opportunity with the city of Fremont that will allow students to get lowered rent at specific apartment complexes.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but are not hard just to be hard. They have purpose. I have found that most teachers are honest in their syllabus about the coarse load and so you know what to expect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize everything they have to offer. Ask for help when needed. Meet with a counselor regularly to evaluate your progress. Meet with a counselor early on to make sure that you have a plan in place for what classes to take. You don't want to waste time taking classes that you don't need. Ask other students or use rate my professor to make sure that you get professors that you think you will work well with. You don't want a bad relationship with a professor to slow you down or affect your GPA. Work hard. This isn't high school anymore!

    In three sentences

    Ohlone College offers a great deal of support for their students. They truly want each student to be successful. I would strongly recommend them to anyone else wanting to go to college.

  • 04/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't many interesting clubs. They pretty much all focus on academic subjects.

    Great for these types of students

    It has a very large multicultural community. Over half the student body is Asian. There's excellent help for those who's first language isn't English.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap if you want to get pre-reqs and transfer

    Food and Dining

    It has a pretty good cafeteria with a variety of food. There also a peet's coffee stand in front of the library.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms,it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I found the classes had a reasonable workload.

  • 05/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is now a way for students to feel safer by having campus police escort you to your car. This is a great way to keep students safe.

    Great for these types of students

    The deaf studies program is great.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities every month that I recommend you attend, there is always something fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers a variety of food. It's not the best out there but I mean, it is a school cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that I've taken have been fun and challenging, some more challenging than others but they are worth the trouble because you learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to walk up those stairs, there are a lot. In other words, bring sneakers to this campus.

    In three sentences

    The campus is old but it has a warmth to it. The professors are mostly great and they seem to care about your education. I would recommend this school for anyone who wants to come back to school.

  • 05/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to watch the pond behind the cafeteria

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. very diverse

    Dorm Life

    there is no on campus housing, but there should be.

    Academic Rigor

    Helpful teachers

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best!

    In three sentences

    Ohlone College is a great school filled with diversity and good teachers. I enjoy the scenery the Fremont hills give us. And its always a great exercise going up the stairs.