Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Oklahoma Baptist University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/30/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 15 people found this review useful. 1 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like to be academically challenged, then Oklahoma Baptist University may be the right college for you. If you are looking to be a business major, OBU is known for its great school of business. Many business graduates from OBU have obtained jobs much easier and faster than some business majors who have attended other colleges. If you are planning to be a pastor or be involved in some other ministry, Oklahoma Baptist University has an amazing school of Christian service. They help to give you not only a well-rounded education but also a firm start in pursuing an area of ministry before attending a 4-year seminary. Also, if you are a people person, Oklahoma Baptist University may be the college for you. OBU provides opportunities to interact with others, especially if you are interested in the campus ministry. Many of the on-campus jobs encompass the ability to converse and cooperate with other people. If you find that interesting, OBU may be a great college for you to consider attending in the fall.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate with homework! Oklahoma Baptist University is a school that will challenge you academically. Professors here expect you to turn in all assignments ON TIME. Many of them do not except late work or will take off a great amount of points off of the late assignment. Be prepared. Know when your assignments are due, and pay attention to the syllabi you will receive. Take advantage of fun activities on campus. It's a great way to meet others and possibly interact with the professors on a greater level. Many students, past and present, have met their best friends during occasions such as these. Be sure to keep extra food in your dorm room or apartment. You never know when terrible whether will hit or when the cafeteria has to close due to emergencies. In addition, choose the meal plan that is right for you.

  • 08/27/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    OBU is great for all types of students except for those who do not feel the need to work and study for good grades. There is a major and degree plan for a well-rounded number of people, but it is rigorous training as they prepare you for life and careers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since OBU is expensive, file for financial aid and audition for scholarships available to your college pursuit. Follow every oppurtunity you receive. If you have a work schedule, let your advisor know about it when you enroll so they can take it into consideration while planning your class schedule. Let your advisors help you - that is what they are there for!! Ask them questions even if it sounds dumb. The advisors are SO helpful at OBU and will gladly answer all your questions. Also, college is stressful so recruit help in all types of ways. get help from parents, faculty/staff, friends, and fellow students. Have your family clip coupons to help you save money and ask for gift cards for Christmas to help relieve some financial strain. Use your professors office hours to look over papers and grades. Ask the faculty tips that will help you make that A in your toughest class. Get friends to go cheap for that fun night out and ask them to wait for you until you are done studying. Start group studies with fellow students if you are having trouble staying awake while reading that long chapter. Use every possible asset that is available to you to help you succeed in college and reach your dreams.

    Bang for the buck

    OBU is pricey, but is well worth it! Class sizes are small and fitted to the student's needs. They also take into consideration that books are expensive and some classes use the same books two to four semesters to save you money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the entire atmosphere that surrounds the campus. Everyone is SO friendly! My first day here, I was extremely lost, but all I had to do was ask anyone where to go and they personally took me there themselves.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a Piano Performance Major with and emphasis on Pedagogy. I have wanted to continue learning and developing my music talents and I have found that it is so easy to do that here at OBU. The classes are amazing! The core classes, classes specific to my major, and the extras are all so interesting, fun, and loaded with information to learn. The professors are so helpful!

  • 02/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The OBU student body is very diverse and welcoming to any and all types of people. If you look around you will probably see people hanging out together that look like they normally wouldn't hang out together, which is great! One of the best things about OBU is the strong christian environment. If you are looking for a place to grow your faith and to deepen your walk with the Lord this a great place to do it! All the professors are christians and there are many things to get involved in that are faith and mission based. From the staff to the campus to the students, OBU is just an all around great place to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're thinking about coming to OBU, my main advice would be to come on a preview day or a campus visit. When I visited the campus I knew this was the place for me. Being there and picturing myself in my everyday life on the campus really made me feel at home. It is a gorgeous campus and everyone around is so friendly.

    Bang for the buck

    Since OBU is a private school, it is no surprise that tuition is on the higher side. I would say, though, that it is money extremely well spent. There is no doubt that you will get a great all around education here and the facilities aren't too shabby either. When you come to OBU you definitely get what you pay for and in my opinion you get a lot more.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere of OBU is unlike any other school I've heard about. The student body is on the smaller side so once you're here there are familiar faces all around. I came here not knowing anyone and now I have a lot of really great friends. OBU also has a bunch a super fun traditions that set it apart from other schools. From the minute I got to welcome week at the beginning of the year I knew this was where I was supposed to be.

    Am learning a lot

    OBU professors are amazing! They really know the material they are teaching and they present the information in a way that will get your attention. I feel like I have learned a lot more than I ever did in high school just because of the great learning environment that OBU has.

  • 09/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want their education to challenge them will flourish at OBU. You cannot skate through without hard work and expect your degree to be handed to you. However, if you want to leave your university at the end of four years knowing you earned your degree and having developed many meaningful relationships along the way, OBU could be the place for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour! Come visit during a Preview Day. It's a great experience that will allow you to get a feel of the school and see what campus is like. If you choose to come to OBU, be sure to go to Welcome Week activities. This is an amazing way to get to know your fellow freshman, upperclassmen, and professors! It will also help you familiarize yourself with campus so you won't be quite so lost on Day 1 of class.

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely not a cheap school, but you get what you're paying for: a great, liberal arts education. It's money well spent for a well rounded education that applies to spiritual as well as academic life.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at OBU; the atmosphere on campus is so friendly and inviting. You don't have to worry about not having friends, because the other students will always interact with you, especially at the beginning of the school year to help out the new Freshman. And with fun traditions like the Freshman Beanie, The Walk, and Ka-Rip! what's not to love?

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at OBU are wonderful! They do a great job of presenting information in a way that it can be understood. Also, they expect you to learn, no exceptions. There are multiple opportunities to receive assistance on challenging concepts or homework assignments (in the Student Success Center or meeting with the professors outside of the classroom for example), and because of this the professors will not do you the disservice of lowering the course standards.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it never fails! i'll be walking to class and always see campus police. they are so kind and will help you with anything even jump your car if you're having trouble. there is also no curfew but you can have the comfort of feeling safe at night because there is always more than one security per dorm.

    Greek Life

    i'm currently in the process of pledging and i can say i'm having the time of my life!!! there is no hazing here but we do have to do really funny things and they always have us up and going doing all kinds of things. you will definitely have enough sorority's and fraternity's to choose from!

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a club for every type of personality at obu. from the chess and cheese club to muggle quidditch to cab which is a club that puts all kinds of fun productions here.

    Great for these types of students

    every student that loves jesus or is even a bit interested in knowing more about all this is going to have such a blast because we are seriously so crazy and wild!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is so many traditions at obu and they are all so fun! for example one is called ring by spring (ladies you'll like this one) guys will usually ask their girlfriend to marry them by spring of their senior year so there's always love in the air! there is also this thing called twirp week and it stands for the woman is required to pay where the girls ask guys out on fun dates. during welcome week freshman are given this beanie that they have to wear throughout welcome week to be identified as freshman and its really fun to be greeted by upperclassmen everywhere you go. the best one is probably this chant that all obu students know. it's called ka-rip and its a bunch of babbling that you have to scream in a huge group when some one calls you out by saying bison go with ka-rip. basically this school is amazing!!

    Bang for the buck

    obu is named one of “america’s best value colleges!” i can definitely guarantee you will have the time of your life!!

    What to do for fun

    there is so many things to do here! we have three different movie theaters and one of them is only a dollar to see a movie. shawnee also has bowling, roller blading, and a good selection of restaurants. if that's not enough the capital is only 40 minutes away!

    Food and Dining

    the food is actually really tasty but after having the same choices for two whole semesters you're going to want to change it up a bit so make sure and sign up for the most bison bucks you can to spend at our convenient store on campus.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is my favorite part of college! i can honestly say that i could stay in my room all day long and be completely fine with it because my friends are just down the hall and are always in my room. it's like a huge four year sleepover.

    Academic Rigor

    you are definitely getting your money's worth for the education that you will receive!

    Tips for prospective students

    obu will give out tons of scholarships but make sure to try hard in high school and keep those sat and act scores high!

    In three sentences

    obu provides such a friendly environment for all students. the professors make it a point to get to know you as a person and are so kind. i couldn't ask for a better mixture of a biblical education and amazing environment!

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I advise the prospective students to make sure that you have looked at other schools before deciding to attend OBU. Also to visit the school before living on campus.

    In three sentences

    OBU is not a well diverse school. There is not alot to do around in the city of Shawnee...the social life is horribe.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    so many rules

    Clubs and Activities

    s.i.f.e> college players, fraternaty, and sororities, intermurals

    Great for these types of students

    christians who want to progress their knowledge with teachers that interwind a christian look at it

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    anytime someone tells you to go with ka-rip u do a long speech and first years must where the obu beanie during welcome week

    Bang for the buck

    expensive but worth it to an extent

    What to do for fun

    intermurals and when not doing homework we have c.o.d tournaments sometimes

    Food and Dining

    the food is ok but its not great sometimes under cooked or over cook its the same stuff every week but u get 5 choices.

    Dorm Life

    i give this a 3 star review just because if it wasn't for the people who live in the dorms you could not live here happily with all the problems that go on with it.

    Academic Rigor

    the education is great, but in return there is almost no free time for a job or to hang out, unless you make time.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would suggest going to a community college or junior college before jumping right in due to high costs and large number of students who transfer after just one semester because the work load here is so high.

    In three sentences

    this a good god centered school. it is tough. and the men's housing is not the best.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always police officers riding around through campus to make sure everyone is safe! These police officers are special because their whole job is to protect the campus!

    Great for these types of students

    There are poeople form all over! There are people from China, Brazil, Venezuela, Ethiopia, Hawaii, England, and many others countries/states!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When you first get there as a freshman they take you to do The Walk with your entire freshman class. This is the first and last thing you do as a student of Oklahoma Baptist University.

    What to do for fun

    There are a bunch of things to do for fun but joining the intramural sports is so much fun! It is also another way to meet new people!

    Food and Dining

    There is a buffet-style cafeteria everyday of the week. The serve all different types of food from Chinese to Mexican to American foods!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are filled with many different types of people! The best way to meet new people is to keep your dorm room open while you're in there so people feel welcomed to come talk to you!

    Academic Rigor

    The campus has a lot of rules but they are only there to help keep students safe especially because many students are far away from home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to have a general idea on what career field you would like to have. That way you can explore many options within that field to see which one you would enjoy most.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Baptist University is a fantastic school! They are not just here to tell their students about education-related topics, but faith topics as well. It is an environment that changes the way people see the world.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There are security guards twenty four-seven and you have to have a parking decal or they will notice right away. The campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    There is Greek life here at OBU but it is not as prevalent as it is bigger universities. They are Christ-centered and really focus on meeting new people and doing service projects and just growing in the Lord.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything, whether it be chess or student government they have it here at OBU. That is another thing that makes you feel more a part of the bison family is finding somewhere to get plugged in. They really encourage the students here to volunteer somewhere, whether it be cargo ranch or the salvation army there is something that will interest you.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who wish to grow in their faith in a awesome environment would do very well at OBU. The professors actually care and you are a student with a name not just a number here like you would be at some universities. Not to mention the education you will receive is top notch.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ka-rip is one of the traditions we have. It is a silly chant that you say really fast. People who have been graduated for several years can still call you to go with ka-rip. It is a really fun tradition. Another is the walk which is more of a ceremony than a tradition but its very important to the community and very similar to the walk you take when you graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    Now I am sure there are several people who ruled out OBU right away because of the staggering amount of money it takes to come here. Well for one the education is so worth it. In order to be a professor here you have to have experience in the field you are teaching which is not the case for most colleges. Also there are a lot of scholarship opportunities. It was cheaper for me to go here than it was other big state universities.

    What to do for fun

    During the first semester there are these things called buck friday. You pay a dollar for an event. Sometimes there are concerts and other times its dances or movie nights. There is always fun events like that to go to. OBU also has sports. We recently got football, so now you can go to football or soccer or baseball or even volleyball games. There are a number of other activities that go on campus. Shawnee has a mall so its always fun to go do a little bit of shopping.

    Food and Dining

    I know there are a lot of schools who have terrible food. OBU is not one of those schools. They have amazing food. Also there is a wide variety of foods that you have to choose from. There are some healthy choices and some not so healthy choices. The food is great tasting though.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is the best! I have made some wonderful friends by living in the dorms. You get to have great time with the people you live with and there is so many opportunities for living in the dorms. Also you don't feel like an outsider. You feel more connected to the college family.

    Academic Rigor

    Here at OBU the classes are designed to challenge you. They really want to make you think. Which is actually great, you end up being able to do a lot more than you ever thought possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out a lot of colleges before you settle down with one college. It isn't a decision you should take lightly. Pick a school that has a great program in whatever it is that you want to study. Now if that happens to be education, music, nursing, and a few others OBU would be a great choice for you.

    In three sentences

    OBU definitely gets two thumbs up from me. It is an amazing school! There is something for everyone here at OBU.

  • 06/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are no problems at OBU.

    Greek Life

    Do not think there is one? We have a few sororities and a fraternity which is great.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is more than enough ways to get involved at OBU.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to learn belong here. You do not have to be a Christian to enjoy your time at OBU. If you want to go for religion or philosophy studies I would recommend OBU above nearly every other school, OBU is known as the flagship college for theology in the area and possibly the west. The Nursing college and Business college are great. If you are a runner we have one of the best track teams in the nation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ka-Rip is pretty unusual as well as the jewish beanies we wear for some reason. But that is all I can say about those.

    Bang for the buck

    The book store is a rip off like every other college but the education is easily worth the money we pay. Unfortunately we do not have the greatest of dorms for the guys but the girls dorms and apartment complexes are pretty good.

    What to do for fun

    Mainly we make our own fun; we go to Buffalo Wild Wings every Thursday night as well as go and hang out and enjoy each others company. Oklahoma City is not that far away from Shawnee so we go there to enjoy movies and shop at some larger malls.

    Food and Dining

    The food is readily available but does not taste great as well as giving you some real stomach problems. Sadly it is something you get used to. But OBU is changing its food service this year so we will see how it goes.

    Dorm Life

    It may be hit or miss. My experience is that if you can find the right fit of guys and live on the same hall as them then the dorm life can be incredible.

    Academic Rigor

    OBU is demanding and study time can take up all your time. But you leave the class knowing that you have learned how to think even better about your beliefs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for a lot of outside scholarships. OBU is amazing but it costs a lot.

    In three sentences

    I love Oklahoma Baptist University. The college is tight and it is easy to meet people there. If that is not enough, the professors there truly care and desire to see you succeed in the class room.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    for new students there is a fun event called welcome week that gets students together to meet new people and learn the campus grounds. part of this tradition is to wear a beanie the whole week which has been a tradition since its beginning! we also have concerts that are put on throughout the semester with well-known artists! the gc is the hang out area for all of the students and is located in the center of campus!!

    Bang for the buck

    although obu is quite expensive, over 90% of students receive financial aid! also, it is one of the cheapest private christian schools in the naation and ranked high on many surveys of americna universities!

    What to do for fun

    shawnee offers lots to do! there is a really nice mall down the street, three movie theaters that include an old dollar movie that is a blast! there are plenty of fast food and nice restaurants around town, including a delicious and cheap bakery! there's also a casino about 10 minutes away that students will go to to get away and relieve stress after a long week.

    Food and Dining

    the food isn't your mom's homemade food, but it isn't horrible! there is always a salad bar and plenty of options to choose from and you don't want to eat in the ara(cafeteria) there are plenty of options around the school!

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are a blast to be in! you build a community of friendships within your first week of moving in! they host lots of events and make sure you enjoy living there.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic level at obu is a little more challenging than most universities, but it keeps your mind active in an enjoyable way. being a liberal arts university you get to choose from an array of fun classes that make learning a joy! the hard work is definately worth it!!

    Tips for prospective students

    obu can be a little expensive, so make sure you file your fafsa as soon as you can and meet with your fin-aid advisor, they do so much to help you get here! also, be willing to get out of your comfort zone and meet new people, everyone here is friendly!

    In three sentences

    oklahoma baptist university is a place of ccommunity and excellence. you will be encouraged to work hard on your studies, but be rewarded with fun events and friendships that will last a lifetime. obu is a fantastic school that strives to create an environment that helps its students succeed in every way.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    patrol 24/7 except on weekends, watch out for tickets!!!

    Greek Life

    two for girls and only one for guys, these focus more on serving the community than having fun, but its a great way to meet people and get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    christian students wanting to be near home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ka-rip!!

    Bang for the buck

    very copetitive academics, but well worth the education.

    What to do for fun

    go home, or to the city.

    Food and Dining

    ara cafeteria or java city convenience store on campus.

    Dorm Life

    good to get to know people who attend the university. very convinient proxemity for classes.

    Academic Rigor

    obu is definitely hard but if you are looking for a challenge or just a good education, you can find caring professors, a grand religion program and rewarding success after graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    students should be open minded about the university and try to get involved with something on campus. there are also many church families that are more than willing to help students adjust to college life.

    In three sentences

    obu is rich in tradition and is geared toward students who are willing to work hard for a good education. the university is situated in a small town, but is 30 minutes from okc or norman. this is primarily a conservative christian liberal arts university that is deeply rooted in its values.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police keep it really safe

    Greek Life

    we have social clubs which isn't quite greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    i'm in many things and they all are great!

    Great for these types of students

    one who want a very strong academic program and want to strengthen their faith

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we wear beanies during welcome week as freshman and them wear the same thing when we graduate! a lot of fun obu traditions!

    Bang for the buck

    it is great!!

    What to do for fun

    eat out with my friends participate in the fun events obu plans!

    Food and Dining

    not the best but obu students and staff are working on changing that!

    Dorm Life

    i love my dorm!!! we always have events that are both fun and helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    teachers really push it student to achieve academic excellence

    Tips for prospective students

    talk to the students here and get to know the bison spirit that makes this school a community

    In three sentences

    oklahoma baptist university adquately prepares each student to take on the world with academic and spiritual intelligence. they integrate faith and learning and teach each student great core values. i am only a freshman but i already feel like i have learned so much about myself and how to be successful in the world.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sometimes the officers are a pain, but I always feel safe.

    What to do for fun

    Athletic events are a blast, intramural sports are a great way to get out and meet people, lots of people like to go to nearby cities for concerts, there are a couple of theaters in town, and there are a couple nice coffee shops to hang out at

    Food and Dining

    There aren't as many on-campus options, but there's always a friend around to eat with.

    Dorm Life

    I loved staying in the dorms my freshman and sophomore years. They have different dorms for both classifications and they are each uniquely designed for your needs that year.

    Academic Rigor

    Certain areas are tougher than most public schools, but it's a good challenge that prepares you for life after college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to visit the campus if you can, or talk to someone who has been

    In three sentences

    OBU is a great academic school with a small town feel. The professors are exceptional, and they take time to invest in their students.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    15 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They will be starting a marching band very soon. The music department is thriving and expanding.

    What to do for fun

    Go to a theatre show. They just won an award for their production of As It Is In Heaven.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 45

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    OBU is an excellent Christian liberal arts school, with superb professors in all areas, particularly ministry and religious education, philosophy, english, history, music education, and science. Additionally, it has good food and a beautiful environment. However, it is not entirely a Christian atmosphere, student-wise and, in some cases, professor-wise, as many of the professors are opposed to even praying in class, and many students are explicitly non-Christian. Additionally, the cost of attendance, although cheaper than most other private colleges, is still fairly high, and this can deter many well-qualified students from attending.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt comfortable on campus. It is small and everyone seems to know everyone. Campus police are always present.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life, sorry! There are social clubs and organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    Always something going on and clubs for anything you like.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to be treat like people and not numbers. Your faculty will know you and you won't be able to hide out in a class of 300. If you like small classes and individual attention, you will get it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All I can say is Bison...Let's go with Ka-rip! You'll just have to visit to find out what that is about!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school, so you will pay a bit more for the education. But, it is well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are always concerts and some kind of athletic event going on along with all kinds of clubs to be active in.

    Food and Dining

    The food was okay. It really is college food. There are not all the advantages of the different restaurants on campus but it is good.

    Dorm Life

    Great! I loved the dorms. They were not the new fancy suite styles for freshman. But, we were close and it felt like home.

    Academic Rigor

    I did difficult but it needs to be. I know that when I apply for graduate school that I will be prepared. It is rare to have a faculty member that does not have their doctorate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit the campus. What you see is what you get. I didn't think the people there would be as friendly and helpful when I actually became a student. I was wrong. What I saw on my campus visit was the real thing!

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love OBU! You know that your faculty care about you and are not just a number to them. I truly believe that I am getting a strong education to prepare me for my career choice.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    make friends and you wont run out of fun! the rawc is beautiful and a good place to let out some stress by working out, shooting hoops, rock climb and or ping pong

    Dorm Life

    dorm rooms are crampy

    Tips for prospective students

    Greats school, get involved, great place for you if you are friendly and enjoy close knit community style living.

    In three sentences

    I am in loven with the campus and the faculty. Many opportunities to get involved on campus and in the communities. The academic courses are wonderfully challenging and rewarding!

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safer on campus than I do in some parts of my hometown. There is a campus safety office which always has someone on duty. If you ever have a problem, you can call the office and they will help you out. Even if there is something wrong with your car, they will come check it out for you. Also, the campus safety officers stay at the RA desks of the Residence Halls all night long to make sure that nothing bad is going on. There is always someone around to help you out if anything happens.

    Greek Life

    There are 2 fraternities for guys and 4 sororities for girls. For girls, there is Theta Sigma Chi, Phi Omega Sigma, and two new ones that will be starting this fall.

    Clubs and Activities

    For such a small school, OBU has a ton of clubs! There are different campus ministry groups that have Bible studies, and outreaches in many surrounding cities. There are also a lot of for fun clubs like the drama clubs, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    OBU is great for students who want to be challenged, and have fun while doing so. It is also great for students who love the small town feel since it is a small school in a small town, but for those who like the big city there is one 45 minutes away. Those who want to be challenged academically, the professors here make sure that every student is challenged so that they leave their class smarter than when they came in. For those who want to be challenged and grow spiritually, OBU has an awesome campus ministry staff and students who strive to see their peers be changed by Christ.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year during Welcome Week the new students are required to wear a green and gold beenie so everyone else knows they are knew so they can greet them and welcome them to campus. Also during Welcome Week, they are taught Ka-Rip which is basically our school chant that is cheered at basketball games. Another tradition is The Walk during Welcome Week. All of the new students, along with all of the Welcome Week Workers, walk from the fountain in the Oval throughout campus to the steps of Raley Chapel. This represents the beginning of their journey at OBU, because at graduation every year, the graduates do the exact same walk to represent the end of their journey. Another tradition is Blitz Week. This is a week full of activities that raise money for a different charity every year. The favorite event of this week is the Whole Milk Two Mile. This is where people run 8 laps around the Oval (which is equal to 2 miles) but every time they come around, they have to drink a glass of whole milk. Needless to say, there is a lot of puking involved, but it is all for charity.

    Bang for the buck

    Just like most Private, Christian schools, OBU is expensive. However, when you get to campus, you see all that money being used for your benefit. There is free cable television (you provide your own tv of course), free wifi throughout campus, and free printing in the library. There is also cable television hooked up to all of the exercise equipment in the RAWC. On top of all of this, the phenomenal education you receive from your time at OBU is worth every cent you pay.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, we have the Geiger Center which is where everyone likes to just hang out and watch tv. There is also a coffee shop and convenience store in there. We also have the RAWC, Recreation and Wellness Center, where people go to work out, play basketball, volleyball, raquetball, or badmitton. Across from the RAWC are the tennis courts where students are welcome to play tennis. Behind the RAWC, there are two sand volleyball courts. During the entire year there are multiple intramural sports like flag football, ultimate frisbee, etc. Shawnee has a nice park that many students like to go to. There are tons of restaurants and we are only about 45 minutes from Oklahoma City, which is full of fun things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The Laura Scales Cafeteria (the Ara to OBU students) is an alright place to eat. The food is supplied by Aramark so it isn't quite made fresh on site, but it is still good food. It's better than high school cafeteria food, but not as good as a 5 star restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so great! There are always people around to hang out with or study with. It's basically like a year-round sleepover (with some homework in there of course) with people who might even end up being your lifelong best friends. OBU's Res Life staff is great! They are all really Godly people who want to see you grow not just intellectually, but spiritually as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, OBU is pretty tough, but as a student here you are offered a lot more help and assistance from professors that most other universities, especially public ones. Here at OBU your professors care about you as an individual and what to see you succeed so they help you out as much as possible to make sure you are getting the help you need. Most coursework is challenging and as a liberal arts school some of the classes you take are not needed for your major, but these courses give you a broader spectrum of what the world looks like.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at colleges for the academic aspect as well as the campus life. Also, keep in mind that college is a lot harder than high school, but if you manage your time wisely, then you will succeed.

    In three sentences

    OBU is my favorite place to be. It is a place where you can experience spiritual and educational growth and be challenged to be the best you can be. Being at OBU has taught me a lot about myself and has helped me become a more independent person.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is always available

    Greek Life

    various social groups

    Clubs and Activities

    SIFE, student government, social groups

    Great for these types of students

    Christians, motivated, challenge-seeking

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ka Rip is quite the tongue twister of a sport chant.

    Bang for the buck

    Along with a private Christian college comes a high price.

    What to do for fun

    OBU is home to intramural sports as well as many high ranked NAIA teams.

    Food and Dining

    The sandwiches are superb.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms appear to be in top shape. If you're a male, be prepared for the community bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    OBU is going to be a great place to challenge yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take a campus visit that includes a trip to the chapel, it's a fantastic place.

    In three sentences

    OBU is a truly Christ centered university that allows us to grow closer to our Savior. The small campus allows us to come together with our peers and advisers. You won't find a place with counselors that are more interested in making sure you are comfortable.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, there are night guards in every dorm, and they also make sure that everyone is behaving and not breaking any of the rules.

    Greek Life

    There isn't much greek life. There is one fraternity and two sororities, but there is no housing for them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all different types of clubs for anyone to join, there are also plenty of activities going on all of the time. There are intramural sports going on, Night of Jazz once every month, there are talent shows, really anything you could think of!

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for any type of student! You do have to be committed to study and to learn, but other then that it is great for shy, outgoing, athletic, nonathletic, really any type of student!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When you are a freshman you have to wear a beanie for your first week to signify that you are a new student, you also walk around campus the same way that you do after graduation.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though OBU is expensive it is worth every penny. You make amazing friends, and you are in an amazing community. The teachers are there for any of the students to talk to about anything, and there are older students that would love to be mentors for the freshman and sophomores.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can do intramural sports, or go hang out at the GC, which is where the student center is. They have a ping pong table which you can always play. Also the RAWC has equipment you can rent out to play volleyball, racquet balls, badminton, basketball, or ultimate frisbee.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best, but most cafeteria food isn't. There are plenty of options so you don't have to chose the same thing every day. Plus if you don't want to eat in the cafeteria upstairs, there is always the cafe below which is very good food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is amazing! Get involved with you hall, you have hall parties and you make amazing friends. The facilities are not that bad either. The rooms are small but they have plenty of room for you and a roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are amazing and they expect a lot from you. The classes are not easy they are very tough. The teachers are there for you, they want you to go and talk to them if you are having problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious about where you want to go, and if you chose to go to Oklahoma Baptist get involved in a learning community. Also don't skip classes, they do take role, and make sure to study.

    In three sentences

    I believe that Oklahoma Baptist is an amazing place to go for a good Christian based education. The University is very welcoming and it is like you are a family. They also have amazing academics and athletics.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Everything, seriously. There is a longboarding crew on campus, so we go and ride occasionally. I love to watch movies and hang out with my friends at the student union (The Geiger Center). Shawnee's not the biggest town and doesn't have too much to offer, but if you look around, you'll find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is called the ARA. Well, I wish I could say its great food, but some days it's hit and miss. Most of the time, the food is fine, but it has it's days. Whenever in doubt, I always go for the grilled cheese sandwiches!

    Dorm Life

    The guys only have one dorm, Agee. It gets a little crazy, but the dorm life is just awesome. I'm on a hall with all my best friends and we stay up and play video games and have a blast all the time.

    Academic Rigor

    I attended a college prep school, so I was a little more prepared for college work. When I received my first assignment, I was rearing and ready to go. As the year progressed the work got harder, but every last bit of it helped me and wasn't too bad whatsoever. The professors are geniuses and really know their stuff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Oklahoma isn't that bad. Coming from out of state, especially such a wonderful state as Colorado, I was a little worried about living in HOT Oklahoma. The level of awesomeness this school provides greatly outweighs the occasional heat and wind. Also, I say you need to get involved in something. I am in the Bison Glee Club and have been apart of the theater productions. Drink it in because these truly are the best years of your life.

    In three sentences

    Through my first year of college here, I can only say that I could not have made a better choice. The professors care about each and every one of their students and every single class I've taken has been relevant and useful for my life. The people on campus have always made me feel welcome at home, even if I have come all the way from Colorado!

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No greek life, lots of clubs though. Check the OBU website for more information about them.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a small town feel, love the educational aspects of OBU, just want to relax and not party too hard in college.

    Bang for the buck

    Private school is expensive, but the advisers really help you out with additional financial aid. Honestly not that bad if you take out loans, financial aid awarded etc. Suggestion DO WELL ON YOUR SAT, OBU awards big on a standard SAT score.

    What to do for fun

    More of a relaxing school, you could just lay on the grass and no one would mind. There is a small town you could go to to enjoy the company of friends but if you want more of a nigh life, the city is a little over 30 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good food, ice cream maker, fountain drinks..typical college dining.

    Dorm Life

    Dresser,beds and desks...best part about it is the sink. Some colleges don't have the option of a personal sink in the dorm. Average size room, the lobby's are huge, and new PLUS its free to do your laundry(included in tuition).

    Academic Rigor

    Its a private liberal arts school, you need to have a passion for education to make it here.

    Tips for prospective students

    See if this is the school for you, the kind of things this school offers are really specific. Do you like a small school, can you afford the tuition, will you be happy here?

    In three sentences

    Small school, small classes and a small environment. If you like that small town feel this is the place for you. Everyone is so welcoming and helpful. When you call the school rather than get a voice messaging system, you get a real person, willing to help you with admissions, financial aid etc.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus patrol is on full watch and defend against minor charges such as incorrect parking to major offenses like vandalism.

    Greek Life

    The different Social Clubs are very dedicated to seeing you become part of their organization and provide clean and fun pledge activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many teams ranging from the basketball game who made it to the finals all the way to the swim team who won their district. Also OBU offers many intramural sports like flag football, mini golf, volleyball, and bowling. The RAWC has a full workout area.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is interested in a community type of lifestyle where people want to see you succeed, anyone interested in serving for charitable organisations, and anyone who is athletic and loves team sports.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Events during Blitz Week (a week dedicated to raising money for charitable or in need organizations locally) include a two mile run where contestants drink a glass of milk each lap, as well as the freshman Ka-Rip wars where different groups recite the school's interesting chant.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of a private Christian college is high, but in the long run the curriculum for each school of expertise runs together and all complement each other. Values like servanthood, moral standards, and compassion are developed quickly.

    What to do for fun

    Shawnee itself has many fun activities from the mall to bowling to theaters and plenty of dining places. On campus there are intramural sports that provide team building and friendships, and also there is plenty of live music and a full workout center.

    Food and Dining

    The ARA provides many options for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and offers a spacious environment with quick lines. If the ARA does not have something for you, then the Geiger Center offers a full store with hot food.

    Dorm Life

    The RAs develop a brotherhood feel for the boys dorms and help new students slip into an at home feel no matter how far they are from home.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes offered provide critical thinking along with real world application, but the professors do everything in their power to see students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    To all incoming students, find a professor to be a go to in tough decisions, get involved in extra curricular activities, and get plugged into a learning community.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Baptist University lives up to its mission statement. They provide care and diligence when dealing with students individual needs. The staff and students at OBU are one big family, whose only goal is to share Christ's love.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe. Security guards are constantly driving around. Furthermore, each student is given the telephone number to the security offices for any kind of instances.

    Greek Life

    Greek life has started to grow. Yet, the groups are not the typical sororities and fraternities. These groups are more service lead social organizations that ban together to help the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are an immense amount of organizations to get involved. The opportunities are endless!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many unusual traditions, but they are somewhat of a secret.

    Bang for the buck

    OBU is an expensive school. However, the students are receiving every bit of their money's worth.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not necessarily the best. However, the cafeteria offers a nice place to hang out with friends.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is wonderful. Each dormitory offers events for the students to attend throughout the week and on weekends. The staff work hard to build relationships with each of the students, which helps to make living in a dorm feel like home.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is tough. Students are expected to attend every class and be prepared for that class. Students strive to not only pass their classes, but to make the highest grades possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    OBU is a small campus, but there are endless opportunities to get involved. Therefore, go out of your comfort zone and join an organization because you are sure to meet some amazing people who are doing amazing things not only in the community but also globally.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Baptist University is an amazing school. The faculty and staff are always encouraging and are always willing to go the extra mile in order to help their students. I would recommend OBU to anybody.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe. Their are security vehicles driving around all the time. Also, there is always someone sitting at the front desk of every dorm building. Every building has cameras and a student id has to be swiped to get in certain doors, only accessed by those who live in that building.

    Greek Life

    We do not have a true greek life, we have social clubs. They rush, but do not live in different housing.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club or activity for everyone's taste. I like music and am a part of University Concert Series, the group that is responsible for bringing bands to campus.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for hard working students, those who want their relationship to grow in God, or those looking for a degree in music or science and nursing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a week in the spring in which money is raised for a certain charity. Last year was Hope House, a public living center for abused people, etc. During the week, there are weird events to raise money like a faculty vs varsity basketball game and the Whole Milk 2 mile, where people run two miles, but every lap they drink a cup of milk. There is throw up everywhere. But it is all for a greater cause.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a private school, it is fairly expensive. But there acceptance rate into medical school, and other academics, are top notch.

    What to do for fun

    There are campus activities all the time. The more you are involved, the better and more fun your semester is.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but it is on a schedule and soon becomes monotonous. They need to invest in having like chain restaurants put in.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty good. My hall was pretty tight knit and the roommates I was matched up with were fantastic. The facilities are clean and well taken care of. The only bad thing is that some of them could use some renovating.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at OBU are intense! Comparing my classes and workload with friends at other colleges, OBU is definitely at the top of academic rigor. But I love it that way. Thankfully, the faculty is great and helpful. And there is a tutoring service on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Studying is mandatory to do well. Oh, and get sleep and eat well, very important!

    In three sentences

    The professors and other university workers become your friends. Residential life is great with activities on a weekly basis. It is a place where I can grow in my field of study, in God, and as a person.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ka-Rip, rubbing the Bison's head in the RAWC, and The Walk are the traditions I've experienced the most (and have been legit) so far.

    Bang for the buck

    If you receive a lot of scholarships you'll feel the bang for the buck is incredible. If you don't, you'll probably feel the same way.

    What to do for fun

    Pretty much anything. Especially if it's with your pals.

    Food and Dining

    Um, all you can eat food plus all you can eat Bluebell ice-cream sounds great - and it is; but some of the food isn't very tasty. Oh and the pizza is delicious...just saying.

    Dorm Life

    Guys - Agee is awesome! You'll love every aspect of it! (Well, it does have its issues, but none are worth fussing over!) Girls - I haven't a clue. I heard Kerr was a'ight. WMU sounds nicer though. Oh well.

    Academic Rigor

    OBU (so far) has upped my workload. Of course, I'm taking 16 hours (which isn't THAT much). I haven't taken a test yet, but after looking at syllabi, I know they'll be challenging. As will papers and other such academic assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard in high school. Don't be afraid to try things on campus (and off) that you have never done before! Know your limits and then stretch them! Don't be afraid to make a new friend and talk to your professors once you arrive. Take a visit when classes are in session. Check it out; you won't regret it!

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Baptist University cannot be matched. The culmination of learning, faith, application, action, and active thinking proclaim the incredibleness of OBU. Don't let the Baptist title turn you away - everyone is very accepting of each other regardless of faith, ethnicity, or whatever differences you may have.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a contant campus patrol as well as a number individuals can call in the evenings to escort them safely to their dormatories.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ever year we have the mile milk chug contest which is a funraiser where individuals chug as much milk as they can and run until they puke.

    Bang for the buck

    Your teachers are dedicated to teaching you all that they can so that you get the education your paying for. It's not a college where your expected to learn by yourself there is constant assistance provided by upperclassmen, counselors, and professors.

    What to do for fun

    There is so many things to do on campus from: intramural sports to joining the players club for aspiring actors. Figure out what hobbies interest you and most likely there is a club. Even if you don't like some activities if you try them they may become more enjoyable because of the present company.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria is okay they have a few variety of options but down in the Geiger Center they make wonderful Panini's. You can have a multitude of things.

    Dorm Life

    Community is BIG here, there are constantly events happening on campus but it's very interactive and you quickly form relationships with the people around you.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are kind but you must keep to deadlines. You will be challenged to go outside of your comfort zone but it allows you to grow as an individual.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepair for a community. Prepair to learn. Mostly, prepair for success. If you try your hardest and keep up with assignments you'll do fine

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Baptist University is a place where learning is expected and the teachers do all they can to help you live up to those expectations. The environment is friendly and here is a place that feels like a second home. OBU is a place where students can come to positively start their life, not a place to slack off and party.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An odd tradition at OBU is rubbing the Bisons nose before going in the RAWC. When you walk into the RAWC there is a huge bison statue, they say to rub it for good luck when you walk in and out. Another odd tradition is Ka-Rip, every freshman is required to learn it and you can randomly get called out to go with Ka-Rip, If you don't do it be ready for a lot of heckling and being made fun of!

    Bang for the buck

    OBU tuition is not cheap but here they teach you how to get the most out of your buck. Wether it be to get involved or how to talk to your professors.

    What to do for fun

    At OBU there are so many fun things to do. They have the RAWC where you can work out or go play sports for fun. Also there are many groups to get involved with around campus. Many of them are mission like and volunteer work.

    Food and Dining

    The Aramark here at OBU is very good. They have different food every day and it is always cooked very well. The only bad thing is that not every day do they have vegetables, but they do have fruit on the salad bar ever day. There are 5 different food places to choose from and the dining area is very large. The kitchen staff and janitors are very friendly.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at OBU are wonderful. The rooms are spacious, not too small but not abnormally huge. The beds are very comfortable, and the closets have plenty of room for the typical girl who has lots of clothing! The air conditioning units makes the room very cold during the hot . All of the people in the dorms are friendly and very helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are great. The professors make sure they teach you well enough to understand and also make good grades in the class. The classes can be hard but paying attention really makes it easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you come here with good study habits! Also don't room with your best friend, try the new roommate experience it is wonderful!

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma baptist university is a well rounded community and school. All the professors, students, and staff make incoming freshman feel very welcomed. The classes are taught by the greatest professors, they are very helpful if a student is struggling with something.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While OBU is full of fun, safety is a big deal to everyone here. Aside from the attentive campus PD who students can always report problems to, OBU rules ensure that no weapons are brought onto campus and that all visitors sign in and have persmission of a resident before setting foot on campus housing.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many activites that it would take pages to name them all. Many students love to play intramural sports such as flag-football and Quiddich (from Harry Potter). Between various talent shows, movie nights, and theme weeks, no student ever utters the words I'm bored.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An OBU favorite tradition is Welcome Week. Right after move-in day there are all sorts of events planned specifically for the incoming freshmen. All the freshman get yellow and green beanies (OBU colors) that they wear and at the end of the week is Ka-Rip wars, where the whole school breaks into teams and battles over who can best recite the famous and everlasting school chant a.k.a. Ka-Rip.

    Bang for the buck

    With the exceptional food, housing, recreation, and small class sizes for all the attention a student can get, all students can agree that the price for OBU is a small one.

    What to do for fun

    There are many options for students who want to have fun on or off campus. On campus we have the RAWC (Recreation and Wellness Center) which has a gym, rock climbing, raquet ball, basketball, swimming, dodgeball, a trampoline, and so much more including group fitness classes. There are also several lounges on campus in the doorms and the GC (Geiger Center). Off-campus there are movie theaters, parks, bowling allies, coffee shops, restraunts and so much more all in the town of Shawnee, OK.

    Food and Dining

    The first word that comes to mind when a person hears cafeteria food is disgusting. At OBU it is quite the opposite. With experienced cooks in the cafeteria and a great grill down stairs from it, every student looks forward to their three meals a day.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at OBU is very comfortable. There are several on-campus housing options such as Kerr, WMU, Agee, and more. With clean and tidy kitchens, showers, restrooms, OBU is a great place to live. The rooms themselves are also very nice. There are a variety of types of rooms all of which the students may organize to their liking.

    Academic Rigor

    OBU takes pride in the strong academic power of her students. Many schools only focus on athletics. While OBU also has alented athelets, there has always been and always will be a great amount of focus on the acedemic students of OBU.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready for a fast paced and fun environment. While college life will always include classes and hard work, OBU always ensures their students don't become overworked and that there is always a time and place for leisure.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Baptist University is a family oriented college. Every student feels welcome and comfortable from the day they move in to the day they start classes. Professors here actually care if students pass of fail their course and will do everything in their power to help you, the student, understand anything you are troubled with.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard working Motivated

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During Welcome Week the students walk the campus as a freshmen. Then they take that same walk when they are Seniors.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and groups to be apart of. They have Night of Jazz which is where they have live music and you can just hang out.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's pretty expensive so make sure you have the funds to come. Make sure you're a hard worker because the work is hard.

    In three sentences

    Has great teachers Has christian values Has a beautiful campus

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One night my friend had a flat tire and campus security would not come outside the building to help us change it. It was about 9 to 10 o'clock at night.

    Greek Life

    We have one it is just smaller. there are 4 sororities and 2 fraternities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is tradition everywhere at OBU.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs and activities on campus. I have won two intramural championships. Also, I am part of the OBU Volleyball team and Lacrosse Team. Today we had Christmas Chapel and OBU goes far beyond what a normal school does. There is something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Although the ARA food is not great/ amazing it is really good. Some days it's not so great but for the most part the food is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I love my hall. We truely are the best of friends. Life is never dull around my hall mates. We care for each other.

    Academic Rigor

    Class is not easy. You are really pushed to be your best. And if you are struggling with a subject teachers are always there to help. Teachers here go above and beyond to help their student succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind. I originally did not want to come here, but that all changed the day I came to visit. I love the people and atmosphere here at OBU. Everyone is so helpful and accepting.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria, or ARA as its called on campus, is not the best tasting food and there is not alot of variety, but they do have healthy options to choose from and the ice cream is its saving grace.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at OBU are nice and spacious if you're a female. The boys live in an older building, but of course it's run down; lots of boys live there at a time and have for about a hundred years. Not to worry, alot of new campus housing is being built for both genders.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at OBU are very difficult, and the liberal arts education means that you'll be taking classes in almost every subject area. But the professors are top-notch and really care about their students and are always willing to help you succeed in their classes.

    In three sentences

    OBU is a small, beautiful, Chrisian school situated on Bison Hill that has a wonderful, tightly-knit student body and professors that truly care about their students. Though the classes are difficult, through them you're guaranteed to learn more about not only the intended subject, but also yourself and the Chrisitan faith. OBU offers a unique opportunity for students to grow academically, socially, and spiritually in a setting that actually fosters that growth in a loving, Christian environment.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are TONS of activities on campus--keep your eyes out! Shawnee has hidden treasures, such as restaurants and shops! Just have to hunt for them!

    Dorm Life

    It has become a home away from home--very comfortable and loving environment. I love it!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors challenge the students to think outside of the box--cliche but very true.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not simply look at the price of the school and give up! I thought I would never be able to afford any private univerisities, but I was showed wrong. I am from lower-middle class family and I am thankfully able to attend OBU thanks to scholarships! Don't give up!

    In three sentences

    OBU is not a school, but a community of people, professors, and faculty willing to help students succeed. My view on education and God has broadened more than I could have hoped. I am so thankful to have the opportunity to attend one of the friendliest universities.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities on campus that students should take advantage of: FCA (Fellowship of Christian Athletes), Hub (bible study), Night of Jazz, Art shows, activities at the RAWC (our gym) such as racquetball, basketball, etc, ping pong in the student center, and so many more.

    Food and Dining

    The food at OBU is not very good. The facilities are clean and the faculty is amazing, but the food simply does not taste the best when eating it day in and day out.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is wonderful except for financial purposes. It costs a good chunk of change to live in the dorms, but it is worth it at least freshman year.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are incredible! OBU is ranked nationally in academics and it is noticeable. Although students have to work hard to receive good grades, they get more out of their liberal arts education than anywhere else.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students coming in to OBU should try to do as much as they can freshman year in regards to activities and getting tons of chapel credits. Do not take 8:00 AM classes unless you have to!

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Baptist University allows students to gain knowledge in every aspect of their education, not only in their major. It requires students to take some classes that are not even offered at other schools such as Old and New Testament, Greek, Hebrew, and other biblical classes. There is such a wide variety of things to do and people to get to know that you can be as busy or lazy as you want to be.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus police station within walking distance of any of the dorms or classrooms, and campus security patrols the campus and some of the side streets fairly regularly.

    What to do for fun

    Imagination is a wonderful tool...

    Food and Dining

    It's not the best food, but you get a variety of options.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on where you live and what you're used to living in prior to coming to OBU.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, stay out of the mud, look both ways before crossing the streets. Figure out where classes will be held so you won't get confused the day you start classes. Make lots of friends and get involved in campus life as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    The meal plans are fairly decent and offer a variety of choices of food, drink, and dessert. The classes are easy enough if you take the time to do the work, and the professors and advisers are willing to help you with problems you have academically. Overall, it's a pretty good place.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    OBU is a very safe campus. There are multiple police officers on campus who will respond to any call. During my time here I have not heard of any serious threats to students, and any minor threats have been brought to students attention through campus wide email alerts.

    Greek Life

    There is no official Greek life on campus. There are multiple social clubs which are similar to sororities and fraternities but seek to promote christian fellowship and service. Like Greek communities, there is rush week, pledging, bigs and littles, retreats.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to be involved in. You can be a part of the Campus Activities Board. You can raise money for St. Jude's Hospital in Up Till Dawn. You can even join the Math Club. There is something for every interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in pursuing academics. Students who are athletes and scholars, especially track runners. Students who want to attend a school know for more than just their national tiles, although OBU has a lot of those. Students who want to meet new people and be involved in their community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Whole Milk Two Mile during Blitz Week may be the most interesting thing you will see at OBU. Students register to run two miles while simultaneously drinking a gallon of whole milk. Typically over a hundred students participate dressed in outlandish costumes. It may be disgusting, but the sense of camaraderie and raising money for charity, makes it an incredible night. As the motto goes, it's for the kids.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to many Oklahoma universities, OBU may seem pricey. However almost all students are offered financial aid. In the long run, the money you spend at OBU will get you a degree that will be competitive on the job market.

    What to do for fun

    There are constantly events going on around campus. There are multiple talent shows hosted each year by the Campus Activities Board. Get dressed up and go with your friends. It is amazing the talent on campus. Everyone on campus goes to the Basketball games, and it is so worth it. When football begins in the Fall 2013, that will be the place to be. Different organizations host events throughout the year, such as BlitzWeek. This is a week long effort to raise money full of some crazy and exciting events such as muggle quidditch, a man pageant, and faculty versus varsity basketball game. There is always something to do for fun on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Dining services will not be your favorite aspect of life at OBU, but there are many options available, and you will always eat.

    Dorm Life

    OBU provides excellent living standards. Freshman women live in one of two dorms, both of which are very nice and close to classroom buildings. Freshman men live in Agee, which is everything you would expect when over 200 guys live together. Following sophomore year, there are many apartment opportunities around campus to meet your needs. Housing is well maintained and spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the course of study, OBU will require a lot of effort. From experience, the math and science departments are especially rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    OBU is one of the best universities of its kind because the courses challenge students to achieve new hieghts of learning. Successes at OBU requires hard work and dedication, but is worth it. In addition to academics, being a Bison comes with so many opportunities to serve the campus and the community, cheer the basketball teams toward national championships, and worship as a community. Find time to get involved on campus.

    In three sentences

    OBU is an outstanding liberal arts university. The professors are highly invested in each and every student, and their personalized attention guarantees success for students who put forth the effort. Students will be challenged academically and spiritually by the conversations both in and outside the classroom.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 45

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The professors truly care about your learning experience. The campus has a very Christian and friendly atmosphere. Slow-paced and flexible on campus job opportunities are always available.

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining system with 'bison bucks' (I think that's their name), is a little confusing, from an outsider perspective at least.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions - everyone I've spoken to so far has been so very friendly and openly excited to welcome me to Bison Hill! Its great - I can tell already that the atmosphere will be an excellent one for learning in.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely consider the college if you're serious about going to the next level in whatever field you plan on pursuing.

    In three sentences

    OBU is a good, respectable school with a challenging academic program and highly recognized professors from all over the nation. The one downfall is the ability to play a certain favoritism toward the students, based off the fact that the professors have so little restrictions on what their actions are.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never heard of an incident and if there is anything going on the guys tend to get a little fired up and protect the women.

    Greek Life

    We have on Frat that I am apart of. We are a really close bunch of brothers and the pledging process will make some really good memories. The Sororities on campus don't pledge like we do but from what I understand they have a lot of fun. The dues are a little cheaper than most other colleges so be glad for that. We function as Social Clubs because Frat and Sorority carry some negative connotations.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do on campus and there is a club for every type of person.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is going to college to learn and pursue a life of learning and thinking. All our programs have really good percentages for people moving on to post grad schools and people who go strait into their respective fields. If you are taking college seriously come here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ka-Rip is really interesting, so is the bennies all incoming freshmen have to wear. If you don't know what either of those are then feel free to come to OBU as a transfer or a freshmen... You will learn quickly.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is a private college and honestly probably a little too expensive. But I know that what I am learning there will put me up at the top of my field one day. The professors are personable, I am not just a student to them--I am Nolan Cannon. Your professors are more than happy to work with you and they are an active part of campus life. It is a challenging school and, even though it is really expensive, it is worth paying for.

    What to do for fun

    Shawnee is a quiet little town. Pledging a Social Club or Frat/Sorority can be a lot of fun. Even just hanging out in one of the dorms' lobbies to watch a movie can be a lot of fun. Oklahoma City is just 45 minutes away and we often make trips there to hang out in Brick Town, Enjoy a movie, or dine somewhere together. I have yet to just be sitting in my room bored.

    Food and Dining

    Food is almost always available. You might want to watch out for the laxatives that the Aramark food company may put in their stuff. But I think we were supposed to get a new food provider so it will be better if we did. Honestly there is more bad stuff to say about the food services at OBU than good. But over all I can appreciate a college who feeds their students well. If they have not graduated the meal plan and you don't mind getting a little ripped off, get the 10 meal plan. If you want to get you money's worth in meals, get the 24 meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    I love the community that comes with the dorm but it can be frustrating at times. Especially in Agee where all the guys are. They tend to make messes and break things. The RAD often says, This is why we don't have nice things. But despite all that, Agee is a great place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a tough school. They expect a lot out of you and it is a writing intensive college so there are typically a lot of papers. We are not one of the top 5 in the West academically for nothing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Vist. You won't fall in love with OBU till you have been on campus. You first year, visit all your professors and find a good group of friends who will encourage you. Apply early so they know you want to go--if you don't, you might not get any of the endowed scholarships.

    In three sentences

    A great college where you can go to learn and interact with professors and other students. The community and academics are great, to say nothing of the sports programs. The only down side is how expensive it can be.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    OBU is very safe. The community is very tightly woven, and there is campus security 24/7. If you have a problem, give them a call, they will come out to help-- even if you just want someone to walk you to your dorm late at night!

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities, but there are plenty of social groups and organizations to get involved in.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you're not involved in something at OBU, you are wrong.

    Great for these types of students

    All kinds! There's so much offered at OBU. Bring on the laid-back hippies, the jocks, the shy ones, the artists, the choir members, the small town folks, the big city lovers.... all of it. OBU is positioned perfectly to attract a little bit of everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During freshman move in day, upperclassmen on the welcome week committee run out to your car screaming and jumping when you pull up, open your doors, and take all of your stuff to your dorm room. As sort of an initiation to Bison Hill, the freshman class will take a walk ending at the chapel wearing a yellow and green beanie-type hat that looks really funny!

    Bang for the buck

    OBU is a christian college, so it's more expensive, but with all the hidden fees of a public university, the price gap is not as large as it seems. Also, OBU is very good about scholarships and helping students find loans if they want them.

    What to do for fun

    Intramural Sports Concerts sometimes held on campus There's a casino nearby ;) Don't lose all your money!! Events put on by student government Recreation and Wellness Center has a rock wall, basketball courts, running track, work out equipment, and racket ball courts Although Shawnee is a small town, there are plenty of places to visit and explore.

    Food and Dining

    There's plenty of options! The popular food plan in 10 meals per week, and then you get money to spend at the little cafe and grocery store in the GC, which is like the student union. If you don't want to eat on campus, no worries. There are plenty of restaurants and fast food joints nearby!

    Dorm Life

    There are two dorms that freshman girls can stay in, and one was redone a few years ago, and one is in the process of being redone. There is only one boys dorm, and it obviously houses boys. Intramurals are a big thing at OBU, and many times teams are formed by halls. There are always things happening on campus, so it's nice that the dorms are all close to the activities. There's good campus security 24/7 Also, you don't have to pay for parking. Hallelujah.

    Academic Rigor

    School's what you make it. The professors are interested in your educational growth, and push you to be better. Like all colleges, some classes will be harder than others. Some will come naturally to you, and some won't. But the great thing about Oklahoma Baptist University is that you get to know your professor personally. So, if you are struggling, they are willing to meet with you and talk it over.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your admissions counselor. They are very friendly, and always willing to help if you have any questions. They are also very good about helping you find ways to pay for college. They understand that OBU is not the cheapest school out there, but they don't want anyone to turn away from the school because they can't afford it. Also, come visit campus. Get to see what college life is like. You can eat lunch in the cafeteria, sit in on classes, and explore different dorm options. Best of all, you are lead around by a current student-- who you will probably pass by on your way to classes if you decided to be a Bison!

    In three sentences

    OBU is a one-of-a-kind university. This small campus is full of life and growth. Professors and staff are not only interested in the spiritual growth of students, but they are also intentional about growing the university as a whole by adding new sports, updating dormitories, and implementing learning communities.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of Clubs

    Bang for the buck

    very expensive

    What to do for fun

    There are many options, like hang with dorm room friends or going to our workout facility with basketball courts to a track upstairs.

    Food and Dining

    Food tastes stale and not cooked and i hear complaints from peers about the food.

    Dorm Life

    I say certain halls are better than others but it is a little small but still great nonetheless.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are pretty hard but then it would not be a great school without the hard discipline it provides.

    Tips for prospective students

    This University is just like any other school, but it is a quite pricey even though it will be worth it after all the memories and friends you will make.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Baptist University is a wonder school to attend. It is hard to see myself not going to this school. This school has turned into my home.

  • 10/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Sports, Band, Politics, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians, athletes, or anyone wanting to work in the public.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    OBU has started up their football team again after decades of not having a team.

    Bang for the buck

    OBU is considered a top college for Oklahoma and I would rate a 5 out of 5 for the Bang for Your Buck rating.

    What to do for fun

    Depending on your interests, there is just about everything available in town.

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety to choose from. However, the food could be better.

    Dorm Life

    Living at the dorms is very laid-back. There are laundry facilities and the costs are included in your tuition. Just like at home, everything you will need is available on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Freshman year is extremely busy for academics. Be prepared to spend the majority of your time with studies, homework and study hall.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at location, distance from home, costs and financial aid available, your major, any athletics or special programs and your gut feeling.

    In three sentences

    College is a very personal choice and for me OBU was best for me because it was close to home and they were starting their football team up again. Trust your instincts and if a place feels right then that's important.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt threatened at any moment in my time at OBU. We have campus safety officers that patrol the school grounds all day every day.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If there is one thing OBU does right, it's tradition. By the time you go home after your first semester, you will be speaking a language you didn't know existed. OBU students are known for their quirks, as well as being keepers of traditions. Everything from the Walk you take during the first week, to the Milk Run that you may end up wishing you had never been to. I have caught myself saying a number of times, If you're not an OBU student it just doesn't make sense.

    What to do for fun

    Fun? Ironically, Shawnee isn't much of a college town. We have a Starbucks, but even that closes early. We have loads of campus events that seem to be happening constantly, and when they aren't we are making our own fun. Most of our students get plugged into the community through various outlets which keeps us busy. Being a campus full of hipsters the activities usually consist of: antiquing/thrifiting, rock climbing, coffee, running, Lord of the Rings, coffee, the $2 theatre, and our downtown district.

    Food and Dining

    The best part about the food is how it brings the campus together. The quality isn't always the best, but you definitely won't go hungry. The dining room gets crowded a lot, but you begin to figure out the best times to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Personally, I think dorm life is one of those areas that deserves the biggest gold star. It can get a little loud sometimes, but regardless there is a unity that grows out of living in a building together. Some of those people begin as just the person next door, but end up being life-long friends. People aren't exaggerating when they say, College is where you will meet people you will know forever. Speaking from experience, the staff that works in the dorms are always thoughtfully chosen and have an active role in the buildings as well.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been more challenged in my few years at OBU than ever before in my life. Our professors care, and they care enough to challenge you. We may be a Christian university, but that does not mean that we don't explore things outside of the box. Outside the box, inside it, around it, under it, and even the box itself, all are taken into consideration to prepare students to engage the world beyond. I have had the opportunity to take intensive looks into parts of the world that are typically just swept under the rug. On average professors are extremely approachable and willing to meet you if you are struggling. You aren't just a number.

    Tips for prospective students

    Honestly, when first coming to OBU be prepared to embrace the awkward. We're really good at awkward, but you will notice it transform into some of your biggest ideas, closest friends, and most trustworthy colleagues throughout the years. We also do loud really well. We do smiles. We do friendly. We do intense. And we are probably some of the most enthusiastic people you will ever meet when it comes to new students. We will even move you in�¢���¦literally!

    In three sentences

    OBU can offer a life changing experience, if you allow it to. Everything from your education to your spirit is taken into consideration, and oftentimes in ways that you would have never thought possible. You will be challenged to think, and it will be difficult, but the beauty is that you are never alone in your pursuits.