Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Oklahoma Christian University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/03/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This School is great for students who really enjoy the small school feel and have a great love for God and christian values

  • 10/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone, sports orientated (except football) Engineering, Art, Theatre, Communications, Nursing, Accounting, the good the bad the ugly. This school is great for everyone, it really depends if everyone is willing to attend is all. It is a Christian University and really that is what attracted me to the school. I wanted to be in an environment where God is the center and even when I know that I was doing wrong, I would know where to turn. Which is back to Christ.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up to class on time, and take lots of notes or have a friend who can do both. Have fun but not too much fun. When you are feeling down, don't hold in all of your feelings inside. The school also provides counseling for really tough times and there are support groups. The food is good but don't over load. Freshman fifteen is the new size two. Enjoy but be smart. You are accountable for all of your actions.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a private institution which means it will cost more. However each student is provided with a MacBook, and the choice of an iPhone, iTouch, or iPad. Not to mention using the school's laundry facilities is free. You are definitely getting what you pay for and more. The food is not half bad either.

    Am enjoying being here

    The staff and faculty are very nice. They want the best for the students and believe that we can handle what we are given. Whenever you are feeling overwhelmed, there is always someone that you can go to for advice or extra help whether it is your RA or your roommate. Have fun but do not have too much fun. At times the campus may seem quiet, especially on the weekends but it doesn't hurt to make your own noise sometimes.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes right now are just the basics for me personally so they are not amazing but much needed. I never realized how much math I did not know and napping in class is definitely not a habit you would like to build up. Overall you just have to learn how to be responsible for getting the work done and getting it done on time.

  • 01/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to continue their education after high school while being in a christian setting would feel right at home at OC.

    Bang for the buck

    For the technology they give you and all the things you get to do just for being a student, OC is affordable and worth every dollar of it.

  • 05/05/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Church of Christ, even atheist go here. Some one that wants to be able to start there life on the corner stone of God. Someone that one day wants to start a Church of Christ and be an amazing leader in that and in society. EVERYONE!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for anything, this place is where you will start your life. Meet your wife/husband, become a great church leader, start a family, and get a degree

    Bang for the buck

    It is the best Christian background ever. They will teach you everything for your field of study and you will have enough bible background to be a well knowledge d leader in your church.

    Will enjoy being here

    I loved going there. The teachers all love the students and one of the teachers had all the students write me amazing letters on what the school means to them. It was awesome! the students are all amazing also and will help you with what ever you could need.

    Will learn a lot

    Going to visit there and sitting in on the classes it seems like I can learn A lot!!! This school will give you all the skills you need to succeed in your field, and all be founded on the corner stone of God.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety is a high priority for the university. dean of students neil arder has been known to call campus meetings where he briefs all students on campus safety tips and new and improved security measures. there are several campus policemen who patrol the campus and the streets surrounding on a 24-hour day basis. students are aware of potential dangers, however there is a feeling of safety and friendship throughout the campus community.

    Greek Life

    greek life can be found in the bible department where professors share greek culture with students. the mannerism of aristotle can often be seen in the teachings of numerous professors throughout the university and the history department provides opportunity to discover the greek culture and how it affects american pop culture.

    Clubs and Activities

    whether your a nerd, an athlete, a victorias secret girl or a bible major, oklahoma christian provides a club that fits you. here, you will can rush a club of your choice after completing your freshman year and fees are made affordable to any student.

    Great for these types of students

    oklahoma christian university is great for american students because here you encounter a variety of subcultures. the university has an active relationship with china and japan as well as several countries from africa, new zealand, austria, germany among many others. here you encounter and develop worldwide friendships that that enhance your cultural awareness.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    an annual tradition at oklahoma christian university is the holiday hussle. university and local community members gather together for a 5k race in november. spring sing is another tradition that has students, faculty, alumni and communities far and wide have come to love and enjoy. clubs compete through dance and music to achieve the ultimate prize of recognition and a club trophy.

    Bang for the buck

    you gain opportunities no money can buy when you attend oklahoma christian university. as a public relations, advertising and journalism student, the university provided me with the opportunity to co-host a corporate communications tour of the oklahoma city thunder's nba team. you learn out of classroom skills that are essential to your future success.

    What to do for fun

    weekly events are constantly taking place in the communications department. the public relations student society of america oklahoma christian chapter takes a monthly tour of a regional public relations firm. the theater department holds plays and musicals including beauty and the beast and improvisational acts. students often congregate in the student center located in the middle of campus where they can play ping pong, fuss-ball or pool. during the summer time, university students are seen playing sports in the commons area of green centered between all campus dorms. within a five minute drive you can visit quail springs mall or enjoy the local skating ring here in edmond oklahoma.

    Food and Dining

    dining at oklahoma christian is more of a hotel all you can eat extravaganza. the dining room seating approximately 2,000 students is covered with thick carpet that can be seen under a large crystal chandelier. the food ranges from a buffet of salads and soups to asian and african foods made specifically for each student.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life at oklahoma christian varies. recently, an honors dorm has been the newest addition to the campus sleeping quarters. as a freshman both genders will experience the joy of a lifetime when they meet their first room mates and share a room. sophomores can apply for more expensive housing in the university house which is a gender separated co-ed dorm with maximum security cameras and lock down doors to ensure both gender's remain on appropriate sides. junior and senior students may live in one of many upper division apartments directly beside the campus and enjoy bigger bedrooms, bathtubs, large living room with provided furniture and kitchen space.

    Academic Rigor

    academically, oklahoma christian is a challenging university. although they're mainly known for their engineering department, you can major in communications, psychology, history, political science and biology among many others. the university expects you to ask questions instead of simply taking notes. as a student, it's your duty at oklahoma christian to take pride in excellence and achieve the most out of your academic experience as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    before attending a university research the university's mission statement and learn if it's the right fit for you. your success rate depends highly upon how well you fit into the university you choose to attend. never hold back from fear. ask questions and be a go getter and you will be remembered by teachers, deans, president's and potential employers.

    In three sentences

    oklahoma christian university is a good school because students not only excel in the classroom but are provided with hands on activities that enhance their character. the university has successfully demonstrated a good foundation for building firm foundations upon which student can build their future lives.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus security are police certified. They are OC Police Officers. They are always on duty and patrolling our university. Nothing bad ever really takes place at OC, but when and if it ever does, OC Police have it covered!!

    Greek Life

    The fraternities and sororities at OC are called social clubs. They put on a production called spring sing every year. Some aim to win. Some aim to lose. There are intramurals. These clubs hold great traditions. They also have so much fun all the time. They have families in which so many members get together frequently and love on each other. These are friends for a lifetime!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are different social clubs on campus. These take place for fraternities and sororities. There is one for everyone. There are many organizations such as wishing well, give a goat, outreach, modern abolitionists, and many other clubs available on campus.There are athletic groups such as a tennis team, soccer team, basketball, baseball, softball, cheerleading, and other sports teams. There are academic groups like debate team. There is a gaming club. At OC there is a club for just about anyone!

    Great for these types of students

    There is something at OC for anyone who has an open mind.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When someone gets engaged, the guy is thrown in the pond. The girls host a candlelighting for the one engaged and play a guessing game to see who became engaged. They have lighting of the Commons, which is a great night filled with hot cochoa and singing. Followed by a countdown until the entire campus is lit with beautiful lights.

    Bang for the buck

    OC is semi expensive. They try to find a scholarship for everyone. The amount of money does not matter once you realize what OC has in store for you. My first semester I considered going somewhere else, but then I began to spend one semester fully asserting myself. After all I was paying for all this. I began learning who I was, facing challenges, meeting people, and enjoying my surroundings. If I was offered a full ride to a local university, I would turn it down for OC!!

    What to do for fun

    Study abroad trips to New Zealand, Australia, Japan, Vienna, and several other places are available. During fall break and Spring break there are mission trips available to all students at a cheap price clost to $65. There are always events occurring on campus. Students are often playing frisbee golf, soccer, or just hanging out. We can take a trip to bricktown, ice skating rink, or just about anywhere in Oklahoma City with a short drive. Don't have a car? That's okay, you will meet plenty of people that do. OC usually has a play or music production happening. There are always service projects and clubs or organizations holding fun events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average cafeteria food. However our Eagle Bucks are available to be used at Jimmy Johns, Chic Fil A, the OC Snackbar/grill, and a yummy mexican restaurant, Alfredo's. The best part, the points are tax free. This saves you money. The Cafeteria food is made with an attempt for something for everybody. The fresh salad bar, the cereal, the panini/sandwich/soup bar, the international line, the grill/chef line, the italian/pizza/pasta bar, and the regular line. They have special occasion nights in the Cafeteria where they serve food for a certain ethnic group or occasion or holiday. When visitors are on campus, the food is amazing!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so amazing. Your RA's and Hall Director listen to anything and everything. They really seek to guide you and help you. They create many opportunities for students to come together. They lead weekly devotionals. People meet each other and OC becomes more like home than your own home.

    Academic Rigor

    If you have never studied before, like myself, you will learn to. The classes are challenging, but they are also eye opening. The classes connect God to the subject. They are intellectually stimulating. You will not leave OC having not learned anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! The more activities you do, the more people you will meet. This will help with depression, networking, and making lifetime friends or mates. OC will feel like home if you become involved and learn your surroundings. Everyone is just as nervous and lonely as you until they meet people and get involved. This also helps with learning what is in store for your life and what you like to do. MAKE MEMORIES!

    In three sentences

    Their are professors that are very personal. They care about you. Great opportunity for an amazing college experience in a beautiful and caring environment.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is great.

    What to do for fun

    lots of sporting events, spring fling, and more.

    Food and Dining

    great food with lots of variety

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is wonderful. the dorms are clean, warm, and safe. our ra is awesome.

    Tips for prospective students

    this is a great school for a student leaving home for the first time. the professors and staff really care about the students..

    In three sentences

    it is a great school. i have learned so much.. the class size is small and the instructors take time with the students and help them learn the material.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    their own made up social clubs is a mockery of greek life and should not be at a christian college.

    Great for these types of students

    students who are born and raised in the church of christ faith.

    What to do for fun

    there are not a lot of things to do unless you enjoy sports and watching pg movies.

    Tips for prospective students

    read their doctrine and make sure you agree with everything before attending. keep in mind that more than half of the students are only seeking love and not a degree. if you are not church of christ, you are treated as an outcast and chapel is almost always a disappointment.

    In three sentences

    at oklahoma christian university, you will receive a poor education but surely gain a husband or wife. their classes hardly challenge the student body to further their intelligence but at least they are attending church for a mere twenty minutes a week day. although their first focus is playing match-maker, they at least preach to their students that god should come first in one's life.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Engineering. Nursing. Art. Education. Christian. People wanting to get involved. Open-minded.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with an open mind! If you're a Christian, don't expect everyone to be just like you and believe everything you do. If you aren't a Christian be prepare to respect the beliefs of others, but don't think you'll be alone.

    Bang for the buck

    OC is pretty costly, I know, but to me it is worth it. Getting the experience of a Christian school where I don't have to be afraid to show my beliefs is great! Not every here believes the same thing, but we all discuss different beliefs and are pretty accepting. Of course that's not everyone, but a majority. It's worth it because of the friendly and helpful staff at Admissions, Student Life, Financial Aid, and Professors. If you are having trouble with money contact Financial Aid, they really helped me afford OC!

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a great campus with great people! Very friendly, and so many opportunities to get involved!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are great! They are really there for you and understand what it's like to have everything due at once. I know that I can go to any of my professors' office and talk with them about my grades, ask questions about an assignment, or even just to get to know them a little better.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in Bible ministry

    Tips for prospective students

    Small amount for students. Less class availability each semester.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't sleep through classes. Really if you just get through all of the classes it helps you do much better in them and some teachers will give you extra points just for never skipping!

    Am enjoying being here

    LOVE LOVE LOVE!

    Am learning a lot

    And loving EVERY minute of it.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Modest people who don't mind going to a small school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I felt like when I visited the campus there was a lot of show going on. They tell you that you get a MacBook and the choice of another apple device and all this, but OC isn't for everyone. It's a small school with a lot of strict rules. Dress code, rules about the opposite sex, etc. I feel like I go to a boarding school, not college.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus has it's own police force with a station and security systems.

    Greek Life

    there are many greek houses on campus, none of which i am involved in yet, but would like to do so in the future.

    Clubs and Activities

    intramural sports and many charity clubs that do drives for other world countries and in-town mission feilds.

    Great for these types of students

    students that want to be engaged in their student body, and that want to learn in a christian environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they have a rather romantic tradition in the fact that if a couple plans to get married and the go to school on campus then the proposal has to happen next to the fountain on school grounds near sunset.

    Bang for the buck

    it is rather expensive, but however, it is the best money you could spend for an education.

    What to do for fun

    there are many activities to do here on campus such as basketball, intramural flag football, disk golf, and everything in between.

    Food and Dining

    from amazing breakfast omelets to chicken cordon bleu they cook it all in the cafeteria, and they cook it well.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms aren't the greatest thing ever here at oc, but if you'll take the time to know your room mates, you'll find yourself enjoying it.

    Academic Rigor

    though some of the class subjects can be difficult, you'll find out early that the teachers enjoy teaching and you'll be surprised at how eager they are too help with any problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved early. the teachers make classes fun and enjoyable to the point that you find yourself with a lot of free time. and what could be a better way of spending that free time than with friends doing something for the community.

    In three sentences

    oklahoma christian is a wonderful campus, that is vibrant with student life and bases a high priority on learning with a christian perspective. the faculty are engaging in class and are easily accessible for the students to contact with questions after or before the classes start. lastly, there are so many opportunities to get involved on campus and in the community that you'll soon find yourself feeling right at home with everyone around you.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    oklahoma christian provides many options for activities during free time. these include a variety of intramural sports, a frisbee golf course, fitness centers, and a gym. also, locally is a riverwalk in bricktown, several movie theaters, parks, and other activities.

    Food and Dining

    oklahoma christian has several options in regards to food. each student will choose from a variety of meal plans in which they will have a number of meals in the cafeteria as well as a number of points that can be used at local restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    as a freshman, i do not imagine that dorm life could be any better than what i experience at oklahoma christian. though the curfew rules and no males in the hallways may seem a little strict to some, the restrictions are truly a blessing to have. those restrictions allow the dorm room to be an excellent setting for fun as well as studying and sleeping. another great attribute to oklahoma christian dorm life is the activities planned throughout each semester to allow the girls living in the dorm to meet each other and learn more about each other. these activities include competitive games, craft times, and bible devotionals.

    Academic Rigor

    coming from a small high school in kansas, i wasn't sure that i would be ready for university requirements. however, oklahoma christian made that transition easy while challenging me to make a better effort academically than ever before. with dreams of being accepted to pharmacy school, i can confidently continue my educational career here at oc knowing that past performances of oc alumni and the challenges the faculty present me with, i will have a great chance at achieving my dream.

    Tips for prospective students

    be involved! oklahoma christian is a university that cares for its students. many activities go on throughout each semester to give students opportunities to make connections with the oklahoma christian community. do not pass up those opportunities! choose something, anything, to embark upon and get involved!

    In three sentences

    i originally came to oklahoma christian university because the university is a faith based school be high statistics of students beings accepted to grad-school. however, i have found my time at oklahoma christian has been worth so much more than that. here at oklahoma christian, i have been tested to think outside of the box and have been challenged to search for my own answers.

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    everyone seems to have a safe and courteous attitude. very little or no crime to speak of.

    What to do for fun

    it's in the outskirts of oklahoma city, so pretty much anything you want to do.

    Food and Dining

    the school itself has many options and varieties of food and snacking. the campus is located in edmond so the options on dining are unlimited.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus, but after going to other schools and being a campus police officer, the dorms at oc appear to be high quality with a good standard of living.

    Academic Rigor

    very sophisticated and strait foward.

    Tips for prospective students

    if your after a party environment or look forward to going to class in your pj's this is not the school for you. study hard in all math, computer, and science.

    In three sentences

    oc is a very well orginized, student friendly orginization. students at oc stand above the students at other universities by taking pride in appearance and mannerisms. as an older student i am not easily impressed by the younger generations today, but oc sets a new standard in learning.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    yes, oc is more expensive than state schools, but you get so much more for your money! the dorms are nice, the campus is beautiful, each students receives a mac book and an ipod touch or iphone upon arrival, etc. the list goes on!

    What to do for fun

    ice skating (free during sga date week! and you don't actually have to have a date), the zoo (tons of concerts at the okc zoo ampitheater, if you're into concerts), work out (oc is building a new outdoor 5k running trail which will be completed in july 2012), get involved in sga.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is... a cafeteria. not a five star restaurant, but there are always options to choose from. there's also a grill in the student center with wings, burgers, salads, subs, etc. and oc students can now use points at jimmy johns, chick-fil-a and alfredo's mexican restaurant. plenty of options for everyone!

    Dorm Life

    especially important freshman year. yes, you have midnight curfew during the week and you'll think it's terrible the first month until you realize that all your friends have the same curfew as you and you're all in the same building. the dorms are really where you get to know a bunch of people.

    Academic Rigor

    oc has extremely high standards for academic success. it's not high school, you won't make an a in every class, and you'll do a lot more work. but that work really pays off. you'll learn more than you imagined and future employers will see your degree from oklahoma christian and know you come from a respected university.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. take 15 hours freshman year. there is a ton of stuff to do on campus, and freshman year is when you really get to know everyone. 2. rush a club. if you think you don't have time, rush anyways and be a part time member. there are a lot of things on campus that clubs are a part of that you'll miss out on if you're not in a club (like spring sing!). 3. get to know your teachers, especially if you're not doing as well in their class as you would like. they will help you if they can see that you're really making an effort in their class.

    In three sentences

    oc has a small student body and with that come several things to keep in mind: 1. oc is a family 2. your professors will be like your parents sometimes 3. everyone here will help you if you just ask.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe at OC.

    Greek Life

    OC has social club because we are a christian campus. But like I said above, I'm only a Freshman. Therefore, I can not rush a club until next year. However, I am really excited to do so!

    Clubs and Activities

    OC always has something either going on or coming up. You are never really bored. Since I'm only just finished with my freshman year, I will not be able to rush club until i go back in the fall. However, from what I've heard it is a great experience.

    Great for these types of students

    OC is awesome for people who are looking to strengthen their relationship with God and other christians while also furthering their formal education. The classes are small to medium and your teachers will know you by name.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my favorite things is lighting of the Commons. Every tree at OC is covered in lights and turned on at the same time. Everyone gathers under the pavillion and counts down together. Then, Santa Clause comes, hot coco is served, letters are written to our soldiers overseas, horse-drawn carriage rides are given, and carols are sung. It really is a special night!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private university so the cost is higher. However you can see the places money is being used for. They are mostly for students and it seems like our best interest is usually taken to heart.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy spending time at Bricktown in OKC. The atmosphere is fun and unique and the river walk is pretty. It's something nice to do for a night on the town. However, when money is tight, OC always has something going on at student life and with club! My friends and I like to be outside so when the weather is nice we will play ultimate frisbee, campus golf, capture the flag, ect.

    Food and Dining

    Ok, the Caf works hard to give you the best dinning experience they can. But in the end, cafeteria food can only get so good. They will take all your comments though and usually those comments will actually be placed into action. The points you get to use at Chickfila, Jimmy Johns, and Alfedo's are very nice though!

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are older and some are newer. Which one you get depends on how much money you want to spend. Your RA's are awesome and lots of fun. You will have a curfew for your freshman year and, while it can be annoying, it can also lead to some fun nights locked in a building with 200 other people.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a biology student at OC and I am constantly challenged. In high school I was an 'A' student. However at OC I have made 3 Bs and 1 C. The professors will challenge you, but they really care about you and will do everything they can to help you reach your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to put yourself out there and really get to know the people of OC. Take a campus visit so you can really get the feel for the school and determine if it is the place for you. Know what you are looking for in a college and then determine if OC fits the bill

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Christian has the best atmosphere because you are surrounded by genuine and good people. The OC community is filled with people out to fulfill the will of God and thus allow you to create friendships that a such a deep substance. Your teachers, fellow students, and staff really care about you and will do all they can to help you out!

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a great campus police force.

    Greek Life

    There are not sororities or fraternities at OC, we have social clubs. They are a great way to meet new friends and get involved with service. You can also participate in Spring Sing!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of organizations to get involved in along with social clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    OC is made to be a place for students to grow closer to God while receiving a quality education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When people get engaged the guy is thrown into the pond while the girls gave a candle-lighting in which she tells the story of the engagement.

    Bang for the buck

    I think some of the prices are too high, but mostly it's ok.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of good places to play frisbee and we're going to have a new running trail next year!

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best, but we have points so you can eat at restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Most of my good friends I met in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not easy; some people don't think a Christian school can be challenging, but their wrong.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a positive attitude about chapel, and if you don't like regular chapel, try alternative chapels.

    In three sentences

    OC is a great community for college students. The teachers really care about the students. The classes are challenging, but you learn a lot.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always around and available. However, the city of Edmond, OK is very safe.

    Greek Life

    Nothing harmful or embarrassing happens. It's all in good fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many amazing opportunities and friends come through clubs and activities. You'll be missing out greatly if you don't participate.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are prepared to work hard in a top notch program and integrate your faith into you education, this is the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you become engaged to be married while a student at this school, the ladies have a special candle lighting ceremony and the engaged man gets thrown into the school's pond.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends whenever you can. The work load is definitely rigorous so take advantage of free time.

    Food and Dining

    If there is anything that you want to see being served in the cafeteria, write it on the comment cards available or tell your residential advisor. Oklahoma Christian really does take the students suggestions and wishes very seriously. Once I asked if more fresh fruit could be served and there was more fruit available starting the very next week and it continued all throughout the semester.

    Academic Rigor

    Oklahoma Christian has diverse offerings and programs to study. Each one is top notch and extremely challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make plenty of friends who will be encouraging and helpful to your life and education. There are so many opportunities so try new things.

    In three sentences

    This school has a strong sense of community. Christian values are very important and are expected to be respected at this school. All students are expected and must work hard in order to be successful.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Personally, I am a fairly athletic person and therefore love to go for walks and runs. On campus there is now a great running trail, and there is also a nice little park just north of the school. As far as getting away from campus for fun, Oklahoma City is close enough that it offers a great hub for fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food at OC could definitely use some improvement, but what college cafeteria is perfect? There is always a good variety of food to choose from, and the quality is fairly good for the smaller school that OC is.

    Dorm Life

    I have thoroughly enjoyed dorm life so far! However, keep in mind that all freshmen have curfew!

    Academic Rigor

    I have been very impressed with the level of academics at Oklahoma Christian University, the school is surprisingly acclaimed for its size.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that OC offers the Major you want. Although the school does offer a surprising number of options, watch out for the few that it misses. Also, keep in mind that some majors are more sought-after than others, and therefore come with more built-in scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Christian University is an amazing school. I've been very impressed with the level of academics and I feel completely at home here. I love the campus atmosphere!

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    OC has its own set of campus police that patrol the grounds 24/7. It is a very safe environment.

    Greek Life

    Since it is a private school there are no greek clubs only social clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are great. They are the main social outlet at the school. Their are several clubs that cater to all different personalities.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for engineering students. If students do well throughout their college career at OC they have 100% job placement.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual tradition is that when a man gets engaged he gets thrown into the pond at the front entrance of the school.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the school is more expensive than others, the benefits are greater. They have a great percentage of job placement after graduation.

    What to do for fun

    Social clubs are the main source of fun on campus. In a club you get to participate in intramurals, and spring sing. You meet so many people and get into close relationships. There are several sports to participate in. We have basketball, tennis and volley ball courts. There is a game room with ping pong, pool and foozeball.

    Food and Dining

    The caf serves decent food. There are several different meal plans to choose from. Ranging from two meals a day to two meals a wee.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is excellent. The rooms are spacious and there are many different living arrangements. There are dorms, dorms that are more like hotels and apartments. All on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future students should really consider joining a social club. They are a great way to meet new people and really come to learn things about the school.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Christian is a great Christian environment where students can come together to study and grow together. The school has many social clubs in which a student can become better acquainted with other students. The staff and faculty are great at helping students get the help they need.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police station on campus so whenever you need help or anything they are right there and there is also a number that you can easily reach them at as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a lot of clubs. We have intramural sports teams where each club on campus competes against one another. The sports are softball, kickball, ping pong, flag football, two person volleyball, swimming, and many more. The clubs range from delta, freshman club, gamma rho, and other sororities and fraternities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year when incoming freshman come to OC they is just a full week dedicated to them. There are a bunch of bonding activities. There is a signature volleyball competition as well as video challenges among different groups an so on. The freshman go to Dry Glutch and have fun swimming and playing games. We ride go karts and other fun activities while also taking time out to worship. The freshman also put on a talent show and even the faculty and staff but on a talent show as well.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a private university so it definetely costs but it is small and intimate so you're not just a number here. Most of the people you meet you will see them all the time. They provide a caring and giving environment with great Christian values. They are also patient and understanding with payments and everything.

    What to do for fun

    OC has many areas where you can just hang out and do proactive things with your classmates. There's sand volleyball and ping pong tables. You can also play pool. Our gym is open to everyone if you want to go and swim in the pool or just lift some weights and get in shape. A Lot of people mingle while working out. Just about anywhere on the campus you can sit and play your guitar or listen to someone playing their music.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is open for a good length of time with nonstop meals. If they are out of something they will quickly refill it. There is an omelet bar during breakfast time where you watch the cooks make your eggs in front of you. They serve everything in each food group for lunch and dinner as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are curfew times while staying in the dorms but the time are very understandable. The latest curfew time is 1:00am. The hall directors will make sure you are in you dorms after that curfew time to ensure you're safety at all time. The cost to wash your clothes is completely free. There is a lobby area in the dorms where you can hang out and watch appropriate movies with all your friends including one's from the opposite sex but with supervision of course. The rules are very much reasonable as far as boys/girls in the opposite dorms and such. The community bathroom are kept clean and you can study anywhere.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very capable of helping you to learn what you need to learn in order to be successful. They are here to push you to find the answer and to think on your own. The teachers here want you to succeed and expect you to put your best foot forward. OC is one of the top schools academically among others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students is to visit the school to see how great it is. When you get there everyone will be willing to help you with anything you need.

    In three sentences

    OC's main goal is to encourage their students to desire God in everything they do. They are committed to each individual and I rate this school a perfect 10. My school shows morality and humility in everything that they do.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are times when I have left campus at 10:30 and walked out to my car and felt completely safe. We have plenty of campus security to secure your safety.

    Greek Life

    Our university does not have Fraternities for Sororities

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to makes friends, looking for smaller hands on class sizes, and people who want to grow in Jesus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Being a private-christian university, you must attend Chapel every day at 11am. It is also required you take 1 bible class a semester.

    Bang for the buck

    I love that you get what you pay for here on campus. You pay for outstanding academics, amazing professors, and you get an added bonus which is strengthening your spiritual life.

    What to do for fun

    They have a gym with working equipment that all students can use, they are in the process of paving a 3.1 mile track around the campus for student use, they also have sand volleyball and basketball courts. Attend your schools games, they are fun to go to and learn the chants we sing. Also, sign up for intramural sports. They are fun as well.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is never any good to me anyway, but the food here is pretty good for a caf. There is always something different, not everyone has to eat the same meal. I like that you can try some new things, and go back for something else if you did not like it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are kind of small, but then again what do you expect? The roommates here are spectacular since we have international students it is amazing to be roomed with one so you can learn about other cultures rather than your own. With me being a Family Studies major, I think it is awesome that they pair you up with international students. Dorms are dorms, but they are fairly nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are spectacular. I love the challenge that it gives you, but it's not to stressful either. I am going on my 3rd month into my first semester and things are starting to pick up, but everything is going very well. The teachers are always eager to help you, because they want you to succeed. Also, they set you up with a lot of resources. There is no excuse for bad grades in most of your classes. As long as you listen to the lectures, take notes, and do your tests.. you should be amazing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for their online community and make friends. That's how I meant some of the people at school I hang out with now. Most importantly, open up! Say hi to everyone because I guarantee a conversation will be started. Attend campus events as well. It will help you get familiar with the campus. Also, when Earn Your Wings approaches remember to let loose and have fun. That's where you are going to meet some of your best friends!

    In three sentences

    The university is filled with amazing students and faculty. I feel at home, and that's the whole goal of OC. Professors are eager to help you, and the small class sizes gives you a better opportunity to get answers to your questions in class.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    cop always on patrol allows me to feel safe while im on campus

    Greek Life

    there are numerous service clubs on campus that you can rush on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is service clubs, and clubs within your major and a lot of intramural sports for those looking to work out with a challenge.

    Great for these types of students

    some one who likes small class size and personal reaction with the professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a memorial to 911 and to the Oklahoma City bombing.

    What to do for fun

    Go down to bricktown and see a new showing movie or catch a base ball game.

    Food and Dining

    Love the food! always fresh and healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter so i don't have a lot of knowledge on this subject.

    Academic Rigor

    allows you to find out what you are really interested in.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a safe and well rounded campus. Also consider the class size to be a blessing. one on one allows you learn and understand all the knowledge that you will there in the class.

    In three sentences

    The class size is small which provides individual help from teacher to student. The campus is always clean and easy get around on. The cafeteria serves wonderful food all day long.

  • 10/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to have a personal, close-knit study body.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is this really beautiful spot on campus that is tucked away and only a few people know about it. It's full of vines and flowers that cascade down the wall and there's these big outdoor couches and it feels like you're escaping the world.

    What to do for fun

    Hmm. I go on walks with friends and longboard. I also like to go to Zumba class and read books on the lawn while the sunsets!

    Food and Dining

    Dining is alright. I mean, we have a really wide selection of food and we can take as much as we want. The food isn't always the best or that full of flavor but at least we are able to fill our bellies up every day!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! I have made amazing connections with the girls on my floor. It's like one big sleepover because you're living right across the hall from all your best friends!

    Academic Rigor

    The homework load is big but bearable. I have been able to balance my work load with my social life. I've really had to make sure I'm making time for all my school work before I invest time in my other activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are prepared for professors who challenge you intellectually and spiritually! They will take your hidden talents and skills and expose them for you to see. The homework may be challenging, but it's only strengthening you.

    In three sentences

    The size is perfect for people who aren't quite ready to be thrown into the real world. The professors are personal and attentive. My fellow classmates are wonderful and so unbelievably friendly!

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small, so even if you are out late, there is usually a short walk back to the dorms. Campus police are always on hand.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to go to a small school. This is a great place to grow spiritually.

    Bang for the buck

    OC is a private college, so it is pretty pricey. The academics are great and so is the atmosphere. Plus you get a Macbook and an idevice.

    What to do for fun

    They are intramurals for many sports. There is also many other activities that are planned.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has some pretty good food, and it is all you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a great way to meet new people. They are clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Like any college, it depends on the classes you take, whether the course work will be hard or not. So far the classes are not super easy or impossible hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the campus to make sure that you like it. And of course make sure you can afford it.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love going to OC. It is a great school to learn and grow as a Christian. It's a small, clean campus with a lot of friendly and interesting people.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 47

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    its a great college that has an amazing sense of community throughout the campus

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    be on your a game

    In three sentences

    great

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    oc has certified, licensed police officers who patrol campus daily and they are available to be called if you feel unsafe at any given moment.

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs are so much fun! you get to rush clubs full of amazing people who are just like you and do what you like and they become like a family away from your family.

    What to do for fun

    i honestly love to sit in the forum and read when the sun is out. i also sometimes drive around town with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    at times, it may not be the absolute best, but u dining offers many delicious meals that are filling, healthy, and much better than eating ramen or peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    your friends may or may not live around you, but campus is small enough that you can easily walk from dorm to dorm, and everyone is friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    oc isn't too laid back, and all of the teachers push you to do your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure you know where you would like to live and what you would like to study, because oc offers many majors, minors, and learning opportunities.

    In three sentences

    oklahoma christian university is a wonderful college for those who seek to follow god and even those who are unsure about their faith. professors are kind and supportive and friendly. the student body isn't just your graduating class; it's like a giant family.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 30 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    OC has an outstanding security system its annoying...

    Greek Life

    At OC we do not have greek life but we do have clubs. Our clubs are the same as greek life but we dont live in a house together.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is so many different clubs and activities at OC.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians or any athlete.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have bow tie thursdays and thats the only tradition I know about.

    Bang for the buck

    OC is over priced in my opinion, but it is a private school.

    What to do for fun

    I personally play soccer for OC and i am pretty busy with training during the week. On the weekends, I usually go to the movies or party with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food sucks.

    Dorm Life

    At OC, boys and girls are not allowed in each others dorms but they are allowed in the apartments. Freshman year you have a required curfew but its not as bad as you think.

    Academic Rigor

    I have know idea.

    Tips for prospective students

    Freshman curfew will take some getting used to, but dont let it discourage you from having a fun first year.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Christian University is a great university in anyone wanting to earn a degree in higher education in a Godly community.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities surrounding the campus. Whether its for class, clubs, or just campus fun. The student center also has things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe can not compare to home cooked meals but the cafe does take its place fairly well.

    Dorm Life

    I didnt live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I said before Study Hard because the teachers will challenge you.!

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should know that they will need to study hard; procrastination will hurt you. Take advantage of the job opportunities. Either have a job or be involved on campus. This school has a lot of activities.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Christian has a great School of Business. Oklahoma Christian has a variety of living arrangements. Oklahoma Christian has a wonderful Career Service department.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spring Sing is a tradition held by the students in social clubs. The students organize choreographed dances and sing to win money for their club and to win the Spring Sing trophy!

    What to do for fun

    On campus, social clubs organize philanthropic events- such as the 5K run or visits to a church. But students can also go see a movie, go bowling, or shop in the city of Edmond.

    Food and Dining

    Campus Dining is run by U-Dining food services. There are typically three selections for each meal along with a salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms are run by a great staff, who's only job on campus is to take care of students. There are organized activities that bring the students closer together! And newsletters that let the students know what is going on in the dorms every two weeks

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the honors program at OC and the level of education is difficult, challenging, yet extremely rewarding. Also the OC professors are there for you! The staff is always helpful and encourages students further studies and they are interested in your life and success at OC

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should understand that college is a fun place to make friends that will last for a lifetime, but they also need to understand that in order to get the best out of their college experience they need to buckle down and study.

    In three sentences

    OC is a great environment to create personal connections with professors and students. Students are challenged to study hard and discuss their intuitive thoughts. Students are encouraged to take their learning outside of the 'OC Bubble' by participating in mission trips, community service, and being active in their local churches.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are focused on growing spiritually as well as academically.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When guys get engaged they have to jump in the pond.

    What to do for fun

    You can play pool and ping pong on campus, and there is a mall and theater close by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to go to all the freshman events.

    In three sentences

    It is a fun small school. Everyone knows everyone and you get to interact with your teachers on a very personal level. The teachers are there to help you succeed.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I say go outside. There are always games going on in the commons and places to walk around. Shopping is great and hey, Oklahoma City is very close. Tons to do and see downtown.

    Food and Dining

    The caf is the caf. You can always find something edible and every now and then something actually tasty. The grill is always a great option and there are plenty of good food places close to campus.

    Dorm Life

    You will meet some of your best friends just down the hall. Or in your room. There are tons of dorm activities but don't participate if you don't want to. They can be fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what you major in, your classes and homework could take up a lot of your time. But everything is well worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check it out. You never know until you try it and this may just be the place for you.

    In three sentences

    OC is a great environment to make friends and keep them. The teachers, staff, and classmates are genuinely friendly and want to help. It i the best education you could get.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, Camp Zenith is held in Oklahoma Christian's campus. It's a great place to go and meet other believers to share a week to make new friends and grow more in your faith.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek every opportunity, ask as many questions, don't be afraid to know people that can help you.

    In three sentences

    A warm place where the staffs take their time to explore and assist you in anything you need help with.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    open minded

    What to do for fun

    Get involved

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont buy books from the book store

    In three sentences

    An amazing spiritual experience. We have a beautiful campus. With wonderful staff to match

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People who propose at Oklahoma Christian and are in a club have a tendency to get thrown in the school pond.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to your teachers. They want to see you do well, and if you show them you're willing to put in whatever work is necessary to get there, they will help you out.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Christian is a very pleasant school, with good teachers and a great community. They train students to not only Excel at their future careers, but as well as in general life and on their walks with God.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    38 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I heard they have great food their and around them.

    Dorm Life

    i am excited to go to dorms at this campus because they have a free laundry.

    Academic Rigor

    I look at there classes and they seem challenging.

    In three sentences

    It seems full of nice people who love the lord.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs! I'm so excited to be in Iota! (The artistic nerds club)

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone who is willing to study the bible along with their preferred major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The clock tower!

    What to do for fun

    Ping Pong, Pool, basically any sport, play piano, hang out at the fountains, go get ice cream at Brahms, line dancing, yoga...

    Food and Dining

    Cafe food is terrible usually. But locally they have the best selection of food places. From Brahms to Bobo's Chicken.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are quiet, surprisingly. I have heard that it gets exciting when they do Spring Sing. (Where all the clubs perform)

    Tips for prospective students

    The bible classes are really easy for people raised in the church, but they will be difficult for those who weren't. But the teachers are nice and helpful. The bible courses are required.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Christian is a great school for the open-minded with a Church of Christ background. There is plenty to do and so many nice people. I love it there!

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria was actually pretty good during our visit.

    Dorm Life

    Seemed pretty typical

    Academic Rigor

    Met with professors, very impressive staff, seem really helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't overlook

    In three sentences

    Christian. Small. Friendly.

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police patrol all the time, but they are SO GREAT. I'm not even kidding. My brother, some friends, and I will stay out late doing silly stuff or watching movies in the bible building. They always joke with us and are easy going as long as we're being responsible adults and not causing trouble.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs to be involved in and all of them are pretty cool. There's the artsy group, the jock group, the party group, the all-around nice guy group, etc. There's literally a club for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Engineers and Bible Majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Clock Tower is a really cool, 100ft tower. We have a traditional lighting-of-the-commons were we turn on all the Christmas lights in the Commons.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great school for how little it costs. It's only $25,000 a year and that includes tuition, housing, estimated cost of books, and a regular meal plan.

    What to do for fun

    Ping-pong, pool, tennis, foosball, run the Eagle Trail, go swimming, watch movies, go down town, go to the mall, be involved in Spring Sing and theatre, go to on-campus concerts provided by the music department, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is terrible. Even the pizza sucks. However, you can get points for Chick-fil-a, Jimmy Johns, Alfredo's, and the grill. The grill and Jimmy Johns are right on campus and they are top-notch.

    Dorm Life

    I have a great living situation. I am with one of my best friends. The OC housing department is fantastic and will work with your situation (we changed our housing last minute and there was no problem). There are dorm praise sessions and meetings and everyone is very nice. I live in the cheapest housing and it's great.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes, ESPECIALLY history classes, are difficult. The bible classes (excluding Greek and Hebrew) are a breeze, especially if you've been raised in the church. If you are a good student, you will do well. It's just about the same as anywhere else.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go here if: Good food is very important to you You aren't a Christian You are extremely concerned with graduating on time Go here if: You want a spouse You are planning on being an engineer or bible major You are from the Northwest You're born and raised in the Church of Christ

    In three sentences

    OC is a great school for Engineers and Bible Majors. The professors, faculty, and fellow students are incredibly nice. Its major downfall is how late people tend to graduate.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are two volleyball courts, basketball courts, tennis courts, a disc golf course, pool tables, and ping pong tables all on campus!

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and they are willing to help you out with a special diet or allergies more than most people.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life gets old your sophomore year, but oh well its still a place to stay with activities.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes and teachers are amazing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you understand the level of respect that this school holds, and do your best to keep it that way. Yes we all make mistakes and dont be afraid to ask for help when you need it.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Christian University is a campus that a few things take some time to get use to. Yet, over all with the care that the teachers and fellow classmates give you, the rules are worth it. When anyone is having trouble with anything on or off campus if you bring it up to a teacher you trust they will be there and support you through it all.

  • 01/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Super religious, sheltered church of christ kids.

    What to do for fun

    You kinda have to come up with your own fun, the campus is usually pretty dead. Most students attend worship events for fun, but if you don't enjoy those you're out of luck, since those are basically the only events the school hosts.

    Food and Dining

    The caf is terrible, the only decent food is the omelets for breakfast, which are pretty good, everything else I avoided after my first semester.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are average, they are nice for the most part, but don't allow the opposite sex anywhere near your room, except for open house nights which are few and far between, and require the door stay open and the lights stay on, which is annoying. There is also curfew for freshman and if you miss curfew they will fine you unreasonable amounts of money.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your major, as with any school, some majors are harder than others, biology is very challenging, as is engineering, but there are also some easier majors that wont be as hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    work hard on your grades in your 1st year, it is definitely tougher than anything I had to do in high school, so it might take a while to get used to what it takes to be successful academically, and if you start out strong it will help take some of the pressure off in the upcoming years.

    In three sentences

    This university is heavily geared toward Church of Christ students. For anyone not in that category, I would not recommend this school. It has its positives but in my opinion, too many negatives to make the good aspects worth while.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    44 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends!

    Food and Dining

    Best part about breakfast and lunch is Lois! I LOVE Lois!!

    Dorm Life

    Honor's Dorms? :D

    Academic Rigor

    Let's go, Honor's Program!

    Tips for prospective students

    Let's have fun!

    In three sentences

    I'm SO excited to go here! been planning this for years! OC, here I come!

  • 05/03/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Pretty good!

    Food and Dining

    Can get a little boring, but there are many options!

    Dorm Life

    Great!

    Academic Rigor

    Some programs are especially rigorous, while others are just a little less so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus and stay with a student. They will make sure you see the most important places that apply to your degree.

    In three sentences

    Very friendly campus! Plenty of students are willing to share their experiences on campus with you! Definitely visit campus!

  • 06/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Walk around the eagle trail and hang out under the pavilion.

    Food and Dining

    Udining, you make me sick. I don't personally like the food at the caff but it's food. Just make sure to start loving bread sticks and pasta. Also, don't get stuck on the desert aisle, don't want to gain the freshmen 15 lbs on the first day!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make of it. Just make sure to not make enemies. Also, learn who to pick as a roommate, sometimes opposites do attract. And remember, this person will be with you 22/7, so be nice to them!

    Academic Rigor

    OC is high in their academics. There is not one class that you will leave without learning something. Become friends with your professors, at the end it is so worth it. And plus, they are actually pretty cool. You never know when you might need some legit references for a job interview.

    Tips for prospective students

    OC is home.

    In three sentences

    I like OC. OC is a great way to grow with other and be in fellowship with others as we all are in the Bible Belt. One thing that I would change is the mind set of all of us having to be robots and think alike. I understand that as Christians we should all think the same, but we don't. We all come from different backgrounds and grew up differently. A little bit more openness towards the outcast would be greatly appreciated.

  • 08/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Theirs numerous activities always going on on campus, their is Zumba, Yoga, and Kickboxing provided for free through the Student Life program, their are Intramurals, different athletic events to attend, their is Spring Sing, a club created event that is fun for everyone, and of course, the numerous worship events and speakers we have throughout the entire school year.

    Food and Dining

    OC does try to provide yummy food for the students, but it seems to come in waves. One day they'll have three delicious food choices, another day they will have three deciding less delicious choices. However, they do not ignore their requests/improvements box. They are constantly listening for the students needs and try their utmost best to fulfill them.

    Dorm Life

    From dorms to the apartments, OC always aims to improve housing. They are constantly updating and adding onto their older buildings, while worker on the newer buildings at the same time. I've personally enjoy that their is no Co-Ed housing. It removes some of the drama of walking in a roommate in an awkward moment.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging classes are used to push the students in every way. I've heard transfers students say that the work that they would put forth at their older schools would get them an 'A' there, whereas if they put forth the same amount of work they MIGHT obtain a 'B'.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you go in expecting to have a bad time of it, you will. You make your college experience, and if you don't have a positive outlook, everyone around you will feel the same.

    In three sentences

    OC provides real-life and hands on experiences in which to create and use their education. They believe in helping as many students achieve their highest goals and they will go above and beyond to see them reached. They love each student individually and are always trying to make that known.