Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Oklahoma City Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Commuters. Students who want to get the job done with minimual frills/expenses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for anything, even when you doubt they will say yes...If you don't qualify for a scholarship APPLY! There is a good chance they will say yes, or you will win because no one applied!

  • 12/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Commuter students and working students will find OCCC the best choice. Many students here have jobs which pay for their school, and in most cases they have extra money after they pay tuition. Weather you are living at home or in your own apartment you can really afford to attend OCCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare for environment similar to that of your high school. Due to small class sizes and driving to school daily it can fill like a more pleasant version of high school. Also while your at OCCC make friends the people here are amazing and will make life long friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it is a community college you spend dramatically less then you would attending a larger school in the area. However the education quality is very high and on par with all the four year institutions in the state.

    Am enjoying being here

    The students and staff here are great, the hours are a bit odd for me but other than that I would not trade my amazing experience here for anything.

    Am learning a lot

    This school is absolutely amazing for an educational experience. I am attending an off-site campus and receiving my credit at Oklahoma City Community College. Since being here my knowledge level has changed dramatically, before I knew almost nothing of computers now I can teach people with ease.

  • 11/27/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Going to college is greater for you in the future. Education is a powerful tool.

    Tips for prospective students

    Applying is easy and is worth taking the time to do. Having a career in mind will make it easier on the academic advisors in schedule your classes. Even if you don't have a career in mind or don't know what would be suitable for you as a career, they will be able to help in that area.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes I never thought going back to college would be this enjoyable. They have flexable schedules for people who live in the real world who don't have time solely for college. That makes it easier for many of us who work and have lives outside of the campus.

    Am learning a lot

    There are so many resources that are helpful in whatever course of study you are in. Learning is made easy when you put your time in your studies.

  • 01/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is very nice, and it is a very nice campus. Everything you need is right on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    A great school, and one of the cheapest you will find. They have so many resources, anything you need I'm sure you will find it on campus. The instructors are very nice, and always willing to help. If you have any questions about anything, ask!! Even if they don't know, they will tell you who to talk to.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in one of the many clubs and organizations on campus. Use your professor's office hours, this proves to the professor you are trying to go the extra mile. Study hard!

    In three sentences

    Great place to start after high school or for non traditional students returning to college. A lot of the class transfer to most of the nearby four year institution. Overall I have been very happy with my experience at the college.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    single students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i am an adult student and do not have time to get involved in activities that are extra curricular

    What to do for fun

    x box games

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared and do things with plenty of time. not at the last minute so you can trouble shoot early in registration, financial aid and any other department you need to deal with.

    In three sentences

    the teachers are helpful and i wish they had an off-site campus in norman. overall i give them an excellent.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the safety here is amazing there are tons of cops here on duty full time.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are tons of clubs and things to do

    Great for these types of students

    the diversity here is amazing

    Bang for the buck

    it is so cheap, and you get an amazing experience

    What to do for fun

    i play ball in the gym, lift, and chill with all the new friends i have made.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is great, and what is not here is near by.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply now and be ready for the best experience of your life.

    In three sentences

    occc is the greatest college ever! the staff is great, the classes are small, and there are tons of new people to meet.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food at the school is great and reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm. Oklahoma City Community College does not have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate and fill out as many scholarship applications as you possible can! And of course study hard!

    In three sentences

    A great school to come to and learn. Staff is very dedicated and always willing to help. Small class sizes allow for personalization.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 58

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love the instructors. Very caring and genuine. Classes are offered online really helped.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Generally easy to find a security guard and I haven't experienced any trouble the semester I've been here

    Greek Life

    o.O?

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many going on and Ive attended a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Not worried about being the best but don't want to be thought of as bad. Ones who are satisfied as being good.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a rather large pyramid fountain in front of the library.

    Bang for the buck

    The good Low tuition for classes that teach as much as classes anywhere else and smaller classes. Computer and other lab access Free Rosetta Stone Able to speak with program adviser for clear and correct information The bad Many services are ran by students who may give bad information. Not all teachers are savvy to the college and also may give bad information.

    What to do for fun

    The college has a few plays, discussions, and events that go on throughout the semesters. Various clubs offer a few activities now and then as well. There is also a large computer lab with internet access if you have free time between classes. If you are one who finds learning fun, then there is a large library that allows a short rental of the books used in the classes and a language center with free Rosetta Stone.

    Food and Dining

    The college is near some restaurants and has its own cafeteria and cafe. The items average around $4-$6 for a suitable meal so I keep to my $1-$2 meals from home. From what Ive seen the food is relatively average. The cafe is your basic expensive Starbucks like place.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms, but the college location is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as one comes to class, pays attention to most of the lecture, and studies a little before each test, they should have little to no problem passing the regular 16 week classes. The 8 week and 2 week classes however require much self study and some teachers are not all that interested in whether you succeed or not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your student id card as soon as possible, because you will use it everywhere. Make use of the computer lab on the 3rd floor of the library, because it has free printing and free computer access. See how much the book will be used before buying it. If your teacher has something like printable powerpoints and there isn't any homework directly from the book, chances are you will be carrying around an $80 heavy tome that you'll open maybe once out of random curiosity.

    In three sentences

    The campus is nice and lively. Many of the services are ran by student employees allowing for a nice and no pressured talk, but allows for easy misinformation and problems. The classrooms are delightfully small and so far 3 out of 4 teachers have been great.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    it is great for freshman and everybody

    Bang for the buck

    it is very cheap

    What to do for fun

    i play with my friends.

    Academic Rigor

    academically, it is excellent and not stressful

    Tips for prospective students

    it is a good school to start with.

    In three sentences

    the school is excellent academically with intelligent instructors. it is very good for freshman.the professors always consider individual differences among the students.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    easy access

    Greek Life

    none that i know of but i am not in that area, so i am not positive

    Clubs and Activities

    depends on your academic track but there are clubs and activities for all departments whether biology, math, theater, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    new or returning both

    Bang for the buck

    good costs

    What to do for fun

    clubs, organizations, fairs, study groups, wellness center, classes under the wellness center, the gym through the wellness center

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    they do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on what classes can depend on the academic rigor and demand placed on your life and schedule. sometimes the testing schedule is difficult if you are not on campus very often.

    Tips for prospective students

    go early to find out all your information, see advisement counselor and walk through the process instead of waiting until right before classes start. email professors early if you have questions about schedules or testing so you can drop early if you need to or not register for a certain course.

    In three sentences

    exceptional quality instructors, options, support, technology, class availability, flexibility all from a decent price at a community college education level. the on-line courses are easy to use and navigate. the professors have been available and supportive.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see a lot of blue lights around the parking lots & walking paths for student safety.

    Great for these types of students

    Fantastic for non-traditional students. Offers a lot of online classes & great school for transferring into other colleges. (The advisors are very knowledgeable about transfer credits)

    What to do for fun

    Lots of speakers & events occur on campus. Not too far from downtown OKC, prime entertainment, scenery, clubs, eateries.

    Food and Dining

    I have not tried the cafeteria, but it the school is located next to a major highway with easy access to fine dining & fast food.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus living,

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not easy but there is an excellent learning environment to help learning be a lot easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is a large library and tutor type labs available for students to access as needed. These are great ways to help truly learn & succeed in each class

    In three sentences

    This school offers a wide variety of opportunities for everyone. There are a lot of different classes offered as well as different times of day that can work with almost anyone's schedule. There are a lot of support centers/labs to help everyone succeed.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe at school. Security even came to make sure everything was alright when I was having car troubles.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are multiple clubs, activities, and sports to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't mind working hard and having a family atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    Very helpful professors and lab tutors that are always willing to help.

    What to do for fun

    Sports and gym accessibility.

    Food and Dining

    Great food catered daily and a coffee shop with baked goods.

    Academic Rigor

    Not afraid to push students to work hard and do their best but not impossible to do well and excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know new people and make friends because they will help you out if you just ask.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school that really cares about the students.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security Guards suck, a student got hit in the parking lot not even 25 feet from a security vehicle and they paid no attention. they would not have noticed anything had happened unless the passerby went and said something to them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of clubs and activities for all types of things.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students

    Bang for the buck

    Overall this college provides excellent education. the books are pricey, but just across the street is a cheaper place to buy and sell books back

    Food and Dining

    The cafe' food is wonderful. although i wish they made bagel sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms available

    Academic Rigor

    Has outstanding Academic Rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn as much as possible in High School and don't be happy with just getting by. College is much harder than you think and the Professors don't have to help you if they don't want to. Also, avoid Professor Michael Franco if at all possible.

    In three sentences

    I believe this educational institution is very good. The only thing I would change is to make it more accessible for the voices of the students to be heard about their professors and what is happening. I look forward to continuing my education and achieving my degree at Oklahoma City Community College.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great - never worried about being on campus or walking to my car at night alone.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Excellent choice for the Non-Traditional Student

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable. Check for scholarships.

    Food and Dining

    Has a nice coffee bar

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent!

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advise I can offer is to get involved. Start a study group with other students, join a club or two, and use the resources that OCCC offers. You can learn a lot from the New Student Orientation and from the required Success in College and Life class. Sign up for Civic Honors program and try to complete your first year there!

    In three sentences

    OCCC is an amazing College and has some of the best Professors around. The entire college is dedicated to helping the students with anything that is needed.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Going to Oklahoma City Community College is great because it is cheaper than the universities, but the quality of education is equally as good.

    What to do for fun

    Joining clubs is a great way to meet other students and faculty.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on Oklahoma City Community College campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students need to be aware of the fact that they are now adults. They are expected to handle all of the financial and enrollment responsiblities themselves. They also need to realize that it is a community college, but the classes are not any easier than at a university

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma City Community College is a great school. There are many different opportunities for students. They staff and faculty show interest in each student's progress.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    An amazing swimming pool. People come from all over (Canada, Texas, Kansas, etc.) to compete in it.

    What to do for fun

    make videos, go to movies, swim, bike ride, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Your responsible for your own meals.

    Dorm Life

    Sadly, there are no dorms but there are ways around living with your parents for another two years.

    Academic Rigor

    Great ratings.

    Tips for prospective students

    First, don't listen to what most people have to say about community colleges. Oklahoma City Community College is a great place to start because the classes are small, the education is great, the classes are easily transferable to major universities and the price is fantastic. It's not where you start, it's where you finish.

    In three sentences

    One of the only colleges in the state that offers classes in Film/Media production. The school is also closely linked to OU, so after I earn my associates degree I can transfer to OU to get my BA and possibly my masters. I'd give OCCC a solid B letter grade.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You always see security and i've never felt unsafe

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are really motivated and really trying to get through school. Its small so if you're shy its a great way to slowly start opening up and coming out ones shell.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I can't say if there is anything that stands out the most except that the college is small and not so hectic yo get around.

    What to do for fun

    There are some wonderful restaurants nearby and you can count in friendly service and almost always you would see other college kids there so you will always make new friends.

    Food and Dining

    I bring my lunch so I really don't eat the food.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live on campus. Its a community College but there is nice apts surrounding the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to approach the professor and let them know if you don't understand simething.. They really do care.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma city community college to me is one of the best schools. The classes are small so it gives that one on one time that kne needs. It's been awhile since I've been in school and I approached the professor to let her know my concern and she really took a personal intrest in making sure we all understood the material she was teaching.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a very safe campus. We have security staff that is in every corner till the school closes.

    Clubs and Activities

    The drama and computer club are cool. I also am thrilled about the performing arts club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students: Looking for instructors that communicate. Small classes. Great hours. A place to make new friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The locker room. This place is unusual to anyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Well there is not much banging going on these days unless studying all night would fit in the category. However, the expense is expensive but worth it in the end.

    What to do for fun

    We have field trips, a gym, and even a poll.

    Food and Dining

    Great food. There is always an option to get something hot or cold in our cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    That would be nice

    Academic Rigor

    My school expects their students to succeed so they give them them resources.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the comp lab. Talk to your instructors. Study hard. Ask question.

    In three sentences

    My school is everything I have been looking for. My school works with my schedule. My school has the resources I need to succeed.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    O-TRIP has a very safe campus. There has been some bad eggs that caused mild disruption and were delt with very professionally by the campus security who also are future police forces in training.

    Great for these types of students

    Moms or dads who work full time, college students who had a fluke semester, college students who do not have alot of money from their family to help out unfortunately and students who want to get a better education for a better price than all of the Vo-Tech schools.

    Bang for the buck

    O-TRIP is the best college for the price in oklahoma. Every semester is a very fair price and nobody is there to hit you over the head with extreme pricing.

    What to do for fun

    There is a very nice basketball gym with three courts. Ther is also a swimming area with a high dive bored and swim lanes. You can ejoy the weather on a nice day in the courtyard where you will find beautiful art designs painted by the students or you can watch any of the wonderful theater shows that they perform throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria and food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Every class is memorable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your head up and move forward with the help of your peers and professors from class.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma City community college is the savior school for those who need to bring up their GPA or have very busy schedules and/or families. I went to OSU OKC my first year and messed up my GPA. It was very difficult to re enroll for the following semester to better it, but I transfered to O Triple C and found the professors were very kind and willing to go the extra mile for every single student.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Coming from a small high school I found that this was a great fit to get me warmed up for the bigger colleges and universities out there.

    What to do for fun

    I like to hang out and use the gym they have on campus and is free to all students.

    Food and Dining

    Food can be reallky good here most of the time. Try the biscuits and gravy for breakfast that is the best.

    Dorm Life

    No campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had to work for my grades and it has been difficult but I can tell I am learning something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always talk to your specific advisor for your major first before you get too far into your degree. Also, make use of all the labs they have available, they really do help.

    In three sentences

    I love the professors here. They really care and show interest in you as a person and as a student. So far I have had a good experience at this school.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Love playing sports and going to the OCCC gym to work out stress

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is good with well made food and plenty of tables and chairs to eat on.

    Dorm Life

    Luckily if you like me you already live close to the college and don't need dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Strictness at OCCC is not very strict. If you put effort into college you would not have to worry about it Rigorousness.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind and don't be shy. If you don't try to attend how are you going to know if college is for you. Take the chance, it really is worth trying and it doesn't hurt.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma City Community College is a wonderful college. The teachers I have had so far are great teachers that take time to help you understand the curriculum. Its also cheaper to go here and then transfer.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is an affordable college and it offers great student support.

    What to do for fun

    Gym

    Food and Dining

    The food is not that bad.

    Dorm Life

    They don't provide dorm living

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in school

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma City Community College is a great college to start your new future. It has provided my with the confidence to transfer to a 4-year University.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have campus police that patrol the whole campus. It makes me feel very safe out there.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is really affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are many groups to join. As well as a nice gym you can go workout at.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. There is also plenty of places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to be yourself or ask questions.

    In three sentences

    This college is great! It helps you get a lot of one on one help from your professors if needed. It is also easily reachable in the community.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall, everyone is friendly and I always feel safe in their environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    I would join their club involving Democrats, if the school was closer and I didn't have to work.

    Great for these types of students

    All students.

    Bang for the buck

    OCCC does a tremendous job in helping their students, preparing them for the next step, and educating them in a way that is necessary to be able to compete in the jobs market.

    What to do for fun

    I study politics, economics, and the stock market (along with sociology). I also enjoy reading and searching for truth. Also, documentary films are very intriguing to me. To me, these studies are fun and enjoyable.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is great but I wish a few products were a little cheaper.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms at OCCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up to class everyday and respect the professors.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma City Community College is a fabulous institution that helps individuals to move forward and better their lives and the lives around them. The teachers are superb and they do a tremendous job by using different techniques of teaching. This school helped open my mind and has prepared me for the next level in higher education.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are cameras everywhere! They say, if you're anywhere but in the restroom, you're on camera! If you have a night class and feel unsafe to walk out to your car on your own, a security officer will personally walk you out. And if something were to happpen while outside, there are blue call boxes located in all of the parking lots. To use it, you push the button, they get a camera pointed on you and you can communicate with the security department on what your issue is.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not a member of any clubs or orginizations because I am not there enough, but I know there are plenty of them! And if there is not any you're interested in, you can make your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Any types!

    Bang for the buck

    This is most definitely a good school for the price. If you were to go to a University, you would absolutely pay more and not get the one-on-one learning like you get here. And, like I said, as a student here, you have full-access to the gym, basketball courts and their olympic-sized swimming pool!

    What to do for fun

    There are many student groups you can join. As a student here, you also have full-access to the gym, basketball courts and their olympic-sized swimming pool! But if sports aren't your forte, you can grab a coffee or a bite to eat and hang out with friends in the main lobby! You can't be bored here, and if you are, you're not trying!

    Food and Dining

    There are many different places to grab a bite to eat on campus. Also, there is a coffee shop for you coffee drinkers!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great, cheap place to start your college education. Wheather you're planning to transfer after two years, or conmplete you education here, this is a great first choice. Small class sizes of about 20 help you in being able to actually learn something, rather than if you were in a class of around 200, you might feel unnoticed. Teachers here are good aat one-on-one help when you need it. They will take time out of their busy day just to sit down and help you with whattever you may need help with. I highly reccomend it!

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma City Community College is a great place to start. There are so many different kind of people from all over the world, and so many oppurtunities. The teachers are very nice, understanding and compassionate about what they're teaching us.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I usually see campus security around the campus and in the campus parking lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of variety.

    Great for these types of students

    This is the school for people on a budget. if you want a good education that will give you a solid first step, this is the place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a local coffee shop I love to hit up for some caffeination.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cost effective. Gives an affordable door to education.

    What to do for fun

    There are several groups to be involved with ranging from a lot of different areas from politics, religion, video games, a wide variety.

    Food and Dining

    OCCC has a neat little cafe/dining area and a separate coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors (of course it depends on who you get) will encourage you to do your work and are really there to give you help just as much as giving you the appropriate letter grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into who your professors are and check out what the reviews on them. Apply for financial aid and in-house scholarships.

    In three sentences

    OCCC is cost efficient and makes it easier to go to school. It also has a smaller number of students per classroom which gives better one-on-one time with the professor. This college really helps students to prepare for transferring over to a university.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I bring my own lunch so I can save money.

    Dorm Life

    There is not a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    You make your college experience. If you feel like you are struggling, talk to your professor.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small so the teachers really get to know you. The classes are not too far apart. The teachers really care about how their students are doing in their class and want them to succeed.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At school...? Not sure. I have a life outside of school which involves a fulltime job, a husband and a 3 year old so I try to spend as little time there as possible.

    Food and Dining

    There's vending machines everywhere. They have a Starbucks!! The student union is what the main eating area is called-I think. They have about 3 different choices to eat at if you're looking for hot food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here. This is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not really sure what this is asking. The classes aren't too hard (that I've taken thus far anyways).

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak to an advisor well in advance and get a copy of your current year degree plan. Stay in contact with your advisor for any chances to CLEP out of any courses. On campus courses are definitely easier than online courses as the professors are generally more leniant in person about assignments than they are for their online students in the same course.

    In three sentences

    This is a good school to get your general education courses done at first. This school is fair on their price of tuition. Depending on any previous student loan debt, there's potential to not be awarded by the financial aid department.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    OCCC has an awesome array of traditional and technical means to keeping campus safe. Security has never been an issue for me.

    Greek Life

    Although there are not any Greek houses on campus, there are several Greek clubs at OCCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are way to many clubs and activities to list them here. Check the web site to stay up with all the latest opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    OCCC is great for any student, from an student just starting out, or a returning student just wanting to brush up on the latest technology.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am unaware of any unusual traditions on campus. Maybe you will be the first to start a new tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    OCCC is a great choice to get your general education classes and lots of your majors in one place.

    What to do for fun

    There are many opportunities on campus for many clubs and groups. Put yourself out there and you may be surprised at what you find.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining in the student center are pretty good for the price. Very easy to dart in between classes and get some fuel for the brain.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    If you take on a class, give it you full abilities. Don't shy away from what just might be one of the best experiences of your life.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on taking online courses, give yourself plenty of time to perform your assignments. Take advantage of the tutors and labs on campus. If you have any problems don't wait, contact your instructor. Most will help make alternate plans to help you stay on track.

    In three sentences

    The staff in the IT department make every effort to make themselves available to you for assistance and help. The courses are challenging yet you get a lot of information packed into a educational program. The staff is excellent.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a big safety department located in the main building and they're always hard at work. I also see security officers drive around in the parking lot to make sure our cars are safe. Whenever there is an incident though that concerns public safety we almost immediately receive an email explaining the situation.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at OCCC, or least that I have heard of.

    Clubs and Activities

    OCCC does have clubs and activities. They have everything from MMA to anime club as well as civic honors. It's hard to get involved though with not living on campus and commuting everywhere.

    Great for these types of students

    OCCC is perfect for students looking for small class sizes and wanting to get their basics done for cheap. A lot of the degrees transfer to OU and UCO so it's a great starting place for incoming freshmen. Also, if you're really interested in passing a hard class like chemistry or physics, OCCC is the way to go. The class size is 30 vs 300 at OU. Every teacher knows my name and responds to my emails with homework questions within the day.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    OCCC has a lot of nooks and crannies in the library so it's nice to fall asleep there sometimes. No one knows about the third floor library and it's so cool! Check it out!

    Bang for the buck

    At OCCC services are provided to you like the science, math, and communications lab. They always have tutors in there to help you with any subject you might be struggling with. And all of it is free! Also, there is free computer access and printing are available on the third floor library which are very useful!

    What to do for fun

    For fun I like to hang out with my friends, go to church, and eat! I also like spending time with my family and helping other people in need.

    Food and Dining

    OCCC has a Starbucks but the selection of food isn't that big. It's has a cafeteria but the quality of food isn't astounding. I prefer to eat off campus when possible.

    Dorm Life

    There are currently no dorms at OCCC because it's a community college. But I did receive an email about the school board considering putting some in. It does suck not to live on campus but eventually you could transfer to a 4 year university and live in theirs!

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be difficult, for example, any math or science that require a lot of work, but if you work hard it shouldn't be a problem. Most classes are easy though and you can take 12 hours with a part time job and still pass! Just make sure you actually show up to class, it counts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do registration early! You might not get the best classes if you don't. Use the services provided to you at OCCC to enhance your education. Everyone there wants to help!

    In three sentences

    OCCC is by far one of the friendliest and helpful places I have ever been. The faculty and staff want to see me succeed and help me anyway they can. I definitely recommend it for getting basics done or wanting to have small and personalized classrooms.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go explore Okc

    Food and Dining

    havent eaten there

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up to class

    In three sentences

    Very friendly campus. Teachers are amazing Small and easy to get around

  • 12/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is great. They respond to problems quickly and are there are plenty of them around. They are constantly driving the parking lots and walking around the school. So far every single one that I have met has been not only nice and charming, but also genuinely care about the student body they are there to protect. That to me makes me feel good about being there.

    Clubs and Activities

    This college has any amazing always growing list of clubs and is never short on the activities going on around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any student who is willing to work hard for themselves to get their degree. The student just has to be dedicated to themselves and willing to learn new things. This college is open to anyone willing to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love their little courtyard that is located in the main building, it's outside but it is surrounded by the main building. They also have a beautiful pond located at the the front entrance of the parking lot that is surrounded by two paved walking paths and have a beautiful flock of geese and ducks.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is not over priced, you honestly do get your moneys worth at this school. They offer a lot for the students, not just to help them, but to make it easier for them to attend. Their library is extensive and easily accessed for students, even the public.

    What to do for fun

    This university does offer several clubs you could join, whether it corresponds with your major or just something you want to do for fun, you can even apply to start your own club. There are also several different concerts that are held on the campus, with tickets not outrageously priced. There is also a gym with an indoor pool that can be used by students and for a small fee guests. They have several different events that they hold, such as the arts festival that I attended with my family, which was a blast! This university is great about having fun stuff for students and guests to do all year round.

    Food and Dining

    This campus does have a small cafeteria for the staff and students to find food at, it isn't huge, but there is a fairly wide variety of food to choose from. I have eaten in the cafeteria at times, and the food is actually decent. I enjoyed the turkey burger with fries that I got, and I love to stop by and pick up a salted pretzel with cheese, even if it's bad for my diet.

    Dorm Life

    This campus, to my knowledge, does not have any dorms for the students to live in. Which in a way is very inconvenient. Although I honestly would much rather not live on campus and get the amount of student services and academic assistance this university provides instead any day.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at this school are challenging, you do learn the material you are taking, but the teachers are very hands on and help you every step of the way to make sure you understand the material not just cruise threw it. I enjoy taking classes here because I intend to understand the field I am going into and the staff here help to make sure I do.

    Tips for prospective students

    There isn't much you need to worry about if you intend to enroll at this school. They offer so much to help you get started and to easy you into college life. Any new to college student starts off comfortably here and can find any information and assistance they need. I love it here because no matter what problem I am facing there is somewhere to go with someone to help me with it, academically or personally.

    In three sentences

    The school is proactive and committed to students. There are plenty of services to assist students in school work, health, or even personal problems that they may be having. It's a great conveniently organized campus that offers more than I expected.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the Communications Labs! The staff is awesome and there to help in any way they can with research, papers, etc. They also have a lot of free handouts on English, grammar, etc that are handy references.

    In three sentences

    Going to OCCC as a concurrently enrolled student has been a great experience! The classes were small, you could get individual assistance when needed, and the staff actucally care about the students.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions! Apply for scholarships and do your work!

    In three sentences

    Great for first time college students, looking to further their education and planning to transfer.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Swim!

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great teaching staff. The staff will really put your mind to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your application for financial aid in real early, like at the begging of the semester that is before the semester you plan to attend. Otherwise you may not receive in time to buy necessary supplies.

    In three sentences

    The college is great! There are a wide range of classes as well as options on how you want to take them, online or on campus. Best is the friendly atmosphere the school has.

  • 02/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Head to Norman, Oklahoma to visit the large, nearby campus of University of Oklahoma or head to downtown Oklahoma City.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're signing up for online classes, do it early. They fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma City Community College has worked with my early graduation from high school to ensure my success in college. Though I don't plan on attending here all four years, it has been wonderful for me for my short time here. It has made it possible for me to live in a different state while also attending classes online.

  • 04/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus rarely has problems that compromise the safety of the faculty and students, but when something does arise, there are plenty of officials who are there to keep everyone safe. Even if you just want someone to walk you out to your car at night, a security guard will gladly accompany you.

    Clubs and Activities

    Although I'm not an official member of any clubs, I love the activities they put on, like parades, competitions, and environmental awareness.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a relaxed environment with professors who will bend over backwards to help as long as you put in the effort.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are two annual job fairs on campus -- one in fall, one in spring -- that are extremely helpful for networking.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the cheapest schools in the state, about $100 dollars per credit hour.

    What to do for fun

    I love the pool/aquatics area, and there are tons of clubs you can get involved with. There are also many events featured through out the year, and the campus is visually appealing (which make walks really nice). There are also many spots on campus where you can just relax on a grassy hill and take a nap in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    Anything decent for your health here is expensive -- as in, no less than 5 dollars. However, they do have really cheap fried foods which helps when you're on a budget.

    Dorm Life

    This college does not have student living or dorms, but there are plenty of properties for rent around it.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a pretty laid back school. Although some courses may be difficult, with proper time management and effort, it is easy to come out of the school with a high GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest tip for prospective students would be to speak with your assigned faculty advisor when building a schedule -- they will know what you need to take in what order so you can graduate on time. Also, check out the student services and TRiO programs -- both have helped me so much in achieving my academic goals and keeping my emotional balance.

    In three sentences

    I love this school a lot. Although there has been ups and downs with admissions, advising, and FAFSA, it's overall a really nice place. As long as you're on top of everything you need and aren't afraid to ask questions, it's great.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a lot of campus police both inside and in the parking lots.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who have a very busy life outside of school and need a flexible schedule.

    What to do for fun

    The campus features a pool and a gym. There are also a few hang out spots throughout campus that are great for catching up on homework with classmates.

    Food and Dining

    Great food at the cafeteria plus there is a great coffee shop on campus.

    Dorm Life

    That I am aware of, OCCC doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that I have learned a lot this semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the math lab if you are taking mathematics. It's a great place to get extra tutoring.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma City Community College is a great learning environment. The campus is very pretty and peaceful. There are a lot of great tutoring centers.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are lots of campus police inside and outside of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Everything here is really affordable except for classes books.

    What to do for fun

    The campus have many events like musicals and plays. There are many fun things to do outside of campus. The campus is surrounded by arcades, movie theaters, malls, bowling, amusement park and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very diverse. There's greasy and nongreasy food if you prefer one over the other.

    Dorm Life

    The college has no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are hard, and some are easy. It just depends on the subject and the professors you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should definitely apply for scholarship even if you already have financial aid. You should also try to get to know your professors; it will help you a lot in the long run. If you want a job, you should definitely apply for a job on campus. They are very lenient and work around your class hours.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma City Community College is very affordable and the campus is nicer than I expected it to be. The professors are such sweethearts; they really care about what you want to achieve and help you achieve it.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    42 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Oklahoma City Community College is great for non-traditional students, anyone seeking an associates degree, and for those taking basic classes to transfer to a university.

    What to do for fun

    At OCCC, there is a modest gym, which includes a basketball court and swimming pool for the fitness goers. Intermural sports are offered in both the spring and fall for men and women of all ages. If you are interested studying a bit of botany, then check out the amazing collection throughout the main building.

    Food and Dining

    Students have several options when choosing to eat between attending classes. The cafeteria offers several daily lunch selections ranging from the general cafeteria food that we grew up eating in grade school to deluxe sandwiches and salads. There are also vending machines conveniently located throughout the buildings.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Oklahoma City Community College, however there is affordable housing within a short walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    While the curriculum is well rounded it is meant to be an introduction with some in depth knowledge of the subjects. You are expected to complete homework, quizzes, take tests, labs, and participate in classroom discussions. Classes are flexible for students who also work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Chat it up with your professors both during in class discussions and after class. Also, get a small study group together and help each other with the work and studying, it will make it much easier.

    In three sentences

    An affordable alternative for non-traditional students as well as first timers, Oklahoma City Community College (or O-Triple C for short) is a great college to get you off on the right foot. With faculty and staff to help you through your college career, it is a great place to begin your education journey. You will never be without guidance and support when you join this loving family.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are constantly patrolling inside and outside of the campus and are available 24/7. They even have a station inside of the school that allows you to report incidents and get the help that you need.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is completely wonderful for those that are just starting college, coming back to school after serving or even taking time off. It's also a great resource for those that are just looking to save some money and even get more one-on-one attention from the professors.

    Bang for the buck

    OCCC has a great education for the fraction of the price and offer many scholarships throughout the year for all types of things. You get what you pay for and it's a great deal.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty expensive but it isn't like normal cafe food. The chiefs actually prepare the food with care and to your liking as well. Asian, Mexican, American, and almost anything in between is served. They try their hardest to give you what you want.

    Dorm Life

    OCCC is a community college so there are no dorms. There are however apartments and houses around the campus for sell and even for rent.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic load is rigorous and it helps that you can have professors that are willing to help you step-by-step in the class so that you not only succeed but that you also feel ready to accomplish the world upon graduation or even transferring out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some personal tips that I will encourage all that come here are: Always keep in contact with the professor before the semester even starts. It will usually give them an idea of who you are and be more willing to help you if they begin to see you struggle. Another tip, always make sure to visit the bookstore early in the morning of at-least a week before the classes start, because it can get very busy and you'll be waiting for a long time to get the book and checkout.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Oklahoma City Community College on a scale from 1-5 a 5. The reason why I feel that this school rates that is because of the passion that the professors have, the safety of the campus, the food, the organizations that you can join and the overall atmosphere of success. OCCC is a wonderful place for those with dreams of success and accomplishments.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the safest campuses I've encountered! Plus,they are very friendly.

    Greek Life

    I believe there are several Greek communities on campus,but I'm not involved in any.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities for all majors.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for adults who work full time and for students who aren't ready for a traditional four year school yet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't experienced any usual traditions so far!

    Bang for the buck

    It is totally worth it if you are looking for a good education that isn't super expensive!

    What to do for fun

    They hist events pretty frequently on campus that can be fun.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten there,but there is a good cafeteria with a decent menu. Plus, a Starbucks inside.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available here.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses can be very challenging, especially once you get into the coursework of your intended major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research what you need to do as far as paper work goes before going to the school.the more you finish beforehand,the quicker the process will go.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma city community college is a great community college in Oklahoma. Great courses including online has helped me continue my education. The staff can be overwhelmed at times by volume of students and could use more employees during enrolment times.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure when you apply for financial aid, to hand deliver everything, otherwise they will continue to tell you that you have not provided everything.

    In three sentences

    They have a terrible lack of communication. Their financial aid process for continuing education is ridiculous. The teachers are about the only positive thing I've experienced so far.

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is AMAZING campus security at Oklahoma City Community College. They are truly there to protect you and help you in any situation. One time I locked my keys in the car and they were happy to help me out, they make me feel safe and protected while I am there.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of fun things to do all around the campus of Oklahoma City Community College. There is an Olympic sized swimming pool, Days when there are games in the union and events in the theater all the time! Oklahoma City Community College is defiantly a place for fun and school.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Oklahoma City Community College is very nice. They have a variety of different food, something for everyone. There is no such thing as going hungry at the college, there are to many options!

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not live in the dorms at Oklahoma City Community College or even know if they have them. I am sure if they did they would lovely and nice to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    At Oklahoma City Community College I feel like I was pushed the perfect amount to where I was Challenged but I never doubted myself in what the teachers were asking of me. I love the different types of challenges I am given at Oklahoma City Community College they make learning diverse and fun for everyone in the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are only 2 tips I have for anyone entering college, not only at Oklahoma City community college. One would be not to procrastinate and do your homework and the rest will come easy. Second be prepared for how expensive books are.

    In three sentences

    I love Oklahoma City Community College. All the employees are so nice and willing to help you with anything you need. I love the classes and the professors get on your level to make sure you understand what you need to know for the tests and life in general.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've always felt safe on campus!

    Greek Life

    None, that I'm aware of

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities for the student to get involved with.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for the money

    What to do for fun

    So many options both around the city but also many options within the school through their recreational services.

    Food and Dining

    Great food at the food court!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available :( I think they would be a great asset to the school, for both single students and students with families!

    Academic Rigor

    I think academic rigor can only be measured by what the student does. The information is there, but is not forced upon you, it is up to the student to do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the resources they provide! If you can, join a group related to your major!

    In three sentences

    OCCC is an amazing community college. They offer so many different majors and resources for each major. From their labs to their student groups you can always find someone to help you.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to BCM!

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma city community college is a great school. They are always helpful. Always willing to help.

  • 09/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although I haven't come into contact with any campus security, I hear that they are very reliable and have yet to have any major mishaps happening

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Currently I am not in any clubs but do plan to join once i get more details!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are fresh out of high school and are looking for a sort of 'stepping stone' before transferring to a big university. Also students looking for a cheaper alternative.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap and convenient. They are able to work with all kinds of budgets!

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and get to know people in class! OCCC is for me, mostly just all academic. I have yet to figure out what fun stuff there is to do there.

    Food and Dining

    Although I've never tried to cafeteria, the food at the Starbucks located in the main building is absolutely horrible. Run by OCCC students, they lack proper costumer service and the sandwiches are pretty disgusting. Would not recommend to anyone!

    Dorm Life

    There is none.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel sometimes like they are moving too slow. Although the pace is nice I really enjoy a challenge and OCCC hasn't really made me work too hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't ever skip class, which at any school you shouldn't but especially here. It is so small that your professor will probably notice! Keep up the vitality all year long, because school doesn't slow down.

    In three sentences

    The small school feel is really friendly for an incoming freshman. OCCC is a great transition between high school and a big university. So far I've really enjoyed the more 'one on one' attention I receive there!

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Storm shelters, partially underground too. Security does their job well. If there's a threat they'll use all measures to alert you asap.

    Greek Life

    �¿ Que ?

    Clubs and Activities

    A number of clubs, some variety thereof. There's about 6-7 club bulletin boards on campus (I'm a club officer so I know) and rarely do clubs post any information about whatever they may be doing. So honestly I have no idea how other clubs are doing. But if you're an engineer major join the engineer club!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people persons. If you're a loner \ quiet type the library is great for that too.

    Bang for the buck

    it really is more bang for the buck. Why? it's community college. What you spend here is x2,x3 xX less than at the other bigger 4 year universities in Oklahoma

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with classmates, friends, club mates etc on the campus. Always a roaring laughing time I say.

    Food and Dining

    Only eaten the food on campus about once or twice, the food vendors has changed since then as well as the menus and prices.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. it's community college.

    Academic Rigor

    A majority of the science professors I had were usually told that 'in comparison with xx 4 year university you're a lot tougher' Now that I am at a 4 year university, they're a bit right on the mark.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check with your professor(s) if they'll ever need you to use the book. if not you can always check it out at the library to use in 2 hour periods after class \ in your time off. Oh and always try to find your books online, amazon etc soooo much cheaper... usually... sometimes.

    In three sentences

    Awesome,Small Campus. Friendly, Quaint Atmosphere. Teachers though..... like any other place those experiences may vary.

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many clubs and such..

    Food and Dining

    Nice snacking and lunch area.

    Academic Rigor

    moderate amounts of homework

    Tips for prospective students

    Go try it out and you can always transfer to a different college. Works for my schedule.

    In three sentences

    More than a college, its the blended masses of learners.Great place to transist out of yo old life into a new. Nice for first time college goers from smaller school districts

  • 12/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have all kinds for students and their family.

    Food and Dining

    Their food is very good. There is a wide cost from cheap to a little pricey. However, there is something for everyone. T

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    There is nothing I have to say on this

    Tips for prospective students

    You should try and get connected with their trio program. They will help you step by step through everything you may need to do.

    In three sentences

    I have had a very hard time with finical aid here. I was a out of state student and felt they were making things harder for me on my finical aid than my past college. There are some great professor that truly care and make up for the hassles of dealing with admissions and finical aid. The trio program was also a big help trying to deal with finical aid issues.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is really good. They really care about their students and how to ensure each student their safety once they are on and off campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are fun. There are of course so many to choose from that it can be difficult to decide what to join or even if you want to join.

    What to do for fun

    OCCC offers many different clubs to join to encourage students to meet new people, the gym is another great way to spend some free time. The pool is open to OCCC students and is another great way to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good if you choose to not eat off campus or if you just want to eat with your friends and hang out during your lunch break. It is at a decent price to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Oklahoma City Community College is a community college not a university so there are not dorm rooms there.

    Academic Rigor

    Most students get good grades based on themselves and even part of how well the staff teaches.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose OCCC for either just getting your basics finished or to obtain your associate's degree. You will not regret it. Apply as soon as you can. The sooner you apply, the faster you get to go and get your classes.

    In three sentences

    OCCC is a great school to attend. The staff is great at helping students. The environment is friendly and comfortable to go into.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is really safe, there is even a police force on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Any students that are wanting to get there general academics.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very affordable as far as colleges go.

    What to do for fun

    I usually play video games and watch TV.

    Food and Dining

    They have a decent cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    This college isn't that rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a pretty easy school.

    In three sentences

    This college is really helpful. This college gives you plenty help with anything you would need to succeed in college. I really enjoy attending this college.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus activities and clubs on this campus is plentiful. Intermural sports are offered and are very fun for stress relief. Student life plans activites through out the year for the students and really make the semester fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a good selection of food, but the prices went up quite a bit. If you are looking to save some money there are many restaurants near by for cheaper.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus but many apartments and homes for rent near by as well as dining establishments.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here are great and many of them are also teaching at a four year university. They can give you an idea of what to expect at a four year university. The classes are in dept but not as intense as a four year college. The quality of eduaction is very goos.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a great faculty advisor for whatever your degree choice may be. Your advisor will be a bit of a mentor in guiding you until you transfer to a four year university. Remember your advisor is just that... A advisor, it is up to you to keep your grades up and make sure you are taking that right courses needed for a transfer.

    In three sentences

    This school is a great school for a community college. Rarely will you have trouble transferring course to a four year univeristy. The professors here are amazing as well as the quality of courses.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great place for those trying to get their prerequisites met without paying University prices. Also great for current professionals and single parents.

    Food and Dining

    From what I have observed, the food is acceptable. I do not typically eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not, nor have I ever lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone seems driven to make sure you reach your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not fall behind in classes.

    In three sentences

    There are small class sizes. I have always been directly spoken to and approached by my professors. The environment is accepting.

  • 02/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a full fledged police. I feel great about being on campus even if dark.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many to count. If you can think of it. They probably have it. If not you have opportunities to create it.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for unsure students about returning to school. I was out of school for 12 years before deciding to go to college. I love it.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of tuition was a big key factor in my choice of going here. Plus you can buy books on amazon for this school and the professors are not sticklers about it.

    What to do for fun

    I vist the gym, I go to clubs. I skateboard. I work on cars for fun.

    Food and Dining

    We have an amazing chef. He vhangrs up the entree everyday. I am always looking forward to what we have for lunch. It is also very affordable.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is really up to you. I have a fast track program. I chose to take some 8 week courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're planning on going here, come and visit. It is a great campus with an abundance of resources. You will find it very helpful for your decision making to vist here.

    In three sentences

    This college is great at fitting all the needs of a new student. I don't feel like a number in a school. It is an amazing transition for college.

  • 04/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe, i see the campus police out socializing with students and being involved so they know what is going on all around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent experience and education for the money

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is pretty good, but if you don't eat on campus everyday, it is close to just about anything that you could want.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms. but if they did i'm sure they would be great!

    Academic Rigor

    This was the best experience i have had a any college by far. i felt at home here and i actually felt like the professors cared to take the time to help you instead of treating you like another dollar sign.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use ratemyprofessor.com when you go in to set up your classes and you will have no problem getting excellent grades in all of your classes.

    In three sentences

    I love this campus. It gives me the things i need to know for my degree without having to pay an arm and a leg and move away to get it.