Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Oklahoma City University (OCU) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Interested in the performing arts, wanting a small community feeling.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a great campus community feeling with a lot of diversity. There are a lot of organizations to join no matter who you are.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm not a huge fan of all of the General Education requirements, but then again it is a Liberal Arts school. Some professors are great, but I don't feel challenged on the whole.

  • 01/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any one returning to college, just out of high school, or any one just wanting to get their basics out of the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for a major and get an academic advisor A.S.A.P. You are able to apply for more scholarships that way.

    Bang for the buck

    They help me find scholarships and are a lot cheeper than other schools. *Plus you get one-on-one and don't have to be in a class of over 100 students.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the small classes and the one-on-one with the professors.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are really interested in helping me succeed. Most of the things I am re-learning, but who ever said that was a horrible thing?

  • 01/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would recommend this university to students who want to pursue a liberal arts education or to those who seek to be a professional in the performance and entertainment world. Students desiring to be actors, dancers, producers, directors, or advertisers will feel at home at this small private university, because each major specifically prepares students for the field they want to work in.

    Tips for prospective students

    When applying to this university be sure to become acquainted with your admissions counselor. They can answer more questions than you'd think. Most importantly apply for all the scholarships offered at Oklahoma City University. The school has a lot of funding that is given to the students who apply for it.

    Bang for the buck

    Oklahoma City University is extremely expensive compared to the public universities in Oklahoma, yet the learning experience is superb. The facilities are very nice and the cafeteria offers quite a few choices of meal options. For a private institution Oklahoma City University's cost is reasonable.

    Am enjoying being here

    Many activities are offered on campus. The student body is always inventing a new activity to become apart of. There are several plays, sports events, religious activities, and Greek gatherings every semester. However, because I live off campus, I miss out on certain events.

    Am learning a lot

    Oklahoma City University offers many different types of classes, which allow for interactive, hands on, discussion, and lecture type learning. I love the variety of approaches at this university. The B.F.A. Acting program is teaching me a lot about what it takes to be a professional.

  • 07/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For a performing, education, any type of art (visual, music, dance) or law student, if you are looking for an institution that will help you grow in your field OCU is for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not fail a few classes the first semester of college or two classes two semesters in a row or else you will lose your scholarship. I have known people that have dropped out of OCU because they could not keep their GPA high enough the first semester. Music majors be sure to schedule in your practice times to make sure that you remember to practice. If you live off campus, the library is a wonderful place to take a nap (try the fifth and second floor, they have comfy chairs) and sometimes the second floor of Walker Center there is a nice couch. To the off campus folk again: be sure to find reasons to stay on campus for as long as you can every day to make sure you make friends. Make as many friends as you can during orientation week, I am still friends with people I met the first day I went to OCU. Be sure to contact financial aid if you have concerns about how much you can pay. Schedule in a nap, especially if you have 8am classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Obviously, Oklahoma City University is expensive. However, if you are majoring in law, music, dance, art, education, or any other performing degree it is a great deal (especially if you can get a scholarship). To do well and really get the most bang for your buck, you need to be determined and disciplined. This is especially true for the performance majors. All music majors have to take piano and music theory, so music majors be prepared to do work outside of what you might normally do.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Oklahoma City University. I do not live on campus or have a meal plan. However, I try to spend as much time as I can on campus. The people here are kind there are usually plenty of activities happening either on campus or right off campus. The practice rooms in the music building are extremely helpful, my teachers have believed in me and challenged me, the campus is beautiful, and there aren't too many people crowding campus. At Oklahoma City University I feel like I am part of a community, even though I don't live there.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel that I am challenged by several of my teachers. My English composition teacher Ms. Keller really helped me learn how to write a cohesive and interesting essay. My public speaking teacher helped me get over my fear of formally speaking in front of others. And my violin and vocal teachers are extremely knowledgeable. Because of the small class size, if a problem occurs, contacting the teacher is easy and they are usually very understanding.

  • 06/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! The best way to meet people is to join stuff.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a pretty expensive school, but you get small classes, and you know most of the professors on a first name basis and your degree is going to mean a lot to employers. Most OCU grads are willing to help a future grad out job wise.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are so many things to do on campus, like Student Government and it seems like there is a club for everything. The sororities and frats do a lot as well. For it being a small school, there is a lot to do. Bricktown, Big Truck, and Cuppies and Joe are all pretty close too.

    Am learning a lot

    Majority of the classes are pretty challenging once you're out of the Gen Eds, however most of the professors are really helpful and are willing to help you if you just ask.

  • 10/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students in the arts (theatre, music, musical theatre, dance), nursing, athletics, law.

    Bang for the buck

    For my budget, the school is a little expensive but I've never considered switching because I love it so much.

    Am enjoying being here

    Because it's so small, I was able to meet a lot of people very quickly and have developed a lot of close friends.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm a BFA Acting major and I feel that I am learning a great amount for my field. The one-on-one time with the professors is great; they know you by name and are able to get to know you better so that they can better help you in problem areas.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    RN to BSN or RN to MSN

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent at OCU. There are always police present and they are very helpful.

    Greek Life

    OCU has three sororities and 3 fraternities

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities!

    Great for these types of students

    Business, creative, acting, music, theater, nursing... all students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    OCU has lots of traditions... however you have to come to find out.

    Bang for the buck

    It is the most expensive school in Oklahoma, yet they offer several scholarship opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of things to do for fun! From sports events, to free movie night, to the many speakers brought in, there is always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    Top Chefs cook a variety of top notch food

    Dorm Life

    There is a range of dorm life opportunities. You never have to be board at OCU.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a challenging school and also implements the plus minus system so you have to work harder to get an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at scholarships for each university. OCU offers several scholarships to offset its high costs.

    In three sentences

    OCU is a great and prestigious University. It offers great opportunities to students while giving them an excellent education. All of the teachers have their Masters or Doctorate degrees and the class sizes are small enough to provide each student with personal contact from the teacher.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    FANTASTIC!

    Greek Life

    Available but I'm not interested in sorority life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not in any at this time and haven't investigated this yet.

    Great for these types of students

    Working adults with families. PERFECT!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unknown

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is costly, but the size of the school and classes is worth it. More one on one and they know what it's like to be a working adult with children while attending school. I've got nothing but good things to say about OCU.

    Academic Rigor

    Unable to answer this at this time as I have not began classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check their website. There is a ton of information on there for all degree programs.

    In three sentences

    Everyone I have encountered at the University as been extrememly helpful and nice. They have been a fantastic group of people and are willing to help you with whatever you need. The campus is clean and simple to navigate. Tuition cost is quite high but the financial aid department has been very helpful as well.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria on campus has some variety. Plus there are various choices just up the street.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically they are demanding. They really make sure you are prepared to work in the field.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would weigh the cost. They have both full time and part time programs, but you are eligible for the various scholarships if you are full time. And they definitely come in handy because the cost to attend is high.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma City University is a really good school. I'd give it an 8. The professors really care about whether or not you succeed.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has its own police force on campus with call boxes every 5 feet

    Greek Life

    There are several houses to pick from and they are all really active with there members

    Clubs and Activities

    If you can think of the club or activity it's here and if its not its not hard to make one.

    Great for these types of students

    Living students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Alvin's is a nice place to grab a snack and some Starbucks

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is high but it is well worth it. The money all goes back to providing for the student

    What to do for fun

    The quidditch team is great fun to watch and participate in. The Wesley center is always a great place to hang out with friends and catch free food and here about God.

    Food and Dining

    The have food from every were you can think of. There are eight different lines to pick from daily and every line has a vegetarian option.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is really nice and it only cost 2 dollars to Wash and dry closes which is cheaper than a laundry Matt.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but not to challenging enough to stress you out over everything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early scholarships go by fast. And don't be afraid to apply for them or ask about scholarships there are many to chose from.

    In three sentences

    The best family home in a school I have found. Most active university, I have seen has more activities than high school. Great place for trying something new.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 people found this inaccurate. 12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    no idea

    Dorm Life

    no idea

    Academic Rigor

    no idea

    In three sentences

    It is close to my dad. It is somewhat inexpensive. It is cool.

  • 11/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many things going on on campus. We have a large majority of performance majors, so there are multiple performances every weekend. We are also very close to Oklahoma City's Bricktown, which is super fun!

    Food and Dining

    There aren't a lot of options on campus, but there are some really great places very close to campus that are wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't a lot of students so everyone here is like one big family! It's so fun to live on campus and there are always people to hang out with.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a wide range of class levels from very intense to just light reading, but all of the professors want to bring a new and interesting light to their course material

    Tips for prospective students

    Always talk to the financial aide people if you have questions or concerns, it might seem like a pain, but they are really wonderful people who are just trying to make your life easier. Also, figure out which dorm you really would like to live in, there are several different styles and they aren't for everybody. Also, email your professors! All of the classes are taught by professors not TA's which is really nice.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma City University is a small liberal arts university with a lot to offer. It's locating in one of the nations fasted growing city's and is a very affordable city. Oklahoma City University is also known for it's extremely dedicated students.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Though its really pricey the faculty have an immense amount of knowledge in their fields and give us the best possible education.

    Food and Dining

    We have many options like the cafe, Alvin's (convenience store), and a to-go line. Also there are always events were we get free food like midnight breakfast or pizza and parties on the quad.

    Dorm Life

    We constantly have problems with washers and dryers but besides the the RAs are very helpful as well as the Head Residents. They are always looking out for the best for us.

    Academic Rigor

    Though its a liberal arts college and classes are structured very differently, overall the classes give a broad and large perspective of the topic at hand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships as early as possible to avoid having to pay a lot out pocket.

    In three sentences

    Great loving atmosphere. One big family. Very pricey but so worth it.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in the fine arts who wants a close-knit, cooperative environment in the middle of an exciting metropolis.

    Bang for the buck

    Most students at OCU receive scholarship offers from their college that make their out-of-pocket costs competitive with state institutions. There are no teaching assistants -- all classes are taught by actual professors, and the student-teacher ratio is very low. Facilities are top-notch.

    What to do for fun

    OCU is in the heart of the thriving metropolis of Oklahoma City. Though out-of-towners may not realize it, Oklahoma City is one of the fastest growing cities in the country and offers a multitude of restaurants, performances, art galleries and concerts. OCU is just north of Downtown, Midtown, and the new and growing Plaza District.

    Food and Dining

    There are not many options compared to larger universities, but the cafeteria offers fresh healthy food, and has one of the only vegan bars in the country.

    Academic Rigor

    Much is expected of the students at OCU, but much support is given. Standards for those in the fine arts are high. Hard work and late nights are required of students in pursuit of a serious education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely schedule a visit. Many schools will only offer a generic campus tour and perhaps a meeting with a dean, but OCU schedules a whole day where you get a feel for the campus, sit in on classes, and meet with both faculty and staff. You will be hooked.

    In three sentences

    OCU has a fantastic community environment where collaboration and sharing are encouraged. The academic standards are rigorous, but the faculty is always willing and available to help you reach your potential. The small size and the tremendous support foster an environment where each student is encouraged to do their best.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have oklahoma City police on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm a member of Hispanic student association and Tri-Beta a national honors biology club

    What to do for fun

    Bricktown and downtown are within a few minutes away and can catch a Oklahoma City Thunder game. On campus there's numerous events held that keeps it fun year round.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to fill our scholarships as well as financial aid

    In three sentences

    A private university that has a very good student to professor ratio and only the highest degree of professor are hired. This a very good school recommended to anyone.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have toured this school, and found it very interesting. I would definitely like to recieve my degree in business from this college. It looks very nice inside and out. I have heard great things about the instructors at OCU.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    When I visited the campus, the first thing that struck me was how immaculate they kept the grounds. Both faculty and students were very friendly. The class sizes are very small, so there is much more one-on-one learning with your instructors.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The nursing school, Kramer School of Nursing, is excellent.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They want you to succeed in life. So, yes, the academic standards are high. Expect more of yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interviewing dress professionally. Learn everything you can about the school you want to be accepted to. Have a few questions you can ask.

    In three sentences

    They were always helpful and kind during my application process.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a phenomenal school for performers of all kinds, whether it's instrumental, vocal, theater, acting, or dance. OCU also has a great business school, nursing school, and law school! But mostly, OCU is great for students who want an active college experience. So many students participate with multiple organizations, and there's always events for to attend. You will always have a place and you will always have friends to surround you.

    What to do for fun

    Bricktown is only a short drive from campus, where there's a lot of activities. A lot of times, local entertainment places have deals for us (along with restaurants that give us student discounts or sometimes even take this stuff called StarsCash, which you get with your meal plan). One or two times a semester, you even get a free movie night! If you want to stay on campus, there's always students playing basketball or volleyball on the west lawn (where the dorms are located). I was walking to the cafeteria for dinner one day, and I even saw students who had set up hammocks on the quad! There were just hanging around while reading books or playing guitar. It was different, but so fun!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has some really good food! There's an Entree section where they have different features foods like chicken or gyros or curry. There's a Pizza line, where it's all pizza and breadsticks. There's the Grill with amazing grilled cheese and french fries and the Deli with delicious wraps. The caf also has a salad and vegan bar, plus a fro-yo machine and dessert bar. AND it's all you can eat! For students with a tight lunch schedule, they have To-Go options, where you can get salads or sandwiches to go, but it still uses up your meal plan. Also, the caf is in the Student Center, but downstairs in the Student Center is this place called Alvin's Cafe, which is right next to the campus store. They have Starbucks there and some of the same To-Go options as the caf, but they also have their own original menu! If you go for a campus visit, I suggest the Chicken Ciabatta or the Eclectic Henry (named after the campus president!) Make sure you know the hours of the caf and Alvin's because they're different and one might come in handy more than another, depending on your schedule.

    Dorm Life

    I don't even live on campus, but I feel like I'm part of the dorm life! I usually hang out in one of the dorm lobbies with friends from classes or extracurriculars, and it's always a great way to bond with your fellow students. I remember watching the VMAs with people I had only known two weeks, and it was like I was sitting with friends I had known my whole life!

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers have this amazing talent of knowing how to make a class seem easy, but you're really learning so much more than you think! There's a lot of reading, though I can't think of any college that wouldn't make you read, but OCU really knows how to pick their faculty! As long as you keep track of your classes (you're not allowed to skip!), you'll be a shining star!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're planning on going into a major that requires you to audition when applying for the school, AUDITION EARLY IN THE YEAR. The talent scholarship fund at the school is not limitless, but the earlier in the year you audition, the more likely you can end up with a super great scholarship. I highly encourage private auditions instead of attending one of the public audition dates, and see if you can audition for the school BEFORE a public audition date. Just make sure you don't audition so early that your audition material isn't up to par. NOTE: OCU, particularly the Bass School of Music, doesn't just gauge your abilities, but also you're personality. They're the OCU Stars, and they have a phenomenal judge of character. So, if during your audition, a professor starts to talk to you, don't be afraid to show some of who you are!

    In three sentences

    OCU has a close-knit community and warm, welcoming atmosphere. There's an organization (or organizations!) for everyone. If you can afford it, I can't think of a better place to get your college education!

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Oklahoma City University campus is not in the best neighborhood however we have great campus security and low crime related incidences on campus. Oklahoma City can be considered dangerous and we have a very high crime rate. However all areas on campus are under 24 hour surveillance and campus police are active at all times, even if you just need them to walk you to your dorm at night they will do it no questions asked.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very involved on campus, but very accepting and there is no such thing as hazing at Oklahoma City University. The sororities and fraternities are more concerned with campus events and community than parting and breaking laws because of the strict rules placed on expulsion on campus. Oklahoma City University is a tobacco, drug and alcohol free campus and the rules are very firm.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and organization on campus that will keep you busy. There are clubs based on background, ethnicity, religion, and sexuality, as well as clubs that focus on community, interest, and career. There is a club on campus for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Oklahoma City University is great for dedicated students who aren't concerned with finding a party school. Focused individuals that want to learn and don'Â?t just want a diploma, I highly recommend this school. Students that want a wide range and unique span of curriculum in addition to a small classroom setting at a private university this is the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Although OKCU is an old school we have no unusual traditions on campus we are all pretty focused students who are busy studying or already working to secure a position in our career field.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is worth what you pay, however I don�¢����t believe any school should be asking the students to pay as much as they do. I also think they should offer more scholarships because they have the money to do it however they choose not to use their money on what is really important�¢���¦making sure students are able to get an education from them.

    What to do for fun

    There are not very many activities on campus that involve everyone, however you have many activities in your select major or school. One event though we do together is Love Not Hate Day which promotes the acceptance of others. We also have the Cancer Awareness walk where each organization tag teams a walk all night from 8pm to 7am, and there is lots of food, music, and games that come along with it. In addition to on campus events Oklahoma City is very large and there is lots to do. The school often gives away free Thunder Basketball tickets and host a free movie night downtown for all students once a month.

    Food and Dining

    There are a plethora of choices in the cafeteria at Oklahoma City University. They offer; AlvinÂ?s, a small cafe with soup, sandwiches, coffee, pizza, and many snacks. Oklahoma City University also offers the main dining hall which has home cooked food section, around the world section (featuring exotic foods), The grill, Sandwich bar, and finally a salad and Vegan bar including delicious juiced fruit and veggie shots to boost your immune system.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Oklahoma City University are extremely overpriced and especially for what you get for all that money. If you are offered a full ride you are required to stay in a very small cramped dorm that barely has room for a bed and share one bathroom with sometimes other people or a dorm that has a little bit more room but get extremely moldy. They also offer nicer apartment but it also comes at a much higher price, however these dorms were cheaply and quickly made and often have problems like a main water pipe busting; this put several students having no where to stay for the semester and damaged property.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really challenge you to not only learn more, but enjoy learning about a particular subject. All of the professors are extremely passionate about the courses they offer, and are very available to work with you outside of class. This school is really a place for people want to learn more than what is necessary to pass and get a degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice to future college students is to study hard, and not let any opportunity to participate on campus pass you by. Also, focus on your studies college is not about the parties, although fun, you don�¢����t want to lose the funding you already have at a very expensive school. Finally, Get to know the teachers they take the time to know who you are and care about what they�¢����re teaching and if you make an effort in class they make it an obligation to see you pass and understand the curriculum.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma City University is overall a great school for getting one on one attention, and they really do treat you as an individual and not a number. Attending OKCU is nice going to a prestigious school where the staff learns your name and care about whether you�¢����re learning or not. However it is very expensive and I feel they sometimes have frivolous spending on things like bronze statues when students are struggling to get by and pay for college.

  • 10/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life is great. We are a small Greek system that is truly based on the values of sisterhood and brotherhood.

    What to do for fun

    Oklahoma City is a great place to attend college. The city is full of different districts that offer a variety of experiences. There is always something to do if you're looking for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be genuine and realistic. Know who you are and what you want. Set goals for yourself. This school can be very everything you want, but also overwhelming so make sure to always be true to yourself and trust yourself above all else.

    In three sentences

    OCU is a small arts orientated community. This is a school that you go to to succeed. The environment is friendly and everyone wants you to succeed.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is close to a questionable neighborhood, but the campus safety is SO great. I always feel incredibly safe around campus, even at night.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is really big here, although it's super expensive. If you can afford it, JOIN. It's super fun. The only downside is the amount of time it takes and the price.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs, but mostly greek life is the most important. There are lots of activities on campus, though!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I think homecoming week is the most unique. We don't have a football team, so homecoming week is a little interesting. University organizations (basically greek organizations), compete with each other in several activities each day in the week surrounding that years theme: window painting, float building, homecoming king and queen... and the MOST unique activity/competition that we have is a lip-sync competition. On Friday night everyone gathers in the gym to watch each organization put on a lip-synced skit. Since this school is FULL of performing arts majors, it's sooo much fun to watch. There's always amazing dancing, singing and acting. Then on Saturday there is a basketball game where the winners of homecoming week are announced. It's truly unique.

    Bang for the buck

    Yeah, it's super expensive. I won't tell you otherwise. You ARE paying for the quality of education. You will get what you pay for... you just have to figure out how to pay for it.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of restaurants within walking distance to campus that take campus cash (stars cash)! This is helpful for students because depending on our meal plan we are given a certain amount of stars cash to start out with and that can be used at these places. There are always activities on campus as well.

    Food and Dining

    AMAZING! So many options. Vegan, salad bar/salad toss bar, soup, grill, pizza bar, exhibition bar, a classic food bar, and a dessert bar! It's truly great.

    Dorm Life

    I love it. There are aspects of dorm life that are very stereotypical, which I think is fun because it gives you a normal college experience. There are also some non stereotypical aspects that make our dorm life better than other universities.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are great and challenging. We are highly encouraged to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Believe all the amazing things they say. They aren't exaggerating! Everyone is rooting for your success.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma City University is amazing. It is like one big happy family. All students and staff members want the best for everyone.

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is great! Four sororities and 3 fraternities!

    What to do for fun

    Go to the city, go out to eat, go to an OCU production, hang out on campus, plenty of things to do!

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen dorm, Walker Hall, is okay, Methodist Hall is much better.

    In three sentences

    I love OCU! It has great class sizes, I think my biggest class has 22 people in it. The professors are great and willing to help you with whatever you need.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe, but around campus is not. Campus police (an actual OKC police department) are GREAT, however!

    Greek Life

    GREEK LIFE IS HUGE. Almost everyone belongs to a sorority or fraternity. But don't worry, these Greek kids are a little more down to earth than your typical Greek kids.

    What to do for fun

    The Oklahoma City Memorial is beautiful. There are a lot of fun coffee shops, the state fair, Bricktown, Pops, and many more great places. Sundays are slow, though, as Oklahoma is in the Bible belt. Good luck finding things open on Sundays!

    Food and Dining

    Having dietary restrictions stinks here. They do have a vegan bar during the week at lunch time. As a vegetarian, though, I was often disappointed by the food choices. They would also not cook my food on a separate grill from meat, so until I lived off campus and started cooking my own food, I had terrible digestion problems.

    Dorm Life

    Room checks are AWFUL. I hated being told to make my bed. Also, the housing department is terribly run. I moved off campus as soon as I could. The best place to live on campus is Cokesbury Court. They will try to sell United Methodist to you, but it is not worth it. The pipes have burst multiple times, flooding student's rooms, it is very loud, and poorly built. The honor dorms also stink. You would think the honors students would get the best housing, but they are the worst on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class, the classes are challenging, fun, and multifaceted.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a student interested in the performing arts (dance, music, theatre), religion, or nursing, this is a FANTASTIC place to be. You are required to live on campus until you are twenty-one years old. Also, there are weekly room checks, which are basically alcohol checks. They can (and will) fine you for not making your bed.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma City University is full of friendly and accepting people. Campus is beautiful, and the area around campus is starting to clean up. There is a lot to do in Oklahoma City, and you'll have a lot of friends to do things with!