Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Oklahoma Panhandle State University (OPSU) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    if you love rural settings

    Tips for prospective students

    this school is in the middle of no where but if you can entertain yourself then you should be fine

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Crime is practically 0

    Greek Life

    We do not have a greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few bars in the Guymon, Venue is popular the pub is pretty good. Then there is a club in liberal kansas called patron.

    Great for these types of students

    Its alot of cowboys rodeo is KING at our school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No unusual places or traditions I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is not expensive at all. I have a basketball scholarship so I cant give an exact number but I think it only cost $12,000 for the whole year meal plan out of state waiver everything.

    What to do for fun

    Enjoy each others company , we have alot of days where everyone is just outside enjoying the day.

    Food and Dining

    Its a couple nice restaurants about 10 miles away in Guymon.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is cool depending on where you stay.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not that hard to go to school here the classes are small so its alot of one on one if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is as fun as you make it. Come be yourself

    In three sentences

    Its small the people are extremely friendly. The professors are flexible and understanding, its not much to do though.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cameras on campus and strict visitor rules

    Great for these types of students

    Ag students. Rodeo team.

    Bang for the buck

    For a university it is a lot more affordable than most.

    What to do for fun

    Hang with friend. Watch the football games.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is very good.

    Dorm Life

    I am loving form life and my roommate is a wonderful person. I was worried about the dorms at first but I love it now

    Academic Rigor

    Class size is small. Classes are great I love all my instructors. Classes are challenging to your mind so you will not be bored.

    Tips for prospective students

    They have tutors for every class. The class sizes are small so if you need help it is easy to access your instructors.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are really helpful. The campus is very nice. Classes are very informative.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I am an online student.

    Dorm Life

    I am an online student.

    In three sentences

    I am an online student. When I have to attend the campus to enroll or pick up books the staff is very friendly and helpful. My adviser has only met me once and she remembers me every time I enter her office.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    kids who come from a small town or live in the area

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the financial aid office before the semester starts and find where your classes are before the first day.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe with patrol going around all the time. There have been no reports of any incidents in the year i have attended.

    Bang for the buck

    Most students are getting paid to go to college here and an education is priceless.

    What to do for fun

    If you look for fun you will find it. There are many school clubs and activities throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    Remember your high school cafeteria? Well this is no different, food is bland. There are a couple of restaurants around that will do the job if you do not want to relieve the mess of the high school cafeteria once again.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are not what you call high life but you get what you pay for and they are inexpensive. Although there are other housing options available.

    Academic Rigor

    professors take every student in account and have set standard for all of them to be represented fairly.

    Tips for prospective students

    this college has many opportunities for those with disabilities and can support those who seek help.

    In three sentences

    OPSU is a small college, and is in a small town that doesn't have many opportunities. This college does give you a better opportunity in getting to know your professors. There are many activities to do and is very inexpensive.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great university for people that like small schools and small classes. OPSU is more like a big family with very caring staff.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is a very good Agriculture school.

    What to do for fun

    For fun we rodeo and hunt.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and attend classes.

  • 11/22/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Affordable success!

    What to do for fun

    The extra curricular activities can be the fun, but outside of the university there are not very many options.

    Food and Dining

    Through the summer program that i was in I only got a chance to try the cafeteria food. It wasn't the best but there are other options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is what you make it! So stay positive.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors there are very skilled at what they do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't make your college decision based on what I say! If you schedule a tour I'm sure you yourself will fall in love with the campus. That is if you like the small town feel of course!

    In three sentences

    The Upward Bound @ OPSU summer program allowed me get a feel of the college life at this university. It is a very nice campus filed with a diversity of people. This is one of my top college choices!

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, as the police are vigilant. Common sense should be exercised at night or when/if you are drinking, but overall a safe campus.

    Greek Life

    No sororities or fraternities, unfortunately.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs here it is overwhelming! But if there isn't a club, it is extremely easy to start one.

    Great for these types of students

    Easy going students can have a good time, but those who are education oriented will thrive here as well. The campus has a small town atmosphere that could remind students pleasantly of home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year we have a Dorm of Doom, which is essentially a haunted dorm! Tons of fun, but scary as well!

    Bang for the buck

    Fairly priced, and a wonderful campus!

    What to do for fun

    There are a number of clubs and organizations here. In addition to the many events put on by the dorms, the art club frequently projects movies onto the side of their building. The nearby town of Guymon also offers many options for an escape off of campus.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is pretty good, there is also a restaurant on campus as well as a variety of options nearby.

    Dorm Life

    There is always an event going on! Whether its volleyball or a block party, there is always something to do!

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you take, most are fairly easy, but will challenge your ability to keep up at times. Overall, a nice balance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stress about getting in, just remember to do all the paperwork and study when you get here. Getting to know your roommate before you come is also an excellent idea.

    In three sentences

    Cafeteria food is pretty good. Classes are all small and teachers are very helpful! Very community oriented campus; there is a new event going on every day!

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have the activities center with the track and backetball court, and weight room, raquet ball room and much more.

    Food and Dining

    Their food was amazing the few times i have been there.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in a dorm before so i am not sure what the dorm life is like.

    Tips for prospective students

    They have been very helpful in the information they have given me. They gave me everything i asked for plus some. They are continuing to send me information about the school and updates on the activities going on so that i can go and see what they are like.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Panhandle State University is the school that i have been looking for, for a long time. I Love their school and their rodeo association. They have just the program that I am looking for.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security and police officers patrol here regularly.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs, but not many activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Indoor people. Those studying agriculture. People who don't like animals. Hard workers. Those who prefer rural settings.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great school to go to if you like easy classes and staying inside most days. The average student pays about $10,000 annually.

    What to do for fun

    Study. Watch the cows. Join rodeo. Play video games.

    Food and Dining

    Only food on campus is from the cafeteria, the grill, or the gas station.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are larger than most, and are comfortable. Dorms have the option of being private (1 occupant) or semi-private (2 occupants). Other housing options are apartments (4 private rooms) and annexes (1 private or semi-private duplex).

    Academic Rigor

    Simple classes with great advisers and instructors who care about how well you do in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply here if you want to go to a school where academics, not partying, is first. The closest town where you can buy anything or work at is 10 miles away, knowing how to drive is necessity. Best for those who are looking to major in any type of agriculture.

    In three sentences

    Easy classes with great academic advisers who work around your schedule to enroll you only in classes you need. This is a dry campus (no drugs or alcohol allowed), and is ideal for those who enjoy rural settings and smaller class sizes. Many scholarship options.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Oklahoma is a great place to attend college. It is affordable and not far from home. The class sizes are great.