Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/26/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's ok I guess, but it will put a empty place in your check book.

    Will enjoy being here

    You will LOVE this school because of the females and parties, but the hardest thing is that you will have to go to your classes.

    Will learn a lot

    You will learn everything that you need to know at this school.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have Emergency Buttons everywhere i could always at least see 1 no matter where i was.

    Food and Dining

    lots of different types of food!!

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are kinda small for 2 people but they seem like they would work.

    Academic Rigor

    Their Aerospace program has an amazing facility i would highly recommend going to see it

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the ACT and try to take it serious but don't panic you can always take it again.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great university and everyone is very nice.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    motivated hands on learning.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    game room.

    Bang for the buck

    hands on experience.

    Food and Dining

    good campus and town food.

    Dorm Life

    Dont live there but not much to do in okmulgee.

    Academic Rigor

    laid back.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be motivated.

    In three sentences

    Great networking. Good hands on experience versus book work. Relaxing place to study.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Much cheaper than going to a private school.

    Food and Dining

    I know there are a lot of places available within a couple of miles from campus.

    Dorm Life

    I will be living off-campus, so I did not inquire.

    Academic Rigor

    I've recently enrolled and have not taken any classes here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely go by and talk with the advisers in the departments. It's great to meet them face-to-face.

    In three sentences

    Everyone my friend and I met with was extremely nice and helpful. We drove 4 hours for a one day visit to campus and were able to collect a ton of information. It was all because of how helpful everyone was.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is a big issue on any campus. The OSU campus police are always around the corner and have helped to keep this campus clean of any misconduct and misfortunes. It is hard to say when there was a mishap here on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs to choose from. Each club brings their own set of hostings and bring a lot of activity to the OSU campus for everyone to enjoy. Activities include bands, singing, and different nationalities showing and expressing their culture for everyone to see.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to play video games are going to love this campus because there is always a lan party where video games are brought in to play against to each other.

    Bang for the buck

    The bang for the buck would be the education and knowledge received from the instructors. They have helped to broaden my knowledge of where I want to be in five years and what I am going to be doing to help insure myself of living a comfortable life after college.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do while staying on campus. There is a frisbee golf course, a basketball court, weight rooms, a softball field, soccer field, and racketball courts. These areas are the site of intermural tournaments and get togethers. There is a movie theatre where students get to watch movies free on certain thursdays in a month.

    Food and Dining

    There are many restaurants to choose from in Okmulgee. The food is great and if you like dining, the workers are friendly and enjoy your company.

    Dorm Life

    There are many things to do while stayin on campus. There is a frisbee golf course, a basketball court, weight rooms, and racketball courts.

    Academic Rigor

    Having the work ethic to learn and want to learn is very helpful. Reading, writing, and studying are all essentials of becoming the career minded person you want to be after graduation. There is not a lot of homework thrown at you all at once.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to come to learn. Instructors will help you in whatever area you need help with, but you also have to be willing to learn and portray yourself as someone who cares about your future.

    In three sentences

    The faculty and staff are very helpful and curtious. The instructors in the Degree programs are very methodical and organized on how and what a student needs to know to accel in your field of study. OSUIT gives you great opportunities to learn and thrive in a career.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This school has many activities They have free movie nights for the students and their families, free massages, and social functions just to name a few.

    Food and Dining

    Food has been much better than other semesters.

    In three sentences

    OSUIT is one of the most flexible schedule schools that I have attended. They have a wonderful staff that works with you in regards to financial aid, work study, schedules, and teacher assignment.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    NA as of yet.

    Great for these types of students

    Serious and willing to work hard.

    Bang for the buck

    Reasonably affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Relax, and take a breather.

    Academic Rigor

    Well paced and interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take college seriously. Make it the best experience.

    In three sentences

    I love the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can't get around campus without seeing a cop!

    Greek Life

    OSUIT has Phi Theta Kappa, an honor society, but as far as fraternities go, we don't have any.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student senate, Phit Theta Kappa, and many other clubs exist. There are intramural sports teams all year round, and activities happening on campus every week!

    Great for these types of students

    Techy students, those who love to cook, artistically inclined, eccentric, outgoing, and relaxed people are great for this campus. In all honestly, this campus fits just about everybody except those harvard style students. We're a little too country for their tastes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus there is this spot called the Kite. It is an outdoor structure with an awning that literally looks like a kite. There are often concerts when the whether isn't broilingly hot or terrifingly cold.

    Bang for the buck

    OSUIT's tuition is reletively affordable, and you get a ton of extracurricular activities that you don't have to pay for. A credit in college is a credit in college whether it costs 200 bucks or 1000 bucks.

    What to do for fun

    Every other Thursday night is free movie night for OSU students at the local theater. There are also intramural sports teams going on all year round, different fund raising events, lots of clubs, and many other things.

    Food and Dining

    Oh my goodness, a big program on campus is the culinary arts program, and I tell you what, those people can cook! Part of the program is that the culinary art students make breakfast, lunch and dinner for the campus about once or twice a week.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but everyone says they are very nice, and that the people are epic and awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the teacher you get, most classes are relatively easy to complete. As long as you actually study the material, follow the rubric, and submit everything on time, you can get off with at least a B.

    Tips for prospective students

    College can be daunting, but here at OSUIT Okmulgee, the smallness of campus makes it a lot more friendly. My tip for you is to relax, and keep a notebook of all your classes, where and when they're located, and also a map of the campus in the notebook, it helps a LOT! Also, don't be afraid to ask people where some place is, they're generally very kind.

    In three sentences

    OSUIT Okmulgee is the perfect small town college because you meet people your area but also from the rest of the country and even quite a few forgein students. The campus isn't too large, so it is very easy to get from class to class. The class size is about 30 students per class which means you get the individual attention you need to properly succeed.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a local theater in town.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get grants, scholarships, and anyway you can pay for schooling.

    In three sentences

    This school is a great school, as long as you have the money to pay for it. Tuition isn't cheap and will cost you in the long run.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I do not have time to stay and eat here.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus because i am still in high school.

    Academic Rigor

    I find it very reasonable of the amount of study time each class takes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll as early as you can to get the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    Im a concurrent student here and it is very convenient. The staff are very helpful. I am glad i chose to start my classes here at osuit.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is always safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports go on throughout the year. Movie nights are almost every week. Free massages pop up every now and then. It is a great place to keep busy!

    What to do for fun

    OSUIT has movie nights for free and creates intermediate games during seasons. I love that they have softball and basketball in which I played in high school, and still get to in college.

    Food and Dining

    I have not ate in the food and dining because I live off campus, but I have heard it is good!

    Dorm Life

    I have not seen the dorms, because I live off campus, but I know some friends who live there and they love it!

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great with working with students. If a student ever needs help, a teacher will always help. Homework is essential. The teachers give the students plenty of time to complete. It is up to the students to complete it and turn in.

    In three sentences

    OSUIT is a great and challenging school to attend. I have learned a lot from the classes I have had. I am glad this college will help me out in the future and gurantee me a good job.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a myriad of intramural sports available here, with a workout gym and basketball court. There are also LAN parties time to time where people (both students and not) come to play video games for hours on end.

    Food and Dining

    I enjoy the food, but do not think you will get very far away from the high school cafeteria here.

    Dorm Life

    Somewhat strict rules with a very rude head of housing, in the England/Hannigan halls. No skateboarding allowed on campus yet, so it can get pretty boring around here.

    Academic Rigor

    Somewhat challenging classes (in the lower divisions at least) with the typical easy-as-pie general education classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is not a party school. Get your room reservations in early, along with enrolling early to ensure you get the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    A school that is high on academics, but not much else. This is not a party school, so come here to learn. The professors go the extra mile to make a great learning experience, no matter what class you are in.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    studious

    Bang for the buck

    Some programs are wonderful such as the photography, culinary, and nursing.

    What to do for fun

    Not much acually on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. Don't skip classes. Get along with the teachers.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are wonderful. The opportunities are limited. Some buildings could be updated.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I notice that this campus is very safe and that there is never a question that every detail is watched.

    Bang for the buck

    I definately feel that the education that I received through this school will be something that sticks with me. I know that the technilogical part of it is very useful and will take me far in my future endeavors.

    What to do for fun

    I have not become involved in the extra curricular activities offered at OSUIT. From my mail that is sent from the scholl though, I am made fully aware that there is a very involved school life and many fun things available to the students and the public.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten here, so I cannot give you a statement. I am sure it would be good. This school offers alot to its students.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived on campus so I honesly cannot answer this.I am unaware of what is offered. I have never looked into on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    You can succeed if you put in the time and effort. There is no reason at a school like this that you cannot reach your goals.The courses are not difficult if you follow what is outlined for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really know what it is that you want to pursue and talk with the people there, ask questions; more than likely you will get an answer. Be prepared for anything and everything and have a plan B.

    In three sentences

    This school offers many opportunities to the students. The resources are there if you choose to use them and there is support to answer your questions. The teachers are very throrough in thei explanations and in their syllabus for what is expected from the students .

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good police on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    For the most part. Good instructors.

    What to do for fun

    I spend time with my wife. Read books. Go to park and play frizby golf.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decently good

    Dorm Life

    I dont live on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused. Dont take short cuts. Get plenty of sleep. And be friendly and smile and trust in God he will get you through any thing if you depend on him.

    In three sentences

    Is a small campus with a lot of opportunity that can be reached if you commit your self to doing what you want to do. Never giving up no matter how hard it looks.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not witnessed a single crime yet, and I feel very safe every day and night. Very heavy cop presence, but they are very nice to talk to.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs require payment to join, but they take trips all around the U.S.

    Great for these types of students

    Good ol' country boys. This school has plenty of them. Not my type, but it takes all kinds.

    Bang for the buck

    The staff are fairly underwhelming, but I suppose they get the job done. I prefer the instructors.

    What to do for fun

    Every common area has some form of entertainment, be it a television or pool table. There are also plenty of game nights, one every Friday night where lots of cool people get together and get their game on.

    Food and Dining

    Meal plans are a bit expensive, however there is almost no reason to leave the campus unless you have the munchies after dark. The State Room provides fantastic gourmet food every week.

    Dorm Life

    The students can get a bit rowdy, but it's really not worth griping about. The dorms are all very clean and well looked after.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are enjoyable, and are always willing to help if you need it. The online system is the only real complaint I have, and it crashed multiple times during my first few weeks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to push yourself. These teachers won't go easy on you, but they teach you what you need to know very well. Don't be scared, they are all very approachable. Just make sure you stay on top of your financial situation every day.

    In three sentences

    The teachers here always let you know when work is due, but the online service, D2L, is pretty messy and confusing. Campus is very safe and classes are easy to get to simply by walking. The academic services/admissions workers leave at 4:30 every school day and the campus is basically dead on weekends.

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are actually members of the Okmulgee police force.

    Bang for the buck

    This campus accepts more military credits than most colleges in the state of Oklahoma.

    What to do for fun

    Free movie nights every two weeks, game nights every friday night, and various campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food has severely declined since my first term.

    Dorm Life

    The apartments are fairly nice. You have a kitchen, so you have the option for using a smaller meal plan.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are challenging, yet others are absurdly easy; it all depends on the instructor.

    In three sentences

    Small class sizes. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice campus.