Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Oklahoma Wesleyan University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    check this collage out

  • 05/07/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who have never lived away from their parents - a good transition school. Also great for christian minded students

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus - the school's website does not do justice for the campus

  • 05/13/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hipsters or want to be hipsters. Saw a lot of those on campus. Or students who wish to be future pastors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really think about your decision before you go. Great students that are nice, and awesome professors. However plenty of negatives because of the size, and not much to do outside of class.

    Academic Rigor

    The business professors do know their stuff; However being from a small school you might be rolling the dice. Not to much accreditation of your degree especially if there are only 500 students living on campus; but then again I transferred.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus locks down every night at 2am. Around the clock monitoring is enforced for our safety, as well as a curfew.

    Greek Life

    The school doesn't offer any sororities or fraternities that I know about.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school offers every sport imaginable plus many church-affiliated groups. It is a great opportunity to get involved. Intramurals are also very competitive and fun for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus we have a fun game called slap-stick. The more people you tag during the week, the closer you get to winning $50 (for free).

    Bang for the buck

    Oklahoma Wesleyan introduces you to what you will experience in the real world as a Christian. Each program implements biblical truths into what you will encounter in the work force, no matter what your major is. Once you identify these certain truths, you will know how to respond in a Christ-like manner while doing your job effectively.

    What to do for fun

    Bartlesville is a small town but it has everything any other city has: movie theater, mall, stores, parks, plenty of churches, community groups, downtown recreation center, public library etc. Tulsa is only forty minutes away, and groups of students usually have a night out in the city for fun.

    Food and Dining

    On campus, the school offers a cafeteria with various meal plans. Each meal plan is created to suite any student, depending on how many meals they plan to eat during the week.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make it. If you want a small, quiet life, then you can always get away by going into your room. However, most of the housing is apartment/dorm style so you have the opportunity to connect with plenty of people and make life-long relationships.

    Academic Rigor

    Nursing is arguably the most rigorous course on Oklahoma Wesleyan's campus. The work you put in over the 4 years will prepare you for a career anywhere in the nursing field. The hard work is definitely worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that you schedule a visit of our campus so you can get a feel of the atmosphere for yourself. If you know what you want to major in, set up an appointment with a staff member that works in that specific program.

    In three sentences

    At first glance, Oklahoma Wesleyan seems like any other typical small college. However, Oklahoma Wesleyan has a wonderful nursing staff that intentionally dedicates their time toward students. Not only do the teachers invest time in my education, but they also take time to become familiar with me as an individual.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out, go to sporting events, or play sports for fun

    Food and Dining

    Could definitely be better, but pretty standard for cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    Fun but there also places you can get away for studies.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are not ridiculous with the amount of work, but they do expect you to do work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to make friends and get out of your comfort zone.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed Oklahoma Wesleyan a great deal since being here. The professors are great along with the atmosphere. I can't imagine anywhere else being a better fit for me

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    at okwu there are many collegiate sports to take part in such as soccer, golf, basketball, track and field, cross country, baseball, softball, and tennis. but if you are not interested in playing intercollegiate sports, then intramural sports are also offered. there are also many activities going on for students to take part in such as school plays, student governments, school clubs, etc. with that said, the best way to have fun is to make friends and go out.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria at oklahoma wesleyan is better than high school cafeterias for sure, but it is a bit less than average compared to many universities in the area. however, it is getting better and the staff on hand are always taking reviews and recommendations to make the experience a better one.

    Dorm Life

    the living arrangements at okwu are good. the quality of the rooms is a little behind, however the experience is a good one if you can embrace your hall and stay involved. i've gained many memories from my first few semesters on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    okwu has great academic programs stretching from the school of nursing for prospective nurses and pre-medical majors to pastoral ministries and even sports science majors such as the exercise science program. the professors at okwu are top notch, being voted the best in the country by cbs money watch.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are looking to attend okwu, make sure you are ready for a small-school environment. it can be tough for those who are used to a larger area, but with time and effort it can be a plus.

    In three sentences

    oklahoma wesleyan university is the perfect school for somebody who is looking to make close friends for life. the teachers are very knowledgeable and experienced, as well as qualified (voted the best in the country by cbs money watch). the education programs offered are plentiful and the strong christian environment is a plus, even to those who may not be.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Really safe, there has never been any incidents plus its a open campus and the cops sometimes paroose through and check things out. They are friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    So much to do but no football :(

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is curfew one weekdays its 12:30 and weekends its 2:00 a.m. but with curfew you find you get so much more done and actually get good sleep. Makes it harder to miss class and to fail! It keeps you disciplined and its very beneficial. I was upset at first but Its such a blessing now. If I was at a regular campus I would probably be failing by now.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a little pricey but I wouldnt want to go anywhere after being here.

    What to do for fun

    Intermurals, bible studies, all types of campus wide activties put on for the students, one on one time with professors, raquetball, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Every campus has their flaws but you dont get the genuine people and relationships here on this smaller campus like other campuses. I know everyone and they are all so caring!

    In three sentences

    A great school where Jesus is Lord. We are loving, caring people who want to come together as a community and as family. We care!

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    OKWU has a nightly curfew with security guards that lock the buildings at curfew. They continue to make rounds throughout the night.

    Greek Life

    OKWU does not have any sororities or fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports are a big deal at OKWU and it is fun to go and support the different teams. We also have intramural sports, a drama program, social life committee and many opportunities for student leadership.

    Great for these types of students

    People that like small schools/cities. If you get involved you will know (or at least recognize) everyone on campus and have many opportunities to make friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    OKWU has a closed dorm policy. Guys and girls are not allowed into the opposite genders dorms except on Sunday and Thursday afternoon/evenings.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is definitely expensive but it is worth it. Knowing that people actually care about you makes a world of difference. Ultimately though, the experience that you have at this school all depends on what you put into it. Some people have a terrible time (and they would at any school), because they just sit in their room and don't make an effort to get to know people or make friends, but there are also so many people that are successful here.

    What to do for fun

    Bartlesville doesn't have a lot to offer for fun activities, but we are only about 45 minutes away from Tulsa which offers endless activities. On a majority of weekends the school will plan fun events for students to do. People play a lot of games and watch movies on the weekends. There is always somebody doing something, you just have to be willing to be creative and get involved. Some people get bored, but it really depends on what you put into it and if you are willing to leave your room and hang out with people and make friends or not.

    Food and Dining

    If you like cereal, salads, and sandwiches you will love our cafeteria! Outside of that the meals are hit and miss. They have gotten better over the last year but there is always room for improvement. On special occasions or student appreciation nights the food is really good but on a day to day basis you can tell it is definitely a cafeteria. The food is probably the biggest downfall of the school.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the buildings (especially for freshman girls) are old and the rooms are smaller than a lot of campuses, but the atmosphere in the dorms is fun and conducive to building friendships. I have enjoyed living in the dorms even though they make for a tight fit! OKWU also has campus houses that are right across the street from the actual campus that students can live in after their freshman year.

    Academic Rigor

    So far I have mostly just taken general education classes, but even those have been challenging. I have learned a lot from the professors here. The biggest classes at OKWU (generally freshman classes) have about 50 people-tiny compared to public schools. Normal class sizes generally run around 20-25 people or less. It is nice because many of the professors actually take the time to get to know you and they care about your personal well-being both in and outside of their class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Paperwork is probably the biggest struggle you will have to deal with here. Take initiative in finding answers to questions you have and in being sure to get all of the right paperwork filled out. I would also recommend keeping copies of any important documents that you submit for your record in case there are any questions later.

    In three sentences

    OKWU's biggest focus is the Christian spirituality: it is a Christ-centered university that puts an emphasis on being educated well in a Christian environment. The professors are wonderful, putting in extra time to actually get to know their students; you can tell that they care about you. The people here are very friendly and if you are willing to put forth the effort it is easy to make friends.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a little extreme for me. We are under a strictly enforced curfew. They lock the dorms so we cant get in past curfew. Other than that not to safe since it is an open campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't believe there are any clubs available. There are sports activities and school functions.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Tulsa for Big entertainment. Bowling and fishing are available locally. Attending sports events.

    Food and Dining

    To be honest the food starts of Great at the beginning of the year. But as the year goes by the food starts to be unbearable to eat. Its not what i expected especially for what i have to pay.

    Dorm Life

    It all depends on which dorms you live in. For the most part they are okay. Not very new or as sanitary as i would like.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are excellent. They have specific plans for each degree.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school to attend for academics, several teachers are nationally ranked. The athletic programs are amazing. This school also provides a way to stay or grow closer to God.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on on campus. All you have to do is walk outside or find a bulletin board to see what's going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit! See for yourself! This place is amazing!

    In three sentences

    The best school in the country! The professors are top notch and they truly care about you. The school is in an atmosphere that is comfortable and enjoyable for everyone.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus has a coffee house, a game room, and an open gym that are almost always available to use. There are also plenty of athletic events to see throughout the entire year, both on and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is generally very good, and the cafeteria offers a wide variety of foods. If you have a special diet (vegetarian, gluten-free, etc), the staff will help cater to those needs in any way they can.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are the center of community interactions. Everyone always has their doors open for others to come in and visit at any time.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes are challenging, but not so hard that you dread going to class. The professors are passionate about what they teach, and keep you interested in the subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to make friends. Because the campus is smaller, everyone knows everyone and you will meet nearly everyone within the first week.

    In three sentences

    OKWU is a smaller school, and is an extremely community-driven school. Christ is the center of everything and the students have a real passion for sharing the truth of Jesus Christ, no matter their major. This school has an atmosphere that makes you want to come back each fall.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe. The campus has curfew that begins at 2am on the weekends and 12:30am on the weekdays. The Bartlesville police are constantly patrolling the campus and there is campus security.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's all kinds of clubs at Oklahoma Wesleyan University. Examples would be: fencing, soccer,basketball,baseball,tennis,racquetball, extreme frisbee, track, etc..

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year the college has several different traditions going on. The most popular is called Slap-Stick. Its a campus wide game that you sign up for. Another Tradition is midnight madness which is the jump-start to basketball season.

    What to do for fun

    The school always has fun activities going on and if your not much into school functions then Bartlesville has tons of stuff to do. Bartlesville has a bowling alley, a go-cart place, a state park, a mall, a movie theatre and if none of those interest you then Tulsa is only 45 mins away.

    Food and Dining

    the food is decent its just like any other colleges dining quarters. its all you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are so much fun! It gives you a chance to interact with other students and meet life long friends!!

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors are absolutely AWESOME!! They are very involved with making sure their students learn to the best of their abilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a great place to focus on your education and also become closer to God, Oklahoma Wesleyan is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Wesleyan University is wonderful place to get your education. Not only have I learned so much about my future career but I've also learned a lot about life. This University is a great place to meet friends and become closer to God

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who love the closeness of a small school but a variety of students and programs found at large places athletes; we have great programs and support for everything we do

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a individually owned and student ran coffee house that has great coffee drink, smoothies and chia lattes. it is the place to gather with friends and you don't have to purchase to hand or play one of their large variety of board games

    What to do for fun

    The school has many clubs and of course a thriving Christian based spiritual life and bible groups. they also have cook outs at the sporting events and great support for the teams.

    Food and Dining

    The price for eating is set at 15 a day (4.75 breafast 5 lunch 5.25 dinner) and can cost less if you buy a full year meal plan. the food is a simple but good buffet with large salad bar sandwich bar 2 rotation bars and a grill that makes burgers fries and chicken stripe to order. over all it is a really nice set up and good food especially for college

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are kept up well and do not smell like most college dorms. They also do not get the harsh mix of body odor and old perfume by the end of year since we have no coed dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers have high expectations, bu they are also will to help the students meet those expectations even if it means a little extra time on the side. or if you cannot go to the teacher there is a great peer based school ran homework center for free anytime

    Tips for prospective students

    Try not to take all your freshman and Gen Ed classes the first two years, they make a nice break from upper division courses to help you slow down the last few years

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Because i have food allergies, this is a difficult area to rate. I advise those with food allergies to be prepared to make a lot of their own meals.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. People are usually respectful of the quite hours. Dorms are generally kept clean!

    Academic Rigor

    I gave this four stars because while this is a very academically challenging university, the professors are always willing to help.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is run by our own security and they do nightly perimeter checks, I always feel at my safest!

    Clubs and Activities

    The weekley activities are all very fun and enjoyable to participate in!

    Great for these types of students

    This isn't just a school for christians, any denomination and any person willing to follow and worship in the word of God is accepted here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Anything unusual that doesn't appeal naturally to the eye is something I have yet to suspect, I love everything about Oklahoma Wesleyan!

    What to do for fun

    OKWU provides many activites weekly that keep us pretty occupide! From speed dating, flag football, ultimate frisbee, sports events, altars, and many many more!

    Food and Dining

    The dining commons provide nothing but the best of foods. They supply a variety of foods that are satisfying to anyone and everyone!

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus in the dorms is very exciting. Something new happens every week and the involving is great for meeting new people. We have tons of activities we participate in, from floor parties to bible studie parties, it really is an amazing experience here on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic wise, every student here is encouraged by all staff on campus to be the best they can be. Every person here strives for goals and no dream here is silly, everyone is highly encouraged!

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus life is nothing but amazing. Students, professors, and the community within are all very encouraging and helpful mentors. I've never had professors who take time out of their busy schedules to make sure I get the grade I want, they all strive us to be our best.

    In three sentences

    A God centered community. Everything is centered within a promising educational atmosphere through the word of God. No dreams are unattainable here at Oklahoma Wesleyan University.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Even though OKWU is a private school, their prices are close (per hour) to the major universities in the state.

    What to do for fun

    It is my understanding that there are different activities on campus from laying basketball to lifting weights. I have heard of students participating in scavenger hunts and there are plenty of activities to do in town. Tulsa is a short drive to the south where one can attend sporting events and concerts.

    Food and Dining

    I have been told that the on campus dining facility is a great atmosphere and has a variety of food choices. Of course there are an abundance of places to eat off campus, even the place for the famous gravy over all hamburger!

    Dorm Life

    Although I do not live on campus, I have heard that the accommodations are good and well suited for on campus life.

    Academic Rigor

    OKWU is based on Christian faith and allows that faith to serve as a foundation for any classes or degrees. The professors are willing to help but encourage the student to think and apply themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any student, regardless of age, should remember that the only dumb question is the one that is not asked. Make a list of questions you have, whether is be tuition costs, housing, schedules, etc. You should always get things in writing or in print. This helps to assure that you know exactly what you will need to graduate, no hidden or unexpected glitches.

    In three sentences

    The staff cares and will expend countless efforts to make sure your application process is smooth. The care doesn't end there. The staff, as a whole, is available to help with any problems or questions.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    A student who wants to be part of a community and not just be in the crowd of a large campus. A student who is not sure of their purpose and wants to be around those who encourage that Jesus is the way.

    Bang for the buck

    I play sports and I have learned that the coaches are not only concern about my skills in basketball but also about me becoming a success in society as a young Christian man in my career.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on especially the first week of school. There are ministry, sports, and social activities available.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is also great so much better than microwave dinners.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life brings on new friendships. The resident assistants are great when you need help.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are always available to help you. In 2012 Oklahoma Wesleyan was ranked number 10 in the West Regional College.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is always a bigger picture than the one you see in the beginning. There is always someone to help you if you need it so you are never alone. Oklahoma Wesleyan is more like a community.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Wesleyan is a great school to attend if you are looking for a great academic program. Oklahoma Wesleyan has a good student professor ratio that allows the student to get more assistance with their study. Oklahoma Wesleyan also helps you to understand your purpose in life with a Christian atmosphere.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You do not have to worry about security.

    Greek Life

    You will have to attend and join the festivities.

    Clubs and Activities

    I personally have not joined any clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student that wants the Christian environment, as well as a learning environment will want to attend Oklahoma Wesleyan.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am a night student and I do not know of any traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want excellent instructors for your education, then Oklahoma Wesleyan will be your first choice for a college education.

    What to do for fun

    You can visit a museum, or go for a drive out on the prairie .

    Food and Dining

    Food is supposed to be fantastic.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm. Although I had a neice that lived in the dorms and she enjoyed her stay.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors expect you to complete your assignments in time, but they also give you some extra time if yu need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must be prepared to receive the word of God!

    In three sentences

    I have attended another university and I believe that Oklahoma Wesleyan has better instructors. Oklahoma Wesleyan gives more moral suport if you have a problem. This Christian university truly adheres to a Christian standard of teaching.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never once felt unsafe on this campus. It is very safe.

    What to do for fun

    Almost every weekend the school provides an activity for all students to attend if they would like. These include things such as ice skating, broom ball, trivia night, broom ball, etc..

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has lots of selection and provides the needs of the students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are there to create community. It is so easy to get to know people in the dorms just by the way they are set up.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors have been ranked by CBS as the top in the nation. They not only challenge you to see how much and how far you can go academically, but they care about how you are doing personally. They take time to meet with their students one and one, and really take the time to invest in their lives.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for lots of scholarships. Because it is a private christian school, it is very expensive. But, it is definitely worth the price.

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Wesleyan feels like home. The community is amazing, the professors are incredible, and the whole college experience is one that you won't find elsewhere. I have been so blessed to attend this school.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We dont have a greek life due to the fact that it is a private school.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for the students who want the best education they can possibly get. Athletes would also love this school. The men's and women's soccer teams are top-notch. the baseball and softball teams are also unbelievably talented. The basketball teams both went to the national tournament last year. The sports teams at this school are very tight-knit and they watch each others backs like family.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have chapel every Wednesday and Friday at 10. Most students are not used to that. You may hate it at first but once you really pay attention and give it a chance, you'll find yourself really enjoying it.

    What to do for fun

    The on-campus life is awesome. They are always doing something fun in order to promote friendships and to make you feel like you belong.

    Tips for prospective students

    I know the costs may be high, but the education you receive here will help you in more ways than you are probably expecting. You will make friends at this school who don't only care about you but they also care about your spiritual well-being

    In three sentences

    Oklahoma Wesleyan is an amazing school with teachers who take it upon themselves to help you in any way they can. This institution isn't a place where you are overlooked. Every member of this faculty goes above and beyond what they have to in order to ensure your success.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Can't really rate this. Adult student living off-campus

    Academic Rigor

    Some instructors were a little lax on requirements of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research cost of various programs and what fits you.

    In three sentences

    Great spiritual emphasis integrated in the program. Very accessible in rural communities--bring program to area facilities. Tends to be a little pricey.