Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Olivet College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/01/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Student that love to learn and want to teach others what they know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just apply and see what happens.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm hoping that I can get all the money (scholarships) that I can.

    Will enjoy being here

    I know I will enjoy myself. From what I hear, this college is a great school in a great city

    Will learn a lot

    I think that I will. When I do apply and get in, I expect to be taught more than what I know.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Longboard. Go to east lansing!

    Food and Dining

    The KC or Kirk Center holds the cafeteria. It serves wonderful foods. The company is Chartwells

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. The shiperd hall is air conditioned and it is set up to be very accompanying. it is a suitemaite set up.

    Academic Rigor

    They have exactly what i want in terms of classes and my major i plan to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    it may be a small small campus, but if you dont like huge crowds, this is the place for you. I love how everything is so close.

    In three sentences

    I think the campus is great. All the staff members are open to see you whenever you need. The dorms are a perfect size.

  • 07/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would say great for most students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can go see the college and talk to the teachers not just administration. Talk to the department that you are interested in joining.

    Bang for the buck

    Along with the normal grants and loans from the state different departments have some of there own to help their students out.

    Am enjoying being here

    The college has student activities the rang to cover all personalities you just have to get up and find it. If you don't find one they are accommodating about letting you start one of your own.

    Am learning a lot

    I find that the if you try your best the teachers will try their best to help you learn the most that you can.

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    there are many options for food on olivet's campus. whether you're craving a cheeseburger and fries, or just all-you-can-eat buffet food, there's something here for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life in olivet is incredible, from my experience. housing tends to do a great job of picking roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on your professors, academics can be rigorous. however, every single professor wants their students to succeed and is willing to help them out in any way possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    coming to olivet, be prepared to be part of a family-like environment. the entire community of olivet is welcoming, and you'll be sure to get waves and smiles from strangers. at olivet, everyone is friends.

    In three sentences

    olivet has a beautiful campus, along with incredible faculty. individual attention is their main focus, as well as the student's success. there isn't a better place to be.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very friendly and very present.

    Greek Life

    The Greek sororities and fraternities are huge on campus, and some people are very divided into their certain Greek clicks.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus and it is easy to start one if you haven't found one that you want to join.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're into sports or parting then this is the place for you, if not, then it might be hard for you to feel comfortable here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a midnight breakfast to kick off the year for the campus that is always very fun.

    Bang for the buck

    If you live near by you get a really great discount, and they offer student loans as well, so it ends up being really cheap.

    What to do for fun

    The town of Olivet is really small, so if you're looking for something fun to do you leave and go into Lansing or Charlotte. A lot of people have parties on campus though if that's what you're into.

    Food and Dining

    For campus food, the food is usually pretty good. There is also lots of places that are open through out the day, such as the coffee carts, and the cafe's in the library and by the bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on the dorm that you are in, some dorms are stricter than others, and the heat and water goes out a lot, but usually comes back right away.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors will push you harder than others, but you will definitely learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Campus visit before you decide, and get involved on campus.

    In three sentences

    Like all colleges, it has it's good and it's bad. This is a good college is you want to play sports. The professors and staff are very helpful and you will get a large financial break if you live close to the college.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a small learning environment and who want more help from teachers who will be available to satisfy your needs.

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely more challenging than a community college/high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try new things, go out for a sport or some type of intramural team. Don't be afraid to be afraid to make new friends or to come out of your comfort zone. Attending Olivet is a new experience where you can start fresh and go into it with a new you.

    In three sentences

    Olivet College is a small private school that has a simple campus to maneuver through. Any one who attends Olivet will know everyone and the teachers will know you by your first name instead of a number. It is a safe environment for students and the staff will make you feel right at home.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Brand new sports facility, that is absolutely gorgeous!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who need a more personal education. Students who want to be known by their professor would be perfect here!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is a decent size, and the food was good.

    Dorm Life

    Since the campus is so small, the dorms are right next to the building containing classes. You can wake up 2 minutes before your 8am class and be there on time! Dorms are cozy and nice, and there are also fraternities/sororities available for you to pledge.

    In three sentences

    I recently visited this school, and the campus is so cute! I've never been somewhere where everyone is as genuinely nice as they are at Olivet. Definitely a favorite!

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is probably the highest security any campus has. The police and Campus Safety are always on the prowl.

    Greek Life

    Go Greeks(:

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of Inter mural sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Open, outgoing people will do great at Olivet College

    Bang for the buck

    Kind of pricey, but overall a nice school.

    What to do for fun

    Absolutely nothing around campus unless you have a car to drive.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend getting involved in sports and doing many activities. Thats how you will meet most of your friends and it will help adjusting to school and classes well.

    In three sentences

    Olivet definitely has its ups and downs. It is a very small campus so everyone knows everyone else's business, but its very nice because you know everyone and you are guaranteed to see at least one familiar face daily.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    pretty good with getting done things

    Clubs and Activities

    all fun MUST join

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i dont do much

    What to do for fun

    i play ball. run the track, go to friends dorm

    Food and Dining

    love the food

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focused

    In three sentences

    fun environmental community. it is very quiet. and nice and neat.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe even at night. However, if students do not feel safe they can call campus safety and be escorted anywhere in the college.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life in Olivet College is full of history. It is the home of the first sorority in the whole Continental U.S.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not only does the college have clubs for each department but it also offers clubs outside of the departments.

    Great for these types of students

    The college is highly accepting to any type of students of any race.

    Bang for the buck

    Each department in the college is different. In my opinion the science program is a great department and the money the students pay is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I am highly involved in clubs throughout the school and I try to socialize with students from the college.

    Food and Dining

    The college may not have the best food according to the students, but it does provide the students with its healthiest food sources.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is just like any other college or university.

    Academic Rigor

    The Science Department of the college has a good team of professors who care about the learning of the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to the size of the college, it may be small but you can gain a lot from the excellent professors it has.

    In three sentences

    Olivet College is a small school full of great potential. It has a lot to give to its students. Those who learn to cope with the size of the college learn to appreciate it as a whole.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The sporting events are a lot of fun. Also, the activities that Student Life puts on are a good way to meet people on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus life is what you make it. If you sit around in your room the whole time, college is going to be boring, but if you go out and make friends and get to know people, college will be a fun experience.

    In three sentences

    The small classes make learning easier. The teachers are willing to work with students one on one. The campus is small so students won't have a major shock because of the campus size.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theater in the bottom of the library, and student life puts on all kinds of events for students.

    Food and Dining

    I have also ate in the cafeteria over 3 times. The food was delicious and the atmosphere in the KC is amazing. It is being renovated right now so it will be even better by fall!

    Dorm Life

    I have seen the dorm halls over 3 times, and each time doors were propped open and people were chatting through the halls. It was comforting to see how comfortable everyone was.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that I witnessed are very challenging, although all instructors are open for any questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. You'll know by the atmosphere if you should attend.

    In three sentences

    A small college with a beautiful campus. You can tell the faculty at this college do all they can to assist the students. The students are very diverse, as you can tell just walking through the campus.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Text alerts and email notifications. They are pretty handy people.

    Greek Life

    Lots of greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are religious or you are looking to go into the insurance, criminal justice, or art fields.

    Bang for the buck

    I pay almost 32,000 dollars a year and that's not including textbooks. I don't feel like I got enough for my money.

    What to do for fun

    There are Z-Box and Zumba classes every week, they do cash prize games in the auditorium every semester and there are movie nights and s'mores every so often. Other than that, you have to go to battle creek or charlotte/lansing for anything else fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    Other than the soup and salad bar, there were not very healthy options that often. They have pizza every night and burgers once a week. They also have pasta every day. The cafeteria did not have good accessibility at all times of the day and I had to go grocery shopping in order to eat according to my own schedule which was disappointing because I was paying a lot for a meal plan. There was also not enough space for everyone to sit. This fall they are supposed to have better hours and they are renovating the cafeteria so hopefully that will help, but we will see. There are a lot of places to get coffee and snacks on campus as well as grab and go lunches but heir hours are weird.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are small but then again what dorms aren't small. The beds in the all girls dorm hall were too tall to get in without using a chair and I am 5'7. There is a lot of closet space. The bathrooms were out of order half of the time and the power goes out a lot so make sure you have battery powered things.

    Academic Rigor

    only known for a couple of their fields and it is a liberal arts college so you have to write a lot of lengthy papers and know what you are doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come to this school if you do not like writing papers or if you tend to take things that people say personally. Some of the professors seem a little off sometimes and may say things that would tick most people off.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice and small campus. The cafeteria food is alright. Good gym options.