Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Olympic College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Olympic will be fantastic for outgoing students, and ones that are interested in discussion and debate more than simply taking notes! I recommend Olympic to anyone unsure of their major, as you'll have the ability to explore various options without the outrageous costs of other schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely talk to counselors when applying for your courses, I've known plenty of people who overlook this option and end up having to take extra courses in the long run due to poor course planning! I don't recommend starting out with distance learning, it's easy to get behind or confused when you don't meet the teacher face to face. Try to take traditional classes, if at all possible!

    Bang for the buck

    For the level of education you're getting, it's practically a steal. As much as I wish our post - secondary schooling was free, it's only getting more and more expensive. Olympic offers courses at a fairly reasonable price, based on credit(five credit courses typically run around 425-ish). For a full time student, it typically comes out to 5,000USD annually, which is a bargain! In this case, the price does not reflect the quality - So don't overlook Olympic.

    Am enjoying being here

    I think Olympic College has a friendly unpretentious atmosphere, with a genuinely happy faculty. It may only be a community college, but it's been a fantastic experience all in all. I only wish they had more variety of courses at every branch. Commuting to Bremerton for courses can be a pain!

    Am learning a lot

    All of the teachers I've had the pleasure of knowing at this particular school have been extremely helpful and knowledgeable on their subject. Many relate topics we're learning with real world issues, encourage debates and utilise a variety of teaching methods.

  • 12/05/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Proactive students! Olympic College is a great place for most people but I'd say it is even greater for someone who is proactive. Don't just let college pass by, create your own success and help motivate others as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the advisers! They are there for a reason and appointments are really easy to make, so don't let that be the excuse for you trying to set up your schedule alone or possibly missing deadlines! Also, in the career center you can use their computers to access information exclusive to OC that you couldn't access at home in helping you to find career interests, information on other colleges and other important information. One final suggestion, O.C. offers many distance learning classes if you are having a hard time fitting your schedule the way you need it to!

    Bang for the buck

    This is the best part about Olympic College! For a good education (depending on how much you put into it!) you get it at an even better price. As compared to going directly into a 4 year university, I would HIGHLY recommend going to O.C. for a few of the general classes, or better yet the first two years THEN transferring. Even if you plan at stopping at an Associates degree, O.C. is definitely a bang for the buck and yet will still provide you with the resources you need to be successful.

    Am enjoying being here

    How much you enjoy it here depends on how willing you are to meet new people, be open minded, and the attitude you bring to the college. The environment at Olympic College is friendly and there are often events held in the student center that offer a chance for you to get involved and meet others. The more involved you get, the more you will enjoy it at Olympic College.

    Am learning a lot

    Maybe I have just gotten lucky with my choice of professors, but Olympic College has provided (for the most part) instructors that try their best to connect with the students. Most teachers are willing to meet with you if you need extra help understanding the material and take advantage of new technology that can help with different learning styles. However, what you get out of it strongly correlates with the amount of effort put into studying, going to class, etc. Overall, a great education.

  • 06/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, most transferring, and associate degree students. Some high school students may not be aware of the Running Start program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early, apply for financial aid early, set an appt. with your adviser ASAP.

    Bang for the buck

    Well, tuition is going up this Fall. We dread the increase, but the State is doing what they can with the Market Place suffering in our current repression. We as students just have to be very money conscious.

    Am enjoying being here

    The buildings are contemporary in style, very New Generation. New construction going on, could be a distraction for some students, but I see it as much needed upgrades to the campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The atmosphere is very open and relaxed. No pressures for content. there is a very even flow with the course loads, and lots of time to prepare for the next class.

  • 08/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Olympic College is great for students looking to acquire certificates or an associates degree in a specific field, or would like to learn a central skill for a field of interest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know who your adviser is immediately and know what you want to shoot for because it can be easy to take the wrong class if your not sure. Also, if your classes are also required for certificates in the same field, don't be afraid to stray from your main degree for those certificates. Lastly, every class is not offered every quarter so prepare for this as well.

    Bang for the buck

    About 500 dollars a class may sound like a lot, but considering how many classes you take per quarter, it turns out to be a heck of a deal considering the quality of education you are getting. Also, given the courses I was taking at my previous college for about 3 grand a quarter plus materials, their community college counterparts for half the money for 3 classes, I felt like I was getting the same quality education. Only downer is that course materials are not calculated into class cost and occasionally, books will not even be cracked open so register early and get materials immediately if your looking to get discounted books.

    Am enjoying being here

    Finding the right classes you need is very simple and campuses are very conveniently located, with 3 locations in Poulsbo, Bremerton, and Shelton. However, not all classes are taught at every location so back and forth travel from campus to campus is virtually a must. I didn't find this to be an intrusive factor for me though.

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the teachers are very good at teaching their subjects. unfortunately, there are a few that do a less than satisfactory job, based on course relevance, knowledge of said subject, and student interaction.

  • 10/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    online students, nurse students, transfer students

    Tips for prospective students

    1. get to know classmates, never know when your going to be sick 2. use the tutoring centers! it helps greatly! 3. some teachers are strict on attendance and some aren't, don't find out when it's to late. 4. i would get books as soon as possible! the lines are long on the first week of school!

    Bang for the buck

    it does save you money when you transfer to another school

    Am enjoying being here

    A lot of new people from different

    Academic Rigor

    there are a vast amount of subjects and the people are great.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never had an issue with feeling unsafe at these campuses. they have great campus security staff who are there for you and to keep the campus's in a safe working environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are always clubs going and there are a large range of club options. each campus has at least one club going at a time so if you are looking to get involved that way you are most likely going to find the right club for your interests.

    What to do for fun

    both bremerton and poulsbo campuses are located near the local hots spots. there are movie theatres near both campuses. there are parks and recerational possibilities near both campuses. on campus in bremerton there is a gym, and they often have different events going on for the students to attend either for free or a discounted price. poulsbo occasionally has events too attend as well, but it is a much smaller campus and cannot do as much. once you are an oc student though you can participate in all the different things at any oc campus.

    Food and Dining

    at the bremerton campus they have a food court and student store for your food and dining needs. they also have a coffee stand for your convenience. also you are located fairly close (5-10 min driving distance) from a large quantity of restaurants in bremerton. the poulsbo campus has a small student store with a couple food options, and a student area where you can eat or just chill and do homework. you are 5-10 mins driving distance from a couple different food options in poulsbo as well. i have not been to the shelton campus so i unfortunately have no information for you there.

    Dorm Life

    as far as i know there are not dorms available at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    some call oc a glorified high school, but i believe that they offer great classes and important information. this is a community college obviously so classes are not going to be as hard as a university or private college but this college does provide you with every opportunity to succeed in your classes. i am fairly certain that every class has a tutor available if you find yourself struggling. i believe that the academic effort you put in will determine the academic standing you come out with.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are thinking about going to olympic college i suggest you meet with one of their advisors. they know the ins and outs of college life on campus and are there to help. it is definitly important to meet with an advisor if you plan on transfering to a four year university or another school because only certain credits transfer.

    In three sentences

    oc is a great college for getting started on your college education. it offers a pretty good range of classes that are transferable or non-transferable, and has three campus locations. this college also offers a pretty good amount of extra-curricular activities that can appeal to a large range of personalities.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    since this is a commuter school, try and make a study group. it makes studying fun and supportive.

    Food and Dining

    the food is made by the culinary program. a simple burger and fries meal is good, but don't trust anything too fancy.

    Academic Rigor

    majority of the professors want the student to learn, not just pass the class. be prepared to study at home at least two hours for every class lecture.

    Tips for prospective students

    go to rateyourprofessors.com, its a great tool in finding the right professor for a course.

    In three sentences

    hit or miss on some professors. i like the science department staff. the school is mostly made up of caring people, professors, administrators and students.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around.

    Greek Life

    havent expirenced any

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many many clubs and activitys to join and everyone is always looking for a new addition.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    The people here are very friendly, the sports teams are always fun to watch. Ive never felt out of place here, its always been welcoming.

    What to do for fun

    There is a huge gym area, that's where i go in my spare time.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is very big and clean looking.

    Dorm Life

    I have not seen any dorm life, i live pretty close to the school so i am not able to rate this.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip I have is when starting you need to go in and make sure you get in contact with the right counselor for the career pathway you are going towards. if you don't they kind of bounce you around and it can get frustrating at times.

    In three sentences

    So far this school has been great with getting me in and heading down the right pathway. My teachers are very helpful and always willing to be available for extra help. Counselors are always checking in with me and giving me suggestions along the way.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hangout at teh bremer student center

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the tutor centers!

    In three sentences

    I love Olympic College, the small size gets me more attention in my lower level classes which will prepare me to move on next year. I like how the buildings are newer and feel high tech. the teachers are generally available and will help when needed.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    All food is good sometimes the prices will over exceed however, the food is in good conditions.

    Dorm Life

    I don't have a dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor classes are hard so I will give a 8 form s scale of 1 to 10

    Tips for prospective students

    I will recommend to new to new students to enroll to all clubs OC offer. To buy used books and to take advantage of all the college has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Olympic College is a professional and beautiful environment to be around. In comparison to other colleges I have attended Olympic College is top notch. In a scale of 1 to 10 I will rate Olympic College a 9.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students like to hand out at the student center, work out at the campus gym or play Frisbee on the lawn.

    Food and Dining

    The Student Center has a nice cafeteria that service a variety of dishes that are made right to order.

    Dorm Life

    Olympic College has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to make it to campus at least 20 minutes before classes start to find parking.

    In three sentences

    Olympic College has a nice campus that is well equipped. Classes are not over crowded, which is nice because it allows most students to ask questions through out class. The professors are friendly and make time for students outside of the class room for additional help.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    OC is in Bremerton, but almost linked to it is the town Silverdale, where the mall is and the movies, Or in downtown Bremerton it's only one ferry ride away to the big city, Seattle, where you can pretty much google anything you'd want to do there and could sure enough do it.

    Food and Dining

    there's cute mom and pop places in Bremerton. Just talk to the locals, Hi Los Cafe and Pho soup for instance. OC itself has a nice place to eat where there culinary students prepare meals.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know, I live in Port Orchard, out of town.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't changed but my knowledge of the world continues to grow going to this school. I've never had a lecture wasted on me where I didn't gain something insightful to inquire.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're worried about this place being a lower standard education because it's a community college, don't be, because this school seemingly provides everything they can for their students to gain everything possible out of their educational experience. They care.

    In three sentences

    Olympic College provides a more liberating experience than what anyone goes into this school is expecting. There's unlimited access to help for their students sucess in all areas. As well as the teachers have great and vast knowledge to share and distribute it humbly.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    In three sentences

    This school is great, the staff in all departments I've had to work with are super helpful! The Financial Aid department is difficult to work through, but the staff there is really good at helping the process go smoothly as possible. I'd give the school at least a 3.0

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    couponing and scholarship searching give the biggest bang for ones buck

    What to do for fun

    exercise and cook for family and friends

    Academic Rigor

    Covers many grounds and is challenging though all the help one may need to get through it all is all around you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick up the phone and call to make appointments to get your further education rolling.

    In three sentences

    The campus is easily laid out and easy to get around. The staff there is very helpful and making appointments is fast and easy. Their web sight is easy to navigate through as well.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are call boxes around the campuses and security on duty during hours.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    OC offers many different types of clubs, especially at the Bremerton campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The more classes you take, the cheaper it is, but classes with labs are pricey for a community-college feel.

    What to do for fun

    The West Sound is filled with outdoor activities and Seattle is only a short ferry ride away.

    Food and Dining

    Since there are several campuses, there are many different options for dining. I recommend The Loft in Poulsbo and Tony's pizza in Bremerton.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms that I am aware of.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a point to schedule an advising meeting as soon as possible to discuss an academic plan.

    In three sentences

    Olympic college offers easy, convenient locations in three separate cities. It has many different degree options that cater to each student's needs. Olympic.edu is a fully-developed, professional website that allows for online registration, transcripts, and grades, among other comprehensive tools.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although the campus itself is a safe place, the city of Bremerton have issues with crime. Theft occurs often on the campus, I know this based on classmates who have had their things stolen. There have been issues with safety in the past.

    Clubs and Activities

    The student president at Olympic College is exceptional and there always seem to be a wide variety of activities going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are fresh out of high school and are not currently attending college should definitely consider going to Olympic College in order begin their future.

    What to do for fun

    Bremerton is simply a ferry ride away from Seattle, and Seattle is a wonderful and amazing city. Bremerton features multiple venues for music shows and concerts. There are art halls and many places to shop.

    Food and Dining

    The student store at Olympic College features anything you could possibly want, however, it is definitely over-priced. The culinary department serves different dishes every day for lunch as well, and they are great.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As previously mentioned, I have been attending Olympic College for quite some time and I have really enjoyed my professors. Because Bremerton is home to the Shipyard, a lot of Navy students who are returning to school happened to be in classes. Classes are very competative.

    Tips for prospective students

    The faculty at Olympic College are really friendly and definitely welcome their students as much as possible. The web site is very helpful as well.

    In three sentences

    The city of Bremerton which homes Olympic College features hard-working individuals from all walks of life. The campus itself is relatively simple and small, although the resources which are provided for students are nice. For the past three years I have been currently enrolled at Olympic College, I have no once had 'bad' professor.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is moderately safe. Once in awhile there have been crimes closeby, but they're usually not necessarily associated specifically with the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs include Parkour/Freerunning, Gay-Straight Alliance, Pottery-making, Football, Role-Playing Games, Photography, and more. Each of these clubs hold various events at different times. The boards in the halls of the main HSS building do a good job of keeping students up-to-date with activities from clubs or events happening in the area.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like a balance of fun and academic rigor. Students that go here my also like to relax, as the foliage is beautiful and the park nearby is no exception.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are people who play Ultimate Frisbee on non-rainy days outside on the big, grassy field. If you like ultimate frisbee, you'll probably be excited!

    Bang for the buck

    While tuition is a bit higher than what I'm used to, Olympic College seems to use the money well. The teachers are good, the campus is lovely, and it feels like they don't attempt to nickel and dime you. Many of their services are free, and they even have free student appreciation days.

    What to do for fun

    The gym at Olympic College is pretty big, with equipment for everything from powerlifting to cardio. The college is also very close to Evergreen Park, which features beautiful foliage, a playground, and a few shops here and there to get a snack to eat while hanging out. There are also plenty of clubs to meet new people at; these include everything from Parkour/FreeRunning to Pottery to Photography.

    Food and Dining

    The student center features three ways you can get your food in varying prices ranges and portion amounts: the student store has snacks and other convenience store-like items, and the cafe has everyday diner-like foods and more fancy offerings from the culinary staff/students. In other words, you can get anything from a cheap cup of ramen noodles, to a burger, to a plate of braised beef with bacon-wrapped asparagus. Sometimes clubs even set up fund-raisers where they sell plates of food with a theme.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    From my experience, OC has not been overly-challenging, but I also haven't run into any teachers that make things too easy. As far as community colleges go, it's not the most academically prestigious, but you'll learn what you were meant to learn!

    Tips for prospective students

    Unfortunately, a few of the counselors aren't as helpful as they could be. If you feel like your counselor is not helping you, don't hesitate to switch counselors. Everyone needs different types of expertise!

    In three sentences

    Olympic College is a clean, cohesive, and warm campus. The majority of the teachers honestly want their students to succeed. Classes are not overloaded with students, and the students themselves are generally nice.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of safety patrol officers around daily and they will walk you to your car if you want.

    Greek Life

    None that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list.

    Great for these types of students

    Adults, high school students, all students in general who are looking to further education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school especially if you just want to get your Associate's Degree or take a few classes. Friendly instructor's and staff and people are always willing to help out.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do in this small town.

    Food and Dining

    Good food and Olympic College's own Chef's make food for the students at a small cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Not aware of any dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what subjects you want to take a month before you register so that you can get into the class you want. The classes are small so there are a limited number of students.

    In three sentences

    Small class sizes with more one on one instructor help. Friendly staff and instructors always willing to go the extra mile to help out. Many choices of subjects and classes for a small college.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For the tution prices at Olympic College you get a great education!

    What to do for fun

    They offer lots of fun classes to take in between your challenging courses. Such as Zumba dance!

    Food and Dining

    They have a deli in the bookstore that I have yet to try, but hear its great!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As always for some it may be harder than others to take on the college workload. But teachers dont try to pile on tons of homework for students like you would think. I was surprisd how managable the workload was.

    Tips for prospective students

    Olympic College offers a wide variety of great programs, the teachers care and help you as much as you need. Its great because its a good college that you can either choose to complete your prerequisites at, or get a full degree. Also a plus, they have a huge library that is great for studying or even just getting a nice book to sit down and read.

    In three sentences

    Olympic College is a great school for students planning to get a degree, they offer many, many programs. They have highly educated teachers that really want you to succeed in what you plan to do. The classes are limited to about thirty-five students per teacher which is nice because if you need some individual help, its not a problem.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Large parking lot, with more to come. Direct line with local transit. Campus security is noticeable.

    Greek Life

    None on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not involved any, but there are some.

    Great for these types of students

    transfer student to 4-years. Tech students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The dormitory is the nursing building and administrative services for HR, foundation and president.

    Bang for the buck

    Large diverse population attending the school due the ship yard and adults retraining.

    What to do for fun

    large field to play freesbie

    Food and Dining

    dining facility is a bistro, staffed by college students in the culinary programs.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    High expectations and instructors will lock the doors if you're late.

    Tips for prospective students

    The financial aid office has pull tickets to wait your turn. Expect at least a half hour to an hour when going. Make sure to get there before opening at 9 am to get a spot.

    In three sentences

    A campus that is easy to transverse. Employees who are knowledgeable and helpful. The campus is also centrally located in its town.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security guards that will escort you to your car! For the ladies who get creeped out at night by all the bremerton bums.

    What to do for fun

    Campus events, sports, become a part of the newspaper team.

    Food and Dining

    Meh.. the food is very pricey, and some of it tastes good. But don't take my word for it, I've only eaten their soup.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Science classes can be difficult. But then again, who ever said it was going to be easy? All classes I have taken there have been challenging and really have forced me to completely submerse myself in the materials, which is a good thing.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to get free food at any of the campus events, get there early! or else you will get half a meal or no food at all. Also, bookstore lines can get extremely long and the wait could take awhile. I suggest ordering your books online and picking them up on campus.

    In three sentences

    Students are friendly and easy to talk to. Professors and other faculty members are very helpful and interesting. The fitness center smells funky.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much. Go to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    A good start to get your AA. Anyone interested in a film career should think about a different college.

    In three sentences

    Mild. Tame. Controlled.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Garening, the beach and hiking

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough course but staff very supportive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and enjoy each minute of school.

    In three sentences

    Outstanding school and staff. I'm a student with Learning Disabilities and the school has answered all my educational needs.

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards and cameras on campus at all times.

    Greek Life

    I do not have time for any clubs,as I am a full time stuent.

    Clubs and Activities

    This college has a nice variety of clubs and activities.I haven t time but there are students that do.

    Great for these types of students

    All ages of students and ethnicity are welcome here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am new this year,but I just recently participated in the Halloween costume contest,it was great

    Bang for the buck

    For a community school this one is awesome.You can purchase used books and save some dough and have the option of renting books or having the school buy them back.

    What to do for fun

    There are tennis courts a block away,and an r/c track, library and brand new movie theater all within walking distance.Plus the Seattle ferry is also close if a weekend get away is more your style.

    Food and Dining

    The chefs at the college are actual culinary arts students and the food is spectacular.There is always a wide variety of yummy foods to chose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life seems ideal.I live close by and the dorms are well lit, with a seventies retro appeal.Students coming to and from them seem quite happy.

    Academic Rigor

    I started after raising a daughter and having a job,so I have the easy classes.The classes get harder as you progress up the ladder.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not over book your classes,you will get burnt out .If you cannot get the class time you want,show up anyway,diligence pays off,sooner or later you will get in.

    In three sentences

    Olympic College is an easy going,all inclusive school.This school makes you feel right at home.At Olympic College,whether it is a certification course,online,or two year degree with the ability to transfer,this school is the one for you.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Community college

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Awesome children's center for students/ teachers with children, this is where education classes are located with rooms to watch children for learning purposes.

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheap so I guess!

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, study

    Food and Dining

    Good, from what I've had. Made by culinary stupids, good selection and prices.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but like I said before Olympic College provides you with awesome resources such as; the library, the math center, the writing center and accounting help. You have everything you need to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a good community college but it is starting to be over populated, not my first choice.

    In three sentences

    Olympic College provides you with all the resources you need to succeed, it's up to you to use them. I love that OC is open late and I am able to sit in the library to do homework. This atmosphere allows me to get my work done without disturbances.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good campus security

    In three sentences

    Great community college, very friendly, down-to-earth people and teachers.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a numerous amounts of clubs, including sports, piano, singing, band, writing (newspaper), and even tutoring clubs. Theresa lot of gyms, and a mall, and other extra curricular activities available.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of different types of restaurants in Bremerton, also in Poulsbo and Port Orchard.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are strict with late work but grade farely. The professors enjoy when students come ask for help instead of just failing out of the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the Accuplacer and meet with an Advisor early, because classes fill up quickly. There are a lot of students attending Olympic College, so be sure to get to the school early to ensure a parking spot.

    In three sentences

    Olympic College has many opportunities to offer to people looking to study a broad variety of classes. The teachers are nice and are willing to work with students. The class sizes are not very large, and offer time for every student to ensure they are learning the material.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms, all off campus housing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be careful about online classes.

    In three sentences

    They are great for getting started, but long term are not great.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are constantly patrolling the school making sure everyone is safe and doing safe things.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs for those who are extracurricularly inclined.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to find what they love to do and what they want to do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The music building and art building form a sort of maze. Should the zombie apocalypse come in the near future, that is the place to be.

    Bang for the buck

    It is cost efficient to get your 2 year degree here before going to a University.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the Bremer Student Center, where there can be some fun activities such as open mic nights.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is generally good.

    Dorm Life

    Get to live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your classes they can be hard or difficult, a basic Associates degree, the classes are designed so that anyone who does the work can pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use this school as an opportunity to discover your passion. Once you find your passion you can find a career that you are passionate about that will make you happy.

    In three sentences

    Olympic College has helped me discover what I want to do. It has shaped me into who I am today. It has helped me plan on who I want to be tomorrow.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't had any problems. the safety guards are very helpful.. especially if you get your self locked out of your car.

    Greek Life

    We have it, but I don't participate because I am already in other groups that I am more invested in.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, engineering, shipyard, welding, environmental, business. New or older.. there are all ages. Many backgrounds, and everyone seems pretty chill-ax.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is a campus that is concerned with its carbon foot print. There are several LEED buildings and more development coming. The engineering program is growing by leaps and bounder... so that is rather exciting.

    Bang for the buck

    I've taken a variety of classes and know more than if I had stayed on one track. I've wasted a little time checking options out, but I think I'm the richer for it.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to choose from, so there are events going on all the time. Not only extra curricular activities, but these look good on resumes and transfer applications.

    Food and Dining

    I bring my own lunch usually. The store on campus is a pretty good size and offers a lot of lunch and snack options. There is a cafeteria with a pretty good selection also.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't used any dorm facilities.

    Academic Rigor

    The transfer classes prepared me for what to expect in a four year institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get an adviser early and work with that person towards your graduation, even if your only attending part time and transfer seems in the distance. They can narrow that time and make sure it counts for you.

    In three sentences

    Offer many pathways for life long career choices. Several transfer agreements. Many classes offered in the 200's; this will save you money in the long run if you can take the class before entering a four year institution.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Bremer Student Center is a great place to hang out, chat, or do homework. The OC Bookstore also is a great place to go if you are looking for books, supplies, or just a snack. The staff is very friendly and willing to help.

    Food and Dining

    They have many options for food. The food is always good and I have never gotten anything that was burned or overcooked. The prices are reasonable as well. The staff are helpful and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are great and I have never failed to learn new information. They challenge you to work hard. The teachers are helpful and kind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what kind of degree you want. Otherwise, you might end up taking classes you do not need which means you might end up spending money you could have saved.

    In three sentences

    Olympic College has a small variety of classes, but the classes do a very good job at educating. The teachers are helpful and very kind. The adult and student staff take care of business and are always willing to help.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety and security is located at Olympic College at all times, day and night. They provide their services whenever needed. Olympic College is equipped with emergency call boxes throughout campus and parking lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always campus security on campus through out the day and night. They provide safety escorting to your vehicle if you are working at school late and there are emergency call boxes on campus and in the parking lots.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Olympic College has a great sports program for student athletes and numerous clubs and activities for students to participate in. There are about 30 - 40 clubs each year for student to participate in and if OC does not have a club you are interested in you can create it.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe Olympic College provides amazing academics for the tuition which is payed by students. Not only is there a huge selection of classes to satisfy students academic needs there is also resources on campus to help students succeed in their academics. There is a newly reconstructed Library with numerous computer labs, free tutoring and writing lab, and the campus is open to students early morning to late night and even on Saturdays.

    What to do for fun

    Olympic College has a great sports program for student athletes and numerous clubs and activities for students to participate in. There are about 30 - 40 clubs each year for student to participate in and if OC does not have a club you are interested in you can create it.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Olympic College is amazing because on campus there is a culinary arts program, and the students in that program provide their services during breakfast and lunch time.

    Dorm Life

    Olympic College does not provide dorms because it is a community college however, if living accommodations are needed by students Olympic College has resources dedicated to finding a reasonable home for your.

    Academic Rigor

    I would have to say Olympic College is not to hard or to easy. It all depends on the class you take, how interested you are in those classes, and if you are willing to work hard for your grades. People may take Olympic College for granted which could give them a negative impression however, if you care about your education and work hard Olympic College will reward you for that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Olympic College is growing at a fast rate so getting paperwork such as, financial aid, applications, test scores, transcripts, etc., is extremely important. It is important to be patient and know people at the school want and are willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Olympic College is a beautiful campus with students who really want to learn and staff/administrators who really want to see students succeed. The work hard to provide students with a wide variety of class including partnerships with universities making education for students vast. I recommend this college to any prospective students especially if they live near the area.

  • 04/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't recommend being around at night unless you are one of the few taking night classes (since people do not live on campus and thus don't wander about late). But there are security guards who can escort you to and from your car, and they patrol around during the day. If there are safety threats, OC is very good about alerting students and giving safety advice.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't attend many activities, but I hear about so many, and it feels like there is almost always an event or seminar to attend, mostly relating to cultural diversity.

    Great for these types of students

    OC is really for any age, from running-start students, to returning college students,

    Bang for the buck

    OC is pretty cheap, mainly because its a community college and only tuition is paid and some fees. Each credit is roughly $400-500 and most take 15 credits a quarter. Going here you should have enough time for a part-time job, and thus can pay as you go.

    What to do for fun

    There are multiple clubs and many opportunities to study together with people or just meet people. There are many cultural seminars and some fun events organized by certain classes or other clubs and groups. Most people just hang around campus and up to striking up a conversation with a passing stranger. Lastly, there is a large number of foreign students and opportunities to help them with English or just get to know them.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't tried the food at OC, but there is a store to buy snacks and a cafe open at certain times as well as other food done by the culinary students.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, its best if you live nearby or with a host family.

    Academic Rigor

    I was extremely busing during high school, so I find the quarter schedule at OC less constraining. Because of all the extra time I have, I don't find the classes to be as difficult as I would if I had to take 5-6 at once. Some classes are more demanding in participation than homework and study time, others require a lot of writing; some classes have daily homework, still others just want you to be ready for the test. I hear, though, that the engineering program is extremely demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to ask about professors before taking classes if you have the option between more than one -- some are very good, and others not so much. Also, take advantage of the free math tutoring and writing labs and chemistry labs. There are usually a lot of different people to meet on campus all day long, your experience at OC will be much more fulfilling if you study or interact with some of them.

    In three sentences

    OC is a fairly diverse place both in ethnic backgrounds and ages allowing you to hear many different viewpoints in class discussion. Classes are small and professors usually are helpful and personal. The campus is also a great place to find help, interact with other students, or study alone.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are security guards everywhere who drive and walk around to keep the grounds safe, but cars get broken into a lot while students are in class

    Greek Life

    Not very Greek-ish

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many of these for people interested in different variaties of things

    Great for these types of students

    people with GED's and people who have very limited income

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have never been made aware of any

    Bang for the buck

    You're going to get mostly everything you pay for....this is a public college where people go to get enough credits at a cheap price to transfer to bigger schools

    What to do for fun

    OC offers sports and awesome fitness classes!

    Food and Dining

    The food is....alright. We don't have an actual cafeteria but the food could be compared to high school food or worse. However, there are plenty of fast food restaurants around if you get hungry. There is also a section in the bookstore to buy drinks and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It feels like you're taking high school courses again, except you are treated like a mature adult (as you should be) and the professors are willing to talk with you after class about any questions you may have (unless they have another class to teach in another building).

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let your professors know if you are a member of Running Start or risk being treated poorly by biased professors. Arrive to class early if you want to find a parking space. Show up to every class no matter how bored you may be, because it pays off in the end.

    In three sentences

    Some professors will treat you differently if you are a Running Start student, so it's best not to let them know that you're a part of the program. The courses offered are great for transferring to other schools, and the AA degree courses are alright. Everyone is very friendly.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Ultimate Frisbee, Hiking, Fishing

    Food and Dining

    The culinary program is great. They served Salisbury Steak with bleu cheese once.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Olympic College, but they should consider them.

    Academic Rigor

    There are students that are attending for recreational schooling rather than being focused.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the Education Plan so that you can stay on track. Start early with Running Start or start right after you graduate.

    In three sentences

    Olympic College is the only community college in Kitsap County. It's influence reaches beyond most schools by having 2 available satellite campuses and online classes. Olympic College is one of the most opportunistic community colleges because of their transfer ability and networking with other universities to provide their programs.

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe and the security staff are quick to respond to any issue.

    Clubs and Activities

    A great variety of clubs and activites.

    Great for these types of students

    Olympic college is great for all students. The staff is extremely helpful and vested in your success.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends and listening to good music.

    Food and Dining

    Great food. The cooking staff is the culinary students. Excellent quality.

    Dorm Life

    This does not apply.

    Academic Rigor

    Olympic College staff and instructors are vested in your success. They are extremely helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep on top of your classes and plan ahead.

    In three sentences

    I love Olympic College. It is a great community college. Great instructors and advisors.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    37 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go down to the shipyard and look at the pretty fountains!

    Food and Dining

    There are not many food locations near this school. The only food you are going to get is from the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is pretty easy to get good grades at this college. It is definitely a wake up call when you move on to a four year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs and extra curricular activities that will look good on a resume. Know what degree you want to pursue and what credits will transfer to a four year university.

    In three sentences

    Olympic college has a very helpful and kind staff. The college is a great starting point but not the finish line. I would only suggest going here if you plan to transfer to a four year university.

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the safety is taken very seriously. some of the buildings are brand new and very techy. there is campus security everywhere i go and i feel very safe even alone later in the evening

    Great for these types of students

    chill relaxed but motivated.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the campus is average. what makes this school fabulous are the lengths the staff will go through to help a student, especially for the financing of school. things are very streamlined and efficient.

    What to do for fun

    the people are nice and the area is beautiful. there is plenty to do around the campus and the transit system is efficient and timely.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not what i had expected however the products they do sell are not to expensive. that said it is best to bring food or plan on eating away from the campus itself

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm setting.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not started classes yet so I can not attest to the academic rigor. but the professors have very high standards and very high hopes, which I value very much.

    Tips for prospective students

    get started early. Know where your headed and don't be afraid to ask a million questions

    In three sentences

    this school is great, the staff are helpful and generous and i feel safe on campus.

  • 09/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safety conscientious and has an excellent security department and well lit main paths.

    What to do for fun

    Olympic College features a large open grass field where students are often found playing impromptu games of Ultimate Frisbee or volleyball or soccer. The girls' volleyball team is currently undefeated this season and there are lots of sports teams that are also excellent. Campus events are very common and always a blast.

    Food and Dining

    The school restaurant is student run and all the food is prepared by the students of the culinary program, overseen by a head chef. There are lots of options for people with all types of dietary restrictions or preferences.

    Dorm Life

    Unknown. I live off campus. Although a residence hall has just been introduced for Fall 2013.

    Academic Rigor

    Olympic College encourages students to try their hardest and work through obstacles. Professors press challenges and help their students do their best.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Be proactive! If there's something you want or an opportunity you're going for, then don't expect anyone to do it for you. Stay in contact with people and seek the answers you need. -Make connections with other students. The people you know now help build networks of people to bond with, grow with, and connect with later. Also, they can provide more opportunities for you and you for them.

    In three sentences

    Olympic College has helpful staff, a clean beautiful campus, and great opportunities for students. The campus has a diverse population and encourages involvement and participation from everyone. Authorities are constantly working to improve the experience of everybody involved.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are sports and clubs you can join through Olympic College. I am currently in another country and studying online, so I am not in any.

    Food and Dining

    There might be some vending machines, but their isn't a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. It is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The staff is extremely helpful and will do what they can to help you graduate and learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's best to talk to an advisor to get started. It's good to have an idea of what you are wanting to study in. Have back up classes you can take, in case your first picks are all filled up. Be ready to learn and stay focused.

    In three sentences

    I take classes online and find that the online canvas is very helpful. I like that it can be set to any time zone and give me due dates based off where I am located. Olympic College is a good school for people to get started on their education.

  • 12/22/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    41 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is good, but it can be difficult to navigate the cafeteria until you are used to it, and it is always busy and loud.

    Dorm Life

    I don't think OC has dorms, it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    It isn't a difficult school, but depending on the class work load can be a bit much on top of a busy life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate to talk to your teachers. You want to get to know them. Class sizes are usually smallish, so participate and ask questions. Who knows, you might even get a reference for jobs or scholarships out of it.

    In three sentences

    When I was attending OC I never had a problem with any of the teachers, they were all willing to work with me and they wanted to help me do my best. The library is full of great books for research, and there are plenty of computers all over campus to work on projects. I've always been greeted with a smile whenever I had a question as well.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    42 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is lots of scenic views in Bremerton. An hour ferry ride to Seattle.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria on campus. They also have a Barista for your coffee crave.

    Dorm Life

    I lived Off-campus

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get there early for parking.

    In three sentences

    Olympic College is a more personal relationship with students and professors. Olympic College has great teachers that are willing to make sure you understand the material. Olympic College has very helpful staff for any questions or concerns.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I have a family, so I go home and hang out with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    Heard they have a good culinary program.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the degree your going for.

    Tips for prospective students

    What you put into school is much more important than how 'good' the school is.

    In three sentences

    A mix of running start, just out of high school, and people like me going back for a career change. The classes or adequate, nothing special. Be proactive with admissions and financial aid or you'll get burned.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus, and I'm here usually from 7:30 am to 5:30 pm

    Great for these types of students

    I believe it's truly great for all types of students. It's laid back, with such a diverse group of people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like to hang out in the Veteran's lounge and watch the news on Monday mornings in between classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Olympic College is not expensive, and the classes are small, so there's more one on one time with your professor, which makes learning the subjects that much easier.

    What to do for fun

    Olympic College offers all types of fun and exciting trips from skiing to indoor rock climbing, to the gamer's club and everything in the Multicultural Center.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is delicious. I love the Chicken Ceaser Salad Spinach Wrap.

    In three sentences

    Olympic College is like a second for me. It's provided me with a new found confidence and self worth. I'll be sad to leave, once I graduate, and transfer to a university.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hit up the Student Center and meet some people.

    Food and Dining

    Students from the culinary program make food for students, it is always so good!

    Dorm Life

    I'v heard the new dorms are cool but I haven't lived there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes quick, they go fast!

    In three sentences

    Olympic College is defiantly diverse and you will meet many people from all walks of life. Olympic is a great fun campus you can never get bored with in between your classes. The teachers, administration, and other faculty all care about you time there.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Register as early as you can. Don't forget to review your professor before you register. Get involved with clubs and organizations.

    In three sentences

    Olympic College is a perfect place to start college. The staff are surprisingly helpful. The campus library is a great place to study in between classes.

  • 03/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The student center has a range of coffee stand, food service, and snack machines.

    Dorm Life

    Brand new to this college and they seem to be very nice. Never lived here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into which teacher's you like best. Different professors have multiple ways of teaching that might conflict with the way you learn. Also, participate in the free tutoring centers that are offered. They help a lot.

    In three sentences

    It is a community college that is a friendly environment for all ages to attend. Whether for certain programs or getting prerequisites done, students and teachers are able to work one on one with each other to better their future. My experience here has done a great deal for preparing me for a future at a University.

  • 03/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the campus sign up for classes as early as possible

    In three sentences

    I have learned a lot here and people are very helpful. Most of my professors have been helpful and will return email message quickly. Classes are small so I get to know my classmates.

  • 04/04/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    49 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe on campus, we have very well lit sidewalks and buildings, you can always see a safety worker, and there are plenty of emergency phones.

    Greek Life

    OC does not have a Greek system.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I said before, I was a member of the ballroom and swing dance club. We took field trips to the Elks club to practice our skills and when possible, ran our own dance at the end of the quarter.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who wish to satisfy their general education requirements before going on to another school, students who need some time to transition between high school and college, and students who are financially challenged and need a good education for less money.

    Bang for the buck

    At OC, the cost of attendance is very small, comparatively. But students are still given a very good education.

    What to do for fun

    As OC is a community college, activities are limited to sports and student-run clubs. I was a member of the ballroom/swing dance club Doyle's Dancers. There are also often events in the Student Center.

    Food and Dining

    There are dining services run by the culinary students and a good selection of food in the student store.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you do your homework well and on time, and attend class it isn't hard to pass, but very few classes are an easy A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fulfill your requirements first so that you will have time to take the electives you want. Watch out for the vending machine in the HSS building, it rarely works properly.

    In three sentences

    I would continue to attend OC for my entire college career if it was possible. They have wonderful staff members who are extremely helpful and want students to succeed. The classes are small and are built toward learning.

  • 04/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Is ok. Nothing too exciting.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    There are some easy professors, and not so easy professors. So far, the worst professors have been in the math department.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you always talk to your profession advisors (i.e. - business advisor, education advisor, etc.) because the general advisors do not understand specific degree check off list.

    In three sentences

    Good professors at Olympic College. The advisors are not the greatest, but with a little common sense, you can get by.

  • 05/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Again, I cannot say much, other than I happen to know that it hasn't killed anyone.

    Dorm Life

    I can't really say, as I am a Running Start Student.

    Academic Rigor

    As a Running Start student who had previously taken rigorous AP (Advanced Placement) courses, Olympic's courses are easier. Much like AP courses, the classes here require your own initiative to be the most beneficial to you, but require a lot less coursework than AP courses. The higher level of classes you take, the more difficult they get, though if you are worried about classes being too easy. ON the other hand, Olympic offers remedial classes to bring those who aren't quite ready for college level classes up to speed. Be prepared to spend time outside of class to work on concepts that you don't understand. However, the staff are very accommodating and willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't muck around taking whatever classes you feel you need. Have a plan and a goal, be it an associates's degree or entry in a specific program. Otherwise, it is really easy to be sidetracked by the many classes that they offer and end up taking classes you don't really need.

    In three sentences

    Olympic College is a great college for all ages- Running Start students (High School students enrolled and attending Olympic to earn both college and high school credit) all the way up to returning students. The atmosphere is really welcoming and helpful. The classes are a little on the easy side, but that doesn't mean that coursework at Olympic can't be difficult, because it most definitely has been.

  • 05/24/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    52 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe with the visible campus security always monitoring behavior.

    Great for these types of students

    ANYBODY!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the cafeteria/commons is a good place to hang out. the library is also huge!

    Bang for the buck

    It's a community college so the pricing is cheap compared to a university, so it's a good place to get your first two years done!

    What to do for fun

    Evergreen park is a short walk across the street with open fields and waterfront views. OC also has a lot of open gym time to keep you in shape and your mind sharp!

    Food and Dining

    Cafe is small and reasonably priced. There aren't really any restaurants within walking distance or anything without going all the way to the Bremerton waterfront

    Dorm Life

    There isnt one that I'm aware of

    Academic Rigor

    professors make it easy to learn but the courses are a good challenge!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come early to find a parking spot!

    In three sentences

    Olympic college located in the heart of Kitsap County is a wonderful launching pad for any prospective students. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable and making college super easy! The campus is beautiful and growing!

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join on of the many intermediate sports that Olympic College offers, not only is it a great way to make friends but it will also help you keep in shape.

    Food and Dining

    They offer lots of variety, and there are smart snacks for you to choose from when you are studying.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Olympic Colleges academic Rigor: The classes are not extremely difficult because the teachers are very helpful. The class sizes are relatively small and you can raise your hand and ask for help if you have any questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    I have three tips for the prospective student: 1. If you decide to take an online class, do not anticipate that it will be easier, take less time, or effort. It is actually harder than a normal class. You must me be a responsible student who will take the hours needed to complete course work. 2. If you have any concerns make an appointment with an advisor and do it as soon as possible, it is difficult to schedule over the phone, it is best to just go in and wait for one to become available. Also once you do go in, ask as many questions as possible, the counselors are there to help you. 3. Take advantage of the wonderful teachers at Olympic College, ask for advice after class, clarify the notes, assignment e.t.c. Whatever it takes in order for you to succeed!

    In three sentences

    Olympic Colleges' costumer service is less than satisfactory, there are just too many students and not enough workers to help. Don't expect to get help filling out or understanding financial aid either because they offer little help in this area. However Olympic College makes up for its lack in costumer service in its teachers, who are always willing to help a student succeed.

  • 07/13/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    54 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the cost of tuition.

    What to do for fun

    On nice days there's almost always people playing Frisbee out on the field.

    Food and Dining

    Very nice Cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There is currently no dorm, but they are looking into housing options for students who want to live right off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many fantastic professors who will push you to do your best and celebrate with you when you achieve it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check RateMyProfessor before registering for classes, as the professors range from unfair and rude to absolutely amazing.

    In three sentences

    Olympic College is a great place to begin your College journey. There is a nice range of class options and Associate degree programs. You will not regret coming here.