Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Onondaga Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/19/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    What is great about the college is any nationality can attend the school and not feel out of place. I will make friends as I attend and learn everything about the college from other students.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will enjoy being here by volunteering and making myself useful. I will join the basketball team as I attend the college.

    Will learn a lot

    I will learn a lot about the College as I attend and get to know other students and professors.

  • 08/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Undecided on 4 year major. Looking to save considerable amount of money. A great beginning to college-life experience in every aspect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Residing in a dorm for your first year is highly recommended; apply early for a single room which is more costly but well worth it. No need for a car. Campus is extremely secure.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent professors who help you succeed while encouraging independent responsibility. My experience has been outstanding and I recommend all graduating seniors to consider attending OCC.

    Am enjoying being here

    Many activities to participate in: clubs, fraternities and sporting events. Access to Syracuse University and LeMoyne is easy and free by bus. Class size allows for much interaction between students and professors. Faculty knows you by name! I am a member of the lacrosse team and have had an exceptional experience. Coaches are great and extremely supportive of academic learning requirements.

    Am learning a lot

    Studying engineering science has been challenging and rewarding. A great place to start prior to transfering to a 4 year college.

  • 05/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a laid back environment, but dont mind getting a little messy at times, and having a couple laughs. You'll learn a lot, and hopefully have fun learning!

    Tips for prospective students

    For your first semester don't take too many courses, try to full time if possible, because of the financial aid. Work with your designated counselor to see what options you have.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition cost can not be beat currently around $2,500 a semester plus $300 in books possibly, and food, so $3000 semester, $6000 a year, great alternative to 2 years of a 4 year school.

    Am enjoying being here

    The environment on campus is nice, you can easily meet new friends from people in your major, to random people in your electives, everyone is pretty much friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are more concerned about your learning than many other places. All professors are also guidance counselors, so they can help a lot. Many professors are very flexible, as long as you try too.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is always patrolling campus and is available whenever you need them. there are a large variety of ways to contact them and they always react to your needs in a timely manner.

    Bang for the buck

    onondaga community college is a fantastic option for those students who are a little short on cash. even students who can't afford to go to $50,000 a year institutions will get the same level of education at occ for a much, much lower cost.

    What to do for fun

    at occ, there is a wide variety of restaurants and shopping available within a 5-10 minute drive of campus. however, if you do not have transportation, many of the food services around campus offer delivery. also, there is almost always a sporting event, a concert, or some sort of activity taking place in the brand new src arena or at other locations on campus.

    Food and Dining

    occ comes with a main dining hall located in the gordon student center on campus. the dining hall offers a variety of food options such as burgers, salads, sandwiches, pizza, and many, many more. food is also available at a couple of other smaller dining areas located in the different academic buildings on campus as well as vending machines placed all over campus.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms at occ are exceptional! they are basically brand new and offer a wide-range of accommodations such as cable, wi-fi, a built-in kitchen, and personal bathrooms. every room in the occ dorms houses six students and contains two bathrooms, two closets, a living room, and a small kitchen with a fridge, a dishwasher, and an oven. also, there are constantly activities going on in the lounges of the dorms that students can participate in.

    Academic Rigor

    occ provides a quality education to all students. it offers a variety of majors and the professors are there to truly help you succeed in whatever you are trying to pursue in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you're thinking about attending a community college, onondaga community college is the way to go. don't be afraid to apply because occ accepts all applicants into the college.

    In three sentences

    onondaga community college is definitely the cream of the crop when it comes to junior colleges. it gives every applicant a fair chance by never denying an application and it provides a quality education for those who maybe cannot afford a four-year institution. i highly recommend occ!

  • 10/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    its never to late to go to because every should deserve to get the education they deserve for those you are willing to work hard and go for the dreams they want to achieve

    Bang for the buck

    i think it will be a affordable school and its a pretty good price for a community college

    Will enjoy being here

    I think i will enjoy it and meet new people

    Academic Rigor

    I think it will be a good school too start out with once i graduate from high school and be a good experience for me .

  • 06/02/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The cost isn't too expensive. Its worth the money to start out at a good school like this. :)

    Will enjoy being here

    A lot of my friends are going here, so the social environment should be fun & entertaining.

    Will learn a lot

    I plan on gaining a lot of knowledge here & earning degrees.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very, very serious, there is a large campus security building, there are strict rules to follow to keep students safe and I belive OCC is one of the safest college campuses out there.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is probably a club for just about any subject for any student and if there isn't a specific club your interested in you can start up your own.

    Great for these types of students

    I would say OCC is great for all types of students including traditional and nontraditional.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is beautiful and there are many locations for studying or spending off time. There is a brand new big work out studio, and arena.

    Bang for the buck

    For me OCC was an amazing opportunity, the classes and professors i've had have taught me a lot, I was able to get an amazing first two years of school for a good price, and it also helped me a lot in my transfer options.

    What to do for fun

    OCC has really started having some very interesting activities for students like a activities and things to go to and see for example there was recently a roller durby held at OCC, there are also comedians that come along with different bands. There is also a lot of club options for students.

    Food and Dining

    The food options at OCC are actually really good its not the average college dining experience you have a lot of choices and are not forced into a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was not for me, but for some students I could see it being fun and a great experience.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on what you are looking for and what you hope to get out of your college experience. If you are looking for a very rigorous education you can get it and if you are looking for a somewhat less rigorous education you can also get that too it is all up to you and up to what you choose to study, and what classes you choose to take. For me I chose a rigorous course study and got a lot out of my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are dedicated to school and doing your work it is a great school and can offer you great opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Onondaga Community College is a great school. Educationally, Socially, and in many other areas it is a superb community college, the professors are amazing. It has great transfer opportunities.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are very good keep notice of everything and make sure every student is safe.

    Great for these types of students

    is very good

    Bang for the buck

    i would like to transfer to a 4 years college

    What to do for fun

    well i like to write poem and story also like to hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    food is OK

    Dorm Life

    great get to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    great if only you put your effort into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    never give up on studies even when you try it seems useless just try harder trust me it works . i did it i never gave up that's when you realize when you put your effort into it it works out.

    In three sentences

    It is affordable and the professors are always ready to help you

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The OCC campus is great for a wide variety of students. They have something for everyone, from adults looking to go back to school to kids straight out of high school. The school is affordable. Give it a shot!

    What to do for fun

    The always have different concerts and events on campus. Otherwise, Syracuse has a relatively large amount of options. They have a mall (which is currently expanding) and plenty of bowling alleys, laser tag, shopping, and fun.

    Food and Dining

    They have plenty of choices. There are vending machines everywhere, along with a cafeteria. They even have a Starbucks! If you don't care for school food and you have a car, it is a short drive to Genesee street where they have everything! Taco Bell, McDonalds, Panera Bread, KFC, Burger King, Dunkin' Donuts, Tullys, you name it!

    Dorm Life

    The doors are brand new. They are more like townhouses than dorm rooms. They are really nice and clean inside. There are plenty of people to meet. It is a great experience for someone who is looking for that great college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    So far I have taken mostly science courses. They have all been pretty challenging! Stay on top of your work, and STUDY STUDY STUDY! These classes go by like a breeze! It can be crucial if you miss a class or two!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to stay on top of all of your paperwork! There are a lot of students attending this school. Because of this, the offices can sometimes be unorganized. Make sure you stay on top of what paperwork is required. When you are first signing up for your classes and financial aid, it can be easy to lose paperwork. Don't expect the school to stay on top of everything.

    In three sentences

    The school is located on a beautiful campus. The professors are great. There are plenty of things to do.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always OCC cars and vans patrolling the campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs to participate in

    Bang for the buck

    You absolutely get your money's worth. OCC isnt a lot of money to go there, but it has a lot of professors that care

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the gym, go downtown or to Syracuse University, go to Destiny USA nearby, or go to apartments nearby

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a lot of options. Sometimes its a little expensive and the food isnt always the best

    Dorm Life

    I haven't stayed in the dorms, but I have heard they can be very drama filled

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Get to school early to park closer 2. Show that you care about your classes, otherwise your teachers wont take you seriously 3. Apply for PHi Theta Kappa and as many scholarships as possible

    In three sentences

    Onondaga Community College is a diverse community college to get a great education. OCC has great classes, teachers, and programs for determined students. Whether you go for a 2 year or 4 year degree, OCC will help you go for things you want

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the Y! It's right there so take advantage.

    Food and Dining

    It's alright very overpriced though.

    Dorm Life

    From what I hear it's not very good, but i don't have first hand experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Vary between 3-4 with different classes. Study a lot and keep on top of your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be really sociable and break the silence! Study often and don't put off your work, because to do well you need to keep on it.

    In three sentences

    This school provides a good education. It is a really good choice if you have some trouble affording a four year. It's hard to make friends since everyone is trying to get in/out.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    OCC takes campus safety very seriously and I do not hesitate to walk across campus any time of day or night.

    Greek Life

    As a recent member of Phi Theta Kappa, I have been pleasantly surprised at this component of my college experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have greatly enjoyed the volunteer opportunities at OCC. Maria, the volunteer coordinator is the best!

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students are welcomed with open arms and professors really go out of their way to accommodate special needs and family situations.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My favorite study space on campus is the media room on the second floor of the library.

    Bang for the buck

    You cannot beat the value of attending a community college and OCC is one of the best! It undoubtedly prepares you to transfer to a four-year institution upon graduation, while saving you a lot of money!

    What to do for fun

    There are many great parks and coffee shops nearby as well as the new sports arena on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not going to pretend the food is good; it is over-priced and leaves a lot to be desired.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but the residence halls are beautiful!

    Academic Rigor

    I have been challenged in many of my classes, but I think the professors could push us harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! You get out what you put in.

    In three sentences

    OCC has a beautiful campus and dedicated faculty. I greatly enjoy my classes and feel that the professors are excited about teaching. Student organizations on campus are thriving and provide a great way to get to know people!

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't seen a soul.

    Greek Life

    There are plenty of students from all religion, race, sexual preference...etc.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not part of any activities so I wouldn't know. But I always see plently of poster for clubs and stuff on boards.

    Great for these types of students

    Huh ?

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's all the way in the top of a hill. So walking is not an option.

    Bang for the buck

    huh ?

    What to do for fun

    There are a few bars and clubs downtown, Syracuse.

    Food and Dining

    Well at least there are plenty of vending machines, and free microwaves.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but the dorms are really nice and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    There's always someone around to help you find answers.

    Tips for prospective students

    just be yourself, everyone is pretty open and accepting.

    In three sentences

    Overall good experience

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    they have several places on and around campus to find food, with comfortable dining areas.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live on campus, so i could not tell you how dorm life is.

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    lots of extra curriculars

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you register early

    In three sentences

    great campus. small class size. interesting curriculum

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    research which kinds of classes and professors you want beforehand. try talking to past students and see what worked for them.

    In three sentences

    such a great school to kick off your studies. so many different opportunities, classes, professors, and people to meet. syracuse is also just a really great area; lots of awesome restaurants! :)

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone!

    What to do for fun

    a lot of activities go on during the semesters on campus. there is also a new gym that is very professional!

    Food and Dining

    very expensive and not worth the money

    Dorm Life

    cannot answer

    Academic Rigor

    average.

    Tips for prospective students

    take your time with classes, don't hurry to get the two years over with.

    In three sentences

    it's a great community college! with the college not being to big, the professors are very involved with the students. it really allows you to get a feel what college is like without to much pressure after high school such as a 4 year college.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    18 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Being an out-of-state resident, my tuition costs will be much higher than those who live in New York. I'm not looking forward to going into debt before my eighteenth birthday, but it will be worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be nervous about applying, you'll most likely get accepted.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    expect cold weather

    In three sentences

    it is a good school and the campus is not to far the city bus stops right in front of the school so you cant miss it.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety officers are always there when you need them. They make sure you are safe on campus.

    What to do for fun

    The fun and attractions at Onondaga Community College are weekly chess nights, Gallery Exhibits, live bands during lunch and much more.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is a wonderful learning experience. It takes hard work and dedication to succeed.

    In three sentences

    I love Onondaga Community College. All of the teachers want and help me to succeed. From a scale of 1-10 I rate this school 11.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always around and quick to respond.

    Greek Life

    None, only academic honor societies

    Clubs and Activities

    International club has food at the meetings and we go to a new city for a few days every year relatively cheaply. This year Boston last year Washington DC. There are academic support programs like Collegiate Science and Technology Entry Program CSTEP, Equal Opportunity Program EOP, Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation LSAMP, student association, skii club, architecture clubs, history club, chemistry club etc and it's easy to make new clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who put class first but also want to have fun. It's not good for those who put fun first there are a lot of people like that and they end up dropping. There are people there who would be upset over getting less than an A and people who would be ecstatic about getting a C- the ones who are happy to get a C- are easier to find but the serious are there, in quiet corners and libraries, and study groups.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Party on the quad basically is like the college version of chuckle cheeses there are blow up obstacle courses, food, zip lines, crafts, oxygen bar, making a way replica of your hand, cotton candy . Things come and go each year but it's always fun. The math class had a 27 foot soma cube puzzle last week.

    Bang for the buck

    Get involved in clubs and academic programs. They have given me more than I ever expected.

    What to do for fun

    They host party on the quad once a semester with plenty of food and activities. Once a month they have a raffle and have a table with free themed trinkets. The library hosts activities like games shows and there is a YMCA on campus. There are also plenty of clubs and organizations. Once a month we have dinner and a movie where we go to UNOs then get a free movie ticket to see what we want. It ranges from free to $7 depending on the programs your in sometimes they will cover you other times it's $5.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good but it's expensive and you can only get hot food from 10:30-2:30 when the main cafe is closed, before 10:30 and after 2:30 there is a separate section that sells cold food sushi drinks and bakery items. There is also a Starbucks in the morning. And various food stations including sushi, grill, salad, wraps/ sandwiches, pizza, soups ,and hot food

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are suites and they are really nice. But I do not live there. They are basically apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    It is what you make it. Some classes are hard but there is support to get you through it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you put in the work you will get a lot out of it beyond academic success, they make it a point to honor those who do well and help those who struggle.

    In three sentences

    Onondaga community college is nicknamed the high school on the hill, there are people there that need to grow up but overall the school is great. There are many programs available for those interested in doing well in school and many support programs and tutors, and clubs available. There are also many opportunities available and the teachers and programs like CSTEP, LSAMP, and EOP really care for their students.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not the best, but some foods there such as the paninis, sushi, and etc are good. The prices are sometimes too outragous for the food.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in the dorms but they look nice to be in.

    Academic Rigor

    I felt like I was getting a good education while attending classes. The classes challenge you depending on the professor's methods.

    Tips for prospective students

    The busses arrive late majority of the time so if you're relying on the bus, stand inside to keep warm during cold days and wait for the bus to come. Take advantage of the tutoring and ask questions if you need them.

    In three sentences

    The professors I had were great, some you may need to ask questions to fully understand the subject. The students I've encountered are friendly and helpful. OCC also offers programs for you to get involved in campus life such as international club, drama, and etc.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs and activities to keep you busy! A great way to make new friends!

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, meal plans are easy to plan out and you can always just cook your meals back at your dorm room!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are practically brand-new, very nice campus and a great living space.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a lot cheaper than 4yr schools and you can transfer credits.

    Food and Dining

    It is crazy over priced and isn't open all of the time. The dinning hall is open very limited times and not at all in the summer. The food is alright but again it's overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in the dorms but haven't heard wonderful stuff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes with established professors don't take classes with adjuncts especially in sciences, you never know who you will end up with. And that can make a big difference in your grade.

    In three sentences

    It's a good community college. It will get the job done if you want to transfer, it's a good starting option.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The variety of students is astounding.

    Food and Dining

    expensive but not bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your schedule early. Ask around about what classes to take and who to take them with. TAKE Advantage of the tutoring hours there are lots of them an they are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    Most professors are amazing. The help services are wonderful. Scheduling classes is a bit difficult.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I'm not sure I commuted. I did hear a few stories of fights going on at night.

    Greek Life

    I don't think we had one....

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone. It's a community college. Kinda hard on Christians though,

    Bang for the buck

    I was actually got money back from fin. aid so I was paid to go to school. It was worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Um....haha. I don't think there's anything fun to do in Syracuse.

    Food and Dining

    I, probably unlike most people, actually enjoyed OCC's food. It's not healthy, but most college's aren't. But it's delicious and most of the foood is made right in front of you.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't stay in the dorms but a bunch of my friends did. They are much nicer than some college dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers are pretty chill. Some are pretty nasty too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the fact that it's a community college let you slip at your work. It's still a great school.

    In three sentences

    The food is good. The people are kind of immature and annoying, especially in the cafeteria, but don't let it get to you. Just focus on your schoolwork.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have the blue light security and security guards on campus patrolling 24/7.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on, unfortunately I do not have time to join any clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The bridge from the library to MaWhinney Hall is very cool.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers could be a little better but we are not paying tens of thousands of dollars. Overall they offer a good quality.

    What to do for fun

    There are some clubs you can join but I think the most fun you can have is making friends in class then letting them show you what they do around campus. There is the SRC Arena which hosts many events.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten on campus before.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They offer many on campus labs and extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your professors before you register for classes, meet with your advisor so you are only taking the necessary classes, and do your best to schedule your classes close together.

    In three sentences

    They offer a lot of good programs, you can get a good education here. Researching the professor beforehand is a must; there are some below par teachers. I give OCC a 8 out of 10.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The city is near by and if you have your ID you can get discounts at a lot of places, like the mall and lazer tag and mini golf, but you really want to have a car to get around.

    Food and Dining

    Over Priced for what little you get.

    Dorm Life

    It's alright but its tough to get along with roommates, and you aren't exactly placed with anyone based on personality profiles or anything.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes and teachers are more difficult than others but I have yet to find a teacher that isn't willing to do what they can to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't depend on contact with people over the phone you are much better off driving out and tracking down who you have to talk to to get stuff figured out.

    In three sentences

    My program is great, but the people in the student central, bursars and res life offices are tough to deal with.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is literally always something there every week. There's craft shows, portrait drawings, wild animals, jewelry vendors, karaoke, bands playing, dance groups, cultural stands, get Starbucks. You name it and its basically there.

    Food and Dining

    The salad bar and deli are out of this world.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms i commute but they are only about 3-4 years old so I am assuming from what i have heard they are very nice to live in. There was a rumor saying the RA's are strict but i feel like that was to scare us as freshman.

    Academic Rigor

    depends on what professors you have or the program you are in, ive been here for 5 semesters and have never run into a strict professor but sometimes in the student life center, the receptionists can be a little demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never get behind on your work, you wont catch up and if you need a tutor, get one, its worth it.

    In three sentences

    There is always some fun activity going on. The salad/deli bar is amazing. The professors rarely let you down!

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel completely safe on campus. It is well-lit, well-patrolled, and has a warm, welcoming feel. I am not afraid to walk to my car at night or jog around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many great clubs and activities on campus. I do, however, wish there were a French Club and Community Service Club.

    Great for these types of students

    OCC is great for ESL students and adult learners. It is also a great place to start if you are not sure of your degree and career goals.

    Bang for the buck

    OCC is a great value school. You get a quality education at an affordable price. It makes sense, even if you plan to transfer to a four-year university, to get your general education classes out of the way for a fraction of the cost of the big-name schools.

    What to do for fun

    OCC has a very active campus life, especially for a community college. There are always new art exhibits, concerts, etc. to see on campus and the new sports complex they built is a beautiful facility! There are some great State Parks in the area with amazing hiking and picnic areas, and Syracuse is home to DestinyUSA--a mega-mall.

    Food and Dining

    We just got a Starbucks and that makes me smile, but over-all the food is over-prices and not that great. I pack a lunch and snacks most days.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived on campus, but I did tour the residence halls and they are state of the art!

    Academic Rigor

    I have found some classes and certain professors more demanding than others. I like to be challenged and sometimes wish there was the opportunity for higher-level classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Think about your plans after OCC; if you plan on transferring, make sure you know what classes will transfer to your four-year institutions of choice. Also, be invested in your education! The professors are great but you only get out what you put in!

    In three sentences

    Onondaga Community College is outstanding! The professors are caring and knowledgeable. The student body is diverse and friendly.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're always around campus, especially patrolling for parking.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of sports and clubs available. If they don't have something you're interested in, you can always create a new club.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get a really good education while saving a TON your first two years of college AND they have amazing transfer agreements with plenty of different colleges. I know the have an agreement with all the SUNY schools, and with a couple private colleges too, Syracuse University being one of them.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and sports or intramural teams. There are a bunch of different ones to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    There's a wide variety of food in the main dining area, and they have a bunch of different coffee shops. They have a regular one, a Starbucks-brewed one, and a Dunkin Donuts brewed cafe.

    Dorm Life

    I couldn't really say, I commute, but I had a friend in the dorms and she seemed to like them.

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty on par with how you would think a community college's classes would be. If you ever need extra help they have a really good tutoring center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to find a club on campus, or be apart of a sports team. It's hard to make friends since the majority of people commute, but those are a couple ways to meet people outside of the classroom.

    In three sentences

    Its an affordable way to start your college career. Most of the teachers still work in the field they teach so what you are learning is current. Also, the class sizes are small so you have a chance to get individualized attention with the professor if you want it.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Feels safe, there is a visible security presence. three stars

    Greek Life

    Unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    Something for everyone four stars

    Great for these types of students

    all types, outgoing, shy, there are a lot of activities to participate in.

    Bang for the buck

    Get involved in a club, sport or activity, it's a great way to make new friends.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of activities going on all the time, especially with the new SRC building.

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of food, I often bring my own to save money.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home, but have met many friends who live in the dorms. They look very nice and there are always activities going on that allow you to meet people.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not like High School, lots of papers and discussions, everyone's opinion counts.

    Tips for prospective students

    OCC offers a variety of majors that transfer easily to other large schools. Its a great place to start when you're not sure what to major in.

    In three sentences

    Onondaga Community College is a wonderful resource for continuing education in my hometown. Attending OCC allows me to live at home, play the sport I love, Volleyball and meet new people while taking classes in my field of interest. I'm thankful to have a local community college that offers so many opportunities.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are just out of high school and not sure yet what they want to do, or displaced workers looking to reinvent themselves, but still have a family to feed.

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely a fantastic value being in the SUNY system. Financial aid covered all of my tuition (I'm a single mom, your experience may vary). Flexible for recent graduates and accomodating for displaced workers also like myself.

    What to do for fun

    Many different clubs and organizations to join.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad. The quesadillas are really good, but you have to pay for them, they're not on the meal plan if you are living on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I rated this average. I don't live in the dorm, I am a commuting adult student.

    Academic Rigor

    It is as rigorous as you are apt to challenging yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early, classes fill up fast. Invest in a good coat and boots.

    In three sentences

    A place to start and to restart. I've had many fun professors here. Beautiful scenery.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's a great campus for students who just want to go and get courses done that they may need for prerequisites into another college. or is great for students who only want to attend part time while holding a job.

    Bang for the buck

    I think for how inexpensive the tuition is, the professors are above and beyond!

    Dorm Life

    I commute so I'm not sure what the dorm life is like. But from what I hear on campus they are pretty nice.

    In three sentences

    OCC is a great school! It is close to home which allows me to keep my job and attend school at the same time! The professors are all there for the students and willing to help in any way!

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Good price for the good quality education you receive.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus with all the different groups.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a lot of campus safety at all hours of the day.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student but especially the ones that don't know what they want to do or need to get there grades up.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a SUNY which is cheaper which is great. This is a smaller school with small class size, which is nice . Your not just a number in the class room. Smaller class sizes, means it attends to students individual needs.

    What to do for fun

    This school has a lot of clubs on campus. There are many concerts, plays and events all year round right on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is nothing special. It is on the expensive side. We do have on and off campus meal plans which is nice . There are restaurants not far from campus with better food and larger meal choice.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live in the dorms so I dont know anything about them. I know that they are very nice.

    In three sentences

    Onondaga Community College is a wonderful school where all learning styles are accepted. There are a lot of resources available to anyone in need. I am very proud to be attending Onondaga Community College.

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are great.

    Food and Dining

    poor.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 52

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    A good starter school for anyone who has trouble with money, they give the same classes for way less. So when you do decide to transfer from OCC and attend your four year, you'll be in less debit when your older.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is really good on and around campus.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs to choose from, get involved!

    Great for these types of students

    It's a great school to start out at if you don't know what you want to do. To just take some classes some what cheap. Its great even if you know what you want to do, just to save money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ya, the fish bowl!! Just a glassed in eating area. Bring your own fish!!

    Bang for the buck

    With the price of four year schools and the quality of the professors here you can't go wrong.

    What to do for fun

    Go to a game, but most people go to Syracuse University. A much larger school with more action.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but be ready to pay. I guess its like that at most schools through.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college, and most students leave at the end of the day.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are much harder then others. Get help if you need it, and at times we all do so don't be scared to ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Find help if you need it. Support the sport teams.

    In three sentences

    They have great resources to get help. The professors are great. The classes are small and personal.

  • 04/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Pretty expensive for a community college but it is what it is.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun. But you can always find something.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of variety. The Panini press and pasta section are my favorites!

    Dorm Life

    Best suites ever! For a community college, these suites are like 5-star condos.

    Academic Rigor

    Really good. It's easy but expect a few challenges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay away from art teachers, they're very snobby. Don't have too much fun. Give it your all in all your classes and you're bound to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Really good school. Perfect for a student that would want to have good grades and get away with a bit of fun on the weekends. State-Of-The-Art facilities!

  • 04/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many things going on all the time. Can swim, use the athletic center and weight center, concerts, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay but not exceptional and there is no service on Saturday and Sunday which is a pain!

    Tips for prospective students

    Student Central is very helpful and has a large staff so wait time to get an answer is not long. Resident halls are clean and up to date and campus life is fun.

    In three sentences

    This is a good college because it is not too large. Students and staff are friendly and helpful. There are many activities to participate in when you are not studying.

  • 05/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe on campus, even when leaving my night classes.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to spend less on the first two years of a four year degree, people who don't know what they want to do, and people who want an associate's degree or certificate.

    Food and Dining

    I have eaten on campus and it's not that bad, but the variety of food off campus is huge.

    Dorm Life

    Although I do not live in the dorms, I have been in them and the walls are paper thin.

    Academic Rigor

    I always find most of the courses to be challenging but fun, but you have to put forth some effort and try, and it doesn't hurt to like the subjects either.

    Tips for prospective students

    OCC is a great starting point if you don't know what direction to go in, and they have a lot of transfer agreements with other colleges once you do decide.

    In three sentences

    It is always windy, and very cold in the winter so be prepared. Most of the professors are more than willing to help you and really want to see you succeed. Most of the administrators are willing to help you if just ask, so don't be afraid!

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not a lot to do on campus, but a short drive to downtown and Destiny USA. If you prefer to hang out on campus there is a Rec room and an YMCA for the athletic folks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be fooled into buying the book at their bookstore. You can find most of the books online for much less money!

    In three sentences

    Good selection of classes to choose from. Inexpensive for students looking to get their pre-res classes completed before transferring to a more expensive university. Friendly staff and reasonable class sizes.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do their jobs but can be somewhat pushy like all police officers can be.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it's a community college you pay a relatively low tuition for in state residence and the classes you get for the money are well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There's a YMCA and a brand new music building for music majors as well as a library and rec room. For technology students there is also many computer labs open very late.

    Food and Dining

    The food has its ups and downs. If you don't have a meal plan than food is very pricey. That being said there is some food on certain days that taste great, and on other days that taste god awful. Generally it's not too healthy for you either. It does have good moments though when they have some sort of ethnic foods week. They seem to put more effort into those foods over the everyday usual fare.

    Dorm Life

    Suites have very sufficient space and give you the option to live with whomever you'd like who is also attending the college. I was able to room with 5 guys that I am good friends with and it is very stress free.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes will get hectic at time and will test you and stress you out, but there are also some classes that are very fun and have lively professors. I've enjoyed almost every class I've had.

    Tips for prospective students

    If planning to stay in the dorms they are a bit pricey but they are well furnished and have lots of space. It's set up like an apartment with 3 to 4 rooms. They have traditional dorms as well but those are slightly off campus and one needs to take a shuttle to and from campus. Other than that, I say that the college is a very valuable place to learn from and is relatively inexpensive for the education you recieve.

    In three sentences

    Buildings and facilities are all extremely nice and have top rate equipment. All professors I've had so far have been enthusiastic and love to teach what they teach. Also the website is easy to navigate and you can do just about anything vital and important to your college career online. For example you can add or drop classes, there's an online access point called angel for all your classes where homework and announcements can be made, and you can pay your bills as well.

  • 10/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a fairly good blue light system and there are supposedly peace officers who patrol 24 hours a day. Not a large amount of crime or dangerous situations.

    Greek Life

    There are none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't a lot of clubs but some of host some events, speakers, and go on trips.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to be money efficient and want a bit more education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cost effective, if you just want a associates or cant afford anything too expensive. Be aware that some colleges will not accept the credit if you transfer.

    What to do for fun

    There are different concerts and speakers that come in. There are clubs but they only meet during college hour which some classes cut into.

    Food and Dining

    Multiple places to get food but one main dinning room. Restrictions on what is meal plan and what are not is a little absurd.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice but everyone seems to complain that there is nothing to do. Also a lot of problems with the internet.

    Academic Rigor

    The honors program allows for more academic challenging classes. Other than that a lot of the students aren't academically motivated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its not very difficult to get in.

    In three sentences

    All of the professors love what they do and have a lot of education and real world experience. You will meet people from all walks of life with different reason for attending. Not the most uplifting, motivating, or inspiring place.

  • 10/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    46 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel incredibly safe!

    Great for these types of students

    Someone who wants an associates to start their life. Also, incredibly great people who want to get their general education out of the way for a great price and then move on to a 4 year college.

    What to do for fun

    Lay out in the grass and hangout. You can also hit the gym, which is included in tuition!

    Food and Dining

    Awesome!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very new and comfortable, considering it's college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Their financial aid is fantastic.

    In three sentences

    High end technology and very up to date. Counselors and people are nice and can walk you through anything. Teachers actually care and are willing to help you achieve success.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I love the excitement of leaving a class room with new knowlege and insight on subjects that I previously did not know. Learn something everyday is what my Dad always says. At OCC I do and my Dad is proud!

    What to do for fun

    I love running on campus! Also playing soccer to wind down after studies is fantastic.

    Food and Dining

    I don't usually eat in the cafeteria, but I hear the food is good

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorm. I rent an apartment off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Like I said earlier, the teachers demand your best. Strive and persevere and you will reach your goals!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work and study. Even though the teachers are great, they still demand your best.

    In three sentences

    I really like OCC because of it's location. I don't have far to go from home to school and then to work. I also love the campus! It is so easy to get around and parking is convienent. The teachers are so fantastic. They explain things perfectly and really make things easier to understand.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great on campus. There is always security guards patrolling the parking lots and are very easy to get a hold of for assistance.

    Bang for the buck

    I love the options for allowing me to schedule my classes around my schedule.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities that are posted on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are a number of options for food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in any dorms or been in any of them.

    Academic Rigor

    The college is consistent with grades and homework assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the opportunity to get and use all the help available. Everyone is so nice and will to assist.

    In three sentences

    The class scheduling is great for people who are working, have families and other obligations. There are a number of options to get help with classes such as tutoring and other resources. But personally getting financial assistance is such a pain to try to get.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our Campus Safety officers are incredible. They are really there for you and do their best to help keep everyone safe and if needed they are always only a phone call away.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life available on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for anyone. This is such a diverse campus that anyone is accepted and welcome and that's just amazing!

    What to do for fun

    There are programs that the RA's of each building put on daily on multiple different topics whether it is just an ice cream sundae social, or a mario kart competition, or awareness about alcohol and other important things that people no matter what level of schooling should at least be slightly aware of.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is nice compared to other schools, the cafeteria staff also takes comments and suggestions highly and help try to improve the food and choices available. There are quesadillas, tacos, two soups to choose from, pizza, pasta, burgers, chicken tenders, chicken sandwiches, salads, wraps, paninis, fruit salad, and much much more to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    There are different styles of living here on campus and depending on which style you choose, comes with a different experience. Building A is a pod style which is living with up to 7 different people, sharing a living room and two bathrooms, with a main kitchen in the first floor lounge for the whole building. Building B and Building C are suite style which is living with up to 6 people, sharing a living room, two bathrooms, and a kitchen. Finally Building H-3 is a traditional style living, with individual rooms of single, doubles, and triples in a dormitory style way. With two bathrooms and a small kitchen shared among each floor.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are really great here. There are classes to fit every level of intelligence and if you aren't per say up to par for the major level of study, there are remedial classes you can usually take to get you up to the normal level. As with any levels though the higher you go the harder the class will get but keeping on top of your work and your notes and studying make everything that much easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip would be definitely go to class! Don't miss it because that one class being missed could really make it harder on you to understand the classes following.

    In three sentences

    Onondaga Community College is a great place to figure out what path is right for you if you are undecided on what major field of study you want to officially pursue. The faculty is really nice also, no matter where you are, advisers, bursars, residence life, professors, and even the cafeteria staff is really friendly. The facilities and buildings are really nice here also.

  • 05/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Every group of students can be found here from international to those that live down the street. A very accepting community where everyone can find something to enjoy.

    Bang for the buck

    Each semester is fairly affordable because it is in the SUNY system and a community college. I have managed to pay for tuition on a part time job without taking out loans. It is definitely a good place to start out if you cannot get a loan or financial aid and need something cheap.

    What to do for fun

    There is an art gallery in one of the buildings and a newly constructed music hall. There are also concerts during the summer open to the public and the mall is a short trip from campus.

    Food and Dining

    I do not take advantage of the dining hall, but have heard good things. There is a Starbucks on campus that gets a lot of business and is good quality. There are also restaurants around campus that accept the OCC student meal plan card for payment.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, but have heard good things about the rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Each teacher has their own way of teaching, but they all have assignments that make the student think about the topic. Most classes are based on group discussions, where everyone has a chance to share their opinions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the resources on campus, such as the advising office. The faculty are friendly and will help you with whatever you have questions about. Even if you do not have a set plan of attack, they will try to get you into classes of different subjects. Take the vocational planning class because it will really help give you an idea of what you want to do with your life.

    In three sentences

    The college has small class sizes, and the teachers know your name. It is a small campus that makes going between buildings quick and easy. A very good college for those that are not sure what they want to do, or do not know how to get started.

  • 06/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The lighting and patrolling on campus are excellent. I never hear of much trouble on campus and feel safe walking around .

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities but being a commuter college there is no reason to have too many clubs. Many of the students here also work part time jobs off campus so life is busy outside of college not leaving a lot of time to get into too many things. However I still say you should get involved in at least one thing on campus

    Great for these types of students

    This College is great for students unsure of what they want to major in. I changed my major yet I don't feel as if I wasted time or money because I came to a community college

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I honestly can't thing of any unusual locations but there is a great YMCA right on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Community College is a good beginning towards a 4 year degree. It is economical and enables you to take courses leading up to your major.

    What to do for fun

    There are always things to do. The college itself puts on different things during the year to get people together. You have to decide whether to take part in them or not. There are always things to do with friends, from just hanging out to fishing to parties. College is what you make of it, whether it has to do with fun or work. You have to find a college that fits you and your likes and you will be happy

    Food and Dining

    There's a lot of fast food on campus which most people like, but after awhile it gets boring. The good thing is there are always lots of other restaurants in the area which give discounts to students with an ID. You really appreciated mom's cooking when you are home.

    Academic Rigor

    College is a whole new experience. You must do everything on your own. There will be no parent or teacher telling you to get to class or do your homework. There will be no one to tell you to finish a lab or go to a review class. You can do everything on your own time however if you don't pace yourself and try to cram the result will not be good. There will be more work and it will be harder but it is all possible with a little time management.

    Tips for prospective students

    To make friends at any college you have to get involved in something. To make friends at a commuter college you have to find something you are interested in and make more of an effort to get involved. Even if it is going to the gym, you can find people there with similar interests. Also take advantage of the professors for help in your courses. You would be surprised how available they are.

    In three sentences

    This College is mainly a Commuter College on the verge of becoming a 4 year college. It is small enough to get one on one help if needed yet large enough to offer a variety of majors and courses. This is a school for someone who wants to save money the first 2 years and doesn't mind not living on campus and experiencing the college life.

  • 06/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Be careful with the extra-curricular activities you get into Campus safety is always around.

    What to do for fun

    Play manhunt on the quad sometimes. Workout, play basketball, and party occasionally.

    Food and Dining

    Everyone has their own experience about the cafe but I like the food.

    Dorm Life

    is way better then living off campus. You are able to interact with people a lot more.

    Academic Rigor

    Like anything it ultimately depends on the classes you take, some may be extremely difficult while others may be very easy. Choose wisely.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are very intimate about your privacy get a single room in the dorms. Build good relationships with your professors it can be the difference between getting a B+ or an A. Try your best not to be shy, college is about getting an education but also building valuable connections.

    In three sentences

    A small community with diversity. Everyone appears to be very friendly with one another. The small classroom setting allows for you to build a solid relationship with your professors, and that is a plus.