Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Orange County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college for students who would rather not be in the middle of a bustling and noisy city. It is separated from the main section of Middletown, but not so far as to be considered back-country. It is also good for those who wish to be challenged, but may not have the money to go straight into a four-year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get as many college courses completed in high school as possible. This will allow for later courses to be taken earlier when in college and save time. Apply for as many scholarships as possible. The more money saved by scholarships, the more money can be set aside for a four-year college.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a two-year college that offers the same level of education as many four-year schools. The tuition for residents of Orange County, as of 2010, was approximately $2062. For non-residents, it was about $4124, but neither of these include books.

    Am enjoying being here

    The professors are extremely approachable for questions and make sure every student has some way to contact them if need be. The students are mature on campus and quite a few are willing to help people in their classes.

    Am learning a lot

    This college will challenge the mind of any intellectual student that enrolls. The Honors Program at SUNY Orange is much more difficult than many honors high school classes, testing critical thinking and analyzing skills that may have been put by the wayside in high school.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had an instance where there was a threat

    Greek Life

    None whats so ever its a community college

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student general ones who want to stay close to home or are being thifty when it comes to looking for the cheapest way to an education

    Bang for the buck

    Very cost-effective. Has a bridge program with many schools in the NY area

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs they tend to go on trips and do fundraisers

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to stay on top of your advisors about what classes you should take towards your major or you'll end up being there longer than expected

    In three sentences

    Overall good school very tough nursing program but molded towards engineering.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security vehicles around, but they never seem to get out of their cars, which is a bit unnerving to me because it my disable them from stopping a criminal from wrongdoings if they are on foot.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not too aware of this as I have just transferred, but the band is good yet small. Check it out! I am a trumpet player and loved playing with the OCCC band in high school.

    Great for these types of students

    Ambitious, live-from-home, personable, of financial need, integrated with the community, and lastly - stellar.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I'm aware of - check with an advisor!

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely.

    What to do for fun

    There are community activities as well as continuing education courses at OCCC.

    Food and Dining

    The city of Middletown has many good restaurants, but all are off-campus. If vending machines are more your style, then you're all set.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home and there are not dorms at OCCC.

    Academic Rigor

    The students at OCCC are dedicated and motivated. It's great to go somewhere within walking distance of my home, and see such an ideal atmosphere for intellectual growth and prosperity.

    Tips for prospective students

    I wish you all the best, and don't be shy of the faculty and professors! They are superb and have great insight into your intentions, so don't hesitate to ask for help or to get as much as possible out of your college experience at OCCC.

    In three sentences

    This is a close-knit community college with outstanding credentials. I love the teaching styles of many of the professors at Orange County Community College, because they do not lack the knowledge of how to work with young adults. Most importantly is the convenience of teacher-to-student and peer-to-peer study, as it is simplified at OCCC and is of critical importance for an enhanced collegiate experience.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no greek life.

    Bang for the buck

    very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    sorry if you looking for fun look else where. o.c.c.c does have plenty of free lectures and some times they have things like bingo nights. sometimes there are shows in the lunchroom but they usually aren't well received. i would say go to the plays or the improv. or puppet finals. the shows are great.

    Food and Dining

    its school food. the lunch room closes at 5 or 6 but classes are till 10 and 11pm. if you take later closes you will basically eat out of vending machines. there are also food carts but they are limited too.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms here. if you live in the area it is really easy to get too.

    Academic Rigor

    it depends on the teacher. some times it can be so hard your head spins while other times it can be really easy. it depends on the teacher and if they are good at understanding there students needs. some of the teachers could care less if you learn and only want to here themselves talk.

    Tips for prospective students

    take it seriously. most students don't and spend 3 or 4 years here instead of 2.

    In three sentences

    its affordable. its accessible. it can be some what limited.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good on security and safety!

    Greek Life

    some.

    Clubs and Activities

    psych club, bio club, and more!

    Great for these types of students

    right out of high school and adults continuing education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    sitting in the court yard.

    Bang for the buck

    afordable!

    What to do for fun

    loads of activities are available.

    Food and Dining

    the food is great but expensive.

    Dorm Life

    none.

    Tips for prospective students

    study!

    In three sentences

    a school that cares about their students. a college that provides a helpful hand when it comes to financial aid. orange county community college is the school to go to.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is number one at my school. They will take care of.any situation. The team of men are very nice and look out for the students on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Orange County Community College is affordable for people who can not afford a four year college. Each semester for a full time student is about two thousand dollars ,which is twelve credits or more. If you decode to go part time it would be close to one thousand dollers. This is all with out including books. Books are usually cheap at the book store , used ones come in handy.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there is not alot of things to do for fun. Some things that could be in interest to you are the choir, art,reading a book, going to the plays and special trips.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria offerred on campus. They have many kinds of foods students can choose from. The prices are cheap and affordable. The type of foods they offer are sandwiches, pizza, soup, snacks,burgers and fries,chicken fingers, and much more.

    Dorm Life

    At Orange County Community College there is no dorm life, but you can live around the campus in apartments or houses.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically students do phemominal in their classes. The professors try not to make it hard ,but challengeing. Alot of students find that developmental classes help them pass their college courses better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for students that would like to apply here are aplly early to get a head start on forming your schedule before school starts in September. Always be prepared for class this shows the professor you want to learn. Try not to fail a course , if you feel like you will not pass drop the course before you earn a failing grade. Lastly, if your are having trouble grasping the material in the course there are tutors offered at the College.

    In three sentences

    Orange County Community College helps students broaden their horizons. The Professors that teach there take the time out to help there students. Orange County Community College motive is to help students achieve their goal.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have activities, sports, plays etc...every month!

    Tips for prospective students

    See the advisors and let them guide through your academic stay, they will help you successfully meet your needs.

    In three sentences

    This an excellent school where I got so much support and free tutoring. The teachers are personable and I learned so much. I graduated 2010.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Yes ! The school is not expensive , and you get your money's worth .

    Food and Dining

    I neve had food in the cafeteria , but I have purchased coffee and breakfast, sometimes lunch at the daily grind . It is a little over priced but there's always something to get there!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms !

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like the school helps students a lot , the teachers challenge you for the most part and are good at what they do. You will learn a lot here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take this school as a joke, or think it will be just like high school, because it isn't.

    In three sentences

    Suny orange was not what I expected it to be, it was actually quite challenging. I really enjoyed the two semesters I took here before transferring. The teachers I had were smart , kind and helpful. I feel like I really learned a lot.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Jewish club, christian club, martial arts club, cheer leading club, wrestling club

    Great for these types of students

    Urban, like to commute to school, work, parents

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The alumni green is a great hang out place

    What to do for fun

    Cultural clubs and student activities

    Food and Dining

    Great cafiteria

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Hard courses

    Tips for prospective students

    Join the campus clubs. Be a tutor on campus. be nice to the professors, that might be the difference between a B+ and an A-

    In three sentences

    The professors are very attentive and supportive. There is a great student government on campus that supports the student body. The administration and admission process is very easy and flexible

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is available inside campus and outside of campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a Chemistry club, Martial Arts club, and Studetn Senate. Nursing club, Biology club, and a Medical Lab tech society.

    What to do for fun

    Inter-murals for volleyball, soccer, and volleyball.

    Food and Dining

    On the go dining located in the first floor. Open bar salad and Italian cuisines.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    G.P.A has to be higher than a 2.0

    Tips for prospective students

    Great internship services available. SUNY orange has a great nursing, Rad Tech, and Laboratory technology career programs.

    In three sentences

    Professors have great teaching skills, tutoring is available, and students show good academic.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had any problems. I have taken day and evening/night classes.

    Greek Life

    I have never been into the idea of joining a fraternity, so I have never checked this out, but I don't think OCCC has any fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Criminal Justice Club, debate club

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't mind living at home and who want to minimize their college debt!

    Bang for the buck

    I think to get two years of college done when you can live at home, and only have to pay tuition (which is around $4,000 for the year) and then transfer to a four year college is great money-wise. Also transferring to a SUNY 4 year college is pretty simple.

    What to do for fun

    OCCC has a lot of clubs. Students can also use the gym and pool at times.

    Food and Dining

    I actually don't eat at the cafeteria in the student center, but there are a lot of places in Middletown where I go to school.

    Dorm Life

    OCCC unfortunately does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I think that I would give OCCC 3.5 stars; although some instructor's classes are up at 4.5.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come in with AP or college credit from HS, make sure that you check with the Registrars Office that you received all your credits. If your assigned adviser isn't helpful, then the Admissions office can help you. Use Rate My Professor to check out different instructors before you register for classes!

    In three sentences

    The history and anthropology departments are excellent. Use of Rate My Professor is a good way to check out potential instructors - especially in the English and Math departments. Class sizes are small - my experience is 13-25 - which is great.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I will be a student as of August 27, 2012 and so far, they have helped me with my financial aid and they are friendly.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will see campus security everywhere you go on campus and there are emergency telephones scattered around the campus in case of an emergency.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to save money, unsure of what their major is, or they are taking a major that can be continued at a 4-year institution.

    Bang for the buck

    The price for tuition each semester is very low compared to other colleges in the area. And if you plan on transferring to a SUNY school all of your credits will transfer over as long as it is a C or better.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or participate in intramural sport. The campus offers bus trips for different events and at a reasonable fee you can go on a trip to see a professional sport event or a broadway play.

    Food and Dining

    Even though the food tastes delicious and nearly everything you order is made fresh and specifically for you, it is pricey and I don't recommend eating on campus every day.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes are reasonably challenging. The English courses are typically what gives the students here the most difficulty and those who came from 4-year schools to here claim it is tougher to pass the courses here; specifically Freshman English 1 and 2.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes as soon as possible! If not you will be wasting a lot of time not only getting inside the office and waiting for your academic adviser to be available but also spending time creating a schedule that will be very inconvenient. For example, have a schedule with a morning class and an evening class on the same day.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    $2100 a semester for a full time student is far cheaper than any four year school and all credits passed with a C or above transfer within the Suny system.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs that you can get invovled, each one going on its own trips.

    Food and Dining

    Over priced and not amazing, but what cafeteria food is?

    Academic Rigor

    SUNY Orange has one of the best English departments in the state.

    Tips for prospective students

    Arrive at least thirty minutes early if you want to find a parking spot.

    In three sentences

    If you are poor and able to ignore students who are not here to learn it is a great school. The problem with it is that half of each freshman class drops out before the semester is over, but not before they are a distraction to everyone else attending.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have security on campus but there are times that I feel that all they do is stand around and do nothing.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many things to do and get involved in if you decide that you want to

    Bang for the buck

    Great college to start off with and a great price compared to surrounding colleges

    Food and Dining

    They have a decent cafeteria on campus, but its the typical cafeteria food and nothing special

    Dorm Life

    OCCC doesn't have dorms on campus that I know about. You would have to get help with finding an apartment close by.

    Academic Rigor

    The college is a very difficult community college but if you keep up with the work that they give you you'll get a great education for a great price.

    In three sentences

    OCCC is a great college to start off with. It's not like one of those private school where you pay an arm and a leg. And the best part is you have the opportunity to get a great education that can transfer to a grad school if that's what you decide that you would like to do.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Freshmen, Returning Students

    Academic Rigor

    SUNY Orange provides excellent opportunities for students to challenge themselves and excel with the help of committed and caring professors, advisors and tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be vocal with your student advisor! They're nothing like a high school guidance counselor, they'll actually help find the right resources to maximize your post-secondary education experience as long as your goals and attitude aren't lofty!

    In three sentences

    The Newburgh campus has changed quite a bit since the last time I attended classes here. Student/faculty interactions have become more streamlined and pleasant. With the expansion of the campus it eliminates a need to commute to Middletown.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Go to class and do the work required. Do not always blame the teacher!

    Food and Dining

    THe food is a bit expensive for my taste. I eat at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are taking HIS Geddes is the man. Carris and Vicky are two really good Math teachers.

    In three sentences

    I love OCCC. The English department is a bit challenging but it is worth it. The full time advisers are very informative (Peter is my favorite). The new KAP building is beautiful.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I doubt you will get hurt, but there are security guards that are very pleasant.

    Greek Life

    The school is somewhat diverse.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have clubs that match with your major.

    Great for these types of students

    OCCC is great for all students, especially students with small children, and students who prefer online classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    OCCC offers seasonal activities, career programs, free income tax preparers, international trips, bake sales, entertainment, poetry slams(students/professors), and much more.

    Bang for the buck

    You learn so much, the professors are nice, the computer labs are always available, the distance between classes are short, we a lot of parking available, most of your classes will transfer, and you pay about $2,200 per semester. No Sat/Act needed, just Placement test.

    What to do for fun

    Tuesday and Thursday students can enjoy performances in the cafeteria. All students can enjoy the art gallery, computer labs, and greenhouse.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, a little pricy. You can always drive or walk to McDonald's, a Pizzeria, a spanish restaurant, or Subway's.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, but one can invest money in an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    OCCC is not hard. If you find difficulties in any of your classes, talk to your professor or classmate.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise all students to stay organized by taking many printouts of the degree scheduling sheet to always know what classes you need to take. Also, do assignments before the due date, do homework, and focus in class. OCCC is easy, if you stay focused.

    In three sentences

    OCCC is the perfect school to begin your college career. There are many degrees to choose from and many transferrable classes. You will learn, you will pass, and you will save money. I love OCCC!!!

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition keeps increasing but it is about average. Books are insanity overpriced and buy back program offers 20-33% of wholesale at best and most professors don't even use them but won't tell you that because they are required to appear to use it.

    Food and Dining

    Newburgh campus is still working on this but the cafe on the Middletown campus is hearty and always staffed and stocked.

    Academic Rigor

    There has not been much of a challenge for me thus far, however I am an adult learner and far more dedicated than most teenaged students. Be aware that many online courses are taught by assistant professors and will likely be less challenging academically, but more challenging in 'busy work' generally irrelevant to the course content.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find an alum or current student at least 2 semesters in to guide you through the admissions and registration process and do A LOT of your own research on what you want, need, and what is available to you. Do not rely on

    In three sentences

    SUNY Orange has great resources for students ands beautiful new campus in Newburgh, NY. Their admissions process is very spotty, in that it is done in detached segments and no one department knows any of the other steps. Advisors at SUNY Orange are also sub-par and tend to be overwhelmed and ill informed.

  • 02/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security posted in every building as well as new emegency systems installed.

    Clubs and Activities

    A large amount of teams and clubs. 30+

    Bang for the buck

    Best decision I ever made. Achieved my associates degree for a low cost and onto the school of my dreams.

    What to do for fun

    Many athletic teams and clubs offered. Huge discounts on Pro sports events, plays, concerts etc. Intramural sports all year round for everybody.

    Food and Dining

    Many food and dining establishments within a mile. Also cafeteria in college.

    Dorm Life

    Not offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the tutoring and library services.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful and rather large campus for a community college. Cheap tuition cost, affordable. Great variety of Professors.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have different groups to join.

    Food and Dining

    Could use better food facilities.3.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Good academics. 4.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will get out of it what you put into it.

    In three sentences

    This college has teachers that take the time to work with you. It has a helpful and friendly staff.i enjoy my classes.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    History Club; Criminal Justice Club, Wellness Club, and others

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student who is more interested in college than in outside activities. Also if the student has own transportation because the school provides free transportation for the Middletown campus from Newburgh when needed, but for everything else...the buses here are not the best means of traveling.

    What to do for fun

    Museums and historical areas, like the Washington Headquarters, restaurants, shopping malls and many other things to do if you have a car.

    Food and Dining

    Very limited choices in the 2 college buildings, but there are some good places nearby.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, therefore I can not evaluate it properly. I do not know if there are any dorms at all.

    Academic Rigor

    I had to work very hard to maintain a good grade point average. I do not regret the effort but it is stressful at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to give a 100% effort to the classes, pay attention, and study hard. If you fall behind at the beginning, quickly get a tutor and work hard, otherwise you run the chance of failing because the classes are very demanding.

    In three sentences

    Very demanding professors. High quality curriculum. Excellent services: student center, tutoring center, library/librarians, and labs.

  • 08/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, but its basically the same everyday

    Dorm Life

    non- existant

    Academic Rigor

    Most courses are challenging and you will take a lot of information from it, but the courses that are bad are really bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on time for your classes. Don't buy your books from the bookstore, you can find them cheaper online. Don't miss too many classes.

    In three sentences

    Orange County Community College has a challenging English department. It also offers a wide variety of courses. And, this school also has a lot of fantastic teachers.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    My major is fun!

    Food and Dining

    Super good chicken!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are good

    Tips for prospective students

    Finish your paper work early! Get books online!

    In three sentences

    I love my teachers so far. The book store was crazy. I didn't like how the finical aid office was ran.

  • 10/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will ALWAYS be able to spot campus security. Will the unnecessarily bother you? NOT AT ALL. They are cool and make the campus safer, they are constantly on patrol and when their services are needed they take their security job as serious as a police officer would.

    Clubs and Activities

    Every class will be associated with a club. Chemistry class you will be in chem club, for MEd lab tech students you are apart of MLT club ect.

    What to do for fun

    There is something for everyone. There are are shows, theaters, intramural sports and just the general social life amon the students on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Since there are no dorms there is no meal plan so food is out of pocket costs. But there are places to eat in the area.

    Dorm Life

    SUNY Orange doesn't not have a dorm just yet, but there has been some talk about getting some. If there are dorms in the near future it is DEFINITELY the ideal college life.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are SERIOUS about their jobs and they expect all students to give it their best shot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to SUNY Orange is great for those wanting to build your GPA to transfer and possibly even get scholarships to local and out of state four year colleges and universities. It is actually even smarter to do so if you aren't sure if what you chose is right for you. I suggest that prospective students really take a look into requirements for the BA degree then look into SUNY Orange to see what can get done for a lot cheaper.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Orange is a school that is working to become recognized among the state as one of the top schools. The Health profession programs are outstanding and the instructors work to make sure each student is understanding course materials. It is a school I personally recommend to parents while on the job for their upcoming high school graduates as well as those in professional settings.

  • 11/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security are walking around all the time, I have never felt unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    They're a variety of clubs which is great, the problem with this though is that most are at the same time.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are unsure about whether they want to go to college or what their major is going to be.

    Bang for the buck

    Its good for the money. You get your basics out of the way for cheap and the professors are decent enough.

    What to do for fun

    There is nothing really to do for fun here.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent on campus but ridiculously expensive. There is a Mcdonalds,Taco Bell and Wendy's near by which is great.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, which in a way sucks but it is only a two year school that most transfer out of before the full two years.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics for the most part are average except the english department. The english is very hard here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its basically like 13th grade here, and not a party school.

    In three sentences

    The teachers suck, the communication sucks, the place just sucks.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I was on the Board of Activities/Campus Activities for 2 years, I loved it! There is a good amount of clubs for a commuter college.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that don't have a lot of money/want to work part time while going to school to pay for it. That's what I did.

    What to do for fun

    Play music, snowboard, mountain bike, hike, hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad, expensive. They do have healthy choices, but they're too expensive. I always brought lunch.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, though there is a couple rumors of them possibly building some.

    Academic Rigor

    It's definitely not 13th grade like some people say it is. You might run into some people you know here, but that doesn't make it 13th grade. If you treat it like it is, that's what it will be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rate my professors. Always look at ratemyprofessors.com before you take the class. The professor is just as important as picking which class you want to take. Go to your personal advisors. The advising office is horrible, I've known many people who have had to stay an extra semester because of bad advising.

    In three sentences

    GREAT school for the value. Though the English department is rough, the classes are quite informative. I enjoyed my stay here.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food tastes so good

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms right now.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school. The campus isn't too big so you won't get lost. It's the best way to discover what major you want.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is average for community college.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Business

    In three sentences

    OCCC is a great way to start off the first two years of college. It offers a wide range of major options. The scheduling for a full time student is very flexible.