Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college if you plan on taking a few classes to transfer to a four year insitution.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    could be better but overall pretty good

    Great for these types of students

    students wishing to broden their horizon

    Bang for the buck

    well priced, well educated.... all around awesome!

    What to do for fun

    get to know your fellow students.

    Food and Dining

    i really enjoy there chic-fil-a facilities.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms available

    Academic Rigor

    they offer a wide aray of courses to help you get into an acclaimed 4 year institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    come prepared with all documents and youll be excepted the same day!

    In three sentences

    orangeburg-calhoun technical college is an excellent choice! not only are the staff very well trained and very pleasant but, they do all they can to get you where you need to be. id recommend this school to anyone.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I rate OCT a number two of many schools that I have researched and are interested in becoming a student there. OCT has a great environment. one thing that I like most is not having to be on a long waiting list to enroll in the nursing program.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun everyone chills in the cafe, and eat talk, and joke around.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you know what major you want to go into, and that octech offers it.

    In three sentences

    if i had to rate octech on a sale from 1-10 10 being the highest. i would give it a 9. octech is really more than what people make it out to be.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    there is a large cafeteria at orangeburg calhoun technical college where you can socialize and eat tasty food.

    Dorm Life

    i do not have any experience with dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    academic rigor is something that most teacher stress. they want their student to go beyond just memorization of material. the teachers want you to really know the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would recommend prospective students to go ahead and apply. this is a good school and everyone needs an education.

    In three sentences

    orangeburg calhoun technical college is a good school. the teachers are very helpful and understanding in every way possible. all the staff are helpful and welcoming.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have different sororities and clubs here you can join to occupy yourself and have fun doing.

    Food and Dining

    They also have great food here, you have different choice and varieties.

    Dorm Life

    The only thing that's not so good about tech is they don't have dorms you can stay in. But besides that, this is a great school.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great college to attend before attending a four year college! They have great counselors and they are some nice, respectful, and mature people here at tech.

    In three sentences

    Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College is a great hands on college. The teachers here are great they help you with any problem, or situation. I love Tech because the teachers here they always say no question is dumb, you can ask any question and they will be gladly to answer it with no attitude or animosity towards you.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College is an extremely safe campus. Campus police are always on patrol. They're the first and last people on campus as well. There are also emergency telephone booths place around the campus for quick access. You forget that you are even at school most of the time. Campus Safety is a 10 out of 10,

    Greek Life

    There are not any Greek Organization at Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College.

    Clubs and Activities

    Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College offers basketball, golf, cheer-leading, and baseball.

    Great for these types of students

    Orangeburg Technical College is perfect for the hardworking student who learn better in a smaller classroom and need that one-on-one time with the instructor.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College is not a fun College to attend, due to the fact that there is not much to do. It is for those who are serious about making good grades and graduating with a specialized degree with decent pay. 50% of the students here attend to get more credit hours and then transfer to a University or larger College. I highly recommend doing the same. You save thousands of dollars attending a technical college first and then transferring to a University after. You acquire a quality education just as you would at a University as well. Financially you cannot beat it. The only downturn is that socially there is not much to do here. If you're serious about attending Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College ponder and evaluate yourself on whether these missing social aspects are important to your success as a college student or not.

    What to do for fun

    There honestly isn't much to do for fun at Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College. The students only come to school to complete their work and leave when classes are over.

    Food and Dining

    Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College has a cafeteria. Most of the students do not eat in the cafeteria. I suggest you bring your own food from home.

    Dorm Life

    Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College does not have any dorms or living quarters, unfortunately.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework/academic rigor is not too challenging. I will give it a 5 out of a 10 point scale. The work here is basically broken down by a beginning lecture and followed by a list of assignments (busy work). The key to passing is to do every single one of the assignments given. This helps out tremendously if you don't do so well on a test, quiz, or exam.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are contemplating about attending Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College here are some tips. Use your time wisely. The classes are spread apart and you will find that you have a large amount of free time in between. It is essential that you use this time to complete homework and to study. Another tip I have gathered from personal experience is, to ASK QUESTIONS. I cannot stress this enough. The instructors there are willing to help you pass the class but they will not come to you, you have to go to them. These two tips will help you excel at Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College with flying colors. Trust me!

    In three sentences

    Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College is a great school for obtaining a quality education, with a smaller classroom setting. The smaller setting allows the student to get that one-on-one time easier rather than attending a University or larger College. It is an awesome school to attend!

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go play basketball at the cour or you can sit in the cafe and watch TV with friends or go get on the computers.

    Food and Dining

    They have different business coming different days with variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    Thier are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers makes it easy to learn because they break things down into great detail for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you focus and listen to what you teachers got to say.

    In three sentences

    OcTech is a pretty good school. It has some great teaches their. Overall I would give the school a 8 out of 10.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun you can sit in the commons area or visit other schools to see your friends.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eten anything from the cafe but from a few friend reviews they have amazing food.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have any dorms but they will give you the choice to stay home or apply for housing at South Carolina State University.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers will work with you as far as academics and your work schedule if you have a job. They will give you a chance to make up work that you've missed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to attend OC Technical College I suggest you hurry and apply because going on campus just to apply gives you the urge to attend classes.

    In three sentences

    Orangeburg Calhoun Tech has an amazing clean campus. The faculty that I spoke with were very polite and gave clear information. The school offers everything that I need to finish my Associates Degree.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's very safe. Emergency phones in the parking lots, cameras everywhere, security has a very strong presence on campus.

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    Only 2 clubs that i know of. The Outdoors Club and the Gladiator Gaming Club.

    Great for these types of students

    Goal-oriented students or working professionals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None whatsoever.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a good school to go to if you want a good associate's degree or if want to transfer out with some good courses under your belt. Tuition prices are great!

    What to do for fun

    We are starting to get some (not many) clubs on campus. I only know of 2, the Outdoors Club and the Gladiator Gaming Club.

    Food and Dining

    Not that great. We have Pizza Hut on Mondays and TRMC Cafe on Tues, Weds, and Thurs. Its better to go to Wendy's or Hardee's and save some money.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus...

    Academic Rigor

    It can be easy. It can be hard. It is what you make it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take transfer courses. Ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Good for the goal-oriented person. But don't come here expecting a free ride. You learn what you pay for so don't waste it by goofing off.