Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Oregon Tech (Oregon Tech) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated students will enjoy this environment. This isn't a party school, and people should be prepared for a rural surrounding. If you need an environment that will help you keep focused, this is the college to look into.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a party college, just look the other way.

    Bang for the buck

    Just look at the rate of job placement. It's crazy high! It's about the same cost of OSU or U of O, and it has far better job placement. This college will ready you for the future and won't bankrupt you in the process.

    Am enjoying being here

    At first, I wasn't too thrilled about the surrounding town. Klamath Falls, Oregon is a rural town, which harbors few entertaining venues. As I continued to live there though, I realized that happiness assured by the town you live in, but the friends that you have there. I am happy because I have met some of the best people in my life there. If only we had some better places to spend our weekends...

    Am learning a lot

    There is an extensive amount of information being taught at Oregon Institute of Technology, and excellent professors that are extremely willing to help you learn it. Since this college is on the smaller side, the professors know you by your name and are committed to teaching you as best they can.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety at oregon tech is extremely friendly and nice. they do their job and they do it well.

    What to do for fun

    in klamath falls there are many things to do, not to mention all of the campus activities and the family fun center downtown.

    Food and Dining

    a new company has taken over oit called sodexo the past year, but the food is outstanding for any mood you have. they have 4 restaurants and subway next door.

    Dorm Life

    oit has the best dorms around. they are extremely cheap and insanely new and nice. there is many dorm activities constantly going on and if you are in the residence hall you will definitely make some new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    oit has a very hands on approach with teaching, so while the classes may be difficult to some, you actually take knowledge out of what you are being taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    check out all your resources at oit, there is always help when you need it. also, know what feild of study your going into before you apply.

    In three sentences

    oit is a great school because of the one-on-one help you get from the teachers. they are very engaged and flexible to work with you, not to mention small class sizes. it also helps that oit is very cost-effective.

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    as i mentioned earlier, there are so many different clubs on campus that there is always some event going on.

    Bang for the buck

    oit may be slightly more expensive than a regular state school, but they have a great reputation.

    What to do for fun

    there are so many different clubs at oit that i wish i had more time each week! there is always something going on campus.

    Food and Dining

    there isn't much to choose from on campus. there are a few different places to get coffee, though, which is good enough for me.

    Dorm Life

    i haven't lived on campus so i can't really say anything about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    there are lectures that are coupled with labs in most majors at oit. be sure to pay attention in lectures to easily do the labs.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you intend to go to oit make sure you are ready to study and ask questions when you don't understand something. when you ask questions then the professors will recognize you and be more willing to help. the campus is beautiful, but drier than i thought it would be.

    In three sentences

    oit requires a lot of hard work, but it is so much fun. there is so much hands-on learning! all of the professors are very helpful.

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Alpha Sigma Alpha and Phi Delta Theta are the only Greek-life organizations on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you have the inner nerd/geek.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth it here.

    What to do for fun

    Outdoor stuff, Basketball Games,

    Food and Dining

    Not the best in the world, but it is food.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the Castle (residence hall) was a blast. Living the in the Village however, take a bit more effort if you want to meet people.

    Academic Rigor

    Short, 10 week terms with a lot of content in those terms. Time management is key to survive in this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you want to do before applying here. Might be good to go community college to get some general education pre-reqs out of the way.

    In three sentences

    So long as you know what you want to do, this is a good school to advance you further into that area of education. Otherwise, it might be a good idea to consider another school.

  • 11/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that like a smaller school with small classes, close relationships with professors, and hands on learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get involved and make new friends

    Bang for the buck

    It was excellent for me because I live at home and am just completing my generals before I transfer to a bigger school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I grew up in this town and never realized what a gem we have here. The campus is great. Everyone is very friendly. And this school could give plenty of others a run for their money as far as advancements in every department.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are great. Very nice, hands on, and always willing to help.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    If you are willing to look you can either find great food, or the materials to make it yourself. Go wild!

    Dorm Life

    I live 200 miles away and attend online.

    Academic Rigor

    I've enjoyed my classes so far. Senior level Globalization (ANTH 452) was a boat load (a slow boat from China) of work but Mark is a great teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Make a plan. 2) Follow your plan. 3) Review your plan with your assigned counselor.

    In three sentences

    Awesome staff and teachers. I LOVE the ability to work from home, I live about 200 miles from campus after all.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do not change majors you will find yourself set back a whole year

    Bang for the buck

    If you have to pay regular tuition it is not worth going to this school because it will become to expensive per term

    Am enjoying being here

    There is nothing to do at Klamath Falls besides drink.

    Am learning a lot

    The information technology field is not stable right now but it is better than it was 3 years ago. I think this field will filter out all the bad teachers within a 2-3 year time.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    there is a sorority and fraternity.

    Great for these types of students

    tech students, medical students, or business majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    military barracks

    What to do for fun

    campus activities puts on events for the students. however, the basketball games are the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    take one year at a community college and get most of your pre-requisites done.

    In three sentences

    at this college you get to actually do the work, not just learn it. there are so many hands on classes and experiments.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have great security guards!

    Greek Life

    It is pretty much non existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone if you want to get involved!

    What to do for fun

    As everyone says, We go to Walmart! There are also fun parks to go to, a few classy bars. Lots of outdoorsy things.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't that great, but that changes yearly.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorms. There is always someone to hang out with, you always have a study buddy on campus. You don't have to get up extra early to drive to class.

    Academic Rigor

    There is alot of work that goes into going to school here.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Live on Campus at least your first year. 2. Get to know your teachers. 3. Keep up with your school work.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus. The people are very friendly. It is a small nerdy school.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    New campus just opened in Wilsonville.

    Bang for the buck

    Formal education will make you a living; self-education will make you a fortune. -Jim Rohn

    What to do for fun

    Check the Tech News Daily - Oregon Tech News.

    Food and Dining

    I eat home food.

    Dorm Life

    I live with my parents.

    Academic Rigor

    Talk to your peers about different instructors and classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions if you don't understand something. Plan ahead. Don't wait until the last minute on home works. Attend classes, participate!

    In three sentences

    Oregon Tech is a great school to attend. Class size are 12-20 people. New building in Wilsonville with many resources for students.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Attending OIT at Salems' campus.

    Dorm Life

    Not living in a dorm.

    In three sentences

    OIT school has one of the most amazing staff members. I got accepted to OIT's Dental Hygiene programs this past summer and I got a lot of great help from the staff which has prepared me for the year ahead. I have been in the program for one semester now and I love it.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Engineering, medical imaging.

    What to do for fun

    Klamath Falls does not offer much to do.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms because it costs more than living off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The Medical Imaging program is extremely rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school's main focus is academics. Sports and extracurricular activities is are not popular.

    In three sentences

    The class sizes are very small, which allows for a more familiar experience with the professors. All the professors are very knowledgeable. The campus is a little outdated in some buildings.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    engineering and medical.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Oregon Tech Wilsonville you won't be let down.

    In three sentences

    The hands down best engineering and technology program in the portland metro area. Professors are all top notch and highly experienced in the field. Clean, new building and small class sizes.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a batting cage on campus, but its on the opposite side of campus from the athletic building, in the basement of a civil engineering building! How crazy is that!?

    What to do for fun

    During the winter months, sledding is always a great way to get outdoors and have a great time, since Klamath Falls does get a lot of snow.

    Academic Rigor

    OIT is extremely challenging, but if the effort is put into the class and you ask for help, the help will be provided.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't try to decided right away what you want to do with the rest of your life. Take a few random classes you are interested in your first term or two to discover your calling in life. Also, try something new and out of your comfort zone right away.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. This is my third college and OIT is extremely helpful and I am so glad I transferred to OIT because I was actually considered to be a student, a person, and not just another number, or payment plan.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus saftey are very awesome and friendly. They are very helpful and keeps our campus safe at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus, you name it. And if there is not a club that fits you, you can create one and start a new club.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are seeking a medical major or an engineering major, this is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The O at the top of the hill next to the campus is a remarkable location on campus.

    What to do for fun

    People can hike to the O. People can go biking and running. There is a bowling alley and a cinema in town. Theres a gym to play basketball, volleyball, or you can play outside. There is a big field to play freesbi and other games outside.

    Food and Dining

    The is not that great.

    Dorm Life

    It is expensive, but it is worth the experience. Living in the dorms has made me get more involved in campus activities and I have mad a lot of friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are intelligent in each field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare for cold winters and hot summers. Make sure you get to know your professors, they provide a lot of help.

    In three sentences

    It has a great environment. I love the small size of a class and how we have a chance to know our professor. Oregon Tech offers many job opportunities after graduating.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They ticket you every chance they get. They have more security then necessary, but they let an ATM get stolen from the union and the town is not safe, they have cars stolen from the parking lot. Don't forget that klaMETH falls is the capital of this drug and is the highest murder rate per capita in Oregon.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Hardly any.

    Great for these types of students

    Unsocial and socially inept students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Laundry soap in the water fountain. Fun on a Friday night!

    What to do for fun

    Wal-Mart.

    Food and Dining

    Subway, Subway and then more subway. They don't have many other combinations.

    Dorm Life

    Small rooms in a concrete building. Just missing the bars across the windows.

    Academic Rigor

    It's ok, but Engineering 101 had 80 people in a small classroom. Where is the 1 to 20 ratio?

    Tips for prospective students

    It is really just a B rated school, they play with their stats to make it look better, graduate success rate only 30% of the grads actually report their earnings, the others don't share and their pay coming out of college is a lot less then the average. Make sure you ask the right questions before you serve your time.

    In three sentences

    Institute is the key word here. It feels like jail when you go and you actually Serve Your Time while going here. Nothing to do at the school or in the town except go to Wal Mart and play in the toy section or go and drink beer in a friend's room.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Medical imaging students. I am not joking about how awesome all the hands on learning is.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I am paying less for my education than most of my peers, even the ones that go to other state schools. I also feel like I am getting one of the better educations the state of Oregon has to offer.

    What to do for fun

    Oregon Tech has an awesome Outdoor Club. They are doing something different like every weekend, and it is always at super cheap prices.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Oregon Tech is improving, but if you end up off campus there are a ton of good restaurants to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was kind of underwhelming. However, the RA staff tries to put on a lot of activities that can sometimes be pretty fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can get hard, but every teacher is there to help students succeed. Classes are small enough that students can have one-on-one interactions with teachers to help them with the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a career in the medical field, specifically medical imagine, check out the Martha Anne Dow Center for Medical Professionals. The amount of machinery that they have for students to get hands on learning is incredible. They have more machines than some hospitals.

    In three sentences

    At Oregon Tech, the class sizes are pretty small compared to other state schools. The curriculum for most majors prepares students for careers in their perspective fields. Oregon Tech also offers many opportunities to connect with companies that are willing to offer jobs to students right out of college.

  • 08/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    If you keep up on your studies you will do well in school and with the events outside of class, it's the greatest time of your life.

    What to do for fun

    I often times will indulge in dorm wide video game challenges, or dorm activities such as Humans Vs. Zombies event that happens each term in which nerf guns are allowed to help fight the zombie invasion. Local activities are movies for discounts, bowling for discount, the lake, late night adventures, and many sorts of group activities with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The CU offers great choices of food ranging from healthy to not so healthy with a Pizza Hut and a Subway involved as well, including several coffee carts throughout the educational buildings for quick access.

    Dorm Life

    Each level of the dorms are separated with wings and each wing gets to know one another well, there are two lobbies on each level where mass groups of students get together to interact or to study.

    Academic Rigor

    Oregon Tech has to be one of the most challenging and inspiring programs to say the least. When it comes to the experience it gives, there may be no comparison. The hands on learning expected from Freshman level is that of exit level work at most Universities. There is no time wasted on the book work, you learn from both lecture and labs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect easy classes or be able to slack off when it comes to school work, and when extracurricular activities are involved, always remember to get into them, but to make sure that you focus your free time on studies.

    In three sentences

    I find that Oregon Tech has the greatest core group of professors in the Computer field in any area one could be interested in, from hardware, software, embedded, to a mix of them all. The programs are hard in that it's more than likely everything learned in the first two years of the program one could learn more than most would at competing universities. I personally would suggest this school for any who has a career degree available at this educational institution.

  • 09/01/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Non Existent

    Great for these types of students

    Socially Awkward

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Throwing soap into the fountain and watching the bubbles grow.

    What to do for fun

    Usually went to U of O or SOU, San Francisco is fun. Should have just went to one of those universities. OT won an award for having the most socially awkward students, which is very true. Also, ranked in the top 25 of worst professors by CBS news: http://m.cbsnews.com/storysynopsis.rbml?&pageType=moneywatch&catid=57570151&feed_id=76&videofeed=43&nb_splitPage=4

    Food and Dining

    They aren't open on the weekends. Pizza Hut and Subway gets really boring after 2 weeks.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Live = Prison Life. Everybody tries to leave for the weekends. Boring! If you can get outside after you bundle up, the ice will make you slip and fall

    Academic Rigor

    Rigor, they let anybody in, it was very frustrating when I was there to learn and everybody else wanted to play video games or drinking games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have winter clothes and lots of books to read.

    In three sentences

    There are six seasons in Klamath Falls, Almost Winter, Winter, Extreme Winter, Late Winter, I can't believe it is still Winter, and August, and August is very questionable. The town is horrible with nothing to do. I'm glad I served my time and got out of the place

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The on campus officers aim to make sure that you feel safe at all times and have a Night Ride program in case you don't feel safe walking from one building back to your dorm or apartment at night.

    Greek Life

    There is a sorority and a fraternity on campus, both filled to the brims with nerds.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are 50+ active clubs on campus that allow students to explore any activity they can think of as well as being able to start one easily. Many events are also held each year, such as the Haunted House.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in any of the majors offered and nerdy students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For orientation each year the staff holds a weekend event for students called Hooties Halloo where they take students to explore the city and for the past 10 years have had The Dating Doctor on campus to help students during Hooties Halloo.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is super reasonable and the staff makes sure you know what services are available with the tuition you pay (such as the tutoring services and medical care).

    What to do for fun

    What isn't there to do. There are 50+ active clubs on campus and starting one is super easy. In October there is the Super Club Sign Up where clubs present on campus and students can sign up. There are also trips all around the state to do outdoor activities at a super low cost for students (sky diving was only $100!!)

    Food and Dining

    Only one area to get food on campus, but multiple coffee shops that take food plan cards. The food is what you would expect from a college campus, but is reasonably priced and the staff is friendly. There are also a few fast food places down the road from campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are bigger than in some of the other state schools, but they differ from wing to wing. There is also only one dorm hall so you're bound to get to know fellow students both in your classes and in the dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    All of my teachers have jumped right into content and have continued to do so. The staff here aims to have masters in the fields they have alumni in as well as having students be well rounded individuals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Only apply if you want to be welcomed with open arms, want to be known by name by your teachers, and are okay with they cold! It's only my first week of classes and my teachers already know me by name and major and want to help me have a great time here.

    In three sentences

    I have no words to describe how awesome Oregon Tech is! They have been nothing but welcoming and helpful towards me. And my teachers know me by name!

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are several campus safety officers walking around campus especially at night and they also patrol in cars around the perimeter of the school. The thing I like best is that if you want or need an escort to or from any where on campus to your car or the dorms or the gym they will walk with you or drive you if its snowing!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs I couldn't list them all. But pretty much every niche has a club.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the serious student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are a tech school. A large population of the school is nerds. From time to time Mrs. Pac Man can be seen running around campus. And the occasional Pokemon costume is worn in the cafeteria.

    What to do for fun

    There are constantly things to do on campus but the community also is bursting with activities. Every third Thursday main street shuts down for a block party during the summer and beginning of the school year. There are learn to row classes and demo events for boating activities at lake Ewana downtown.

    Food and Dining

    There are many different choices for students in the cafeteria like, pizza hut, hamburgers off the grill, fresh made stir fry and pasta, salad bar and subway. We also just got a Jamba Juice station in the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm staff are always thinking of fun events for the students on campus. There were life size jenga games in the courtyard, game nights, movie nights, and nights when the nerds bring their computers into a lounge and all play the same game at the same time! We also have campus wide games like humans vs zombies.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough, but they are made that way to help students prepare themselves for the real world. They allow students to gain the knowledge and hands on experience needed to get a job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take your classes lightly, study hard, read everything. Have fun, Klamath Falls has a lot to offer. It is hot in the summer and snowy in the winter allowing for tons of outdoor activities. Join a club on campus. The outdoor program hosts really cheap trips through out the year, like surfing and sky diving. Its a great way to meet new people and stay active.

    In three sentences

    Oregon Tech is a highly academic school with friendly and passionate teachers and staff. Class sizes are small helping students maximize their learning potential. The programs offered are highly specific and allow students to get hands on training and enter the job force right after graduation.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Engineers Intellectuals Medical personnel If you are a super religious or liberal arts student don't even think about setting foot on Oregon Techs campus; you will be eaten alive.

    Bang for the buck

    Oregon tech is rated number 7 in the world for its Rate On Return. (Bang for your buck)

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends and play sports and video games. The town sucks, don't even leave the Oregon Tech oasis.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo sucks horribly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, get plenty of sleep, and go to your professors if you need help.

    In three sentences

    Oregon Tech is an incredible college. Incredibly educational, incredibly objective, and incredibly difficult. Oregon Tech is an amazing college in terms of its classes, teachers, and educational level. However, be prepared to work very hard and get what you work for.