Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Otero Junior College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is basketball, tennis and soccer near by.

    Food and Dining

    For cafeteria food not bad at all.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't stay in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get things done ahead of time. Don't be hesitant to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Great! simply put. They are very willing to help and give you the attention you need.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the safety is good we have goods security's and we also have resistant dorm assistants.

    What to do for fun

    play video games with friends, work out at the fitness center, and go to the gym to play indoor soccer or basketball.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is average tasting but what i really like is that there is a lot to chose to drink from.

    Dorm Life

    peaceful but can get noisy at times. you can easily make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    we have resident dorm assistants, security, and a dorm advisor you can talk to.

    Tips for prospective students

    look into joining the trio program.

    In three sentences

    i do not play any sport at the college but it seems most sports programs here are really good! the campus is nice and peaceful for the most part. it has a new fitness center that studenet enjoy.

  • 07/28/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Otero is a great collage for anyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go and talk to people. You can talk to anyone on campus. If that person doesn't know the answer they will find someone who can help you! Don't be shy. They have answered every question in the book and they know the only dumb question is the question that is not asked.

    Bang for the buck

    Otero is a cheep collage, but it is fully accredited and offers state of the art courses to help students as they pursue their education and careers.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus at OJC is beautiful, with neatly kept lawns and flower gardens. The people are all friendly and helpful. I applied for one scholarship at campus and the scholarship lady brought me into another building on campus to sign me up for more!

    Will learn a lot

    Otero Junior College is friendly with an 'open door policy' that invites students to seek help where ever they need it. they encourage you to use the resources that they make available to you, including free tutoring.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus has a pretty save campus

    Great for these types of students

    Someone that isn't that good at sports, but wants to be involved. A student that wants to pursue nursing, but not wait on a list.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are churches that meet on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    For how cheap this college is, you can definitely get the education for how much you paid.

    What to do for fun

    I'm not sure what you can do for fun at this college.

    Food and Dining

    I enjoy their food the most, of everything they offer.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't that great, I don't know how else to put it.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though it's not as academically difficult as the top colleges, it still requires time and effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a good college if you like small towns, safe atmosphere and have more one on one with your teachers. The sport program is also good.

    In three sentences

    This college seems nice, and it's close to my church...but it's just too small for me. There aren't a lot of opportunities for me here. Despite this, I think it's a good school, especially for nursing.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ted and Carla patrol the campus all day everyday :)

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and many sports! We have mens and womens basketball, baseball, softball, men and womens soccer, volleyball, and even a rodeo team!

    Great for these types of students

    Otero is great for any type of student, but I believe it attracts more athletes because it is a junior college and in a small town!

    Bang for the buck

    Since its a community college the tuition is much cheaper, but I would say WELL WORTH IT! Im a full time student and I room and board at Otero and I have no complaints about what Im paying for. Very affordable!

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can always go to a sporting event! Otero has an awesome sport support and going to games is always a great time. Also, just hanging out with the new friends you meet!

    Food and Dining

    The food is always good and tastes homeade! Also, there are several different choices and the cafe is always tidy!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice, they are maintained and cleaned everyday and there are new dorms being built right now!

    Academic Rigor

    For a first year college student classes were very passable and the help from professors and trio is amazing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely check out the new fitness center that was built! Enjoy the clean environment provided and the friendly atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    Otero is a great juco, I just finished my first year and couldn't have been happier! The campus is very clean, and everyone on campus including students and professors are very nice and welcoming, the small classrooms are a plus with more one on one with professors. Otero also has great athletics!

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for athletes, non-traditional students and students seeking a nursing degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus is the historical site of the Koshare Indian Museum. The troop performs summer shows that consist of historical facts among Native American Tribes and their dance customs. It is a unique, enjoyable experience.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining room is surprisingly good. They have a wide variety of options to choose from and they cater to various cultural and personal diets.

    Dorm Life

    I can't say anything about the dorm life as I live off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    My program of choice is very rigorous and I am proud to say that I successfully completed my first year with immense amounts of studying.

    In three sentences

    Otero Junior College is a pristine campus with extremely helpful staff in the Student Services Center. Most instructors seem to genuinely care about the success of their students and provide venues for success in the program of choice. Fellow students are friendly and the community is a pleasant place to attend college.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small town, never felt scared once!

    Bang for the buck

    So cheap and you get the same education you'd get at a larger university.

    What to do for fun

    The town is small, so there isn't a ton to do. But the college does a great job of creating lots of on-campus events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are communicating with the advisers well about where you're transferring and what your planned major is. Take advantage of the free tutoring programs!

    In three sentences

    Otero Junior College has a great small school atmosphere! I love it here and everyone is so helpful! You will feel right at home!

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have seen security walking the campus at night, but have never had a problem or witnessed a problem. I have never heard any complaints so I will take it that the security is good!

    Greek Life

    For geeks like me! There is many study group and study sessions available. There is plenty of areas to quietly work on your own. The school also provides one-on-one tutoring when necessary. The library is FILLED with great books!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is many clubs and activities to choose from. It really depends on what walk of life you are from and what fits you. Phi Theta Kappa is one of the largest on this campus. We also have some amazing Sports teams. GO RATTLERS!

    Great for these types of students

    OJC is great for the students that are driven and want to succeed. None of the professors will let you slide by, so if your a coast along type of student, this school won't work for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is so many I don't know what to list! :) My most favorite is the school's participation in local parades. I don't think there is a better way to get involved with the community!

    Bang for the buck

    LOL! Bang for the buck? No matter what at OJC you get your money's worth, whethere it be in the student store, cafeteria, or tuition!

    What to do for fun

    There is always activities going on for the students. Some take place on campus and others are fun trips off of campus. The local high school has an indoor pool which allows OJC students to swim for free. (Yes, there is a hot tub.)

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteries rocks! Good food, flat screens, and comfortable. Can't beat it! The pricing of the food is more than fair, and often enough the cafeteria is filled to the brim at meal times.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life or dorm activities for me. All the girls rant and rave and love living in the dorms, so I guess it must be a good thing.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough curriculum in almost all classes. Why this may make someone shy away, what you really have to think about is the education you will walk away with. Nothing worthwhile is free - especially when it comes to your individual education and future.

    Tips for prospective students

    When it gets tough, don't give up! Do what is asked of you plus more. The best way to move forward towards a better future is to work at it! Listen, take notes, and study. The best way to succeed is to just put effort into your learning.

    In three sentences

    OJC has become a second home to me. The staff is wonderful, always willing to help when needed. This school has provided me a chance at a better future for my family.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I love the healthy choices in the cafeteria!

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing program is tough! Very strenuous program, but so worth it in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small town feel this school is for you!

    In three sentences

    The staff is truly focused on my future. You can tell that they want me to succeed.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nestled in the small town of La Junta security & safety are of a high priority for college students. Everything is right there on campus so there is a lot of students around 24-7.

    Greek Life

    Unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    Otero consists of several athletic teams such as baseball, basketball, volleyball, soccer & rodeo. They also have a great nursing program!

    Great for these types of students

    Otero is great for the student that likes a small environment, individual attention on your academics and is an easy place to meet new people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Otero consists of mostly athletes who are pursuing their college education. Between classes, school work and athletics there isn't a lot of free time.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is reasonable and you get the core classes done for the first two years of college.

    What to do for fun

    Otero is in the small town of La Junta. Even though there isn't a lot to go & do the comrotary with other classmates is good. Pueblo is only an hour away for shopping, movies and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good! There is such a variety that whatever your mood they will have something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! Everything is right there. And the new dorms are really cool!

    Academic Rigor

    With smaller class rooms it is very easy to succeed academically or get help if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Small school with individualized attention. If you don't want to get lost in the big University atmosphere this would be a great school for you.

    In three sentences

    Otero is a great school for students who want a small, individualized college. I have really enjoyed attending school here and recommend it to everyone.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Otero Junior College has many intramural sports to participate in.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love this college. Wouldn't go any where else. The teachers are some of the best teachers I have met.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's a setting that's basically designed for people right out of high school, and still spreading their wings, so to speak.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The new Learning Commons is a great place to relax with a laptop, or even just take a nap. ;-)

    Bang for the buck

    Its a lot cheaper then a 4 year college normally would be.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of programs to join, such as TriO, which is what I'm a member of.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, and the prices are fair, considering the location. There was just a Starbucks off branch opened in the new Learning Commons, that serves really good tea and coffee.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, so I can't say.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are always a lot of fun, or at least the ones that I have been in, have been. But they can be very hard and challenging. This isn't high school, that's for sure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the services that are available- tutors, counselors, and so much more. They are really helpful, especially when its something new that you've never encountered before.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very helpful and friendly, and become true friends. The people from Student Services are always available, and ready to help in any way they can. The class size is so small that friendships usually result, and the atmosphere is most generally wonderful to be in.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Otero junior college is an extremely safe campus. There are hardly ever any fights, usually never. As said before, We are one big family who look out for one another. We also have security guards who roam the campus for 9pm-430am to make sure the campus remains safe throughout the night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Throughout the year the different athletic teams will host intramural sport tournaments which are a great deal of fun to participate in. Although their aren't many clubs, the sporting events/teams are the best events to go to and groups to hang out with.

    Great for these types of students

    Otero Junior College is a great school for athletes looking to play at the college level. If you were to jump straight into an university's athletic team as a freshman, you'd probably won't get much playing time. But at a junior college you get so much game experience and the coaches will actually take the time to focus on your development and any needs to get better, whether its athletically or educationally.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a great hiking trail that is right down the road from the school and half way through the hike you'll never guess what you'd see. Dinosaur tracks! it is amazing and a great hike. My teammates and I go on the hike all the time and it is beautiful and interesting.

    Bang for the buck

    Since we are a junior college, OJC is very affordable. Even though tuition and room and board is so cheap, your educational experience seems like university level teaching.

    What to do for fun

    La Junta is an extremely small town, but we still find ways to have fun. Otero Junior College does an amazing job at hosting many events such as dances, holiday parties, intramural sports and even school wide competitions. After a long day of studying and practices, it is nice to lounge in the dorm lobbies and watch a movie on the flat screen or play an intense match of pool or ping pong with fellow students. We may be a small school but we students undoubtedly make this a very fun environment.

    Food and Dining

    With a brand new renovated cafeteria and lounge the quality of OJC's food and dining has definitely increased. There is a wide variety of fresh cooked food and full salad bar to choose what you want to eat. In addition, if you enjoy watching television while you eat there is an eight screen television set with cable and outlet to connect your gaming system! Also, serving staff is very friendly and knows majority of us on a first name bases, so it makes us feel at home.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is extremely fun. As mentioned earlier, OJC is very family oriented and since we have a rather small campus everyone knows each other and we're all one big family. It's nice being able to walk around the dorms and knock on any door and personally know whose in there and have enjoyable small talk with them without being a creep. Everyone on the campus is friendly and since majority of students here are athletes, we all support each other at games, in the gym or just in everyday life.

    Academic Rigor

    Otero Junior college's science department keeps students on their toes. Classes keep you interested, involved and give multiple opportunities for hands on experiences. OJC's classes such as human anatomy and physiology, chemistry and physics are few of many programs that has students in the library and at multiple study sessions to keep them knowledgeable about the topic. The rigorous classes here at Otero Junior College help students prepare for classes at the university level.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a college student you are solely responsible for yourself; therefore, organization and punctuality is the key to successes. Being lazy and procrastinating cannot be an option while in college, it is important to stay on top of your studies. As a student athlete I try my best to finish assignments early and not let my work load pile up because the bigger the work load the higher the stress.

    In three sentences

    Being a junior college, students may look down on Otero. But with it's family oriented community, great education program, fantastic athletics and extremely helpful and dedicated staff, OJC takes great care of us students and puts us first. I would not have wanted to experience my beginning years of college anywhere else.