Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Otis College of Art and Design Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe. Otis is open 24/7 with numerous security guards. Security guards will even walk you to your car at night.

    Greek Life

    Art School. 'Nuff said.

    Clubs and Activities

    No such thing. The school is so small that everyone knows each other. There's really no purpose for clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Extremely talented, devoted, passionate, and gifted students. Otis will chew you up and spit you out if you weren't meant to do great things. You MUST be a great artist to start out with, Otis will not make you into one. Otis is ideal for the exceptional.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cigarettes. Everyone smokes. It is virtually impossible to get away from those cancer sticks. There is a graffiti room, a student lounge with a microwave and a ps3/xbox. Otis gives out free dinners during finals week, often korean food. Honestly, around 70% of students are korean. The two most used languages on this campus are English and Korean. Never take the elevator to the second floor, unless you wish to be yelled at by other students.

    Bang for the buck

    The best art school one can get their BFA at. Otis cranks out geniuses and the next leaders in their fields. Graduates are currently employed at Vera Wang, Anthropologie, Armani Exchange, basically everything in the design field will have an Otis Alumni behind the wheel. It is worth the extensive amount of torture and pain the student will inevitably go through.

    What to do for fun

    What is fun?

    Food and Dining

    Food is overpriced. 'Nuff said. The cafeteria owner takes full advantage of the fact that no Otis student has time to even cook. Although the food there is very unhealthy, it is hearty and wholesome and will probably be the only place your money will go. And will probably be your only meal of the day, unless you are fortunate enough to live at home.

    Dorm Life

    Not the traditional dorm life. People will treasure their sleep, so please be quiet. Dorms is in the Five star luxury complex called Playa Del Oro. Comes with a 24hour fully equipped gym, sauna, lockers, jacuzzi, pool, basically everything you will never have the chance to use due to the academic rigor Otis demands of its students. RA's will demolish any hopes of partying, although it isn't as if half dead sleep deprived students will want to party.

    Academic Rigor

    No sleep, no time for food, makeup, walking zombies of death haunt the halls of Otis. The only sunlight that these students get are when they're sucking on their cancer sticks (cigarettes) during their short fifteen minute breaks in class. Freshmen year (foundation) will be the single most hardest thing you will ever do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Otis is notorious for Fashion Design, being the third best fashion institution in the WORLD. Digital Media is also famous, with some of the hottest concept artists in the industry; many graduates have worked on movies such as Transformers, worked for Pixar, and such. Toy designers are a guaranteed job out of college, due to Matel sponsoring Otis. There are many majors, and Otis has such a great reputation that there's really no way to fail outside of college. Unless of course, you decide to go into the blackhole of fine arts.

    In three sentences

    A very prestigious and expensive school, hell bent on sucking dry your health and social life. A student's average night of sleep consists of probably three to five hours. So many many many hipsters.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for dedicated people who haven't really decided what art major they would love to go into. (You'll have a whole year to decide.) I think this school is also great for Toy Design, Fashion Design, and Digital Media majors. The other majors are good as well, but this school is particularly good for the aforementioned majors (or so I've heard.)

    Tips for prospective students

    * Try to get into the Honors Program. It's difficult, but quite satisfying. * It's nice to have a car, especially if you're in housing and you want to explore the city. (You might not have as much time as you like, but just in case.) * There's no official cafeteria, so learn some basic Korean words. (It'll make sense if you come here.) * Try to buy used course readers and textbooks from students, not online. (It's much cheaper this way, trust me.) * The closest art store is Graphaids, but if you have a car, look for another one. This particular Graphaids overprices their items. * Don't be a procrastinator. This school is great if you want to change these bad habits. * Keep doing what you love.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers will pile up a LOT of homework on you. Be prepared for sleep deprivation (yes, even as a freshman), but be prepared to learn a lot as well. You will also be spending more money on art supplies than you expect.

    Am enjoying being here

    Since each section is small, the teacher can really help you as a unique individual. Your section mates are stuck with you in every studio class, so it's not hard to make new friends. The school itself has a pretty nice campus (though small) but I wish there was more of a artsy vibe in the buildings. Also, do not come here if you want a traditional college life. There are no extracurricular clubs and no foreign language classes. There will also not be much time to explore the city.

    Am learning a lot

    In Foundation (freshman) year, you will be learning a lot of technical skills, but it really depends on who your teachers are. Foundation students are divided into sections, and each section has it's own set of teachers with their own style of teaching. I'm in section D, and I really like the teachers in this section. In this year, they are not necessarily teaching creativity, or rather , the amount of creative activities you will do is a tad limited. However, once you get pass the basics, it should get better.

  • 12/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Otis is good for those who like to work hard and with intent. Most Otis students (at least the ones who are doing well in their classes and having fun) are dedicated and bent on learning new things.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you were expecting a typical college freshman experience, go elsewhere because there are a lack of clubs or fancy sorority-esq activities. Otis, among many art colleges and general universities now-a-days cost both arms and a leg, so be sure you want to invest your time and money in your education. Check out plenty of loans and scholarships available here or on other websites like fastwebs.com.

    Bang for the buck

    I came to Otis expecting an in-depth study of multiple types of art studies, particularly life drawing, which is exactly what I got. It isn't focused so much on artsy personal expression so much as it is a development of skills. With time I am noticing however we are allowed more say into the projects and am expecting next year to really kick off with personal expression and artistic input.

    Am enjoying being here

    In your first year all the freshman are split into small class sections (I'm in section J). You will become close to a lot of your classmates which I have and am enjoying the new friendships very much. I also live in student housing and love being able to do as I please and create my own schedule (freedom is great). I do wish there could be more clubs or sports activities, something to unite the students more.

    Am learning a lot

    The good thing about Otis curriculum is that they offer multiple classes coming from all areas of art. You will learn about painting, color theories, wood working and 3D design, life drawing and much more during your Foundation (freshman) year. You may be familiar with many things, but there is always something you will learn. Personally I am learning new things about myself, my work habits, and how I interact with the art world.

  • 08/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard Working, Not Complaining about working and reworking work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you work hard and turn your work in. A lot of people think Art School is like high school. Or community college. Professors don't know how to get it across and become frustrated what part of 3 days missed, or don't turn in your work do people not understand. If you are not up for the challenge don't waste your parents money.

    Bang for the buck

    I transfered from a community college and have seen how my artwork has improved over two semesters I came in Spring/ Summer. Which is very brutal and I don't reccomend people doing.

    Am enjoying being here

    Some professors need to learn constructive criticism other than that I enjoy being here. It is my first and only choice. I don't regret coming over. Transfering as a foundation student was the best choice of my life.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much over the past two semesters. ( I came in Spring/ Summer) Which makes me a sophomore in the fall. I learned so much more than I could at a community college.

  • 09/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students interested in art you really crave a sense of community. You are divided into sections during your foundation (freshman) year and this really sets the tone for your next years at OTIS.

    Bang for the buck

    It can be pretty expensive, but as an art school student, it's pretty much par for the course. Try to plan ahead and spend carefully, I'm sure that you'll spend a lot at the close by Graphaids.

    Am enjoying being here

    The faculty is all very nice and you really feel like they are all approachable. Even within the first couple of days of being there, going through the registration process and so forth, people that I talked to the day before actually remembered me and details about my situation after only a pretty short conversation.

    Am learning a lot

    OTIS is an amazing place, I went to a few other schools before settling down here and I learned more in the first weeks at OTIS than I did in and entire year at some other schools.

  • 11/16/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    it is expsensive so apply apply apply for scholarships

    Will enjoy being here

    i am very excited to hopefully attend this school

    Will learn a lot

    THey have been so helpful in the college application proccess making things so much easier for me

  • 01/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Driven, creative, intelligent individuals that want to be the best in their field of study. People that want to speak to their teacher on a first name basis and have classes as small as 13. This is serious but fun business.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work. Do it ASAP because you WILL only get more. I find writing a lot of To Do lists help. Also I am trying out an app on my iPod called iHW and it has your class schedule and hw assignments for each class. Check your school email!!

    Bang for the buck

    This is a private art school. There are also unforseen expenses for art supplies or projects that you will be assigned. My best advice is to find another student that wants to split the cost of materials.

    Am enjoying being here

    At first it was a hard environment to adapt to. I was commuting over an hour daily to get to school which was a very difficult situation. As far as a socializing environment there is something called a section and depending on what time you want to have courses puts you in a section. For the first semester I had most of my classes with the same students. Now in second semester I have only a few of the same students in my other classes. This gave me the opportunity to get to know other students and make some friends!

    Am learning a lot

    As a first year student there are very specific guidelines for projects but that makes projects with a little lenience even more exciting. You are taught how to be a hard-worker and successful. If you do not work hard, you will not succeed in your classes.

  • 12/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are hard-working dedicated and passionate. Students should be ready and willing to learn. Students should be humble and respectable towards others. Students who have dreams and goals that they know Otis will help them achieve.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management, have supplies ready, try to get a lot of sleep and eat healthy.

    Bang for the buck

    Otis is located in Los Angeles and there a lot of great companies in the city. Otis offers great programs to train you to be ready in the professional environment.

    Am enjoying being here

    Otis focuses on the technical and conceptual sides of art. Otis often has guest from companies and famous artists to speak to the students. I enjoy learning new things every day inside and outside of Otis.

    Am learning a lot

    I learned so much about what I want to do as an artist through friends, instructors and faculties. I even learn new things through class works, group works and life events.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's good.

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working friendly ones.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very different from the first art school I attended. This one will help me find a job that I will enjoy.

    What to do for fun

    LA is a vast learning ground from its museums to its galleries and beaches!

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I get all the help I need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to plan on having extra money for all those art supplies.

    In three sentences

    This is a real-world college experience designed to help students find work in their chosen art majors.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 security guard that will lock the gates and let you out at night. the campus is open 24/7, so the take safety seriously. all labs have techs there for assistance.

    Clubs and Activities

    slightly off the radar, but they are available for all to join!

    Great for these types of students

    artists, of course!! anyone creative and hard working.

    Bang for the buck

    we gain connections, have access to the latest technology, and have professionals in the field as instructors.

    What to do for fun

    the classes are fun and we have some club activities. the student activities always have something planned, usually including free food!

    Food and Dining

    the cafe has good homemade food, is slightly expensive and small.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in the dorms, but they are located in a luxury apartment complex.

    Academic Rigor

    really challenging and makes you think and plan ahead. worth every min.

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to work and build yourself up to what is expected of you. don't procrastinate and always give everything your all. retain a positive attitude and just have fun!

    In three sentences

    otis is amazing and challenging. the staff are helpful and eager to teach. wonderful experience even though hard, very rewarding experience.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's literally by the beach! And if it's not beach weather, there's always Koreatown.

    Food and Dining

    Restaurants, food trucks, fruit stands, coffee shops, you name it.

    Dorm Life

    Housing is held in the really nice Playa del Oro apartments down the street. It's only open to first-year students, but there are plenty of other apartments in the area that are close driving distance.

    Academic Rigor

    Time management is the key.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready to work hard! It's pretty easy to get in, but it's whether or not you can survive the workload.

    In three sentences

    At this school, you get a lot of individual attention from your mentors. Classes are small, and you know everyone in your class. You can always find a way to mold the curriculum to get what you want out of it.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards on campus all the time. Anyways, you have enough weird art tools to use one someone in case anyone jumps you. You're good.

    Greek Life

    I don't think so?

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't really seen or heard of any clubs. Activities, maybe, but not clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic, weird (weird is good, don't worry), ambitious, passionate, can run on no sleep, adventurous, and organized.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'll get back to you on that once I find out. Well, I guess there is one thing. apparently our mascot is an Owl? That's pretty cool.

    Bang for the buck

    Very pricey, so make sure you have means of some financial aid. The price to pay is worth it in the end though.

    What to do for fun

    It's an art school, what DON'T you do for fun? haha. Interesting people there, so there's never a dull moment.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't really dined near there, but I love food all the time.

    Dorm Life

    Pricey, so if you live near it's best to just commute.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors make it clear that they want to put their students working at a professional pace, even at day one.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Otis, make sure you understand what you're putting yourself through. You need the drive, the passion, in order to make it here. I have not yet started officially, but I will in a few days. From what I heard, I have the biggest challenges ahead of me, but I'm willing to jump all those hurdles in the way.

    In three sentences

    Otis is a very challenging art institution and the students sacrifice a lot in order to achieve their goals there. In the end, all the hard work pays off, and these students turn into the artists they have always dreamed of becoming. Furthermore, they change the world one medium at a time.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The students have ID cards and an X number that they are reacquired to sign in with when entering the school grounds after hours. The campus is open 24 hours and there is always a security guard or two around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not too many clubs at Otis because the students are so busy with school assignments and jobs but there are several activities and celebrations at Otis every month.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One interesting tradition at Otis is the cube project in Form and Space class during Foundation year. Each wave of students has to build a cube from paper, one from cardboard, and a pyramid from foam board. Another interesting tradition is the socratic seminar with Michael Schrier at Los Angeles County Museum of Art. One of my favorite traditions was in the Life Drawing course, we compared our first day drawings with our last day drawings. That was definitely a day full of laughs.

    Bang for the buck

    Most things in the cafeteria are over-priced but I often get a cup of rice which has carrots, peas, and other veggies in it with salsa on top for only $2.00. The best deal on campus. Also sometimes art supply stores come set up and sell discounted merchandise to the students, occasionally even giving things away for free.

    What to do for fun

    There is a bowling alley right next to the campus but as far as on campus fun, Otis often has visiting artist lectures, gallery openings and exhibits, field trips, and other various events for students to enjoy. During finals week, the school provides dinner to any student who comes to claim it which is a major perk during the most stressful time of the year.

    Food and Dining

    Although there are many options in the cafeteria, including vegetarian and gluten free alternatives, the overall quality is simply mediocre and the price is extremely high. I would recommend dining elsewhere like the beautiful farmer's market across the street in the park every Wednesday.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm living is certainly one of the most glamorous aspects of freshman year at Otis. Four students live together in the beautiful Playa Del Oro apartment complex in a spacious two-bedroom unit. The amenities include a pool, sauna, hot tub, grills, work out area, computer room, and entertainment area. It is just a block from the main campus with everything a person could need in walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    Not only is the artistic pursuit at this school at a very high level but the liberal arts classes are also intellectually challenging. The students are reacquired to take art history classes each year while in school along with English and writing courses and a math course. The combination of traditional and experimental drawing courses, digital courses, and 3-dimensional sculpting classes makes for a well-rounded education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Foundation year may seem kind of frightening from a perspective student's point of view, but the level of information you will retain and use for the rest of your life is not comparable to any experience I have ever had before. I would recommend keeping an open mind and having a very detailed schedule in order to manage your time most effectively as to not get overwhelmed by the heavy workload.

    In three sentences

    Otis is a perfect place for anyone interested in making his or her artistic pursuits a full-time professional career. The students are determined, talented, creative individuals who have the opportunity to learn everything about the basics of art and beyond from some of the best teachers in the world. All in all, the level of education available at Otis College of Art and Design is one of the best artistically in the country.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Do they have any 3D Design or Game Design majors?

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    We have cafeteria but not many people use it because of the high price. Yet, there is a Ralphs right next to Otis.

    Dorm Life

    Otis college provides you dormitory but the rent fee is expensive. It is about $11,000/ a year. And it is prepayment. But the facilities are excellent.

    Academic Rigor

    In my opinion, Otis is somewhat flexible to accept variable as students change their mind in terms of transference of major. So, until the end of sophomore year you can change your major as long as you know what to do for sure.

    Tips for prospective students

    The foundation year at Otis college of art and design is a stage when students can build up their basic skills. It is, of course, good for you to know more than the school expects as freshmen but it isn't necessary to worry about it because of the foundation year.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Take trips to the near by beaches and get a taste of what the beaches of California are known for.

    Food and Dining

    Downtown Los Angeles is filled with so many experiences it's going to be an adventure.

    Dorm Life

    I am not a dorm student but I do hear that the environment is well worth the time spent.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are tough, the gain is worth every accomplishment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to learn. Be accepting of the environment around you. Apply yourself to this moment and transform this opportunity into what you believe to be YOU.

    In three sentences

    The hallways have an energy that enlightens my imagination. The Classrooms inspire me to let my imagination come to life. The senior fashion show at the Beverly Hills Hilton put my heart in a place it has longed to be for so long, I feel I am meant to grow at Otis.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on at OTIS we have many activities

    Food and Dining

    Food tends to be a little expensive since we are by the airport but you can still find reasonable places.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a prospective student don't be nervous, be yourself, you'll quickly make friends and develop your art skills.

    In three sentences

    I love Otis College of Art and Design, it's amazing! Not only because of the wonderful people you meet daily, but also because of the hard working teachers. Their peer mentoring program is also amazing helping foundation and transfer student make a smooth transition into OTIS.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafe. It is good, just expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms, but there is housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Extremely hard, but many people to help if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask any questions you have.

    In three sentences

    Great campus that is extremely safe. There is an amazing amount of technology for students to access. The teachers and staff are extremely nice and helpful with everything.

  • 11/22/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Herd Otis is pretty pricey, but completely worth it. FAFSA, scholarships and grants will help.

    What to do for fun

    From what I've researched, there are lots to do around Otis and outside of Otis. There is the beach, bowling, restaurants.. I mean you're in LA. Tons to do there.

    Food and Dining

    From what Ive heard, there are tons of great places to dine.

    Dorm Life

    Not a student, so im not sure.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I have heard about Otis, the academics are very hard, but completely worth it. Just don't slack around and be the committed student that you need to be. Remember, this is your future career you are being prepared for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have not attended Otis but interested in going there. From what I've heard, it is a lot of work. Just be prepared, and ready to jump over some difficult hurdles. Manage your time, and do not slack off. This is your future career we're talking about here. Have fun, and go for it!

    In three sentences

    Have not attended this school, but very interested in sending an admission. I have read a lot of reviews, and from what I have read, Otis is a fantastic school that requires the most out of you. Which is not a bad thing.

  • 12/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are available to walk you home if it is late.

    Greek Life

    None.

    What to do for fun

    It is in LA so it is in close vicinity to Santa Monica and other fun places. However, you may not have the time for it.

    Food and Dining

    No meal plan but has a cafeteria that serve good food.

    Dorm Life

    Have to live in apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    First year, foundation year, is extremely manageable with time management. The following years get more and more difficult, but with a positive work ethics it will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good place to be if you are not sure what you want to do in the art field. Make sure to stay motivated or you may become one of the people who spend thousands of dollars getting nowhere.

    In three sentences

    A warm welcoming place for those interested in the arts, but not yet sure what they want to pursue. Studio teachers are extremely willing to help students. Time management and motivation will get you through the year.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is for the timid. You'd have to be on the verge of insanity in order to push yourself to the limit and discover your capability.

    Greek Life

    More like Greek food. Like I mentioned earlier, get up on those cheese fries..STAT.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you hated high school, this is what they mean when they say college gets a whole lot better.

    Great for these types of students

    Not for the sane but for the insanely risk-taking, creative.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unlike UCLA's annual underwear run, Otis paves the way for free expression of eccentric personalities and neurotic yet delightful beings.

    Bang for the buck

    A promised future in a field you're especially passionate about is worth every pretty dime.

    What to do for fun

    Fool around in the backend of the library, sip early morning coffee by the fountain, briskly walk within and throughout the open pavement of the quad, instagram photos of knocked out peers, continue study hall in cafes located in DTLA (which is literally right down the street).

    Food and Dining

    Apparently cheese fries from The Counter does not compare to the infamous cheese fries derived from Otis Campus Dining Hall Kitchen.

    Dorm Life

    I've had my share of experiencing inconsiderate roommates, loud hallmates, and high strung RAs. I think I'll pass on dorm life this time around. But just because the previous school I attended failed to offer me a blissful memory does not mean I should fault it on Otis. I'm sure dorm life for its fresh meat is doing well.

    Academic Rigor

    Not for the faint of heart or those prone to procrastinating. Time management is key in order to succeed in classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If a class starts at 10:00 AM, be there by 9:15 AM. You'll thank me later.

    In three sentences

    Everything you've heard about Otis is true. This particular college does not fail to impress its students with the wide availability of academic programs, the amiable faculty, and the fantastic web of networking. Otis provides challenges each and every day in various aspects yet whilst supplying its eager students a sense of spontaneity and fun.

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's small and mostly indoors, so you should be good.

    Greek Life

    lol none.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not sure about clubs, but there are a lot of activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Artists.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Toy Design floor is amazing and fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on the major, it may be too expensive to be worth it.

    What to do for fun

    hang out, go to the beach. the usual stuff.

    Food and Dining

    pretty good variety of food on and around campus.

    Dorm Life

    never tried it.

    Academic Rigor

    It's mostly art and design.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work really hard, your creativity goes a long way here.

    In three sentences

    This is an expensive school. This is a great school. I recommend it.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    What to do for fun

    You're in LA there are plenty of things to do!

    Food and Dining

    Cafe is good but it can get expensive and there is no dinning hall.

    Dorm Life

    Expensive

    Academic Rigor

    Great stuff!

    Tips for prospective students

    A lot of work but it is totally worth it being here. Find somewhere else to live besides the dorms because they are very pricey

    In three sentences

    Great school, sun, and wonderful buildings. Very clean buildings. Staff is super professional.