Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ottawa University-Ottawa Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for all types of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you apply at then end your Junior year you will know by the end of July if you are expected to the school. The will work with you in Financial Aid and anything you need help. You just call them up and they will answer any questions.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though it is a little expensive it is worth it because you get to know your teacher on a one on one basis.

    Will enjoy being here

    You will get to meet great teacher, and students. When I made my first vist to the campus I knew Ottawa is where I wanted to attend because it make you feel like your are at home.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is very helpful and i feel safe at this school. they provide you with the phone numbers which go directly to the campus security in case of emergency.

    Greek Life

    there are a couple on campus greek life opportunities.

    Clubs and Activities

    many opportunites available from greek life to fac.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    when we win the football kcac championship, there is a bell on campus that the football players get to ring. also, during homecoming we have a bonfire.

    Bang for the buck

    although the school is on the expensive side of the spectrum, you definitely get your bang for the buck. the institution provides a healthy and successful environment that you wont find at other schools.

    What to do for fun

    the student council on campus provide the students with many things to do such as: midnight donuts, movie nights, subway night, etc.

    Food and Dining

    food is available in the cafeteria at nice times where students can have plenty of time to eat. when the cafe is closed there is a snack bar available where you can order burgers, chicken strips, etc.

    Dorm Life

    there are three dorms available on the ottawa university campus. each is different from each other allowing students to pick one that will suit their living style.

    Academic Rigor

    very prestigious.

    Tips for prospective students

    consider all schools small or big, as ottawa university provides just as many opportunities as a division one school. the private school setting allows students to have a relationship with their teachers instead of just being a number.

    In three sentences

    ottawa university is a very promising private school with many opportunites. they provide the correct tools and skills that enable their students to be successful in their life after college.

  • 06/03/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Not sure will be attending in the fall but this was a mandatory question

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    small town, safe and quite.

    Greek Life

    there is not a greek system at ottawa.

    Clubs and Activities

    fca, football, i am still getting my feet wet.

    Great for these types of students

    students from small towns, or small private high schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not really sure yet.

    Bang for the buck

    is any school really worth $30,000.00 a year.

    What to do for fun

    go to football games, fca and other campus events. there is not a lot to do in ottawa. there are parties, however i am not a drinker so i enjoy watching others make fools of themselves.

    Food and Dining

    the food cost to much and is horrible. i could not wait to get home and eat real food.

    Dorm Life

    being a freshman, you get the worst dorms. the phone reception is bad and it has a cold atmosphere. on the plus you get to meet people you would not normally interact with.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are challenging even for someone that made high b's low a's in high school. however, help is available for those who ask for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you feel comfortable in a more rural, small town environment. there is not a lot to do off campus.

    In three sentences

    the professors and staff really care about the success of their students. the housing options are not the best, for freshman. food plans are costly and the food is terrible.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to pay

    In three sentences

    small, boring, educational

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Know all the security guards by name. Helloooo Rusty and Jim! ;)

    Greek Life

    None to speak of. There is a sorority--but not many people want to be involved in that.

    Clubs and Activities

    **see above descriptions

    Great for these types of students

    Coming from a small town, athletic-athlete campus for sure.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For homecoming we have a bonfire and everyone shows up to the football game.

    Bang for the buck

    Love the professors, the classrooms and facilities (library and cafe) could be updated. Small campus and friendly people but it is not your typical KSU or KU college experiance.

    What to do for fun

    There are house parties and the RA's put on 3 activities each per month so there is always something to do. CAB has subway, donut, zumba and movie nights. And we have a lot of really active clubs on campus-hungry for change, DECA, the Jazz Band.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is alright, they always have a salad bar which is nice--but how old the lettuce at the bottom of the bin is, is anyone's guess. We have a snack bar for when you can't make it to the cafe, but it is closed on weekends---when you want it the most! =/

    Dorm Life

    I'm an RA in Bennett Hall (the best one!) and we have a good time. We are suite style-so we have our own living room, bathroom and kitchen for 4 girls. The halls are all co-ed, but we don't let anything get crazy. Curfew for people of the opposite sex is 12am on weekdays and 2am on weekends. The only thing I would like to change is us having to pay for laundry--Southwestern is in our conference and they get theirs for free.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone knows what the easy majors are (communications) and what the hard ones are (Biology, Accounting and Business to a degree). Gospels with Menniger will be challenging, but it is doable. They just expect you to do your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out OU during your Junior year to get a feel for it-(they won't hit you as hard with the recruitment till your Senior year)-then if you like it, make sure to take a tour and visit all the residence halls!

    In three sentences

    Ottawa is a great school for those who would like to get to know their teachers on a first name basis-it has a very small town feel and everyone knows everyone. The staff is great, very friendly and willing to help you if you need anything. The facilities are average, cafeteria and library is sub-par but they are planning a renovation in the near future.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security and maintenance are always available to help students out and follow protocol whenever there is the need. They put the students first in everything.

    What to do for fun

    Going to sporting events are where many people go at night. Also there are two towns near by that are available to go to have some fun. There are also social gatherings on the weekends that are fun and a lot of friends are met at these.

    Food and Dining

    That cafeteria food is alright, there is a snack bar that is convenient to you and gives you an extra choice of food other then cafeteria food. Also the options of authentic and dine in restaurants in Ottawa is great.

    Dorm Life

    There are three residence halls here at Ottawa University. They are extremely social and exciting. You meet many people that will become friends and also the dorms are well kept and nice to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    There are numerous majors here at Ottawa University that allows you to do what you love to do and also the availability of you to change is convenient for your use.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the school that you see yourself at and fall in love with at first visit. That is what happened when I visited Ottawa University and I hope that one day you find that school and hopefully it is Ottawa University.

    In three sentences

    It is a small private college. Many things to do here at Ottawa University. The students, faculty, and coaches are welcoming and make the environment better to live and go to school in.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ottawa is a very safe place

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Bang for the buck

    It cost 30,000 to attend and you really don't get much for that.

    What to do for fun

    There really is nothing to do for fun, sometimes there are activities that theI ra's plan but majority of the time your on your own.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is HORRIBLE!!!!!! The food is not bad because of the supplier its the staff. Rules are ridiculous as well, I have went to other Universities and they do not have such frivolous rules. They are currently building a new cafeteria but I do not see how a new building will enhance the food if the same staff is cooking the same food.

    Dorm Life

    Brown is for those like life and noise. Bennett is privacy and fun. Martin is privacy and no noise.

    Academic Rigor

    Its not hard just read and do your work when assigned.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know that you want a small town experience and be open minded.

    In three sentences

    A very small campus, there are less than 600 students that attend OU. It is very difficult to transfer credits from here so if you don't like it, leave quickly. Although OU does take others credits. Administration is friendly however there is a huge display of bias on the campus. No diversity, some believe so but its truly not. Diversity on campus in ratio to the town is high. However if you look at the campus in terms to greek life (NONE), outward AND comfortable homosexuals, Asian Americans, Latino Americans, African Americans, and lack of clubs and activities.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security staff is great just look up bomb threat thursday at Ottawa University. It may have been way out of proportion but they took the extreme measures of making every student and staff member safe.

    Greek Life

    We pride ourselves on not having any Greek life unlike our rivals Baker who thrives on the Greeks.

    Clubs and Activities

    Ottawa University tries and succeeds fairly well and that is all I can ask for from my school of 1,000 students.

    Great for these types of students

    Ottawa is a great school for any type of student. We have a lot of athletes and a lot of liberal arts students, the range is wide and the diversity is high.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only tradition we currently have is gaining a lot of students then losing them because no one has the money needed to make it through.

    Bang for the buck

    For the money we pay we could have better things. However, the school is slowly upgrading and making it worth the four years of bankruptcy.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with the life friends you make at college. What better options are there to do than that for a fun activity?

    Food and Dining

    Ottawa University students get fed and that is the only good thing I can say about the schools food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    There is not one student I have met that does not love our dorm life. We have group activities, plenty of space, and great staff that keep it well kept. The only down side is some of the rules they put on the dorms but that in turn will keep things running smoothly so they still get their full 5 star credit.

    Academic Rigor

    I honestly wish I could give Ottawa five starts for their academics, however, there are some not so wise choices of professors that they have hired. If their professor choice was considered slightly more Ottawa University's academic rigor would be one of the top.

    Tips for prospective students

    The class level is hard but that is the point of college. The university wants you to achieve your best so that is what they push for and in the end you will be extremely grateful for the time and money you put into the school.

    In three sentences

    Ottawa University is the place I gladly spend all of my time. During breaks all I want to do is go back and not only because I have friends there. The academic program is great, the staff is excellent, and the campus itself is splendid.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is never a dull night here at Ottawa University which makes you love it even more here. There are so many good parties to go to on the weekend or the university has many good activities planned out. The university has movie nights and big parties which you can go to a free movie once a month or they have many good parties as I said before like bingo night where you play bingo and win prizes or you can go to casino night where you can win a big TV.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining here at Ottawa is really good. They make good food and you feel like you had an awesome dinner. There is also the snack bar which makes some of the best food on campus. The dining staff here is some of the best in the nation and try their best no matter what every night to make you feel like you are at home.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here at Ottawa is amazing because you will know everyone so that lets you be able to go to any room in any dorm and know them and be able to hang out with them. The RA's do so many things for you so that lets you experience college in an amazing way that you may not be able to if you go to a bigger school. There are so many things going on that you will never be bored any night.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is one of the best in the nation. The classes really make you feel challenged every day. The teachers really care about you and want you to succeed in every aspect. The class size is small so the teachers really know you and have a passion for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    For incoming students or just students looking into small colleges, if you pick Ottawa, you wont regret it. Ottawa includes you which makes it feel like you are at home. Ottawa has so many great things about it including the sports, family feel and just small town feel. It's beautiful all year-round which makes it one of the best places to be. You'll feel like a real person and has say in almost everything about the college so you will feel like you are making a difference in your first year.

    In three sentences

    Ottawa University is one of the nicest schools in the NAIA because of the culture and community involvement around the college. Ottawa is beautiful all year because it is so tucked into nature. Ottawa also has some of the best classes, teachers, and sports teams which make you feel like you are in a family and not just at some school where you are just a number.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very high.

    Greek Life

    No a very big Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Theatre, Drama Club, Gospel Choir, Unviersity Band, Pep Band, Concert Choir, Jazz Singers, Chapel Choir, University Ringers, Jazz Ensemble, Orchestra, Yearbook, Radio, Media Sales Team, Forensics, Pi Kappa Delta, National Scholastic Honor Societies, Biology Club, Student Senate, Pre-Health Professionals Club, Newspaper, Over 20 intercollegiate sports including newly acquired wrestling, 8 Campus Ministries including Hungry For Change, Black Student Union, Student Welcoming and Affirming Network, and more...

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for student who want to continue being student-athletes.

    Bang for the buck

    For the education and friendships you make here it is all worth it in the end.

    What to do for fun

    Because the school is in a small town there is not a lot to do in town unless you go to the movie theater. But with a good group of friends you can make anything fun happen. And when all else fails Lawrence is only 20 miles away.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not very highly regarded at this school. There are some days where the food is amazing and some days where the food is disgusting. And i feel like that is how it is on all campuses.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on your preference you will find the one of the three halls is very comfortable to you. There is a hall which is very social and one that is very quiet and there is also a hall that falls in between.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically the school is very good. Their are certain departments where there are a lack of professor but they are all around good.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is small and anything that you do will be known.

    In three sentences

    A small place of higher education. People care about you and your goals. Amazing place to find who you are as a person.