Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ottawa University-Phoenix Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have regional campuses all over the United States. I am closer to the one in Raleigh, North Carolina. All campus have five star security.

    Greek Life

    The greek life is very interesting, mostly honors and merit fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have fraternities and sororities, honors and merits clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    All students who want to pursue undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees. Also for work working parents and students who do not want to be on a traditional campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a great alumni. And we can always stay connected through the University website. And the university will continue to keep in touch with us as we go about pursuing our careers and lives.

    Bang for the buck

    I like being able to get online in the presence of my own home. I do not have to drive to a university and waste gas. I can do my homework in my pajamas and I can also help my children with their homework. I have had a great experiences in all my classes and all of the teachers are wonderful. I enjoy working on Learning Teams and meeting other students in cyber space. The school is just awesome and has everything in place. Great structure and organization!

    What to do for fun

    UOP has a page that is similar to Facebook. We can get on the page and meet all of people from different cities, states and countries. We also have UOP Connect, where we can find job opportunities and other resources about the university.

    Food and Dining

    I eat at home while I am online doing my assignments. I also cook while I am doing my homework.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm. I do my assignments online in my own home and sometimes at the public library. I am a working mother and wife and this works best for me.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is very serious. The content that is taught is very innovative and challenging. The instructors have high expectations and they want to see you succeed!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go to school online, this is the best school of all. The classes are very feasible and flexible. You do not have to take the GRE and there are no tests and quizzes in the masters programs.

    In three sentences

    This is an awesome school. The academic structure is great! The professors work very hard to help you do well and they give positive feedback.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is available and secure, I trust. I have been a long time online student and will approach one class this term at an business park facility in the country. I would appreciate security

    Greek Life

    I trust the Greek life club/organization is substantial for University life.

    Clubs and Activities

    On the main campus the clubs and activities are available, as adult professional students I know my life is otherwise very structured around my community, professional career and family.

    Great for these types of students

    this is great for all students who are willing to work

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual location is far back into the country away from accessible public transportation, outside of one of the largest metro areas with public systems all around except at this location whereas I have to bike it 3 miles late into the night this upcoming term.

    Bang for the buck

    I am sure that the quality education from Ottawa University has contributed widely to the economy, I certainly look forward to adding to this effort at my completion this spring 2013.

    What to do for fun

    A great link is the University's main page with information available in the communities and national events. Additionally, each input from every student you have classes with are very informative about their locations, sharing ideas about their surroundings this is a great way to meet and greet many others in short time periods.

    Food and Dining

    I am an online student.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The approach is so very supportive and all the materials are attainable and with the help of faculty their attention is always open to assist at any time throughout your course study & terms. I have been able to build additional confidence about myself by way of the University's support and efforts to be there for me, especially their patience and consistency.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first and most immediate attention is the communication between you and the University, with all those you can possible acquire, their support is always available, even on Saturdays which has helped me exclusively.

    In three sentences

    I have adapted well to the campus the first term with support from the faculty and thereafter I moved ahead to online programs and soon the entire program became online which supports my lifestyle and today I am near completion and with an attentive faculty & staff my experience was free of any challenges, I am very grateful for the chance to be at this location.

  • 12/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Classes need to be an extra two weeks

    Am learning a lot

    Studied my bachelors degree there and I am now studying for my MBA. the school is very good.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    In three sentences

    Great campus. Helpful staff. Beautiful campus.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For anyone, anyage

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unknown

    Bang for the buck

    1-5 5

    What to do for fun

    if your ntive there is native pride clibs, we have tutorting which you have to make fun.

    Academic Rigor

    from 1-5 BMC is a 5 because of our Dean and president we have a fabulose faculty and student body.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your ideal school should be able to work around you schedule, lets face it school should be an option not a burden.

    In three sentences

    Brown Mackie College in Albuquerque NM. is an outstanding, college it has 1 class a month, and 3 days a week or 2 days, they work with your schedule and are there for you to be accomidated. The Dean is a wonderful person and is so dedicated to his job and his students and professors.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ottawa is a very safe university. I feel safe there day or night.

    Greek Life

    I am not aware of the Greek Life that occurs at the campus that I attend.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not aware of clubs and activities that occur at the campus that I attend.

    Great for these types of students

    Ottawa is great for Liberal Arts students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    All of the campuses are clean, organized and updated with the latest office equipment.

    What to do for fun

    The school is usually near a bookstore, mall or eatery.

    Food and Dining

    The university had only vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dormatories in Arizona for Ottawa.

    Academic Rigor

    Attending Ottawa is a job. There are no short cuts to completing assignments. The rigor of work was high and in some cases exceedingly high.

    Tips for prospective students

    In preparing to attend Ottawa a good move would be to research the school overall, its faculty and its selection of text books. Studying can be done through many electronic sources such as tablets, smart phone and computers as well as with a regular text book. Reading the table of contents prior to class beginning gives students a high advantage in knowing the material

    In three sentences

    Ottawa University/Phoenix is a fine school to attend to prepare for life. The university offers ground and on-line courses that met my needs. I attended Ottawa to pursue my bachelor degree and the experience brought me back to complete my master's degrees.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is best for the self-driven student who can focus for long periods of time. Class meets just once a week for 8 weeks and classes run 4 hours long. Classes always go the full-length and usually there is only one break. Attendance is mandatory and is weighed heavily. Classroom discussion takes up the majority of the time. The demographic of the students at Ottawa ranges from students in the mid 20's-40's typically. Mostly working adults attend Ottawa University.

    Food and Dining

    There are only microwaves and snack machines available on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at the Phoenix locations, but they do have a residential campus in Kansas where the home campus is located.

    Academic Rigor

    You will work hard for you grades at Ottawa University, but the professors are all top notch and fair. You will write several papers and usually do a couple group projects. Attendance is mandatory participation in class and weighed heavily. Make sure you have done your reading and are prepared for class as classroom discussion takes the majority of the class time and the instructors will ask you by name for your opinions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a group you enjoy and try to take your classes together. Class size is small, anywhere from 4-15 people is the norm, with classes only once a week for 4 hours, it really helps to enjoy the people you are with as you do a LOT of classroom discussion.

    In three sentences

    As an Alumni and Current Graduate student I have been completely satisfied by the support and level of education I have received at Ottawa University. I have attended other universities in the area and the curriculum, class size and dedicated staff and knowledge of the professors here is unsurpassed. I would recommend Ottawa University to everyone I meet, the students care and the classes are manageable for working adults and the younger students alike and I love the fact that the professors have worked in the field and share real world knowledge in each class.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The education is good but definitely not the best. You don't get much real world experience until you reach your internship. Some of the classes are also not very good in helping you prepare for your board exams.

    What to do for fun

    You are in the middle of Phoenix. There is a mall nearby as well as other attractions.

    Food and Dining

    You have vending machines and restaurants near by.... that is about it.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorms on this campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Either get your financial aid from another institution or save several hundred dollars from your past semester to pay for your books for the new sememster.

    In three sentences

    About a two out of three because of the administrators and the serious delay in receiving your financial aid. It makes it very difficult to text your textbook before the third week of school.