Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Otterbein University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are eager to learn and want to attend college somewhere that is safe yet minutes from a big metropolitan city. Also, those interested in Theatre and Dance will love our nationally renowned department and the amazing productions they put together.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit as many schools you can and resist getting caught up in the name of an institution. Choosing which college to attend is a very difficult and important decision. Take into consideration the things you like to do and what you're trying to get out of your education. If it's a small college set within a great, safe community that is minutes from Easton, Polaris and OSU, then Otterbein University (it's no longer College) may be for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Otterbein is a private school and is pretty expensive. However, as a financially independent student, there have been plenty of resources at my fingertips to make earning my education here affordable. That is, if you don't mind accumulated some student loans!

    Am enjoying being here

    I played soccer for four years there, and it was the best experience I've had playing in the 16 years I've been involved with the game. I know every single professor I've had on a first name basis, and love the professional connections and contacts that I have been able to make.

    Am learning a lot

    The small class sizes and individual attention from one's professor (as opposed to a graduate assistant as is the case at most large schools) sets students up for success. It's impossible to just blend in during a class.

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I really love the small school and home town feel of campus. Everyone, from my local counselor to the admissions and financial aid staff have been absolutely wonderful! I am very much looking forward to starting classes this Fall.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who want to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, and when you get a deadline to do something, do it as soon as possible, perhaps even the very day you know of it.

    Bang for the buck

    As a student, free admission to theatre, sports events, and facilities. Sports include football, cross country, lacrosse, soccer, volleyball, plus a whole lot others and intramurals too.

    Am enjoying being here

    The teachers are friendly and so are the staff and administrators. Campus is big, but small enough so everything is in walking distance. There are many greatplaces to eat on campus and around in the area.

    Am learning a lot

    It's only been 5 weeks since I started, and I've already learned a lot about my major, plus some about my minor too. Teachers here grade strictly and so helps students become better writers.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone! Especially those looking for a smaller college with a small town feeling. We have great equestrian and theater programs, but all of our majors offer great faculty and staff to help you pursue whatever career you are looking for!

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advice I can give is to get out and meet people. Westerville is a fantastic area to have a College and there are many opportunities for Otterbein students. I guarantee you will find great experiences if you step outside your dorm building!

    Bang for the buck

    The amount I have spent for my education at Otterbein College has been completely worth it. I am learning enough to get me a great job and then some. Everyone I have spoken to that has attended Otterbein has absolutely agreed that the price meets the quality of education you will receive.

    Am enjoying being here

    My experience at Otterbein College has been extremely enjoyable. I am a Women's Basketball player and have met and interacted with a large amount of the Otterbein student population. Everyone is extremely friendly and have a huge sense of school spirit! Go Cardinals!

    Am learning a lot

    Through small class sizes and interactive learning, I have been able to learn a great deal throughout my last two years at Otterbein College. Teachers use different techniques to ensure complete understanding of the topic you are learning.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Sociable, maybe kids from smaller schools (used to more individual attention), athletes, and theatre kids.

    Bang for the buck

    I got amazing financial aid by keeping in close contact with the admissions people and pushihg

    What to do for fun

    There's always some kind of little event going on on campus as well as some great fitness classes (free and fun). If nothing on campus catches your interest, there's plenty to do nearby from concerts and games at the Nationwide Center, to clubs and bars, to parks and running trails.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are pretty strict and keep a close eye on students which can be annoying, but the dorms are pretty nice (Clements, 25 W Home Street, & Devore are the best).

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are there to help, but also constantly push you to grow and reach out. The student resources are very accessible and free, and there are so many people that really want to be here that they really support each other to succeed

    Tips for prospective students

    I got amazing financial aid by keeping in close contact with the admissions people and pushing how involved I am in the community (they're big on that here). I had a 3.2 in high school but still got aid I thought only the top kids got and get to go to this great school!

    In three sentences

    I'm a Health Promotion and Fitness Major, and the professors are great! The classes are small, the professors are excited to be here, the area is safe but close to big city excitement, and the food's pretty good too! I also got a lot of financial aid to go here so they really saved me there!

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It has its own police force! Plus, 27 emergency boxes on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Serious about studies while still laid back in personal life.

    Food and Dining

    Buffet-styled dining hall, all you can eat each meal. Good food!

    Dorm Life

    Only saw the Honors dorms in Mayne Hall where I'd be staying, and they were AMAZING! Tons of space, even without any of the beds bunked or lofted. Good drawer/closet space too.

    In three sentences

    I am hoping to attend Otterbein in the fall of 2012. When I visited, I absolutely loved it; Everyone was really friendly and seemed authentically interested in me and my plans. I would highly recommend!

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many different activities to do both on and off campus. There are numerous clubs and organizations that can occupy time on campus. There are also many places around campus to have fun, including the Columbus Zoo, a laser tag facility, and Polaris Mall.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are challenging, but many of the professors are willing to work with you and offer any assistance they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become involved. It's easy to pass by unnoticed and that will lead to a terrible college experience.

    In three sentences

    Otterbein is a wonderful college. I love the atmosphere and the campus, along with all of my professors. This is definitely a school to consider when deciding on colleges.

  • 11/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you're undecided, don't go here. You can find a better school for a better price till you find out what you want to do. Make sure you absolutely love it here because if you only think you do or decide to go for someone else you will regret it. Get involved. You need to be involved because it helps make connections and allows you to get to know people.

    Bang for the buck

    For what Otterbein offers, it's way too expensive. You can go somewhere else, pay less and get more. The school isn't realistic unless you know you want to major in theater, nursing, music, or early childhood education because the programs for those majors are great. If you're undecided do not spend your money by going here.

    Am enjoying being here

    Personally I'm having an ok time. The people are great. Always someone who is willing to help you out or say hi, but everyone leaves on the weekends. It's dead. Plus the campus is small so once you're here for a week you basically know the whole layout of the town. The good thing is you can go into town and there's tons of shops and places to eat that you can walk to but having a car helps if you want to go to Polaris or Easton for better shopping. The community is a very nice but small town where the average aged person is in their 40s to 50s so things shut down around 7.

    Am learning a lot

    One thing that is great about Otterbein is the class size. Most of my classes aren't more than 15 people, some aren't even 10 so you always feel like you're getting one on one attention which is usually lost in big schools. The other great thing is that most of the teachers here are actually professors and have their masters or doctorate's in something compared to learning from a T.A. I really like my teachers and so far my classes are manageable. Otterbein really works to make you a well rounded individual

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt threatened on campus, as we have our own personal police department patrolling Otterbein 24/7 and you can call them at any time. Also, if for some reason you are feeling unsafe, you can call them at any time and they will pick you up and take you to wherever you need to go. You can call them and they will also take you to the health center if you don't feel you are able to get there yourself. They are a fantastic force.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a wonderful way to get involved. As a member of Tau Delta, I can say that you will find a circle of friends that will always be there for you, no matter what. You are involved in fundraising, a philanthropy, countless service events, social opportunities, and a scrapbook of memories that will last throughout your whole life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the rock that as long as you wait 3 days, you can sneak over at night and repaint with anything that you are sporting. The rock also tells you about any activities that may be going on in the week as well!

    What to do for fun

    There are unlimited amounts of activities to do. Once a month there is a free movie night at the Hollywood Theaters if you show your ID. There are countless sports and extra-curricular activities to do as well. Greek life is a fun way to get involved as well. There are different clubs to join including but not limited to, theater, condom club, GLBTQA group, and many more. One last thing is the school and a local church loves to cook for us! Spaghetti dinners and pancake breakfast at 11pm is always a great way to get out of the study sessions.

    Food and Dining

    There is always a large selection of varieties of food. Different cultured food is easily accessible in the Campus Center. Also, if you leave comment cards, they ALWAYS read them and will value your opinion and try to get whatever you want in there within the week. I, however, must say that you will feel limited sometimes as the deserts are usually obscure and dry, along with the OtterDen always changing and not always for the better.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you live, you may have a better living space, but the community won't be as nice. Depending on what you're more interested in, Dunlap King is not as nice living quarters, but the community is like a big dorm full of family. Whereas, Clements Hall is very nice living conditions, but the community may not be as homey.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very personal, with smaller numbers so you can get to know your professors and ask any questions you may have. It is all very manageable, however don't think it is easy. You have to work for what you're trying to achieve.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't like something, you need to express your opinion to Otterbein, because they do care. Another helpful hint is don't ever be afraid to reach out for help, whether it be someone to talk to, going to the health center, or the tutoring options that are free to you!

    In three sentences

    Otterbein is one of the most beautiful campuses that I have ever been on. The staff is incredibly hospitable, and your opinion really does matter, if you express it. There are plenty of resources for help in any subject that you are in, if you need the tutoring, and don't ever be scared or embarrassed to find that help.

  • 08/15/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Good place to go if you want a good education and a good experience all in the same time.

    Bang for the buck

    EXPENSIVE! Only wish it was cheaper...

    Did enjoy being here

    Lots of friends. Lots to do. GREAT time!

    Did learn a lot

    I had a lot of great professors.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's a little on the expensive side, but it's in a great location for job opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    The food they provided on my visit day was great, there was so much to choose from! As for what it's like on a regular basis, I'm not sure.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I learned when I visited, you have to work hard, as with any college. The students I spoke with said that even though it's a lot of work, anyone is able to get it done if they manage their time wisely.

    In three sentences

    It's a really beautiful campus. Everyone is so nice and welcoming. When I visited, the representation of the English department was the best I've had at any college I've visited.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition is what students like to call donut runs at 1 am donuts are made fresh at Schneiders Bakery in Westerville students walk to the donut shop and get a doughnut and milk for a dollar.

    What to do for fun

    Columbus is very close, we also have two malls one outdoor, Easton, and one indoor, Polaris, that are close to campus and a lot of fun. Also, Westerville has a very cute uptown with little shops including ice cream and donuts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with clubs and take advantage of all the resources including the center for student success and the center for career planning.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So safe. It's Westerville :)

    Greek Life

    A lot of people get really into it!

    Great for these types of students

    Every type!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Donut Runs at Schneider's Bakery!

    What to do for fun

    So much! We have free movie nights at our local movie theater. Donut runs at 1:00 am. (Best donuts ever) Many organizations and clubs for everyone!

    Food and Dining

    Great at first but it gets old after a while. I like it for the most part.

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are nice, live on campus! At least for your first year.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to take it seriously and try your best. It's not free!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind and expect difference from High School.

    In three sentences

    Easy to get involved and build relationships. One on one time with professors all the time. Safe and fun atmosphere.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only thing we have that's kinda weird is painting the rock, We have a rock in the middle of campus outside of the Campus Center that anyone can paint and after it's been painted it can't be re-painted for 3 days. Alot of clubs and things use this to advertise etc.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is really tiny so it's sometimes hard to find stuff to do. Obviously we have parties in frat houses every weekend. There is the Campus Programming Board that plans stuff every week like bingo and free movie nights at the local movie theatre.

    Food and Dining

    We just had our whole dining system redone and it's great! All of the food is super healthy, fresh, and locally grown. The chefs are really friendly and they're great about making personal requests and mixing stuff up!

    Dorm Life

    You have to live on campus until your Senior year which is awful. The dorms are ok, some of them are being renovated this summer. Devore and 25 are the only dorms with suite style bathrooms. You can also live in the on-campus apartments when you're a junior.

    Academic Rigor

    If you can try to get in to the Honors Program! The regular classes can be embarassingly easy and slow.

    Tips for prospective students

    Otterbein is recognized for only 3 things: Theatre, Nursing, and Equine studies. If you're not interested in those 3 things I suggest you go to Ohio State instead because Otterbein will not have the typical college experience you're expecting.

    In three sentences

    Otterbein is a liberal school in a conservative town, so that certainly makes for interesting situations sometimes. It is a very small school full of simple people. Our football team is terrible.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Otterbein has its own police force, as well as the Westerville Police Department right off campus. Students can feel safe and secure every day, both day and night, knowing that the campus is secure both from the inside and the outside.

    Greek Life

    As someone who is not personally pledge to a sorority or fraternity, I can still vouch for our Greek life in a positive way. Our Greek houses are very connected, very friendly even in rivalry, and they are extremely active on campus, both with their own organizations, as well as with community service. Greek life is popular of course, and it fosters community on campus and off.

    Clubs and Activities

    Honoraries, fraternities, sororities, and religious groups are only some of the options of organizations to become involved in on campus. Students can take part in any or all of them, and if some students feel as though there isn't an organization out there that suits them, they can create one! Otterbein encourages creativity and innovation, and so students have no problem speaking their minds.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're an individual thinker, or someone who has a passion for something, Otterbein is perfect for you. Because of its small, friendly environment, and its personal, caring faculty and staff, individuals with a creative streak will have no problem fitting in and soaring with their goals. There is something here for everyone, and if there isn't, someone creates something new to make it so.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Outside of the fraternities and sororities doing their own things, Otterbein also has what students just call The Rock. The Rock sits in front of the Career Planning and Student Success building, and it is the rock that students paint over and over again all throughout the year. It is tradition that freshmen sign The Rock during New Student Week, when they first move in. As the year progresses, fraternities, sororities, and other groups on campus color The Rock in order to represent themselves.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition inevitably rises every year, but students find admirable ways to battle that. Otterbein offers thousands of dollars in scholarships and grants to students every single year, and the university is always fundraising in order to increase that number. The education received on campus is unparalleled, specifically because of how personal everyone is on campus. Professors care, students care, and everybody has a passion for something. You don't find that on every campus. But you find it at Otterbein, and it practically pays for itself.

    What to do for fun

    Otterbein has several on campus organizations that anybody can become involved in. From athletic teams, to honorary societies, to fraternities, sororities, and religious groups, every student always finds something to be a part of. Additionally, since the university is in Westerville, students have access to the entire surrounding area, including Columbus, which makes finding entertainment easy.

    Food and Dining

    Otterbein has several food options on campus. The Cardinal's Nest (cafeteria), The Otter Den (grill), The Otter Bean (coffee shop), and The Roost (cafe). All of these places have great food choices that are healthy and satisfying. The only downside would be that our method of payment differs between location. Otterbein provides Cardinal Dollars and Swipes to students. Swipes can be used everywhere except the Otter Bean and the Roost, and Dollars can be used everywhere except the Cardinal's Nest. I believe the downside is that most students use up their Dollars before their swipes, and so students who frequent the coffee shop or cafe don't always have the option to get their favorite things at the end of the semester, because they're out of Cardinal Dollars. Additionally, Swipes don't roll over from year to year, so using all of them sometimes becomes a challenge.

    Dorm Life

    Regardless of where you live on campus, you're guaranteed to be surrounded by good people. Incoming freshman, I encourage you to have a random roommate for your first year, because it forces you out of your comfort zone immediately. This allows one to meet new people right off the bat, as soon as they move in, and that is the gateway to having a thorough experience on campus as a whole. RAs are helpful and always available, and students can feel safe knowing that they have friends living around them all the time.

    Academic Rigor

    Whether you're in the Honors Program, or you're an undeclared major, the classes that a student takes part in on campus are extremely challenging. Yes, there are lectures involved, as in any course of study at any college, but it's different at Otterbein. Lectures often blossom into small class discussions among students and professors. Because classes are small, conversations become personal and connective to whatever topic is being discussed. This allows students to better understand concepts in their own way, according to their own individual thought processes. The academia at Otterbein is superb, to say the least.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be nervous! That is probably the most useless advice to give an incoming freshman, because no matter what anybody says, nerves will always be around. Still, Otterbein requires all students to step outside of their comfort zone immediately upon moving in. In order to truly absorb all there is on campus, one must open their minds to all sorts of different things. Try everything, some things more than once, and don't be afraid to be different, regardless of what others think.

    In three sentences

    Otterbein is similar to a large family. With classes and a campus that is challenging, innovative, and connective, students with any range of interests are able to feel right at home here, and find a niche in which they can explore and expand their minds and experiences. Otterbein has become the second home for many; it is an extremely nurturing environment.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I do not know about the dorm life on campus because I do not live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, study much, and have fun doing it.

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful school and I wish I has learned about it when I was younger.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. Our security is now a police force and have been for a year now. They deal with multiple things, and if you need them to drive you to class or walk you back to your dorm at night. They can also jump your car battery if your car dies, and help you if you lock your keys in your car!

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a big deal if you are in it, and if you're not, then it's not a big deal to you. It all depends on what you are looking for.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are countless clubs and activites on campus, if there isn't a club that you fit into, you can easily start your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who love people, are interested in community service, and for students who love to learn both inside and outside of the classroom.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Painting the Rock and midnight donut runs are huge traditions here!

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a little expensive, but it is a wonderful institution that caters to the students' needs.

    What to do for fun

    Donut runs, trips to Graeters, going to the mall (Polaris and Easton are in close proximity), going to Alum Creek, and hanging out around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is getting better, and they listen to student suggestions a lot.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm is what you make of it. The Residence Life staff is fantastic!

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your major, but all professors expect you to do your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with a positive attitude and be out going, it is helpful to know a lot of people and you never know who you meet. Make sure you go to class, because you are paying for it, and professors will notice.

    In three sentences

    Otterbein is a very friendly campus, you can know a lot of people, but still keep your anonimty. There are a lot of opportunities for community service. Because the campus is smaller, it is easier to connect with professors and they can help you find internships and job opportunities.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Thats the great thing about Otterbein.. its surrounded with things to do, as well intermural activites!

    Tips for prospective students

    When visiting colleges.. it may sound dumb, but when you visit, and you fall in love with the campus.. thats the one for you!

    In three sentences

    It is simply amazing. I love the atmosphere and the enviroment. Cannot wait to play footbal there, and for school to start!

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Is Great like 50% of campus is involved in Greek life

    What to do for fun

    Play sports, hang out with friends, go to campus sanctioned events and just have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get as much aid as possible before coming here.

    In three sentences

    Very good small University. Small classes to help you learn and always have the teacher to help. It is a little bit on the expensive side.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Westerville has a wonderful and safe environment. Otterbein has there own police department that should ever an incident happen would be able to respond immediately. Otterbein also has a Cardinal Alert which will email you and text you when an incident happens on campus or in the case of bad weather.

    Greek Life

    There are a lot of Greek Life opportunities.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many to join you won't know which one to choose.

    Great for these types of students

    Any science majors or pre professional health majors would enjoy Otterbein. They offer a lot of opportunities for you to work the professors on any projects they may be doing. The professors are extremely knowledgeable and enjoy what they do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not any unusual traditions on campus that I am aware of but there are so many it is hard to tell.

    Bang for the buck

    Otterbein is on the expensive side tuition speaking but they really offer you a lot as far as your academics go. The class size are relatively small in order for the professors to work one on one with each student and develop a friendly relationship.

    What to do for fun

    You can join in on any of the activities that are constantly happening on campus. There are live music venues that you are able to see. Otterbein has a free movie night and there are always games to go see.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of options on and off campus. Westerville is small and Otterbein is within walking distance of a lot of venues.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter myself but my fellow Cardinals have never had anything bad to say about them.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics offered at Otterbein are intense but manageable. You can select the courses your interested in but overall every class will have some degree of difficulty.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest exploring your options as far as what field you would like to go into. I would also suggest that you have a solid foundation multitasking and come prepared to learn.

    In three sentences

    Otterbein University has a very friendly and community based environment. There is always activities that you are able to participate in. The teachers at Otterbein really try to work with each student to help them succeed in there college career.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a number of events to attend and clubs to join on campus! Once or twice a month, there is a $1 movie night at a movie theater right down the street where you can see any movie playing there for only a buck! There is never a time here on campus where a community service opportunity isn't listed on a bulletin board, and there are hundreds of clubs to join as well! Many students are members of Greek Life, as there are six sororities and seven fraternities here on campus! Most of them are private social clubs, so you cannot find them anywhere else except for here! If finding a job around campus seems difficult, Otterbein offers many work study positions, and all you have to do is apply!

    Food and Dining

    There are numerous places to grab a quick bite, or even sit down and have a nice meal on Otterbein's campus! The Otterden, located to the right of the Campus Center serves burgers, chicken sandwiches, salads, and more, and also includes a small shop where you can grab quick snacks and drinks to go! The Cardinal's Nest upstairs in the Campus Center is where you can eat breakfast, lunch, or dinner, and the menu is listed daily! The Cardinal's Nest is a buffet-style eating area. The Otterbean is located in the library, and includes sandwiches, salads, snacks, drinks, and now serves Starbucks Coffee! The Roost is in Roush Hall, and has things like paninis, bagels, coffee, and other grab-n-go products!

    Dorm Life

    Living at Otterbein not only is safe and secure, but resident assistants in each of the dorms makes it a fun living experience for everyone! Dorm life includes hall contests, holiday games and parties, movie nights, and so much more, where you can meet a variety of people living in your building! Roomates are matched based on a detailed survey, and your resident assistants help you with anything you may need. With the help of the football team, Greek life members, and other people around on campus, moving in is even a breeze!

    Academic Rigor

    Class schedules here at Otterbein are made specifically to your interests as well as your major. Aside from major and minor requirements, Otterbein also requires students to take Integrative Studies courses, in order to utilize critical thinking, and to connect topics that you never thought could be connected!

    Tips for prospective students

    Student involvement, including community service is one of Otterbein's main focuses while you pursue your education here on campus. Make sure to use resources around campus to engage in the community and communicate with fellow students around you! Although Otterbein is not a giant campus, the opportunities to expand your mind and community service experiences are absolutely endless! Events are constantly posted around campus in common areas, as well as sent through email, so don't pass them by!

    In three sentences

    An extremely diverse campus experience- Otterbein offers something for everyone! This university has a variety of opportunities for many different majors, while maintaining a warm, welcoming, small town vibe!

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police come into each dorm once a night and you have to have a student ID card to swipe in to any buildings. Never very many problems around campus. Campus police are very helpful!

    Greek Life

    Very popular here!

    Clubs and Activities

    Everyday I see flyers for new clubs or opportunities! Very easy to get involved here.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of parks and bike trails nearby!

    Bang for the buck

    It is so nice here! Prettiest place around!

    What to do for fun

    Since Otterbein is conveniently located right between Polaris and Easton Shopping Plazas, there is tons to do in the area!

    Food and Dining

    Some days are better than others.

    Dorm Life

    I have seen some gross dorms. Compared to a lot of other colleges, our dorms are awesome. Good security and get cleaned everyday!

    Academic Rigor

    Just the right amount of challenge!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on honest on your housing reports before coming to school! You want to get along with your roommate! Take a visit before making your decision! Also, don't over pack. :)

    In three sentences

    I love it at Otterbein! Everyone is friendly, the teachers are helpful, and the classes are interesting and relevant to my major. I do not ever feel lost but also see many new faces and places each day!

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are awesome they are always there when you call if you need a ride from the communications building.

    Greek Life

    I decided not to go greek but I do have friends that are and they say it's amazing the people are great.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything and if there isn't already a club made that you like, you can make your own no problem.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is amazing for everyone they will help with financial needs and the people don't judge till they get to know you. You don't even have to be Christian to get accepted to Otterbein.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every last Friday there a festival that gets students to meet the locals and restaurants around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    You are given Cardinal Dollars which is certain amount to spend at Starbucks or in the cafe where there is a mini store and you are given an amount of meals for the semester. SPEND THEM WISELY!!!!!!!

    What to do for fun

    Some of us get together and have movie nights and dorm parties.

    Food and Dining

    You can always get something to eat and the food is just amazing even if you are a vegan or even have a sweet tooth.

    Dorm Life

    On weekends it can be a bit loud but, during the week its nice and quiet.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are amazing and the courses are hard but they are passable you cant just glide through doing nothing you actually have to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look and apply to as many scholarships as you can even when Otterbein helps every bit helps.

    In three sentences

    Is a tight knit family where everyone knows everyone. The dorm rooms are amazing. The food is amazing especially their quesadillas.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am in Greek Life. It's not national so it's not as big of a deal as at some other larger schools.

    Great for these types of students

    Dancers and actors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a very nice park just five minutes walk from campus.

    What to do for fun

    Join organizations

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can afford the steep tuition.

    In three sentences

    The university has small class sizes which makes learning a much more enjoyable experience. The campus is beautiful and location is great. The food isn't that great, but hey, there's grocery stores near by.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very low crime area and the Otterbein Police Department is always around.

    Greek Life

    Definitely a great part of campus life! No pressure to join, but many find it rewarding. There is probably about 20-30% student involvement in Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of options for every interest!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who will appreciate developing personal relationships with their professors and faculty members.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a boulder called the rock that sits across the street from the Campus Center and groups with sneak out in the middle of the night to spray paint it. It's a nice representation of campus community.

    Bang for the buck

    As a Private Liberal Arts School, tuition is no small amount. However, there are many benefits of going to a nice school like this.

    What to do for fun

    Columbus, OH is a short drive away which provides access to many bars, concerts, sports games, etc. There are ice rinks, ski hills, malls, and many other things to do within short driving distance. Uptown Westerville has restaurants and shops and is within easy walking distance. Otterbein staff plan activities for students to do as well.

    Food and Dining

    There are four places to eat on campus. The options are good, but it is still cafeteria food in the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    The facilities are very nice and are kept clean and renovated. The staff is friendly and accommodating. It is supposed to be a dry campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your field of study. Science majors tend to be challenging and rigorous, while others do not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you want a small school before enrolling in one. Be positive - if you are negative, you will probably be unhappy at any school you choose and end up transferring.

    In three sentences

    Otterbein University creates a caring, quaint environment for all students to enjoy. I love the benefits of small class sizes, personal relationships with professors, and the homey feeling of uptown Westerville just a couple blocks away. With a large selection of majors and ways to personalize your education, Otterbein really can become a home for everyone.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's not far from Columbus, where there is plenty to do.

    In three sentences

    I fell in love with Otterbein a few months ago, their cute campus, majors and minors, helpful and caring people, made me swoon! I can't wait to go here for the next four years of my life. They have small and personal classes and all of the staff really seem very willing to help.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus always feels safe, will Otterbein Police always close, but never necessary. Westerville is a safe place, and walking around at any hour never worries me.

    What to do for fun

    There is lots to do in Westerville. Downtown Westerville is one block away, we also have parks close, and clubs and organization to get involved in on campus. Volunteering is also huge here at Otterbein.

    Food and Dining

    Otterbein has many food options, with the main dining hall, a smaller cafeteria, and small stations around campus to get food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms, are mostly updated, clean, and big. And residences life does a great job finding roommates for incoming students. My transition to dorm life was completely fine.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel I am being well prepared for my future career here at Otterbein. Their education department is especially great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come check out Otterbein, especially if you want a small school where you can really fit in. There are so many organizations, clubs, and sports to get involved in, and make college great.

    In three sentences

    Otterbein is a great place to get your college education. It is like one big family, with faculty and staff who care about their students, and always strive to help students in any way possible. I always feel like I have someone who wants to help me here and is dedicated to my education.

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel pretty safe since it is a small campus in a nationally ranked city (for living standards) and the campus police are available 24 hours a day. They are always patrolling as well.

    Greek Life

    It's not what you think. None of the Greek Life chapters are affiliated with the national branches, and they are not like they are in the movies if that is what you're looking for (hopefully you are not). I hear they are great and engaging. Personally, I am not part of a sorority because I don't have the time, and your time could better be used elsewhere (studying, getting experience, internships, going out with friends, networking, etc)

    Clubs and Activities

    Old Bag, Jimmy V's, occasional concerts (classical/art music) and events.

    Great for these types of students

    Conservative students who are easy to entertain, but care more about their education than anything else.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Otterbein needs MORE tradition. They just recently started throwing popular music concerts organized by their Music Entertainment Industry Student Association which have been fun, including the Cardinal Launch Concert and Music & Romance.

    Bang for the buck

    I'd say it was worth the small classroom atmosphere and the education, yes. Get all of your books on Amazon though. Consider living off campus as well.

    What to do for fun

    I am a commuter so I stay to myself at homes (music, video games, etc). But on campus, to be honest, there isn't much to do in Westerville. If you want to have a good time, own a car (or get a friend who does) and drive to Columbus (basically OSU area). I feel weird throwing OSU into the mix in an Otterbein review, but seriously, that's where all the fun happens. Concerts, clubs, festivals, shops, Gallery Hop, Zombie Walk, Comfest, Columbus Arts Festival, Rock on the Range, bars, ice skating, fine dining, everything.

    Food and Dining

    Could use a larger variety. One company (Bon Appetite) has a contract with Otterbein so that all food on campus is pretty much Bon Appetite. There are restaurants in the area though! Although it is a bit annoying that any school affiliated event on campus cannot have any other food on campus other than Bon Appetite.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know, considering I am a commuter. But I've heard it is ok, depending on how much you feel like paying to get a decent dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    If you want to be a 4.0 student, it won't be easy. Some majors are more challenging than others (true everywhere). But you only get out of college what you put into it. Don't expect to do the work and come out with an awesome GPA and that be good enough. Experience, character (evident via recommendations), personality, work ethic, etc, are all part of the equation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into the program. If you know what you want to do, look into what your field requires BEYOND education to be successful and see if that college offers those opportunities. Is a very small campus which has its perks. Finding a college can be stressful, especially with finances, but there is a brighter side to the rainbow!

    In three sentences

    I give academics at Otterbein an 8.5/10. Professors there are great, although the school can be a bit too old fashioned, so much to the point where it isn't realistic and it sacrifices students' real-world experience. Diversity could also use a boost, and Otterbein is seeking students from outside of the country which is great, but there are plenty of worthy students in the US who Otterbein could recruit.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus never feels threatening to me. The Otterbein and Westerville police are constantly patrolling campus and are always on call. They make it a point to know the students and make sure they feel safe. They offer classes and courses to ensure personal safety and they also send out occasional reports of various things on and off campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very popular on campus. It's also very active in that they participate in various activities on and off campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a few groups and activities to participate in, considering the campus size. OCF is a big part of Otterbein's campus, and the kids are very nice and welcoming!

    Great for these types of students

    Kids who have a car, aren't exceptionally tight on money, willing to work hard and be a shining light on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's this big rock on campus across from the CC, and it's ALWAYS painted. If you need to advertise for a specific event, or just get some attention, it's not uncommon for you to paint the giant rock!

    Bang for the buck

    Otterbein's tuition is expensive. And for what you pay, I feel that we should definitely be offered more; especially sine the rate is increasing so much more.

    What to do for fun

    If you have a car, you're basically set. There's lots to do off of campus, just because Polaris, Easton, and downtown Columbus are all within a close distance. If you don't have a car, someone you know is bound to!

    Food and Dining

    There are only a couple dining options on campus, but that's the result of a small campus. The food is pretty decent, but the choices are limited.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great, and most communities are pretty close! The RAs try to do various activities in the dorms to try and get all the various members to participate and mingle with other dorm members.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigorness depends on your major and your personal-challenge level. Some courses are more difficult than others and require more dedication and time effort!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go to class and do your homework. Don't be afraid to talk to your professors because they're always more than willing to give a helping hand. Also, be sure to develop good study habits.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school. The community is small, but tight. Everyone is friendly and welcoming.

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe while at Otterbein. They have campus police and a lot of safety precautions. While I DO NOT recommend it, I have walked the campus at 1AM or later and not felt as if I were in danger.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student looking for a small campus with a lot to do; a school that will accommodate you; any equestrian student (riding or your education).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The biggest tradition that Otterbein has is 'donut runs'. There is a bakery in Uptown Westerville that opens at 1:30AM during the week, It's great after a long night of studying to run up to Schneider's and grab a fresh donut and a carton of milk for only $1!

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that I'm paying a pretty decent amount, but that when I graduate, it will be worth it . I will be graduating with 2 degrees, and hopefully those will be enough to get me into a vet school.

    What to do for fun

    There are a TON of clubs to get involved in, not matter what your interests are; and if there isn't a club that you want, you can make your own club. There are plenty of sports and inter-murals, including the Equestrian Team (guess what I do? haha)

    Food and Dining

    Eh...it's definitely not your mom's cooking. Sure, at first, pizza and ice cream sounds good every night, but watch yourself...plus, after about a month and a half, you will get sick of the same foods in the cafeteria. The best food that Otterbein has is its cafe, which serves STARBUCKS!

    Dorm Life

    There are only a few 'bad' dorms at Otterbein. They have been slowly remodeling all of the dorms, so most of them are pretty nice. The rooms are not closet-sized, and they have lots of storage.

    Academic Rigor

    Otterbein packs a lot into each semester. The required classes may have nothing to do with your major at all-trust me, none of mine are related to my major even remotely-and they kind of just make your schedule tighter. Basically, they are a pain in the butt. Your required classes though will be worth it, though, and Otterbein has a slew of wonderful professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved early; there are a lot of clubs and sports that a student at Otterbein can be in. Also, make sure to use your time wisely; good time management skills will get you a long way.

    In three sentences

    Coming to Otterbein was probably the best decision I made regarding my college education. The community is close-knit, the professors are wonderful and there is a lot of extra-curricular activities to get involved with. The academics are stellar, and the school is very accommodating.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the best in Ohio!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is ALWAYS something happening on campus so you never feel bored.

    Bang for the buck

    Otterbein is awesome at accommodating to you needs, especially in a financial manner.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your admissions representatives!!! They will do ANYTHING if you ask with interest.

    In three sentences

    I am so excited to attend Otterbein this fall! I know they will grant me the education and college experience that is perfect for me. Also, I don't have to pay a huge chunk for this opportunity either!!

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Otterbein is one of the more expensive schools in the area. But I think it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of things to do! The student portal always has a million and one things that students can either spectate or take part in.

    Food and Dining

    They have a really awesome coffee shop!

    Dorm Life

    I live off of campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Im so excited!

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone I have spoken to or emailed have been a tremendous help. They honestly do talk to you like a human being instead of just a number like some of the bigger schools around.

    In three sentences

    Otterbein University is a small school. They treat you like an actual student instead of a number. I look forward to being a student!

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always see police officers driving around, and it is in a very safe neighborhood.

    Greek Life

    Outstanding, and very present in the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    All sorts of varsity, club, and intramural sports. Greek life is phenominal.

    Great for these types of students

    outgoing, ambitious, and friendly

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Going on donut runs at 2 AM to a local donut shop painting a rock in the middle of campus

    Bang for the buck

    The experience is outstanding, if you make the most of it.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved. Go to sporting events, concerts, theater performances, and other events. Go to the mall (only 5 min away).

    Food and Dining

    The food service is alright, but there are a lot of different options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very fun and a great way to meet friends. Plus there are several air conditioned ones.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be difficult and require lots of work outside of class. Integrative studies classes(required for every major) are harder than they should be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as many scholarships and grants as possible, and then get involved as much as possible to make your years count.

    In three sentences

    Otterbein is a very involved campus. There is always something going on, and ways for students to get involved. The class sizes are small, so professors know you.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Most of the sororities and fraternities on campus are local which means that they are very close and only on Otterbeins campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most unusual tradition is midnight donut runs. Occurs friday nights at midnight when the bakery opens.

    What to do for fun

    I joined a sorority this past year and love every minute of it. We are very inspired to help the community around us. I love to volunteer with my sisters and help out around Otterbein or the Westerville area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be shy, go out and meet the other amazing students. Enjoy the small classes because these are the students you are going to graduate with.

    In three sentences

    Otterbein's community is a diverse group of students. Both their theatre and greek like is very well known. I enjoy having such a small, close-nit community.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are four different places to eat on campus, and all four have really great food. At Otterbein, meal swipes are used in the Cardinal Nest, which is the main cafeteria, or at the OtterDen, one restaurant in the campus center. Also, Otterbein gives students Cardinal Dollars to use at a quick place to grab a sandwich, salad, snack, or drink when they need to get going; Otterbein has two of those places on campus as well. Otterbein has different opportunities to go and eat, and is also close to Uptown Westerville with places for students to eat if they get tired of eating the campus food (which most students do).

    Dorm Life

    The Freshman residence halls are in good conditions to live in, but take some getting used to. Right when I moved into my dorm room, it was still summer, and Davis Annex, my residence hall, has no air conditioning, so it was always very hot. Luckily, my roommate and I each had a window fan that helped cool the room down a little bit. Also, each floor shares a community bathroom, which is cleaned at least once or twice a day during the academic week. But then once you are an upperclassman, you get the opportunity to move into the suites and apartments. The dorms are not as bad as they seem; they just take a matter of getting used to.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Otterbein University are strong with the small college size of only 3000 undergrad students. Also, classes, even Freshman year, are very small, which makes professors want to know you more than just by your first name. In fact, Otterbein has a open-door policy where they have office hours, and they encourage students to come in either for help in a class or just to even stop by and say hello. I really like having the small class sizes and being able to get to know my professors and my academic advisor one-on-one.

    Tips for prospective students

    During your college search, I recommend starting as early as possible in high school and then continue narrowing down your list until the deadline of your senior year. Also, try to visit multiple colleges you are looking at, because then you can have a general idea about the college life and compare schools with academics, athletics (if playing a sport), size of campus, residential life, having your major available (even if undecided), etc.

    In three sentences

    Otterbein University is a small private college with total of about 3000 undergrad. The small size is perfect for students who want to be able to talk with their professors one-on-one and professors know you more personally than just by your name. Also, classes are very small, such as my largest lecture is Biology with about 60 or so students.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a number of safety phone in stations throughout campus and a dedicated Otterbein police force.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a lot of stuff to do on weekends, however there is a good selection of clubs that are active on the campus. There is Greek Life, which a good number of students are involved with. Surrounding Westerville is a nice safe area that provides good food and entertainment opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    Bon Appetit is an OK food company, but the dining hall has inconvenient hours and the food is subpar unless the company is up for a contract renewal, in which case the food becomes quite good for a few weeks.

    Dorm Life

    It depends on which dorm you are in, upper class dorms such as DeVore and 25 are very nice, and so are most freshman dorms with the exception of the Triad. These are rather old dorms that house football players and the occasional unfortunate scholar.

    Academic Rigor

    The course load can be as difficult as an individual wants it to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone receives a good scholarship, classes are small and the professors are usually quite dedicated. AP and similar courses may not get you out of general education courses, but they will help in the admission process.

    In three sentences

    A fantastic small university that gives a good balance between liberal arts and science majors. Transferring to larger schools such as OSU is difficult due to course descriptions.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at Otterbein. The police force not only drives around campus periodically to ensure student safety, especially in the evenings on weekends, but they also are willing to help students with car trouble and escort students who have disabilities or injuries or who are nervous about walking in the evening. The police are located on campus too. There are also blue emergency lights all over campus that students can use in a crisis.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is huge on campus. Many people rush and go onto pledge for the various sororities and fraternities. It is a lot of work, from what I have heard, but it appears to be worth it to be apart of the community. It isn't a clique though. Students in Greek life hang out with those not involved too. Greek housing is located all over campus and even extends off campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Otterbein has many clubs and activities aside from sports. Students can start their own clubs and activities (such as intramural sports) if they don't find something to get involved in on campus. I am part of the Health Professions Club, for example. I am also part of the Otterbein Animal Coalition, where students volunteer at the local animal shelter. There are also honors societies to get involved in when students have a certain class rank and GPA.

    Great for these types of students

    Otterbein University is so diverse that it is hard to pin point exactly what type of student it is great for. I would say it is great for students who like to learn, who are smart, who like to be involved in various activities and who are friendly. Not every student fits that description though and most students really enjoy this institution.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bakery in Uptown Westerville, right off campus. They open at 1 a.m. and students and the community can go and get a donut and a beverage for just $1! It is a great tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    I am going to be in debt from Otterbein after graduation. It is definitely a pricey place. However, they offer scholarship opportunities and aide to students. I really think it is worth the money too. Otterbein offers so many opportunities for students and it is up to the students themselves to take advantage of it. I have had a good experience here thus far and plan to extend myself further to really take advantage of opportunities and make this education worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Uptown Westerville is a college town. Right off campus is Uptown Westerville with various shops, restaurants, etc. It is a great area to explore on foot. During warmer months, there are festivals on Friday's where multiple vendors come out and students can walk around and shop. Polaris shopping center is very close by; this mall is large and offers many fun things for students, such as a movie theater, stores, bowling alley, restaurants, etc. It is easier to get here with a car though. Downtown Columbus is only about 20 minutes away by car and there are many things for students to do there, such as night clubs and stores. There are many on campus activities that the Campus Activities Board plans/sets up too, including magicians, comedians, singing groups. Otterbein also has a big theater program and the plays and musicals students put on are always fantastic and free for other students!

    Food and Dining

    There are only a few places to eat on campus, where students can use their meal swipes or cardinal dollars. The Cardinal's nest is the main cafeteria, where there is a salad bar, dessert table, pizza line, and something different in the other two lines. The Otter den is another option; they have burgers, wraps, salads, etc. They also have a small store so students can purchase things on the go. The Otter bean serves Starbucks coffee and bottled beverages as well as sandwiches, mac and cheese, soups, etc. that students can grab to go. The Roost has similar food and beverages as the Otter bean. On the weekend, the only places to eat are the Otter den and the Cardinal's nest. It is a pain sometimes. However, there are kitchens in each residence hall and students can have microwaves and mini fridges in their rooms. Also, there are food places within walking distance just off campus; some even offer student discounts!

    Dorm Life

    Residence halls are located all over campus and themed housing is strategically placed (i.e. athletic majors are placed in dorm closest to the gym, music majors are placed in a dorm closest to the practice rooms, etc.). The dorm rooms are bigger than most other schools. There is a lot of storage space available. The bathrooms, whether they are community or suite style, are reasonable and are kept clean regularly. In my experience, the Residence Assistants are good at helping new students and organizing fun events. I really enjoy living on this campus. Students are required to live on campus through junior year. Traditional (freshmen can only live in these), suite style (available to sophomores and above) and apartments (available to juniors and seniors) are all available on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what your major is, the course load varies. In my experience thus far, with my Allied Health major, the workload is manageable. You definitely will have to work hard, but most professors are understanding and will help if you need it. Free tutoring is available for students as well. Internships are required for many students to graduate, but the faculty/staff are very helpful with ensuring that students find internships and graduate on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to meet with your academic adviser to discuss a 4-year plan for scheduling and such. However, always double check with what they tell you. Get to know the school website so you can look up important things like, financial assistance/scholarships, residence options, meal plan options, course catalogs, requirements for degrees, academic calendar, etc. Otterbein is a very friendly environment; you should feel welcome and like you can accomplish anything with their multiple services (such as tutoring). If you plan to work on campus, look for employment options early. Branch out of your comfort zone and make new friends.

    In three sentences

    Otterbein University is a small, suburban school located in beautiful Westerville, Ohio. Otterbein offers students a comfortable atmosphere with many opportunities. The faculty/staff of Otterbein are respectful of students and recognize students for academic and/or athletic achievements.

  • 04/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Westerville is a small community and there are nice shops uptown. Columbus is really close so I enjoy shopping and exploring the parks and surrounding areas because I am not from around here. There is a lot to explore alone or with friends. There are so many you meet in college so one day you could be getting manicures with one and going to a rock concert that night with another friend. Variety, variety, variety. And trying new things! That's what college is all about.

    Food and Dining

    Like studying, you'll get the hang of how to cope with the options given here. There are not a lot of options, but you learn to manage. For example, if you don't like the dressings at the salad bar, bring your own! It is a great time for social experiences too, they often have birthday parties or sometimes a cooking competition.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make of it. You just have to find the right people to hang out with and definitely enjoy your down time. Your roommate will see you at your best and your worst so don't be afraid to truly get to know them. At least be yourself in your own room.

    Academic Rigor

    You learn to love the library. It does not mean that you sit alone and study all the time. You just grab a bunch of your friends and you make studying fun. Studying is a big part of college for me because I am a Nursing major. However, at least twice a day you will discuss school projects or tests even on the weekend. It is a large part of who you will become.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just like at any college, be ready to work. College is an amazing experience and you use so much brain power! There are nice events that help you forget about schoolwork and you can make tons of friends. You have to make up your own schedule in college and no one is going to tell you to go to class. You learn to self-regulate your time, but do not get overwhelmed, you will get the hang of it.

    In three sentences

    Otterbein is a great place to grow up and transition from an out-of-high-school graduate to an aspiring career person. There are many activities to be involved in to make new friends and connections. You will not only grow as a person and friend, but you will be well-prepared for your future.

  • 07/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe! You are always alerted by email and text message if there is some sort of emergency in the area whether it deals with danger or if it concerns with the weather. OP (Otterbein Police) are pretty lenient with weekend activities but they make sure the students here are safe.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life here is nice! You become close with your new brothers or sisters. They have about 13 fraternities and sororities in total. Also because most of the Greek Life at Otterbein is only locally known, it doesn't cost as much if they were known nationally.

    Great for these types of students

    Otterbein is great for students who enjoy a small campus life. You're comfortable with small classes and like the community atmosphere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the Bein it is always a tradition to go to Schneider's Bakery for doughnuts and a milk. It opens late at night and it's pretty cheap too!

    Bang for the buck

    Otterbein is pretty expensive. So it's a good idea to apply for scholarships (and Otterbein usually offers scholarships as well). There are also plenty of places to work at near the campus or on campus as well.

    What to do for fun

    You can go into Westerville and explore the shops or you can go into Polaris where you can visit the mall, the movie theater, or into other shops. Otterbein puts on plays that are pretty amazing (and you can get in for free). You can also attend sporting events (basketball, football, lacrosse, baseball and more).

    Food and Dining

    There are two main places to dine at. You can either go to the Den or the CC (where it's like a buffet style). Though it's not a five star restaurant, it isn't like getting food at a gas station. You can get coffee and sandwiches at a couple of other places too on campus. And if you get tired at the same old places you can also go into Westerville for other restaurants and fast food places.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here is pretty good! We have a few freshman dorms, and upperclassmen dorms as well. Most are all co-ed (though boys and girls don't room together of course). The rooms are a pretty good size and are nice to live in. Though there isn't always enough closet space you can always make it work. The rooms are clean, safe, and comfortable to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can range from easy to difficult though most are at a normal college difficulty. The professors here are easy to talk to if you have any issues with deadlines or work-loads. They are here to help you and are glad to do it. Here at Otterbein the professors actually know you, so take advantage!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to come to Otterbein make sure this is the place you want to go to. Visit the college a few times if you have to and level it out with other colleges you may want to attend. Just be sure! (You don't want to go to one college and then go around and want to attend a different one)

    In three sentences

    Otterbein is a home away from home. It's laid back and has plenty of opportunities for students. It's a safe, fun, and beautiful university!

  • 08/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Otterbein is a safe campus. There is campus police and Westerville police that take care of students and the Otterbein community well. Students/staff can sign up to receive alerts from the police (via email, text and/or phone call) when there is a weather disturbance, a safety issue, etc.

    Greek Life

    A good portion of campus participates in Greek life. There are six sororities and eight fraternities on campus. Most are local, not national (except for two fraternities). Greek life is a big part of campus, but there is no judgement for not being a part of it either. There is no discrimination between Greeks and non-Greeks.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs/activities to get involved with: Greek life, health professions club, honors societies, Otterbein animal coalition, Kneading Minds, Special Olympics Club, Intramural sports, Relay for Life, Gamers Guild, campus activities board, cardinals after dark, etc. There are so many ways to get involved on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Otterbein is very diverse, but being open-minded to new things, being accepting of others, being friendly and being serious about your education are all qualities that a typical Otterbein student possesses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Schneider's bakery (2 am donuts for one dollar), First Friday Festival (informational, but fun event for students where many campus organizations set up tables. It takes place the first Friday of the Fall semester), Uptown Westerville, Alum Creek Park.

    Bang for the buck

    Otterbein is expensive, but they are also very generous. It is a high quality education that offers its students many opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    Uptown Westerville is right off campus and it is full of local shops and restaurants. Alum Creek park is also right off campus. Polaris and Easton shopping centers are nearby as well; however, they are further and may require a car (especially Easton). There are plenty of organizations/clubs to get involved with on campus. There are also many events, like comedians, outdoor activities, theater productions. A campus tradition is donut runs which is where students go to Schneider's bakery and get donuts/milk or OJ for $1. Columbus is also close by, which offers plenty more activities.

    Food and Dining

    There aren't a lot of options for food/dining. There are four places to eat and only two are open on the weekend. The main dining hall is buffet style and they have limited hours for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The second place is located in the same building and they serve the same things every day (except when they have specials). The two other places serve the same things everyday, generally. One of those places also serves Starbucks beverages. All underclassmen living in residence halls must have a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. Compared to other schools, the dorms are really nice. There is a lot of storage and facilities are kept pretty clean. There are some great amenities too, like printers/computers (with a good amount of free prints) and free laundry! Some buildings are different than others though.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great and the workload is pretty manageable. Time management is key--try not to procrastinate!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you send in all of your test scores even if you think they are not very good; Otterbein gives away a lot of scholarships/grants. Make sure you visit a couple times before making your decision! Get involved with a lot of different things (try new things), but don't overwhelm yourself by over-committing. Go to the theater productions, they are phenomenal. Be honest on the sheet that helps pair you with a roommate.

    In three sentences

    Otterbein is a small community (with a little over 3,000 students) located in Westerville, Ohio (recently ranked as the number one suburb in the nation to live in). Otterbein offers a high quality education to its students (the curriculum is designed to produce well-rounded students prepared for the professional world and the professors are great). Otterbein offers so many opportunities to its students, including various resources on campus, various organizations/clubs and internships/jobs.