Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Ouachita Baptist University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/24/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ouachita is great for anyone who wants to make the most out of their college experience! It's small enough that you always see someone you know, but at the same time there is always someone to meet! It may be in a small town, but here we make our own fun! There is definitely something for everyone at Ouachita!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit!!! Ouachita is a beautiful campus, and the people are amazing. You need to get on campuses before you know if you want to go there! I knew right away when I got on campuses if I liked the school! Go and visit a class and meet with some professors in your field of study. It helps you get a feel for what your time at college will be like!

    Bang for the buck

    It can be expensive, but there are so many scholarships out there you can make it work!

    Am enjoying being here

    Ouachita is a small school, yet there is always someone new to meet too! And there are so many opportunities to get involved in so many different things, from intramurals to social clubs to music and drama opportunities for everyone!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Ouachita are incredible. They are brilliant in their subjects and have a passion for teaching!

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tiger Tunes is a huge tradition at Ouachita, which is basically all the social clubs coming together and putting on shows to raise scholarship money for future students! Tiger Tracks has the same purpose but is a series of events that students compete in such as egg tossing, mud volleyball, and tricycle racing! Finally Battle of the Ravine is the football game between are rival Henderson and all the students and faculty go out and cheer our tigers to victory!

    What to do for fun

    Ouachita offers many things to do outside of just academics. Recreational sports; such as softball, basketball, soccer, etc. are a few things to do throughout the year. Campus ministries and campus activities do several things all year such as backyard Bible club and movie nights.

    Food and Dining

    The food is what keeps students running during stressful times and Ouachita surely delivers. With the cafeteria and other restaurants available, there is something for everyone. Also the bonus of Starbucks helps everyone survive finals week!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is what makes any college experience a great one. The dorms at Ouachita will allow you to meet amazing and hopefully life long friends. You'll end up doing activities as a hall or as suites!

    Academic Rigor

    Ouachita sets the bar high in academic success. They help you become better in studying, thinking, and concepts. If you ever have any problems, the professors are there to help you because they care about your success!

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students make sure that Ouachita is the right college for you. You may go in thinking a small campus is great, but later find out that it just isn't for you and that's okay! Overall just make sure that Ouachita fits all your college needs and also ask current students and see if they are glad that they chose Ouachita!

    In three sentences

    Ouachita to me cannot be rated! Ouachita's faculty and students create a positive influence that helps me become better in all that I do. I believe Ouachita helps students thrive in all they do and all they will do.

  • 12/15/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music Students! Business students! Christian studies majors! ANYONE in general, while I haven't attended Ouachita yet, I know the school is awesome! Just don't be afraid to get open, have fun and rock out! (so I hear!) People are so friendly and amazing there so get ready to have the time of your life! (another thing I hear but also witnessed)

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready to enjoy your time at OBU! I spent only a weekend there and fell in love! Find a program that fits you and just jump into campus life. Visit before going, Ouachita was my 3rd or 4th school before vising and after I left it quickly became one and only. Develop a good relationship with your region admissions counselor, they have specific OBU facebook pages just for students to have another way of communicating. Um Ouachita is a christian school, so be aware of the rules and requirements, college is the time where you'll get into whatever you find yourself wanting to get into.

    Bang for the buck

    Private school with little or not much state aid, make sure ACT/SAT scores are up to par in order to receive merit awards and be on top of finding departmental awards. I have a music scholarship of $5,000 and an estimated merit award of $4,000 so Fasfa will have to cover the rest! But everything is worth it all! the school pretty much breaks down what your money goes towards and for a private school it is actually cheap! Apply for outside grants and scholarships as well.

    Will enjoy being here

    I am a city boy and compared to all the places I lived I expected Arkadelphia to drag. But parts of the town are really pretty and some parts NOT SO MUCH! So many places to eat and the scenery is amazing! Not so much shopping; little rock and Hot springs are the places to do that at, but it gives you a reason to travel every weekend for some fun. Small town full of nice people!!! Th professors I met are extremely nice and genuine! A lot of students are very friendly as well, its like they actually want you to come to their school.

    Will learn a lot

    Ouachita ranks among the best southern schools in the nation. Requirements to get in aren't as hard, but once you are there I hear it is imperative to stay abreast upon your work! The school has so much history behind it. I loved every moment of being there and the valued traditions are amazing. I am going there on a music (vocal) scholarship, Music program is phenomenal! It's like at Ouachita the choir and Band are the Football team!

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone who doesn't want a big school and loves a caring staff!

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to check it out!

    Bang for the buck

    it might be a little costly but obu is so accommodating in its financial help. every dollar is worth it!

    Will enjoy being here

    It's beautiful and the people are awesome and the campus is beautiful!

    Academic Rigor

    the admissions counselors are so friendly and always welcome your questions. we also have a program called grow (getting ready for ouachita's world) in which prospective students get to stay in the dorms with current students and learn about the campus and school firsthand!

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian, wanting a good education, wanting to grow as a person. OBU is great if you're looking for a small Christian college where people honestly care about you.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely recommend Ouachita. Also, wherever you go to college, get involved! There's so many clubs and volunteer opportunities, don't let them pass you by. You'll only get busier, so you might as well try things out as a freshman. Just don't get so busy your grades suffer!

    Bang for the buck

    Ouachita can be expensive, but it's worth it. Since I'm on a scholarship, I am definitely getting my money's worth. I have grown a lot since I've been at Ouachita.

    Am enjoying being here

    There's so much to do at Ouachita, the dorms are nice, and I enjoy my classes. Arkadelphia is a bit small, but you can always find things to do with friends.

    Am learning a lot

    Courses are challenging, but not impossible. I have been learning a lot, and teachers are always willing to help. That's one of the best things about Ouachita- the teachers honestly care about you as a student and as a person.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join a social club. work in the theatre department. play in intermurals. there are lots of things to do on campus. off-campus options are pretty limited. most of us go to walmart.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria does not serve very good food. some days pizza is the only thing that's edible. however, ouachita does have a starbucks and a chick-fil-a, and meal plans include money to spend there.

    Dorm Life

    ouachita has smoke-free and substance-free single-sex dorms. it's generally quiet and there are few problems. on the downside, the social activity in the upper dorms is very low.

    Academic Rigor

    the core classes are not difficult, but are thorough. science classes here are fairly difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    pay attention in your core classes. they are harder than you might think and will really hurt your gpa. also, don't get involved in anything you shouldn't. the higher-ups have ways of finding everything out.

    In three sentences

    ouachita has wonderful professors and a beautiful campus. some of the buildings, notably the art and humanities buildings, are out of date, however, and the library is not the best. despite these drawbacks, i would highly recommend ouachita because of the professors and the attending students.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    MARVELOUS, do routine checks and lock-ups. High class, get you when your doing wrong and commend you when your doing right. =)

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYBODY!!!

    Bang for the buck

    The professors here are marvelous! I personally love the food (plus you have Chik-fil a and the tiger grill). Dorms are good! grounds and maintenance are great! air conditioner when its hot and heater when its cold. Oh and OBU's facilities are marvelous!!!

    What to do for fun

    Arkadelphia doesn't have that many things to do, but you have friends and campus is always loaded with great things to do!!! frisbee, wiffle ball, volleyball, basketball, racquetball, tennis, swimming, climbing wall, hiking, fishing, canoeing, service projects! Then if you drive less then thirty minutes you can be somewhere with endless stuff like Hotsprings or a bit further to Little Rock.

    Food and Dining

    Eating at the Caf on campus is really cool as well. Full meals with all of the things you need to stay alive and healthy (veggies, meat, salad, milk), practically anything! Even though they have pretty good cereals I still eat my Special K (lol).

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is tight! I was required to live on campus even though I didn't want to, but it turned out to be really cool! You meet a lot of folks you normally wouldn't have met and everything is so close on campus. A bit confined, but a few touches of your personality and it is just like home, minus younger siblings and the construction work that has been going on for 2 years (haha).

    Academic Rigor

    For me personally, I give it my all, going all out with everything while still maintaining my relationship with friends. It is all about your work ethic, the harder you try is the better you do, and the better you do is the better you are (depending, some folks can over do it). Other then that it all depends on your major and extracurricular activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be looking for scholarships way early so that you don't have to dip into your personal funds too much! Give it your all in high school or wherever you are so that you can be prepared to give it your all at college too! Lastly, stay in the word and be continuously praying about this decision, it's a big one, but a good one!

    In three sentences

    Ouachita Baptist University is an amazing university for both Christians and non-Christians! For both there is equal opportunity for growth and an amazing education. However, if you are a Christian (I pray you are) it is a marvelous place to flourish!!!!

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never felt unsafe, and I was out late by myself on campus on numerous occasions.

    Greek Life

    Sororities and fraternities are specific to the campus, and are not national clubs (except for the music and theatre fraternities).

    Clubs and Activities

    I was in theatre and was too busy to do anything else. The music and theatre departments are superb, though!!

    Great for these types of students

    Love Jesus, like more of a small town atmosphere where everyone knows everyone, kind, fun, creative, friendly

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Old stairway in the woods leads to a hiking trail; Tiger Tracks is a fun competitive time with random activities (scavenger hunt, mud volleyball, mud tug-of-war)...think Field Day, but a lot more muddy and wet; Tiger Tunes is a competition between campus sororities/fraternities where they pick a theme and change the lyrics of popular songs and sing and dance to them; TWIRP (The Woman Is Required To Pay) is a fun date week where, for cheap, girls can take their boyfriends/guy friends to a sock-hop, luau, barnyard dance, etc. sponsored by campus clubs

    Bang for the buck

    REEEEALLY help you out financially! Talk to the Financial Aid office!

    What to do for fun

    Camping, campfires, roasting marshmallows, hide and seek, sardines, movie nights in the dorms, campus hosts movie nights every couple of months, and Henderson across the street has a movie night with new movies every week (I think), hiking, grocery cart racing at Walmart, go to Hot Springs, go swing dancing at the Arlington in Hot Springs (they have a big band every Friday and Saturday), various clubs

    Food and Dining

    All you can eat, lots of options, but I thought the cafeteria closed too early. You get money for Chick-fil-a and Starbucks, which is nice.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on where you stay. Some dorms are super-nice and some are super-old. They built a lot of newer ones after I left that are supposed to be to-die-for. I don't think any have kitchens, but there are a lot of cheap near-campus apartments. I did love being able to walk down the hall and find friends to hang out with, no matter what time it was. The set visiting hours for opposite genders is nice if you want to walk down the hall in just a towel, but it's annoying if you need to study with a friend. You can walk anywhere in less than 10 minutes, so that's also a plus.

    Academic Rigor

    You learn A LOT (it was ranked #1 for academics in the south by U.S. World Report when I was there), but since the class sizes are small, you get a lot of individual attention, which makes learning easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to make your own fun and be creative. The closest movie theatre is about 45 minutes away, so go camping, make a fire and eat s'mores, play hide and seek or sardines...the possibilities are endless, but you have to BE CREATIVE.

    In three sentences

    My 4 years at OBU were some of the best times of my life. The people are the highest caliber you can find, and the academic, social, and Spiritual growth I had cannot be paralleled with another experience. It is a beautiful, laid back, fun atmosphere where everyone knows everyone.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ouachita has an outstanding music program. There have been several students graduate and lead very successful careers on the stage. If that is you passion then this is your school!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As for the secrets of Ouachita..... You will just have to come and find out.

    Bang for the buck

    Ouachita does its best to give the best experience it can while being a student here. Tradition, love, strong beliefs, and a family oriented community make the money well spent.

    What to do for fun

    Ouachita Baptist University is built on the lake! There is always something going on there that you can be a part of. There is also the river that students float in their spare time to relax and take their minds off of their stresses for awhile. Then, there are friends. I have met some of the most amazing people while here and i can tell you that they are a part of what makes time here so wonderful.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide selection of food to choose from on campus. The cafeteria has a grill, salad bar, main line, international line, and pizza! The campus also provides a starbucks and a Chik fil for us to enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman year the dorms are dreadful, but this is to be said at any school you choose to go to. If you stick it out and work diligently your freshman year then you get the option of a plethora of selections of newly made dorms donated by our generous alumni.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum at Ouachita is challenging. The professors challenge you to break out of your comfort zone and push the limits of your knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask current students of the opinions and experiences at their university (students often don't lie about those things). Take a tour of the school to make sure it is a place you can see yourself spending 4 years. Don't jump to quick conclusions whether that be attending, or not.

    In three sentences

    Ouachita Baptist University is a small community oriented baptist school that prides itself in building well rounded human beings. The faculty at Ouachita love what they do and build a personal relationship with each of their students. The areas of studies at Ouachita have proven to be very competitive and challenging.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Eat on campus .

    What to do for fun

    Lots of activities to get invo Ved in in college, however the town does not offer much.

    Food and Dining

    The best

    Dorm Life

    Love it

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging , but feel prepared for what life brings me in the workforce

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a social group that can help you stay connected.

    In three sentences

    Love the Christian values,friendships, and small class setting.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    OBU is a safe campus. Partly for being a conservative Christian college.

    Greek Life

    While joining a club is popular, OBU is small enough to not need a social club to meet new people and hangout.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is Greek life, and campus ministrues. That's about it.

    Great for these types of students

    Tiger Tunes offers a chance for the more artistic groups and clubs to compete for the school. Students big into sports will love the rivalry with Henderson University in Battle of the Ravine.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tiger Tunes and Battle of the Ravine are huge events at Ouachita.

    Bang for the buck

    OBU is expensive, but well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Play frisbee, go muddying, hiking, camping, fishing, basketball, soccer, volleyball, rock climbing.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dinning is exceptional. OBU's cafeteria is well built and well managed. A chick fil a, Tiger Grill and a Starbucks offer variety for any one's unique taste.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. Fun in the dorm can be hindered by strict rules.

    Academic Rigor

    A difficult school, however manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Figure out what your priorities are in a school. Ouachita students should have studies a higher priority than fun.

    In three sentences

    Ouachita Baptist University sits as one of the most distinguished schools in the South. Found in the city of Arkadelphia, Ouachita is full of serving opportunities. Ouachita feels comfortable and safe.

  • 04/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to grow in their faith. Students looking for a small community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get involved. You'll get to meet so many more people if you do. It also keeps you adjust to the change if you keep yourself busy.

    Bang for the buck

    As a private university, Ouachita is not a cheap school, but the experience and knowledge you get for the money makes it worth it. Ouachita was named the No. 2 “Great Schools, Great Prices” Regional College in the South for 2011. For the fourth straight year, Ouachita Baptist University has been ranked the No. 1 Regional College in the South by U.S. News & World Report.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school has so many different activities to get involved in. There are opportunities to volunteer for Elder Serve, Big Brother/Big Sister, Backyard Bible Club, and many other groups. Socially, intramural sports are a great time of bonding. There are also social clubs on campus that create a great community.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Ouachita are amazing. Their depth of knowledge is outstanding. I feel like I am actually learning in my classes rather than just memorizing facts.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, those liking the small town type of campus, those that want to make something of themselves and all around good people!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study, to live on a beautiful and amazing campus, to have lots of great friends and enjoy the college life! Also, and most important, to get prepared for real life so to speak.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm lucky enough to have scholarships/grants but all in all, you get a lot of bang for your buck! This school does not seem to gouge students at all and there are so many things to do here on campus and so much that the school gives to students.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it at OBU! I've met amazing friends, no family here. I'm on the swim team and it's great! Workouts are hard but I love it. Coach Killackey is much more than a coach and my teammates are family!

    Am learning a lot

    'Classes are tough but the professors are great. They want to teach and I'm able to learn what I need to! I get tutoring and all the help I want. I couldn't ask for a better school!

  • 07/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Science Majors!- I'm telling you the science department is amazing. Christian Studies- There are lots of godly men and women that you will love to learn from. Business Majors- There are so many opportunities that the business school helps you to take advantages of. Music Majors- The Fine Arts Department is great. English Majors- English is definitely not my favorite subject but the professors in that department are so fun it makes you want to take more English courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    It isn't hard to find things to do at OBU, but it is hard to decide what things you want to do. There are so many ways to spend your time. Find a balance between study-time and fun-time and choose only one or two clubs and organizations to join otherwise you will get overwhelmed.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not trying to pretend that OBU isn't expensive, but it is definitely worth it. Ouachita is really good about getting you scholarships. Depending on your GPA and ACT score Ouachita will give you a scholarship. There is a scholarship calculator on their website obu.edu and you can get a pretty good estimate as to what you would get from that. The Financial Services offices works hard to get you additional scholarships. After completing my freshman year I checked my award letter and had received scholarship that I didn't even know about. Ouachita is worth the money, you will receive a great education and make fabulous friends. What more could you want

    Am enjoying being here

    Ouachita is a great place to be. The campus is gorgeous and full of activity. From playing Frisbee on the lawn in front of Cone Bottoms with friends to attending a Social Club event during TWIRP week to playing Just Dance in the dorm there is always something to do. The best part about Ouachita is the people. Wherever you go on campus you are sure to see someone you know.

    Am learning a lot

    Ouachita has a great environment for learning. The professors are always willing to talk to you personally and help you out. I am a Biology Major and I have been very impressed with the teaching I have received, not only in the science department but also in other areas.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not really needed most of the time, but do their job when they are

    Greek Life

    Men and Women's social clubs unique to OBU

    Clubs and Activities

    Social Clubs, Campus Activities, Campus Ministries, Honors Societies, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to grow and build life-long, godly friendships

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Guarding the Tiger, Battle of the Ravine, Torch light parade, GROW, NSR, TWIRP week

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very expensive, but it's worth it for the environment and the accessibility of the professors

    What to do for fun

    Float the Caddo, intramural sports, RecLife trips, hammock, play a sport, go to Hot Springs or Little Rock, go out to eat, Rock climbing wall, Refuge, Service Opportunities, and much more!

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't the best, but it could be a lot worse@

    Dorm Life

    ResLife plans lots of fun things for residents, and your RAs care about you and want to be your friend!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging for the most part. There are some exceptions, of course, but as a general rule you should stay up-to-date on your coursework and syllabi.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have your financial aid worked out, and don't jump in with out a plan to pay!

    In three sentences

    Ouachita Baptist is a Christ-centered, community oriented learning environment. Every student is valued and accepted for who they are. This is a place to grow spiritually, mentally, and socially.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the week of the Battle Of The Ravine things tend to be a bit crazy, but its all in good fun. When we play Henderson State in football every year every class takes turns guarding the statue from Henderson State hooligans that try to vandalize it by throwing paint on it etc.

    What to do for fun

    Since Arkadelphia is a small town it is difficult to find something to do, so you have to make your own fun, be open-minded, and have very large imagination.

    Food and Dining

    On campus we have chick-fil-a and starbucks so that is a plus of the school, but he food at the cafe isn't bad. It might seem very repetitive at times with what they serve, but the staff there make it worth going to everyday.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are relatively close together and pretty close to every other building there.

    Academic Rigor

    It is strenuous, but its mainly reading and a couple papers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Ouachita with a very open mind because you never know what will happen and how your idea of something can change.

    In three sentences

    Ouachita makes you feel like you're at home the second you step foot on campus. The people there really care about one another. The professors are very helpful in helping the students pass their classes.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A joke?

    Greek Life

    Social Clubs. No frats or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of social clubs on campus to get involved in. These are Ouachita's versions of frats and sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, Christian Studies majors, Biology and Chemistry majors, Music majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Battle of the Ravine

    Bang for the buck

    You can get a decent education here. It's worth it if you can get a scholarship even if you have to take a little out in loans.

    What to do for fun

    Ride around town, hang out at the student center, go to Wal-Mart.

    Food and Dining

    The caf (The Commons) is probably one of the prettiest in the state. The staff are very friendly. Ms. Jeanette is a boss at the international bar! Ouachita only offers one meal plan to students living on campus and it is mandatory.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms aren't amazing by any means. Ouachita is strict in that it doesn't let freshman live off campus, so you're pretty much stuck with it unless you can get a exception granted to commute from home.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be challenged here no doubt. But that's why you ought to be going to college: to challenge yourself to learn as much as you can and take full advantage of the college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    The earlier you apply, the better your chances for maximizing financial aid. Ouachita automatically considers you for an academic scholarship based on your official high school transcript.

    In three sentences

    Ouachita is a small liberal arts college in the college town of Arkadelphia, AR. It prides itself on providing a solid educational background to its students in a Christ-centered environment. Go tigers!

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I play sports and just hangout with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Great food. They have three restaurants and three lines in the cafeteria,

    Dorm Life

    They have great dorms here with very friendly environments.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard but it is what you would expect for a private institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know your professors. Join campus activities. Find help from teachers and privious students.

    In three sentences

    I rate it a 8.7 out of 10. Its a great learning environment with friendly teachers. The only down side is the price

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    A lot of students will drive down to Hot Springs for fun sometimes. Students will do campus drive arounds or other clean fun things to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great. Chick Fil A and the caf are my favorite places to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is one of my favorite parts of college. Some of my favorite moments have been right in my dorm room with some of my friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the courses at OBU are pretty hard, but they are worth it because the professors challenge you to do your best and I have learned so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry so much about if you're going to make friends or not. Just go to college and have friends. You will find people that share your similar interest and they will be some of the best friends you'll ever make.

    In three sentences

    Ouachita Baptist is a small private college. It is very easy to make friends and have fun at Ouachita. Anyone can fit in at Ouachita, and it is an unforgettable experience.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt afraid while being out on campus or at campus activities. Our dorms are very secure and our dorm parents are always involved in our lives to make sure we are making good choices.

    Greek Life

    My involvement in my social club at OBU has helped me grow spiritually and socially. My fellow club members encourage me to learn scripture, help others, and work together for common goals. Without these young men in my life, my experience at OBU would not be as rich as it is.

    Clubs and Activities

    I love the social life at OBU. Whether I am participating in intramural athletics, social-club activities, service opportunities, or academic classes, I always find myself to be challenged AND encouraged.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student who loves a small atmosphere and thrives on academic challenges, OBU is the university for you. Come home and see what we are all about. Christian principles intertwined with academic excellence and wonderful friendships makes for the perfect combination and has been a blessing in my life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The tiger is our mascot. We have a tiger that stands on our campus. Guarding the tiger during the week of our rival game between Henderson State which is across the street is one of the more honorable things an OBU student can be asked to do. Guarding the Tiger shows pride and develops leadership. Not to mention, it is fun to try and keep the enemy away from our tiger. Staying up all night with your friends and braving the elements makes it memorable.

    Bang for the buck

    OBU is a private university, but I feel this is where God has led me and He has provided mightily while I have been here. The one-on-one relationship I share with my professors is worth the financial investment my parents and I have decided to make in my future.

    What to do for fun

    The town of Arkadelphia does not have much to do in it, but Hot Springs and Little Rock are not that far away. Dallas is only 4 hours away and that makes for a fun weekend with lots of good, clean options for entertainment. OBU makes up for the lack of activities available in the town by providing many varied types of activities on campus. Some of these activities are service-related while others are strictly for fun or friendly competition. I have never been bored or lacked opportunities to have fun while at OBU.

    Food and Dining

    Ah, the cinnamon rolls ! Our dining hall men and women fix tons of cinnamon rolls just to help us make it through finals week. It is the only part of finals week I look forward to. Everyday, though, there are way more choices than any of us deserve. The salads, ice cream, desserts, Italian food, hamburgers, etc are wonderful and never allow u to get bored with eating in the caf.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life has proven to be one of my favorite parts of life at OBU. I have met a lot of guys and made a lot of new friends along this journey. The safe environment and fun atmosphere make it seem like home. Learning to share a small space with someone you have only known for a few weeks might be a challenge for some, but I feel like my roommate and I have known each other forever. Whether it's playing ping pong in the lobby , eating pizza in someone's room, or watching a movie with everyone piled into our room, I know that one day, these will be called my 'good ole days'.

    Academic Rigor

    My professors at OBU challenge me to be my very best and are always available for advice, instruction, and, yes, even correction. The demanding pace in my classes has encouraged me to develop good time-management skills that I am sure will be valuable for the rest of my life.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are new to OBU or any college, you should learn to meet new people and step out of your comfort zones. Use college, not only as an educational experience, but an opportunity to expand who you are while achieving who you want to be. Also, practice different learning techniques to see which one works for you.

    In three sentences

    Attending OBU is like living on a family vacation. Everyone supports everyone, has fun, and learns together, but knows when to give each other a little space. The quality of education coupled with the Christian principles set forth by my OBU professors is preparing for a future that knows no bounds.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is the tradition of everyone camping out in front of the Tiger statue to protect it from the shenanigans of Henderson State University during the Battle of the Ravine.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has good food and a good variety. There is also Chick-fil-A, the Tiger Grill, a Panini place, and a coffee house.

    Academic Rigor

    As a freshman in core classes, the rigor has not been too difficult thus far.

    In three sentences

    OBU is a VERY Christ-centered school. Each professor wants nothing more than to get to know you personally and for you to be successful. The campus is very safe and friendly.