Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Our Lady of the Lake University-San Antonio Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be a part of and be of some help to a community. This school is very big on that.

    Tips for prospective students

    OLLU definitely has its disadvantages, but so does any other school. Its a great school in my book though and I'm sure anyone that goes there will fall in love with it. Just remember to perservere in your studies and make good friends that will support you and help you study. Talk to your professors. If you go to a small school and have the opportunity to talk with them, take advantage of that time. Don't get distracted but remember to relieve stress (hopefully after a busy week, not during one). This education will pay off. :)

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, its small and old and doesn't always have the most up to date technology. Tuition seems to be consistently rising and the financial aid/registrar's office doesn't really seem to be all that organized at times. They are very giving as far as financial aid goes. Try for the Providence Scholarship! It's full tuition and they give about 5 away every year to incoming freshmen. Also, they Moye Scholarship is a bit more than half tuition and they give the same amount of those.

    Am enjoying being here

    People at this school are generally really nice. Also, its great to be able to walk across the campus in only ten minutes! The work is challenging but everyone want to help whether it be the professors, fellow students, advisors, or librarians.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at OLLU are really passionate. Students can see that they want to help and teach to the best of their ability. The small class environment really helps as well. It allows students to get to know their professors and vice versa and also for students to get to know each other. This helps in forming study groups.

  • 11/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student really.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention and turn in all your work on time. Get to know your professors and get involved on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Its expensive but they offer a lot of scholarships and loans.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the environment and the people who attend also it is a great university.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are great and they help you as long as you ask for the help.

  • 05/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This university is for any student looking for small classes, close relationships with peers, & a small campus.

    What to do for fun

    They have plenty of planned activities to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent and nutritional

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are small but that's what makes them cozy.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are always making sure you do your best and if you need extra tutoring they will make sure you receive it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Small classes are what attracted me to this university and if you do not want to be just a number, then small classes should be what you should be looking for as well.

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a university where you will feel at home, this is where you should be. On my first campus tour I was addressed by everyone & given all the attention necessary. I was able to ask questions and get a better understanding of this university and am pleased to be attending this university for the fall of 2012.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this college is located in a bad area in the city, but i can assure you that the police force that they have at ollu is top of the line. every night there is a patrol and most of the officers have shifts that run on into the night to keep the campus safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    there were many clubs to choose from at this college. i do not think a first comer would be dissatisfied with the amount of activities and clubs available.

    Great for these types of students

    ollu is known for the top of the line social work program and their nsa sponsored computer information systems programs, some might even say their biology program. if you think you want to major in one of these, then i would have to say go for it!

    Bang for the buck

    yes, ollu happens to be the cheapest private university in san antonio. i do think i received a high quality education for the amount of money that i spent.

    What to do for fun

    there are plenty of organizations on campus for students, including fraternity's and sorority's. i became part of several and did not regret ever joining them.

    Food and Dining

    one of the downsides to this college was the cafeteria food. the food was contracted by chartwells and i found that the cuisine was under par for the price we had to pay. i knew many students, including myself that would go next door to find fast food as an alternative and even going to other colleges in the area to eat in their cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    although this college is very small, the dorm setting did not affect me too much while living here. there are very few dorms to choose from but most of them were maintained and became a very nice place for me and the other students.

    Academic Rigor

    as with some other schools, i found that our lady of the lake university has some strong areas within the college. academic rigor is one of them. i can assure you that i was not disappointed in the quality and challenging effects of this college. i learned to build upon my knowledge each class. remember dedication is the key!

    Tips for prospective students

    many first time students find this college not worthy compared to its other catholic sister schools in san antonio. do not be weary when it comes the time to go to this college. it has some pretty intelligent professors that you will learn to become friends with. even the students here tend to build loving and caring relationships with each other. it may take some time to build these relationships, but work hard and show your enthusiasm and you will eventually become recognized.

    In three sentences

    overall, i did enjoy my time at this college. our lady of the lake university is probably the number one underrated private school in texas. i learned a many skills here and i hope to continue building on those skills when i am in my career.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very secured with police officers, if you lose something, people are honest and return things to the police office. Personal experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    Alpha Phi Sigma- Criminal Justice Honor Society Criminal Law Society

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The whole University is tradition, they are involved in every culture. The main place to visit is the Sacred Heart Chapel, it is beautiful. Don't forget to say a prayer or two.I

    Bang for the buck

    Great experience Go Saints!!!

    What to do for fun

    Ollu always has something going on, different organizations are always doing different things during the semesters. They have plays, guest speakers, international folk dancing, dinners and shows. Many things to do and get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    Coffee is good in the A.M.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, not sure of dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    At OLLU, the classes are small, and there is a better chance at getting acquainted with your professor and classmates. Everyone is so friendly and helpful at OLLU.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to know your campus, meet the people in the offices that you need to interact with, get familiar with the different organizations and get involved, and if you have a good GPA, look at National Honor Societies... there are so many possibilities.

    In three sentences

    Since I was a little girl, I attended the elementary school there and always wanted to get married there, which I did at the beautiful chapel that is there, and now I am going one step further and receiving my Bachelor's degree from OLLU. It has been a wonderful experience studying at this University. I really enjoy my time and my professors at the Lake.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is equipped with great safety precautions and it seems like a quiet calming campus.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure of the Greek life of this particular campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who enjoy small class room settings and actually becoming close to the staff.

    What to do for fun

    I heard there's a lot of activities to engage in such as sports clubs and many more experiences that will be entertaining.

    Food and Dining

    For the lake day I attended they did feed us and the food was wonderful. They are testing out new vendors as well so I look forward to that.

    Dorm Life

    I'm very excited about dorm life. I have seen the dorms which are very comfortable and clean. I have not stayed on campus yet but am positive it will be delightful.

    Academic Rigor

    I have met with professors and staff and to my understanding are well educated and well equipped to prepare and teach us.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to people and get help. They actually email and call you back answering all your questions making a scary and difficult process easy.

    In three sentences

    This college is amazing. They have been attentive to my every need helping me along the way. They have been like a family to me.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who prefer a smaller campus and more face time with the professors.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a private school and so it is more expensive than a state school. I feel that the educational expectations are higher than state colleges, and will set you up to be much more competitive in your career field after college.

    What to do for fun

    Again, I live off campus, and unable to comment on what is on campus for fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    Again, since I do not live on campus, I cannot comment on this either.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, so I cannot comment on the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Your education is your responsibility. The professors encourage you to stretch beyond your comfort zone and in doing so, causes you to reach heights that you thought were unattainable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take charge of your academic career. Stay on top of financial aid and application deadlines, and also enroll in classes as soon as possible as they do fill up quite quickly.

    In three sentences

    Our Lady of the Lake University-San Antonio, TX is a wonderful university in that class sizes are small and so it makes it easier to connect with the professors. The University does make the students feel valued and that their education is of the utmost importance. The small campus is beautiful and comfortable to get around from class to class.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has police presence 24/7

    Greek Life

    There really isn't that much of a frat or sorority presence on campus here. There are only the ones sponsored by the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Club Rush is the week of the school year where everyone signs up for a variety of clubs. There is always something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    OLLU is great for students that want to major in psychology, education, and social work areas. However, it has degrees in all sorts of subjects.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The convent next to the school houses the order of nuns that founded the school.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is steeped in history and tradition. It was once all girls then it went coed. The class sizes are small and the resources here are great. I feel it is a good fit for anyone.

    What to do for fun

    Mingle with the kids on campus

    Food and Dining

    The food is alittle over priced but it is ok

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is ok here there are separate dorms for boys and girls along with coed dorms as well. The university comes complete with pools, basketball courts, tennis courts, baseball fields, and student lounges.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is difficult but what school isn't this university provides resources that aid students and has professors that always have an open door policy and easy to reach.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school provides you with 90% of everything you need to do well you need to provide the last 10%.

    In three sentences

    Describing this school is a very difficult task. I managed narrowing the description down to one word astonishing. Simply put this is the only word that comes to mind for me.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    cops are always on patrol, either in their trucks or walking around saying a freindly hello. i couldnt feel more safe at night in my dorm, knowing that no one can enter my dormatory without a student ID that is only for my area, it also makes mefeel safe knowing that the cop that has the night shift stays outside in his truck all night right outside the dorms' doors.

    Greek Life

    there is none

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs here and you really get to get a taste of each one one club rush day that they have every semester for all students. All the clubs and organizations get together in the mall area and set up tables and flyers and poster boards explaining what their club is all about and encouraging you to join.

    Great for these types of students

    OllU is perfect for anyone wanting to major in Psychology. OllU is second in the nation for Psychology.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many events and activities that go on around campus at OLLU. From clubs and organizations selling baked goods to earn funding for their clubs. to giving out free food and aquas frescas for Mexico's independence day.

    Food and Dining

    the food at the Sister B. Anthony cafeteria is exquisite compared to high school, middle school and elementary food. Everything here is homemade, and cooked right in front of you like the stir fry line for example.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming here at Our Lady of the Lake couldn't be more fun, especially if it is your first year at college. It is a big change and a big difference, you learn to be independent and responsible. Dorming is quite exciting from time to time, there is always events going on in the lobbies, or everywhere on campus in general. Its nice to wake up 10 minues before class and just walk across the street to class. Everyone who dorms becomes a family,.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school to attend if you want to major in Psychology, Criminal Justice or education. The professors really do help you in anyway they can to make sure you pass their course, there is no judgement or put down either.

    In three sentences

    Our lady of the lake University is an amazing campus that has many opportunities and is one to help anyone in need. The counselors, professors and students are extremely welcoming, everyone there wants to be at school, and wants to learn.

  • 01/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student is good for this school, of you want to learn then this is the right school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for help if you need it, there are a lot of programs that help you succeed academically, and the school is extremely active with the surrounding area, gives you a great opportunity to give back, volunteer.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a little expensive, but the school offers financial help. (Work Study, Scholarships, Financial Aid, Etc.)

    Am enjoying being here

    The school is great! Great teachers, students and perfect size. Everyone is so nice, its like a big community.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are great, they extremely helpful and understanding. The classes are small so that gives you the opportunity to communicate with the professors more.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Since it is a private school, I wouldn't say it's the best price compared to a public school, but you get a very good college experience.

    Will enjoy being here

    It is a Beautiful campus! It is so pretty! It looks like a castle and has a beautiful chapel. The people their are friendly and so far nice.

    Will learn a lot

    It is a good school with friendly professors and great opportunities of knowledge. You can get tutoring at literally any time of the day.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Our Lady of the Lake will be great for you if you like small communities and more attention in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a really open community. They are also adding a lot to the university and the surrounding neighborhood. San Antonio is a great place to live if you are coming from out of town, just make sure to have your own transportation.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is unfortunately kind of expensive but it is overall worth the attention you get in class. I've had classes with only 3 or 4 students in it and it is almost impossible to fail those.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a super small community where everyone basically knows each other. It is really easy to get inovolved, everyone is so willing to get to know each other and there are a lot of different organizations.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot here at Our Lady of the Lake. The classes are really small so it's easy to get help and attention. Most of the professors here are super nice and willing to work with you outside of class.

  • 12/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    OLLU is the least expensive of the private schools in the surrounding areas, yet still costly. Contact Financial Aid to get the help in selecting plans and getting more help.

    Am enjoying being here

    Though a little on the rough side, OLLU is a very active scool with daily activities for students to help ease the stress that classes may bring.

    Am learning a lot

    Our Lady of the Lake University (OLLU) is a private university that allows students to better understand the concepts that are being taught in the classroom. The professors are dedicated to helping any student who is willing to try.

  • 12/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for small class size, required attendance, and a school that is closely tied to the surrounding community, OLLU is the place for you.

    Bang for the buck

    The education you receive at OLLU for the amount of money paid isn't any better than that of a less expensive state school. In either setting the students who challenge themselves to get the most out of the information presented are the ones who will get the best education for their money.

    Am enjoying being here

    As a graduate of a large state university, transitioning to OLLU for graduate school was a bit of a culture shock. There is something to be said for the personal attention you get here that isn't necessarily found at larger schools. However, at times the professors tend to baby the students rather than challenging them.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much more at OLLU than just the basics offered in class. This university gives real-life experiences and includes core values in the curriculum that you won't find at a state university.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    highly motivated, leadership oriented students, looking for a degree that will give them an edge over any competition in the future workforce.

    Academic Rigor

    oll has a steady, challenging course load that keeps you pushing yourself throughout the semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    start focusing on getting your gpa as high as possible before transferring, so that you may qualify for a gpa based transfer grant.

    In three sentences

    our lady of the lake has been an aspiration of mine for two years now because of their ciss program. i was greatly attracted to the possibilities of studying in a program that is partnered with the national security agency. oll has been a wonderful blessing in my life, and i could not be happier.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe because the school is from walking distance from mostly all necessities. The police officers are always patrolling the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous National Societies, intramural sports and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    The atmosphere is incredible and everyone feels confortable.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The university is proud to have one of the most beautiful chapels in the city. The Main building was reecently revewed after a fire that cause major damages.

    Bang for the buck

    I love this school because I am able to get help from my professors at any time and the campus community is very welcoming.

    What to do for fun

    The school has a gymnasium with different areas for exercise, soccer fields, pools, and activities throughout the semesters.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is really good, plus there are many restaurants at walking distances that you can choose.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter but I have heard that the residence life is very adaptable and good.

    Academic Rigor

    Science and math classes are rigorous but the professors are the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come to Our Lady of the Lake come prepared to receive the best education from the faculty. You will receive the best education and all the help you need to succeed in life.

    In three sentences

    Our Lady of the Lake has become a second home to me since I started to attend. The faculty and staff really care for the students and their well being and it's shown by the attention provided. The campus is great and the campus community very welcoming.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    From what I hear from other students the food is not too bad!

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorm yet but will be moving in soon!

    Academic Rigor

    I have not taken any classes yet - so I don't know what the rigor is like.

    In three sentences

    I am very excited about starting my classes here in the Fall!

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with other fellow OLLU students, study groups, etc. I commute now so I'm not on campus as much.

    Dorm Life

    It's ok but food is limit in options, prices for dorms are really high, and the dorms are really cold.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know you teachers, fellow-classmates, advisors, etc. There is ALWYAS someone willing to help if you just ask!

    In three sentences

    It's an amazing school with a fantastic staff! I love going to OLLU! It's like a second family!

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always around

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm in club FYC it's great you get to meet new people get invovled with school as well as your fellow students it helps you grow as a person.

    Great for these types of students

    For everyone it is amazing!

    What to do for fun

    I go downtown to the riverwalk its beautiful over there. As well as hang out with friends go to the movies the mall. There is always something to do in San Antonio!

    Food and Dining

    It's pretty good can't complain.

    Dorm Life

    It's right next to campus so gives you more time sleep as well as take your time you don't have to rush. Everybody is so friendly and you get to meet new people they have fun events as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The professor want to prepare you for your career so just work hard and you will do great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the Lake Days to find out information they are really fun to participate in.

    In three sentences

    I love my school it's a great place to start school it's a close community which helps the students better. The professors are very helpful and understanding and want to educate the students. There is always activities going on so the students can participate in.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be successful and and like to be in a small campus community and are very sociable.

    Bang for the buck

    They help you by giving reasonable grants but only allow one School Scholarship per student' all other school scholarships must be from another source.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms r just across the street

    Academic Rigor

    Regardless of the rigor everyone is always will to help you be successful

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't ever be afraid to speak up because they always have open minds n hearts to provide the help you need.

    In three sentences

    The staff is friendly. They are always willing to help. The campus is beautiful.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The college has a variety of clubs and activities that one can choose from.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Being that I am a new student, I do not know all that the college has to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    The education that you get is well worth the money that it cost to attend.

    What to do for fun

    I know that the campus has a great deal of activities for both students and staff. Due to my full time work and school schedule, I am unable to participate in many of the activities that the school offers.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten on campus before.

    Dorm Life

    I have not experienced dorm life. I commute to and from school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early! They have smaller classes so be sure to have all information submitted prior to deadlines.

    In three sentences

    I love the care and concern the teachers show towards the students' academic success. The school is very family oriented. I love the training and education that we receive towards our intended majors.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security always patrolling and plenty of well-light parking lots.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Attend Mass on campus in the beautiful chapel!

    Bang for the buck

    Quality education with the focus on you and your success.

    What to do for fun

    Always a function occurring in the mall area.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria, even a Starbucks!

    Dorm Life

    Plenty of options in the dorms- even private suites!

    Academic Rigor

    A lot is expected of you, but there are plenty of resources to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and speak to students and faculty, you will notice the difference.

    In three sentences

    Small, personal classes with lots of attention and focus on you. Plenty of academic assistance to help get you off and running. Tons of student life activities for everyone!

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's always campus police around when needed. Their trucks are constantly circling the campus. The safety of the students and staff are definitely a priority on their mind.

    Greek Life

    The few sororities and frats that are here are all involved heavily with the school. They host dances, sales, drawings, and plenty of other activities. It's not so movie like but real life greek life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's always things happening on campus. Whether they're hosted by our very own students or the school, events pop out of nowhere here. There's something for everyone here.

    What to do for fun

    Since it's in San Antonio there's plenty to do here. The Riverwalk, malls, shops, theaters, and restaurants here are all pretty close. Downtown is usually where everyone goes to.

    Food and Dining

    The new meal plan here is awesome! There's a variety of foods to chose from. Even if you don't want to eat an actual meal there's snacks avaible in the little store that's right in the middle of the halls.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are pretty close to all my classes; they don't involve trekking all across campus to get to them. The one I live in, Flores Hall, is nicer compared to the other ones and it actually feels like home. It doesn't get too hot or too cold like the other halls.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a music major so my classes are pretty much all music, but the other classes I have are challenging but easy enough to work with. My music classes work with my level and get me to work. The teachers help you out a lot with whatever questions or concerns you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to check this school out because it's a private school. It helps out a lot with financial aid. You'll be surprised you might actually want to come here.

    In three sentences

    Everything is so easy to find here. The people are so helpful and friendly. The school itself is just beautiful and a home away from home.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never feel threatened when I'm at the school or in the class rooms

    Clubs and Activities

    Since I'm at a satellite location, I do not get the opportunity to attend the many events in San Antonio however I do try to be a part of as many of the various honor societies or organizations made available to all students that meet certain criterias.

    Great for these types of students

    Business majors will enjoy the variety of classes and the insight from the various professors

    Bang for the buck

    Since I have to pay out of my pocket, the flexible payment plans provides the assistance I need without having to get a loan.

    What to do for fun

    Currently I attend classes full time and work full time however the one thing I did notice after continuing my education is I encourage others to do the same.

    Food and Dining

    Appreciate the snack machines

    Dorm Life

    Not current a student that lives on the campus in San Antonio but the campus as a whole is beautiful.

    Academic Rigor

    I never could grasp Finance until I came here. The professor connected the dots for me and encourage class participation. The challenges of each class inspired me to continue on until I receive my MBA. Initially I only wanted my bachelors but the teachings inspired and motivated me to want to learn more.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to feel empowered, this is the place to be. If you want to learn humility yet become more confident, you'll develop it here. If you want to be challenged and learn, Our Lady of the Lake provides all of this and more.

    In three sentences

    I am a non traditional student meaning I attend the weekend classes at one of the satellite locations. This is so rewarding because I am able to attend classes full time and work full time without additional stress. The professors present great challenges and my confidence level has risen because I'm feeling empowered through my learnings.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Constant police patrol all day and night, very safe her.

    Greek Life

    Unsure, but I no that they have it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Theres a lot of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    This university has a lot of areas of majors that can be great for any major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most people hang out in the computer labs or the mall are, which is an are you can hear people playing music, talking, eating, and other things.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though this is a catholic college it shows equility to other religions. Theres an organization that promotes the rights of the LGTB community.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities to partake in, concerts, and different organizations to join.

    Food and Dining

    Depending on what is being serve the food is great.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a communter, so I can't give information on dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes in Social Work are very demanding, so keep up with your work and don't take a lot of classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to other students to learn what classes are needed and which professors to take.

    In three sentences

    Our Lady of the Lake is a great university. I like the small setting of the classes. The only thing that I do not like is some of the Professors.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports are fun at the lake and the tail gate parties to support our teams are good for free time. There are also a lot of student driven exercise classes available like zumba, cardio kick boxing and table tennis.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many food choices around the school and the cafeteria inside the campus has a few good varities.

    Dorm Life

    I chose to live off campus so I cannot rate the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a challenging curriculum and the papers are interesting enough to make for an interesting research.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make time for studying and homework, there is no class in which last minute cramming will actually get you by.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere at Our Lady of the Lake is always positive and welcoming. It seems as if everyone is willing to go out of their way to ensure that every student is successful. Even the professors show committment by the various organizations they participate around the community.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is in a low scale neighbor hood but the campus is great and no crime.

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of variety for clubs but there is not many activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes! very into sports.

    Bang for the buck

    good schooling but it is very expensive

    What to do for fun

    absolutely nothing to do on campus unless you join a club or organization

    Food and Dining

    good food just not a variety

    Dorm Life

    love the dorm rooms and easy living.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of reading and a lot of writing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read everything! there isn't much choice for food. talk to you professor often!

    In three sentences

    Nice School with nice people. Terrible food options. Lots of opportunities for help such as tutoring, teachers help, and study groups.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will feel very safe and secure here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs to join with all kinds of activities.

    What to do for fun

    Go downtown to the River Walk. The old market place. Go tubing, hiking, amusement parks, golf. You name they have it.

    Food and Dining

    There are many food establishments to choose from. You could have something different every night if you wanted.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms appear to be nice. I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is challenging, but anything worth doing will always be. If it was easy everyone would do it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be honest, dedicated to your studies and be willing to lend a hand when one is needed. You never know when you'll need one.

    In three sentences

    OLLU is a top notch school. I would give it high marks for opportunity. The best when it comes to Computer Information Systems and Security

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus policy in every corner. Feel very safe there.

    Great for these types of students

    every one is welcomed

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Love the book store and the c-store. Great coffee.

    Bang for the buck

    The students are friendly, a great school community.

    What to do for fun

    no time for fun. Tones of school work and research.

    Food and Dining

    excellent food.

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars. Great school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a schedule a tour. The campus in huge.

    In three sentences

    The staff are always willing to answer questions. A warm and caring environment. The teachers are great, you will differently learn a lot.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something happening on campus if it's a game to a social activity the residence assistants put together. Then of course there's San Antonio itself where there is always something to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions at any given moment. If you have any doubts or if you do not understand something ask, it will only help you. Don't buy books on campus they are too expensive.

    In three sentences

    The staff at OLLU is sometimes not helpful enough; you really have to know the right people in each department in order to get what you need. OLLU's students are great and are there to help you out and you make friends easily.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on (open mic, different clubs having socials, guest speakers, dances).

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, but have only heard good things about living in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    OLLU truly prepares students for their degrees. There is always a challenge in the classroom, so time for studying is a must. When time is spent preparing for exams and class is when success will be gained.

    In three sentences

    Our Lady of the Lake University is a great school rooted in traditions and truly cares for the students on campus. With small class sizes, OLLU provided students with one-on-one attention and environment that encourages learning. The professors are also invested in the school and the students that they teach. They will go above and beyond to ensure the success of the students.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus cops around at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of activities and clubs that people can join from bible study to even lgbt club.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent but in fact is a little pricey

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is amazing! People don't have to go all the way home and come back for their next class period. Everyone gets to know each-other really well.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are not very difficult and if someone stays on track they are most likely to receive a good grade.

    In three sentences

    Has a variety of diversity groups. Professors are willing to work with a dedicated student. The campus is small so mostly everyone gets to know each other.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The cops are very helpful not just because they protect us and watch over us, but also because if you have car issues, they will go and help you solve those as well. They drive around campus continuously throughout the day and night.

    Clubs and Activities

    OLLU International Lions Club, Project Student Excellence Club, Alliance Club, Anime Club, Volunteer Unity Counsel

    What to do for fun

    Activities going on campus are usually free for all students =), There is a Anime Convention held on campus every year in March called Mizuumi Con

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to love small schools. Don't expect to come and party here a lot because this is more of an academic surrounding. After about a month, you realize that you keep seeing the same people over and over again. This school loves to volunteer a lot and has many opportunities for it.

    In three sentences

    This is a small school which is great when it comes to our classes. This campus is beautiful and has a church on it, a lake with ducks, and great places to study. The teachers here are amazing and really do care about your education, so they make sure you understand what is being taught in the class.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    OLLU is located on the west side of San Antonio, which is one of the areas of the city that has the highest crime rates. However, campus police does a wonderful job at keep the campus safe, and there is definitely a feeling of comfort as long as you're on campus. It is not recommended to wander off off campus by yourself, though.

    Greek Life

    There are several sororities on campus, and two fraternities. No greek houses on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Overall, the organizations and activities on this campus is generally unsatisfying. Most of the time, it ends up feeling like high school musical without the music. The organizations usually lack direction and progress.

    Great for these types of students

    As previously mentioned, this university caters to first generation college students that are from hispanic decent.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no traditions held at the university.

    Bang for the buck

    If this is your first college experience as a first generation college student, then the individualized attention is invaluable. The professors truly care for your future, and will be there every step of the way to assist you with achieving your goals. However, if you are looking to have an experience that challenges you and that is more like the 'real world,' I would recommend passing up on the idea of pursuing a degree from OLLU.

    What to do for fun

    Located five minutes for downtown San Antonio, there are many tourist attractions to attend. Although the idea of Remember the Alamo is a little bit jaded once you've visited the historic site once, there are still many attractions experience (especially if one is of drinking age).

    Food and Dining

    Similar to dorm life, the product is overpriced for the quality. It is required that residents of this university purchase a meal plan, and the money is not refunded by the end of the academic year. Therefore, there is incentive for residents to dine on campus as much as possible. For commuters, however, it would be a complete waste of money to purchase any meals on campus. Most commuters find it more economical to bring their lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Being a resident on this campus definitely does have some drawbacks. Firstly, the majority of the dorm halls were either built in the 1920s or the 1960s. The buildings have not been updated, and the student definitely has the feeling of paying too much for a cheap motel at the end of the semester.

    Academic Rigor

    Although an advantage of OLLU is the amount of one-on-one interaction with one's professors, the level of academic rigor is somewhat lacking. The content presented by professors is certainly present within their lessons; however, there seems to be a lack of incentive to go the extra mile in terms of academia.

    In three sentences

    Our Lady of the Lake University is a small, private, Catholic university that caters to first generation college students of hispanic descent. Overall, OLLU is ideal for individualized attention by professors. Its primary focus is on servicing one's community.

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police on campus making their rounds around the campus and dorms. I've been here about a year and a half, but I can't recall any major incidents.

    Greek Life

    There's a handful of fraternities and sororities. I actually just joined one. I haven't participated too much since I was only a pledge but they always have some sort of activity or event everyone can enjoy.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are fraternities, sororities, anime club, math club, writing club, bible studies, black student alliance, BLGT club, they are all pretty diverse. There's many more but I can't remember them all.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the starting student I would say. Many clubs, activities, small community. small classes, excellent help centers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You're required to have a minor, but they will help you with that. At first I was like what! what is this!?, but now I like my minor and think of it as a plan b.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of fun clubs having activities on campus. Volunteering is actually fun, you get to meet new people, contribute to a good cause and forget about your own worries for a while. There's also a pretty nice work-out area in the gym as well as scheduled workout events.

    Food and Dining

    The quality of the food isn't exactly what you'd come to this school for. For the price they make you pay, it's not worth it. But! On Commerce and in the surrounding area there are many restaurants to choose from. There's American food (pizza, subs and burgers), Mexican Food and a few great places for desert. Or you can bring your own lunch...

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms so I couldn't tell you honestly.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are small, so If you have questions they will get answered and since classes are small you can expect to have a good amount of face time to talk about whatever you need with instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come take a tour and have a look for yourself.

    In three sentences

    It has a very comfortable homely feel here. The classes and instructors are very personal. The community is quite lively.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs and student organizations to join on campus and if you have transportation, you can explore downtown San Antonio.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria can at times be a little questionable but overall everything is pretty satisfactory.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very fairly sized and each come with their own microwave and fridge. They also come with desks, chairs and lighting. Everything is actually very spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what your major is but each class has it's challenges to overcome.

    In three sentences

    It's is a small and beautiful campus with many majors to choose from. The staff and faculty are very encouraging and friendly. Also, the entire school in general is focused on helping you succeed.

  • 11/02/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    37 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    OLLU is located in south west San Antonio.... Scary? Not really, Campus police are always patrolling and do their part. I have never heard of anything bad happening on campus in the years I attended.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since Our Lady of the Lake is in San Antonio which has a very strong Hispanic Heritage, there will be many, many events that revolve around the hispanic culture. Dia De Los Muertos celebrations are my favorite.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that Our Lady of the Lake is a very good school, they try to expose their students at any chance they get.

    What to do for fun

    The University is always, ALWAYS hosting events.... Anything from open mic night to glow in the dark silent discos! Campus is only about 5 miles away from downtown, plenty of fun and free things to do downtown on your free time.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria could be a little better, the quality of the food is good but there isn't much variety. In the larger cafeteria seating room there is a delicious Make your own pasta bowl station that is pretty delicious, although somewhat more expensive. OLLU also has a small convenience store (the C-Store is what we call it) located near the dorms and it has all the junk food you could dream of.

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not live on campus, but the majority of the students in my classes did. All I can say is that you will never get bored with all the events on campus, day and night. there is always something to do.

    Academic Rigor

    All professors believe in you and want you to succeed, the available numerous academically beneficial programs at OLLU challenge each student in their own way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep communicating with your professors, they will always be there to help out, not only with academic studies, but they will recommend programs and internships if they see you are hard working. Study, Study, Study! Keep a planner and color coordinate all of your classes and study time.... Remember to leave time for yourself though.

    In three sentences

    The advantages of going to a small private school is that the professors really do care about their students, they will work with you in any circumstance as long as you have good communication with them. There is limited tutoring in the STEM department but, because the classes are so small the students are really close and are always willing to help. There are numerous activities and clubs to join that will benefit anyone and everyone.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops 24/7

    Greek Life

    Its amazing speaking from the fraternity point of view.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very well rounded

    Great for these types of students

    Local students or students who want to get away from there family.

    Bang for the buck

    The stores near the university are cheep.

    What to do for fun

    Frat

    Food and Dining

    I like the food a lot.

    Dorm Life

    Like in every university theirs always something wrong in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There a limit of majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    To be afraid to talk to people.

    In three sentences

    Small but very welcoming. Dedicated professors. Iterative.

  • 03/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our Lady of the Lake University has been voted the safest campus in San Antonio for 7 years straight. We have actual San Antonio Police Department officers on campus 24/7, 365 days a year. There is also a non-emergency number provided to the students for when they find themselves on campus late at night and feel like they need an escort to feel safer or when a student is having car trouble, the officers always try their best to help them out.

    Greek Life

    There is also the Greek life offered: the campus has 2 fraternities and 3 sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    The campus offers over 50 clubs and organizations to students varying from Bilingual club, to the Mizummi Anime club!

    What to do for fun

    The campus is also only 8 minutes away from downtown San Antonio and is near to the ViA bus, which is the public transportation offered here in San Antonio. The university is also at walking distance from various fast food restaurants. Throughout the year, the Resident Assistants in the dorm halls host a variety of free activities for the residents that include arts and crafts, socials, or food!

    Food and Dining

    The chefs try their best at accommodating to the students. There are different specials offered throughout the day, changing based on the day of the week. Our Lady of the Lake's Sister Annie B's cafeteria offers breakfast, lunch & dinner. The only downside is that the cafeteria tends to be closed when the university is closed, which is not a good thing for students living on campus throughout the holidays.

    Dorm Life

    The university encourages students to live on campus their first year, which is why a student deciding to live on campus obtains a scholarship that has a higher value. Having a roommate can definitely be a challenge, especially if you are an only child, but if you enter with an open mind, it can most definitely be an exciting experience!

    Academic Rigor

    The various classes offered at Our Lady of the Lake University help develop a well-rounded student. There is a program here, for all freshmen, where they are required to take an APPS course where they teach you methods on how to become a successful college student. You gain skills in this course that will help you through out your years at the university such as: researching skills, organization skills, note-taking skills, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study for your SAT's! The university gives you a scholarship at a higher monetary value when your scores are better. Take a friendly campus tour so that you may get the homey feel of the campus. Preferably during school hours so that you may see how lively and friendly it is here!

    In three sentences

    Our Lady of the Lake University is an major community-based university. It is a university where a student can develop personal connections with professors and staff quite easily. The university strives to help students gain experiences that will help them make their way to graduate school.