Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Owens Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for people who want to learn by lecture AND hands on work. The courses integrate both of these aspects.

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter what you choose to do, do your best at it. If you are thinking about going to OCC, you will find that it offers great learning opportunities and a sound environment to learn in.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition was cheap, lab fees were reasonable. Consumables were not restricted unreasonably.

    Am enjoying being here

    As previously stated, the instructors were all very helpful. They were all respectful and showed care in what they did. This made for an easier learning environment that I was comfortable with and could learn well in.

    Am learning a lot

    Classroom ratios are nice. Most classes were 1 teacher to 10 students. Teachers were all very helpful and accommodating. The course was laid out well and every aspect was clear and covered in class.

  • 11/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Owens is good for students who are paying for school on their own or are not sure of their major yet, and for those getting associates degrees.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get invovled, try to talk to people in class. Make a point of studying, and of coming to class, because many teachers take attendance and because that is the easiest way to make sure you know what is going on. Get to classes a few minute early because teachers typically start on time and if you are a few minutes late you could miss important announcements and some notes.

    Bang for the buck

    Owens cost less than $4,000 a year, and if you get grants or scholarships, it is extremely affordable. I recieved a grant for a little over half of my tuition and have been able to pay out of pocket until this semester.

    Am enjoying being here

    Because it is a commuter school, most people leave after classes, and espeically in lectures, people don't really talk to each other. If you want to have friends in lectures you have to go out of your way to talk to people a little. Labs are pretty fun though because you make friends with the people you work with. I try to use the gym, which makes Owens more enjoyable. But if you simply go to classes, Owens is not that enjoyable to be at.

    Am learning a lot

    How well the class is taught depends on the teacher and varies greatly. Many classes put up notes in a powerpoint format, and in order to fully learn the material you have to study and make sense of the notes given. This especially applies to science classes. Also, if you struggle with understand the information in class, it really helps to read throught the examples given in the book. It is also helpful to do homework, even if it isn't assigned because it helps you to grasp the concept. This especially applies to math classes.

  • 12/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    * Self-motivated; though help is available, Owens really helps you to become more independent and in control of your learning experience. *Artsy; Owens has a great art department. I'm in photography and have learned so much from each class. Each area in the art department has great instructors. You can see their work in the annual Instructors Art Show in our gallery and it really shows their talents and why they're teaching what they're teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't assume classes will be easier just because it is a Community College. The teachers here want to see you at your best, and they push you to attain this. Work your best and use the resources that are available to you on campus such as our great Library. The staff is helpful and there are many books on important topics that can help immensely with Composition classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition rates have gone up since I've been here. Despite this, it is still much, much cheaper than many other universities. For the amount you learn and the resources available to you, I still believe I'm getting the full bang for my buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    Though small this school has so much to offer. There is always something going on around campus whether it be a sporting event, organization or club event, or just something fun like Karaoke. Whatever your interests are, you are sure to find something you will like and relate to at this school. I also enjoy being there because you really get the opportunity to get to know new people. Since it's fairly small, you have many of the same students in your classes. It makes class more enjoyable and easier to participate in.

    Am learning a lot

    At Owens the teachers really strive for you to be at your best. They help as much as they can, and because they've usually worked in the field they're teaching, you can learn many things from them. I'm in my second year here and feel like I've learned more than I thought possible at the Community College level.

  • 03/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to go online, then I highly recommend it. My teachers always get a hold of me right away. I don't go to the actual college so I can't say whether or not I would.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study!

    Bang for the buck

    It's definetely cheap and you get a good education!

    Am enjoying being here

    I don't have to go into owens and I do everything online because I'm having a child. It makes everything so much better and easier.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn something new everyday from my classes.

  • 04/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The Maumee- Arrowhead campus I would say is great for students who do well with small classes and more teacher:student time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the teachers, make sure you have time for homework, and ALWAYS ASK QUESTIONS if you don't understand something that your instructor is saying.

    Bang for the buck

    At $131 and change a credit hour, paying for 4 credit hours and only using 1 is a little rediculous, and I wish that I would not have to pay for the hours that the teacher is no using, but other than that, I absolutely love the school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I go to the new Owens campus in Maumee at Arrowhead, but the teachers are the same as at any campus. My Humanities teacher, Mr. Eric Reed, is one of the best, most fun teachers I have ever had, and is extremely exceptional at making real word examples; as is my Math teacher Mr. Paul Pertner. I would highly reccomend either of those teachers.

    Am learning a lot

    Although I am currently taking 'refresher' courses, I can now retain what I'm learning better. The teachers here help you to understand what they're saying, and do not just teach using one learning style.

  • 08/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All! ;)

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the campus and see how you like it. I would recommend getting a head-start in the registration process. This saves you from a lot of stress and you get to plan out a great schedule, rather than shaping your schedule around the few classes that are left (if there are any)!

    Bang for the buck

    I am so thrilled that I won't have any out of the pocket expense, thanks to grants and loans. Even if I had, it would be a tiny fraction of the cost of a larger University. Owens provides all the luxuries of a University at a Community College price. You know the saying, you get what you pay for. Well in this case, I'd say you get far more than what you pay for! Great college, great prices, what's more to ask for?

    Am enjoying being here

    One thing I really enjoy about Owens is the class size. I was surprised to find that most of my classes only had about 20 students in each. I was even more surprised to find that I felt more comfortable in the smaller class environment. I felt that I wasn't going to be overlooked and that my academic efforts would stand out more.

    Am learning a lot

    Although this is my first year at Owens (and first college experience, for that matter), I am thoroughly enjoying the experience thus far. I chose Owens because I wanted something that wasn't going to eat away at my pocket book but would also give me a solid foundation before I transfered to complete my degree.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are college police in every building it is very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    art clubs, music, student government and many more

    Great for these types of students

    small classes, interactive

    Bang for the buck

    The prices are excellent except for the books

    What to do for fun

    Owens has a gallery one can go through, a theater to attend, and there is a work out room

    Food and Dining

    There are many places to eat near Owens, inside there is two grills along with a Subway and a Starbucks. Outside of campus there is Mcd's Wendy's, Denny's, Subway, Tim hortons and many other

    Dorm Life

    There are different apartments surrounding the college. One can also get help with money if living on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Classes require your full attention, usually based on the books, teachers are willing to help, and one can go to the writing center for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up early, talk with advisers to figure out what you want to do for a living, go to rate my teacher, buy books from amazon

    In three sentences

    Owens is a great way to get started with ones higher education.Owens is a cheaper way to get a great degree. Owens has many different degrees to choose from and make it easy to figure out what one wants to do in life.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    i'm currently in japanese club and it is a lot of fun, and the teacher is really nice.

    What to do for fun

    there are some tvs around, a gym, and you can take zumba classes. there is also some sports, and clubs you can join.

    Food and Dining

    there is subway there, and they provide salads and healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    i think the teacher are willing to take time out of their day to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you take your school work seriously and study as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    i think it's a great starter school. i'm currently post-secondary there, and i'm really thankful to receive such a great opportunity. the teacher are very nice and provide lots of help if needed.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is a safety office and campus security. aside from things occasionally being stolen from unoccupied classrooms or locker rooms, never heard of anything really bad happening.

    Greek Life

    i'm a member of phi theta kappa, but i wasn't at all involved with the organization while there.

    Great for these types of students

    great for students looking for a good deal. good if you just want some vocational training, an associate's degree, or want to transfer to a 4 year school. will save you a lot of money to go to owens for the first 2 years.

    Bang for the buck

    owens has really cheap tuition.

    What to do for fun

    toledo has lots to do...bars, clubs, the zoo, the art museum, restaurants, theater, etc.

    Food and Dining

    i never ate at the cafe while i went there, so i couldn't really tell you.

    Dorm Life

    owens doesn't have on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    i didn't think the classes were especially hard, but i'm usually pretty good at school stuff anyway. the professors were available if you had any questions though.

    Tips for prospective students

    get to the bookstore early to score much better deals on used books. plan on getting to class early for the first few weeks because parking will be crazy, but it will settle down after the beginning of the semester has passed.

    In three sentences

    small class sizes make it easy to get any help you may need from your professors. the online classes are a convenient way to satisfy course requirements. the campus is easy to find your way around and convenient to get to, for me at least, though the parking can be a challenge, especially in the beginning of a semester.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Owens, have police security guards who roam the campus all day, and student security guards who do the same

    Greek Life

    I do not know much about it ...but I' am looking in to it.

    Clubs and Activities

    For a smaller school they offer a wide verity of clubs!

    Great for these types of students

    Student who like small classes, and like to know their professor, and have their professor know them by name.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For Halloween they had a a zombie role play in the gym, people apparently dressed up as zombies and had a good time.

    Bang for the buck

    All i know is that they have them, they are close to campus (walking distance), and they are fairly nice!

    What to do for fun

    they offer many of clubs, and activities... the choice is yours!

    Food and Dining

    They have the best chicken tenders, mouth watering to say the least!

    Academic Rigor

    You leave each semester with a full understanding of each course, and your are ready to apply it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because it is a community college do not make the assumption it will be easy, you will have to work hard and apply your self. Your college experience is what you make of it, take every experience as a learning experience; apply yourself you will succeed. It is not high school, this is college so act like it!

    In three sentences

    Owens has really all it has claimed to be for me. They offer a lot of free services to help guarantee your success, they do everything in their power to make failing hard. So far, all the teachers I have had have awesome, they were understanding and willing to work with student on the level that their o... no complaints.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus cops. They will even give you a lift to your car if you have any late classes.

    Greek Life

    Academic sororities and others.

    Clubs and Activities

    All of the usual.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone. Old timers, teenagers,moms,dads and everyone in between!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Student food pantry available for students who are on hard times.

    Bang for the buck

    Student activities host lots of charitable events for the community!

    What to do for fun

    Play ps3, sing student karaoke, go to the computer lab or just hang out in the shac.

    Food and Dining

    Pizza, Starbucks, Vegi burgers and snacks all available in college hall or in the shac.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure. I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes go steady. Always ask questions regarding anything you don't understand. Utilize study help labs for extra help on hard assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read over course descriptions before choosing classes. Keep in contact with your advisers. Do not overload on summer courses!

    In three sentences

    The professors here are well informed in their chosen fields. There are plenty of activities for students involvement. The advisers are excellent at returning calls

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top of the line safety in the suburbs.

    Greek Life

    Fair

    Clubs and Activities

    Net working groups and world travel to china and other places and many other student services.

    Great for these types of students

    Book worms and agriculturist and concert going students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable in price and many credits transfer to near by universities.

    What to do for fun

    Concerts,picnics,and traveling events.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent choices of food.Pizza slices, salad subway,soups,hamburgers just to name a few.

    Dorm Life

    Nice I hear I stay with my parents.

    Academic Rigor

    I have three words to say, awesome and higher education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore the college go on tours meet some students.Get involved in college programs to net work and learn something or teach someone something that you know.

    In three sentences

    A educative environment with people who seem to care.Student have the same goals as you do.Students are always willing to show a new person around the building.The staff will an any questions asked of them and if they don't know the answer to that questions they will direct you to someone who does.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There is even a safety building and emergency phones around the campus to ensure that every student can feel comfortable walking around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Owens offers an awesome education for an awesome price!

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs and activities to participate in. The activity and job board is a great place to start if you are looking to get involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Owens offers many helpful offices and services such as Oserve for financial help, student career center, writing and math centers as well as an awesome academic advising office. Use your resources!

    In three sentences

    The classes are pretty small which is good for individual attention as well as the very kind and helpful student body. Owens is a great school whether you are attending right after high school or are a returning student.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On a daily basis, I observe the campus police department patroling the grounds, buildings and parking lots. I feel safe because I am very safe.

    Greek Life

    This does not apply to me.

    Clubs and Activities

    Presently I am not enrolled in any club or activity, but I intend to change this in the summer as time permits.

    Great for these types of students

    There is so much culture diversity here on campus. I often run into various cultures in my day to day activities. I learn so much from the other students and faculty.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Center For Performing Arts is very enjoyable. Recently I vviewed the movie Chitty Chitty Bang Bang at the theater. It was very fun. This experience at Owens Community College was very well worth my time.

    Bang for the buck

    I am a very non traditional college student, in that my age is not the normal fresh out of high school age. When I joined the Owens Community College culture, I found that the price was quite a bit lower than other colleges that I might consider. I look at the instructors as working for me, the student. I am pleased with my bang for my buck. I have been given a great return on investiment.

    What to do for fun

    Almost weekly there are several events that are posted on the Ozone website, on email and on campus flyers. One cannot say that there is not much to do at Owens Community College.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Owens Community College is not like any other campus that I have been on. The quality of the food and the attentiveness of the staff is quite pleasing.

    Dorm Life

    This does not apply to Owens but I find that the social life there on campus is quite beneficial to the whole college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is very balanced. I find that we all are under the same timeframe, we all have the same classwork to complete, along with the instructor therefore we need to use our time wisely.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage prospective students to ask a lot of quesitons, to put forth the effort in studying and to dedicate themselves to connecting with their instructors. The instructors are there to help the students. Ask questions.

    In three sentences

    I am quite leased to be a student at Owens Community College. I find that the instructor to student relationahip is just what I need to be successful. I also find that when I have a queation, that I am able to contact the right department and I receive my answer in a timely fashion.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    OWENS IS A GREAT CHOICE FOR THE FOLLOWING TYPED OF STUDENTS: 1.)STUDENTS WANTING TO COMPLETE THE FIRST TWO YEARS OF A BACHELORS DEGREE AT A FRACTION OF THE COST OF A UNIVERSITY. 2.) STUDENTS ONLY SEEKING A 2 YEAR DEGREE. 3.) STUDENTS WISHING TO PARTICIPATE IN DISTANCE LEARNING.

    Bang for the buck

    THE TUITION FOR IN STATE RESIDENTS IS FAIRLY LOW. THE ADDITION OF THE OVERWHELMING NUMBER OF ONLINE CLASSES AVAILABLE AND THE FLEXIBILITY OF ON CAMPUS CLASSES MAKES OWENS STATE COMMUNITY COLLEGE A SMART BUY.

    What to do for fun

    OWENS HAS A WONDEFRFUL INTRANET SITE FOR STUDENTS CALLED OZONE. ONCE LOGGED ON THERE IS A LIST OF CAMPUS EVENTS AND SOCIAL ACTIVITIES. FOR A STUDENT WHO WANTS TO UNWIND, IT IS A FAST WAY TO SEE OPTIONS FOR STUDENT MINGLING.

    Tips for prospective students

    THEIR ARE TWO MAJOR TIPS I WOULD GIVE TO ANY PROSPECTIVE STUDENT. THE FIRST TIP I WOULD GIVE IS TO SPEAK WITH AN ACADEMIC ADVISOR, AND ALLOW THEM TO HELP PLAN HE OR SHE'S CLASS SCHEDULE. A MISTAKE I MADE WHEN I FIRST ENTERED COLLEGE YEARS AGO WAS TO NOT SEEK HELP IN ME EDUCATIONAL PLANNING. I BELIEVE THIS WAS ONE OF THE MAJOR CAUSES OF MY LACK OF SUCCESS THE FIRST TIME AROUND. THE SECOND TIP WOULD BE TO KEEP HIS OR HER PRIORITIES STRAIT. OTHER THAN FAMILY, SCHOOL NEEDS TO COME FIRST. MISSING OUT ON A FEW SOCIAL ACTIVITIES WILL BE MUCH LESS DISAPOINTING THAN THE DISAPOINTMENT OF FAILING CLASSES OR DROPPING OUT OF SCHOOL.

    In three sentences

    OWENS HAS A VERY FLEXIBLE CLASS SCHEDULE IS THAT IS WONDERFUL FOR SOMEONE WITHOUT A LOT OF FREE TIME, LIKE ME. THEIR ONSITE DAYCARE IS NOT ONLY CONVENIENT,BUT RAN BY CAREGIVERS WHO DON'T TREAT MY CHILD AS A JOB. MY REASONS FOR GOING BACK TO SCHOOL MOSTLY REVOLVE AROUND GIVING MY CHILD A GOOD LIFE, AND OWENS HAS GIVEN ME THE OPPORTUNITIES AND TOOLS TO MAKE IT HAPPEN.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are big on safety. there are emergency phones all over and there is security guards that walk and drive around. They also offer you to have someone walk you to your car at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are ton of clubs and actives all year along.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any type of student.

    Bang for the buck

    Owens has a low cost at $138 per credit hour. they offer a lot of stuff for the price.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things you can do for fun here. they offer many club and student actives. they have a student hall that has aerobic studios, weightlifting areas, student gym and indoor running/walking track, volleyball, tennis and basketball courts

    Food and Dining

    Owens offers many food choices, and they have a restrant that is ran by the culinary art students.

    Dorm Life

    This college does not have dorm because it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The work can be challenging but its that way with any college. I have learned a lot in this school and its not that stressful to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips i would give future students would be to meet with your advisor at least two time a semester to make sure you are on the right path. I would also tell them to try and get involved in the school. by doing this you can open up some great opportunities.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Owens Community College a four out of five stars. They have a lot to offer at this school and they work with many schools for transferring in and out. They have just about every thing there expect maybe a pool.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This college is cheaper than anyother college around, but as a student, I still think it should be cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    The college often has free fun events, such as, music, free food, dodgeball, and other interesting events I love to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Owens community college is amazing. The pizza, subway, burgers, and all are absolutely delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I would not know much about dorm life because I do live at home, but the dorms I have been in are nice, but expensive. Also, they are located nearby railroad tracks, which run all night long.

    Academic Rigor

    In academics, Owens completes every type to insure students recieve the education they deserve.

    Tips for prospective students

    Owens professors help give students the best education in which they are paying for.

    In three sentences

    Owens Community College is a great college for students to begin their education in their desired career. This local college serves the students to best educate them in any course they are intended on building a career in. Owens Community college was my first choice of any colleges because its is cheaper, and closer than any other.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are EVERYWHERE!! they catch everything

    Greek Life

    There isnt any.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs i cant name them all.

    Great for these types of students

    Art and Culinary Students, we have so many options. There are few schools that arent specifically for art majors that have options.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none come to mind

    Bang for the buck

    More affordable! I recommend people to start at owens then transfer to a four year college of your choice it save a lot of money.

    What to do for fun

    Sporting Events, spring bling and different random activities through out the whole year.

    Food and Dining

    Love the food, great selection

    Dorm Life

    There aren't really dorms there apartments near by they basically consider their dorm and they are NICE.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of you financial aid Meet with advisers every semester to make sure your on track take FYE your first semester and use the academic plan you make in that class to schedule your next classes/

    In three sentences

    I give Owens a 5 star rating, they are unbelievable. The staff works with you and most of all they remember you because it isn't a very large school. Additionally the school its culturally diverse and more affordable.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    downtown Findlay!

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Go see an academic advisor and learn about all the resources that are available to you. Check out the online classes too.

    In three sentences

    Owens Community College is a small, affordable school with a lot to offer. They have small class sizes, great instructors, and help is always readily available. It is a great place to start out or take online classes for less than you would pay elsewhere.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students very diverse.

    Dorm Life

    Don't have dorms.

    In three sentences

    Friendly and helpful staff and students.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Owens has their own police force on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are an array of different clubs to join, with many more forming each semester.

    Great for these types of students

    Small campus and a central location makes it great for us the student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year we have a Spring Bling which is free to current students and their families. This event includes drinks, food, and entertainment.

    Bang for the buck

    Owens is not to big or to small and really prepares their students for the future rather they transfer to a four year college or go off into the work field.

    What to do for fun

    Owens offers many different events monthly that are free to attend if you are a student.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway, but that is about it for a good quality meal.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately Owens does not provide a dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging yet fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    From my own personal experience, I would recommend any new student that is going to transfer to a four year college to keep up too date with their advisors about their major and transfer credits to the four year college.

    In three sentences

    Owens Community College really settles your debt solution! The faculty is amazing with getting to no each of their students and helping them anyway they can. After attending Owens for the past three years I would give this school an A.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have lots of student events and sporting events to keep you busy!

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome!! I ate lunch there every day for two months straight. There are a lot of options and more than one place to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't one because it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Here they have super hard and super challenging classes, but they also have beginner classes. There is a nice selection.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit your counselors. Use the resources at your disposal and don't be afraid to make friends and make mistakes.

    In three sentences

    Owens is a nice, small school full of opportunities. They are constantly updating and upgrading their school and systems. It is a good school for a good price.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    training officers and securing the premises at all times, while the city police keep it safe also

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of club and loads of activities..my favorite is the workout rec, comes with palates, yoga..etc

    Great for these types of students

    students that are ready to learn and want to make a future out of they're lives

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    very fun campus with lots to enjoy!

    Bang for the buck

    i'm really wanting to go back to school yo have a better life for me and my daughter since i'm a single mother, i was very dedicated to college when i attended a few years back. This time will be different..because its not only for my future but for my familys as well

    What to do for fun

    write poetry, read,listen to music, spend time with my daughter and family

    Food and Dining

    lots of on site campus cafes and local restaurants to enjoy food

    Dorm Life

    didn't experience dorm life but others did and they enjoyed it!

    Academic Rigor

    greeeeat!!

    Tips for prospective students

    great place to start college!!

    In three sentences

    Owens had small classes which was great for, they are affordable and the professors/Tudors were always there 2 help

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It is a community college. There is no night life.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a local community college so it is not as difficult as a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and get good grades in high school. Some programs have a waiting list.

    In three sentences

    Good local community college. Knowledgeable teachers. Great tuition rates.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Great class sizes. Teachers are very personable and helpful. Great student activities

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are Security gaurds on hand and i've NEVER felt threatened or afraid to be at Owen's it is truly an amazing school.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have clubs for everyone. LGBT, Blacks, Deaf, Support groups. Lots of fun stuff to do.!

    Great for these types of students

    Working parents. They offer daycare and have many class hours to choose from.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs and there is always something going on. They do a lot for charities and awareness.

    Food and Dining

    They have a Subway and a Starbucks. I personally love the grilled cheese and pizza.! The staff is so nice also.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home so idon't really know

    Academic Rigor

    LOVE IT.!

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention and take advantage of all of the help available to you.

    In three sentences

    Owens is a great School. The teachewrs that I have had have been very understanding and helpfull. They have a variety of class times which I can work around my job schedule.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very great Security team.

    Greek Life

    Depends on what kind of Greek life, I am in the PTK Honor society.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many groups to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Those with busy schedules such as holding jobs or families.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A personal tradition is that before each semester since I began, I pray a Saint Thomas Aquinas novena.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Depends on age and interests.

    Food and Dining

    Needs some improvement, but it works well.

    Academic Rigor

    Keeps me busy!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared with what documentation is required. Do what you can to save headaches.

    In three sentences

    I rate Owens very highly. Staff really helps students and there are great programs to get a two year degree in.

  • 03/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    If I had to do this over, I would go directly to a 4 yr school.

    Food and Dining

    Subway is nice.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very difficult. The medical imaging programs and nursing are the most difficult to get accepted to and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you want to do. Changing majors is possible but expensive. Getting accepted into a program is hard. Do the work, get the grades, and get accepted. No one will do it for you. Talk to other students and the the head of the department you want to be a part of, that is the only way to get answers you need.

    In three sentences

    Owens is an okay school. If you plan to continue your education, or need to fill up some time, this is your place. The advisors are not very helpful and don't always know the answers to your questions if it is a specific study. The instructors at night are not as into the students as the paycheck it's just a job to them.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food used to be much better, but recently they've made some changes and now it isn't very good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're considering attending Owens, make sure you have a plan and stick to it. It's easy to get distracted by all the classes offered and knock yourself off course.

    In three sentences

    Owens Community College is a good place to take your basic courses before transferring to a four-year school. It has a wide variety of courses available. It also has many opportunities for those who struggle with certain subjects in the form of tutoring and help labs with extended hours.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are activities provided every month. We have a gym to play basketball or workout.

    Food and Dining

    We have two places youcan stp and buy food. In every building we have vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    Owens has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They offer tutoring and tutoring online to keep your grades up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes are flexible. Its a friendly atmosphere. You save a lot of money compared to other colleges.

    In three sentences

    This is a good school but I wouldn't say the best. I saved money starting at Owens. They teachers are very friendly and helpful.

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play soccer

    In three sentences

    It is the best community college I had ever entered. They have good advisers that helped me in deciding my major. The provide good customer services for people and students.

  • 07/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the owens cafe has all kinds of food you will love.

    Dorm Life

    The campus is very nice to be on and you make lots of friends

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are designed to get you into working right after college so there is not alot of down time so you have ot stay on top of your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    To make sure you keep grades and test scores up so you can start with the college level classes and not take remedial classes.

    In three sentences

    Owens is very nice to get an education that will get you a job in a competive job market. The class very much so get you ready for the real world.

  • 09/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a Laid back style of learning without the large class sizes of most Colleges

    What to do for fun

    Work Out in the Student Health and Wellness Center, Library

    Food and Dining

    Two major eating establishments The Fireside Grill, and the Jaguar Grill. Both Great establishments for eating. The Fireside even has a Subway Restaurant. Both Establishments give a discount for money placed on a students school account.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm Life

    Academic Rigor

    Most Professors are laid back and enjoy enthusiastic students. However most do expect an acceptable amount of work from the students

    Tips for prospective students

    Work Hard,Use rate my Professor, Join in student Activities, Use the Student Health and Wellness Center.

    In three sentences

    Fun Laid back teaching styles from most professors. Amazing Classmates and Awesome Advisors

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on in the shack or the fine and performing arts building.

    Dorm Life

    There is not on-campus living.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and never give up.

    In three sentences

    It's a small campus but the Perrysburg campus is a lot larger than the Findlay. Class sizes are small which is nice so you get one on one learning. People of all ages and a lot of diversity.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe there is always security near by and ways to get ahold of them if needed.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of students are accepted.

    Bang for the buck

    You are totally getting the classes you need for way cheaper that a state college or university.

    What to do for fun

    Intramurals

    Food and Dining

    There a quick places to run through and get food

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not overly difficult as long as you do your work and go to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you want to take and if you are planning on doing a program try to get as many classes out of the way before you start so you aren't struggling to try and keep up in all of your classes

    In three sentences

    Owens is a great way to start college on a low budget. Id you are trying to avoid dorms and extra costs it is the place to go. The classes are small so you can get the individual attention you need.

  • 05/22/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of student groups to get involved in. Every year the teachers host a breakfast for all the students. I really enjoy going to that because you can meet new people!

    Food and Dining

    There is a grill that provides breakfast and lunch. There are a variety of options to choose from. My only complaint would be that they have longer hours. When you have a class later in the day you are out of luck.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this community college.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends of which course you are taking. Microbiology is one of the toughest courses here. There is a lot of information to get through in a little amount of time. But the teacher makes it as easy as possible by giving you all the information you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all the resources you have. The math center is great and everyone is friendly. There is a science center that has everything you could need to study the materials for your courses.

    In three sentences

    This community college is good for saving money. There are few passionate teachers that are great at what they do. There are student services such as tutoring that I used a lot.