Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Owensboro Community and Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty safe. At night you can see campus security guards walking around. They are friendly and helpful.

    Greek Life

    Your traditional Greek life is not available, but a few invitation only clubs exist that are considered Greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    OCTC has a few honor societies, such as Phi Theta Kappa, art club, a Oak Island drama productions, an outdoor club, student council, debate team etc. They have something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking for a certificate or diploma, and also great for the student looking to transfer schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school hosts a fall and spring fling each year. In addition they are very helpful with information with transferring to other schools.

    Bang for the buck

    Vending machines are a little pricey, but the best value is for the cost of an affordable education.

    What to do for fun

    The scenery at OCTC is beautiful, one can hangout outside next to the pond to do some homework, or chat with classmates.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines are available at the school. If one desires, one may leave campus for lunch.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are available on campus, most students commute to school.

    Academic Rigor

    Most students do better at a traditional community college and receive higher grades when they transfer to a larger college or university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for OCTC. Compare prices per credit hour for your prospective colleges. Research your major at your top school, and then look to see what associates degree best fits your major.

    In three sentences

    Octc is a good bang for one's buck. The community college offers a unique opportunity for students to earn a degree in while staying at home in their community. Most traditional students earn a two-year associates degree and then transfer to a larger university or specific program.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for a wide range of students. Online learners or in class learners.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The lake on campus is perfect to relax and study in between classes on pretty days.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take on too many classes at once. Take bare minimum the first semester to get use to homework load and test.

    In three sentences

    I like being able to have classes online or on campus. The classes aren't to big and tuition is fairly cheap comparatively. The teachers and counselors are very friendly and helpful.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think the campus is very safe. I took morning and evening classes there and I never had any trouble from anyone. No harassment or bulling I can recall.

    Greek Life

    I really can't comment on this issue because it was not part of my college life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many more clubs and activities now, then it did when I first started. But I wasn't looking for that I a college. I wanted an education and for someone going back at mid life it's a great, comfortable atmosphere.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all ages of students; it has a very diverse student population

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You check it out for yourself; you know what you like and what you want out of college. Am I right?

    Bang for the buck

    Starting your college career at a community college, is a great place to begin and it provides financial savings when comparing it to the Universities. Start at Owensboro Community College and put those extra dollars away to pay at a University of your choice in the future. This way you won't have as much in student loan finances

    What to do for fun

    If your young and single I'm sure there are many thing to get involved with at the campus. I returned to finish my Associate in Science this Spring. I believe the campus looks a little more livelier than when I first attended.

    Food and Dining

    As far as campus food goes, when I first attended there was a subway I think or you could get things out of vending machines. I don't know how it is now, but Owensboro in general has the of my favorite places to eat and I think it's economical too.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm, so I cannot comment on what dorm life is like. I'm sure if I would have attended in my younger years then I sure I would have enjoy the traditional college life. I will give it a 3 star, because I think it would be great for the student just getting out of high school.

    Academic Rigor

    I highly recommend taking all the required general education courses out of the way before starting the Nursing Program. I know it is only 9 credit a semester, but it felt like 16 to me. Apply to all the Nursing programs you can, don't put all your eggs in just 1 basket. I wish someone would have explained the amount of student that apply each session.

    Tips for prospective students

    I entered the ADN Program in the fall of 2006, I graduated in May 2008. Going to college part time in the begining let me joy seeing my daughter take her first steps and a lot of other 1st time events. I was 35 years old when I started, it helped ease me back into the groove of studying and I think it prepared me well for the Nursing Program, because I had everything completed except for the nursing courses.

    In three sentences

    I attended in 2004 to 2008, I worked on classes I needed for general requirements. My first year was after the birth of you daughter. I took 1course in the morning and 1 course in the afternoon. It made a difference to me on having the choices of classes and schedules. I did not want to be away from my child for long, at the first year of her life. The College made it easy to find the courses I needed and the diversity in the selection of times.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be afraid to ask for help or speak up when you dont understand something.

    In three sentences

    OCTC is a great school, the teachers, academic counselors and tutors have been more helpful than I have ever experienced. The teachers have gone out of their way to make sure their students have everything needed for success.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards on campus during the hours of classes.

    Greek Life

    There is not one

    Clubs and Activities

    They have plenty of great clubs and activites. I didn't join any my first year because of my job, but i had friends who did. I do plan to get more invloved this year.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a really good school for student on a budget. It helps get you on you way to a degree, without all the high cost.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and attend on campus events. It helps you get more involved and meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    I didn't really eat much in the cafeteria. It was a little too expensive. Campus in close to Frederica street which has plenty of fast food joints.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Your basic class are pretty easy, but once you get into classes about your major they are a little more challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on time. Get seat in front of classrooms. Always asks questions. Take public speaking instead of interpersonal communications, you will gain valuable and useful information. If possible don't take night classes, really hard to stay awake and get home too late.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school if you learn better in a small classroom setting. Most of the teacher are really helpful and will do that they can to help. The classrooms are easy to find and a very small campus.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Chances are, if you go to OCTC, you live in Owensboro or the surrounding area; so you already know what all there is to do here. There are several fast food places in the city. A theatre, small shopping mall, and a few bowling alleys provide some entertainment. However, people here often find ways to entertain themselves. So find a group of friends you can become tight with and hang out and create your own things to do.

    Food and Dining

    I've never eaten here.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at this school are not quite as hard as classes may be at other colleges. The basic classes are quite easy. But still, it's college, so some work has to be done. The more advanced classes are where it gets somewhat tough. Research papers have to be written, homework due every day of class. These classes can be time-consuming. Online classes are for organized people. Deadlines can sneak up on you and it's hard to have that one on one and classroom discussion that the in-class courses provide.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you live in Owensboro and aren't 100% on what you want to do, I would suggest spending your first two years of school here. It saves you a ton of money. You can continue living at home and save money. If you stay for two years and end up receiving your associate's degree, you are able to transfer to any state school with your general education covered. It's really convenient for students wanting to go to a 4-year institution.

    In three sentences

    This school really helped me prepare for a 4-year school. The teachers were nice and friendly and always answered any questions that I had. The small class sizes gave it a personal feeling and allowed for a lot of discussion.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Non smoking campus

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    All kinds

    Great for these types of students

    Busy, working

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spring Fling

    Bang for the buck

    I love this school but i want to go to a university soon

    What to do for fun

    Activities

    Food and Dining

    No food or dining

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome

    Tips for prospective students

    It is very enjoyable and they are considerate of your needs

    In three sentences

    Awesome

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a safe campus. Very open.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was never a member of any clubs or activities but I do know that their are many available to enroll yourself in.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition at OCTC is very affordable. They offer multiple easy to handle payment plans as well.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities/ clubs that you can enroll yourself in at this college.

    Food and Dining

    There is no food or dining at this college except vending machines and some food being offered from on-campus activities that are had from time to time.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at this school understandable and the teachers makes things easy for you to learn and understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend Owensboro Community and Technical College for any senior looking for a college to attend or for any person who has been graduated from high school for a number of years just looking to get back into school to better their education.

    In three sentences

    OCTC is a very a college that has a great clean campus. Every teacher I have had so far is very well educated in their subject and are always willing to help in any way possible. The homework load that each teacher has ever given me is acceptable.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is well-lit and has many safety areas.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus is great for all types of students. Whether, first time freshman or non-traditional students everyone has a place.

    Bang for the buck

    As far as the financial side, OCTC is very affordable and has many options that will help students find ways to pay for college.

    What to do for fun

    Owensboro Community and Technical College highly encourages its students to be involved in the community both individually and as a student body. There are many clubs and organizations that allow for this. OCTC also host many events on its grounds that involve the community.

    Academic Rigor

    OCTC will assist their students in all aspects. Their staff will give the tools but give the student to create and follow the path.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whether you are entering college for the first time or returning after life has slowed down, OCTC should be your first choice. On-line classes allow you to work at your own pace and find your educational niche. If you are more traditional, class sizes are small enough that you never feel lost amongst the masses. They offer so many services for students to take advantage of to ensure they get the most out of their educational experience.

    In three sentences

    As an adult-learner OCTC was the best choice for me. The staff made the admissions process absolutely stress-free. They truly believe in their students successes.