Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Oxnard College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety is top notch at this campus. there are always police on patrol and the station is right in the middle of all the facilities.

    Clubs and Activities

    auto club, i love to go and work on the classics that everyone drives to meetings. they also have a vast variety of others for more education.

    Great for these types of students

    general education, automotive body and automotive technology, they have great classes to learn extra hobbies, like music and pottery or masonry. and they just built a whole new theater building for a lot more new classes and better materials to teach it with.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing unusual, its a great normal, local, and friendly campus..

    Bang for the buck

    the rate is fair, they just raised it though. i get a waiver for most of my tuition but what they are charging me is for a solid career one day.

    What to do for fun

    the campus has its own park, tennis courts, football (soccer), baseball, and even a built skate park. unlimited access to computers also in library.

    Food and Dining

    they have a cafeteria, it reminds me of high school, the cooking they do. they offer a variety of foods; cold sandwiches, hot pasta, oriental rices, snacks, shakes, vendors and all. they make sure everyone get served as well, great service unless in the middle of day.

    Dorm Life

    i live away from campus.

    Academic Rigor

    they just recently had to cut a few classes, but they broke it down mostly to where all classes would still be available.

    Tips for prospective students

    they have all the help anybody would need including a eops center with counselors, fully staffed and are always happy to meet new students.

    In three sentences

    a great environment to be in and around. very easy to access all of campus and classes. offers way more programs than i would have guessed, a lot of programs.

  • 08/22/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are on a budget or unsure of what to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Treat the classes as if you did spend a lot of money on them, so that you have a better appreciation and work harder at getting good grades.

    Bang for the buck

    Saved me anywhere from $50,000-70,000, of what I would have spent at UC or Cal State if I had transferred straight out of high school and was able to explore many academic departments without wasting money.

    Did enjoy being here

    Small and fun classes, was able to get to know my instructors one on one!

    Did learn a lot

    I originally had planned on transferring straight in to a 4 year University, glad I came here first. I learned some much here and feel more assured of my choice of major.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    If you are from Cali, definitely a good bang for your buck. Out of state tuition may be a bit pricey.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, go bowling, go to mini golf, go do something around the town!

    Food and Dining

    Nice little cafeteria but not open too long.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Not terribly hard, but if you dont stay on it you are in trouble.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with a counselor and get your education plan as well as looking at getting to be a part of the TAG program.

    In three sentences

    Oxnard is a very good school and gets you where you want to be. It is challenging at times but there is help everywhere and people are there for you.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    emergebcy monitors practically everywhere and police is always on the job.

    What to do for fun

    join clubs or sports

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is currently in debt

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Register on time for your classes because they do get filled up quickly. Don't take more than 5 classes because it will start effecting you during finals week. Make sure when you sign up for a class that you like the teacher because if you don't its going to be a difficult semester to pass the class.

    In three sentences

    Oxnard College is affordable. I love that there is no classes on Fridays. Campus makes it easy to find your classes.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Salsa festival

    What to do for fun

    Entertain my family.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the specific areas you wish to practice then talk to a counselor.

    In three sentences

    I would rate this school to be very up date in technology. I like how very attentive and helpful everyone is. I would recommend this college to who ever was inquiring.

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to experience a college life before transferring to university. Students that want to save money and stay close to their friends and family. Saving up your money is a smart idea before transferring.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips I give students are first of all make appointments with counselors. Meet new people will help when having trouble with your classes. Also do not be afraid to ask for help because shyness will hold you back.

    In three sentences

    Oxnard college staff helps me with any questions I have. So far the classes I have taken are great.The environment is here is just friendly and full with helpful people.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is never an issue! Oxnard College has it own campus police and they are just a touch away with the great call buttons located all around the campus. Especially in night class I feel safe I see them patrolling threw out the school often no worries for you ladies.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is a great way to get your basic under your belt without paying the high cost! Close to Channel Island State it is a great way to maximize your financial needs. Not to mention don't be afraid to apply for all the grants they offer.

    What to do for fun

    Find a movie there are local theaters, great food places including a Starbucks great for studying and socializing. There are shopping malls and outlets. Bowling and mini golf just a minutes away. On hot days head to the beach or take a drive to Venice or Santa Barbara. A fun local feel with the advantages of the city come check it out!

    Food and Dining

    Oxnard College also offers great culinary skills that students perpare with low cost meals that taste great. But if you also like just to grab snack they have a great student store and a cool quick cafe for those between class moments!

    Dorm Life

    The Oxnard area is great with the local beaches and great shopping just around the corner. Not to mention great local festivals that bring the fun just when you need it, take a break for the school work and enjoy life so many things to do and see its the best of both worlds education and relaxing.

    Academic Rigor

    The teacher's here at Oxnard College push you to be a better student and the tutors will guide you to help you succeed. A changelling school yet prepares you for the next level.

    Tips for prospective students

    For First time visitors high school gradutes or just coming back to school adults the staff is very helpful and help you 100% with any education needs. The finiacial aid office offers ann excellent team to help guide you through what even question and application to get you the help you may need. There is a great selection of tutoring and dont be affriad to join a club there are plenty and the students have great attuitdues and helpful smiles, you'll love it here!

    In three sentences

    At Oxnard College you get the best of a small community college and the help as if it was a university. The great local atmosphere makes it simple and easy to attend. Great for those Beginner students that just starting out your education. With up to date teaching and skills it's a great choice for Southern California visit today!

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Of course if your a student you may want to cruise around campus on bike or longboard, these are fine as long as you wear your general helmet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a new library on campus, but for some reason I still favor the other one, maybe its where its located or it may be the essence of it being new.

    What to do for fun

    As a student I don't have much time for fun but there are many clubs and classes that are considered as fun, from dance, performing arts, or even a sport.

    Food and Dining

    The food and cafeteria area is very convenient, the prices are fair and the chooses are healthy.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus so I can not comment on the following.

    Academic Rigor

    Although Oxnard may not be an University, it still has the many education resources as one.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the best tips is know what you are doing before taking classes. There are many cases of students taking classes they don't need and cant graduate.

    In three sentences

    Oxnard college is a very convient school in the area, and is considered very affordable. The environment is well up kept, and easy to get around. Lastly, the peers and professors are easy going, few may be stern, but that there job and they are good at what they do.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wonderful

    What to do for fun

    Join extracurricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    Good the culinary arts program is amazing and cooks great food.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious of you are going to go. If you are going give it your all and don't slack off because education is important.

    In three sentences

    Oxnard College has given me such a great learning opportunity. The teachers and staff are so open and welcoming. Oxnard College is like one big family.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always register for your classes early and try not to drop classes because it will set you back if you do.

    In three sentences

    Oxnard college is excellent for starting your college education proggram. unfortunately the budget cuts have made it hard to get into all of the classes that you need. Even with all of the budget cuts I have recieved a great education here.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    No dorms here; it's a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need financial aid look into EOPS after you've done the FAFSA; also the Oxnard College Scholarship Foundation. Look on RateMyProfessor.com to find a good teacher.

    In three sentences

    This college is good, as far as a community college with numerous budget cuts goes. There are really good and really bad profs; you just have to do your research. Good place just to load up on courses to transfer.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs you can join from a variety.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of places you can go before and after class.

    Food and Dining

    Very good food

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes do need a lot of work but other not as much it depends on the classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask if you need help and always try your best.

    In three sentences

    A friendly college and very good teachers that are very helpful. Always try your best and if you need help just ask. The classes are very fun and you learn a lot.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of areas around the school to hang out and there is a student lounge with plenty of nice seating and a decent size arcade.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria that is run by the culinary arts program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get scared of the Teachers at the school. They are here to help you learn for a better future.

    In three sentences

    good learning environment. Staff is very well oriented. Definitely a recommendable College.

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Oxnard does provide excellent campus safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    the baseball team is great - coaches are awesome.

    Bang for the buck

    you will hear negative stories about oxnard, but if you really think about it every town has a bad area. Once you are there and make friends you'll learn which areas to avoid. I am in my second year there and have never had a bad experience.

    What to do for fun

    i came to this school for there baseball program

    Food and Dining

    lots of places to eat around the area

    Dorm Life

    no dorms available-

    Academic Rigor

    like any college, you have to be self motivated. The teachers here are not going to remind you, or push you, you on on your own to make things happen.

    Tips for prospective students

    try to find places to live around the school area, and find roommates to help share the rent. I live in the Serenade at Riverpark, 1 bedroom 1 bath, 1 parking $1350.00

    In three sentences

    get small school, small classes, great weather!

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can join clubs. I've never heard of any clubs promoting themselves. After looking at the website, we do not have many good clubs.

    Food and Dining

    We have a cafeteria but it has vending machines. The cafeteria is relaxing to watch TV and dine but there aren't any choices available to eat but frozen foods from the vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college because it's a community college. Most students live in an estate close to the college or take the bus near the college.

    Academic Rigor

    This school does stress the importance of the potential in students. When I entered this school, I was given guidance in choosing realistic college goals. Some students do have problems keeping their GPA up.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to attend this college, make sure you have a realistic goal. If you do not know what to major in, talk to a counselor about completing your general education requirements. Look on rate my professor to choose suitable professors.

    In three sentences

    Oxnard College has limited student resources. The students at the college are average in being friendly. The age of these students are mostly middle aged.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Do to budget cuts there has not been a variety of nutritious snacks on campus. Usually students go to a Subway that is around the corner

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    In order to find a tutor in a specific subject you must see the schedule that corresponds to that subject and see what works for you. Otherwise you can also see your instructor at their office hours that they provide for you.

    In three sentences

    Oxnard College is a Small community college where the students get more one on one attention from the professors. The students here have many resources to help them succeed. Also, there are student tutor assistants in the library that can help you with any subject and computer availability at all times. Oxnard College is a friendly and helpful learning environment for everyone.

  • 02/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is awesome. from 5p-10pm there is a campus shuttle that will drive you to your car or class. You just need to find him.

    What to do for fun

    Study!!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is only open from 11a-1p. The culinary class makes the food and to be honest, it is over priced and under salted.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms...

    Academic Rigor

    Overall, the academics at Oxnard College are great. If you are willing to apply yourself and study/review your notes outside of class there should not be any problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you already know what your major is, it is best to speak with professors in that field about the required coursework. Although there are counselors to help you get situated, they may not have experience in such fields whereas the professors have already taken said coursework.

    In three sentences

    Oxnard college is great school. There are many opportunities with the STEM students. This school really wants to help their students succeed, which is evident by all of the different programs and extra help/tutoring services that they offer.

  • 05/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe in my college because there are a lot of police cars passing constantly through college. There are no signs of fightings or drug use.

    Clubs and Activities

    Boxing should be offered as an activity for self-defense at OC.

    Great for these types of students

    Free wifi is great for students that have computers. The computers in the library are also helpful for doing homework.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There should be multicultural festivals from different countries OC; festivals like Mariachi, Indian music, dance and Hip-Hop.

    Bang for the buck

    There should be more scholarships offered in OC. They offer some jobs and that's good for students that need money.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much activites available in OC. There's no fun place in here where we can go to when we feel bored, except the student louge. There should be an extra weight room for students that want to work out. The student louge should offer video games and more movies.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at OC is very small and it doesn't offer many delicious and nutrious foods. The cafeteria should be bigger; its space is similar to two rooms, that's too small. The bending machines inside only offer junk food like hamburgers, burritos, and ramen soups. There should be some salads, fruits, and more ice creams. The coffee and sodas are fine. Also, the serving food in the cafeteria closes too soon, from 8am to 12pm. It should be open until 10pm. The OC cafeteria is bad, it should be bigger and serve more variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    I live very close to OC and that's a good thing that I don't live in an apartment. The distance from OC to my house is convenient because I just go walking instead of driving my car. This helps me save gas and money.

    Academic Rigor

    OC counselors give good advises about Universities and how to transfer; this makes me feel hopeful about keep studying to achieve my career. The friendly colleagues also motivate me to study harder by giving me personal failures of their lives and the importance of receving a good education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Oxnard College should offer more classes like Psychology and Engineering. It should also offer more scholarships. There shoud be more cultural festivals.

    In three sentences

    Oxnard College is very helpful in offering classes that I need for my major (engineering). There's free wifi for every student and also access to computers in the library. It offers counselors that help with transfering informations.

  • 05/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a few small shopping centers right next to the school, but a ways down Rose Ave, is everything you need, If you go along Fifth Ave, you'll get to Downtown Oxnard. There are some pool halls, bars movie theatres and more. Cute little place :)

    Food and Dining

    Large cafeteria serves lunch made by the students of the OC Culinary department. And it's not some gross high school lunch. It's delicious, healthy home made meals at an extremely affordable price. When the kitchen is closed, there are vending machines and microwaves readily available.

    Dorm Life

    There are housing complexes literally 360 degrees around the school, however the school does not offer or provide housing since it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Obviously, there are some hard classes, but it's nothing you can't accomplish! Classes are designed to make sure you learn everything you need to know and that it STICKS and keeps you interested.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great place to start your college education and help you find your way if you are unsure of what to do. They have wonderful programs and professors WANT you to pass their classes so they will always be attentive to your needs.

    In three sentences

    A small, intimate community college with professors who actually care and take time out of their days to assist their students. Gorgeous campus, easy to navigate and friendly administrative/student services staff. it's never crowded like most schools, parking is never an issue so getting to cclass on time is always easy!

  • 06/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police is often on patrol and within reach.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Adult learners High School students Child Development Dental Hygiene Culinary Arts Psychology

    Bang for the buck

    It's great considering this is a community college.

    What to do for fun

    Unfortunately, there are fewer clubs and activities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a buffet where you can choose hot meals for a reasonable price.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms because it's a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before you graduate from high school, think about your educational goals and what you would like to major in.

    In three sentences

    Oxnard College is a great place if you prefer a small sized campus. Most of the staff and professors are great because they want you to be a successful student. The downside of this college is the students aren't very friendly and keep to themselves.