Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ozarka College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Traditional and Non-traditional

    Bang for the buck

    They are the only college in Arkansas that has not raised their tuition.

    What to do for fun

    They host many activities, including shows that are played at the Ozark Folk Center!

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Ozarka will help make your transition into a college student a breeze.

    In three sentences

    I have had a great experience so far at Ozarka College. I feel the instructors are very friendly and helpful. I also feel it is a very professional place for learning.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. The small town location means less traffic and less wrecks.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't live far from home and I am still enrolled in my local 4-H club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love being in a small college with plenty of one on one help.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The kitchen is a great room to have on the Mammoth Spring location.

    Bang for the buck

    Tution is inexspensive for the higher degree.

    What to do for fun

    Play on the computers or go to the park. Which is located not far from my Mammoth Spring Campus.

    Food and Dining

    It's an open campus and eat out places or home is near by. They have a snack machine and drink machine. The also have kitchen appliances.

    Dorm Life

    I am not far from home and I live with my family.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a fantastic college to go to to pursue better education. I had plenty of help from my wonderful teachers and advisors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your advisor from the campus and schedule your classes with her.

    In three sentences

    I love being a student at Ozarka College! I enjoy attending classes and having one on one attention. This is a fantastic college to go to to pursue better education, not far from home.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The best starting point for a future. Ozarka is a complete package for students. The reason I am reason I am returning because I know that this is the place to get back on track.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been no known incidents on campus. I believe it is due to the fact that everyone knows everyone else at the school. If you have any complaints, they are dealt with in a quick and timely matter - from what I have been told.

    Greek Life

    I am not enrolled in any clubs. Am told that they are fun, however.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can check them out on the Ozarka website.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for a low-cost college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are near by restaurants, shopping, daycares, fitness center, and more.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to the other colleges/universities in the tri-county area, Ozarka is by far the best bang for your buck. I have family and friends attending other nearby schools that are paying anywhere from $300 to $750 more a semester for their education. My friends and family generally have to wait on their syllabus and information on their books, too - where mine is posted weeks or months in advance.

    What to do for fun

    There is a near by ballpark that a few of the students love to go hang at. I love the little trail a few minutes away, where you can listen to the calming sounds of the stream flowing by. Not to mention every one's favorite past time, shopping at the local Wal-Mart, which is within walking distance from the school.

    Food and Dining

    My friends; aquaintances; and, I get together and fix food generally once a week. We may go and get a pizza or sandwhich from one of the local businesses and share. We never ever go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus. Therefore, this question is not applicable.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are fantastic. I really enjoy Mr. Holloway's classes. He is my favorite instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the College Success class. It may seem boring and non-useful to start with; but, it will help you in your future decisions. If you attend on taking online classes, do not miss the orientation. The orientation contains a great deal of information that you will need to find your way around the online website. Always check for updates from your instructors; so, you never miss a deadline. Above all just be yourself and enjoy your college experience.

    In three sentences

    I love the small community atmosphere of Ozarka. The students are very friendly and the teachers are greatly knowledgeable. I would recommend this college to anyone looking for a two year college.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Ozarka College offers many events throughout each semester and they are always informative of these events on campus or on the web site.

    Food and Dining

    The Melbourne campus has a great dining area with a wonderful daily menu, with a friendly atmosphere.

    Dorm Life

    Since Ozarka is only a two year school dorms are not offered. However student advisors' are helpful to students in finding a place to live while going to school.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor at Ozarka is challenging. Students are expected to master certain skills from the classes they take. All skills are posted in the syllabus and it clearly states that mastery must be shown to do well in each course. We as students are expected to show not only mastery, but applied skills and critical thinking in every course taken. Faculty and staff also sets high expectations of the students when it comes to their learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take full advantage of what Ozarka has to offer. There is no reason why one should not succeed. If you have questions do not be afraid to ask. Staff and faculty pride themselves on making sure you achieve academic success.

    In three sentences

    Ozarka college has a pleasant and exciting learning atmosphere. Instructors at Ozarka go above and beyond to ensure that all of their students are successful. There are numerous programs available at Ozarka to students to help with their transition to a four year college, or to help students earn a 2 year degree.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is prepared by the culinary department.

    Academic Rigor

    average

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Traditional, non-traditional, and those that want to get prerequisites out of the way before transferring to a 4 year institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, stay on top of your assignments and ask questions when confused about a topic or assignment.

    In three sentences

    Ozarka College is convenient to me and provides concurrent classes that I am taking while still in high school. The faculty to student ratio is low, so I feel like a person, not a number. I hope I can get all the prerequisites I need to transfer to a 4 your university for engineering.

  • 05/22/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Ash Flat campus is really safe. There is a police officer that is on campus and I have not seen any violence while going to the college.

    What to do for fun

    Because the Ash Flat campus is a small campus, there is not much to do. In the fall semester, there is a Culture Day where you can learn about another culture.

    Food and Dining

    I can not rate the food and dining because I did not eat on campus. The Ash Flat campus did not have a cafeteria. It does have a snack and drink vending machine and is close to a few restaurants as well as Walmart.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very interesting. They are small classes and that allows for more one-on-one interactions between the teachers and the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to take online classes, take only one or two at first. If you take too many at once and you are not used to them, it is likely that you will fail the classes.

    In three sentences

    I went to the Ash Flat campus. It is a small two-year college so it is very good for students that go to college right after high school. Because it is a relatively small college, it makes college less intimidating.