Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ozarks Technical Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/19/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any and all 18 to 80 I saw them all

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to get a pell grant,`make sure that you meet the deadline for financial aid or you will have to make payments until OTC receives your pell grant

    Bang for the buck

    They are only $81.00 dollars a credit. I was going to go to Everest College and they were $317.00 dollars a credit for the exact Gen. Ed. classes I just don't get why Everest was so much more for College Algebra

    Will enjoy being here

    The atmosphere seems very up beat the students seem to be a happy and content to be there

    Will learn a lot

    I hope to learn every thing I need to graduate

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is highly secure, and there is even a shuttle bus that can drive you to the campus if you parked far away. Security is very good all around as well.

    Greek Life

    There are a couple or so but I do not know exactly what their names are.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a whole lot of clubs and activities. Some that I know of are: Choir, Honor Program, Bible study/devotional clubs, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for general ed. students (first time students), nursing, culinary, technical, business, psychology, biology, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We always have an annual college campus fall festival with music, dancing, prizes, and free food. We also have a back to school festival too that has the same festivities as the fall festival.

    Bang for the buck

    The student service there is very helpful and they always seem to have the right answers to everything.

    What to do for fun

    There is a fitness center there if you really want to work out on your own time, and you can even request a personal trainer if you want as well. Also there is a great library there if you want to read or do your research there, and there are computer labs to go to to do other things as well as educational purposes.

    Food and Dining

    It has a great little cafeteria and a lot of vending machines everywhere. You won't go hungry, I promise.

    Dorm Life

    It has no dorm life because it is a technical community college. But dont think you can't go here just because it has the word technical in it, it offers many minors and majors.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a pretty excellent community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    When attending this school: Make sure you always choose your classes as early as possible. Make sure you have your fafsa, payment selection(e-cashier), and classes done all at the same time before each semester ends. If you ever need help with any class always go to the writing center or tutoring(which is free), they are a big help.

    In three sentences

    This college is a very good community college for students that wish to start or end college in. I am one who is starting here to get my general education classes out of the way, and it has been a great two years so far. It is a very compatible school with other schools if you are a transfer student as well.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is a priority and the local police station is a mile away. my only concern is we need more parking!!

    Great for these types of students

    otc is great for all students of all ethnicities and all ages. it has many technical and certificate programs for those who may have degrees and want to shine it up with a certificate of their choice. otc is great for high school students who are still unsure of their career path. they can get their general studies out of the way and head to a more vigourous plan of study.

    Bang for the buck

    i would definitely recommend ozarks technical community college to anyone who is family oriented and wants to save a few dollars while getting the same education as you would attending a university at three times the cost. they have many programs of study and offer a transferable associate's degree to many universities of your choice.

    What to do for fun

    the waynesville campus is a place that i enjoy the lobby visiting with the students and the office staff is always making cupcakes or bringing in pizza for everyone to enjoy. it is almost a home away from home.

    Food and Dining

    scallions on the springfield campus is very special because it offers what the students enjoy eating. it is not your every day cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    ozarks technical community college does not currently have dorms. i believe that they should look into it in the future.

    Academic Rigor

    i currently have a 4.0 and i am very proud of it. otc offers many tutoring possibilities and the professors are more than wiling to meet with you during their tutor time for any academic assistance you may need.

    Tips for prospective students

    my tips for students would be to don't judge a book by its cover. you can earn your associate's degree at otc for half the cost of a trademark school or university. with the cut backs on government funding for education, any prospective student should consider this. they do not want to graduate with student loans out the you know what.

    In three sentences

    otc is not just some college for the poor; it is a respectable school with excellent professors, most whom have other jobs and teach because they want to see students excell in life. the small seated classes make for easier learning and face to face tutoring. i would recommend otc to any student.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is total safety on this campus. they really care for their students.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there are clubs the join as well as activities to do.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for hands-on learning, students who like to be in classrooms, and students who work better with on-line work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    you get everything you need for what you pay for. the tuition is low no matter if oyu live in-state, out-of-state, in-district, or out-of-district.

    What to do for fun

    there are different campus clubs to join. although i never joined any of them.

    Food and Dining

    the cafe is a little expensive, but you get what you pay for. i bought a hamburger and fries, and got a lot of fries a pretty good sized burger for the price.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    they have standards for the students to uphold.

    Tips for prospective students

    register early. complate your placement tests early so you can get one of the first picks for classes

    In three sentences

    a good school. the professors actually care about their students. is not a big campus so you can get around easily without having a long walk.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    non-traditional, or those with an a+ scholarship.

    What to do for fun

    i attended one of the branches, so it's whatever's in your area.

    Food and Dining

    i attended one of the branches, thus this wasn't an issue.

    Dorm Life

    i was at one of the branches, not the main campus, thus was not in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    it's not meant to test your academic ability, just give you the information you need and get you through, at least at the outposts, which are mainly aimed at non traditional students.

    Tips for prospective students

    go on blackboard frequently, teachers often post notes, powerpoints, practice tests, the syllabus, and information on big essays there. don't skip classes if you don't have to. no one's better than anyone else here, so don't act like it, especially since all the teachers love giving group projects and encouraging classroom discussions.

    In three sentences

    i really enjoyed my experience here before heading out to a university. it's very close, and there are students from all backgrounds and ages, so you really learn a lot if you keep an open mind. it's made to fit your budget and schedule, and offers online classes, so if you want to go back to school, otc makes sure you can.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    they have food and dining available, but i have not eaten there.

    In three sentences

    otc is an amazing college. they have been helpful in every aspect of enrollment and professors.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is really safe. i never felt threatened, even walking to my car. the security is on the ball all the time.

    Clubs and Activities

    the offer many clubs. they have a student government to honors programs or even a spanish club.

    Great for these types of students

    if you want to get your general education for a cheaper rate than a university, or you want to pursue a career in entertainment media productions this is the place to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the school has many different campuses throughout the ozark area in missouri.

    What to do for fun

    the school does offer many oppurtunites to join clubs. also they have a decent place to workout. the best time to go would not be during the middle of the day.

    Food and Dining

    they have a place where you can buy many of things for lunch. it's called cafe 101, and they serve hamburgers, pizza, sandwiches, and they have a decent salad bar. the food just reminds me of high school cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorms for the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes there are difficult to the extend of the course level. if it is a 101 class they teach the basics of the class for everyone to understand, for the nontraditional students who haven't been in school for awhile. however if you take a course level that is higher they will expect you to understand the basics so they can go in depth with what you don't know. also they push you harder than 101 course levels.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are looking for the college experience as student coming out of high school this is probably not the school for you. if you are a nontraditional, or a student that just wants to go to school and not worry about dorms, it's great. the campus is really clean and there are many places that will help you with resources that you need for your classes.

    In three sentences

    otc is great for nontraditional students. most of the teachers are understanding to people with kids and busy schedules. a lot of the people are friendly, and it's easy to meet people with different backgrounds than you.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the school actually holds event for the students to do such as different work out events that are held here allowing student to get involved in activities.

    Food and Dining

    they do not have a huge cafeteria, it is not the greatest.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm life at ozark technical community college. it is nice to be able to have your own place without having to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    they have provide many different type of class rooms and educational paths that you can chose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are new to college and nervous about what it is going to be like. just give it a chance if you want to be successful you can be. i have dyslexia and i am working through it. it just takes some dedication.

    In three sentences

    ozarks technical community college has been a great opportunity for me to start my college education. it has allowed me to find out what i’m interested in, and what i want to do with my life; for affordable price giving me a start that i might have not had at another university. this community college is a great place to start of your college education and find a job that you will enjoy doing.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a safe campus and people seem friendly and respectful enough. You will deal with a lot of the lower totem pole high school graduates that are still adjusting to not being a jock anymore.

    Clubs and Activities

    We don't have many clubs or activities but you can find some interesting things to do.

    Great for these types of students

    people who want to get in and get out of school without much debt. I would not recommend for someone wanting a college experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good value for what you pay.

    Food and Dining

    The OTC Cafe is pretty expensive but they have coupons that can help you pay for your meal.

    Academic Rigor

    Not very difficult coursework. You will spend some time studying and learning but it is very similar to a high school experience

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a plan and get things done.

    In three sentences

    it is a solid education if a bit dull. It was a very inexpensive way to pay for college. I have no regrets for my time here.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    OTC is great for student who are not comfortable learning in big classrooms with a lot of students.

    Bang for the buck

    With the classes on campus, you get what you pay for. The teachers are great and helpful to all students.

    What to do for fun

    OTC has movie nights and special events on campus to choose from many times through out the year. There is never a dull moment.

    Food and Dining

    The food is descent and broad. There is much to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at all.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is pretty descent for a community college. They have a variety of classes and degrees to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending OTC make sure you go to class. By the classes being small there is a lot info given out in just one class. Keep a good attendance record and come prepared to learn.

    In three sentences

    OTC is a good community college to attend. It has small classes that are good for retaining info better. Good environment to be in.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe at OTC. I often got out of class after dark, but all of the parking lots were very well lit.

    Great for these types of students

    OTC is great for any student. It is a great place to get your general education out of the way.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely feel like every penny I paid to OTC was worth it. I have attended one other community college and the education I got at OTC was so much more than at the other community college. OTC is a great community college and worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    OTC is only about two miles from down town Springfield. There you can eat, shop, or find plenty of great coffee.

    Food and Dining

    I never ate at OTC, but they had plenty vending machines around campus.

    Dorm Life

    OTC does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    My teachers expected us to study and put effort into each class. They also rewarded us for our effort. All of my teachers were very open to questions and very willing to offer additional help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for classes as soon as possible. Do not listen to what everyone says about OTC. It is not glorified high school.

    In three sentences

    Ozarks Technical Community College gave me a great basic education for the price. The teachers were very well qualified and I feel like I learned a lot from each one. The tuition was also very reasonable.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I believe it's very safe, but anytime there's any need to feel not safe, they have ways to make sure everyone is by contact (if there's any need for any warning), and you can call the security (I never have.)

    Clubs and Activities

    They do a lot of community activities.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for anyone that's getting a basic education (and it transfers well), no matter your age. And it's great for nursing, culinary arts, technical studies, automotive studies, etc. http://www.otc.edu/ Just check for yourself!

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get more than what you pay for here. It's a very inexpensive college and you learn so much here.

    What to do for fun

    What I do for fun there is work out (which is free for all students and faculty.) But I'm sure there's other things you can check out at http://www.otc.edu/

    Food and Dining

    I usually eat at home or somewhere else, just because I'm not at the school all day long, but I have had their food once or twice and it's very good. It's more of a cafe' style.

    Dorm Life

    The *ONLY* reason I put a one star is because it doesn't have dorms...otherwise, it would probably be a 5 star.

    Academic Rigor

    They definitely will make you work, but that's just great training for the work field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time you have here and use it to your advantage. Have fun (and I don't mean partying) while you're here in college; it's supposed to be a great learning experience!

    In three sentences

    It's a great place. I'm glad I chose this college to start my learning for my career. I wouldn't go anywhere else for basic studies.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    13 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    HANG OUT WITH FREINDS

    In three sentences

    A good school i keep hearing about. All my collage freinds love this school. I would like to attend

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yes, very safe. I have never had a problem

    Great for these types of students

    ALL.........we have all walks of life from newly high school grads to older students

    Bang for the buck

    The lowest prices around to start out your education

    What to do for fun

    sports. volleyball, basketball. Weight room

    Food and Dining

    the cafateria has outstanding food at a reasonable price

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    the highest. Most of the teachers are also teaching at the local 4 year degree colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    attend every class. Always get your homework turned in on time. Make sure you line up a study buddy.

    In three sentences

    small classes. Fabulous study labs. More one on one time with the teachers

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security makes a known presence.

    Great for these types of students

    Those that are working full time, have families, or just graduated from highschool.

    Bang for the buck

    More affordable than any other college in the area. Possibly cheaper than it should be for the quality.

    Food and Dining

    none

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and the instructors will give you ample opportunity to excel.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are very knowledgable when it comes to the material. The staff is extremely helpful when the students have questions outside of the classroom. The college is very affordable and gives everyone a chance to better themselves.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different activities to get involved in which is an advantage for all students attending.

    Great for these types of students

    All types/ages of students attend Ozarks Technical Community College.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is not expensive allowing for more students to attend.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs that you can become involved in at community colleges.

    Food and Dining

    Campus dining was provided.

    Dorm Life

    This community college does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The road towards success is definitely offered here along with help to provide students towards this.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's important not to slack off just because you are attending a community college. I found that many have the prospective that community colleges are simply easier than universities and this isn't the case for all circumstances.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very nice, new, and upscale. There is newer technology allowing for better education. Many very helpful teachers have led me in a direction towards success.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types. young old parents all people

    What to do for fun

    They offer many programs to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    Food is wonderful i would recommend the macaroni and cheese

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out your FAFSA. Keep up your attendance.

    In three sentences

    OTC has is cheap to attend. OTC is easy to get accepted into. OTC classes are challenging and fun to attend.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 53

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is great for the money. Has a lot of pre recs. great emp program.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    16-80+. I would definitely recommend (if you live in Springfield) to become part of the A+ program; you can go here completely FREE. It's definitely a great place for anyone at any walk of life to be.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out downtown! Downtown is definitely like its own little college town and has such amazing night life. There are so many places to explore, eat, and have fun.

    In three sentences

    Super friendly staff. Completely affordable. Great class sizes.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus at my college is very safe, and tobacco free. OTC has security all over and there is very rarely a crime at OTC.

    Clubs and Activities

    OTC has alot of clubs you can join and they are all worth it. They have choir and honor student clubs. They are definately top in clubs!

    Great for these types of students

    Ozarks Technical Community College is great for any student that wants to work during college, or do it in a more convinient way. They have morning, day, evening, and night classes, ontop of online and hybrid, which is half online and half in class. It is very convenient for a students busy life.

    Bang for the buck

    OTC is a college that is definitely worth paying for in the end, you can go to school and do great but have fun at the same time. Whatever you spend your money on at OTC they make sure you get what you payed for.

    What to do for fun

    Since OTC is in Springfield there is alot to do for fun, you can go to the movies, or the mall, bowling, mini golfing, there is TONS to do, and tons of restaurants to gather with friends at! OTC is definately in the right place for students who like to go out on the town!

    Food and Dining

    OTCs Cafeteria is great! They serve many different foods, my favorite is champs chicken. They have daily specials and almost any drink you can think of. On top of the food, they have room so people always have a place to sit. It is always a happy environment! I would rather eat there than most restaurants!

    Dorm Life

    OTC does not have dorms, it is just a technical school, but with your student ID you get a student discount almost everywhere is Springfield, so living costs could be lowered.

    Academic Rigor

    OTC will help you set your goals higher and stay positive while achieving them. They will go above and beyond, out of their way to help you if you ask for it. They tech you to go above and beyond.

    Tips for prospective students

    Something i would tell students, is use your resources, libraries, on campus book store, study hall's, all this is very useful. OTC will work with you to make an education plan that is best and most convenient for you.

    In three sentences

    Ozarks Technical Community College Is Amazing. It offers everything a student could need to finish college, and convenient ways at that. Out of ten i would rate this school a ten!

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get to know people and see how diferent you are from one another.

    Food and Dining

    There are some resturants around the campus that are good.

    Dorm Life

    I dont know about the dorm life. I stay at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your lost just ask someone and they will surely help you to the best of their ability.

    In three sentences

    This school is great about helping you find the classes you need to your degree. Also they help you get the books you need on time, and have study groups incase you get lost in a subject.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops patrol the campus, plus they have their own campus security.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs on campus! There are also fitness groups that meet too.

    Bang for the buck

    For the cost of tuition, you get a lot with your education. Excellent price on tuition compared to nearby schools and I know for the degrees I am after, the education you receive is better than the 4 yr colleges nearby.

    What to do for fun

    Sometimes people play frisbee or toss a ball around on campus, but there are many nearby parks, coffee shops and librarys to visit.

    Food and Dining

    Every Thursday the culinary & hospitality department opens up a fine dining restaurant for lunch. There is also a cafeteria available for breakfast, lunch and early dinner. Off campus there are a lot of places to eat within 1 mile of campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, so this doesn't really apply.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn early on where resources are that are available to you. This will help you through out the school year. They also have counselors that will help you whether school related or in your personal life.

    In three sentences

    OTC has a lot of degree and certificate options are the instructors are awesome. They have shown a lot of growth over the last few years are are continually working to expand on equipment needed in the classrooms. Plus, it is an affordable school!

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Job fairs are often held at OTC that give opportunities for great careers!

    Food and Dining

    I always look forward to the two picnics a year prepared by students.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    If considering online courses, always test drive one course out in the beginning. I have known quite a few people who cannot handle the atmosphere of online courses because you have to teach yourself. Many courses may seem overwhelming if you do not understand the material without instruction.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love online courses at Ozarks Technical Community College. I like being able to work at home around my hectic schedule. Very good value for the cost!

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is a great starting college for just about anyone. It is fairly cheap compared to most schools, and it's got a lot of different degrees to choose from.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I was a little scared to take classes at the Giloize Theater because it was so far from campus, but I needed the classes for my degree, and once I met all the faculty there I decided it had some of my favorite classes at OTC.

    Food and Dining

    Dining at the school is okay. The chicken there is pretty good and reasonably priced. They have a daily special that is usually pretty good too. Their pizzas and sub sandwiches are a little expensive and are not very good quality.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus, so its great for people who want to commute or take online classes.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be kind of tough depending on the teacher you have, but usually if you are in class, pay attention, and take notes you can do pretty well on the tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus might be a little confusing for new students so make sure you know where all of your classes are in advance. Use the Writing Center as much as possible because the helpers there know most of the teachers and how they might grade specific papers.

    In three sentences

    I would give Ozarks Technical Community College an 8.5 on a 10 point scale. There are some really awesome teachers here, but there are also some of the worst teachers I have ever had. The great thing about this school is that there are so many different types of degrees people can choose from.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do in springfield you just have to find the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get classes that you think you will enjoy and don't be afraid to make new friends.

    In three sentences

    It is very fun and all the students here are very friendly. If you are up to it then it is easy to make new friends. I enjoy going here and the classes are hands on which is great.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus guards are always on campus and help with small to big problems

    Clubs and Activities

    many different clubs and even a few from other colleges like msu and durry

    Great for these types of students

    working on low income with families undecided majors with disabilities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I think all the traditions here are all beneficial to us as students because they all promote more student bonding.

    Bang for the buck

    very affordable

    What to do for fun

    I joined SIFE a great program that helps students help other while getting credits for your degree.

    Food and Dining

    cafe food is great

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm here

    Academic Rigor

    good to fair

    Tips for prospective students

    make time to study and always come prepared

    In three sentences

    its very affordable to those working for those working. great feel for the community with all the projects and services the school offers. over all a very good choice if you don't know what is out there for you.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campuses are located mainly in suburban or rural communities, and are less likely to have issues pertaining campus safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs and student organizations in which students may be involved.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is ideal for students who are graduating High School, or independent non-traditional students looking to go back to further their education.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost per credit hour is approximately one third that of comparable college institutions.

    Food and Dining

    There are student run sandwich shops located on various campuses. The prices for the food are high, however the quality of the food is always high.

    Dorm Life

    There is no resident life at OTC as the college is a two year commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    The acceptance rate of OTC is extremely high, however the academic precision to stay with OTC is stringent. The instructors are caring and accessible to students, however expect the students to excel in their academic pursuits.

    Tips for prospective students

    Compare the cost per credit hour for all perspective colleges, then compare the cost per credit hour for Ozarks Technical Community College. After comparing the cost, check out the credit transfer for any perspective four year institution.

    In three sentences

    Ozarks Technical Community College, a two year college, and is a natural choice for any perspective student graduating High School, or any non-traditional, independent student looking to further their education. OTC is the number 1 $ valued college in the Missouri Ozarks region, as the cost per credit hour is approximately one third of comparable colleges in the area.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Constant security around campus! If you need assistance to your car after dark there is a phone number to call and they will be there to help.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many to choose from toep yu busy when you are not studying.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Student government has a 'trunk or treat' for community kids to dress up in costume and visit the campus to receive free candy on Halloween.

    Bang for the buck

    Education received for the dollar spent is well worth it! The classroom size make learning more involved and the friends that you make will last a lifetime!

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs/organizations available to join on campus. Around town (in Springfield) there is the Springfield Cardnials located within walking distance fro the main campus, and many other exciting things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Great food and reasonable price on campus as well as local dining within walking distance from main campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life available on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Very well structured.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared from day one in all your subjects. Make sure that you allow at least an hour per class hour to study, if you want to be successful. Form study groups so that you can gain knowledge from you classmates.

    In three sentences

    Great, caring instructors who for the most part want to see their students succeed. The cost of the classes is very reasonable in comparison to the colleges in the area.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never been nervous about being on campus or having my small daughter with me.

    Greek Life

    I have no idea what this section is referring to.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not involved in any clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for all types of students. If you are a little older and maybe a little nervous about going back to school, this would be a great school for you. Everyone is friendly and helpful.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One really neat thing that the staff does is a Trunk-or-Treat event for all the little kids. It was pretty cool, and I felt a lot safer than just roaming the streets with my four year old princess.

    Bang for the buck

    I have looked into a lot of colleges in Missouri. Most of them are not geared toward people who have a harder time paying for it. These classes are the cheapest around.

    What to do for fun

    I am not really sure about what there is for fun. I am a single mother so I dont have much time to spend except for classes.

    Food and Dining

    I attend a small campus, so there isn't much inside. There are however plenty of dining establishments around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms near Waynesville branch, but I did find affordable housing only a few blocks away.

    Academic Rigor

    This is hard to admit, but these classes were almost too much for me. I am a college freshman after not attending school for about 10 years, so it was challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'm probably not the best person to ask about any tips. This is only my third semester. Oh, if you take a math class, use the tutors!

    In three sentences

    This college has been a wonderful place to start school again, especially after 10 years of no school. All of the staff love what they do and it shows. They have gone above and beyond the call of duty to help me succeed and refused to let me give up.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    These courses are highly transferable, and only cost around $300 per credit hour!

    What to do for fun

    Since this is a community college, you have many events in Springfield that are accessible due to the close proximity to nightlife downtown.

    Food and Dining

    There is only a cafeteria on site, and they have very odd hours.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a great starter school if you are unsure of college, or getting back into the swing of things.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend making sure the credits you want to take here transfer first. Most of their courses will transfer to the bigger schools.

    In three sentences

    I personally enjoy the small class sizes, resources, and allied health teachers. If you are going for a transfer degree or trying to find an inexpensive college for transfer credits, this is the college for you. There are 3 campuses in Missouri, but most technical or vocational degrees are only offered on the main Springfield campus.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    OTC has different clubs, and sometimes they have different fairs going on, which is cool and a lot of fun. They have free give aways and food.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe 101 has very good food for a reasonable price, and they also have plenty of vending machines around campus!

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms at OTC.

    Academic Rigor

    OTC has a high academic rigor. They don't really have sports teams, but they do have an honors program, and they are patient with their students and making them do the best they can do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with your teachers and attend class! They are more than understanding if you need help!

    In three sentences

    It is a good school for transfer degrees, and is worth considering if you have the A+ program. OTC has very understanding teachers that work well with their students. OTC is very flexible in their hours that they give for classes giving a variety of weekend and evening classes.

  • 02/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Caf�© 101, ran by OTC's Culinary Students, is really good and less expensive on some things, like Starbuck's Frapacino being <$3, than you think ought to be.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    In three sentences

    I'm part of OTC's Vo-tech program and I like the hands-on experience. The only way to learn in my opinion. I May return in the fall after graduation.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have two days during the year where they have a cookout and music playing outside.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is pretty good. The price is also rather acceptable.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study for the tests and do your homework. You practically have to try to fail at this school.

    In three sentences

    This school is great because the class sizes are very small. Because of the class sizes you have more one on one time with the professors. Everywhere you go on campus there is someone that is willing to help with anything you need.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    34 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always felt safe and never had any trouble while attending school here. I attended classes at the Springfield, Richwood Valley, and Lebanon campuses.

    Great for these types of students

    Students going to college for the first time, older students returning to school and people who need to work while taking classes.

    Bang for the buck

    It's the most affordable college in the Springfield area. It's great for people returning to school and for people who need to work while attending school.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe was a great place to grab something to eat. The food was rather limited, but good.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes were tough, some not so hard. Science classes are pretty rigorous. I struggled with math in school, but the math instructors I had here were very good and I excelled in my classes.

    In three sentences

    I enjoyed attending college here. A wide variety of students, all different ages. Good professors, small class sizes, and a decent variety of classes that are available in the day or evening.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Work out at the gym or hang out at the student area, but there isn't an area to be outside throwing a ball around or anything.

    Food and Dining

    Food is really good but is over priced for the amount you get.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off because it's a community college. You don't want to get behind and end up jeopardizing your grades and eventually your GPA.

    In three sentences

    OTC is a great college to start out at. Are always there in helping you succeed. Is a very clean campus.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent

    Greek Life

    Only on main campus in Springfield

    Clubs and Activities

    Not to many that i'm aware of.

    Great for these types of students

    Small town.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    School is building a new campus. Current campus is in the middle of a shopping plaza.

    Bang for the buck

    very inexpensive with a quality education provided.

    What to do for fun

    NOT to MUCH!

    Tips for prospective students

    keep on your professors with your grades. The staff will help you with any problem you have.

    In three sentences

    Otc is very small and sociable. Teachers are generally very friendly, but fail to keep up with grades. Classes are around an hour long which provides for full on attention.

  • 05/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe. Never have i ever heard of anything happening there. Every one is nice and easy to get along with.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They are always having BBQs for us or have some sort of snack. In a sense it is an intimate place. They love each and every student.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, it is a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy yourself, and be the best you can be in each class.

    In three sentences

    Great place to achieve a transfer degree. A safe place for those who are unsure about college and the location. Awesome place to meet new people and to find yourself.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I run at least 10 miles a day, and workout on top of that. I tutor math, and prove Trigonometric Identities for fun.

    Food and Dining

    I eat here a lot. Great prices for the quality.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Could be a bit more challenging,but considering the diversity of age, I could see it as appropriate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take college seriously. Do not think it is a joke, like I used to.

    In three sentences

    I like it here. I do wish some classes were more challenging. I would recommend this institution to others.

  • 06/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is by far one of the best community colleges I have attended. The instructors are amazing, kindhearted, and do their best to help you succeed.

    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations to join while attending OTC, as well as a multitude of activities involving the public. We may not have sports teams, but we do have a heart for the community.

    Food and Dining

    Food is prepared well, although a little pricey.

    Dorm Life

    Since this is a community college, dorm life is nonexistent.

    Academic Rigor

    While most of the college is gen-ed courses, there are several vocational trade programs available. These programs tend to be a little difficult, however, the results are phenomenal.

    Tips for prospective students

    There have been problems contacting the financial aid office, so be prepared for a struggle.

    In three sentences

    Great community college! Inexpensive and relatively easy, yet fun courses!

  • 07/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good, but always use common sense.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional, online, hybrid, night class students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Best education for the money. The only other option would be WGU that would give you a comparable price point. This is by far the cheapest option. I highly recommend getting all your generals here then transferring to finish the BS.

    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of things to do in Springfield for fun. Branson is located about an hour south of Springfield, and they have excellent shopping and other tourist attractions.

    Academic Rigor

    I actually make slightly lower grades at OTC than I did at Evangel (private school). Their courses are just as tough, if not a little tougher. You aren't sacrificing any academic quality by attending this community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    They publish the schedule on their website. Click on the professor's name to see their rating (they are rated by their students). If they have a high rating, you will have a great experience. If a low rating, students be warned.

    In three sentences

    Fantastic professors. Excellent course selection. Very much geared to the non-traditional student. Plenty of online, hybrid and night classes. Seated classes are offered at several different locations for convenience.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that need flexibility.

    Bang for the buck

    More affordable than universities in the area.

    What to do for fun

    Community activities.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of fast food options nearby, vending machines have great options.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Great classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't overwhelm yourself. If you have difficulties with a certain subject, don't take online courses. Take the course on campus so that you can ask questions and get answers right away. Online classes are great if you need more flexibility but it can be difficult to keep up if you don't set a schedule for yourself.

    In three sentences

    OTC offers lots of options on when to take classes and online options available. The staff/teachers are very helpful. Great school!

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    OTC has a good security presence around the campus, mostly patrolling the parking lot. I've always felt safe here, although the main campus is near some of the rougher parts of town.

    Greek Life

    Fraternity life here is non-existent, but that can be a good thing. Stay focused on your coursework, meet people in classes, but fraternities could be a huge distraction.

    Clubs and Activities

    As far as clubs and activities go, they have a nice little exercise gym free to enrolled students as well as pilates, yoga classes.

    Great for these types of students

    Ozarks Tech is great for students right out of high school, as well as working parents. Their flexible schedule, online classes, evening and weekend courses make education available to so many more students than the other schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The main campus in Springfield is always growing, there isn't anything unusual about traditions, but there are dozens of places around the school to get away and study alone. Every time I took the chance to look around, I found a new area to relax.

    Bang for the buck

    Without Ozarks Technical Community College, I probably wouldn't have made the decision to go back to school. They offer some great healthcare programs (Allied Health) that don't take long to complete once your general education and prerequisite courses are out of the way.

    What to do for fun

    There are trails nearby for walking, running, hiking, or biking. A city park is located less than a mile away offering tennis and basketball courts. Hammon's Field is located a couple of blocks away, and is home to the Springfield Cardinals minor league baseball team.

    Food and Dining

    The main campus offers breakfast and lunch, including sandwiches made to order, fried chicken, pizza, and snacks. I wouldn't count on eating here every day, but it is convenient once or twice a week.

    Dorm Life

    I can't rate this, as OTC doesn't have dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Ozarks Technical Community College may be an inexpensive alternative to big universities, but don't let that fool you! You get out of it what you put into it. My first year in college was about 15 years ago here. I was much younger then, and didn't have a good idea of what I wanted to do. I went full time for a year, while working over 30 hours a week. I was a student who got A and B letter grades, but had I understood the importance of my grades, I would have put in the extra effort to get the A grade in EVERY class!

    Tips for prospective students

    When taking your general education courses, consider the online classes. I took Psychology 101, Political Science 101, Humanities 101, all online. In fact, PSY 101, and PLS 101 were taken in eight week blocks---a great way to knock out some courses fast! Shop around online for books, the bookstore can get pricey! If you aren't sure exactly where you're headed academically, don't worry about it too much at first, select the general education courses that apply to a wide range of degrees, AND transfer. Some general education courses aren't accepted at the other universities. Sit down and talk with the person who works directly with transfers for advisement.

    In three sentences

    Ozarks Technical Community College is the best place in Missouri to begin your college career. They offer inexpensive courses, with a very broad schedule, at only a fraction of the cost of the big schools. They offer a dozen different healthcare programs, many technical degrees, and offer an easy transfer to other big name universities including Missouri State University.

  • 08/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involve with the SGA Some students come up with fun activities in the school that evolve the students

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep up with email from the school and teachers. keep up with school work deadlines. If you get the opportunity to get in a program (i.e. Honors Program) DO IT! Don't keep any doubts. If you may have any questions or concerns, don't hesitate to ask an administrator for help. To attend college, one needs effort and sacrifice; not only academically but budget wise. But it's worth it!

    In three sentences

    Ozark Technical Community College is a great community school for those who have finished high school and are looking forward to attending a two year school; a great opportunity for those willing to go to school in their community (i.e. those living with parents). The teachers work great with their students and show the will to help out a student in and outside of class. Overall, is a good school!

  • 09/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    OTC is a great quality school at a very, very low cost.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do in Springfield! From hiking trails to art galleries, you can find it all.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe 101 has a lot of options, but is very expensive. Luckily, there are several fast food restaurants (McDonalds, Steak n Shake, Chipotle) and a grocery store within a few blocks of campus.

    Dorm Life

    There isnt on campus housing at OTC.

    Academic Rigor

    OTC professors are just as rigorous as those at larger institutions. There is out of class assignments almost daily, but that should be expected in the college setting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as you can, introduce yourself to your professors, and actually show up for class!

    In three sentences

    OTC is a wonderful school! It's incredibly affordable, and has diverse class offerings. Since it is a smaller college, there are smaller class sizes, so you have a one on one experience with every professor.

  • 09/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    At $93 a credit hour, you are saving big bucks by taking gen eds or learning a trade here.

    Food and Dining

    Food is reasonably priced and portions are good sized.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, therefore, no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The general education courses are as hard as anything I took in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply and STAR/register early for the best classes and times.

    In three sentences

    The faculty knows what they are there to do, educate their students and turn them into tomorrow's successes. The campus is a mixture of modern and older architecture. The vast array of degrees offered covered work for anyone seeking an associate's degree.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I am here on the A+ Scholarship, which means free tuition!

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun at OTC because it is a community college, and there are no sports or activities.

    Food and Dining

    I've never gotten anything to eat or drink here, but I've heard the quality is good from fellow students.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorm options here.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here, for me, are pretty easy. I don't know how they compare to other schools, but I feel like the courses are made easier by the staff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule your classes early! If you can, try to take classes at campuses other than the Springfield campus, as parking is more difficult and classes are larger.

    In three sentences

    Ozarks Technical Community College has great opportunities for all ages of students. They have small classes sizes, and teachers that go out of their way to help students. The classes are easy to find, and nothing is too far out of the way.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our safety administration is incredibly put together and quick to act. I've been through lock downs and warnings; they act fast! All alerts are tweeted and emailed to the students if there's something to be aware of. I feel very safe here.

    What to do for fun

    OTC always has events and games going on, you just need to check the posters all around campus. Sometimes, they have giveaways and parties for the students. Every year there is a picnic with food, dancing, and games.

    Food and Dining

    OTC has a little cafe called Cafe 101, run by the culinary students. Every week they send out a new menu with a different theme, so you know what to expect, and it's DELICIOUS!

    Dorm Life

    OTC is a community college, so there aren't any dorms. There are many apartments and buildings in the area, though.

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared for the large amount of coursework, and be sure to organize! College is different from high school, and you need to be prepared to give up some of your weekends for study time (at least, if you want to pass with good grades). Although OTC isn't as expensive as other schools, you still want to do well the first time around so you don't pay to take the same course twice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take yourself too seriously to learn new things. Accept criticism and feedback from your teachers, and behave maturely in the classroom setting. The teachers at OTC are all experienced in the field they teach, so they have a lot to share with you! Listen, and you'll do well.

    In three sentences

    OTC may not be given a good rapport because it's just a community college, but it's a great school. The teachers are all very interested in our success as students, and it shows. I like that OTC offers flexible hours and so many programs; without them I wouldn't have the opportunity of being here during my last year of high school.

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So far the campus has been pretty safe. There has been a couple of shooting threats in the town that the main campus is located in, but they have been at other colleges located close by this campus.

    Greek Life

    I don't think there is anything for Greeks at this college.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not sure about all of the clubs and activities they have at the campus'.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who care to learn and will give their best.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only one I can think of is the Halloween costume contest.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is less than $2,000 per semester for a full course load (16 credit hours).

    What to do for fun

    There are many groups/club around campus. I don't know much about them because I'm not part of many groups.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't tried their food. Besides vending machines, the main campus' culinary students have food they sell about once a month, it's suppose to be pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at OTC. I think there are apartments not far away if someone is going to attend out of state or far away.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers make their class easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to work on assignments as soon as they are handed out. Meet with teachers if you are unsure of how on track you are with completing the assignment. Do your best on every assignment and test.

    In three sentences

    This is a very good college. It is small and the teachers want to see you succeed. The tuition is less than $2,000 a semester for a full course load (16 credit hours).

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    all kinds of food

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    it is very easy

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the resources offered, such as the tutoring center and writing center.

    In three sentences

    Ozark Technical Community College is fabulous! The instructors are eager to help you in classes, and help you succeed. The tutoring center and writing center are huge assets as you pursue your degree.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    College is really involved in the safety of their students

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    the are many clubs but its hard to find out about them

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking for a good technical education at an affordable price

    Bang for the buck

    Great college for what you pay.

    What to do for fun

    Besides clubs there are not that many doing going on outside class, or at least not that you can easily find out.

    Food and Dining

    Small cafeteria, that needs remodeling.

    Academic Rigor

    Most instructors have god standards but there are some that are too easy for how real life actually is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a group/club/organization.

    In three sentences

    There is great diversity. Affordable college with great instructors. Friendly students.

  • 05/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very proactive.

    Great for these types of students

    All.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual, but many locations to choose from.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall great place to start.

    What to do for fun

    They host community activities. Continuously posting off campus activities of interest for all types. Gym on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Nice friendly cafe. Excellent selection.

    Tips for prospective students

    Must be willing to utilize resources, apply yourself outside of class, and make yourself a success. Teachers are not going to hold your hand.

    In three sentences

    Very flexible schedules. Excellent resources. Easy to navigate.

  • 05/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Ozarks Technical Community College is downtown Springfield so it is in a great location to have a little fun. Feel free to go over to a Springfield Cardinals game just down the street, or shopping in some of the stores near by.

    Food and Dining

    Since there are no dorms, the food and dining aren't great. There isn't many places but there are a few little cafes around in the atrium and such where you can get a snack anytime, for an affordable price.

    Dorm Life

    Ozarks Technical Community College does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic side of OTC is great. All of the instructors have I have had with my online classes have been great. They are easy to work with and helpful when needed. You learn a lot, more than you figured you would in a college class.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell a prospective student to definitely at least think about coming to Ozarks Technical Community College. It is very affordable and a very good education, just as good as a big expensive college like Drury. So why not save money? I would at least come check it out and take a tour. Who knows you may really like it and have your mind set right then.

    In three sentences

    This College is very great! It is very affordable and has a great learning environment. I definitely recommend to everyone!