Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Pacific University-Oregon Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/03/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Personally, I can't see anyone who wouldn't like this school, and I know many different types who attend Pacific and love it. However, I would imagine that it would be best for... - Environmentally friendly students - Students who are passionate about learning - Students who enjoy the outdoors (there are many outdoor activities to participate in) - Students who aren't afraid of working hard - Students who enjoy being involved in their community I wouldn't, however, recommend Pacific to anyone looking for a large school, a school where they can expect to go unnoticed, or a school where they can get by just doing the minimal amount of work... classes here are challenging!

    Tips for prospective students

    One unavoidable thing at Pacific is their dedication to the environment. There are many programs on campus that support sustainable living, and I guarantee you won't get through college without hearing about it. Also, one misconception is that at a small school such as Pacific, there wouldn't be much to do - however, between parties, festivals, clubs, and events around the Grove, there really isn't a day where you can't find something to do. Pacific hosts the annual Luau, as well as the Mensch Festival (this year including a free Blue Scholars Concert) and many other events. Clubs and organizations hold dances, lectures, movie nights, trips to Portland, and lots of other things. A friend of mine is even hosting a Cuddle Party for a school project this week - there's plenty to do here.

    Bang for the buck

    Pacific is extremely expensive, in fact, the most expensive school I looked at. However, they offer a great scholarship program, which takes into account both need and academics - a friend of mine who didn't do so great in high school, but is unable to pay for college without loans, has more than half of her tuition covered in loans and scholarships - in another example, I know someone who got great grades and SAT scores, and is getting over $16,000/year in scholarships! The sticker price may be high, but chances are, you won't have to pay all of it. On top of that, I do feel that the school is a great value - so much is included in tuition, you could easily go the whole year without spending money on extras at the market or restaurants, and the small classes really maximize how much you get to learn for your money.

    Am enjoying being here

    The Pacific University Forest Grove campus is beautiful, especially in the fall - one of the main reasons I chose to come to Pacific. Also, the location between the coast and Portland is great, especially with the public transportation between Forest Grove and Portland being so easy. One of the best parts about Pacific, though, is how student oriented it is. For example, upon arriving at Pacific on move-in day, I was approached by the student ambassadors, who carried all of my luggage and furniture to my dorm room for me - and there was a lot of it. On top of that, when checking me in, when the admission staff asked for my last name, they knew my first name without even checking the list! At Pacific, you are more than a number, you are a person, and they treat you as such.

    Am learning a lot

    Pacific University has an extremely extensive course catalog for such a small school. They also cover a large amount of subjects, so students who go to college undecided have the ability to sample courses from many areas before deciding on a major. Plus, the wide variety means that once you have decided on a major, there is a high chance that Pacific will offer it - and if it doesn't, Pacific's design your own major program will allow you to create it yourself. This, as well as the fact the Pacific offers a liberal arts education, or a well-rounded education, means that simply in fulfilling the core requirements, all students will have the ability to survey different areas of study. Lastly, the student to teacher ratio is very low, so you will get to know almost all of your professors on a first name basis.

  • 11/10/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The school is quite diverse and I heard that there is a strong Hawaiian influence in the college. Any one would feel welcome here. Its a tight net community and its truly welcoming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the school or talk to an admissions counselor. It wont hurt to check the college out.

    Bang for the buck

    Everyone knows that Private schools are known for their academic excellence and sure it can cost a little more, but wouldn't you want to have a higher chance of succeeding?

    Will enjoy being here

    The area is beautiful . It is also 60 miles away from the Oregon coast and 80 miles away from Mt. Hood.

    Will learn a lot

    The teacher to student rate is 1:19 . It is a private school and the average graduation percentage is 71% !

  • 12/31/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pacific has a very diverse group of students from 21 states and 6 countries. Most everyone can find somewhere to fit in. From my experience, however, Pacific is best for students who are serious about their education, enjoy a tight knit community and accountability, and enjoy being involved with school activities and the surrounding city.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, I would recommend visiting the Pacific University campus early in the application process. Pacific is a wonderful school, though it is not for everyone. When I was a prospective student, I was told, “Once you’re here, you’ll know if Pacific is right for you”. This is true because Pacific has a unique environment, which is hard to explain though readily experienced on campus. I would also encourage prospective students to take challenging classes, keep a high GPA and prepare well for standardized tests. All of these things will lead to more scholarship opportunities to help cover tuition. Feel free to contact Pacific admissions staff as they are happy to answer questions and help you figure out if Pacific University is the right school for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Pacific University is an expensive school, with the projected cost for the 2009-2010 school year at over $39,000. As daunting as this figure may look, Pacific does offer good “bang for the buck”. I have found that the books and supplies estimate is much higher than the actual cost, as long as you are frugal. Also, Pacific offers many scholarship opportunities, including merit based scholarships, competitive academic scholarships, special interest scholarships, and need based scholarships. These scholarships can cover a large part of the tuition. For example the honors merit scholarship is worth $12,000 per year. This year, I received a scholarship from Pacific, which I hadn’t even applied for. I believe the schooling at Pacific is of much higher quality than many other less expensive schools. The student to faculty ratio is 13:1. This enables you to develop relationships with teachers who know you by name and are willing to spend extra time to help you understand a subject or further pursue an interest. Each of these things add value to the educational experience offered at Pacific University. I believe the quality of the education is worth the cost, as long as you are willing to work hard and have education as a top priority.

    Am enjoying being here

    Most everyone at Pacific is welcoming and helpful. During orientation, “Boxer” Ambassadors and staff assist students in moving into dorms and settling into life on campus. Pacific has a diverse group of students, so everyone can find somewhere to fit in. Pacific’s former President, Phil Creighton knows each student by name and our current President, Lesley Hallick is working toward making each student feel welcome as well. Campus Public Security (CPS) are always on call and willing to accompany you to your dorm or vehicle and assist with other inconveniences, such as unlocking classrooms, and jumpstarting vehicles. The Pacific Information Center (PIC) is a helpful resource for general questions about Pacific and the Forest Grove community. Pacific University has a beautiful campus year round from its gorgeously colored trees in the fall and flowers in the spring to the old, yet well kept brick buildings. Forest Grove has a tight knit, small town feel, yet is close to Portland’s big city bustle, which can easily be reached by car or public transportation. The Oregon Coast and Mount Hood for the beach and skiing are also within driving distance. At Pacific, there are frequent events hosted by both students and the University. Some examples of these include: the annual Luau, holiday light parade, the Mensch Festival, and numerous visits from influential speakers and artists. Each of these things works toward making Pacific an enjoyable college to attend.

    Am learning a lot

    Pacific University has an extensive course catalog of basic classes, as well as in depth, career specific courses. As one who is undecided about my major, I appreciate the strong base of courses and large number of majors. While most of the majors I am considering are offered at Pacific, it adds extra security to know that I can create my own major with the guidance of an advisor, should I choose a major that Pacific does not normally offer. I am currently a freshman at Pacific University and have learned a lot just in my first semester. Each class I have taken was taught by a very knowledgeable and experienced faculty member. All professors I have come into contact with truly have the students best interests in mind and are tough, but fair in grading. Pacific University is an academically challenging school, which requires hard work, but offers an excellent education.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    +Anyone who simply loves to learn +Anyone who likes getting involved in stuff +Anyone from a small town (it's a small campus, apparently) +Anyone looking for a change of pace +Anyone who thinks a great college name is the clincher on a good resume (although we all know that it's what you do at college that matters, not where you went, right?) +And anyone who thinks having a mythical creature as a mascot is awesome.

    Tips for prospective students

    +Go to Pacific's bookstore website early on in the summer to get your book list for your classes. You always have the option of finding the books you need from that site and ordering them elsewhere, but they also offer a great rental program that is easy to afford on just about any budget. +Ask for help! The professors are more than happy to help you out if you need it, but won't know that you're struggling if you don't ask. They are very approachable and easy to talk to, so don't be afraid of them just because they have a Ph.D. and you don't. If you still don't feel comfortable asking your prof, there are any number of great on campus resources you can go to for help, and many of them have student volunteers that may be easier for you to talk to. +Get involved in something. There's plenty of sports, especially now that Pacific brought back football. There's clubs for just about anybody, whether you're a biology or math fan or all about cancer research and prevention. There are tons of music groups for you to join, from symphonic band to orchestra to the chamber singers and more. The Theater Department has a full schedule lined up with any number of plays that you can get involved in, and even if you don't act, you can get down and dirty building sets in the scene shop or helping put together costumes in the costume shop. +Don't come with a bad attitude or crummy work ethic. Someone once said that college is the only institute you /pay/ to get into but relish your days off. Just because you have a free day, remember that the weekend ends on Monday morning, and even though the professors are cool, they will still get grumpy if you don't have your act (and your homework) together. Don't put things off until the last minute and throw crap essays together the night before, because it's easy for profs to tell when that's the case. And don't think you can just skip readings because you have too much other work. Even if you just skim the chapter and get an idea what it's about, you will be able to participate in discussions and make your profs very happy. And we like to keep the profs happy: they're the ones that give us our final grades.

    Bang for the buck

    It's super spendy to get into, but it is well worth it. The community at Pacific alone makes it a worthwhile college. You will never lack support from your professors or peers here, and it's easy to feel safe wherever you go on campus. The level of academia and the quality of education is well worth the $40,000+ figure. And, although grades are not the most important thing, they help a lot. There are tons of scholarships, academic as well as merit, available through the school and its departments that can apply for. Work study opportunities are just about endless, and there are jobs on campus as well as off that can appeal to anybody, no matter what their interests or schedules.

    Am enjoying being here

    If not for certain class requirements, I almost never leave campus. The whole campus is gorgeous and so alive, and almost everything you could possibly need is within a few minutes walking distance of your dorm, if you live on campus. The town of Forest Grove is cool, too, and many of the best spots are within walking distance of campus, as well. There's a Walmart a short drive down the road if you need anything that you can't find in the vicinity. And, of course, Portland is about 45 minutes away, accessible by car or public transport.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here are phenomenal. The professors interact directly with each student, and the class sizes stay small enough that you get to know your profs really well. This is not high school where you have to agree with the teacher because that's what's expected. Here, the profs encourage you to think for yourself and disagree with them. In an academic setting, of course, meaning you still have to respect that they are your instructor. But that's not hard, because the profs are good enough that most likely, you will respect them anyway. And they respect you back as students, which helps you to learn more. Yes, the work load can be killer, but it wouldn't be college, much less a private college, if you didn't have to actually work to get the grade and the education you are paying for.

  • 08/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are from Hawaii there are a lot of Hawaii students there and there is also a club that almost every student from Hawaii joins. There is also a Lu'au that is HUGE! But if you are from Hawaii and want to branch out the mainland students are also very nice. =D

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are undecided it is almost as good as a student who knows what major they want. Some teachers will let you know if you have a calling in a certain subject. Also, get a jump start on work study if you have. A lot of spots get taken up super fast! Do not miss the club and job fair! You never know what you can get yourself into! Also, internet in the dorms is really bad! I suggest if you could get your own internet.

    Bang for the buck

    Pacific is really expensive but it will defiantly help you out in the long run. Though I will admit that we should not be charged for some of the things on our student account.

    Am enjoying being here

    People and the campus is great. There may not be a lot to do in Forest Grove, but the students of Pacific plan a lot of fun and helpful activities

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the teachers here at Pacific really care about you and how you are going about your college life. The teachers are also very understanding and do not mind taking extra time to help you out if you need it. If they feel that you are more advanced than you think, they will let you know and suggest a different class that is in your level.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety here on campus is top notch. we have a 24 hour run security group that will answer any call. if you for some reason don't want to walk to your room or your car form the library, a campus security officer will come pick you up or walk you to wherever you need to go. they are constantly keeping tabs on the residence halls and are there when you need someone to let you in. there have never been any incidents on campus as far as i am aware of. i feel very safe here and don't know why anyone else wouldn't.

    Greek Life

    we have around ten sororities here at pacific. my roommate happens to be in one of them. we have a pledge week just like other schools and many people end up pledging. but that is about all i can tell you.

    Clubs and Activities

    i am a member of the german club and we meet once a week on wednesday. we also have so many other clubs, we have sororities, housing associations, intramural sports, and clubs for every language out there.

    Great for these types of students

    pacific is great for the types of students that are serious about their future. if you are going to school to party, then pay half the price and go to some state university. here you will get a top education that is going to carry you through life. but don't get me wrong, you still get to have fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a spirit bench that has been made into the special spray paint bench. in the middle of the night you can go paint the bench and put whatever you want on it. the game is not to get caught, if you are caught painting it, it is said that you get a huge stroke of bad luck, we also have a building close to campus that is just offices, that is said to be haunted by a friendly ex-music major, that loves to turn lights on and off in the night.

    Bang for the buck

    pacific may seem pricy, but the education that you get here is some of the best in the state. you are prepared for the real world and for the workforce from day one. nobody babies you here, you are taught to be self-reliant, to time manage, and to be responsible for your own life. but in return most students graduating from pacific are hired right out of college by just having a degree with pacific university stamped across the top.

    What to do for fun

    for fun in forest grove, there is free bowling for students on thursday nights at the local bowling alley, which is a very popular activity. we have a huge athletic complex where you can run on the track outside, play football or soccer on either our indoor or outdoor turf field, workout in the fitness center, or just chill around campus. my friends and i usually will head out to portland for some weekend fun though. you can easily hop on the bus or the train and get to portland in about an hour, where there is so much to do.

    Food and Dining

    the food here isn't exactly a home cooked meal, but we have a ton of variety that i haven't seen at other schools. we have a salad bar, pizza bar, pasta bar where your food is prepared right in front of you, a sushi bar, a mongolian grill where the food is also prepared right in front of you, a wrap and sandwich station, a home cooking station, and a grill that makes anything form burgers to philly cheesesteaks. so in other words, you can pretty much have something new almost everyday.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is absolutely fantastic. it is like living in a mini suburb. you get to leave your doors open when you're studying just so that you can meet new people and become a family with the people in your hell. i have felt a sense of community here at pacific than i didn't even feel at home. i know so many people, and am proud to say that i met them all just by living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    pacific is a school that seems difficult to most. it demands success. let's face it, you would't pay around 45k to not be successful in your college career, and that's that way that pacific treats you. they treat you like a student that is there to learn and become someone very important in today's society.

    Tips for prospective students

    scholarships, scholarships, scholarships. pacific is pricy, yes. but it is worth any amount of money you could pay. so keep hunting for those scholarships.

    In three sentences

    pacific is a fantastic place to be. the people are welcoming like a family. and you always feel that you are an important part of the forest grove community.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like small eco friendly liberal schools, Pacific is perfect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class, do your homework, and manage your time. You can balance fun times with friends, and actually being serious about school work. It's pretty easy. Get a class schedule that allows breaks and good times for extra study time.

    Bang for the buck

    I got a really good scholarship here. If you do well in high school, it pays off in the scholarships here. Also, filling out FAFSA also helped out a lot here. Financial Aid really does want to help you and being a provate school it may be more expensive than a public but sometimes they have more money from grants and donors that thye want to give students who need it.

    Am enjoying being here

    There's always something to do if you look for it. Sports events, taking the MAX to Portland, or even going to the beach. I'm really enjoying my time here. It's amazing

    Am learning a lot

    Teachers actually teach here, and you won't be directed to a TA here. the Professors actually care and want to help you. So ultilize them during there office hours, and if you can't meet them during those times, they will always be willing to find time to help you.

  • 10/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are driven, are not afraid of a challenge, and looking for a great education will succeed at Pacific University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your time on campus and become involved. College is not only about academics. Don't completely forget about you classes and work, however, you'll find they are more manageable when you have the occasional distraction. Plus you never know who you might meet at the comedy night, pre-physical therapy club, or soccer game; they may be your next new friend or have advice about your chosen career path.

    Bang for the buck

    There is no hiding the fact that Pacific has a high tuition, however they also have excellent financial aid packages and offer the high quality education that comes from a private university committed to excellence.

    Am enjoying being here

    With many athletic teams, both varsity and intermural, an active greek life, and abundant student clubs, there is something for everyone to do on campus. There are also several opportunities to become involved with the community through volunteer or service work. Forest Grove has the feel and benefit of a small community while still being with in close proximity to Portland and Beaverton.

    Am learning a lot

    Pacific University has great faculty and staff. With smaller class sizes, you have the opportunity to really get to know your professors, if you are willing to make the effort. The content is challenging but well worth the time and effort involved.

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is pretty liberal. It is very accepting of diverse cultures and shuns those with opposing views. It is a great school for those who share these same views or those have haven't really got a view at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus isn't very great, so I would advise learning about it! And you should also work out regularly, as I didn't follow this piece of advice and gained 30 pounds (ouch!), and am now stuck working it off this summer.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is quite expensive, but the small class sizes and great teachers make up for this fact! My biggest class, which was supposed to be a lecture size class, had only 60 students! Most classes average 20 students, making this small class size easy to get one on one time with the professors.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have made very many friends and the campus is very diverse. I am getting perspectives from many different people as well as making friends with many.

    Am learning a lot

    I really like the course schedule here and as I just got my first year of college done, I already have taken FOUR classes towards my expected major!

  • 07/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Need more individual attention from professors Looking for a good mix of people with similar interests Looking for a well-rounded education

    Tips for prospective students

    Take only as many classes as you can handle. Plan sleep in to your schedule. Try to stay active. Join clubs. Go to campus events like dances, talks, open mic nights, sports events, plays and concerts.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm paying about the same as in-state tuition for U of O at Pacific with scholarships and grants for need and academics as well as talent scholarships for music and theatre. It's still expensive, but I'm never going to slip through the cracks here at Pacific and my professors and advisors are dedicated to my success.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful and the student life is very active here on campus. Sometimes you have to make your own fun here in Fo Gro but with a good group of friends (very easy to make new friends on campus!) and a few clubs that sound interesting, boring moments should be few and far-between.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn so much in every single one of my classes. I haven't taken a dull/unhelpful class here yet. The professors are engaging and caring. The class sizes are small (I had one class with a total of 4 students!) and all taught in different formats. The core studies program is forcing me to branch out and not just focus on my major.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play sports, go to Portland, join clubs, go to sport games

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is the occasional campus parties and events to attend put on by organizations or resident advisers. Downtown is also right there to go walk around and browse shops. The best deal is the theatre where students can watch movies for only a dollar. Safeway and the dollar store are easy to walk to and Portland is also close by. However, Forest Grove is a small town and there really isn't much to do other than that.

    Food and Dining

    At first the selection of food seems great, you have a wide selection but after a while all the foods taste the same and you get sick of it. The breakfasts are great and the Lunches are good but the dinners aren't as super. You get a lot of money on your card for the bistro however everything in their is extremely overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    the freshman dorms can be loud and roommate issues do arise but it is very easy to get to classes from the dorms. I suggest the on campus apartments because they are much more quiet so try making friends with the upper upperclassman in your freshman year.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses as Pacific University are not breeze through classes like in high school, if you want an A you have to work for it and keep on track. Each professor has their own expectations. For example my philosophy class was based on papers with no tests while my history course was based on seven tests and nothing else.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take advantage of the scholarships and get a good financial standing beforehand. It is not a cheap education and if you are not careful you could end up in a lot of debt or have to drop out.

    In three sentences

    Pacific has a wonderful selection of professors whose lectures really captivate your attention and are fun to talk to. It is nice to have small classes where you get to know each student better and have more attention and focus on yourself as an individual. Forest Grove is based around the Campus so everything is easily accessed.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there's always an officer on campus, and they can be reached through phone as well. definitely feel pretty safe on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    the price tag is high, but pacific is pretty good about financial aid. make sure to apply to outside scholarships, though.

    What to do for fun

    fogro isn't exactly a lively town. there's a dollar theater in town, several places to eat out for pretty cheap. there's several bus stops around town which bring you to the max station in hilsboro, which brings you into portland. the overall travel time is about 2 hours if you're looking to go to the pioneer square area. an all day pass is $5 which is really cheap, considering!

    Food and Dining

    not the best food selections always. there's the grill, mongolian grill, home cooked food, pasta, a vegan selection, pizza, and sandwiches available for dinner which sounds like a lot, and it is at first... but it does get a bit boring after a couple months.

    Dorm Life

    freshman dorms aren't exactly luxury suites, not going to lie. not that that is what should be expected. doubles can become crowded easily. most people respect quiet hours (10pm-7am during the week, 12am-10am i believe on weekends, typically). dorm internet isn't the best, make sure you bring an ethernet cable.

    Academic Rigor

    definitely not your breeze-through easy high school courses, putting effort into your classes will show when you get your grades at the end of the semester! professors are almost always willing to help you if needed, and are happy to help if asked.

  • 02/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    enjoy small classes. intro to chemistry, biology, sociology (70 students aprox.) small town & campus feeling.

    What to do for fun

    there are a few things you can do: bowling, movies, walk to parks. you could go into the city during the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    food is ok. you get tired of it after awhile, but it's pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are pretty big compared to other places and spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    there are classes that are challenging, but not impossible. good variety of classes. this is a great school if your looking into health professions.

    Tips for prospective students

    pu is in a very small town and away from many things. i came from a high school that had 2,500 students and fairly big town. being in a small town helps me to focus because there's not very much to do. most people on campus are really friendly and wiling to help.

    In three sentences

    it's a small college with a friendly atmosphere. professors know you by name and you're not a number. good academics.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    everyone feels safe walking around at anytime of night by themselves. safety is not much of an issue, and no one should really have any concerns.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are lots of clubs, and if you want to start a new one all you have to do is put forth the effort to get some signitures

    Great for these types of students

    health professions. education writing

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have the largest luau outside of hawaii every year in the spring that is completely put together and run by our hawaii club.

    Bang for the buck

    it is on the pricey side to say the least, but if you are looking for a career in its specialized fields (ie exercise science) then it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    on such a small campus one has to be a bit creative at times. on campus it is up to you to think of fun ideas. but if you like the outdoors, there are numerous hiking trails, snowboarding resorts and beaches to go to that are all within an hour and a half.

    Food and Dining

    i would honestly say that as far, as campus food goes, we have it pretty good. the options can become redundant and boring, but compared to other universities i have been to we have it pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    my dorm experience as a resident and as a resident assistant were amazing. the tight bonds that people can make just by living in the dorms is nothing short of amazing. your floor can become more than just a network of neighbors; it becomes an extended family.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are meant to challenge each individual, but it is up to each student how much the challenge themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    get yourself involved and the possibilities are endless. pacific truly is special in its opportunities to get involved with the university and the surrounding community.

    In three sentences

    pacific is a stimulating community that encourages its students to diversify themselves. while on campus there is an overwhelming feeling of acceptance and openness. students have the opportunity to sample classes in multiple fields and pursue other interests in addition to their major.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus, you can go anywhere at any time and feel safe.

    Greek Life

    few sororities and frats, throw some pretty good parties and do a lot of service projects.

    Clubs and Activities

    just added a football team. other sports include lacrosse, golf, tennis, cross country and track, swimming, soccer, basketball, baseball, wrestling, volleyball, softball, handball, maybe others? tons of inter murals for anyone who wants to participate for fun.

    Great for these types of students

    accepting of everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the shoe tree. no one knows how the tradition started, but there are over 100 pairs of shoes on this tree now!

    Bang for the buck

    it is a very expensive school but if you can get financial aid it's totally worth it!

    What to do for fun

    forest grove has tons of local businesses that offer steep discounts to students like $1 movies and free bowling.

    Food and Dining

    food can get pretty old and repetitive but they have great veggies and fruits year round.

    Dorm Life

    rooms are huge compared to a state school and housing office is very helpful if you need to switch roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are tough and professors have high expectations for students to actually learn (not just regurgitate) the course material, but it is totally worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    come check out campus! once you see and feel the atmosphere here, you will fall in love with it just like i did!

    In three sentences

    open-minded community, truly compassionate professors, and food that is at the very least edible.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is very important here. there is a building where officers work and are available to help out. they also patrol the campus. the dorms are safe and people need their id card to be able to open the doors. there are also alerts online (that can be sent to your cell phone too) that will warn about weather conditions and things to look out for, like falling branches in the windy weather.

    Greek Life

    the greek life on campus is not very popular. there are a few sororities and frats, but they do not live in big houses together.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are tons of clubs and activities. in the beginning of each semester, there is a job and club fair held on campus so students can learn more about the clubs and job opportunities available.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for students who want a very intimate university; the number of students is very small, so you see familiar faces over and over. this school is great for students who are interested in majoring in something science related.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    pacific university is a very popular college for people from hawaii. because of that, every year there is a luau held on campus. it is very traditional; music, dancing, traditional food, and hula dancers. this event has become a popular tradition. the luau is the largest luau not held in hawaii itself. tickets sell fast!

    Bang for the buck

    even though this school is costly, there are multiple scholarships and grants available to make it affordable. depending on grades and involvement, there are scholarships and grants that pacific university distributes.

    What to do for fun

    the town around here is pretty small, so there are limited activities to do within walking distance. there are occasional dances on the weekends, which tend to be fun. joining clubs is a great way to meet other students and find fun things to do. the school is pretty good about providing opportunities to get off campus and explore. there is a shuttle bus during the winter that takes students up to mt. hood for the day for only $5.

    Food and Dining

    on campus there is one main place to eat dinner. the food is not too bad, and dinner time is when you can eat all you want. there are also places off campus to check out, like thai food and pizza.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are actually spacious. there are options available for freshman depending on whether you'd like to have one roommate or three . also, quiet hours are from 10 pm- 7 am every weekday. the dorm buildings have community kitchens and a lobby with a tv and pool table. dorm life is pretty fun; there are hallway parties and events for celebrating holidays.

    Academic Rigor

    pacific university offers plenty of majors to choose from. because the classes are small, the coursework is easier to comprehend. this university goes on semesters, so the grading period is longer than most state schools. there are also other programs available, like the advantage program. this program is designed for students seeking a career in healthcare.

    Tips for prospective students

    pacific university is pretty small, so you will be able to personally get to know your professors. this is really helpful when there are concepts that are challenging in your classes. also, the dorms are a bit larger than most state schools in oregon.

    In three sentences

    pacific university the school to attend if you enjoy making close, personal connections with the small number of students who attend, along with the professors. this school is great for finding opportunities to expand and get involved, whether it's joining a club or studying abroad, there are multiple opportunities for any individual.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is an annual luau on campus every year. it follows the style of a traditional luau in hawaii.

    What to do for fun

    there is a weekly farmers market and two major cities within driving distance. there is cute little shops around the town and many activities at the school to take part in.

    Food and Dining

    the hawaiian food is delicious. there is always diverse food and delicious options for vegetarians and vegans as well.

    Dorm Life

    i personally didn't like it. i ended up moving back home and driving back and forth everyday.

    Academic Rigor

    it is tough but there is always a person there to help you with anything and everything.

    Tips for prospective students

    just because it's a small school does not mean there is not something going on every single night. don't focus on the price, they offer a lot of help with paying.

    In three sentences

    pacific has such a fun atmosphere. the professors take all the time they have to help you, and really listen to their students opinions. i feel extremely accepted here.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus safety presence is felt any time of day.

    Greek Life

    We have a fully involed Greek Life club.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities for just about all interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a traditional Lu'au were students comes together to celebrate the affiliation with our extended Pacific community from Hawaii.

    What to do for fun

    The Outback has many opportunities for the outdoor adventure. The Milky Way supplies a circulation of artistic expression with music, comedians, and improvisations. There is also the athletics dept. that has inter murals. Plus, the usual dances and crafting days.

    Food and Dining

    The Bristo has good options. It also provides opportunity for students and facility to update the options.

    Dorm Life

    No experience. I transfered in.

    Academic Rigor

    Students and professors here continually push forward in the fields and for personal advancement of knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    If coming from another school, investigating how the credits transfer is worthwhile.

    In three sentences

    Pacific University in Forest Grove has a variety of opportunities for many disciplines. The degree requirements are through in each discipline. This results in a depth of understanding the field of interest.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We have little Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have many clubs to offer to all types of people.

    Great for these types of students

    Good for those that care about their academics. Most of the students care a lot about school and study a lot.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive but you are paying for a good education that will get you far in life.

    What to do for fun

    We go to the movies and hang out in each others dorms.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't that great but they try and provide as many options as possible to cater to everyones needs.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is interesting. It is different sharing a room with another person but it is a good way to learn who you truly are.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard, but the Professors are good at working with you if you are having trouble.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and try and get as many scholarships as you can to help pay for school.

    In three sentences

    I love Pacific. I feel so at home here and I know that I am getting a good education.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. The college is almost a town within the town itself. TOWN INCEPTION.

    Greek Life

    While not as big as some state school's, our Greek Life works on really doing positive things around campus and is always planning something fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    From volleyball, to whitewater rafting, there's something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like smaller class sizes and really knowing your teachers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's this tree in which students throw their shoes in it as a way to relieve stress of any kind.

    Bang for the buck

    Between the dorms, students, academic excellent, cuisine, and various programs, such as study abroad, you cannot find a better deal than Pacific. You pay not only for a great education, but for a family of people who will always be there for you. Going to Pacific is like walking into a big hug.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on on campus, however the MAX station isn't too far away for a quick jaunt down to Portland and all the many adventures that can take place there.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is excellent and offers a variety of things, satisfying even the most picky of eaters. The bistro is even open until 2 am during finals for that perfect midnight snack to keep you going.

    Dorm Life

    Two new dorms were built for the sophomore+ and look like luxury apartments. Freshman dorms offer a variety of living situations and are also very nice, offering clean bathrooms and a kitchen for all students to use.

    Academic Rigor

    Pacific is a school that will push you to do the best you can. If you put forth the effort, there's no limit to the amount you can achieve here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply here, you won't regret it. Everyone here is really nice and outgoing. The teachers are some of the best in the country. The chemistry teacher actually created the batteries used in the Hubble Space Telescope!

    In three sentences

    Pacific University is the best college ever. Offering not only diverse majors but also a diverse student population, it creates the perfect environment for any student to achieve academic excellence. I cannot wait to be challenged and learn all I can about my intended major: Creative Writing.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our CPS (Campus Public Safety) does a great job, and they are constantly visible on campus.

    Greek Life

    We don't have national chapters, but our Greek Life participates a lot on campus and in the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have all types of clubs at Pacific, from environmentalism to LGBTQ to academic clubs. There is something for everyone, and if we don't have what you're looking for, you can create your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    Pacific is a very liberal school, so if you don't have very liberal beliefs going in, either your point of view will change or you won't fit in very well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the shoe tree where there are just pairs of shoes hanging from a tree, our Spirit Bench where groups (sororities, fraternities, clubs, groups of friends, etc.) go out at night and spray-paint the bench. We have bench wars!

    Bang for the buck

    It's very expensive to attend Pacific, which is the only reason I don't rate it higher. However, I know that I'm getting the best education possible for my money.

    What to do for fun

    There are many events that happen all year long at Pacific. We have a very involved student body, so there are events of all types (usually with free food!) to check out.

    Food and Dining

    I wouldn't recommend Aramark's food, but unfortunately that's all that Pacific has. If you have the money, buy and make your own food.

    Dorm Life

    There are many dorm programs available all year long, but the fact that you are required to live on campus for two years just out of high school bothers me since it's so expensive and my parents only live an hour away from campus!

    Academic Rigor

    If you can make it past the first semester, you'll be good to go!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take general education classes first. Don't choose your major going in, because Pacific will change your mind on what you think you want to do. However, I'd definitely suggest taking a science class (biology or chemistry) your first semester!

    In three sentences

    Pacific has changed my life for the better. It's made me a better person and I'm so thankful for all of the professors and advisors that helped guide me to where I am today.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well im going to be busy with four classes, football, a real job, and work study so i wont have time for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food looks pretty good in my opinion.

    Dorm Life

    From what i can tell the dorm life is pretty great, we took a survey asking basically if we stay up late and hang out and depending on your answer they put you with someone with the same answer.

    Academic Rigor

    Haven't done any work yet but I've heard its a little tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save! Do your research on outside scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Very pleasing campus with a natural beauty. Little high on cost but every college is. Pretty reasonable with loans but could give more.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CPS ROCKS!

    Greek Life

    Not too prominent.

    Clubs and Activities

    All sorts! Theres one for everyone, and all clubs are very welcoming!

    Great for these types of students

    Knows what they want in the future.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Boxer Ball, a time to dress up nicely & have fun!

    Bang for the buck

    Pacific is really a great school!

    What to do for fun

    Explore downtown Portland area!

    Food and Dining

    RFOC staff can be grumpy at times.

    Dorm Life

    Very nice spaces to live in!

    Academic Rigor

    Study HARD!

    Tips for prospective students

    Set an educational goal and follow through with the best of your ability.

    In three sentences

    Pacific is a well-rounded college. The faculty and staff care about each student. I love Pacific!

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is one of the spendier colleges but I find my experiences and education totally worth it!!

    What to do for fun

    Go to games, swimming, bowling, movies, party's!

    Food and Dining

    Food is great not only is the campus food good but there are tons of local places just around campus!

    Dorm Life

    Great dorms! The RA's are always very helpful!

    Academic Rigor

    You are expected to do your work and do it well and on time. The professors are great and definitely test your knowledge and skills

    In three sentences

    Best school I have been to! Great teachers and smaller class sizes. Great campus!!

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Pacific has a set tuition which means you can take as many classes as you can handle. Pacific offers a two week winter term that is optional for students staying in town. This is an opportunity to take an extra class free of charge!

    What to do for fun

    Pacific is located a half hour from a lake, an hour from the beach and two hours from a mountain; there are plenty outdoor activities. Pacific also has an annual luau with a bunch of fun activities. On a rainy day, there's always movies playing at the local movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    In the center or campus there is the school cafeteria that has pretty good food, but there are also a bunch of cafes surrounding campus. There is many different options for food plans and the bigger the food plan the better the deal. The best part about the dining at Pacific is that there is options.

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't live on campus, but I have been in the dorms. The freshman and sophomore dorms are not horrible but and nowhere close to new and luxurious. There are apartments on campus for upperclassmen and they are nice for couples and groups of friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Pacific offers many challenging courses. Although the teachers are helpful the classes take a lot of studying outside of the classroom. From what I have experienced the course work is hard but doable if you put in the amount of time needed to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    The major Presidential scholarships Pacific gives out are based upon SAT scores, so take the SAT more than once; it's easier the second time. Pacific also has a scholarship competition that is available to student that have a 3.5 gpa or higher, be sure to make yourself eligible for that. If you have any questions don't be afraid to contact the councilors, they are always helpful!

    In three sentences

    Pacific is a small school in a small town. The staff go out of their way to help their students and class sizes are small. It's a great school if you want to focus on your schoolwork and be successful in the future.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Don't mess with CPS. Just don't.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The spirit bench is my favorite campus tradition. Between 2am and 5am there is a bench on campus that you can paint however you want. It's fun to see what people do.

    What to do for fun

    Chill with friends. There is a card shop, a live theater and a really cheap movie theater but that's about it... Forest Grove is pretty tame.

    Food and Dining

    The food gets boring after a while since they have a lot of the same things daily but it's still good. Their burgers and stir fry are awesome! Their pizza tastes really good but the crust is a really weird consistency if it's not fresh...

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is really fun. Sometimes your neighbors might be a bit irritating but for the most part it's an all around positive experience. It's not a college experience without living in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have yet to take any finals, but this school isn't for slackers. However, most colleges are typically like that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just come check out the campus and decide for yourself.

    In three sentences

    The professors here obviously care about their students. The food is also pretty good. My only real complaint is the tuition, and even then I was given a fairly good scholarship.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Safety officers are friendly, helpful and make campus feel very safe.

    Greek Life

    A diverse group of Greek chapters that are fun to pledge for and a great community to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons to do!

    Great for these types of students

    Really supportive of all majors, but there are a great number of pre-med students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Boxer statue that was originally on campus was stolen a long time ago and slowly pieces of it are coming back.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent education for the cost of tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There is a theater nearby and a cinema that shows $3 movies. There is also free bowling at a local alley on Thursday nights. Not to mention the tons of clubs you can join.

    Food and Dining

    Pacific offers a wide variety of foods, including vegetarian and vegan options.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but a number of my friends do and they enjoy it.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of reading and doing it helps facilitate better in class discussions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend time getting to know and sharing with your academic advisor. He/She is your best advocate on campus.

    In three sentences

    Pacific is a great liberal arts college that offers a wide variety of majors and a diverse population while cultivating a small town atmosphere. Students are very friendly and encouraging. The faculty are both knowledgable and approachable.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Definitly geared more for traditional students that are moving from their parent's house straight to living on campus.

    What to do for fun

    They are always having community events on campus trying to get people together. There's also a pool hall nearby which has good food and fun.

    Food and Dining

    Real Food on Campus has great homestyle meals for a good value. The Bistro also has a starbucks which is a nice convenience.

    Dorm Life

    Couldn't say much about this as I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes have greatly increased in difficulty at the junior and senior level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to visit the campus if you can, you will love it. The small town of Forest Grove is a fantastic alternative to attending in a large city.

    In three sentences

    A small, private school with mostly traditional students. They have a fantastic community and culture here. The business department is small which is nice because you get to know everyone quickly.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am not a part of it but it seems great!

    Great for these types of students

    Athletic, social, academically inclined, happy, likes rain.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a bunch of ghost stories that are fun to hear about!

    What to do for fun

    I play a lot of pick up games and just walk around campus with my friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and make lots of friends!

    In three sentences

    I rate Pacific University a seven out of ten. The social life and teachers are amazing! The food is great for anyone that does not have a food allergy!

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not much happens in Forest Grove. There is the occasional suspicious person, but most safety incidents are things like petty vandalism, drunkenness, or marijuana use.

    Greek Life

    I am a member of Delta Chi Delta, and I love being in the sorority. There are four sororities and three fraternities, each with its own unique personality. Pretty much everyone can find a group they will fit in with. Pacific University has a strong anti-hazing policy.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of the clubs are scheduled to meet at the same time, which is frustrating.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Due to the large population of Hawaiian students, we have an annual luau.

    Bang for the buck

    I love it here.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, DnD, sports, reading. There isn't a lot to do in Forest Grove, beyond bowling and movies.

    Food and Dining

    Many students say that Aramark (the cafeteria) food is gross, but in my opinion, it's good enough. A bit overpriced, though.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus freshman year, but I have an apartment-style dorm this year (Burlingham) and I love it. There are of course some issues with roommates, but that's pretty common to the college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    It's as hard or as easy as you want it to be, depending on how many credits you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think you can get away with slacking off, the small classes means the professors notice when you don't pay attention or don't show up.

    In three sentences

    Pacific is a great school with mostly small classes, tightly knit community, and lots of events! There are a large variety of majors, sports, clubs, and activities to choose from. The campus is only an hours drive from the Oregon coast and downtown Portland.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is taken very seriously on campus, especially at night. A few creeps have been seen, but situations are handled very well.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is not what it is in big universities here. No fraternity/sorority has a house, and there is not always a positive vibe if you belong to one.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone here at Pacific; from Center of Gender Equity to the Student Senate.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is perfect for those wanting exposure to fields in exercise science and optometry, along with people who want to be close to a big town without living in it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have an amazing Luau every year due to a quarter of our students being Hawaiian.

    Bang for the buck

    While expensive, Pacific has great courses that will prepare you for multiple fields. The friendships and connections made here whether professional or personal are irreplaceable.

    What to do for fun

    Go to sporting events, head up to Portland.

    Food and Dining

    The food situation is improving; we are working on getting more produce locally and receiving our meat from quality farms.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm experience is great; there are plenty of opportunities to mingle and do activities with neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    The education is top notch. Professors have plenty of experience in their subjects and have plenty of insight to help students out. Classes are small for the most part as well, which is helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not assume all of your college credits will transfer unless you receive a 4 or above on AP tests, internet connection is not the best, and bring a jacket and/or umbrella, because it rains the majority of the year!

    In three sentences

    A sense of being at home is what drew me to Pacific. Every student is connected in some way, whether they are aware of it or not. Small, local, and loyal; Pacific makes students feel like they belong.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a graveyard on campus! It's tiny, and a little spooky. There are also several haunted buildings.

    What to do for fun

    Get off campus! Pacific has a wonderful outdoor program - Pacific Outback - which is located on the edge of campus and has excellent deals on gear rentals and several different kinds of trips - from rock climbing at Smith Rock to rafting on the Deschutes River to snow shoeing at Mt. Hood. The opportunities are endless!

    Food and Dining

    Because Pacific is such a small school, there is not a huge variety of food. Several students wish for more interesting and appealing food choices. It can be something a student will need to have some resiliency to.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are pretty low - active. They are very well kept!

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is really what you make your schedule! Limits are pushed, but only to the extent the student can handle and succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students: Get involved! Don't just tour the campus, all you'll see is rain and the schools size. If those are appealing to you, then you're golden! However, to really see what the campus has to offer, you need to be able to get involved and get to know a few people. What's the harm in that?

    In three sentences

    Pacific University is located in the small, quaint town of Forest Grove, Oregon, which is placed in the countryside of the Pacific Northwest. With it's small campus and passionate staff, support is always just a few minutes away. Pacific University is constantly flowing with greenery, rain, and passionate people.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on this campus. That doesn't mean you can act recklessly. If you go looking for trouble, you can find it anywhere. Be aware riding the MAX to Portland. The train itself is pretty safe, but it's sketch waiting for the train.

    Greek Life

    Greek life exists, but it is not the dominant social scene as it is in some schools.

    Great for these types of students

    Forest Grove has rainy weather, is rural, quiet, and not much is going on. Pacific students rarely interact with the locals. If you want a party school, this probably isn't for you. Come here if you want to get an excellent education and a small school environment.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for. Pacific isn't cheap, but you'll get an excellent education.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much for fun in Forest Grove. Join a few clubs, and make friends that way. The Hawaiian Club presents a luau annually and it's a lot of fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is better than most people expect. I was pleasantly surprised.

    Dorm Life

    Some are good, and some are just okay. Living on campus is required for the first two years for most students.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be able to contact your professors directly. No problems here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend a presentation at your high school. Call the admissions office at Pacific for the next scheduled event. You will get the scoop. If you can visit the campus, call ahead and set up an appointment to meet with an admissions counselor for a guided tour and all necessary information.

    In three sentences

    This is the best option for Hawaii residents to attend college on the mainland that I have found. The university caters to somewhat serious students who are making the transition to living in a different culture. The campus is safe, rural, and small-all things that are important to me.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While annoying at times, campus safety does a very good job at looking out for students

    Greek Life

    Greek life is tiny and not a big deal whatsoever

    Clubs and Activities

    Some of the clubs are pretty active on campus while others barely exist

    Great for these types of students

    Studious, but likes to party

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a weird bench that people paint on

    Bang for the buck

    Pacific is VERY expensive, even with scholarships. If you are paying to come here just to play sports, don't waste your money! Come if you are a dedicated student.

    What to do for fun

    While students here are hardworking, they also enjoy a good party. Forest Grove doesn't offer much for night life, but if you enjoy being outdoors there's plenty to do. Plus, Portland is only a 30 minute drive.

    Food and Dining

    The ROFC (dining center) is actually pretty disgusting after only a few weeks. The food is generally pretty bland and unhealthy. Occasionally there are good options, but it's nothing to call home about.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are livable, but there is nothing special about them. In fact, they really need to be updated.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the professor and particular class, the expectations vary.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't want to find yourself with nothing to do all day but sleep, join clubs and really put yourself out there and make friends. Also, bring a car if you can to drive into Portland/Beaverton.

    In three sentences

    Pacific is an overall friendly, welcoming place. It has excellent academics and athletics. However, there is not a whole lot to around campus.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been very few worrisome incidents around campus, and Campus Public Safety is always on the ball about alerting students to these things and giving us safety tips.

    Greek Life

    I am involved in a sorority here and my sisters have become my closest friends and supporters.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is Greek life, athletic and academic clubs, and pretty much clubs for anything you want. If there is a club you want to start up, it's easy to do so.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to be at a small school with a strong sense of community, where people will know you and you can get really involved in both the school and service in the local community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our mascot, Boxer, is a Chinese mythical creature which is a cross between a dog, a goat, and a dragon. We have a spirit bench that you can spray paint (however you want) without it being considered graffiti if you follow a certain set of guidelines (paint it at night, cover every piece of concrete, etc).

    Bang for the buck

    I am so happy that I chose Pacific, and the financial aid office has been really helpful to me.

    What to do for fun

    The town is pretty small, but there is a theater that students can go to for $2 and there are a ton of great restaurants. It is easy to get to downtown Portland, where there is a LOT to do, and there are always events on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Not a lot of vegetarian/vegan options, but the school is trying really hard to improve in that area. Although the food can get repetitive, there is a student store to shop in and there are regular forums where dining services is willing to listen to students' ideas.

    Dorm Life

    The longer you're here, the nicer the residence hall you can get into - but the freshman dorms aren't bad compared to a lot of other schools. There's a great community sense, people leave their doors open when they're home so you can stop in and say hi when you walk by.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had to really challenge myself in most of my classes, but I am proud to say I have grown and expanded my knowledge on many topics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be honest with admissions and financial aid if you really want to be here. They will be extremely friendly and helpful, but they can't help you if you don't open straightforward communication with them.

    In three sentences

    Coming to an entirely new state and environment, and being in a small town for the first time, has been easy thanks to the friendliness of the staff and faculty. The classes here are challenging but interesting, and the professors will always go out of their way to help a student in need. Pacific's faculty really cares about your success.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and the CPS officers are only a moment away. I, and everyone else on campus, always feel safe knowing that they are there. Furthermore, the campus is well lit so there is no place to be frightened of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a multitude of clubs ranging from academic, to sport, to interest based. If there is a club that you want, but we don't currently offer, it is very easy to start a new one.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the people that have plans for their future. The curriculum is is in depth, yet well rounded. Pacific is great for the over achievers who wish to get noticed, or for the people that need a push in the right direction. The faculty here won't let you fail, assuming you put the effort in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Boxer (our mascot) toss is a Pacific tradition. He has travelled around the world and been nabbed by various clubs and people. Currently he is in pieces, but whenever a piece turns up, a boxer toss is called, and there is a frenzy to touch him, or steal him, whichever you feel like.

    Bang for the buck

    A bit pricey, but then again you get small classes and a lot of access to the professors.

    What to do for fun

    The Outback always has something planned for fun, which includes hikes, rock climbing, white water rafting, skiing, et cetera. And the community always has something going on like a play or new movie release.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, certainly better than high school, but it gets a bit redundant after a semester.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a bit old, and small, but they are convenient and safe. Soon there will be new ones for freshman, so this report will be useless.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are the main focus at Pacific, and the professors expect your best. However they never ask for more than is possible, and they are incredibly accommodating should you need more help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be fake. Find the people that appeal to you. There are many clubs, classes, sports, etc, so don't be afraid to be you.

    In three sentences

    Compassionate knowledgeable professors. Student centred learning. A positive and inspiring place to be.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any type of therapist or health professional.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The mascot is a Chinese qilin (a mythical beast).

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for graduate students.

    Academic Rigor

    I definitely get the feeling that Pacific will be challenging, but a valuable experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are applying for graduate school, know your profession and school well. The interview process is very important for your admission to the program! Be prepared with good answers to interview questions.

    In three sentences

    At Pacific University, you will find supportive staff, friendly students, small class sizes, and a passion for research and service locally and abroad. From the time I set foot on the Hillsboro Health Professions Campus to apply for occupational therapy school, I could tell that the people there were passionate about what they do and eager to help students succeed. There are also many opportunities for international service, and hands-on learning.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The CPS keep people in check, but they are pretty lenient, so people get away with lots of stuff.

    Greek Life

    Not a bunch on campus, but there are a few.

    Clubs and Activities

    Jiujitsu (IDK if how you spell?), sororities, dance teams, inter murals, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, liberal people, hard workers in their studies, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bench that you can spray paint at any time, I haven't done it since freshman year though. Me and the wrestlers have a feast night after each competition on the weekends, definite tradition!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school, so it is expensive, but the school is well known in the different health professions, so that's a plus.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the dances, volleyball in the sand pit, lift weights, meet lots of people, do a sport, lots of clubs you can get involved in, etc.

    Food and Dining

    It would have been 3/5, but they got sushi in the dining hall so that's a definite plus! It is very expensive meal plan though...

    Dorm Life

    I did not have the best dorm life, but for others this may be different.

    Academic Rigor

    Difficult school, they don't get tons of kids into PT school, pharmacy school, PA school, med school, etc for no reason.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come into the school ready to work hard in your studies because it is challenging. I recommend doing a sport too if you are an athlete, the athletics really preach STUDENT-athletes since it is D3 and you can't do a sport on scholarship, so it is very self-motivated.

    In three sentences

    I give Pacific a 8/10 if you enjoy the small school atmosphere. The reason it didn't get a 10/10 is because it is a liberal arts school and some of the things they preach to students I do not agree with. Also the tuition is very expensive, thus it receives 1 less point, 8/10 which is still very good!

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty good! I see campus security guards around all the time.

    Greek Life

    There's a little bit of greek life... but not much. You can occasionally hear some brotherhood chanting outside in the middle of the night how awesome they are, or while you're at the dining hall, some pledge girls are told to sing in front of everyone eating, but I do not know much about it, other than that.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The L'uai is the most famous event that happens on campus. Every year, students who are from hawaii, and whoever else who wants to join, trains to dance in front of the thousands of students and their family member who come to watch. it's a lot of fun. There's hula dancing and shirtless men who can swirl flaming batons around and more hula, and it's a lot of fun.

    What to do for fun

    There's a beach volleyball court where when the sun is out, everyone goes out to play or watch. There's also people who practice balancing on slack lines. There are rumors of a possible rock climbing wall that may be installed. There's a huge field where you can play frisbee or play soccer, and there's a nice little square where you can sit under a tree and do your homework while enjoying the nice weather. When it's raining, a lot of residence halls have pool tables and tv's for watching tv or movies.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive but pretty good food, there is a lot of variety and they serve a lot of hawaiian type food because of the number of students who have come from hawaii. A lot of people stop paying for their meal plan after their first year at college because it is so expensive though. But next year, there are plans to have a new dining service, so everythings on the table.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms after freshman year are much nicer than the ones you get for your first year. But my experience in an all freshman hall definitely was an exciting one and my attitude would have much different if I had lived in one of the other halls where people don't talk to each other as much. Sadly, they will be changing some double rooms into triples next year, but they are also planning on tearing down one of the old halls and building a brand new one!

    Academic Rigor

    Some majors are harder than others; sociology, psychology and art majors are known to be the more easy-going, while economics, math, chemistry, and computer science majors have a much heavier work load. It can be pretty easy depending on what major you pick, but if you pick a tougher major, it will definitely be tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    You want to have as many credits as you can going into college, not just because you can graduate earlier, but also because the more credits you have, the more likely you will be able to get classes you want for next year and get better dorms/apartments.

    In three sentences

    Pacific is small-ish college where you can meet practically everyone, but it is slowly expanding. Most people are friendly enough, but the best part of the school are the professors. Yes, there are a few bad apples, but the good ones are Really good and I've learned so much from them.

  • 06/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seems very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities you will not be bored!

    Bang for the buck

    I believe I am getting a first rate education by high quality educators.

    What to do for fun

    My family and I have really enjoyed exploring the area and going hiking outdoors. There is so much to see and explore in this area. We also really enjoy taking day trips to the coast.

    Food and Dining

    Every time I have eaten on campus it has been very good.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The Optometry program has high standards and is challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you think Pacific may be the right school for you, set up a time to tour and meet with faculty. This is a wonderful school and you will not be sorry you enroll!

    In three sentences

    I am a 2nd year optometry student, and have found the school administrators to be helpful and easy to work with. The school has a nice community feel, and is located in a beautiful area. It has been the perfect experience so far, challenging yet attainable!

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the beach go to Portland go to nearby Lake $2 movie theater for Pacific students Live Theater All events on campus

    Food and Dining

    So-so food

    Dorm Life

    Good RAs (resident assistants) that help keep you informed Keeping an open door is an easy way to make friends that live around you

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are manageable and usually are able to get the prime schedule that you need when registering

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved Be active in attending events and special deals around campus

    In three sentences

    This college is small and personable that has a reputation for creating strong student-teacher relationships. Students and staff are eager to help in your studies in order to reach your academic as well as extra-curricular activities.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus mascot is a mystical dragon/dog-like creature called a Boxer. Orientation consists of awater ceremony.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Portland McMenniman's Imbrie Hall Hiking Backpacking

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask the department for a tour before applying. Keep connected with financial aid and scholarships...it is private tuition.

    In three sentences

    Pacific University is connected to student needs. They keep strong ties to the community. This campus truly cares about their students and their success.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food might not be all that great, but you'll get used to it. Some days it's really god stuff and other days it's not as good. If you don't like anything in the RoFC at all, there are nearby places to eat, but you'll be using your own money!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty alright. Doubles and singles are the most spacious to me. Living in the dorms also lets you meet new people. Just keep your door open when you're in. There's bound to be people who will pass by and say hi!

    Academic Rigor

    Classwork can be hard, but if you ask for help and put in enough study time, it won't be too harsh. Professors might seem strict, but you have to get to know them. They're here to educate you and hep you with your future endeavors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Orientation; that's where you'll meet a lot of new friends. Get to know your professors; they'll definitely help you out when you need it. Take advantage of study time. When you're not doing anything, STUDY. Join clubs, organizations, and sports to make even more friends. HAVE FUN!!!!

    In three sentences

    Pacific is a great school if you want to be able to get close to your professors so that you're comfortable asking them questions. It's also diverse so you'll meet people from all kinds of different places. Being a small school, you can get to know almost everyone you see on campus including students and faculty.

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There a a lot of trails, places to eat, and entertainment. You'll never get bored.

    Food and Dining

    There are amazing places to eat. They are all within walking distance of the campus. There is even a bagel place right downstairs of the campus.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have a family residence hall for those that have children or spouses. That's something that can be improved.

    Academic Rigor

    It's intense, but the professors make it manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work. The classes are long, but very informational. The classes consist of everything you need to know on your specific major. You won't feel like it's a waste of your time. Also develop a close relationship with your fellow classmates. It's a great support system to help one another succeed.

    In three sentences

    Pacific University is an awesome school. The professors are very interested in making sure that your learning experience there is of the highest quality. It has all the tools you need in order to be a success at Pacific.

  • 10/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CPS (Campus Public Safety) is open 24/7 and students always have their number on their phones in case of an emergency. Pacific is really safe, but if you ever feel unsafe, you can call CPS to escort you back to your dorm/car, or within the area.

    Greek Life

    We do not have housings for fraternities and sororities, but we do have a lounge for them to gather and meet up. Most of the fraternities and sororities here are community service based as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus that you can join such as one related to your major to clubs like slack-lining. Whatever it is, you can probably find it here or if not, make a club of your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Pacific University is great for students who value their education and want to build a more personal relationship with their professors and peers. If you enjoy smaller class sizes, then this school is for you. Although we only have around 1,700 undergraduates, this college is big enough for you to meet or hang out with new people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A Pacific tradition is called Sign, Shake, and Ring where you sign your name in a big book, shake hands with the President (Leslie M. Hallick), and ring the bell in Old College Hall three times. You do this when you enter Pacific as a freshman and when you graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    Attending Pacific is definitely worth your money! Most of the students here are on scholarship and receive a great amount of financial aid. Pacific values you and your journey to receiving a degree in your major/minor. Your tuition covers your study abroad, as well as winter II credits. The facilities on campus are beautiful and also provide you with many places to study on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Many of the students venture out to Portland on the weekends or attend town events right next to campus. You can also sign up for different activities with the Outback. They have activities such as rafting, hiking, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus has a lot of variety: hot foods, salad bar, vegetarian options, sandwiches, sushi, the grill, and more! We also have a bistro that serves Mexican food, Starbucks, and anything a convenience store would have. Although we only have those two places to eat, there are a lot of places nearby to eat out as well. (Chinese food, Thai food, Pizza Schmizza, Maggie's Buns, etc.)

    Dorm Life

    A new dorm hall is being built for next year's incoming freshmen. The dorms here are a lot bigger than public universities and they do a good job of assigning roommates. Each dorm wing is assigned a Residential Assistant who helps with roommate problems, dorm problems/fixtures, etc. Each dorm also creates many activities for the students so you won't be bored at all! The lounges are beautiful and are great ways to meet people.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at this university is very challenging, especially if you are thinking about majoring in any of the sciences. Most of the students here are majoring in exercise science, biology, chemistry, and more. Although this might be a little intimidating, professors, tutors, and your peers are always there to assist and help you in any way possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, I encourage you to take a campus tour of Pacific because it is quite beautiful and I, along with other tour guides are always willing to give you a tour. You should consider coming to Pacific because the professors really do care about you and love having students come to their office hours for help. Tutoring is also available every week for any subject you might need help in. Being in a small town also helps Pacific students to be involved in the community and community/school-wide events. I also encourage you to take a variety of courses in this liberal arts college.

    In three sentences

    Pacific University is a private university that exceeded my expectations, especially since I came to Pacific without taking a campus tour. The transition after high school has been smooth for the most part and I have adjusted in my first few months of being here. This college has had many opportunities for me to explore.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are several great safety officers on campus and text updates if need be...

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramurals are fantastic....

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone...

    Bang for the buck

    This graduate program is quite expensive, but is comparable to other private programs across the nation...the staff is EXTREMELY talented...the program has a wonderful reputation, especially if planning on practicing locally...

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of outdoor activities in this area. For example, most of my class runs quite often...

    Academic Rigor

    The graduate program is extremely rigorous...every spare moment is spent studying...

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard...however, you will be pleased with the talent of the staff, the facilities, and the caliber of students accepted into the program...

    In three sentences

    Pacific University Health Professions is fantastic. The facilities are brand new and the Physical Therapy staff are overly qualified and great at what they do. The caliber of students accepted into the program will make you a better professional.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always sports games on campus, whether it be pickup basketball, soccer, or football games. People go bowling and will often go around town to hang out. Portland is also available by the bus and train!

    Food and Dining

    There is an abundance of choices for food. some good and some food people dont like but overall not too bad

    Dorm Life

    People are very friendly here and almost everyone gets along real well!

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are difficult, even coming from the intense rigor my high school presented me with. Still a great challenge and an exciting one

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work! Most classes aren't easy, but professors are ready to help you!

    In three sentences

    Pacific is a great small campus school. They really preach academics first and professors are readily available to help you. Great school for the sciences!

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    49 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our Campus Security guards rock, so helpful. Though I wish there were emergency buttons along campus so that if you don't have a phone there's help.

    Greek Life

    Our Greek life isn't officially recognized, but the initiations are a lot more humane and monitored than if it were to go on a public college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of activities going on campus, and clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Focused, determined, and self motivated students. Hard workers!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a big population of Hawaiian students so Hawaiian luaus are really neat.

    What to do for fun

    Outback is a program that gets kids off of campus and going on hiking trips, ski trips, kayaking, snowshoeing, canoeing, camping, rockclimbing and many other activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food here has some ups and downs. In general its bland, though a few of their dishes have been improving over the course of the year.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, but super expensive living.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure the weather, and small town life is something you will enjoy. It can get boring sometimes on campus, but usually there is something to do. The library here is awesome.

    In three sentences

    This school has a really challenging curriculum, with professors that hold you to a high standard. Its a small school, but a closely knit community. There is a ton of support services to help us succeed.

  • 07/24/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    50 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very hard-working and congenial staff

    Clubs and Activities

    There are dozens of fun clubs, and if there isn't a club here that you would life to be, you can create it yourself!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bench in the middle of a courtyard in which people can spray paint in the middle of the night! It's actually pretty neat. Usually the greek-life students use it as an art-structure battle to promote their sorority/fraternity.

    What to do for fun

    Forest Grove is a small town, however, there are plenty of things to do that are not too far away. For example, there is a movie theater right off campus that many students like to visit, and many restaurants and other organizations that are just off campus provide discounts for Pacific students. Additionally, Pacific is not too far from the beach or from Portland (where there is a multitude of things to do).

    Food and Dining

    From what I remember, Pacific only has one dining hall, which is somewhat limiting. However, there choices were quite varied and students can put in requests to the cooking staff on food choices they would like to have available.

    Dorm Life

    There doesn't seem to be much of an issue with dorm life, except that some of the buildings should be updated. Everyone I came across was friendly, funny, and easy-going. There are definitely some dorms that are of higher quality than others, but the process for who ends up in what dorm (besides age/year in school) seems somewhat arbitrary. I think people with higher academic accomplishments should be rewarded with first choice in what hall they would prefer to be in (after the age considerations).

    Academic Rigor

    Since I have not yet attended Pacific, I cannot say accurately how I feel about the academic rigor, but based off of the few visits I had there, Pacific is a very qualified university for education, especially for those looking into Optometry or healthcare professions such as PT or OT.

    Tips for prospective students

    The hardest decision comes when you have 2 or 3 colleges left in mind and you cannot decide between them. The only way I knew Pacific was right for me was by having and over-night stay. I stayed the night at both of my top-choice schools, and I immediately knew where I felt more comfortable living and getting my education for the next four years!

    In three sentences

    Pacific University in Forest Grove is a very welcoming, tight-knit, and quaint community. The number of students attending this university is on the smaller side, which is great because it allows for smaller class sizes and more 1-on-1 time with teachers. The laid-back atmosphere and beautiful campus allows for a relaxing and comforting place to live.